View Full Version : Is Rick Ladson underated?

Mojo
4 Mar 2008, 10:35
Hey Guys!

What are your thoughts on Rick Ladson? He doesn't seem to recieve the same amount of attention as others.

He's slowly improved each year and appears to be taking his footy to the elite level. Averaged near 21 disposals in 22 games last season, not including finals.

Composed, great skills both by foot and hand, smart reader of the ball and isn't afraid doing the necessary acts of courage.

I think if he can improve further, perhaps play on a little more and raise the no. of tackles per game he is likely to earn a few votes in our B&F this year.

Yes? yes.. good!

mollyfud
4 Mar 2008, 10:52
Absolutely underrated. Kid has been good the last few years!
Molly

Cynic
4 Mar 2008, 10:53
In my opinion yes and I hope to see him become a more integral part of the midfield unit rather than an outside link man.

Look for him to turn it on this year.

sgbn77
4 Mar 2008, 10:55
Hey Guys!

What are your thoughts on Rick Ladson? He doesn't seem to recieve the same amount of attention as others.

He's slowly improved each year and appears to be taking his footy to the elite level. Averaged near 21 disposals in 22 games last season, not including finals.

Composed, great skills both by foot and hand, smart reader of the ball and isn't afraid doing the necessary acts of courage.

I think if he can improve further, perhaps play on a little more and raise the no. of tackles per game he is likely to earn a few votes in our B&F this year.

Yes? yes.. good!

Mojo, you're spot on mate.

Yes he's very much underrated...but I think this is due to slowly establishing himself after a lot of injury interruptions. To this day, he still has a lot of ankle issues, and so never quite manages to get a couple of stellar seasons under the belt without interruption...however last year, i think Hawk fans really began to take not of his punishing footskills.

He's also got a bit of mongrel about him, as noted with his assualt on Lloyd when we played the Bombers. Literally took Lucas and perhaps Bradley to get in between him to slow him down!

Certain commentators are starting to take note of his kicking penetration, however he hasn't demanded respect just yet from the wider football world. Hopefully he continues to build.

Roughie
4 Mar 2008, 11:50
I dont believe he is underated at all! He plays a loose man role in most games and he is a good one at that, with out being a dominant loose man. He gets the recognition he deserves, he gets beaten by small forward (see Shaun Higgins), so he is a good loose man. If he plays up field and can play with an opponent week in and out he will get more recognition.

rumblah
4 Mar 2008, 12:02
Mojo, you're spot on mate.

Yes he's very much underrated...but I think this is due to slowly establishing himself after a lot of injury interruptions. To this day, he still has a lot of ankle issues, and so never quite manages to get a couple of stellar seasons under the belt without interruption...however last year, i think Hawk fans really began to take not of his punishing footskills.

He's also got a bit of mongrel about him, as noted with his assualt on Lloyd when we played the Bombers. Literally took Lucas and perhaps Bradley to get in between him to slow him down!

Certain commentators are starting to take note of his kicking penetration, however he hasn't demanded respect just yet from the wider football world. Hopefully he continues to build.

say what you will about the Adelaide final last year, without Ladson we wouldnt have won that. Go back and watch a replay fellas, note who delivered that spear to Franklin. ;)

cschreuder61
4 Mar 2008, 12:20
Uses the ball very well, hits the targets and is improving his endurance and strength to run to more attacking spots.

His kicking last quarter against Adelaide in the final was pin point, and he will play further up the ground against Melbourne round 1 due to our lack of play makers with Crawf Hodge and Lewis out.

Yeah is a little under-rated, him and Birchall were big reasons for our rebound last year, and that was one the reasons we were so dangerous.

kirbatron
4 Mar 2008, 12:20
I liked his added aggression last year, is pretty consistent for us without being dynamic.

You know what you're going to get with Laddo, but is that enough with what we're trying to achieve with our direction.

GALON
4 Mar 2008, 12:34
Good player, I think we rate about right.

Pity he's a tosser when out on the piss, though.

moginie
4 Mar 2008, 13:01
Considering The Age in their pen portraits 3 years ago described him as a "feeble, injury prone defender", I'd say he's very underrated. I remember the round 1 Freo game at Aurora in 06 & was stunned at his improvement. He had really increased his endurance. He's kept on improving over the last two seasons & he's very important to the team's balance.

