View Full Version : Crows Fans Get To The Game.
Doing the South Aussie patriotic thing here :p Stick it up the AFL, and get to the NAB G.F.
They are trying to buy you out of a home G.F. because they believe it won't be attended too well.
Your team has earned the right, by kicking more goals. So show up in numbers, and tell them how dare they try and buy you out of a home G.F.
Bloody Vics !! http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,23308495-5006301,00.html
I'll be there :thumbsu:
Come & join us & bring your buddies :)
Not a SnowBalls chance in hell Noddy. :D
But good luck. :thumbsu:
Punchy Bassett
3 Mar 2008, 08:52
I can't make it as I am in Sydney this weekend for a wedding, but my whole family and about three family friends at least are all going to be there.
I'm bringing myself and atleast 4 other people with me.
footyfreak
3 Mar 2008, 09:45
I'll be there and that will be 3 from 3 this year (crows games) so i'm doing my bit.
Congrats on the AFC for not even bothering to find out what the offer was to move the game!!:thumbsu:
The AFL have really shown how out of touch they are and their arrogance here.
if they want more heads there, lower the bloody cost for AAMI and Crows/Port essential members. Total Joke that your membership doesn't cover these practice games.
Vic Crow
3 Mar 2008, 10:10
Along with your ticket if it looks like the numbers are going to be a little low then I recommend everyone buys a couple of kids tickets (less than $3 each) and scan them on the way in as well. ;)
maccas_no1
3 Mar 2008, 10:41
Just read this in todays Herald Sun, AFC fans get to the game and show the AFL they are wrong:thumbsu:
chook2734
3 Mar 2008, 10:53
Just read this in todays Herald Sun, AFC fans get to the game and show the AFL they are wrong:thumbsu:
Firstly, congratulations to your club for telling the AFL where to stick their suggestion. I don't imagine they would have ever considered this had it been the other way around. However, by making sure everyone goes and even suggesting they buy extra tickets, all you are doing is helping the AFL out - it was probably just a ploy by them to make you all attend so they can boost their coffers once again - your club won't get any more money from this if it sells out.
I'm there, no ifs ands or buts about it.
If they want more heads there, lower the bloody cost for AAMI and Crows/Port essential members.
...or play it in Tassie;)
But seriously,...the AFL SUCK.
I could be a starter with family in tow.
NikkiNoo
3 Mar 2008, 11:21
I'll be there and I get a free ticket - yipee! :D
Once again, can relate all this back to the stadium issue.. if there was a convenient AFL stadium in the city, this game would get 40,000+ IMO
SA Tricolours
3 Mar 2008, 11:42
In the past two weeks, there was around a $5 booking fee compared with buying at the gate. Also, the free Footy Express did not operate for those wanting to use the bus.
These do NOT apply for the final - Have just go this from the BASS website.
* ADULT $31.35
* CHILD 6-15 years. Under 6 years FREE. $2.75
* FAMILY OF 4 (Buy 4) 2 A, 2 J $14.85
* PENSIONER, STUDENT, UNEMPLOYED $22.35
All public seating will be sold on an unreserved basis for this match.
PLEASE NOTE TICKETS PRICES WILL BE THE SAME AT THE GATE AS SOLD THROUGH BASS. PURCHASE YOUR TICKETS BEFOREHAND TO AVOID DELAYS.
The SA Lotteries Footy Express Service will operate for this match and free travel is included in every game day ticket.
maccas_no1
3 Mar 2008, 13:03
UNEMPLOYED $22.35
See even Port Power supporters can come and enjoy the game:p:thumbsu:
I'll be there and I'm bringing 4 other people.
I'm going with about 7 other people :thumbsu: Should be good fun win or lose, result doesn't really matter.
Southerntakeover
3 Mar 2008, 15:03
No doubt ill be there....
Then again, ive been there the last two as well, so i spose its not gonna boost attendances. :)
Big Jols
3 Mar 2008, 15:13
Yeah im going with a few mates:thumbsu:
Porps_is_HOT_loz
3 Mar 2008, 18:01
I'll be there once again!!! (:
Hopefully get 35-40 thousand ppl there and prove the AFl wrong.
