27 Feb 2008, 16:58
Where is clint bartam at?

He is only 110k

1.How is his pre-season going?
2. Will he play round 1?
3. How many games do u expect from him?

melbourne150
27 Feb 2008, 18:39
He should hopefully be ready for round 1...

And if fit should play every game...

Jimi
27 Feb 2008, 18:43
See how he goes in the praccy games and whether he gets picked round one. Apparently he is running out full training sessions now, so could be worth a good look as a cash cow in DT this year.

The Dr
27 Feb 2008, 19:31
Where is clint bartam at?

He is only 110k

1.How is his pre-season going?
2. Will he play round 1?
3. How many games do u expect from him?

Surely he isn't 110 kilos or am i missing something?:confused:

Marns
27 Feb 2008, 19:34
Nah I take it tt was referring to his price on dreamteam

The Dr
27 Feb 2008, 20:06
Aaah, the old dream team...don't i look like a knob!!

The RPM
27 Feb 2008, 23:58
With Cale Morton only about $3000 more it will be interesting to see who proves the best cashcow for the season.

If healthy Bartram has a reasonable chance of playing almost every game. Morton's harder to judge, though his form on the weekend suggests he might be ready for the big time already.

Wrecker45
28 Feb 2008, 08:32
Unfortunately he isn't as close to playing as some people seem to think.

dutchy12
28 Feb 2008, 10:01
Unfortunately he isn't as close to playing as some people seem to think.

he played on the weekend though? we all know with clint it is a touch and go situation but surely this would indicate he is improving

saladin
28 Feb 2008, 10:17
i'm interested in Bartram from a dreamteam/supercoach point of view too, but i don't think he actually played last week did he?

the other one who i think is an absolute bargain if fit is Mathew Whelan. how is he tracking, and is he still in your best side when right?

master bate
28 Feb 2008, 10:33
i'm interested in Bartram from a dreamteam/supercoach point of view too, but i don't think he actually played last week did he?

the other one who i think is an absolute bargain if fit is Mathew Whelan. how is he tracking, and is he still in your best side when right?When fit Whelan is one of the first picked but he has had a really limited preseason and at this stage it sounds like he might not even play until a month into the season. I'd leave him out of your team and wait until he gets a couple of games into him and then trade if you have injuries or before his value increases.

saladin
28 Feb 2008, 10:50
thank you.

Wrecker45
28 Feb 2008, 13:49
he played on the weekend though? we all know with clint it is a touch and go situation but surely this would indicate he is improving

My eyes lit up when I read Bartram's name in the bests in the Herald Sun report but according to the people that were there as reported on demonland and demonology he didn't actually play.

DockerNJL
28 Feb 2008, 13:57
do you guys think pettard will be worth the punt?
i have heard good raps on him before so will he be regular 22 if fit + where do you guys see him playing?

MicksterD
28 Feb 2008, 15:13
do you guys think pettard will be worth the punt?
i have heard good raps on him before so will he be regular 22 if fit + where do you guys see him playing?

I have slotted him into my team. If fit he will be a regular and is one of the more talented players IMO. He should play on a HBF and provide plenty of run for the mighty Dees.

Waite_30
28 Feb 2008, 15:57
Didn't want to start a new thread for this but who will have a better season: Bate or Sylvia?

davey_magik
28 Feb 2008, 16:03
Didn't want to start a new thread for this but who will have a better season: Bate or Sylvia?

Bate would be your safe bet, but if Sylvia is fit he'll have the better season.

The Flash
28 Feb 2008, 16:49
If Col is fit, you will see the reason why we picked him up in the first round a few years ago. Give him 6 weeks to get into things, then watch as 'THE KID' takes off.

tiger trooper
28 Feb 2008, 17:03
thank you for the advice guys.

I am definitely getting him im just not sure if hell play round 1.

davey_magik
3 Mar 2008, 17:49
I'm sick of thread after thread starting up on our board asking about how players will go this year for DT, so put it in this thread.

And I'll make my best efofrts to answer the questions in this thread, but I won't bother if people make new threads.

Cheers.

MicksterD
3 Mar 2008, 17:52
Hey DM - I noticed that Wheatley was one of the higher scorers last year on champion data - will he get a permanent gig this year?

