View Full Version : Jarryd Oakleigh Nicholls

chappy25
3 Mar 2008, 16:31
hey all
i would love to know what people's thoughts are on jarryd Oakleigh Nicholls!
he was quite a high draft pick and for a couple of years now peoplehave talked up his pre season and said he will step up. Terry wallace is a huge fan of him but will he step up this year??
Will Jarryd Oakleigh Nicholls play 22 senior AFL Games?

C-Dog
3 Mar 2008, 16:34
is he for real?

peejay
3 Mar 2008, 16:37
get his ****ng name right Oakley - Nicholls.

Why do you want to know - so you can troll us you tossa.

Why ask this question when if you were not so lazy and did some research you would see that there are a dozen or so threads on him.

The intelligence of some poster's are astounding :eek:

Oh by the way - welcome to our board.

Simche
3 Mar 2008, 16:41
Short answer no. Whilst many on this board have much faith in him to come good I am not party to this. He essentially has the perfect football body (provided he puts on sufficient weight which he apparently has) in terms of height and speed. The problem with Oakley Nicholls however is above the shoulders. He consistently makes poor decisions. Whilst many have put this down to confidence issues I am yet to see any evidence of his ability to make the right decision and hit targets on a consistent basis at any level. He hesitates and fails to take the first option and this leads to him being caught or the ball being turned over at half back, something which in todays game teams can not afford. He will not play 22 games this season, though provided his VFL form isn't too terrible he will probably crack 10. I would love nothing more than for him to burst onto the scene and become a hard running wing/hbf but I am a realist and I just can't see it happening. Whilst you can fix dodgy skills fixing a bad football brain is far more difficult. Perhaps this is another failure of the school of thought that AFL clubs should be taking athletes over footballers.

RichosGuns
3 Mar 2008, 16:56
Don't be harsh, I'm sure its just a supercoach question.

He will struggle to play 10 games IMO

chappy25
3 Mar 2008, 16:59
just interested in progress guys. Im not here to stir the pot i just honestly want to know what thoughts are on him
??

Darth_Tiger
3 Mar 2008, 17:47
wow. peejay goes OFF!!! maybe he should be given a tagging role so that he can learn where to go and what to do.

Tigersman
3 Mar 2008, 17:53
wow. peejay goes OFF!!! maybe he should be given a tagging role so that he can learn where to go and what to do.

Maybe.

Havent seen him get involved in much tackling/ physical stuff though.

does he have that in his game?

THE_GUN
3 Mar 2008, 17:57
wont much this year, if he doesnt do anything next year .........gone

itsintheblood
3 Mar 2008, 19:47
get his ****ing name right Oakley - Nicholls.

Why do you want to know - so you can troll us you tossa.

Why ask this question when if you were not so lazy and did some research you would see that there are a dozen or so threads on him.

The intelligence of some poster's are astounding :eek:

Oh by the way - welcome to our board.

Sheesh. Peejay has a mean streak. Go get em tiger!!!

Sausage roll
3 Mar 2008, 20:35
Good question.

He is the worst player on our list and has absolutely no idea what to do. his awareness and field kicking are awful.

to think Wallace eis talking him up and Miller oversaw his selection...dear or dear.

He is terrible and simply can't play

boodsyboy
3 Mar 2008, 21:09
Good question.

He is the worst player on our list and has absolutely no idea what to do. his awareness and field kicking are awful.

to think Wallace eis talking him up and Miller oversaw his selection...dear or dear.

oh,dear oh dear when sausage roll was born they slapped his mother.:D

Richo URA Star
3 Mar 2008, 21:16
hey all
he was quite a high draft pick and for a couple of years now peoplehave talked up his pre season and said he will step up. Terry wallace is a huge fan of him but will he step up this year??

Really... well he's finally had an injury free pre season and will come good..

Is there a problem with your IQ....would you like step by step directions on how to read other posts in our forum as to enlighten you with some knowledge
Is there anything else you would like to ask
D*#K#*%D

Crawfomination
3 Mar 2008, 21:31
Geez it seems that going by this thread that there are only a minority of richmond supporters who aren't tossers!

To those of you who didn't crack a hissy fit over this thread i commend you but to you others get a life!

Looking at you pee jay!

