View Full Version : Respect the "COUGAR"

TAZZIE HAWK
3 Mar 2008, 22:57
Actions speak louder than words, beware the cut cat!
PCiGfcKtzoA

Cheeseman
3 Mar 2008, 23:09
Bloody awesome work man, lovin it. :thumbsu:

Hawkk
3 Mar 2008, 23:10
A 2 minute/2 game highlight vid

Actions speak louder than words ;)

TAZZIE HAWK
3 Mar 2008, 23:16
A 2 minute/2 game highlight vid

Actions speak louder than words ;)
all the footage I got Sorry!!

dipper86
3 Mar 2008, 23:16
That was preety good, I couldn't help but laugh...... The Cougar roar is quite amusing. :thumbsu:

delirious1
3 Mar 2008, 23:20
Shows that the bloke has the ability to play. and we should get off his back when he puts in the shocker ie-adelaide

Roughie
3 Mar 2008, 23:27
Very nice video

CouchPotato
3 Mar 2008, 23:41
Have been critical of Zac but someone who played at the elite level pointed out that his actually doing what all fullbacks should be doing and that's going for the spoil not the mark as highlighted again and again in your insightful package

Maybe those around him should be awake to this and be ready for it.

Will hold off with further criticism and see how it pans out

Jonesy1987
4 Mar 2008, 03:39
Wow didn't notice Dawson in the NAB games but from that footage looks like he is gonna have a big year, massive improvements all over the board

lethalselbow
4 Mar 2008, 06:39
Great stuff Tazzie Hawk! :thumbsu:

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

GALON
4 Mar 2008, 06:51
That underground handball to get past an Adelaide player at 1.45 is special. I was hoping it would be in the package somewhere.
Great job, Tazzie Hawk. Top stuff.

Hawkers Hero
4 Mar 2008, 07:46
You dont really notice in the games how acomplished a spoiler he is - I dont think Ive seen him get pinged for chopping the arms which is pretty easy to do if you spoil all the time.

I would like to see him look to mark more when he is in front and his opponent has no chance of getting to it. Also a quick kick forward rather than the short handball putting a team mate under pressure all the time would be good.

Im a big fan of Cougar and just think he needs time and encouragement to become a decent fullback - hes never going to be a Scarlett or Glass (I dont think) but if he can do his job and limit his opponent to 1 or 2 goals and cut out most of the silly mistakes i will be happy.

flyby hawk
4 Mar 2008, 08:50
Well done Tassie Hawk - absolutely incrediable stuff.:thumbsu:

LETS ALL GET OFF ZAC'S BACK AND SUPPORT HIM

mollyfud
4 Mar 2008, 08:57
To work! Would have loved you to voice over Tiger with Cougar though!
Molly

The Cryptkeeper
4 Mar 2008, 08:57
Shows that the bloke has the ability to play. and we should get off his back when he puts in the shocker ie-adelaide

Jesus....if Zac's performance against Adelaide was your definition of a "shocker" then he is going okay. His game against Adelaide was decent enough.

Mojo
4 Mar 2008, 09:00
Jesus....if Zac's performance against Adelaide was your definition of a "shocker" then he is going okay. His game against Adelaide was decent enough.

INO.. he did some good things!

Hawkamania!
4 Mar 2008, 09:03
http://www.hat.net/album/north_america/canada/british_columbia/vancouver_island/west_coast_trail/day_2_tsusiat_to_cribs/06230053_beware_of_cougar.jpg

2008 - the year of the cougar.:thumbsu:

Nice vid Tazzie Hawk.

Davo23
4 Mar 2008, 09:52
all the footage I got Sorry!!

Hey, you are ruining everyone's arguments about Zac with actual footage of him playing - that is cheating, when we all know he doesn't actually play like that.

We know that he is bad because we just know.

(/sarcasm)

Davo23

p.s. great video footage.

MinerBoy
4 Mar 2008, 10:09
LOL. I was still nervous watching those replays.

I'm not a Zac basher at all, but that was hardly awe inspiring stuff. A few good spoils and a few that were lucky not to give away free kicks after he completely mistimed his attempts and more or less just took the opponent out without penalty.

Like I said, I haven't been into the whole Zac bashing thing, but that clip is hardly a case for Round 1 selection either.

GALON
4 Mar 2008, 11:23
Interestingly Minerboy, what do you think a video of Glass, Fletcher or Rutten would look like when they had played 14 games? ;)
Not too disimilar, I'd imagine.

