View Full Version : Magpies prepare to put Burns in charge

sirlothie
6 Mar 2008, 00:16
The news we have been waiting for!

SCOTT Burns is expected to be announced as Collingwood captain for the 2008 season before tomorrow night's practice match against Hawthorn at Shepparton.
The club's chief of football operations, Geoff Walsh, confirmed yesterday the match committee would meet today, when a recommendation will be put to the board.
"We are hoping to announce it before the end of the week so we can go into our last practice match with it done and dusted," Walsh said.
Burns, who turns 34 in December, will hold the role for one season unless his form and fitness allows him an unlikely extension.
His likely retirement at the end of this year will pave the way for the Magpies to appoint Scott Pendlebury as leader at age 21, which would make him the youngest skipper in the club's history.
Burns is believed to have beaten a field including Nick Maxwell, Tarkyn Lockyer and Josh Fraser, with age the only issue holding back Pendlebury.
If the silky-skilled Sale recruit does become captain next season, it will make him one of the youngest in AFL records. But history shows that once a club makes a decision to go young, it often reaps the benefits.
In 1993 North Melbourne took a punt on 21-year-old Wayne Carey and were rewarded when he led the Roos to premierships in 1996 and 1999.
The Brisbane Lions selected a 21-year-old captain in Michael Voss at the start of 1997, while Stephen Kernahan was 23 when he became Carlton skipper in 1987.

He led the Blues to a flag in his first year in the job.
Collingwood coach Mick Malthouse will have no fears anointing Pendlebury at such a young age, given he was coach when 22-year-old John Worsfold became captain of West Coast in 1991.
Malthouse and Worsfold stood on the premiership dais a year later and again in 1994, proving the worth of taking a punt.
The youngest AFL captain was North Melbourne's David Dench at 20 years and 221 days in 1972, 78 days younger than Haydn Bunton at Fitzroy in 1932.
The Collingwood player who could be viewed as unlucky is Maxwell, who hasn't put a foot wrong during the pre-season.
But one of the major differences between Maxwell and Pendlebury was highlighted in last year's Copeland Trophy, where Maxwell finished out of the top 10, despite playing every match (25). Pendlebury was beaten by just one vote, despite missing two games.

In 2003, then-Victorian cricket team coach David Hookes took what was regarded as a massive gamble by naming 20-year-old Cameron White as captain.

Victoria won the 2003/04 Pura Cup title, sadly without Hookes who was killed in an altercation outside a Melbourne hotel in January 2004.

Young captains overseas include National Hockey League superstar Sidney Crosby, 20, who was just 19 when he was appointed captain of the Pittsburgh Penguins.

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,23326657-11088,00.html

Congratulations Scott!!! :):thumbsu:

Do us proud mate.

sirlothie
6 Mar 2008, 00:20
And Scott Pendlebury the tip for next year... wow!!!

Potentially a great captain also, hard to fault him for much! ;)

Exciting news... :cool:

May both Scott's do well, and commiserations to all the boys who missed out but we don't think any less of you for it and your still leaders in your own right of the mighty Collingwood Footy Club. :thumbsu:

Ron
6 Mar 2008, 00:32
The right choice was made.

TerryWallet
6 Mar 2008, 00:51
correct decision has been made.

Burns, while past his best at 34, has universal respect inside and outside the club.

And Pendlebury and H.Shaw can prove who should be his successor.

Guys like Fraser,Lockyer and Maxwell would have been a laughing stock.

Godfrey Jones
6 Mar 2008, 01:05
^no where near a laughing stock...

I was about to go into what type of players equate as a laughing stock, then I saw your listed team...'nuff said

but for what its worth I agree that the correct and logical decision has been made.

Sir Scotty....He deserves it..

yeah-nah
6 Mar 2008, 01:27

Fat Lance board.

FuManchu
6 Mar 2008, 02:15
what is this 'sir' crap so many persist with.

Firstly he is an Aussie and any self respecting Australian wouldnt even want the title of an outdated peerage system from another country.

Secondly, the title of 'Collingwood captain' would be more of an honour than any piece of shit title that any filthy peerage system could ever bestow.

his name is Scott Burns and that is enough.

marcmurphy3
6 Mar 2008, 02:36
Good choice if true, especially considering there is no one standout candidate. Gives you another year or two to decide on your long term skipper and is a just reward for Burns after all his yrs of service. :thumbsu:

B&W Army
6 Mar 2008, 04:03
This is what I said October 5th last year:

I'd love Burnsy to be captain for the year I'm sure he'd only hang around for one more and then I'd like to see Shaw take it on.