Just shows how rude the Victorians are and how much they want a GF.
CARN CROWS!
PS: Porps on Channel 7/9 news was SOOO HOT!:D
IddyBiddy
3 Mar 2008, 18:07
I'm in Adelaide for WOMAD this weekend, and as much as it kills me i can't go as i am bringing friends from Vic in tow to see our fine city... i was hoping it would be a Friday or Sunday night game...:(
panthers
3 Mar 2008, 19:41
I will be there with 3 other people :)
Hope its a close game and no side gets injuries
Dandy_GO
3 Mar 2008, 20:05
Along with your ticket if it looks like the numbers are going to be a little low then I recommend everyone buys a couple of kids tickets (less than $3 each) and scan them on the way in as well. ;)
If I wasn't a student, I'd probably do that, as it appears to be slightly cheaper to buy four family tickets and discard the two childrens ones, than to buy two adult tickets.
King Elvis
3 Mar 2008, 22:17
I respect the Power guy a little for telling us to get along, but I respect him even more for simultaneously refusing to go; I'd do the same :)
Personallly, screw the AFL, and I like it how Triggy basically said they didn't even bother asking the AFL how much compensation they'd receive.
The AFL is pretty stupid though - we lose the home ground advantage, we have less chance of winning the prize money?
brucetiki
3 Mar 2008, 23:05
I was going to start a 'Stick it up Hitler Demitreou' thread as a call to arms to get everyone out ther but a PORT supporter beat me :D (joking). Ah well, the e-mail - and MySpace/Facebook blogs I'm about to send everyone should do the trick.
Seriously though, I'm knocking back two birthday parties to be there Saturday night, and I'll be there with at least 3 people (and even more).
LET'S PACK THE JOINT OUT PEOPLE AND STICK IT UP HITLER DEMITREOU - and don't forget to point and laugh at the little maggot when we prove him wrong Saturday night!
Also, as if the Telstra Dome will get 58 000 to the game that Demitreou expects - would stuggle to get 25 000 at TD IMO.
Carl Spackler
3 Mar 2008, 23:24
They are trying to buy you out of a home G.F. because they believe it won't be attended too well.
Your team has earned the right, by kicking more goals. So show up in numbers, and tell them how dare they try and buy you out of a home G.F.
I don't understand the logic at all. If they want the grand final to be played at the venue that would give the best commercial return, why bother with the Most Goals system? Why not just say that the AFL will decide the venue for the GF based upon projected profits/crowd numbers?
I don't even think anyone would be too bothered if that was the case.
brucetiki
3 Mar 2008, 23:32
I don't understand the logic at all. If they want the grand final to be played at the venue that would give the best commercial return, why bother with the Most Goals system? Why not just say that the AFL will decide the venue for the GF based upon projected profits/crowd numbers?
I don't even think anyone would be too bothered if that was the case.
They went with the 'best goal' system after we were supposed to host the 2003 GF and the AFL moved it to TD apparantly.
Carl Spackler
3 Mar 2008, 23:44
They went with the 'best goal' system after we were supposed to host the 2003 GF and the AFL moved it to TD apparantly.
Why were we supposed to host the 2003 final?
Doing the South Aussie patriotic thing here :p Stick it up the AFL, and get to the NAB G.F.
Bloody Vics !! http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,23308495-5006301,00.html
lol I am heading in there... Maybe it can get me ready and into the sport ready for the real thing...
Vic Crow
3 Mar 2008, 23:57
Also, as if the Telstra Dome will get 58 000 to the game that Demitreou expects - would stuggle to get 25 000 at TD IMO.
Personally I'd prefer TD. ;)
Works better for me, too. :D
I'm glad Trigg told the AFL where to go.
I'd have loved it even more if Trigg had guaranteed bigger crowds at AAMI than the AFL will get at all the Crows games in Melbourne, Brisbane and Tasmania this year and offered to host them with suitable compensation to the league.
FlyingCrow
4 Mar 2008, 11:55
I will be there, with 10 other lads who have not been to a game this year...