And GALON; what a surprise - a footballer who's a tosser when out on the piss! ;)

Binxy
4 Mar 2008, 13:07
No, I don't believe he is.

Collins-Langford-Ayres
4 Mar 2008, 13:18
I think he needs to take another step to be really rated. He doesn't seem to have the strength to be a shut down defender and can't always play as a loose man, so needs to get onto a wing and stay there.

FriarTuck
4 Mar 2008, 16:56
Most weeks Ladson picks up the opposite teams most dangerours small forward. It has been a while since we have been touched up by any smalls.

Ladson does not play loose man. Always is given a defensive task.

Laddo is the msot under rated on our list.

Flag08
4 Mar 2008, 17:06
No, I don't believe he is.

I agree. Some may point to the second last kick of the Adelaide final. Others might care to look at the entire final against North.

Mojo
4 Mar 2008, 17:12
I agree. Some may point to the second last kick of the Adelaide final. Others might care to look at the entire final against North.

Shouldn't they look at the whole year?

kolchak
4 Mar 2008, 17:48
Yes. I do beleive he is underated.

Number 24
4 Mar 2008, 18:17
Bloody oath he is underated. Not by his team mates or the coaches, but by the cyberspace clowns who post stupid player evaluations from their armchairs and with bugger knowledge of football and how it is played.

WaxHawk
4 Mar 2008, 19:59
I think he is one of the more underrated players at Hawthorn. I reckon you'll see him play in the midfield a bit more this year.

delirious1
4 Mar 2008, 20:02
Solid player.

Fat Tony
4 Mar 2008, 21:32
Decent kick, can hand ball reasonably well but lacks the physical strength to run through the lines and break tackles. Probably rated about right. An important player but he needs to add more to his armory.

MHDKA
4 Mar 2008, 21:59
Depends what you mean by underrated or by whom.

I know the club and Clarkson rates him very highly as he is one of the players who has stood up over the last few years now that he is free of injury as he has shown he is extremely effective playing as a rebounding half back flanker/ midfielder with good skills.

And I'd expect further improvement over the next couple of years.

Buddy the Brave
5 Mar 2008, 01:20

On that basis Hodgey is a dud.

It's his hair i dont like.

monhawks
5 Mar 2008, 07:21
Definately not underated imo. For a guy with obvious good foot skills he coughs it up to much for my liking. That kick against Adelaide to Buddy was right in front of me and was something any decent AFL footballer should do.

Brown Blood
5 Mar 2008, 07:52
Definately not underated imo. For a guy with obvious good foot skills he coughs it up to much for my liking. That kick against Adelaide to Buddy was right in front of me and was something any decent AFL footballer should do.

One kick in his first game of the year in a practice game.

I notice he had 15 possessions on saturday night with 93% efficiency!

I also notice birchell had 18 possessions with only 61% efficiency against adelaide - and he has played each game this year - obviously he is a complete dud or at least totally over-rated by your standards!

And then have you also written mitchell or every player in our team off as well who all make more regular clangers at times - you have got to be joking!

Fat Tony
5 Mar 2008, 10:37
One kick in his first game of the year in a practice game.

I notice he had 15 possessions on saturday night with 93% efficiency!

I also notice birchell had 18 possessions with only 61% efficiency against adelaide - and he has played each game this year - obviously he is a complete dud or at least totally over-rated by your standards!

And then have you also written mitchell or every player in our team off as well who all make more regular clangers at times - you have got to be joking!

I think he was talking about last years elimination final:o

It annoys me when people use stats to create an illusion that some players deserve more recognition/are not that bad. According to the stats, we have the worst forward line in the league and somehow Melbourne, Bulldogs are all going to make the eight with Freo finishing first:rolleyes:.

To be fair though, Birchall didn't have a great night but he took a great contested grab and did a few nice things under huge amounts of pressure (that pressure might explain the low efficiency rating). Ladson, on the other hand, likes to pick up the loose ball and generally speaking passes it off under little pressure. Under those circumstances you would hope that his efficiency would be more like 98% or more. I mean if your not under pressure the only excuse for you missing the target is a lack of skill.

