View Full Version : Bailey Wary Of Hawks!

noosa hawk mad
4 Mar 2008, 19:02
BAILEY WARY OF HAWKS (http://footyheads.com.au/index.php/2008/03/04/bailey-wary-of-hawks/)

Tuesday, March 4th, 2008 at 2:12 pm
BY MARK OPOLION
NEW Melbourne coach Dean Bailey won’t be taking Hawthorn lightly in Round 1 when his Demons side takes on a Hawks lineup minus four key players.
Shane Crawford, Luke Hodge and Jordan Lewis will all be watching Round 1 action from the stands because of suspensions following the Hawks’ 2007 finals series loss to North Melbourne.
Campbell Brown, a 2007 All-Australian defender, is now required to serve the second week of a two-match ban for charging Carlton’s Matthew Kreuzer after the Hawks failed to make the NAB Cup Grand Final.
But Bailey, who helped form Mark Williams’ Port Adelaide coaching panel with current Hawthorn coach Alastair Clarkson* ahead of the Powers’ first premiership win in 2004, says the Hawks will be a top-four side in ‘08 and cannot be underestimated at any stage.
“There’s always a danger in saying ‘isn’t it great these sorts of players aren’t playing,’” Bailey told AAP.
“The reality is they’re a well-run club, well-coached, they’re on the improve, they’re probably a top-four team.
“Regardless, who they send out, they’ll be super-competitive.”
* Clarkson left Port when he became the Hawthorn senior coach.
FootyHeads! (http://footyheads.com.au/index.php/2008/03/04/bailey-wary-of-hawks/#comments)

Roughie
4 Mar 2008, 20:22
I thought we would still come into the game as favourites against Melbourne even with these players missing, it seems like this article is more underestimating our depth more than anything.

hodge-910111213
4 Mar 2008, 21:00
I thought we would still come into the game as favourites against Melbourne even with these players missing, it seems like this article is more underestimating our depth more than anything.

Like how u underestimated ur face! Yesss!!

MHDKA
4 Mar 2008, 21:30
We are lucky that while some players will miss through report we have few injuries to our senior group and have a couple of new players like Dew and Rioli who can move straight into the team.

Leather Poisoning
4 Mar 2008, 21:53
Standard PA stable smokescreen. Bailey reckons he's a big chance against us.

Choco does this public bluff all the time.

Clarko does it a bit too.

Can't wait for the game. Really wanna just go WHACK! and smash the dees. But if we lose I hope we give the kids some good experience.

FisherHawk
4 Mar 2008, 23:00

It's round 1 of the new H&A season. Anything could happen, and sometimes does.

Hodge
Brown
Lewis
Crawford:eek:

Their fairly impresive outs for opposition supporters. Their all in our best 10 I would think. I'm not so positive about the win just yet. Freo will be the tough one though.

hawka187
4 Mar 2008, 23:16
We have to win against Melbourne,because against Fremantle, i wont care to much if we lose that, always gonna be tough with ur best players in.

Pessimistic
5 Mar 2008, 03:44
Our tough nuts are out, so theres no better team to play than melbourne.

The team that reckoned they became tough by recruiting Byron Pickett

monhawks
5 Mar 2008, 07:13
Melbourne are all over the shop . We'll whack them. Our forwards will have a field day .Still reckon we have the midfielders to get it forward . If Buddy has an on day he'll kick 10.

lickmerocks
5 Mar 2008, 08:27
Dean should be very worried.

Franklin Williams and Roughead will provide the power up front.

Croad to get Neitzty.
Goo to get Robbo
Birch to shut down Bruce if he plays forward
Sewell to shut Mclean out of the game
Ladson to wear Davey like a glove

Game On.

sgbn77
5 Mar 2008, 10:15
I reckon stick Osborne on Davey again. He's just enough of an a*shole to completely put Davey off his game. Sure, Davey will get a free or two, but he'll squib every contest where he can hear footsteps. Osborne did alright last time, and he almost pinched two goals for himself near the end except for wayward kicking.

Flag08
5 Mar 2008, 10:25
I reckon we have 4 of our 8 elite players out. Tough ask. The other 4 (Birch, Lance, Willo, Mitch) need to have blinders as do the next 3 best on my "almost elite" list (Croad, Sewell, Roughy)

BigAl3001
5 Mar 2008, 10:57
I think our midfield lacks depth with these outs. If we can't get first use often enough it will be a tough ask to role the dees.

Leather Poisoning
5 Mar 2008, 11:52
I think our midfield lacks depth with these outs. If we can't get first use often enough it will be a tough ask to role the dees.

They've got 2 defenders out in Whelan and Rivers.

Whilst these guys are no where NEAR the players that we have out - they're still considered really important to Melbourne's structure. We'll be okay.

cschreuder61
5 Mar 2008, 13:23
I'm worried first up.
We are really missing 4 midfielders cause McGlynn would have been starting around the middle considering Crawf, Hodge, and Lewis are out. Combined with Brown.

