View Full Version : McLean dumped from Leadership Group!

CowboyFromHell
4 Mar 2008, 17:43
My old man just told me McLean was caught speeding and he's been dumped from the leadership group!

If this is true, then McLean is extremely stupid for doing something like this when we need him most, but I applaud the club for taking the action of dumping him from the leadership group. I'd be behind the club in suspending him from a few games as well.

HiHoEverybody
4 Mar 2008, 17:47
I saw that on the news...

After what happened OS then the burnout incident this Is fairly stupid of him... Time he grows up a bit I think!

Good decision by the club.

davey_magik
4 Mar 2008, 17:48
Was on the news.
He's a d*ckhead and I'd back the club in suspending him for 3-4 games to teach him a lesson.

CowboyFromHell
4 Mar 2008, 17:51
Was on the news.
He's a d*ckhead and I'd back the club in suspending him for 3-4 games to teach him a lesson.

I agree. The club has released a statement saying that they won't be suspending him from any games. A bit disappointing but they have at least suspended him from the leadership group. Can't believe he would be stupid enough to do it!

Supermercado
4 Mar 2008, 18:11
Ahahah I hate this season so much right now.

master bate
4 Mar 2008, 18:13
I agree. The club has released a statement saying that they won't be suspending him from any games. A bit disappointing but they have at least suspended him from the leadership group. Can't believe he would be stupid enough to do it!He was caught speeding and we don't know how fast it was but say it was around 10-20km over the limit then we don't really need to be suspending him. Plus for a player like McLean cutting him from the leadership group probably hurts him as much if not more than missing games does and it doesn't hurt us as he's still playing. It might have even been an honesty thing by Brock, I mean besides being someone who drives a car/truck for a living in what other employment do you have to tell people about speeding fines.

The RPM
4 Mar 2008, 19:28
He was caught speeding and we don't know how fast it was but say it was around 10-20km over the limit then we don't really need to be suspending him. Plus for a player like McLean cutting him from the leadership group probably hurts him as much if not more than missing games does and it doesn't hurt us as he's still playing. It might have even been an honesty thing by Brock, I mean besides being someone who drives a car/truck for a living in what other employment do you have to tell people about speeding fines.

Good point there, though without the full story it's difficult to tell how it panned out.

Good work by the club here. Hopefully the message gets through and Brocky earns back his spot in the leadership group with a fantastic, injury free (cross fingers) season.

Swipe
4 Mar 2008, 19:42
You reckon Green will be promoted into the leadership group now seeing he only just missed out or will they just have a smaller group?

bloodpumpsRnB
4 Mar 2008, 19:47
You reckon Green will be promoted into the leadership group now seeing he only just missed out or will they just have a smaller group?

Just a smaller group I would've thought, as it's not a permanent move at this stage.

demonfan9
4 Mar 2008, 20:34
If he was speeding like Steve Johnson, then he deserves to be punished. If he was only a couple of km/h over the limit, then big ****ing deal. I got done the other day for being a little bit over. Happens to almost everyone.

Jonesy2
4 Mar 2008, 20:52
whether the club has made the right decision depends on how much over he was. But i doubt that we will ever know. If you were to guess you would have to say alot.

Why the $$%# wouldnt they take a team bus to Bendigo?

bloodpumpsRnB
4 Mar 2008, 21:03
I think he was going 125kph in a 100 zone.

bringbackschwarter5
4 Mar 2008, 21:11
All signs point to Jonesy being the next captain

Supermercado
4 Mar 2008, 21:12
All signs point to Jonesy being the next captain

All signs point to the whole club being wound up before we need a new captain.

CaptainDavey
4 Mar 2008, 21:32
Kudos for the club to do something about it, but FFS what's gotten into the lad? Just terrible to hear about it, but hopefully he'll learn from it

Marns
4 Mar 2008, 21:50
As annoyed as I am at hearing this, I'll wait to pass judgement until I hear how much over he was. I get the feeling that given the club has dumped him from the leadership group it may've been significant.
If it was significant, it is very worrying.

ausde13
4 Mar 2008, 22:13
All signs point to the whole club being wound up before we need a new captain.

oh for ****s sake Supe lets not go overboard. He did a very silly thing and has been in a few little incidents the last 6 months but lets not write him off or the club just yet.
Hopefully he will turn it into a positive and do some work with accidents vicitims or the community around speeding issues and sees the error of his ways and we all move on. He is a young kid even though he has leadership ambitions he still obviously needs a little growing to do but that rubbish hyperbole is not needed.