MinerBoy
4 Mar 2008, 11:42
Interestingly Minerboy, what do you think a video of Glass, Fletcher or Rutten would look like when they had played 14 games? ;)

Perhaps not. However, how long did it take each to accumulate those 14 games after their debut game? I would suggest that they showed a great deal more poise/promise than Zac and quickly reached that mark. In Fletchers case, he would have probably been holding the 1993 premiership cup.

Binxy
4 Mar 2008, 11:51
I have nothing negative to say

rumblah
4 Mar 2008, 11:55
Well done Tassie Hawk - absolutely incrediable stuff.:thumbsu:

LETS ALL GET OFF ZAC'S BACK AND SUPPORT HIM

amen to that aye, geez if only some of the people on here were selectors :rolleyes::rolleyes:

MinerBoy
4 Mar 2008, 12:12

By the way Galon, I wasn't having a go at Zac so much as saying that the video clip doesn't prove anything about his ability or lack there of. In fact, I will quote below a post I made last season during the NAB cup which supports my non Zac bashing stance. :D

Personally, I think it's time to stop questioning Zac's position in the team and just back him to the hilt. If the coaches think he's good enough, then so do I. He's got height, he's putting on weight and his skills are OK. He punches well and will learn how to play the position better with every game.

FFS - how many games has he played? 14? He only just turned 21 I think. He keeps David Neitz to 2 goals (1 from a crumb and the other from a soft free kick IIRC) and we are debating his spot. Gee-Zus.

Do we realise that there are plenty of excellent forwards in the AFL? There are going to be days when he (and other more established FBs) play well and still concede 3, 4 or 5 goals. Sometimes there's just not a lot a FB can do. Are we going to drag him over coals every time?

Come on Hawks supporters, members and bandwagoners. Lets give him all the support and confidence the coaching staff are showing towards him. God I hope he makes a lot of people eat their words, but even if he doesn't; while he remains a Hawk - let's bloody well support him like a Hawk.

However, I do have less confidence 12 months on that he is the answer at full back, but will happily be proven wrong.

GALON
4 Mar 2008, 12:32
Yeah, I wasnt saying you were having a go. Just pointing out to everyone, not just yourself that he's still young and learning and that all defenders start off looking awkward and out of their depth.

Trent Berger
4 Mar 2008, 12:43
Brilliant stuff Tazzie Hawk.:thumbsu:

I for one am prepared to wait the season before passing any final judgements on Zac. He is young and inexperienced but he has bulked up. If Clarko and the coaching staff are willing to give him more time which is the case because they recontracted him, I say lets just wait and see. It is not like we have an abundance of KPPs in the backline at the moment.

Coathanger
4 Mar 2008, 12:48
17/18/19 year olds are "young and learning".

It's not rocket science, it's footy. You either have the skills,brains & courage(abundance of one may help lack of the others) or you don't.

Hawks2009
4 Mar 2008, 19:48
I'm happy for Zac to be the worst player in the team as long as he knows how to stop the oposition FF from scoring goals. Every1 has a role in the team. Not every1 can be ball magnets with awsome skills. Zac just keep spoiling and take care of your man, we have another 5 backman to do the rest

Ashman23
4 Mar 2008, 20:16
I thought he was ok and I believe this will be his year.

macdaddio
4 Mar 2008, 20:29
i have been getting a lot of critism for zac bashing lately, but i,m sorry but that clip does not show me he has what it takes to rescue us from the back line this year........

i wont say anything bad...............for now..:cool:

nice vid...............

GALON
4 Mar 2008, 20:34
17/18/19 year olds are "young and learning".

It's not rocket science, it's footy. You either have the skills,brains & courage(abundance of one may help lack of the others) or you don't.So players don't learn anything and are physically and mentally capable after 14 games of football?
Yeah, right.

flukeyluke
4 Mar 2008, 20:50
Great video. Top effort to put it all together:thumbsu:

MHDKA
4 Mar 2008, 21:17
i have been getting a lot of critism for zac bashing lately, but i,m sorry but that clip does not show me he has what it takes to rescue us from the back line this year........

i wont say anything bad...............for now..:cool:

nice vid...............

Oh that big of you but do you actually think he is on our list for any other reason than insurance if Croad gets injured. And do you think the club actually thinks he is going to be the savior of the backline because if you do you are very naive.

What I find hard to believe is some believe all players should end up in the top 22. The fact is there are some players on our list who will never be in the top 22. We have young players, we have players recovering from injury and we have players who we have as insurance if certain other players get injured. For example Madagan was never in our top 22 and he played in a Grand Final.

And we must put together a list of 43 or 44 that is composed of A, B & C grade players as well as recruits and reserve players that keeps us under the salary cap.

