View Full Version : Clarko on 3AW - 05.03.08

RustyHawk
5 Mar 2008, 18:09
Hawthorn senior coach Alistair Clarkson on 3AW's Sports Today with Gerard Healy, The commissioner Mike Sheenan and possible new MelbourneFC CEO Paul McNamee.

(no doubt someone will find the link and post soon - check 3aw.com.au)

GH: No doubt focussed on Rd 1. Thoughts on NAB Cup?
AC: We used the NAB Cup to get game time in your more seasoned players and give game time to some of the kids.
GH: Disappointed not 1 more game?
AC: Oh yeah. Discussion on advantages and disadvantages. Adv - give the kids a chance to experience something like a finals. Then AC moved onto "this week its good to play under normal rules with normal interchange rules but wouldnt have minded progressing 1 more week.

Adelaide to good on the day

MS: The Paul Roos situation?
AC: Unfortunate. Trivial. Get on with footy.

MS asked about AC's thoughts on Sydney and did they try. His answer "I couldnt detect them trying to lose"

PM: Gambling, dictating what coaches do? - still on Paul Roos theme
AC: Most unfortunate part is this is playing out in public. We are the laughing stock of the major football codes the NRL, ARU, Australian Soccer. Should have been solved with a phone call and dont do it again.

GH: Hawks. Difficult to place faith in recruit with injury? (Beau Muston situation)
AC: Real unfortunate. Ripper kid.
- savage blow to the kids career. Will do his best to bounce back. Dream at the moment is shattered. - others have do it before and bounced back.

MS: Lance Franklin. Most exciting player in the AFL.

AC answered and I was interrupted ...... so talk then.

AC: Where excited BUT the excitment is greater outside the club than within it. He has had disappointing games. He has got a long way to go and he knows that. Everyone disappointed with his first 3 quarters last week.

GH: Other clubs spies? You cannot lock out people at Waverley? Major problem/issue [similiar]
AC: Not really.
- Discussion among coaches in the past regarding spies.
- protocol if you declare a closed session and a another clubs representative is asked to leave.. they leave. Hasnt always been the case [in last few weeks]
-will have a discussion in couple weeks with rest of coaches.
- if protocols in place then lets go with them.

MS: Choco (Port Adelaide Coach Mark Williams) idea for 12 teams in the finals. Your thoughts.
AC: Dont like the principle of rewarding mediocratity. [spg?] Not ridiculing Choco, has a lot of good ideas (went on to talk about a team that wins only 7 games in regular session getting up and beating a team that has won 13 games in a finals.... that team has done the hard work and wouldnt be rewarded.)

Then discussed the up coming guernsey presentation 14.03.08

End

Roughie
5 Mar 2008, 18:14
Thanks Rusty mate!

Fat Tony
5 Mar 2008, 19:37
Good stuff rusty:thumbsu: I liked how Clarko said "i couldn't detect them losing". Maybe he bought the hype and was expecting to see Sydney lose on purpose:p

alfonzo
5 Mar 2008, 22:16
you da man rusty.

Thanks

Twas interesting t hear him critical of buddy on sat. Always impossible to tell what a forward is or isn't doing off screen. It was the most stagnant our forward line has looked since sydney rd 22.

Hawkk
6 Mar 2008, 00:01
you da man rusty.

Thanks

Twas interesting t hear him critical of buddy on sat. Always impossible to tell what a forward is or isn't doing off screen. It was the most stagnant our forward line has looked since sydney rd 22.

Or 4 games ago ;)

Consumed
6 Mar 2008, 02:40
you da man rusty.

Thanks

I like AC treating him like that. Every other media outlet is busy pumping him up, I would rather his ego is given an abrupt reality check by the coach. His game against Adelaide was disappointing for 75% of the match. No Hawthorn player can have that kind of effort on his record.
Player management in terms of what is necessary for team success is vitally important and that is why I would hate to lose our assistant coaches as well. Hardwick and Ross are exactly the type of men who know what is needed for success and hopefully they actively balance the egos around the club well.
You don't want Buddy to lose the mercurial and show stopping talent he exercises on occasion, but if some limitations on it led to greater consistency, then it may well be a good trade off.

Collins-Langford-Ayres
6 Mar 2008, 10:46
I like AC treating him like that. Every other media outlet is busy pumping him up, I would rather his ego is given an abrupt reality check by the coach. His game against Adelaide was disappointing for 75% of the match. No Hawthorn player can have that kind of effort on his record.
Player management in terms of what is necessary for team success is vitally important and that is why I would hate to lose our assistant coaches as well. Hardwick and Ross are exactly the type of men who know what is needed for success and hopefully they actively balance the egos around the club well.
You don't want Buddy to lose the mercurial and show stopping talent he exercises on occasion, but if some limitations on it led to greater consistency, then it may well be a good trade off.

Spot on !!!