Bartram_Class
3 Mar 2008, 17:55
God, I heard Colin Sylvia has played three consecutive pre-season games, is it worth picking him when he has already played half of the 6 games he averages a season?

Supermercado
3 Mar 2008, 18:04
How is Phil Gilbert projected to do this year?

davey_magik
3 Mar 2008, 18:20
**** you all ;) .

LuKe2428
3 Mar 2008, 18:58
hey guys im just wondering how pettard and valenti are goin i watched a melbourne game and saw valenti get a bit of the ball how many game roughy will he play?? is he a decent player?? cheers

kp junior
3 Mar 2008, 19:02
Is Bartram going to play many this year?
Ah Phil Gilbert, we still have nightmares..

davey_magik
3 Mar 2008, 19:54
Valenti IMO would be a good bet as if he plays he's likely to get a lot of the ball, but it is a question of whether we'll get a long term injury and Valenti will be upgraded off the rookie list.

Bartram isn't fit yet and I wouldn't take him as he has to cement a spot in the side again.
For us some good bets would be Daniel Bell and Jared Rivers, shouldn't be THAT expensive and will be guaranteed to play every game if fit.

CowboyFromHell
3 Mar 2008, 19:56
How is Phil Gilbert projected to do this year?

About as good as Luke Norman!

Bartram_Class
3 Mar 2008, 21:48
Bartram isn't fit yet and I wouldn't take him as he has to cement a spot in the side again.
For us some good bets would be Daniel Bell and Jared Rivers, shouldn't be THAT expensive and will be guaranteed to play every game if fit.
Take either at your peril IMO.

Especially Rivers, the poor bloke can't catch a break with his injuries.

SM10
4 Mar 2008, 17:45
Meesen?

davey_magik
4 Mar 2008, 18:00
:thumbsu:Meesen?

Could be a bargain pickup, gets a fair few possessions for a ruckman but won't be scoring THAT high, would be handy on the bench.

PS I love your avatar :thumbsu:

Dixie Flatline
4 Mar 2008, 18:14
How is David Neitz going? Worth a gamble?

The RPM
4 Mar 2008, 19:18
I hope you aren't serious about Neitz.

He has never been a good dter. In fact, as a general rule player's from any team playing a similar role to Neitz (little to no work around the ground and thus inconsistency due to almost exclusive reliance on goal scoring for points) have little tangible value in the world of fantasy football. See also; F.Gehrig, M.O'Loughlin and S.Rocca.

Look for forwards who move around the ground gathering marks and disposals for fantasy teams. Brad Johnson, a DT stud for years, is a perfect example of this style. With forwards like these, if the goals aren't coming at least the DT points are.

Dixie Flatline
5 Mar 2008, 14:19
Cheers.

I should have clarified that I'm not playing DreamTeam or SuperCoach but Fantasy Footy (www.fantasyfooty.net.au) which is a draft-based game. The draft is up to pick 299 out of ~450, so we're scraping the barrel. Anyway, Neitz has been drafted, so I'm considering Michael Newton as a possibility.

The RPM
5 Mar 2008, 16:22
Cheers.

I should have clarified that I'm not playing DreamTeam or SuperCoach but Fantasy Footy (www.fantasyfooty.net.au (http://www.fantasyfooty.net.au)) which is a draft-based game. The draft is up to pick 299 out of ~450, so we're scraping the barrel. Anyway, Neitz has been drafted, so I'm considering Michael Newton as a possibility.

Oh, in that case I like Newton more than Neitz in fantasy terms anyway so I'd get him.

Benevolent Ert
5 Mar 2008, 17:28
How's Moloney going?

Bartram_Class
5 Mar 2008, 19:01
How's Moloney going?
Iffy bet.

Wait a while IMO.

KouDogg
5 Mar 2008, 22:20
What do you guys think about Mclean. Will he have a big and consistent year? because thats what i am looking for in my DT this year consistancy.

Same goes with Green.

Thanks guys and goodluck for 08 :thumbsu:

frantelle
6 Mar 2008, 00:33
will cale morton play come round 1?
he is really skinny but if he is put out on a wing by himself could prove fine

Deenamite
6 Mar 2008, 06:44
will cale morton play come round 1?
he is really skinny but if he is put out on a wing by himself could prove fine

I doubt it.

