View Full Version : Melbourne FC Squad Vs North Melbourne at Casey Fields Sat 2pm
form melbournefc.com.au
MELBOURNEfc has selected its strongest side of the NAB Challenge as it prepares to play North Melbourne at Casey Fields on Saturday afternoon.
With the inclusion of Brad Green, James McDonald, Michael Newton and Lynden Dunn, the Melbourne side continues to take shape for its AFL opener against the Hawks at the MCG.
In other great news for Demon fans, Clint Bartram, Jared Rivers, Paul Wheatley and Matthew Whelan will all return through the VFL this week, after going through lengthy stints on the sidelines.
Match Details
MELBOURNEfc v North Melbourne,
Saturday 8 March, 2pm
Casey Fields
Melbourne Squad
1. Simon Buckley
2. Nathan Jones
5. Brock McLean
6. Matthew Bate
7. Brad Miller
8. James Frawley
9. David Neitz
11. Paul Johnson
12. Colin Sylvia
13. Adem Yze
14. Lynden Dunn
15. Ricky Petterd
17. Chris Johnson
18. Brad Green
20. Colin Garland
21. Daniel Bell
22. Brent Moloney
23. James McDonald
24. Russell Robertson
28. Isaac Weetra
29. Michael Newton
34. Jeff White
36. Aaron Davey
39. Austin Wonaeamirri
41. Nathan Carroll
43. Jace Bode
Interesting to see P Johnson picked ahead of Meesen and Jamar. I'm a bit worried about the lack of tall defenders, although I suppose Miller, Carroll and Frawley will fill those spots. Very happy to see Dunny finally getting a game.
Deestroy
7 Mar 2008, 13:26
I'm a bit worried about the lack of tall defenders, although I suppose Miller, Carroll and Frawley will fill those spots.
It's the final game before round 1 so I think there's no need to play extra talls outside who Bailey thinks will play round 1. It will be interesting to see how Miller goes, sure he had a good game last week but it was only against the Dogs forward line.
PJ seems to have gotten the nod for now, Meesen will need to show some good form at Sandy.
Equally as important as this game is how the players come back through Sandy. It might be too late for round 1 but it would be great to see those guys get through a game without incident.
Russel Sprout
7 Mar 2008, 13:54
Interesting to see P Johnson picked ahead of Meesen and Jamar.I first thought that's been done more to give Meesen a bit of a rest before the real season begins seeing his played the last 3 games and shown a bit of promise.
Im actually more excited about the list for Sandy this week!
1. Gilchrist Rennie
2. Paterakis Tom
5. Monaghan Sam
7. Valenti Shane
10. Summers Peter
13. Martin Stef
14. Johnston Marc
16. Biddlecombe Andy
18. Maric Addam
20. Lamb Chris
22. Meesen John
26. Cheney Kyle
28. McNamara Tom
31. Wheatley Paul
33. Liddell Chad
35. Zomer Trent
36. Johnston Tomi
37. Warnock Matthew
39. Holland Ben
40. Jamar Mark
41. Lynden Dunn
48. Bode Jace
49. Plymin Jarrod
50. Dean Tom
56. Gribbin Daniel
74. Bartram Clint
78. Rivers Jared
79. Whelan Matthew
The last 3 are obviously the ones that im rapt about. For a while there i was convinced it would still be a while before seeing them in the 2's
melbourne150
7 Mar 2008, 14:09
Dunn and Bode are listed for both teams.....:confused:
zimasquize
7 Mar 2008, 16:18
cale morton cant play because he knocked himself out at training the other night hitting his head on a fence railing he needed stitches in his forad so they arnt going to play him after being concussed
demonfan9
7 Mar 2008, 16:19
Well Melbourne named 26, but maybe it has to be cut down to 24 on match day? Which explains why Dunn and Bode are in both teams.
I hope Bode lifts his game, he has potential but so far this year in the praccies he has been ordinary.:(
melbourne150
7 Mar 2008, 16:32
cale morton cant play because he knocked himself out at training the other night hitting his head on a fence railing he needed stitches in his forad so they arnt going to play him after being concussed
Do you know how he did it?? Did he slip over or something?
Supermercado
8 Mar 2008, 00:48
Any game where somebody is wearing #79 has got my vote.