A bloke asks a question about one of your youngsters and you jump down his throat!
Sure he could've used the search tool but he didn't get over it. If it annoys that much be the bigger person and don't reply!

I wish richmond the best for the saeaon as i have a soft spot for them and to you tiger supporters who have just turned 14 and trying to feel good about yourself by posting dribble like i just read above get a life, or a girlfriend or better yet a personality.

Richo URA Star
3 Mar 2008, 21:41
Geez it seems that going by this thread that there are only a minority of richmond supporters who aren't tossers!

To those of you who didn't crack a hissy fit over this thread i commend you but to you others get a life!

Looking at you pee jay!

A bloke asks a question about one of your youngsters and you jump down his throat!
Sure he could've used the search tool but he didn't get over it. If it annoys that much be the bigger person and don't reply!

I wish richmond the best for the saeaon as i have a soft spot for them and to you tiger supporters who have just turned 14 and trying to feel good about yourself by posting dribble like i just read above get a life, or a girlfriend or better yet a personality.

Would you like me to start a thread on your forum about Zac Dawson and how your members feel about him....any nice way you put it the message is the same...trolling by stealth..get my drift enough said!!!

tigers_of_old_08
3 Mar 2008, 21:58
Good question.

Did you eat paint chips when you were a kid?

Richo=Champion
3 Mar 2008, 22:03

Looking at you pee jay!

how about you get all of the above and one more which is get off our f****n board!! ps. u wish us best for our what??

wrightman
3 Mar 2008, 22:43
Good question.

Hey you guys all great and mighty the kid has talent he is bloddy 19 or 20 years old give him some quality time over the next 2-3 years and you will see him doing very well ,you MUST give these kids some time and respect

lookkg386
4 Mar 2008, 04:42
Did you eat paint chips when you were a kid?

HAHAHAH, PAINT CHIPS.....TAKES ME BACK......:rolleyes:

Sausage roll
4 Mar 2008, 09:24

Ok, if it is such a bold statement, tell who is worse than JON?

Is there a worse kick? A worse player?

peejay
4 Mar 2008, 10:29

Looking at you pee jay!

Welcome to redcardsville - population you.

chappy25
4 Mar 2008, 14:53
Welcome to redcardsville - population you.

slightly extreme peejay giving him a red card
after all u were the one that called me a d@#* H#$@
maybe a little over the top mate
however his comments were silly

jockey-sized midfielder
4 Mar 2008, 16:36

Completely agree
The supposed "moderator" was the one that called YOU the expletive after you simply were just asking a question based on supercoach, and all the other guy did was question whether it was worthy.

Poor form

Jisha
4 Mar 2008, 16:37

Ok, if it is such a bold statement, tell who is worse than JON?

Is there a worse kick? A worse player?
Raines.

Big Cox
4 Mar 2008, 16:40
Ive got a tenner on him for the Brownlow. I think you underrate him drastically. He oozes composure and class. Play him at CHF and he watch him go I think

Coughlan
4 Mar 2008, 16:49
Completely agree
The supposed "moderator" was the one that called YOU the expletive after you simply were just asking a question based on supercoach, and all the other guy did was question whether it was worthy.

Poor form
You will learn in time.
Obviously new to this board

peejay
4 Mar 2008, 18:00

Check my post to you I did not call you a "whateveryou said i did".

This bloke has posted only once before on our board andd that posted bagged us.

Then he comes on and has a go at me and suggests i need to get a life or a girlfriend and whetever he said.

i have no problems with red carding him for that.

peejay
4 Mar 2008, 18:02
Completely agree

Poor form

As i posted above check your facts before you post.

Not my fault if you can't smell a troll

Richo URA Star
4 Mar 2008, 20:08

ok chappy25

I will give you the benefit of the doubt I am sorry for using the expletive...I may have misread your intentions...of all our young players why did you ask about JON

chappy25
4 Mar 2008, 20:42
ok chappy25

I will give you the benefit of the doubt I am sorry for using the expletive...I may have misread your intentions...of all our young players why did you ask about JON

JON interests me the most because for a couple of years people have been talking him up and saying that he is a good young prospect. I am also interested in cam howatt as i understand he has dominated the last 2 practice matches. is this true??

peejay
4 Mar 2008, 22:37
JON interests me the most because for a couple of years people have been talking him up and saying that he is a good young prospect. I am also interested in cam howatt as i understand he has dominated the last 2 practice matches. is this true??