Deenamite
6 Mar 2008, 06:44
What do you guys think about Mclean. Will he have a big and consistent year? because thats what i am looking for in my DT this year consistancy.

Same goes with Green.

Thanks guys and goodluck for 08 :thumbsu:

Brock should have a reasonably good year but Green could be good in term of just racking up the kicks.

KouDogg
6 Mar 2008, 08:16
Brock should have a reasonably good year but Green could be good in term of just racking up the kicks.

Ok so Green do you suggest?

How has his pre-season been? is he injury free?

Will he play round 1?

Thanks

SM10
6 Mar 2008, 20:36
:thumbsu:

Could be a bargain pickup, gets a fair few possessions for a ruckman but won't be scoring THAT high, would be handy on the bench.

PS I love your avatar :thumbsu:
Thanks mate, I got him on the bench ATM so I will leave him there I think.

Not the best performance from our boys today was it:(

davey_magik
6 Mar 2008, 20:48
Thanks mate, I got him on the bench ATM so I will leave him there I think.

Not the best performance from our boys today was it:(

Yes, very disappointing, we'll still finish top half though, and next season we'll be a far better side providing we get a better injury run and are busy in the transfer window.

SM10
6 Mar 2008, 20:57
Yes, very disappointing, we'll still finish top half though, and next season we'll be a far better side providing we get a better injury run and are busy in the transfer window.
Yeah lets hope so hey

Can't complain with where we are on the table at the moment

cozdawg#09
6 Mar 2008, 21:13
How's Colin Garland looking? Saw him at a fairly cheap price... will he play rd 1?

Bartram_Class
6 Mar 2008, 23:17
Stop infiltrating this board with that Hammers filth.

Bartram_Class
6 Mar 2008, 23:18
How's Colin Garland looking? Saw him at a fairly cheap price... will he play rd 1?
50/50.

Would need a big game this weekend.

My money would be on him starting the year in the VFL.

the_berger
7 Mar 2008, 16:54
Simon Buckley?????

Deenamite
7 Mar 2008, 17:49

Very doubtful. Just isn't up to standard yet.

melbourne150
7 Mar 2008, 22:20
Simon Buckley?????
http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/66904.jpg

Will most likely play round 1 if he continues his good form...

It's defienitly worth picking him up for the bench in DT:thumbsu:

(don't know why i put a picture up:D)

the_berger
8 Mar 2008, 19:03
buckley or bartram???????

GreaT SourcE
8 Mar 2008, 19:21
How is Petterd travelling ?? How did he go against the Roos today ??

barone
9 Mar 2008, 12:41
will whelan play round 1? and yes simon buckley is good, atm i have nathan jones and whelan in my side!

Dane Swan 4 brownlow
9 Mar 2008, 13:38
will he be a regular in the the melbourne outfit this year

whelan=legend
9 Mar 2008, 15:42
will whelan play round 1? and yes simon buckley is good, atm i have nathan jones and whelan in my side!
Apparently Whelan is over his injuries but he does get injured alot so he might miss a few rounds

DemonErrol1964 - dees
9 Mar 2008, 18:37
Iv'e got no Demons starting although I did chop and change with Junior, Wheels and Rivers.

Have only Woonemeri and Maric, as reserves. Both raw and cheap.

Supermercado
9 Mar 2008, 19:36
Given that Wonamierri is on the rookie list I'd ditch him. Surely there is somebody at the same price on another club list who is around the same price and is senior.

kerr brownlow 08
9 Mar 2008, 20:12
2 quick names.

johnny meesen? likely to be picked from the get go, i read he played ressies this w/e, surely that isnt a good sign?

simon buckley, best 22? and unfortunately havent been able to watch any dees matches (no fox), but whats his role and who could he be likened too?

muchly appreciated :thumbsu:

Magpie Magic
10 Mar 2008, 00:27
Hey guys.

Just wondering how is Brent Moloney going?

Is he over his OP? If he is fully fit, I reckon he will be a STEAL (especially is SC).

Many Thanks.

Supermercado
10 Mar 2008, 03:18
unfortunately havent been able to watch any dees matches (no fox)

Given that we've played our pre-season in Geelong, Cairns, Bendigo, Cranbourne and Phoenix, Arizona I don't think having Fox would have helped you too much.

