View Full Version : Rivers, Whelan, Bartram and Wheatley are all playing this week....
melbourne150
5 Mar 2008, 19:36
For Sandringham VS Scorpions
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
DEMONS defender Jared Rivers has never been as excited about running out for the reserves as he is about Saturday's VFL practice match against the Casey Scorpions.
The 23-year-old, who had last season ruined by the onset of serious osteitis pubis, will play his first game since round six last year – and he can't help but feel a little jumpy about the prospect of returning to the field.
"It's not quite the same as my first game, but I'm a little bit nervous like that after having the operation and getting back again," Rivers told melbournefc.com.au.
"It's good to finally get out there, after starting my pre-season and off-season early and finally actually playing footy rather than running around an oval.
"It's been quite a big couple of years for me so I'm a bit nervous, but I'm excited at the same time.
"Hopefully I can get through it all and get a bit of the ball as well."
He won't be alone in his first game back from a lengthy lay-off. Clint Bartram, Matthew Whelan and Paul Wheatley will also return, after battling knee, hamstring, foot, calf and shoulder problems between them in season 2007.
"They're all crucial players for the Melbourne footy club so hopefully we can all get a kick out there." Rivers said.
"It's good that we're all getting back out there together, so we can try to help each other out as much as we can.
"It's been a long pre-season for all of us, so finally getting out there and getting a kick is going to be a lot of fun."
Rivers had to overcome surgery, recovery and the frustration of not being able to even kick a ball throughout the better part of last year.
Then, to top it all off, he had to try to recapture even the most basic of football movements once he was given the all-clear from his specialists.
"My skills weren't great [when I first started training]," he recalled.
"It was just great to be back though, after watching so much footy last year. I finished up so early last year, and then I didn't really kick a footy at all.
"I tried to get back later in the year but couldn't, so I hadn't kicked it for the large part of a year.
"My skills didn't deteriorate, but it was mainly about getting the power back in my legs and groin to kick that extra distance."
The 2004 NAB AFL Rising Star first noticed his groin soreness was becoming a persisting ache in the pre-season last year, but wasn't completely hampered by it until round six.
"I had a bit of pain a couple of years ago when it all started, but I didn't think much of it," he said.
"I had it in the pre-season and then I played the Port Adelaide game last year and I felt it in my groin and up around my belly button, and I'd never felt pain like that before in my life.
"I could hardly walk at half-time and after the game I could hardly move."
However, even in hindsight, Rivers considers it difficult to tell if an earlier diagnosis would have had him back on the park earlier than this.
"That's the frustrating thing; it's been around for so many years now and there's not really one thing that fixes it," he said.
"Different guys have different ways of trying to deal with it, and the best way is to just take your time with it and try to get what works for you right.
"That's the hardest thing, because there's all these people out there that try to tell you what to do, and it's more what you feel and what you think is right. You've just got to deal with that."
Rivers will play half a game this weekend, and hopes to back up with another Sandringham performance the following week. Then, with all things coming to plan, he has his sights on round one.
"I'm rapt, because I've been waiting for a while now and I feel like I've been pulling up really well after training," he said.
"If I pull up well after the game and the coaching staff thinks I'm looking all right, I'd like to put my hand up for round one.
"So, all things going right and depending on how I pull up after each hit-out, I might get a run.
"But I'm feeling great so I can't complain if I don't."
I'm so happy they are playing even if it is for Sandy:thumbsu:
I guess this game will be the curtain raiser before we take on the Kangas??
demonfan9
5 Mar 2008, 19:39
You'd think so. Would be a great day of footy if it was.
was just about to post that, it is such great news on all of them being back on the park but especially Rivers. Will be a huge bonus if he's fit again this year. Our most important player IMO.
How can we find out where this game is being played? Cos if it is at Casey then I'll be there early for sure. I can't imagine there be a MFC supporter who wouldn't get a flutter in the pants to see Rivers, Whelan and Batram back on the field. Oh yeah, and Wheatley.....:D
bloodpumpsRnB
5 Mar 2008, 20:48
Great to hear, three crutial parts of our best 22 back on the field, our defence will look a lot more solid.
That is encouraging.:thumbsu:
master bate
5 Mar 2008, 22:04
How can we find out where this game is being played? Cos if it is at Casey then I'll be there early for sure. I can't imagine there be a MFC supporter who wouldn't get a flutter in the pants to see Rivers, Whelan and Batram back on the field. Oh yeah, and Wheatley.....:Dvflfooty.com has this
After NAB Challenge Match Reserves Casey Scorpions Sandringham Casey Fields 7.45pm
After NAB Challenge Match Seniors Casey Scorpions Sandringham Casey Fields 5.15pm
cougar000
6 Mar 2008, 08:08
I reckon they have been ready for a couple of weeks but Bailey just playing his cards right, if I'm right smart move by the coach :thumbsu:
Panthera
6 Mar 2008, 08:22
Great to hear, three crutial parts of our best 22 back on the field, our defence will look a lot more solid.