BigAl3001
5 Mar 2008, 11:05

Laddo tends to go missing when we are under the pump or losing. I 'd like to see some more consistency week in week out and for him to nail goals on the run every time. He missed a sitter in the first quarter on Saturday night and missed a more important one in the finals vs North last year. So his kicking efficiency in this department is crucial. He is one player that has to have a good game vs the dees with all the out's that we have.

Brown Blood
5 Mar 2008, 11:11
Laddo tends to go missing when we are under the pump or losing. I 'd like to see some more consistency week in week out and for him to nail goals on the run every time. He missed a sitter in the first quarter on Saturday night and missed a more important one in the finals vs North last year. So his kicking efficiency in this department is crucial. He is one player that has to have a good game vs the dees with all the out's that we have.

Considering he plays off the half backline & pushes into the midfield and his role generally is to mind a dangerious fwd and deliver the ball into our 50 he doesn't get a lot of opportunity to kick goals.

I think there are other players who you should be actually posing this question to.

Number 24
5 Mar 2008, 11:14

FFS, when will people realise the game is played by human beings and not pre programmed robots.

It is played with an oval ball not a round ball and it is a game of physical contact, unlike that other football code.

The game is designed to set up errors by the participants and to see how the opposition can take advantage of mistakes. That lack of perfection in execution is the unique aspect and attraction of Aussie Rules.

So FFS get of the players cases and just enjoy the game.

Brown Blood
5 Mar 2008, 11:33
I think he was talking about last years elimination final:o

It annoys me when people use stats to create an illusion that some players deserve more recognition/are not that bad. According to the stats, we have the worst forward line in the league and somehow Melbourne, Bulldogs are all going to make the eight with Freo finishing first:rolleyes:.

To be fair though, Birchall didn't have a great night but he took a great contested grab and did a few nice things under huge amounts of pressure (that pressure might explain the low efficiency rating). Ladson, on the other hand, likes to pick up the loose ball and generally speaking passes it off under little pressure. Under those circumstances you would hope that his efficiency would be more like 98% or more. I mean if your not under pressure the only excuse for you missing the target is a lack of skill.

:o Fair enough but don't misrepresent my point as it is clear I was commenting on the game last saturday.

But if you are so against statistics whats the point of someone picking out one kick and then saying it wasn't that good anyway as anybody could do it - what about commenting on his whole game or season.

The fact is the coaching staff are happy with his performance (2 top 10's in the last 2 years B&F- another stat :)). So as far as stats go some don't lie and are generally indicative or good, bad or improving performances - that is why they get quoted.

I also think it is BS some of these percieved deficiencies in his game like poor disposal - its like how some think he plays loose man in defense when actually he usually picks up the smaller forward and then because he reads the play so well he frequently runs off them and delivers the ball with precision into the 50.

Hawka_de_Haven
5 Mar 2008, 12:33
Absolute agree with you Roughie, he has some good skills but does not bob enough for mine and when he does cannot sustain it. He is serviceable at best. I reckon there are others who could play before him but he must have good repour with Clarkson and so he gets a guernsey every time.

Consumed
5 Mar 2008, 13:35
Absolute agree with you Roughie, he has some good skills but does not bob enough for mine and when he does cannot sustain it. He is serviceable at best. I reckon there are others who could play before him but he must have good repour with Clarkson and so he gets a guernsey every time.

Man. I wish I was serviceable at best. Ladson is a great kick, shows poise at all times and vital to feeding the ball into our dangerous forward line. Our biggest issue is bad delivery to the forwards, if we had more Ladson attributes in the team, it would lead to more goals.

As for having a rapport with Clarkson, I think it might take more than a nod and a wink with a quick pat on the bum to get a game from AC.

Roughie
5 Mar 2008, 17:18
Man. I wish I was serviceable at best. Ladson is a great kick, shows poise at all times and vital to feeding the ball into our dangerous forward line. Our biggest issue is bad delivery to the forwards, if we had more Ladson attributes in the team, it would lead to more goals.

As for having a rapport with Clarkson, I think it might take more than a nod and a wink with a quick pat on the bum to get a game from AC.