Bartram_Class
8 Mar 2008, 11:40
Anyone going to get us some live chat from the game?
Or is there a radio station picking the game up?
Deenamite
8 Mar 2008, 11:53
Yeh, would love that just like the Dogs game. I know there are quite a fewq people from BF going today.
old_clint
8 Mar 2008, 12:52
Casey Radio 3SER 97.7fm has done in the past (or was this a Scorpions-Sandy game). It's a low-power/low-profile community affair but it does stream. I note however that at the moment it seems to be Indonesian Hour.
http://www.3ser.org.au/
eliasd82
8 Mar 2008, 13:15
Casey Radio 3SER 97.7fm has done in the past (or was this a Scorpions-Sandy game). It's a low-power/low-profile community affair but it does stream. I note however that at the moment it seems to be Indonesian Hour.
http://www.3ser.org.au/
hahaha.. shit your weren't kidding....la li song da, song da, song da!!!!
Anyone else know where i can grab the game write ups or listen online?
Russel Sprout
8 Mar 2008, 13:22
From Whispering Jack
Melbourne 2.1
Kangaroos 4.3
Buckley & Wonaemirri a goal each so far.
They have a thread dedicated over at demonland:
http://demonland.ugbox.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=9060
bloods01
8 Mar 2008, 13:32
Kangas by 8 points nearing quarter time. 40-32. Davey on fire.
melbourne150
8 Mar 2008, 13:41
Last i heard
Melbourne 6.3
Kangaroos 6.4
Newton 2 goals,
apparently davey has been dominant in the middle and would have had atleast 10 dispossials!!
We were three goals down but have come back....
There doing updates on SEN
Supermercado
8 Mar 2008, 13:42
Greetings from casey. Nm by 1 at quarter time. All us in the last ten mins. 2 goals for juice, one for buckley, neitz, wonamierri, weetra. Davey best. Sylvia good. Backline shithouse.
Thanks guys! keep the reports coming in
master bate
8 Mar 2008, 13:45
Kangas by 8 points nearing quarter time. 40-32. Davey on fire.
Thats a huge score in one NAB Challenge shortened quarter.
master bate
8 Mar 2008, 13:46
Greetings from casey. Nm by 1 at quarter time. All us in the last ten mins. 2 goals for juice, one for buckley, neitz, wonamierri, weetra. Davey best. Sylvia good. Backline shithouse.The more things change, The more they stay the same.
melbourne150
8 Mar 2008, 13:47
1/4 Time:
Melbourne 6.3
Kangaroos 6.4
Goals: Newton 2, Wonaemirri 1, Neitz 1, Buckley 1, Weetra 1.
Apparently Jones and Davey are playing awesome :thumbsu:
We have fought back from three goals down and the momentom is with us
melbourne150
8 Mar 2008, 14:01
2nd Quarter:
Melbourne 6.4.40
Kangaroos 8.6.54
melbourne150
8 Mar 2008, 14:07
2nd Quarter:
Melbourne 7.4
Kangaroos 10.6
Inspirational goal from Davey
melbourne150
8 Mar 2008, 14:13
1/2 Time
Melbourne 8.4
Kangaroos 11.7
Sylvia and Brock played a lot better that quarter. No one really playing that consistent. Jones, Davey and Wonaemirri playing well.
1/2 Time
Melbourne 8.4
Kangaroos 11.7
Sylvia and Brock played a lot better that quarter. No one really playing that consistent. Jones, Davey and Wonaemirri playing well.
Go Austin!:thumbsu:
SEN just reported we're getting smashed, 44 pts down in the 3rd quarter
Supermercado
8 Mar 2008, 15:08
North by 10 goals. I hate footy. Every 2nd person here has tatts
festa1234
8 Mar 2008, 15:09
SEN just reported we're getting smashed, 44 pts down in the 3rd quarter
not looking good is it our backline letting us down again
melbourne150
8 Mar 2008, 15:37
4th Quarter
Melbourne 11.10.76
Kangaroos 21.12.138
Robbo kicked a goal but was reported a few minutes before. He has 2 goals for the game.
:thumbsd:...... I have decided that if we lose in round 1 i'm gunna burn down Bailey's house:mad:
festa1234
8 Mar 2008, 15:40
4th Quarter
Melbourne 11.10.76
Kangaroos 21.12.138
Robbo kicked a goal but was reported a few minutes before. He has 2 goals for the game.