Wheatley, Rivers and Whelan all in your best back 6?
Rivers is our best backman. Whelan is in the best back 6 when fit and Wheat's is open to conjecture..
demonfan9
6 Mar 2008, 09:47
vflfooty.com has this
After NAB Challenge Match Reserves Casey Scorpions Sandringham Casey Fields 7.45pm
After NAB Challenge Match Seniors Casey Scorpions Sandringham Casey Fields 5.15pm
2:00pm - Melbourne vs. North Melbourne
5:15pm - Sandringham vs. Casey (Seniors)
7:45pm - Sandringham vs. Casey (Reserves)
Well I will definately be there for the Melbourne game, and I'll probably watch half of the Sandringham seniors before heading home. It's gonna be a long drive home for me, and I want to see some of the NAB Cup Grand Final too.
CowboyFromHell
6 Mar 2008, 10:07
Sensational news! Hopefully they all get through the game well and have another game with Sandy before the season proper! I'm especially excited to read that Rivers is feeling fit and excited about being a part of it again! :thumbsu:
melbourne150
6 Mar 2008, 17:37
The Long Road Back for Bartram
Young midfielder Clint Bartram spoke exclusively to MELBOURNEfc TV about his return to football with Sandringham and the long road which saw him get there.
It was 344 days ago that Melbourne fans last saw Clint Bartram running out onto the MCG in a red and blue guernsey, and at just 20 years of age, he is one player who already knows the highs and lows of AFL football.
After being picked with Melbourne’s last selection (Pick 60) in the 2005 National Draft, Bartram surprised many by playing all 22 home and away games in 2006. Following this, a cruel ankle injury suffered against the Crows saw him miss the finals, and was the beginning of a dismal run with injury.
“I ended up tearing the ligaments in my ankle against the Crows. I had to go and get my ankle pinned so that the ligaments could heal and repair”, Bartram told MELBOURNEfc TV.
Bartram worked through a challenging rehab and training program over the 2006-2007 summer to get his body right. After playing in two practice matches Bartram was thrilled to get the call up to play against the Saints in Round One, but another mishap was just around the corner.
“In the lead up to Round Two, I ended up tearing some cartilage in my knee, in a bit of one-on-one contest work with Brent Moloney at training. That was obviously devastating, after coming back from a big ankle injury and working so hard, with the rehab and training.
“I ended up having eight weeks more rehab, trying to get myself right. At the same time Russell Robertson was going through a similar sort of thing and we were both on track, but then in Round 13 the medical staff said they were going to take me back in for another operation to get the knee cleaned up, because it wasn’t quite healing right. That was again pretty devastating to hear that there was a whole year down the drain that you weren’t able to play football.”
A difficult period for any young player, Bartram explained that the people who were closest to him helped him stay positive. “I think a lot of help from my family and friends helped, it was a very frustrating and challenging time. All the boys have been really good, any time I was around the Club we would go get lunch or have a chat. I just tried to take the positives out of anything.”
Bartram said that a phone call to Brownlow Medallist and Adelaide champion Andrew McLeod was a crucial insight into how to handle an injury of his nature.
“I had a chat to Andrew McLeod about how he has handled his preparation, because he pretty much has no cartilage at all in his knee, I think I’m two-thirds better off then what he is.
“It was good to hear how he went about it and what sort of stuff he does. He is obviously very professional, and he’s been through it al,l so it was really good to have a chat to him.”
A crucial contributor to the Melbourne playing list, Bartram was missed last year, but will begin his playing preparation for Round One when he takes the field for Sandringham against the Casey Scorpions on Saturday evening.
“Yeah, obviously I’m pretty excited, it’s been 344 days, so I’m really looking forward to getting out there and playing a game of football. All the boys have been really supportive and they’re fully behind me, so hopefully I can go out there and have a bit of a run out there on Saturday.
“It’s been a year long rehabilitation process. I’ve been at the physio four or five times a week, I have done a lot of riding and swimming to get the lungs back up and running, and now I’m doing all the off the line stuff, so my knee has held up really well to that.
“The coaches are planning to play me for about 50 percent of the game, and hopefully I can do that in the midfield so I can get a few kicks and get my confidence up.”
After such a long time out of the game, you couldn’t blame him for being a little nervous. But come game time, Bartram doesn’t think that will pose an issue.
“I’m a little bit nervy thinking about it now, but on the weekend I’ll be right. I’ve been playing football my whole life, and that’s what I love doing so I’m more excited than nervous to get out there.”
I'm defienitley sticking around to watch this game(or the first half):thumbsu: Can't wait to see Bartram play again:)
Bond.ShaneBond
7 Mar 2008, 00:13
Seriously how much of a legend is McLeod? Great to see he was willing to help out the young fella. Go Bartram!
Russel Sprout
7 Mar 2008, 09:15
Great article on bartram! If you scroll down to the bottom of the article you can see the video (http://bigpondvideo.com/afl/44164) of the interview, its definitely worth watching.