Thank God For Footy Express, and the Magarey Bar...
When the AFL rep gets on the podium at the end of the game to present us the MM cup, all 45,000 of us should turn our backs on the weasle until we hear Goodwin's name.
maccas_no1
4 Mar 2008, 12:33
Same but Im happy Triggy told AFL Hitler where to go also:thumbsu:
As I said in the St.Kilda vs Adelaide thread.
In regards to numbers at the game, I think there might be a far few, I'm more people with me than I ever have and I know alot of other people who are doing the same, it wouldn't surprise me if there is more people there than expected. Hell there was a bloody 30min line at the BASS outlet I went to, to get bloody tickets. On Monday and at 12pm (When they went on sale).
Once I got my tickets I looked back and the 30min line had reformed again.
I'd have loved it even more if Trigg had guaranteed bigger crowds at AAMI than the AFL will get at all the Crows games in Melbourne, Brisbane and Tasmania this year and offered to host them with suitable compensation to the league.
Ha ha, spot on.
The AFL need to decide whether the NAB Cup is a made for TV game or not.
Every week until the final, crowds don't matter, but now all of a sudden they do. What a load of rot.
NikkiNoo
4 Mar 2008, 13:45
Ha ha, spot on.
The AFL need to decide whether the NAB Cup is a made for TV game or not.
Every week until the final, crowds don't matter, but now all of a sudden they do. What a load of rot.
If they do the silly fireworks when the players run out again...... we know why they actually wanted it moved, so their before the game stuff looks good.
Vic Crow
4 Mar 2008, 13:47
If they do the silly fireworks when the players run out again...... we know why they actually wanted it moved, so their before the game stuff looks good.
If they do fireworks before the game then I am going to punch things. I'm not sure what I'll punch yet, but I will be punching things.
NikkiNoo
4 Mar 2008, 13:54
If they do fireworks before the game then I am going to punch things. I'm not sure what I'll punch yet, but I will be punching things.
You won't be standing on the ground having to cope with the smoke like we had to in 2004!
haha fireworks. I remember the game v Brisbane maybe in 2001 they did it before the game and it took about 20 minutes to be able to see the field.
As far as embarrasing pre game entertainment goes nothing will ever beat the "Laser Show" at Football Park (can't remember what was special about the game to warrant it) where only the members side of the ground could even see it. Most of the Crowd booed at the end and the announcer made some comment about you couldn't please everyone. Comedy gold.
Just having a think about the whole thing. I wonder if theres a conspiracy going on here.
Mr Demetriou and the AFL may not want another interstate team to win something, yet again. They thought they may have been on a roll with Geelong winning the 07 Flag. If the Crows win the NAB. Thats another bit of trophy taken away from the VFL heartland. :D
I liked it better when Wayne Jackson was CEO.
Maybe Bucky Cunningham can right the ship, and displace Mr Demalphabet.
This made me laugh.:D
"The AFL yesterday protected ticket sales to the Adelaide-St Kilda final by putting local telecasts of the match with Channel 10 on a 30-minute delay"
http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/sport/afl/story/0,26547,23316041-5016212,00.html
WOW!!...that should make 'em turn up in droves:rolleyes:
RoosterLad
5 Mar 2008, 12:04
fireworks after every goal would be awesome
coast2coast
5 Mar 2008, 12:23
fireworks after every goal would be awesome
there used to be fireworks after every try at the adelaide rams home games.
god the super league sucked. worst league ever
Just booked tickets online and printed them out. Beats standing in a queue. I got one mate to come and half a dozen more are yet to make up what minds they've got.
Bring it on!
FlyingCrow
5 Mar 2008, 21:53
Just having a think about the whole thing. I wonder if theres a conspiracy going on here.
Mr Demetriou and the AFL may not want another interstate team to win something, yet again. They thought they may have been on a roll with Geelong winning the 07 Flag. If the Crows win the NAB. Thats another bit of trophy taken away from the VFL heartland. :D
I liked it better when Wayne Jackson was CEO.
Maybe Bucky Cunningham can right the ship, and displace Mr Demalphabet.
would be good to have Bucky in charge, he is a great administrator.