FOOOOTY
4 Mar 2008, 22:14
Glad not suspended for any games, Brocky to be BOG in rnd1.

Bartram_Class
4 Mar 2008, 23:02
As annoyed as I am at hearing this, I'll wait to pass judgement until I hear how much over he was. I get the feeling that given the club has dumped him from the leadership group it may've been significant.
If it was significant, it is very worrying.
I doubt he'd have been dumped from the Leadership Group if it was just a few k's. I fear the worst here.

Shocking news though, Brock has been the heir in waiting for the job for a few years now, and Sheedy even came out and said that if he had got the job, Brock would be captain now.

How things can change. Prove us all wrong on the field Brocky.

melbourne150
5 Mar 2008, 00:00
Maybe he was speeding because he was angry that we lost.....

He needs to pull his head in but hopefully him being dropped from the leadership group will knock some sence into him.(and fire him up for round 1)

Do you think if he is well behaved and playing some good footy he will be back in the leadership group by mid season?

DemonErrol1964 - dees
5 Mar 2008, 00:58
FFS the guy is only 21. I would have done the same thing and probably worse. Yes he will be a captain one day but let him have his youth.

He will hopefully look back on this regret and move on and mature.

Its all part of growing up.

Supermercado
5 Mar 2008, 06:46
Lucky I left straight after the game, before the cops had shown up, because I may have been exceeding the limit at certain places along the way.

dutchy12
5 Mar 2008, 08:29
Lucky I left straight after the game, before the cops had shown up, because I may have been exceeding the limit at certain places along the way.

exactly. its not the end of the world for brocky, whilst it was stupid the club will still have high hopes for him

MicksterD
5 Mar 2008, 09:00
Does anyone really know anything factual - I mean seriously every comment is based on speculation - bring on round 1 - the rest is just peripheral BS :(

2 Dogs
5 Mar 2008, 10:02

If you were a real supporter you would have waited a bit and taken the hit for Brock.

eliasd82
5 Mar 2008, 14:17
There are only 2 possible things Brocky could have done and that is:

1) Going 125km or over in a 100km zone. Reported he was in a 100km zone when fined.
or
2)Went anywhere between 103km - 124km and now he has lost his 12 demerit points resulting in a loss of liscence.

If its number 2 it just comes up with growing up, I got my fair share of speeding fines.. No real dramas there. He Could have been found to be going 5km on 6 occasions.

However if he was doing 140 from bendigo the kid has to be taught a lesson and this indefinate suspension is fair. Make no mistake this will definately hurt him.

Also Brocky said in and interview that he loves the pressure being on him look out for a BOG in Round 1 for Big Brocky McLean...

Supermercado
5 Mar 2008, 15:30
If you were a real supporter you would have waited a bit and taken the hit for Brock.

When he wins a B&F I'll retrospectively take the points.

lamaros
6 Mar 2008, 11:54
I hope he one day comes good for you guys, but from the outside looking in the guy just seems like a bit of a tool who has a bit of potential.

He needs to stop getting headlines for doing stupid shit and stop talking himself up in the media (talking to the press over and over about how the teem needs to play better isn't A-grade 'leadership material' if you ask me). He should be getting that attention and press, if he really wants it, just from what he does on the field.

Brockstar
6 Mar 2008, 16:00
I hope he one day comes good for you guys, but from the outside looking in the guy just seems like a bit of a tool who has a bit of potential.

He needs to stop getting headlines for doing stupid shit and stop talking himself up in the media (talking to the press over and over about how the teem needs to play better isn't A-grade 'leadership material' if you ask me). He should be getting that attention and press, if he really wants it, just from what he does on the field.
Well said. Much as I love the boy, he's gotta pull his boof head in.
I can understand him being involved in one brawl, but not another straight after.
I can understand him doing a burnout in his fancy v8 ute - hell, I 'd even do that once and I'm a girl.:D
But to be under media (and club) scrutiny for both "offences" then do similar things soon after is just sheer stupidity on his part.
Is there somewhere we can send him to get that damn bogan out of him!?
Regardless, I think he'll totally redeem himself on field this year:o.