Its more that he ussually plays a loose man role. When you look at all the top players who are used as a loose man you realise that Ladson doesnt really rank. Look at the saints game where Fisher dominated us as a loose man, and we decided to keep Ladson loose in our defence and he just didnt give us the drive Fisher did.

Ladson ticks all the boxes to be a good player, this is when he needs to make the step up to either being a dominant loose man. A bloke that has to get tagged against, or have him play up field.

Right now he is rated where he should be. He is a good player, playing a loose man role.

noosa hawk mad
5 Mar 2008, 17:30
Our designated kicker with Goo i don't think he is underrated may be outside the club but not within.

Brown Blood
5 Mar 2008, 18:26
Its more that he ussually plays a loose man role.

But he doesn't usually play a loose man role - he usually plays on an oppositions dangerous small forward / midfielder.

This is why against melb he played last year on davey, played on eagleton in round 5 against the dogs, played on davey against essendon, milne first time we played stkilda in round 8 and ball round 16, schneider when we play sydney, harvey when we play north (remember the SF - harvey beat him), last time we played richmond he played on tambling, was on pearce against port and against collingwood he was on davis.

I think that the only time he really played loose man in defense last year was against the crows in round 14.

Roughie
5 Mar 2008, 18:43
But he doesn't usually play a loose man role - he usually plays on an oppositions dangerous small forward / midfielder.

This is why against melb he played last year on davey, played on eagleton in round 5 against the dogs, played on davey against essendon, milne first time we played stkilda in round 8 and ball round 16, schneider when we play sydney, harvey when we play north (remember the SF - harvey beat him), last time we played richmond he played on tambling, was on pearce against port and against collingwood he was on davis.

I think that the only time he really played loose man in defense last year was against the crows in round 14.

I recall him playing on Shaun Higgins and being torched this year as Ive brought it up many times. The only small I recall him beating was Aaron Davey.

Brown Blood
5 Mar 2008, 19:09
I recall him playing on Shaun Higgins and being torched this year as Ive brought it up many times. The only small I recall him beating was Aaron Davey.

Laddo:

Beat wells
Beat eglinton early against dogs (higgins then kicked a few on him)
Beat davey (ess)
Beat milne
Beat jones (WC)
Held schneider
Destroyed Murphy (carl)
Beat davis
Beat tambling - didn't have to do much though :)
Beat lovett
Beat ray & aka
Even with edwards

Fat Tony
5 Mar 2008, 19:29
Laddo:

Beat wells
Beat eglinton early against dogs (higgins then kicked a few on him)
Beat davey (ess)
Beat milne
Beat jones (WC)
Held schneider
Destroyed Murphy (carl)
Beat davis
Beat tambling - didn't have to do much though :)
Beat lovett
Beat ray & aka
Even with edwards

1) Osbourne was on him
2) Leon Davis is overrated but even in that game he set up some good goals and did some clever tricks. I would call it even
3) Edwards kicked a good goal and was pretty useful for the crows i'd say 40-60 Edwards way.

The rest of them are hardly memorable.

Brown Blood
5 Mar 2008, 20:15
1) Osbourne was on him
2) Leon Davis is overrated but even in that game he set up some good goals and did some clever tricks. I would call it even
3) Edwards kicked a good goal and was pretty useful for the crows i'd say 40-60 Edwards way.

The rest of them are hardly memorable.
:) you sure you aren't taking the p15s !

1) Actually from what I remember ossy was on harvey (and did OK) & kicked a few goals - ladson was on wells (as was young at times)and was a bit loose early but controlled him in the 2nd half.

2) you are probably right - though davis only kicked one and he has to do better than that

3) Maybe was 60:40, what did I say 50:50 :) - but he did 2 great passes including the one that allowed us to win the game.

As far as the rest being hardly memorable that is in your opinion - he polled votes in the clubs B&F in most of those games and I certainly remember differently.

But my main point was not who he beat but that his role last year was not playing as a loose man in defense but played on attacking smaller fwds/mids as an attacking HBF who moved into the midfield.