Just as I thought - a troll.

Richo URA Star
5 Mar 2008, 18:59
Just as I thought - a troll.

thanks peejay for confirming it :thumbsu:

Azzleberry
6 Mar 2008, 16:34
Sometimes you need to know when to cut your losses with a player.. Considering he gave next to nothing last year, you would think that this would (SHOULD) be his last chance, otherwise he should be shown the door:o

Rayzorwire
6 Mar 2008, 19:36
Sometimes you need to know when to cut your losses with a player.. Considering he gave next to nothing last year, you would think that this would (SHOULD) be his last chance, otherwise he should be shown the door:o

It's easier to say that when you have 25 good senior players + a bunch of talented juniors on your list than when you don't.

Players like White who don't have much upside, fair enough, cut them. Players like JON who seriously lack confidence, struggle with basic football thinking (which CAN be learned over time), but have all the athletic potential, a good nature and all the application to their footy you could ask for, deserve 4-5 years before you can make the call.

krustyman
6 Mar 2008, 20:20
the best favor they could do for JON is rookie list him and send him back to WA for a few years and see how he goes. If he is good enough then put him on the senior list rather than have a list full of players who arent up to standard.

santa claws
7 Mar 2008, 17:15
oh my its like watching kindy kids go at it. no wonder i dont visit to often.

J-O-N 188cm very skinny very outside hbf. average kick at best and even at junior level showed signs of poor judgement, vever a big ball winner.never dominated as a junior and was never in the top 10 of his draft yr.
Miller drafted him solely on the back of good draft camp results. he was drafted on his speed and agility nothing else. he was a potential x factor kid typical richmond high risk pick which typically has backfired in our faces.

from what i have seen at coburg he aint going to make it, to me this is obvious. the club should cut its losses and run. or do what a poster suggested put him on the rookie list for two yrs and see if whatever they saw in him comes to the fore.lets give a kid a go on the list proper who looks like he has the goods to make it.

Rayzorwire
7 Mar 2008, 18:14
no wonder i dont visit to often.

Incase you weren't aware, I doubt there's a single person here who misses your negative waffle santa clause.

Sadly, I suppose we'll see you again the next time we have a bad point in the season, insulting players and supporters like there's no tomorrow.

Bojangles17
7 Mar 2008, 21:26
hey all

I concede it was a crap draft all together, when you consider that Varcoe and Dowler went either side of Jons selection, I'll let you be the judge:eek:

krustyman
7 Mar 2008, 22:04
I concede it was a crap draft all together, when you consider that Varcoe and Dowler went either side of Jons selection, I'll let you be the judge:eek:
there were plenty to pick from, even jake edwards, son of former tiger player would be better option, but no they want a skinny downhill skier.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2005_AFL_Draft

Bojangles17
8 Mar 2008, 09:49
there were plenty to pick from, even jake edwards, son of former tiger player would be better option, but no they want a skinny downhill skier.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2005_AFL_Draft

Dont build an argument with that dud Im afraid, Mcguane looks better than him at 70 someting pic

Consumed
8 Mar 2008, 11:57
I can't comment on Varcoe, but Dowler has not done much since he came to the club. At times he looks good, lead-up and mark, but he needs to get a more physical side to his game. Like most supporters I am hoping it's just a long recovery time from some serious injuries.
Can't comment on JON as I have never seen him play.

Sausage roll
8 Mar 2008, 12:15
I am actualay starting to feel sorry for the people who think that JON will be ok given time. You don't go from having absolutley no idea, can't kick, zero awareness etc to a good player just because you have been given time. How funny is it to see him tackled with no idea that there were people around him?

I know you will all quote petrified as an example of someone given time who improved, but he actually showed osme ability early doors unlike this guy. Also, for every one that has come good, five others haven't.

I repeat, he will never make an AFL standard player

Bojangles17
8 Mar 2008, 21:32
I am actualay starting to feel sorry for the people who think that JON will be ok given time. You don't go from having absolutley no idea, can't kick, zero awareness etc to a good player just because you have been given time. How funny is it to see him tackled with no idea that there were people around him?

I know you will all quote petrified as an example of someone given time who improved, but he actually showed osme ability early doors unlike this guy. Also, for every one that has come good, five others haven't.