I'm very happy for Scott, he's going to be a great captain and I hope his courage and commitment can rub off onto the rest of the group as he leads by example. This guy is pure inspiration. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

The Royal Sampler
6 Mar 2008, 07:32
Rapt if it's Burns, but the Pendles '09 call is premature.

Kirby
6 Mar 2008, 07:35
I think this is the right decision. Burnsy is the man for the job.

Interesting that Pendlebury is rated so high that he is a good shot to be made captain as early as next year at the tender age of 21!

MAGP1ES
6 Mar 2008, 08:05
LONG LIVE SIR SCOTT!

May he bring great victory and glory to the kingdom of Collingwood!

smiddaz123
6 Mar 2008, 08:13
I think this captaincy issue is over rated.

it's just a title.

The one field leaders will shine through regardless of whether they're captain or not.

mdc
6 Mar 2008, 08:14
Finally, it's over.

I hope the reports are true, and they have already marked Pendlebury for '09. Have him as the full-time vc this year to get him as much experience as possible.

MarkT
6 Mar 2008, 08:40
Finally the only sane decision has been made. Maybe that should read announced. I don’t know how long they have known they would appoint Burns. I hope from the day Buckley pulled the pin because it was so obvious. Hopefully the club was dangling carrots to see who stepped up. If so I guess Pendlebury stepped up most. That is fantastic if true but I am concerned about him being captain so young next year if Burns retires.

Anyway for now, we have the best captain at our club as our captain and that is what is most important this year and going forward to when we need to appoint someone else who will now have at least 12 more year to be a better and more established player and receive the requite leadership training.

Now let’s get on with going all out to win a premiership. No prisoners and no excuses!

MarkT
6 Mar 2008, 08:40

it's just a title.

The one field leaders will shine through regardless of whether they're captain or not.It’s a bit like ruckman. Appoint second raters and you make it over rated and redundant. Appoint true leaders and you make it worthwhile and enhance your chances of winning every single game you play.

privatopia
6 Mar 2008, 08:44

it's just a title.

The one field leaders will shine through regardless of whether they're captain or not.

Seconded

Finally, it's over.

I hope the reports are true, and they have already marked Pendlebury for '09. Have him as the full-time vc this year to get him as much experience as possible.

Also seconded. Pretty exciting news for the mere fact Pendles is rated that highly within the club. Futures so bright, I gotta wear shades :cool:

goalpie
6 Mar 2008, 08:48
The right choice was made.

More like no choice was made. Just reads like months of procrastination and now another 12 more to come. :eek:

Timmy from Thomastown
6 Mar 2008, 09:00
Excellent news.

Lets not get into too much debate about 2009's captain just yet. Its way too early to anoint somebody as heir apparent. Needless to say we have half a dozen or more to choose from if Burns retires, and depending upon form this season, its wide open.

Swanny36
6 Mar 2008, 09:06
nice choice .....good luck scotty!

Abba Lonie
6 Mar 2008, 09:17
No quotes in there to suggest Pendlebury, just a guess from the reporter. I would not think it likely he'd be appointed captain next year, and even less likely that he would be anointed the likely successor at such an early stage of proceedings ie before this year's captain is even announced!

emster
6 Mar 2008, 09:19
I think it's great news. He's respected, loyal, great leader, speaks his mind and thoroughly deserves it, although it's a shame it won't be for long.

I expected it to go to Josh, because I thought they'd go with someone for the long-term and I also thought Burnsy might turn it down.

But when it was mentioned that our last 4 captains were Mark Williams, Tony Shaw, Gavin Brown and Nathan Buckley it hit home to me - being the captain of Collingwood is a huge honour. We don't change captains often, and it has to be someone GREAT. So I could see the point that some of the candidates probably weren't deserving (even though I love them as players).

So I hope it's true!

Noel Gallagher
6 Mar 2008, 09:24
Hey guys I was just wondering why Josh Fraser seems to be constantly overlooked as a Collingwood captain. As a non supporter with little knowledge about your leadership group, I would have thought that he would have been the most obvious choice.

Does he not display leadership skills or is there more to it??

JUst curious..

hellfire
6 Mar 2008, 09:33
Hey guys I was just wondering why Josh Fraser seems to be constantly overlooked as a Collingwood captain. As a non supporter with little knowledge about your leadership group, I would have thought that he would have been the most obvious choice.

JUst curious..

He quit the leadership group last year. Not a good sign to put forward.

Snag Breac
6 Mar 2008, 09:39
O Captain! My Captain!

http://i32.tinypic.com/f24hsi.jpg

Foremost captain of his time
Rich in saving common-sense,
And, as the greatest only are,
In his simplicity sublime.

Time to celebrate, BigBucks.