Peri Peri Sauce
5 Mar 2008, 22:02
Just booked tickets online and printed them out. Beats standing in a queue. I got one mate to come and half a dozen more are yet to make up what minds they've got.
Bring it on!
Just got mine as well!
There's a few problems here:
A) The price, it's the pre-season cup and it's still going to cost a fair bit to take your family, make adult tickets $15 and kids someting like $7 and there won't be any problems getting a crowd.
B) It's the NAB cup, it's not 'real' football and South Australian's know their footy and this shit is exactly that, shit. Getting people who really couldn't care less until round 1 about the who cares cup to go is tough, A effects people in B. Doing A would nullify a fair % of B types.
What I did find funny was the St Kilda supporters cheering like they had made a real grand final, I want you guys to win just so they lose something again lol.
KingsCrow
5 Mar 2008, 22:12
Gwad imagine if they win. They will probably print a post, release a DVD and sign 'premiership' guernseys to sell for thousands in the clubs annual auction. haha.
Are the special footy buses running for this game?
Anyone know where I can find out about them, maybe a timetable?
Are the special footy buses running for this game?
Anyone know where I can find out about them, maybe a timetable?
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=418996
How the hell did I miss that?
cheers bigears
Two of the four previously mentioned decided to come. One is a Power supporter and I had to promise I'd return the favour next time they play in a NAB cup final. :eek: The things I do for the AFC . If he starts barracking for the Saints, I'll knuckle him. :D
If we win this weekend... there's going to be a fourth piece of Crows memorabilia in my collection alongside my three signed heritage jumpers.
I'll be a constant presence at training sessions for weeks!
footyfreak
6 Mar 2008, 19:08
Bring it on!
can you do this with members tickets as well??? If so where? The line ups were terrible before the hawks game and i expect them to be ten times as bad this week.
I'd say yes, but just give BASS a buzz tomorrow. Better yet, go to your local BASS tix joint.
There's a few problems here:
A) The price, it's the pre-season cup and it's still going to cost a fair bit to take your family, make adult tickets $15 and kids someting like $7 and there won't be any problems getting a crowd.
B) It's the NAB cup, it's not 'real' football and South Australian's know their footy and this shit is exactly that, shit. Getting people who really couldn't care less until round 1 about the who cares cup to go is tough, A effects people in B. Doing A would nullify a fair % of B types.
What I did find funny was the St Kilda supporters cheering like they had made a real grand final, I want you guys to win just so they lose something again lol.
complete BS! Pathetic turnout tonight, 27K WTF? Aint got nothing to do with ticket prices! Played at the dome, this game would have had 50K plus. Says alot about adelaide.
And how many would have got in for free, I wonder? Probably half of the capacity would be members! It wouldn't have fattened the AFL's pockets anymore.
And I hardly believe that 27k figure is correct. The entire outer was packed, only the members was half full! It didn't look like 27k to me. But don't you worry, I'm sure that the AFL will re-write the rules so they can dictate the GF venue next year, probably at your precious Dome for the next 10 years, screwing an interstate side in the process regardless of whether or not they earned the right to host it.
I don’t care what the SANFL or the AFL said the official number was; there were clearly more than 26,500 people at the game last night.
Last night the outer would have been at least ¾ full and the northern grand stand had a reasonable amount of people sitting up there. I a not going to bag Port Adelaide but anyone who goes to there game usually see how many empty seat there are and they on average have a crowd of about 26,000 – 33,000. When they average the mid 20K the northern grandstand is dead empty and that was not the case last night. My guesestimation was about 33,000 – 34,000. It was only the member area that was disappointing.
No way was the stadium less than half full last night.
Yeah the members side was half empty, plenty of empty seats over there.
Whatever the figure, well done to those who braved the conditions - Cold tea is good for sunburn:eek:
Walls stuck the knife in over our 'miserly' crowd...whatta victorian:rolleyes:
It was bloody hot driving down :(
It was bloody hot at the game :eek:
It was still bloody hot driving back home :eek:
Thank god for air conditioning :)
Markthirtytwo
9 Mar 2008, 12:36
And a pathetic little effort by a pathetic little person.