I repeat, he will never make an AFL standard player

dont think yopu need to be a rocket scientist to work that one out, %^$ happens not the first dud top 10 pic and wont be the last...the worry is the talk in pre season from miller that the kid was ready to make his mark:eek:

Sausage roll
9 Mar 2008, 00:02
dont think yopu need to be a rocket scientist to work that one out, %^$ happens not the first dud top 10 pic and wont be the last...the worry is the talk in pre season from miller that the kid was ready to make his mark:eek:

Yes, and even better is Terry's prediction that JON will , wait for it, " silence his critics this year"!! LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

Worst player on our list and possibly the worst in the AFL

sante
9 Mar 2008, 00:21
Yes, and even better is Terry's prediction that JON will , wait for it, " silence his critics this year"!! LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

Worst player on our list and possibly the worst in the AFL

So, because he has played a couple of crap games, it means he will be shit for the entire season?

Daniel Jackson didn't do much until late 2007.

PS - I can't see him ever making it though :cool:

Bojangles17
10 Mar 2008, 10:06
So, because he has played a couple of crap games, it means he will be shit for the entire season?

Daniel Jackson didn't do much until late 2007.

PS - I can't see him ever making it though :cool:

he simply doesnt have the tools to be any good at this level...even at VFL he struggles to make his mark...where is the pace...ever seen him take a bounce other than debut dash v the Bombers...has poor skills and even worse decision making. Lets not get too hung up on it....As I mentioned there was a few duds in that draft pool it wasnt just us:eek:

Up em tiger boyz
10 Mar 2008, 10:42
From what ive seen JON has not shown 1 thing to say that hell become a good footballer, shocking disposal, no awareness what so ever, not quick, i hope the kid proves me wrong but from what he has shown nothing to get excited about as of yet. :thumbsd:

Tiger bait
10 Mar 2008, 11:30
Played cricket this weekend against Jack Riewoldt and Andrew Raines.

After the game was having a chat with jack and asked him what the hell is going on with JON.... Without going into to much detail, jack simply said "he'll be right" and "most people don't realise he's still young"...

i hope hes right

For the record, Jack aint a bad bowler, but his batting leaves a lot to be desired haha.....

Bojangles17
10 Mar 2008, 11:54
Played cricket this weekend against Jack Riewoldt and Andrew Raines.

After the game was having a chat with jack and asked him what the hell is going on with JON.... Without going into to much detail, jack simply said "he'll be right" and "most people don't realise he's still young"...

i hope hes right

For the record, Jack aint a bad bowler, but his batting leaves a lot to be desired haha.....

what I like about that is they are sticking fat, I would be more dissapointed if you were told he said he was $%$#@:thumbsu:

Coughlan
10 Mar 2008, 20:17
what I like about that is they are sticking fat, I would be more dissapointed if you were told he said he was $%$#@:thumbsu:
Don't say that you spud.
Whenever I hear that I feel physically sick

UpTheGuts
10 Mar 2008, 20:40
Nice bloke. Not up to it. Shocking decision to recruit him with that pick.

Move on...

29-little-CHAMP
13 Mar 2008, 15:36
GIVE THE BOY TIME

he only 20 another 7 years b4 hes at the peak of his powers

give him a go rember we made the vfl gf last year with these boys ?

20 is very young .... i know cause i m 30 :thumbsu:

Sausage roll
14 Mar 2008, 16:25
Nice bloke. Not up to it. Shocking decision to recruit him with that pick.

Move on...

100% right. Great post.

Good old greg "the messiah" miller at his very best.

Agree with previous poster, he simply doesn't have the tools to play at AFL level.

Delist please-now!

I can feel another Krakouer coming on!

s34550
14 Mar 2008, 18:08
Just a supercoach question.
Will Cotchin play R1???????
thannks

mattdwyer
14 Mar 2008, 18:12
Just a supercoach question.
Will Cotchin play R1???????
thannks

dont you read the paper num nuts .. no he wont be playing round 1 ..
is tom williams playing ??

s34550
14 Mar 2008, 21:06
no:)

BadGuy
15 Mar 2008, 12:30
JON is without a doubt one of the worst players we've ever recruited, IMO I wish we didnt sign him up for three years because he just isnt worth it. I pray that Terry doesnt play him for the whole year cos all he will do is f**k us up.