Timmy from Thomastown
6 Mar 2008, 09:47

JUst curious..

Constantly overlooked? This is the first time he's been passed over - Buckley has been our captain for the past ten years!!!!!!!

Burns is the best man for the job. This time next year Fraser will be in the mix, along with many others.

End of story

Timmy from Thomastown
6 Mar 2008, 09:48
He quit the leadership group last year. Not a good sign to put forward.

Irrelevant. Burns has done the same in the past.

kel4pendles
6 Mar 2008, 10:05
Congratulations to Burnsy, well deserved after many years of loyal service. I think what is hasty though, is to assume that he will retire at the end of the year. This has been thrown aound for the past few years, and Burnsy just keeps on producing the goods. Whats to say, depending on injury of course, that he won't captain for the next 2 years?

As for Pendles, it's obvious I love him, and think he will make a great captain whenever the time comes. However I doubt they will announce him as sucessor at this early stage, he will probably get vice which will lead everyone to assume he will be next. Lets see how he develops this year, along with others like Shawy, Maxwell and Fraser, who could also be considered. No doubt this will provide as much speculation amongst us supporters and the media as this years captain has!

All the best to Burnsy and all the boys, lets hope it's a goog year and that our new captian can achieve what eluded or old one for so long

jimmy35
6 Mar 2008, 10:08
Good choice .

bradrowe#32
6 Mar 2008, 10:25
Good move. The right choice prevailed in the end.

Is there a general consensus that this will be Burns' last year? If he's fit and enthusiastic, then I reckon he could still have a role off the bench next year too. I guess it depends if Stanley, Cook, McCarty etc. are ready to take his place.

Godfrey Jones
6 Mar 2008, 10:33
what is this 'sir' crap so many persist with.

Firstly he is an Aussie and any self respecting Australian wouldnt even want the title of an outdated peerage system from another country.

Secondly, the title of 'Collingwood captain' would be more of an honour than any piece of shit title that any filthy peerage system could ever bestow.

his name is Scott Burns and that is enough.

LMAO!!! at your signature

Visions
6 Mar 2008, 10:49
I'm happy with the choice the Woods have made, a better choice than Fraser and Maxwell in my opinion.

And the rumour of Pendlebury being earmarked as the next captain after Burns would have a lot of truth to it I think. If the club was thinking of Fraser/Maxwell, etc as captain they surely would have done it now (stability), they wouldn't wait an extra year or two with an interim captain. If those players weren't chosen for it now then they never will be.

MarkT
6 Mar 2008, 10:58
Irrelevant. Burns has done the same in the past.I Don’t so. I think he was asked to step aside in order to develop others and being the true club man he is he wouldn’t have hesitated.

Timmy from Thomastown
6 Mar 2008, 10:59
I Don’t so. I think he was asked to step aside in order to develop others and being the true club man he is he wouldn’t have hesitated.

Fraser may have stepped aside to concentrate on his fitness and his game. If so , its also a team decision. I wouldnt hold it against him.

People are only speculating that he stepped down from the leadership group because he cracked the sads.

M-Train
6 Mar 2008, 11:21
With the big news just at at hand, congrats to Scotty Burns!!! However, what I am thrilled with is Collingwood giving the reins to Pendles next year. I have always said your best player should be the captain! I wouldn't mind it would have been Thomas either as he is the face of our club!

sunnyTEE
6 Mar 2008, 11:22
Any news on VC?

Smoky
6 Mar 2008, 11:36
Is it official yet? What times the press conference

OniAu
6 Mar 2008, 11:37
good news, woulda been happier if they made it Tcloke and pendles as vice

as i think those two are the stand outs to be our captain for years to come.

j2roc
6 Mar 2008, 11:50
Is it official yet? What times the press conference

At 1 o clock according to AFL.com.au

Smoky
6 Mar 2008, 11:54
At 1 o clock according to AFL.com.au

Any webcast?

Snag Breac
6 Mar 2008, 12:05
Any webcast?

SEN news says conference to start shortly.

sunnyTEE
VC anyone? :)

dalethomas13
As much as I wanted Fraser to do the job because he could potentially do it longer than what Burnsy can I fully support this decision knowing that Pendles is next in line to be his successor in 2009.

It seems the succession plan has been put into place for a youngster to lead us for the next decade.

boom crash opera
6 Mar 2008, 12:10
is it official yet? has the conference started?

Smoky
6 Mar 2008, 12:11
is it official yet? has the conference started?