Glenno23
10 Mar 2008, 12:26
How has Jack Grimes been going?

has he been injured, has he had game time?

cheers

Donsforever
10 Mar 2008, 17:07
Is Simon Buckley likely to get a game every week?

GoesBangFrom50
11 Mar 2008, 15:15
Is there any reason why Whelan isnt listed as one of the players requested to play for Sandi this week? Is he injured again or did he do enough to get straight in round 1?

master bate
11 Mar 2008, 15:35
How is Petterd travelling ?? How did he go against the Roos today ??Apparently didn't go too badly but without seeing the game if he and 10 others actually were playing well we wouldn't have got spanked, I'd say he be a pretty good chance for round 1 without being locked in.

will whelan play round 1? and yes simon buckley is good, atm i have nathan jones and whelan in my side!Jones is probably the safest bet for a demon, good choice. I don't know enough about how Whelan went in the VFL on saturday to tell you whether its a good pickup or not.

2 quick names.

johnny meesen? likely to be picked from the get go, i read he played ressies this w/e, surely that isnt a good sign?

simon buckley, best 22? and unfortunately havent been able to watch any dees matches (no fox), but whats his role and who could he be likened too?

muchly appreciated :thumbsu:Meesen hasn't had a good shot at the ruck yet, he's been played as a tall running player, Paul Johnson and Jamar have both shown ok signs so far, wouldn't be in my fantasy team or my demons round 1 lineup

Buckley is an athletic looking midfielder who can kick the footy a long way and kicks it nicely (but not the most accurate). Played the most impressive quarter of our whole preseason against the cats, but missed the second game and in the last two he might have got carried away with the aggressive running. Role is an outside midfielder, has pace to burn. Sadly for the rest of the players in one good quarter he has probably showed enough to get a spot in round 1, but I wouldn't lock him in as best 22

Hey guys.

Just wondering how is Brent Moloney going?

Is he over his OP? If he is fully fit, I reckon he will be a STEAL (especially is SC).

Many Thanks.Hopefully he is over OP and his fitness is much improved on the last two years. Practice match form has been solid without spectacular. Don't know his price but I think he would be worth the gamble.

How has Jack Grimes been going?

has he been injured, has he had game time?

cheersInjured I think, hasn't played yet, definitely not one for SC/DT early in the season, might be one to pick up late in the year.

THEBLOODS85
11 Mar 2008, 21:36
clint bartram will he play round one.....supercoach cheapie worth a punt on......yes/no??

RangaInTeal
12 Mar 2008, 09:15
Not just dream team questions, Melbourne are probably my seccond club, Pettard, Bartram, Weetra, Meesen, Bode, Rivers, McNamarra? where are all of these kids at, will they play much league this year? You have a stunning coach in Dean Bailey, I think far to many people are writing a good side off far to early, any side with Nietz, Robertson, Rivers, Bruce and White are capable of anything on there day! If 5 young kids step up I would say finals are very likely!

D_train
12 Mar 2008, 11:16
I think I read somewhere that Austin Wonearmirri played in your most recent practice match and Shaun Valenti didn't. If that's the case, would that make Wonearmirri ahead of Valenti as the likely promoted rookie?

Also, is it true that Jack Grimes is on the LTI list atm? If so, do you think we could see Aussie get a run early on in the year?

Ling Sting
12 Mar 2008, 12:18
I've got nathan jones in my SC team. Is this his third year now???

do you see him having a breakout year like I expect him to or just continue racking up roughly 70 odd points a game??

Thanks guys.

Lingsface
13 Mar 2008, 00:13
Ricky Pettard will play a high possesion type role this year would you say? Joel Bowden role? have u got any links to his stats from last year thanks guys.

Bartram_Class
13 Mar 2008, 01:06
I think I read somewhere that Austin Wonearmirri played in your most recent practice match and Shaun Valenti didn't. If that's the case, would that make Wonearmirri ahead of Valenti as the likely promoted rookie?

Also, is it true that Jack Grimes is on the LTI list atm? If so, do you think we could see Aussie get a run early on in the year?
Grimes isn't on the LTI list just yet, but it could very well happen soon, I think you'd find Valenti promoted before Aussie though.

