View Full Version : Shattering News for Beau

buddylove_23
3 Mar 2008, 17:29
Just confirmed on 7 News he needs a full knee reco. I Really feel for him. We all neeed to stick by him.
He would have played round 1. Now who will take his spot?

RustyHawk
3 Mar 2008, 17:50
This is terrible, terrible news.

As I have reported elsewhere I found Beau to be very open in his desire to play senior AFL footy. In fact sometimes he seemed frustrated at the lack of opportunity and like the old expression.. wore his heart on his sleeve. There is nothing wrong with that either, a young man with ambition.

He came close, very close to senior selection last year round 4 but the senior player made a suprise recovery and in fact played a very good game at the Dome but in doing so, kept Beau out.

I remember 2 years ago watching him at training doing his rehab. He would sprint along the outer wing going as fast as he could. Then he would walk back to the start and sprint again. He kept this going until his body just said enough and he bought up lunch or whatever. Ive was made to do those sorts of things but never would I have done that voluntarily like Beau did.

Im not going to say "best of luck" cos I think luck has let you down. I will say "Chin Up" - you have 2 years left on your contract, you know what you have to do and if you need anyone to help set up the cones, carry the bag or use the stop watch I and I suspect many on this forum would be only too happy to help.

CharlieMitchell
3 Mar 2008, 17:50
Just confirmed on 7 News he needs a full knee reco. I Really feel for him. We all neeed to stick by him.
He would have played round 1. Now who will take his spot?

I am nothing short of gutted, as im sure every other Hawks supporter is. Now is the time we should be throwing our full support behind the young man. I know it is going to be an absolutely trecherous journey for him yet again, but he has shown the determination to do it once, we should all be supporting him once more.

Im sure your heart is in the right spot BL, but i dont know if this was the time or place to be searching for a replacement for round 1.

Brown Blood
3 Mar 2008, 17:58
Shocking Shocking news and I fear he won't go on as because of the timing it would probably be a 2 season injury before he is in a position to play seniors.

I am sure the club would be able to accommodate him though through the rookie list if he decides to play on.

Will be interesting to see who we promote - stokes has the most potential but I think it is too early for him physically and emotionally to make the next step this year.

buddylove_23
3 Mar 2008, 18:00
I am nothing short of gutted, as im sure every other Hawks supporter is. Now is the time we should be throwing our full support behind the young man. I know it is going to be an absolutely trecherous journey for him yet again, but he has shown the determination to do it once, we should all be supporting him once more.

Im sure your heart is in the right spot BL, but i dont know if this was the time or place to be searching for a replacement for round 1.

Hey mate... hang on a minute i'm as shattered about this as the everyone else the young bloke has come so close to playing a seinor game and was pretty mich a certanty to play round one. I heard his manager talking about him on SEN today and he sounds like such a top young man I only hope he can come back from this his third knee opp. I'm very disapointed but we still do have a season of football just ahead of us to look at.

CharlieMitchell
3 Mar 2008, 18:02
http://news.theage.com.au/hawthorns-muston-out-for-rest-of-season/20080303-1wfd.html

"Hawthorn's Muston out for rest of season"

Scans have confirmed young Hawthorn player Beau Muston has suffered another AFL season-ending knee injury.
The 21-year-old is entering his third season on the club's list, but is yet to make his AFL debut, after the Hawks drafted him in 2005 knowing he would not play at all in 2006 after coming off knee surgery.
He played some VFL football last year and played for the Hawks this pre-season, before again injuring his left knee in Saturday's pre-season semi-final against Adelaide at AAMI Stadium.
The Hawks said they would continue to support the highly-rated midfielder during his rehabilitation.

The final comment in that extract is why i live and breath HFC. It's hard to take a positive out of such tragic news, but if one can then that is it right there. A reflection of the faith and support shown by the club and its fans to Beau that will see him through this tough time. All the best for a speedy recovery mate, when you run out onto the big stage for your seniour debut, ill be there cheering my rear off.

Niko_52
3 Mar 2008, 18:02
NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Damn and saw in the paper today that it could also be a career threatning injury.

BLOODY SH I T

CharlieMitchell
3 Mar 2008, 18:05
Hey mate... hang on a minute i'm as shattered about this as the everyone else the young bloke has come so close to playing a seinor game and was pretty mich a certanty to play round one. I heard his manager talking about him on SEN today and he sounds like such a top young man I only hope he can come back from this his third knee opp. I'm very disapointed but we still do have a season of football just ahead of us to look at.