Carl Spackler
9 Mar 2008, 13:41
Disappointing crowd number, whichever way you slice it. We always have reasons but the bottom line is that as a state we struggle to fill the stadium even in big(gish) matches.
What was noticeable though was the huge number of kids there, compared to a normal H&A game. Because the stadium is (technically) sold out every home game there is no room for a couple of dads and their football mad kids to go and watch a Crows game. And if they can scrounge together a few tickets they certainly wouldn't be able to sit together.
It is one of the huge advantages the Vics have with the MCG. Because the ground is never full there is always room to move, always the option to head along to a one-off game whenever you like, with whoever you like.
The average age in the crowd last night would have been less than half the usual H&A game.
footyfreak
9 Mar 2008, 16:07
Didn't the NAB cup final at the dome a few years ago when collingwood were playing (the crows from memory) draw like 30,000???
Hardly think the saints would have packed out 50k+ had it been at the dome.
NikkiNoo
9 Mar 2008, 16:20
Didn't the NAB cup final at the dome a few years ago when collingwood were playing (the crows from memory) draw like 30,000???
Hardly think the saints would have packed out 50k+ had it been at the dome.
Official report from that game
ADELAIDE: 0.4.1, 1.8.3, 1.9.4, 2.13.8 (104)
COLLINGWOOD: 0.3.2, 0.4.4, 0.6.7, 1.9.10 (73)
NINE POINT GOALS: Adelaide: McLeod, Biglands 1.
Collingwood: Burns 1.
SIX POINT GOALS: Adelaide: Perrie 3, Stevens, Biglands, Carey 2, Edwards, Ladhams, McLeod, Johncock 1.
Collingwood: Didak, Tarrant 2, Molloy, Betheras, Williams, Lonie, Woewodin 1.
BEST: Adelaide: Bode, McLeod, Clarke, Goodwin, Burton, Edwards, Stevens.
Collingwood: Shaw, Lockyer, Williams, Buckley.
INJURIES: Collingwood: Fraser (ankle), Prestigiacomo (ankle).
Adelaide: none
REPORTS: Tarrant (Collingwood) for charging Reilly (Adelaide) in the third quarter.
MICHAEL TUCK MEDAL: Andrew McLeod (Adelaide)
UMPIRES: Allen, Morris, McLaren, McBurney
CROWD: 43,571 at Telstra Dome.
So only 43,571 and Collingwood playing against the non victorian side with the best number of traveling supporters.
Yeah, 50,000 at the TD with St Kilda - really who does the estimates for the AFL? I don't think they live in the real world.
raikkonen
9 Mar 2008, 17:15
Yeah, 50,000 at the TD with St Kilda - really who does the estimates for the AFL? I don't think they live in the real world.
Maybe it is realistic, I mean St. Kilda dont win premierships too often. The people come out in droves to see it? :D
Last nite, easily more than 27,000 in. The ticketing system at AAMI must be screwed, because every week you think there is more people there than what they actually say. And someone used the example of the Port crowds, no disrespecting them (on this occassion ;)), but that is a perfect indicator that there was more than 27,000 last nite.
Weather wouldnt have helped either. We cant all have airconditioned stadiums :rolleyes:. Some of us like to keep the aura of reality amongst our football. :thumbsu:
KingsCrow
9 Mar 2008, 17:21
There was one shot showing the AAMI members stand, and it was basically empty.
I could not care less about the crowd numbers. Its a stupid pre season cup, played on a saturday night. Why on earth did people paid over $30 for that.
NikkiNoo
9 Mar 2008, 17:23
If it would have been played at the TD or the MCG, the AFL confirmed this week that the Medallion Club members at TD and the MCC Members at the MCG would have had free entry to the NAB Grand Final. The SANFL members though had to pay to attend.