Miss_Hawk_Fan
5 Mar 2008, 20:22
Last time i checked we was a team of many hawks, not a one man team in Rick Ladson! Ladsons had many a team mates that join him on having a bad game, hence that was the reason we lost against the roos in the semi final.

Ladson plays his role in the team perfectly, in his under 18s grand final a few years ago he was in the mid feild dishing out the ball and kicked quite a few goals himself. If he peaks soon in the AFL and can apply his ability from the under 18 into the AFL, very soon everyone will be raving about rick ladson!

BigAl3001
5 Mar 2008, 20:31
FFS, when will people realise the game is played by human beings and not pre programmed robots.

It is played with an oval ball not a round ball and it is a game of physical contact, unlike that other football code.

The game is designed to set up errors by the participants and to see how the opposition can take advantage of mistakes. That lack of perfection in execution is the unique aspect and attraction of Aussie Rules.

So FFS get of the players cases and just enjoy the game.

The question posed was Is Ladson under-rated. In my opinion he isn't but that's just my opinion, these forums are designed that way so we can debate the facts. Now what that's got to do with the dribble you just wrote has got me very perplexed number 24.

Fat Tony
5 Mar 2008, 20:35
:) you sure you aren't taking the p15s !

1) Actually from what I remember ossy was on harvey (and did OK) & kicked a few goals - ladson was on wells (as was young at times)and was a bit loose early but controlled him in the 2nd half.

2) you are probably right - though davis only kicked one and he has to do better than that

3) Maybe was 60:40, what did I say 50:50 :) - but he did 2 great passes including the one that allowed us to win the game.

As far as the rest being hardly memorable that is in your opinion - he polled votes in the clubs B&F in most of those games and I certainly remember differently.

But my main point was not who he beat but that his role last year was not playing as a loose man in defense but played on attacking smaller fwds/mids as an attacking HBF who moved into the midfield.

1) Nah... Sewell was on Harvey and Osbourne was definitely on Wells, the commentators were saying that if it wasn't for his 2 goals Wells would have been dominating him.

2) Yeah so did Tim Clarke in 04/05 yet that didn't stop people bagging him at matches:p

On the last point i felt that wherever he played he never seemed to pick up many contested possessions. To be rated as a midfielder or rebounding defender, efficient contested possessions is your lifesource.

Brown Blood
5 Mar 2008, 22:09
1) Nah... Sewell was on Harvey and Osbourne was definitely on Wells, the commentators were saying that if it wasn't for his 2 goals Wells would have been dominating him.

No sewell was on grant!

http://www.mightyhawk.net/forum/styles/prosilver/imageset/icon_post_target.gif (http://www.mightyhawk.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=48576#p48576)by Death Cab (http://www.mightyhawk.net/forum/memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=137) on Mon Apr 16, 2007 6:31 pm
I'm going to put it out there... can Brad Sewell make All Australian if his current form continues?

His disposal is solid - I think I read he had the highest disposal efficiency in the AFL last year. Most significantly, he has demonstrated an ability to completely remove one of the oppositions best players from the game. Last week Travis Johnstone got 8 touches and this week Shannon Grant got even less. Sewell deservedly placed 3rd in our B & F last year and I think it is conceivable that he could match or even better that this year.

http://www.mightyhawk.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=2688&p=48727#p48727

and

by HawkEye (http://www.mightyhawk.net/forum/memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=1068) on Sun Apr 15, 2007 9:58 pm
Credit to Clarkson for some moves he made.

Playmakers Crawf and mitch being placed on Half Fwd/outside the pack, giving Lewis and Hodge opportunity and space to feed the ball to them was crucial in breaking up the Kangas flood and throwing Laidley's game plan out, after half time.

Also, Sewell on Grant was great. He has really hurt us in their past wins. This is Sewell's best role. Tag one of the opposition's best, shut them down AND get the ball (and often deliver it well). Guys like this must be favourites for coaches. I reckon he is less effective playing a mainly offensive type role in the midfield (just my view, however).

http://www.mightyhawk.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=2604&st=0&sk=t&sd=a&start=120

raff23
6 Mar 2008, 13:16
Hey Guys!