And in this context what is the role of Dawson. He is cheap and good insurance and fits a role that Murphy or Jacobs can't. And anybody that puts him down without understanding this fact doesn't understand AFL football.

The Cryptkeeper
4 Mar 2008, 21:47
And in this context what is the role of Dawson. He is cheap and good insurance and fits a role that Murphy or Jacobs can't. And anybody that puts him down without understanding this fact doesn't understand AFL football.

Bingo.:thumbsu:

Collins-Langford-Ayres
5 Mar 2008, 15:20

Come on MHDKA - no one is sure whether he's good insurance yet, even though he has shown some improvement.

Question is, is he a better prospect than having delisted him, picked up Dan McKenna with pick three and Dew with pick four?

We'll all know in about 12 - 18 months time.

Gilbert_Hodge
5 Mar 2008, 15:24
Have been critical of Zac but someone who played at the elite level pointed out that his actually doing what all fullbacks should be doing and that's going for the spoil not the mark as highlighted again and again in your insightful package

I learnt that in under 12's.

buddylove_23
5 Mar 2008, 15:35
I think he has gone ok over the pre-season. He played pretty well against fevand did some good things against the crows he hasn't paniced when he has been under presure just handballed out of trouble.

macdaddio
5 Mar 2008, 15:39
Oh that big of you but do you actually think he is on our list for any other reason than insurance if Croad gets injured. And do you think the club actually thinks he is going to be the savior of the backline because if you do you are very naive.

What I find hard to believe is some believe all players should end up in the top 22. The fact is there are some players on our list who will never be in the top 22. We have young players, we have players recovering from injury and we have players who we have as insurance if certain other players get injured. For example Madagan was never in our top 22 and he played in a Grand Final.

And we must put together a list of 43 or 44 that is composed of A, B & C grade players as well as recruits and reserve players that keeps us under the salary cap.

so are you telling me that zac dawson is only in the side for insurance purpose,s and not for his ability???

the club have been after a backman since 2006. why do you think they tryed so hard for thornton, of course they are after a savior for the backline..

no not all players should end up in our top 22, but all players should strive for a top 22 position..

the cub has put fatih in resigning zac for another 2 years so they see something in him. well i,m still waiting.........

MHDKA
5 Mar 2008, 15:58
Come on MHDKA - no one is sure whether he's good insurance yet, even though he has shown some improvement.
You've got a point but he is insurance, he is cheap and he is improving and we have found nothing better over the last few years.

So he is the best insurance we have got, though that may change depending on the development of other players on our list or whether we pick up someone during the trade period at the end of this year.

Question is, is he a better prospect than having delisted him, picked up Dan McKenna with pick three and Dew with pick four?
McKenna was never going to help us this year and we had already re-signed Dawson mid last year so it was a discuision that was never going to be made.

bigmick
5 Mar 2008, 15:58

didnt realise that our backline needed rescuing??? hes me thinking that we played finals last year, and in that last game it was our midfield that was the issue....sorry my mistake :eek:

lethalselbow
5 Mar 2008, 16:03
The title of the thread contained the word "respect", people. So if you're not going to show it, go disappear into one of your countless hate threads.

MHDKA
5 Mar 2008, 16:15
so are you telling me that zac dawson is only in the side for insurance purpose,s and not for his ability???

Since when are these mutually exclusive? Its because he has some size, ability and potential that he is on our list.

the club have been after a backman since 2006. why do you think they tryed so hard for thornton, of course they are after a savior for the backline..

I never said they weren't, what I posted was I don't think the club believes Dawson is the saviour which you inferred in your post.

no not all players should end up in our top 22, but all players should strive for a top 22 position..

You don't think Dawson is striving to be in the top 22? Have you read his diaries and articles of the sacrifices he has made and about his fitness regime and how he has altered his diet in order to put on bulk. Do you think he has put on over 10Kg in the last 2-3 years by luck?

I'm sure Dason is absolutely doing his best to get into our top 22. His discipline, behaviour and application has never been questioned in fact assistant coaches like Viney have praised him.

the cub has put fatih in resigning zac for another 2 years so they see something in him. well i,m still waiting.........

No, The club re-signed him for 1 year, they re-signed Brown and McGlynn at the same time for 2 years.

This indicates where they see and what role he is playing. He is insurance if Craod gets injured. Of course the club would love him to keep improving and become a regular but it is obvious they are not convinced at the moment but they still see the need to have him on our list.

And as far as that decision goes they know the list and players far better than you or me.

macdaddio
5 Mar 2008, 19:27
Since when are these mutually exclusive? Its because he has some size, ability and potential that he is on our list.