:thumbsd:...... I have decided that if we lose in round 1 i'm gunna burn down Bailey's house:mad:
whats up with robbo if he doesnt pull his head in he shouldnt play round 1
melbourne150
8 Mar 2008, 15:41
4th Quarter 23 mins
Melbourne 13.10.88
Kangaroos 21.12.138
Robbo has kicked 3 in a row since being reported. Demons dominating. Too little, too late.
Deenamite
8 Mar 2008, 15:41
It's like our season's over before its begun.
festa1234
8 Mar 2008, 15:45
4th Quarter 23 mins
Melbourne 13.10.88
Kangaroos 21.12.138
Robbo has kicked 3 in a row since being reported. Demons dominating. Too little, too late.
yea but why are we dominating is it because north cant be stuffed anymore there probably already in the showers
Robbo reported again???... anything in it?..
How bad did the Robbo incident look/sound, will he go?
melbourne150
8 Mar 2008, 15:54
Final Score
Melbourne 14.10.94
Kangaroos 24.14.146
Robbo kicked 4. Newton 2 (early on).
Another a$s wooping to add to our Pre-Season collection:o
killlerkyle
8 Mar 2008, 16:03
This is our 150th year. You'd think after last year the club would have enough pride to show us something before the season begins.
I must admit, I haven't seen any action thus far, but it appears we have nothing to look forward to this year apart from draft picks.
Very limited publicity and nothing happening on the feild. How do they expect people to pay their memberships? I'm sick of coming up with lame excuses to defend the club I love, when the club itself appears to do nothing.
Theseventhhamster
8 Mar 2008, 16:18
Just got back. Turnovers were the whole story of the game for us. North killed us every time going the other way once we'd ****ed pour kicks up. Few exceptions too so there isn't much point singling one or two guys out. Yze, Sylvia, Moloney, Brock, Bell, Buckley and Jones were all guilty and Neitz missed a couple of sitters. Robbo was being a clown but his report was soft.
As for the defence being shit they were having to control wave after wave of unchecked runners coming at them, they only really looked terrible to me once the ball hit the ground. Whelan and Bartram back there would make a world of difference. Overall it really just looked like a practice match, probably not worth getting too worked up before the real stuff starts.
Just got back. Turnovers were the whole story of the game for us. North killed us every time going the other way once we'd ****ed pour kicks up. Few exceptions too so there isn't much point singling one or two guys out. Yze, Sylvia, Moloney, Brock, Bell, Buckley and Jones were all guilty and Neitz missed a couple of sitters. Robbo was being a clown but his report was soft.
As for the defence being shit they were having to control wave after wave of unchecked runners coming at them, they only really looked terrible to me once the ball hit the ground. Whelan and Bartram back there would make a world of difference. Overall it really just looked like a practice match, probably not worth getting too worked up before the real stuff starts.
Cheers for the wrap up.:thumbsu:
I must say though that over time the coach is going to have to address our attack at the player with the ball. Even in our good years I think we were reasonably average when we didn't have possession. Our defence has no hope if they face a stampede every time. Work rate and fitness... but it will take time.
At least these preseason stoushes are finally over and we can now wait for round 1 where I am convinced some players will move up a gear.
Theseventhhamster
8 Mar 2008, 16:37
Cheers for the wrap up.:thumbsu:
I must say though that over time the coach is going to have to address our attack at the player with the ball. Even in our good years I think we were reasonably average when we didn't have possession. Our defence has no hope if they face a stampede every time. Work rate and fitness... but it will take time.
At least these preseason stoushes are finally over and we can now wait for round 1 where I am convinced some players will move up a gear.
Yeah I was excited to see Moloney, Sylvia, Brock and Jones in the middle together but at the same time there was a real lack of accountability. Especially when the ball was turned over quickly.
That was a weakness of TJ I think. It is obvious that the senior players will not be setting too much of an example of work ethic as they have liked it a bit easy over the years. Apart from McDonald there are not too many seniors who are around the pill in the middle anyway so the players you have mentioned will have to create their own new brand of footy in the middle for years to come.
Neita has been a great captain for us but when he passes the mantle on to Brock? or whoever I think we will benefit by having the captain in the midddle of the ground. Sure we have the leadership group but they are rarely in the thick of it. When things are going bad you need your captain in a position to pull the others in and lead by example. Neita at full forward doesn't have this impact unfortunately.
I thought for you guys that Davey was good early on, seemed to be running through the midfield, actually seemed to be everywhere. thought he quietened down though after quarter time. Nathan Jones is a gun, would be most welcome at any club IMO. Moloney was strong at and over the ball and i like Daniel Bell. I think he has bulked up a bit, looks a good footballer
Supermercado
8 Mar 2008, 17:24
Vomitous performance. The only thing to write home about other than Davey's goal in the 3rd quarter was some of the vicious tackles Sylvia was hitting. Angry young man. Best for us I thought, followed by Davey and daylight.
Moloney was alright. Carroll not too bad given the amount of ball into the backline. Wonamierri showed a few signs and some great chase.
Saw the first 10 minutes of 2's. Whelan, Rivers, Bartram and Wheatley were all playing and Rivers was killing it down back. He and Whelan are absolutely crucial to any chance we have of not being slaughtered this season.
How did Miller go and where did he play?
Supermercado
8 Mar 2008, 17:32
Backline. Not much. Was serviceable I suppose.
I can't believe I've been to Geelong, Bendigo and Cranbourne this pre-season to watch such utter trash. Thank god when the regular season comes I'll be able to walk around the corner and then back home to slash my wrists before the 2nd siren.
Backline. Not much. Was serviceable I suppose.
I can't believe I've been to Geelong, Bendigo and Cranbourne this pre-season to watch such utter trash. Thank god when the regular season comes I'll be able to walk around the corner and then back home to slash my wrists before the 2nd siren.
rofl vintage Super! Your commentary may be the only thing that gets us through the season mate.:thumbsu:
Deenamite
8 Mar 2008, 17:44
As much as i'm trying not to, i am getting worked up about such consistantly shit displays. Its all good being DB and coming in here and saying "Go run and create" when our defence, accountability and skills are atrocious.
went down to have a look at the game today and paul johnson was very good for you guys. picked up plenty of the ball, rucked well and moved quite well for a big man. he was easily the best ruckmen on the ground.
GreaT SourcE
8 Mar 2008, 18:01
How did Petterd go guys ??
Not too worried, you'd be surprised at how much and quickly things can change when the real footy begins.
afterburner
8 Mar 2008, 18:08
Just got home from the game myself. I stayed to watch the first half of Sandy, and I may have seen a (tiny) glimmer of hope. Rivers didn't look all that fit, and if anything he appears to have lost some size, however.......
He has not forgotten how to get the ball. He has not forgotten how to take a grab. He has not forgotten how to dispose of the footy, and he has not forgotten how to read the play. Wheels was also great and seemed to be running through the midfield. He had one of his shoulders strapped, but was fit, quick, creative and oh so needed in the seniors.
Bartram had a run but didn't look at the same level as Rivers and Wheels. He laid a few tackles and looked encouraging, albeit a few weeks behind the other two.
I didn't have a team list for Sandy with me so some of the players flew under the radar. The exception was Maric. He sat at the feet of the full forward and looked good. He knew when and where to move to and wasn't afraid (or quiet for that matter) when demanding the footy.
Enough has already been written about the Demons, I will leave that alone, but I thought it a good idea to pass on what I saw of the first half of Sandy.
The Zebra
8 Mar 2008, 19:29
he was easily the best ruckmen on the ground.
You're kidding me?
McIntosh destroyed him.
The Teflon Dean
8 Mar 2008, 19:51
Yep, Hamish destroyed him.
I really fear for Nathan Carrol, he is no more than a third defensive tall, yet week in week out, he has to play on blokes way too big for him. He did OK on Thompson considering, today. Took a couple of good contested marks.
You guys need to find some height in defence and you need to find it quickly, otherwise I think you might be coughing up some big scores in 2008.
It looks like being a long year for you guys and I hope Bailey starts pushing your kids through ASAP.
Most importantly, stick with them, the Dees have a good nucleus of youth and with a solid draft or two, you will be back in the hunt.:thumbsu:
Supermercado
8 Mar 2008, 21:01
What about when Johnson went up and palmed the ball straight into McIntosh's hand? Moments like that are what seasons like we're going to have are made of.
CowboyFromHell
8 Mar 2008, 21:54
Er... I've got nothing to add here. All I'm clinging to is the hope that this is all down to pre-season and things will change come Round 1. I have a feeling that the hope is, however, hopeless.
melbourne150
8 Mar 2008, 22:00
I was looking through some photo's of the game and i liked what i saw in this one....
http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/67658.jpg
Sylvia landing one on Harris's nose:D......Here's a link http://www.gspimages.com.au/photography/results/?q=collection:AFL%202008%20NAB%20Challenge%20-%20Melbourne%20v%20North%20Melbourne&sub_code=all
melbourne150
8 Mar 2008, 22:03
And Petterd looks like he's beefed up a bit:thumbsu:
http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/67604.jpg
CowboyFromHell
8 Mar 2008, 22:05
Doesn't seem to have done him much good. And the picture of Sylvia landing one on Harris means nothing either - I'd rather smash them on the scoreboard than on the nose.
peternorth
8 Mar 2008, 22:08
why did melbourne wear the silver/white jumper against north? wouldve thought the traditional blue/red wouldve been easier on the eyes/clash?
master bate
8 Mar 2008, 22:23
why did melbourne wear the silver/white jumper against north? wouldve thought the traditional blue/red wouldve been easier on the eyes/clash?It's our NAB cup jumper as well as our clash jumper, which is why we wore it against Geelong a few weeks ago.
peternorth
8 Mar 2008, 22:37
It's our NAB cup jumper as well as our clash jumper, which is why we wore it against Geelong a few weeks ago.
cheers
demonfan9
8 Mar 2008, 22:42
Terrible match, can't be ****ed commenting, except to say that I saw the first quarter of the VFL match and Rivers is a dead-set legend. He took about three of his trademark grabs in the first quarter alone, where he runs with the flight of the ball into packs.
Supermercado
8 Mar 2008, 23:33
http://www.demonblog.com/archives/2008/03/southern_suburb.php
I hate sports.
Bring-Back-Powell
9 Mar 2008, 04:05
http://www.demonblog.com/archives/2008/03/southern_suburb.php
I hate sports.
ha ha good read. You're being too kind, from what I saw we turned to the slop-o-metre onto 111.
Oh and if I see Chris Johnson represent the red and blue and silver :rolleyes: again, I'll personally buy a Norf membership.
demonfan9
9 Mar 2008, 11:07
Good stuff Mercs.
Oh and if I see Chris Johnson represent the red and blue and silver :rolleyes: again, I'll personally buy a Norf membership.
Chris Johnson should be placed in an envelope marked 'Do Not Open' and filed right next to Luke Williams. Why is he still on our list?
Its been said before how shithouse we were, and I agree. If you could pull one positive out of the game, it was the way Sylvia actually looked like he gave a damn. Fingers crossed he can do it week in week out. I'm one of those people who have said he's better than Mclean (Not surprisingly there aren't too many of us left) but yesterday I scored a point for team Col.
Brock was putrid yesterday. Didn't get near it. All those other supporters who come out and claim that Jonesy is good, but don't think he'll improve can service my man meat. The kid is a gun. Davey was good early, I like him getting time in the midfield, he adds that explosive speed that we miss.
I liked Petterds game, and there were spurts where Weetra proved me wrong and actually looked like a footballer. Not a top-level footballer, but all the same. Buckley is turning into a one trick pony I think. Grabs the ball, runs like hell until he realises there is an opposition player infront of him an no target to kick to, so he twists and pivots more than Chubby Checker before turning it over. I did enjoy his goal, but thats about it for me. The HUN named him in the best and neglected Sylvia. Credibility lost.
Our forward line stunk to high hell. No-one looked interested at all. Bate (beofre he got injured) should not be into the defensive half of the ground. Neitz didn't do a hell of a lot. Juice was there, not much more to say.
And Robbo. Geez. Slow, apathetic, fat. It took for him to get reported, (which happened directly infront of me. If he got off last week and has points over his head, I'd say 2-3 weeks. Stupid bump over a guy with his head over the ball which, had it happened 5 years ago woulda just been a free kick but with the scare-mongering that goes on at AFL HQ, he's a goner) for him to actually make himslf seen. First goal after the report came from the biggest dive since Duncan the Amazing Diving Horse. I was ashamed, but then again, its Robbo. By this time I was delerious with how shit we were, and the Roos were up by so much that they're fans didn't really care. Cue bogan supprters yelling out Dancing with the Stars comments greeted by laughter from other retarded bogans who don't even know what shit 'Celebrity" show he's even on. Yet they seemed satisfied with themselves, and who am I to point out their ignorence.
Best- Col, Jones, Davey, Petterd
Stayed for 1st Qtr of the Sandy game. Dunn has gone the Juice route and completely shaved his head. Took me ages to find him during the warm up. Big Meesen and Dutchy started up forward, and Dutchy looked good. Suffice to say they were playing against Casey Scorpians, who sources I have told me they didn't kick a goal last week until the 4th Qtr. None the less, we're gonna need something next week to cover Robbo, and I'll probably get disowned by many for even suggesting it, but he's put his hand up for mine. Dunn has to be an automatic inclusion, especially with Bater gone. Whelan looked steady, Valenti dominated the 2's again, in which I now find myself compelled to whack CJ on the knee with a sledgehammer in order to get him promoted.
2 weeks to go until the Hawks. If we get within 10 goals, I may be slightly satisfied. Who am I kidding. Its gonna be a long season.
Theseventhhamster
9 Mar 2008, 12:19
Yep, Hamish destroyed him.
I really fear for Nathan Carrol, he is no more than a third defensive tall, yet week in week out, he has to play on blokes way too big for him. He did OK on Thompson considering, today. Took a couple of good contested marks.
You guys need to find some height in defence and you need to find it quickly, otherwise I think you might be coughing up some big scores in 2008.
It looks like being a long year for you guys and I hope Bailey starts pushing your kids through ASAP.
Most importantly, stick with them, the Dees have a good nucleus of youth and with a solid draft or two, you will be back in the hunt.:thumbsu:
Carroll was fine. You are talking out of your arse.
Klyntonius
9 Mar 2008, 14:39
Was really disheartening yesterday. All the hallmarks of past weaknesses were present. Lack of accountability through the midfield and desire to work hard without the ball forward or back were blatantly obvious in what should have been a red-hot dress rehearsal for the season. It was particularly disappointing when the talk is of a new concentration on defence. The players really seemed to be working by the motto "you do it". I'm clinging to hope that the desire wasn't there because it was only a practice match but I don't really believe it.
I thought Carroll was fantastic down back under ridiculous pressure. Jones just goes hard all game long and was our best I thought. Davey was sensational early but a lack of help saw him fade during the game. Sylvia had a go. Weetra and Austin both showed a bit. There was not much else to like.
The season hasn't started yet but my confidence is rapidly draining away.
demonfan9
9 Mar 2008, 16:53
On the positives, Carroll and Miller weren't bad considering the amount of lace-out passes that were going inside North's 50. Once we chuck Rivers, Whelan and Wheatley back there, it will be a much stronger backline.
Yesterday, the problem was the middle of the ground. We tried to handball off half back and through the centre, ala Geelong/West Coast, but our players do not have the experience to be able to perform such a game plan under pressure. On the training track it might look good, but when the opposition team is working hard like North, then we're going to make a lot of turnovers. Also, our players weren't prepared to work hard enough to help their teammates create space. Instead, everyone wanted to receive the pill but nobody wanted to shepherd.
So, while our half backs and midfielders were ****ing around with the ball, North's players knew they could roam forward unopposed, wait for our inevitable turnovers, and then receive an easy pass off their teammates. With no pressure (our guys were still further up the field wondering what went wrong), they were able to kick running goals from 50m or hit the leading forwards on the ***.
It didn't help that Bate went off injured in the first quarter, leaving us without our best marker. And Neitz and Robertson were both rotated on and off the field throughout the game. This meant that we often lacked forward targets to kick to, which is partly why we had to resort to those shitty handballs.
But overall, our skill level was poor. We dropped simple chest marks. We put our temmates under pressure. Didn't create any space in the forward line. Couldn't win a hitout. Very disappointing match.
The Teflon Dean
9 Mar 2008, 20:17
Carroll was fine. You are talking out of your arse.
:confused:
I actually intimated that and If you check the write ups on the North board, I actually mention he put in some good efforts.
I also mentioned on our board that the bloke should get two pay packets, considering the load he has to carry.
Do you think I'd recommend that a bad player get two pay packets?
davey_magik
9 Mar 2008, 20:53
I actually intimated that and If you check the write ups on the North board, I actually mention he put in some good efforts.
I also mentioned on our board that the bloke should get two pay packets, considering the load he has to carry.
I laughed at that :D.
deelited
9 Mar 2008, 21:15
Chris Johnson should be placed in an envelope marked 'Do Not Open' and filed right next to Luke Williams. Why is he still on our list?
Because we didn't trade him to St Kilda...
Theseventhhamster
9 Mar 2008, 22:14
Carroll is nothing more than a third tall blah, blah, blah.
Crimson Azure
9 Mar 2008, 22:58
Its been said before how shithouse we were, and I agree. If you could pull one positive out of the game, it was the way Sylvia actually looked like he gave a damn. Fingers crossed he can do it week in week out. I'm one of those people who have said he's better than Mclean (Not surprisingly there aren't too many of us left) but yesterday I scored a point for team Col.
Well done Nostradamus, your one of the few who have said that Col is better then Brock are you?
Everyone knows that pound for pound talent wise Col is one of if not the best talent on the list it has always been the case. The question of if he could put it together both physicaly or mentally is the intangible.
But good to see some dees supporters are looking for positives, but even if the season goes askew & we finish 16 we have got Teranewi to look foward to.
[quote=Crimson Azure;10284844Well done Nostradamus, your one of the few who have said that Col is better then Brock are you?[/quote]
I never said there was only a few of us, I said there are few left who still believe it. Col was the better junior of the 2, so not surprising more was expected of him. Add the fact he was taken at 3, expectations rise even higher. What I'm saying is now all the great expectation has moved to Brock, with the pressure of being the next captain and having everything he does professionally and publically scrutinized. I hope Brock can overcome all that, but I see since Col has somewhat escaped the limelight he is poised to take the step to elite, and might even get there before Brock. Fingers crossed at least one of them does.
melbourne150
10 Mar 2008, 16:29
Well done Nostradamus, your one of the few who have said that Col is better then Brock are you?
Everyone knows that pound for pound talent wise Col is one of if not the best talent on the list it has always been the case. The question of if he could put it together both physicaly or mentally is the intangible.
But good to see some dees supporters are looking for positives, but even if the season goes askew & we finish 16 we have got Teranewi to look foward to.
Do you mean Naitanui? :p
Supermercado
10 Mar 2008, 16:46
He'll be called what we tell him he's called.
The Teflon Dean
10 Mar 2008, 17:29
Carroll is nothing more than a third tall blah, blah, blah.
You aren't going to win a premiership with him at full back, that's for sure.
Crimson Azure
10 Mar 2008, 20:14
Do you mean Naitanui? :p
Yeah I do but I can never remember his name so I call him that, it is just a nickname I have given him & if we were to get him thats what I would like him to do to the opposition.
Crimson Azure
10 Mar 2008, 20:15
I never said there was only a few of us, I said there are few left who still believe it. Col was the better junior of the 2, so not surprising more was expected of him. Add the fact he was taken at 3, expectations rise even higher. What I'm saying is now all the great expectation has moved to Brock, with the pressure of being the next captain and having everything he does professionally and publically scrutinized. I hope Brock can overcome all that, but I see since Col has somewhat escaped the limelight he is poised to take the step to elite, and might even get there before Brock. Fingers crossed at least one of them does.
Fair enough, I agree.
Theseventhhamster
11 Mar 2008, 06:50
You aren't going to win a premiership with him at full back, that's for sure.
How about you take your crystal ball with you and **** off back to your own board.
The Teflon Dean
11 Mar 2008, 16:57
How about you take your crystal ball with you and **** off back to your own board.
Gee, why waste both our time and just state that you were looking for a fight in the first place?
Sorry, I can't accommodate you as I like to respect home boards and usually get treated decently because of that.
MicksterD
11 Mar 2008, 17:27
Gee, why waste both our time and just state that you were looking for a fight in the first place?
Sorry, I can't accommodate you as I like to respect home boards and usually get treated decently because of that.
I agree with you mate - very hard to win a premiership if your full back is not dominant