Yes? yes.. good!
accountability and being able to consistently shutdown a player are his main weakenesses and probly y he isn't getting more credit. good player who gives us good drive and run out the backline, if he works more on his defensive side, he will become a highly rated player.

Chrissie90
6 Mar 2008, 20:20
I like Laddo. He is a nice guy and not a big head like some of his team mates. He may not be the biggest or most skillful or fastest players but he makes the club what it is, I think. I think he will get better as he has each year for the last 6 or 7 seasons. Rip it up in 08 Laddo!!

Robber Baron
8 Mar 2008, 08:46
Chrissie Laddos a gun player and hes very importent to us and looks like Clarkos been making him ready to take over from Crawf. I hope hes gunna turn into the new Crawf because that means that hes gunna be able to run all day like Crawf did and run a marathon every game and out run them all. We need another runner to share the running with Clarke for us. Plus Crawf can kick goals and Laddos a even bigger kicker.

Scribe
8 Mar 2008, 14:18
Hmmm...let me think....we all agree the Hawks coaching staff get almost everything right almost all the time don't we? (well Robber Baron certainly will agree they do it 100% of the time).

If it is agreed that our match committee/coaching staff know what they're doing, then the following is enough to convince me Ladson is an integral part of our side, regardless of what role he is assigned:

Peter Crimmins Medal voting – top ten
Brad Sewell - 173
Campbell Brown - 172
Luke Hodge - 161
Jordan Lewis - 154
Sam Mitchell - 137
Lance Franklin - 136
Brent Guerra - 136
Shane Crawford - 126
Trent Croad - 121
Rick Ladson - 116

I'm not a massiv Goo fan either, but acknowledge that this list is just about spot on.

Conclusion: he's a good player in a good side and with 4 of our top 10 players missing from round 1, he will be a very important player for us against Melbourne, and for the rest of the season too.

Binxy
8 Mar 2008, 14:22
Vodka is underrated

quiksilver83
8 Mar 2008, 16:08
He was drafted in the year Hodge was taken right? Anyway Laddo has shown he can play... last season gave us a pretty good look at what he can do. Nice kick of the ball and tough player. Quite versatile too, can play in the backline or as a run-with player on the Aaron Davey's of the comp.

hawks_legends
9 Mar 2008, 03:03
Yes, he is underated. I think it's because of his past at the club, but since the beginning of last season is when I realised he was handy and underated...how good was the kick to Buddy in the Elimination Final! :)

Chrissie90
10 Mar 2008, 20:07
I am not so sure about Laddo any more. I saw him out nightclubbing at Bendigo on Sat nite when I was up there visiting a friend. He was with Danny Jacobs. Danny was well behaved but Laddo seemed really drunk and was running round trying to pick up girls. I was really disappointed coz I didnt think he was like that.:mad::mad::mad:

Mojo
10 Mar 2008, 20:11
I am not so sure about Laddo any more. I saw him out nightclubbing at Bendigo on Sat nite when I was up there visiting a friend. He was with Danny Jacobs. Danny was well behaved but Laddo seemed really drunk and was running round trying to pick up girls. I was really disappointed coz I didnt think he was like that.:mad::mad::mad:

You bumped it for that?

Chrissie90
10 Mar 2008, 20:16
You bumped it for that?

I didnt think that Clarko would let him get drunk with the season so close and when he should have been recovering from the Fri game. Anyway he was acting like a real tool and I was really disappointed. He is supposed to be a senior playe and set an example. I was worried he might get into a fight too.

Binxy
23 Mar 2008, 21:46
Ok, maybe a teensy bit ;)

JohnD
24 Mar 2008, 10:16
That *****ing cat Yze rates him ... rates him enough to ignore the ball in the air but make sure he connects with his knee in a very crude "attempt to spoil". The only thing he attempted to spoil was Laddo's health.

Brown Blood
24 Mar 2008, 10:42
I thought he showed tremendous charactor and courage to push off the trainers after that incident to run onto the wing to give another player somebody to kick to and then take possession and deliver it.

He had another good game yesterday again beating davey while providing plenty of run through the midfield.

Mervyn Beasley
24 Mar 2008, 11:51
Rick Ladson is a good player who would get a game in any team.
Keep him injury free and you get great value.