Bartram_Class
13 Mar 2008, 01:08
Ricky Pettard will play a high possesion type role this year would you say? Joel Bowden role? have u got any links to his stats from last year thanks guys.
I think he might struggle initially to return to his form of last season.

I don't see him having many 15+ possesion games until the mid-point of the season, at which point it might be worth drafting him into your DT team as he starts to improve.

Bartram_Class
13 Mar 2008, 01:09
clint bartram will he play round one.....supercoach cheapie worth a punt on......yes/no??

Probably not.

Needs a few games in the VFL.

PumpyChowdown
13 Mar 2008, 19:07
Cale Morton and Shane Valenti.

Both seemed to have good pre-seasons. Will either of them be starting in round 1/a regular this season?

Appreciate any advice.

melbourne150
13 Mar 2008, 19:21
Cale Morton and Shane Valenti.

Both seemed to have good pre-seasons. Will either of them be starting in round 1/a regular this season?

Appreciate any advice.

Morton is a good chance of playing round 1 especialy if Bruce isn't ready.
And may be a regular this season depending on his form(obviously)

And Valenti is on the rookie list...

PumpyChowdown
13 Mar 2008, 19:57
Morton is a good chance of playing round 1 especialy if Bruce isn't ready.
And may be a regular this season depending on his form(obviously)

And Valenti is on the rookie list...

Thanks m150!:thumbsu:

master bate
13 Mar 2008, 20:20
I've got nathan jones in my SC team. Is this his third year now???

do you see him having a breakout year like I expect him to or just continue racking up roughly 70 odd points a game??

Thanks guys.I expect him to continue his 70 points a game role, but also throw in a few good scores. Not quite breakout though, because he might needs the support around him that you get in a good side to really score well consistently

master bate
13 Mar 2008, 20:29
Not just dream team questions, Melbourne are probably my seccond club, Pettard, Bartram, Weetra, Meesen, Bode, Rivers, McNamarra? where are all of these kids at, will they play much league this year? You have a stunning coach in Dean Bailey, I think far to many people are writing a good side off far to early, any side with Nietz, Robertson, Rivers, Bruce and White are capable of anything on there day! If 5 young kids step up I would say finals are very likely!Thanks for the positivity, but I see us as being slow starters but being more than competitive as the season goes on if these injured players like Rivers and Whelan get fit. As for the young blokes.

Petterd - 15 plus games especially as our backline needs him
Bartram - Still struggling with injury, could get fully right and come good playing 15 plus games or could battle the whole season and play 5, pick him up after he shows form
Weetra - Still not ready,starting to play like a good first year player now, might crack a few games if lucky
Meesen - Needs to harden the f up, he might need a fair bit of time, but if his tap ruckwork comes good will easily replace the Jamar and Johnson show
Bode - Don't get fooled by one good game last year, he isn't up to it, could still play as we are short on defenders (I think he's better as a tagger or small forward anyway though) but wouldn't let him near someone who knows what they are doing
Rivers - Varying injury reports, we know hes not 100%, can he last most of the season, I bloody hope so
McNamara - Real surprise of the preseason from the one Geelong game I saw, moves really well but not ready for senior footy (youngest in the draft), could be like Petterd last year, coming into the team midseason and playing 10 games max, injuries to defenders could get him some more time.

Crimson Azure
13 Mar 2008, 20:37
DT is now open!

cammo84
13 Mar 2008, 22:14
Bate vs Davey

Both around the same price, I want to pick one, but which? Any help would be appreciated.

peterss
13 Mar 2008, 22:48
Expecting Yze to play every game this season lads? If not all then the majority?

master bate
13 Mar 2008, 23:38
Bate vs Davey

Both around the same price, I want to pick one, but which? Any help would be appreciated.Davey by a mile, his form has been great in the preseason, he looks set to move (successfully) into the midfield and is over last years injuries also last year he had a few very good 25+ possession games. Bate on the other hand looks like missing 2-3 weeks with a hammy, and has been trialled in the midfield with poor results.

master bate
13 Mar 2008, 23:40
Expecting Yze to play every game this season lads? If not all then the majority?I think he is a failure waiting to happen in the backline but if he can play well there he will get plenty of games cause we are fair short of talent back there. I think he is fit and hungry again but I wouldn't back him to play every game. But with Yze its often been all or nothing

apple
14 Mar 2008, 01:17
Junior McDonald? Am tossing up between him and Simon Goodwin..