I never said they weren't, what I posted was I don't think the club believes Dawson is the saviour which you inferred in your post.

You don't think Dawson is striving to be in the top 22? Have you read his diaries and articles of the sacrifices he has made and about his fitness regime and how he has altered his diet in order to put on bulk. Do you think he has put on over 10Kg in the last 2-3 years by luck?

I'm sure Dason is absolutely doing his best to get into our top 22. His discipline, behaviour and application has never been questioned in fact assistant coaches like Viney have praised him.

No, The club re-signed him for 1 year, they re-signed Brown and McGlynn at the same time for 2 years.

This indicates where they see and what role he is playing. He is insurance if Craod gets injured. Of course the club would love him to keep improving and become a regular but it is obvious they are not convinced at the moment but they still see the need to have him on our list.

And as far as that decision goes they know the list and players far better than you or me.

fair enough.. i gues i havent looked at it that way.........

but just to let every one know i,m not zac bashing. i just need more convincing thats all..

but hey i do hope he succeeds and proves every one wrong.....including me..

discoduck
5 Mar 2008, 20:35
i'm a zac fan, but after watching that vid, i do think he needs to remember two things:
a. the boundary is his friend - a couple punched back into the corridor, and
b. if he goes up, he's got to get something on it. a few went right over the back.

i hope he has a ripper year.

Gilbert_Hodge
5 Mar 2008, 20:41
i'm a zac fan, but after watching that vid, i do think he needs to remember two things:
a. the boundary is his friend - a couple punched back into the corridor, and
b. if he goes up, he's got to get something on it. a few went right over the back.

i hope he has a ripper year.

Exactly right. NEVER go into the corridor with a punch, kick or handpass unless there is a team mate ready to accept the ball. The boundary line allows for the on ballers to get back and help out the back line players.

Hodge2Franklin
5 Mar 2008, 21:01
......................... he is cheap and he is improving and ......................................

Was talking to Philhawk the other day and telling him a story about Zac.

I bumped into the Cougar a while back outside a club. He had one woman under each arm and the biggest Zac grin on his face. Spoke to him for quite a while, although it was a bit tough to concentrate with the chicks he had. Quality stuff, definitely not cheap :D

Just in case this gets him in trouble I am sure it was his GF and her friend by the way ...:D

Leather Poisoning
5 Mar 2008, 21:20
Zac did some quality work against Fev - that much is true. Performance not as good against Adelaide I didn't think.

He gets thrown into the deep end every time he plays.

I wonder how he'd be if he had a Gilham-style introduction to league footy?

Also - i think he needs to be more decisive when he has the ball. The guy's skills are pretty good - but he just seems to get a bit overwhelmed, hesitates and stuffs up on occasion.

lethalselbow
6 Mar 2008, 05:43
Was talking to Philhawk the other day and telling him a story about Zac.

I bumped into the Cougar a while back outside a club. He had one woman under each arm and the biggest Zac grin on his face. Spoke to him for quite a while, although it was a bit tough to concentrate with the chicks he had. Quality stuff, definitely not cheap :D

Just in case this gets him in trouble I am sure it was his GF and her friend by the way ...:D

Now that deserves real respect! :thumbsu:

Trickstar
6 Mar 2008, 08:29
Also - i think he needs to be more decisive when he has the ball. The guy's skills are pretty good - but he just seems to get a bit overwhelmed, hesitates and stuffs up on occasion.[/quote]

I think he knows how much everyone is watching him and waiting for him to stuff up so they can say I told you so on Bigfooty - I personally reckon he has a career in front of him, while playing at the top level there is always pressure but I think he has been under the most scrutiny in the pre-season. Let him have a chance and a good go at it, take the focus off him and let him show his goods. I didn't think he made too many mistakes and some of his handballs and decision making were better than our top line midfielders. He has pace, height (we are short of tall defenders) spoiling ability (Jacobs needs to take him under his wing and teach him positional play and about when to read the player and when to focus on the ball) like when Ayres was a backpocket player he always knew when he could leave his player and focus on the ball.

Collins-Langford-Ayres
6 Mar 2008, 11:15
He gets thrown into the deep end every time he plays.

What, as a key defender he gets to play on key forwards?

Boy you blokes make some excuses for the guy. Four and a half years on our list and if he plays in the spot he's spent four and a half years learning to play, that's him being thrown in the deep end. He's just lucky he didn't get Franklin in the practcie match or J Brown on match day. That might be thrown in the deep end.

JoondalupJ
6 Mar 2008, 11:25

Zac is a disciplined good young player,look to the future, you can't be "Chris Langford"
in five minutes.