Yeah... hurry up

emster
6 Mar 2008, 12:13
It says it's official on afl.com.au

Snag Breac
6 Mar 2008, 12:14
Burns Named Collingwood Captain has just come up on the CFC website. But the article hasn't been loaded yet.

pongo_3931
6 Mar 2008, 12:26
From AFL.com.au

Author: Jennifer Witham 1:04 PM Thu 06 March, 2008
http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/images/AFL/Collingwood/Burns_capt%28246x316%29.jpgNew Magpie captain Scott Burns

SCOTT Burns was been named the new Collingwood captain at a press conference in the Lexus Centre, Melbourne, on Thursday afternoon.
Midfielder Burns, 33, has played 247 games for the Magpies since making his debut in 1995.
He was a member of the club's losing grand final sides in 2002 and 2003, making the top three in Collingwood's best and fairest award in each of those seasons.
Ruckman Josh Fraser was announced as vice captain.
The 28-year-old has made 156 senior appearances since debuting in 2000. He had a career-best season 2006, and managed 19 games last year before breaking down with ankle and back injuries.
He missed five of the last six games in 2007 - including the Pies' semi-final victory against West Coast at Subiaco and the heartbreaking five-point preliminary final defeat to Geelong.
More to come.

Joshie as VC.

FIGJAM
6 Mar 2008, 12:27
Onya Burnsy!! :thumbsu:

Somebody
6 Mar 2008, 12:28
With the big news just at at hand, congrats to Scotty Burns!!! However, what I am thrilled with is Collingwood giving the reins to Pendles next year. I have always said your best player should be the captain! I wouldn't mind it would have been Thomas either as he is the face of our club!

Yep I was just thinking, Thomas may not have yet reached anywhere near his potential yet, and as some here have said he might have a real breakout year this year. In that case, he could be another big option for capt. It's taking him a normal amount of time to develop an AFL tank, whereas Pendles already had great stamina.

hellfire
6 Mar 2008, 12:44
So Fraser is VC, but Pendlebury will take over when Burns steps down?

jimmy_clement#8
6 Mar 2008, 12:44
I can understand Pendles been touted as the '09 or '10 captain, but I'm not sure I can say hand on heart that I'd pick Pendles over Heater for the captaincy if it was down to those two. If I was in charge, and thankfully I'm not, I couldn't look past Heater for someone else when Burnsy retires.

MarkT
6 Mar 2008, 12:48
So Fraser is VC, but Pendlebury will take over when Burns steps down?I don’t know where that came from. On SEN this morning they said Burns would be named captain for 1 year and Pendlebury would be captain in 2009. I reckon someone made that up. I hope someone made that up. Given Fraser is named VC it looks like someone made that up.

Footy guru
6 Mar 2008, 12:50
Great choice in Burns, but i think a little premature in naming Pendles having seen his game so far this year he woudl want to improve, in Dubai he seemed to back out of the contest and on the weekend it was woeful, looked sluggish and disinterested. Dont know whether he would be a leader on field, if your were looking at young blood who lead it would have to be shaw and swan, take a look who points where to go and who have a red hot go themselves. Thomas will never be until he gets rid of the show pony antics made some terrible blues in the last few practice games - thank god he kicked the scissor kick otherwise he did nothing much on the weekend either - at least shaw and swan are continuing their goof form from last year. It is Malthouse who rates Pendles and if your in with the coach and the woods you will go well has last say in B & f votes too.Go Burns!:thumbsu:

morax
6 Mar 2008, 13:02
Very pleased with this choice. Pretty pumped right now, feel like having a kick, busting some packs and laying some solid bumps. :)

Roll on round 1

Pie eyed
6 Mar 2008, 23:06
correct decision has been made.

Burns, while past his best at 34, has universal respect inside and outside the club.

And Pendlebury and H.Shaw can prove who should be his successor.

While I don't agree with the last line....I do agree with the rest.
Well put.

Jabso
7 Mar 2008, 00:28
So Fraser is VC, but Pendlebury will take over when Burns steps down?

As MarkT said that was just speculation from the Herald Sun journo. Probably overstated some enthusiasm towards Pendlebury's leadership material. I the next captain is going to come out of Fraser, Maxwell, Pendlebury, Cloke, H.Shaw or Thomas and I think they all probably have an equal chance.

It will be interesting to see whether or not they announce any additions to this or if this will be the leadership group. We never really actually announce the deputy vice captains so this is probably it.

Kirby
7 Mar 2008, 07:27
It will be interesting to see whether or not they announce any additions to this or if this will be the leadership group. We never really actually announce the deputy vice captains so this is probably it.
They did announce them. Fraser is VC and Maxwell, Lockyer and Pendlebury are Deputy VC's.

It is obvious that Pendles IS being groomed for captaincy ahead of the other kids at this stage.