Completely understand mate, and in no way was i attempting to have a dig or suggest you werent throwing your full support behind B2. You are right, the season will go on, i just didnt think this thread was really the most appropriate place to discuss suitable replacements for the year, that's all.

hodge-910111213
3 Mar 2008, 18:10
Far out. Was only having a beer with him at the Geebung on the night they got home from Kokoda - and I think it is fair to say he is a fair dinkum gun bloke.

I was hoping this year would be HIS year.

The only way we can think is that this is the worst it will ever get, and when he holds up that 2009 premiership cup with the boys, it will make that moment even better, like what a story it would be.

All the best Beau.

buddylove_23
3 Mar 2008, 18:10
Cheers Charlie Mitch we are on the same page here...

flyby hawk
3 Mar 2008, 18:11
As Rusty said "Beau keep your chin up":thumbsu:
I wholeheartedly endorse your comment.

lickmerocks
3 Mar 2008, 18:14
Watch what comes out of this guys...

A team that is united stronger than ever before in its belief and desire to achieve the ultimate.

Melbourne do not stand a chance in round 1.

mollyfud
3 Mar 2008, 18:19
I don't care who it is, this is terrible news and you have to feel for the kid!
Best of luck and lets hope hes back for 09!
Molly

KUNG FU
3 Mar 2008, 18:19
I was really looking forward to seeing him unleashed this year. Lets support the kid in this rough time so we all get the chance to see him in 2009.

Hawkie_McHawkHawk
3 Mar 2008, 18:23
Absolutely terrible news. It was only a matter of time before he would cement himself as a good player in a team going places.
Feel for him, wish him all the best in a sucessful career in whatever he does.
:(:(

cradle of filth
3 Mar 2008, 18:28

Hey come on, it's not like he died or anything. I 'm sure he'll be back for Rnd 1. Look at it this way, better he do it now rather than half-way through the season. He'll have a full 12 months to recover and my hope is that he'll be back for rnd 1 in 2009!

noosa hawk mad
3 Mar 2008, 18:29
Shattered! Can we send him a card Rusty to let him know were behind him all the way & to keep his chin up!

hawka187
3 Mar 2008, 18:52
like Peter Larkins said, this could threaten his career, could be over, I dont think it will be though, his knee will be weak now, with 3 recos done now :(

eyeofthetiger
3 Mar 2008, 18:55
bad luck for the youngster liked the way he moved in the nab cup. wish him all the best for 09. was terrible dissapointed richmond did not have a crack at him back in the draft..is it true he was touted as a number 1 pick b4 hes first knee ?

Rimbaz
3 Mar 2008, 19:18
Feel devastated for the poor fella. Wonder if he will have the same surgery that Malceski had? Would that increase his chances of being ready for Rd1 next year?

shotta
3 Mar 2008, 19:18
Hopefully Musto can overcome this, show lots of patience and determination and a couple of years down the track play in a premiership team.

xellis
3 Mar 2008, 19:19
Shattering news. Massive set back but i hope he can keep focussed with his rehabilitation to be on track for 2009

What other AFL players have recovered from 3 recos?

rockin ronnie
3 Mar 2008, 19:22
I am devastated for the fella, seeing him debut was the thing i was most looking forward to this year. They will surely consider the Malceski type surgery which would place him in line for a 9-12 week return but even the surgeons can only speculate on how his knee will hold up after 3 recons.

noosa hawk mad
3 Mar 2008, 19:31
Shattering news. Massive set back but i hope he can keep focussed with his rehabilitation to be on track for 2009

What other AFL players have recovered from 3 recos?Josh Franco i think but pretty sure he played his last year after the 3rd reco then retired there would be a few I'd say.

bigbol069
3 Mar 2008, 19:35
Shattering for Beau and for footy.
If Beau does read any of this well here's a message for ya. Mate every Hawthorn supporter is behind you, we recognise your talent so dont give up when things get tough and know that this will be one of the most anticipated debuts in the clubs history. All the gut busting and disappointment will be worth it in the end, believe in yourself because we do! Good luck mate we're with ya.
I know I will be monitoring his progress closely all the way and would happily help in any way I can, Rusty don't hesitate to ask if there is any way I/we can help. We all want to see the kid play whether it's now or 2009, we can all see it will be worth the wait.

pacman
3 Mar 2008, 19:59
Absolutely terrible news. It was only a matter of time before he would cement himself as a good player in a team going places.
Feel for him, wish him all the best in a sucessful career in whatever he does.
:(:(
What he does is play for the Mighty Hawks, he is going to get back on the horse and play senior footy next year.
C'MON BEAU!