Bartram_Class
14 Mar 2008, 01:33
Goodwin.

Not to take anything away from McDonald, but we're all hoping this year is the year the young brigade take over.

Masss#10
14 Mar 2008, 09:41
to pick Sylvia or not to pick...help me out dees fans

MarkJohnson#1
14 Mar 2008, 13:05
Has Meesen fallen out of favour in the Dees camp since his early pre-season hype?

melbourne150
14 Mar 2008, 13:44

I'd go with McDonald he consistently gets alot of the ball and he lays alot of tackles.

melbourne150
14 Mar 2008, 13:48
to pick Sylvia or not to pick...help me out dees fans

Well he appears to finaly be over his injuries, and has been in good form over the Pre-Season, but he won't be playing round 1:thumbsu:

lifelike_
14 Mar 2008, 16:14
Afternoon all.

I'm in two minds about picking Daniel Bell. He was in some good form over four rounds (averaging around 85) in the middle of last year before he was injured against Essendon. Is there any chance he could come close to averaging around 75-80 this year or is he being used as more of a stopper? His NAB Cup form hasn't exactly filled me with confidence.

Also, is there anyone in particular who's set to take over the role Nathan Brown had last year?

Cheers.

Penski
14 Mar 2008, 16:52
Does anyone think that Garland is in the mix for selection Round 1?

Deenamite
14 Mar 2008, 18:51
Afternoon all.

I'm in two minds about picking Daniel Bell. He was in some good form over four rounds (averaging around 85) in the middle of last year before he was injured against Essendon. Is there any chance he could come close to averaging around 75-80 this year or is he being used as more of a stopper? His NAB Cup form hasn't exactly filled me with confidence.

Also, is there anyone in particular who's set to take over the role Nathan Brown had last year?

Cheers.

Don't get Bell as he will definitely be more of a stopper this year and i he just isn't a natural scorer. Although he was already a permanent in our starting 22, Whelan is basically a better version of Doggy and is dirt cheap so you might want to have a look at him.

cammo84
14 Mar 2008, 19:39

Goodwin will possibly play a forward role this year, and isn't likely to get the kind of scores he was getting last year.

Dandy_GO
14 Mar 2008, 19:40
Goodwin.

Not to take anything away from McDonald, but we're all hoping this year is the year the young brigade take over.

Bit similar with Goodwin, actually - we'll be playing him more up forward and down back. Doubt he'll average as much as he has been in previous years - you could probably do better for the price than both, by the sounds of it.

I was wondering how McLean's pre-season has been. Any injury concerns, and has he been playing in the trial games? He looks like he could be a good get, should he return to his 2006 form, or close to it

sdsdsdsd
14 Mar 2008, 19:44
Any of u think that Meesen is in contention for a spot???

Deenamite
14 Mar 2008, 20:07
Any of u think that Meesen is in contention for a spot???

Yes, he is in contention.

footy_4_life
14 Mar 2008, 21:04
wondering how chris johnson is going..

a good pre season.. and role in defence this year..

imo can deliver with the running back role..

Deenamite
15 Mar 2008, 07:11
wondering how chris johnson is going..

a good pre season.. and role in defence this year..

imo can deliver with the running back role..

Will be lucky to play more than 10 games.

Cat for Life
15 Mar 2008, 11:44
Hey all,
An opinion on who would be better out of Jones and Mclean, both similar price. Jones has been very good this pre-season, but Brock has the runs on the board, is he capable of rediscovering his 06 scores this season?
cheers,
CFL

w00dy
15 Mar 2008, 12:28
Hey all,
An opinion on who would be better out of Jones and Mclean, both similar price. Jones has been very good this pre-season, but Brock has the runs on the board, is he capable of rediscovering his 06 scores this season?
cheers,
CFL

brock hasn't shown much yet this pre season, however if he is fit then would be capable of returning to his 06 form...

Jones from all reports has been our best player this pre season, and looks set to continue where he left off last year, if not become even better...