He handles himself really well but the thing that most impressed me was how much muscle he put on! I always remembered him as a "scrawny kid" but he's really filled out which i think will help the way he plays a lot!
Panthera
7 Mar 2008, 14:31
Pardon my ignorance :o, but is Bartram in your best 18 this season :confused:
What role will he play?
Pardon my ignorance :o, but is Bartram in your best 18 this season :confused:
What role will he play?
I suppose it depends on personal views on him. I'd have him best 22 everytime, however we have a few good kids pushing for selection, and after his injury might have to earn his spot again. But he's shown himself at top level in his first year, and I see no point in putting a player who many here at Melbourne see as a long term player for the club.
With the loss of Godfrey, I can see him taking over the mantle of no 1 tagger for the Dees. 1st year was given some pretty tough jobs as the 2nd tagger behind Godders, such as Crawford and such. He's been sort of pigeon-holed as a backman, but I'd like to see him in the midfeild, even if it is as a tagger at leats he'll be around the action.
Thommo4pm
10 Mar 2008, 18:52
Sorry if i missed it, but how did the fella's go??
Im a big fan of Whelan, love his toughness. (saw a pretty cool youtube video when he cleaned up Hirdy!)
Hopefully he can remain injury free...
Deenamite
10 Mar 2008, 19:04
Sorry if i missed it, but how did the fella's go??
Im a big fan of Whelan, love his toughness. (saw a pretty cool youtube video when he cleaned up Hirdy!)
Hopefully he can remain injury free...
Very famous around these parts. He played pretty well apperently and is absolutely crucial to our defence so it'll be good to have him back Round 1.
melbournemartin
10 Mar 2008, 22:08
Do we have a report for the 4 players? I had to head off after the Melbourne game.
From what I saw first quarter, Rivers and Whelan showed why they shouldn't be playing 2nds. Underdone, they still looked a class above, Whelan looked as though he hadn't lost any aggression. Didn't see heaps of Wheatley or Bartram, but Dunny was the one who impressed me the most. Looked trim, but bigger, if I make any sense. Played midfield and was everywhere. Very excited with his prospects this year. Also Maric did a couple of nice things, which make me happy for the next few years when he gets his shot.
whelan=legend
10 Mar 2008, 23:10
I pray Whelan, Rivers, Dunn and Barts are in the team for round one. I seriously think we will win if they play.
afterburner
11 Mar 2008, 11:17
Do we have a report for the 4 players? I had to head off after the Melbourne game.
From the Melb FC vs North Melb thread:
Just got home from the game myself. I stayed to watch the first half of Sandy, and I may have seen a (tiny) glimmer of hope. Rivers didn't look all that fit, and if anything he appears to have lost some size, however.......
He has not forgotten how to get the ball. He has not forgotten how to take a grab. He has not forgotten how to dispose of the footy, and he has not forgotten how to read the play. Wheels was also great and seemed to be running through the midfield. He had one of his shoulders strapped, but was fit, quick, creative and oh so needed in the seniors.
Bartram had a run but didn't look at the same level as Rivers and Wheels. He laid a few tackles and looked encouraging, albeit a few weeks behind the other two.
I didn't have a team list for Sandy with me so some of the players flew under the radar. The exception was Maric. He sat at the feet of the full forward and looked good. He knew when and where to move to and wasn't afraid (or quiet for that matter) when demanding the footy.
Enough has already been written about the Demons, I will leave that alone, but I thought it a good idea to pass on what I saw of the first half of Sandy.
Thommo4pm
12 Mar 2008, 17:25
Good news Whelan is looking good...
heres a hypothetical question for you demons fans that know more about them then i do.
With Whelan, we know how aggressive and hard at the ball he is. Im worried that because of this and the new pissweak rules the AFL have introduced, he might find himself in front of the tribunal a few times. Would hate to see him injury free yet sitting on the sidelines just due to the way he plays. Similar to Pickett i suppose.
Thoughts?
melbourne150
12 Mar 2008, 18:02
heres a hypothetical question for you demons fans that know more about them then i do.
With Whelan, we know how aggressive and hard at the ball he is. Im worried that because of this and the new pissweak rules the AFL have introduced, he might find himself in front of the tribunal a few times. Would hate to see him injury free yet sitting on the sidelines just due to the way he plays. Similar to Pickett i suppose.
Thoughts?
Nah i'm not worried at all yes Whelan is aggresive and goes in hard but he has always been a very fair player.
I just can't wait to see him out there playing again:thumbsu:
Thoughts?
A couple of years ago he got in trouble a bit with his spear tackles he has shleved them and has a pretty clean record at the tribunal.
Bring-Back-Powell
13 Mar 2008, 17:32
The only time Whelan has been suspended was after the infamous "Lets rough up the St Kilda blokes when we're horribly out of form" match in 2005. He copped 1 week for rough play.
demonben
13 Mar 2008, 17:37
his also broke nathan browns leg