I'd be stoked if we can come away with a win. Melbourne at fullish strength will be a tough proposition I reckon.

starbux
5 Mar 2008, 13:53

I think this is a good test for our side if we hope to win a flag in the next few years. If i had to pick a side to play against with these players out Melbourne would be at the top of the list with Richmond.
It'll be a good oppurtunity for players like Ellis, Clarke, Bateman, Williams and maybe even Rioli to have a run in the midfield and show their worth!

noosa hawk mad
5 Mar 2008, 17:20
Standard PA stable smokescreen. Bailey reckons he's a big chance against us.

Choco does this public bluff all the time.

Clarko does it a bit too.

Can't wait for the game. Really wanna just go WHACK! and smash the dees. But if we lose I hope we give the kids some good experience.Bailey is pumping us up as a top 4 team as insurance if he loses!Well we played a top side ect ect i think we have dept on our list that we haven't had for a while can't wait to see Rioli in action:thumbsu:

alfonzo
5 Mar 2008, 17:55
anyone know stokes injury? I assume nothing bad cos I haven't heard but it doesn't always work that way does it...

LuvMyHawks
5 Mar 2008, 17:59
Not sure whether it's right or not, but I read that he had jarred his elbow.
Pretty painful though I would think..We know what it's like to just hit your funny bone...

Brown Blood
5 Mar 2008, 18:45
I reckon stick Osborne on Davey again. He's just enough of an a*shole to completely put Davey off his game. Sure, Davey will get a free or two, but he'll squib every contest where he can hear footsteps. Osborne did alright last time, and he almost pinched two goals for himself near the end except for wayward kicking.

We played them once last year and laddo played and beat (actually destroyed) davey who only ended up having 6 or so touches and I think was benched.

He got 12 votes in the B&F for his game.

noosa hawk mad
5 Mar 2008, 19:41
We played them once last year and laddo played and beat (actually destroyed) davey who only ended up having 6 or so touches and I think was benched.

He got 12 votes in the B&F for his game.One of his best games last year BB good memory mate!

hawka4eva
5 Mar 2008, 20:11
Our line up for the dees will still be better than theres.
B-Guerra Croad Ladson
HB-Dew Gilham Birchall
C-Bateman Ellis Young
HF-Thorp Boyle Williams
FF-Rioli Roughead Franklin
Foll- Campbell Mitchell Sewell

Inter- Taylor Clarke Tuck Murphy

Emer- Stokes Dowler Morton Dawson

Thats a strong line up and i would like our chances of winning comfortably, even if our defence is weak i'd bet we'd out-score them anyway.
Dew is a big in for his composure and experience.

Should be a big one ill be there in my seat M13 Row B seat 8
Go Hawks

BigAl3001
5 Mar 2008, 20:41
Gee our mid-field looks depleted without ball-winners in Hodge, Crawf and Lewi.

alfonzo
5 Mar 2008, 22:22
Not sure whether it's right or not, but I read that he had jarred his elbow.
Pretty painful though I would think..We know what it's like to just hit your funny bone...

Ta. anything elbow painful but never heard of jarred. But I'm sure they'd have said something by now if it was bad.

raff23
6 Mar 2008, 13:00
melbourne r shithouse, we should pump them, remember guys their best midfielder of the past few years is at brisbane and the next best can't get himself out of trouble (mclean), they have no one that could seriously threaten us except davey and he has played shit against us every time, we will win and win well.

Mojo
6 Mar 2008, 13:08
melbourne r shithouse, we should pump them, remember guys their best midfielder of the past few years is at brisbane and the next best can't get himself out of trouble (mclean), they have no one that could seriously threaten us except davey and he has played shit against us every time, we will win and win well.

Nathan Jones?

I think we'll win well too though.

cradle of filth
6 Mar 2008, 14:50
I'm happy that Jarrad Rivers is out, he did a good job on Lance Franklin last time and without him, i struggle to see who they will put on him. We should really stretch their defense.

Roughie
6 Mar 2008, 15:00
Gee our mid-field looks depleted without ball-winners in Hodge, Crawf and Lewi.

I hope they do not give Sewell a defensive job, I have seen him play with out a role before and he is excellent at clearances!

Leather Poisoning
6 Mar 2008, 15:37
I'm happy that Jarrad Rivers is out, he did a good job on Lance Franklin last time and without him, i struggle to see who they will put on him. We should really stretch their defense.

Rivers, Whelan and co are all playing for the VFL side this week according to the melbourne board.

dutchy12
6 Mar 2008, 15:57
they have no one that could seriously threaten us except davey and he has played shit against us every time, we will win and win well.

Wrong. Davey smashed Brown in 2006.

Brown Blood
6 Mar 2008, 15:58
Wrong. Davey smashed Brown in 2006.
Wasn't that goldspink :mad:!

dutchy12
6 Mar 2008, 16:03
Wasn't that goldspink :mad:!

Lol actually your probably right. That match was embarrassing. There was that one stoppage they showed on the footy show with Jeff White clearly giving a free kick away to Robbie Campbell in the ruck and Goldspink came charging in from 40 metres away to give a free against Brown for tugging Davey's jumper.