The Cryptkeeper
3 Mar 2008, 20:02
HE WILL BE BACK

Scribe
3 Mar 2008, 20:54

What other AFL players have recovered from 3 recos?

The Ox did too.

I agree with rockin ronnie - they could try the Malceski approach and see if the artificial ligament works over a grafted hammy. Might see him back rd 10 or 11, and in the senior side towards the end of the regular season.

Not life threatening, and probably not career threatening either.

I agree it's a terrible blow, but he'll keep the chin up and work his way back for sure. :thumbsu:

delirious1
3 Mar 2008, 21:16
Will be back for our 09 premiership,
Good luck Beau, Hopefully this is the last set-back before you career starts

Would it be worth putting him on the rookie list for exceptional circumstances? i would love to keep the bloke, trains hard, bleeds brown and gold, 3 knee re-cos is a huge set-back, but i want our club to keep supporting him

On the Boyle
4 Mar 2008, 07:11
Best of luck Beau!
All the other players you've mentioned having three knee reconstructions were a lot older than Beau when having them - here's hoping that his young body allows him to recover better than they did.
Let's talk of nothing on this forum other than getting him back into the team as soon as he's able!

lethalselbow
4 Mar 2008, 07:18
Best wishes to Beau. A really tough break.

Fingers crossed that he's back. :thumbsu:

saaam
4 Mar 2008, 07:34
Having had my ACL reconstructed once I can say my knee has never been the same, 3 times I can't begin to think how bad it must be. I think the odds are against the lad playing too many games.
My best wishes for a speedy recovery whether he makes it back to footy or not.

MinerBoy
4 Mar 2008, 07:48
Absolutely shattered for the boy. Can't begin to imagine how he must be feeling.

Hang in there Beau, as there are plenty of Hawks supporters who reckon you have got the right stuff. Get back soon and hear the crowd roar. We are behind you.

mattie55
4 Mar 2008, 08:26
The reports that he will be back after 3 reco's are optomistic we all know what kind of a hard worker he has been to get to where he was before saturday but what an unbelievable mental hurdle he will have to overcome to make it back from here? Even if he does get the knee right will he ever have the confidence or ever be able to live up to the potential he had to become a star? Or be the same player he was?
For the kids sake i dam well hope so but none of us would understand what he would have to go through to get back. I was very much looking forward to his debut in round 1 as he was looking good in the NAB cup.
I wanna wish him all the best and i hope he does make it back, what an amazing achievement both physically and mentally that would be.

flukeyluke
4 Mar 2008, 08:40
Terrible news. I really hope he gets to live his dream one day.
Good luck to the lad.

Coathanger
4 Mar 2008, 09:45
Really awful news. Hang in there Beau.

All Hawk people are behind you.

Good luck.

Gary Shadforth
4 Mar 2008, 09:58

Crikey! I mentioned in a post last week that I was looking forward to seeing Beau finally make his senior debut.

We can get behind him through your forum's sponsorship of the young man. Not just the cash. Hawks BigFooty.com will look at otherways in assisting him to keep his chin up as Rusty has put it.

We'll see if he can write a few articles for us exclusively for all you guys, gals and the kids. And a photo of him with as many posters as we can fit in at one of our pre-match meet-ups.

MinerBoy
4 Mar 2008, 10:05

Crikey! I mentioned in a post last week that I was looking forward to seeing Beau finally make his senior debut.

We can get behind him through your forum's sponsorship of the young man. Not just the cash. Hawks BigFooty.com will look at otherways in assisting him to keep his chin up as Rusty has put it.

We'll see if he can write a few articles for us exclusively for all you guys, gals and the kids. And a photo of him with as many posters as we can fit in at one of our pre-match meet-ups.

Surely we aren't sponsoring this bloody cripple. :mad:

:D Kidding.

BigAl3001
4 Mar 2008, 10:13
Hopefully the club will introduce measures to set Beau up for a life without footy. Uni course/trade/whatever. The reality is that his knee IS so bad that he needs to start thinking about what's he's going to do with the rest of his life if/when the dream comes to an end.

jazz
4 Mar 2008, 10:17
Crap!

Mojo
4 Mar 2008, 10:18
Crap!

Gary's not that bad..

:p

KingRich
4 Mar 2008, 10:40
Others may have a better understand of this than me... But is there scope for Muston to trial the surgery that Malceski had?? He doesn't have much to lose.

jazz
4 Mar 2008, 12:56
Gary's not that bad..

:p

lol! You know what I mean....

moginie
4 Mar 2008, 13:07
Just an awful thing to happen when he looked like breaking through.
The very best of luck for a speedy, strong recovery.