I would have thought that most would have not due to the weather, long weekend, other stuff on in this city at the moment and also as a protest against having to pay.
raikkonen
9 Mar 2008, 17:31
SANFL members need to stop being miserable old farts afraid of the heat, and get amongst it. It was awesome last night having footy back again, and I dont care what game it is that the Crows are playing at AAMI, I will always be there unless I am interstate! (or clipsal is on) ;)
KingsCrow
9 Mar 2008, 17:48
But there aren't enough devoted people like you Raikkonen. Our Crowds in comparison to our membership and City/State population is pretty bad I think personally. But when its a NAB cup I don't think we should set expectations as to seeing thousands of fans flock to AAMI.
I think the SANFL members should be restricted in size. My family holds 2 at the moment, and I admit we hardly ever use them.
raikkonen
9 Mar 2008, 17:51
The half an hour delay didnt help. Maybe, a 9pm time slot like last week would have pulled more.
I say significantly reduce the AAMI memberships. Its a joke, the outer could be overflowing, and then you see two people with a whole bay to themselves. What the??? :confused: :mad:
KingsCrow
9 Mar 2008, 17:54
I hate how they don't designate seats. I always get the shitty ones cause I am always late. But yeah, there is generally alot of seats empty...near the pockets especially. Thats where I do most of my (crappy) viewing from.
It was bloody hot driving down :(
It was bloody hot at the game :eek:
It was still bloody hot driving back home :eek:
Thank god for air conditioning :)
Unfortunatley summer has only just begun.
The upcoming Adelaide forecast.
http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDS10034.shtml
This is garunteed to be the hottest Adelaide month on record, EVER. Hmm, a Desert city this month.
SANFL members need to stop being miserable old farts afraid of the heat, and get amongst it. It was awesome last night having footy back again, and I dont care what game it is that the Crows are playing at AAMI, I will always be there unless I am interstate! (or clipsal is on) ;)
Nah too hot for footy. Will never go in that kinda heat again unless they have the mist fans the players get right in front of me. ;)
raikkonen
9 Mar 2008, 18:28
Nah too hot for footy. Will never go in that kinda heat again unless they have the mist fans the players get right in front of me. ;)
Disappointing! First time Ive ever worn thongs to the footy tho, I must admit. Makes it harder to have a kick out in the carpark! :(
FlyingCrow
9 Mar 2008, 18:38
Unfortunatley summer has only just begun.
The upcoming Adelaide forecast.
http://www.bom.gov.au/products/IDS10034.shtml
This is garunteed to be the hottest Adelaide month on record, EVER. Hmm, a Desert city this month.
I thought Rudd siging Kyoto was gonna stop global warming???:D:rolleyes:
Blue Red and Gold
9 Mar 2008, 18:50
I didnt go, played cricket all day. Even if I wasnt playing cricket I wouldnt pay 30 bucks for a ticket.
raikkonen
16 Mar 2008, 18:25
Anyone read (self confessed Port knob) Peter Goers' whats hot/not in today's paper? HAving a crack at Crows fans for not getting to the game, and the team for choking in another game where we had a chance at a trophy! Hypocrite if I ever heard one. 40degrees for "only a NAB Cup game" and on a weekend where there were many other events happening in Adelaide. 28,000 was more than a regular season crowd for a Port game. And everyone says it is "only NAB cup." 4 points is much more important. :rolleyes:
FlyingCrow
16 Mar 2008, 19:41
Lets not get facts (stats) get in the way of a good rant.
Dandy_GO
16 Mar 2008, 19:52
Was it on page 119?
raikkonen
16 Mar 2008, 20:12
Lets not get facts (stats) get in the way of a good rant.
Obviously he doesnt remember all the Showdown trophies we have won lately either. :thumbsu:
He is always putting the AFC down. More than Rucci at times. :thumbsd:
KingsCrow
16 Mar 2008, 23:18
He also talks about bookshops and op shops, then pays out the North Adelaide society for being a bunch of old whingeing farts.
He is a classic though, sometimes is colums are a good read, othertimes I read the first paragraph and lose interest instantly.
Markthirtytwo
19 Mar 2008, 08:22
He also talks about bookshops and op shops, then pays out the North Adelaide society for being a bunch of old whingeing farts.
He is a classic though, sometimes is colums are a good read, othertimes I read the first paragraph and lose interest instantly.
Same here for most of your posts young Stan. :p