Leather Poisoning
6 Mar 2008, 16:03

Boy you blokes make some excuses for the guy. Four and a half years on our list and if he plays in the spot he's spent four and a half years learning to play, that's him being thrown in the deep end. He's just lucky he didn't get Franklin in the practcie match or J Brown on match day. That might be thrown in the deep end.

With a username like that it's obvious you value quality defenders, but when you look at what's happened with Dawson:
He got thrown in with Thompson, Rocca on match day.

Not bad forwards. Got thumped twice. Name all over the papers. We should call him Jesus on account of that type of crucifiction.

Look at S Gilham - now our second key defender - more often than not had Croad AND brown take better forwards than him. And look at the results - he's now a staple of the backline. It took only 2 seasons.

I think Dawson has some skill about him. But has been thumped from pillar to post with confidence. Did a great job on Fev the other night and a harder night against the crows whenever their midfield got on top.

Don't get me wrong - I think after four years Cougar should have cemented a place in our 22, but I disagree with how he was bled into the side.

bigmick
6 Mar 2008, 16:04

What a dumb arsed statement.... how many times has Gilham got Fevola, Rocca, Lloyd or Brown??

Hodge2Franklin
6 Mar 2008, 16:05
Now that deserves real respect! :thumbsu:

One of them looked like this ...

http://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t51/notoriousseg/ClaireForlani.jpg

bigmick
6 Mar 2008, 16:25
One of them looked like this ...

http://i157.photobucket.com/albums/t51/notoriousseg/ClaireForlani.jpg

OI, what have i told you about posting up pics of my wife....:mad: dont make me post up one of yours! :D

lickmerocks
6 Mar 2008, 20:36
Put down the peace pipe guys.

Zac is not up to it and we all know it.

Next you will post highlights of him running out onto the ground at City oval and getting all hot and bothered about his ripping bod.

Time for us to move on and look for an alternative

Cheeseman
6 Mar 2008, 20:54
Put down the peace pipe guys.

Zac is not up to it and we all know it.

Next you will post highlights of him running out onto the ground at City oval and getting all hot and bothered about his ripping bod.

Time for us to move on and look for an alternative

Don't presume to speak for anyone but yourself.

lickmerocks
6 Mar 2008, 21:46
Don't presume to speak for anyone but yourself.

No worries Mrs Dawson

lethalselbow
6 Mar 2008, 21:51
Yawn.

Cheeseman
6 Mar 2008, 22:16
No worries Mrs Dawson

So clever. :rolleyes:

Brown Blood
6 Mar 2008, 22:54
........................and we all know it.

And who am I, mr dawson!:rolleyes:

keefriffhard
7 Mar 2008, 06:28
Fair dinkum, the quality of posting on the Hawthorn board has gone south. It now has nothing even to do with the Zac issue. Or any other issue for that matter. The respect for other posters is now beginning to suffer over petty squabbles. There is no need for it to degenerate to this type of level.

Opinions are great. Express them in a reasonable, non-insulting manner and you'll get my support for anything you wish to post here. Whether I agree with you or not. Everyone is entitled to express their point of view and some people need to accept this.

It's all to do with respect (both of the players and other forum users) and how you present your post. If you can't have your say (or reply to someone else's) without getting abusive or derogatory then don't post. At least think twice about it before perpetuating the mud slinging. Because the B/S that is going on in a couple of threads at the moment is unneccessary.

MHDKA
7 Mar 2008, 09:11
Zac is a disciplined good young player,look to the future, you can't be "Chris Langford"
in five minutes.

And Langers took a number of years to come good. He was tried in a variety of positions over a number of years and was took some time to develop into a quality FB.

Not saying that Dawson will ever be as good but some players do take time to develop. That said I think Dawson needs to establish himself this year if he is to stay because the club will find other options otherwise.

MinerBoy
7 Mar 2008, 09:24
Fair dinkum, the quality of posting on the Hawthorn board has gone south. It now has nothing even to do with the Zac issue. Or any other issue for that matter. The respect for other posters is now beginning to suffer over petty squabbles. There is no need for it to degenerate to this type of level.

Opinions are great. Express them in a reasonable, non-insulting manner and you'll get my support for anything you wish to post here. Whether I agree with you or not. Everyone is entitled to express their point of view and some people need to accept this.

It's all to do with respect (both of the players and other forum users) and how you present your post. If you can't have your say (or reply to someone else's) without getting abusive or derogatory then don't post. At least think twice about it before perpetuating the mud slinging. Because the B/S that is going on in a couple of threads at the moment is unneccessary.

Get stu.....I mean hear hear. :D:thumbsu: