View Full Version : Richmond???

Juddernaut08
7 Mar 2008, 17:03
62 points down at half-time. This team is an absolute Joke. With Simmonds and other injured players returning I really thought they weren't gonna suck as much. I guess I was wrong. And it's not just a one-off. Against St.Kilda's 2nds they got smashed as well.

Tigers do u think u'll seriously have a chance against the Blues round 1?

Coach_Required
7 Mar 2008, 17:11
yes we suck, we suck so bad that we will still beat your lot, it will be our only win for the season :thumbsu:

Ari
7 Mar 2008, 17:15
Essendon has just lost Hird, Sheedy and is coming off 3 poor ladder finished plus just put a kid in charge who's never coached a senior game. Essendon is miles ahead. That's how crap you are Richmond!

Thrawn
7 Mar 2008, 17:21
yes we suck, we suck so bad that we will still beat your lot, it will be our only win for the season :thumbsu:

What makes you think that? We beat you last year when we were supposedly worse... without Judd.

Leather Poisoning
7 Mar 2008, 17:22
Essendon has just lost Hird, Sheedy and is coming off 3 poor ladder finished plus just put a kid in charge who's never coached a senior game. Essendon is miles ahead. That's how crap you are Richmond!

It's true!

EasternTiger
7 Mar 2008, 18:18

Every team in the AFL thinks they have a chance against Carlton.

Gman
7 Mar 2008, 18:25
Geelongs winning margin in all praccies was around 10 goals...

Geelong are a better team then they were last year. Cannot see one team getting within 10 goals when they have a full list and are in full flight.

Geelong premiers 2008, 2009 lock it in ;)

Catsace
7 Mar 2008, 18:31
Think the final score in the PRACTICE match was 149 to 77, with Richmond pretty much matching Geelong in the 2nd half. Hardly think a side losing to Geelong at Skilled on a fine, sunny afternoon in a practice match is cause for gnashing of teeth or anything. It probably fairly reflects the difference between the two sides.

I am seriously looking forward though to Carlton and Richmond playing however, as Carlton's record since 2002 is as abysmal as any side has ever been, probably rivalling St.Kilda of 1979-86 for sheer ineptitude. Bar 2004, Carlton have won the grand total of 5.5 games after Rd 12 in those seasons 2002-2007. Richmond did finish on the footsteps of the 8 in both 2005 and 2006, so all thse Blues fans need to realise it may take more than one man to replace 132 games of misery for about 28.5 wins in that time.

TigerGlory
7 Mar 2008, 18:32
Geelong played a full strength side.

We were playing without Polak and Schulz

We lost by 72 at Skilled Stadium, which is a huge improvement from 157 at Telstra Dome.

Tigers will easily account for Carlton come Round 1. :thumbsu:

adamania11
7 Mar 2008, 18:33
62 points down at half-time. This team is an absolute Joke. With Simmonds and other injured players returning I really thought they weren't gonna suck as much. I guess I was wrong. And it's not just a one-off. Against St.Kilda's 2nds they got smashed as well.

2nd half margin - only 10. Tigers improved in the 2nd half

Catsace
7 Mar 2008, 18:35
I knew i made a thread about Carlton before, so have a look at these numbers to see who is ordinary!

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=395962

TigerGlory
7 Mar 2008, 18:37
I knew i made a thread about Carlton before, so have a look at these numbers to see who is ordinary!

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=395962

Im thinking about making that my homepage.

If Blues fans wanna talk, why dont they tell us about their disastrous start to the game vs Hawthorn just a few weeks back?

Funny how certain posters go missing in times of distress, yet turn up whenever something happens to us. :thumbsu:

c0ze
7 Mar 2008, 18:38
2nd half margin - only 10. Tigers improved in the 2nd half

I think Geelong stopped in the second half :)

Collins-Langford-Ayres
7 Mar 2008, 18:46
Geelongs winning margin in all praccies was around 10 goals...

Geelong are a better team then they were last year. Cannot see one team getting within 10 goals when they have a full list and are in full flight.

Geelong premiers 2008, 2009 lock it in ;)

Well, we beat 'em last year and I am thinking our development and growth as a team over the past 6 months has been greater than theirs. If we can find a way to beat the North Roos squeeze and the Paul Roos flood, they'll need a new trophy cabinet at Artic Park !!

2008 :thumbsu:
2009 :thumbsu:
2010 :thumbsu:
2011 :thumbsu:
2012 :thumbsu:

DBAH0
7 Mar 2008, 18:52

We lost by 72 at Skilled Stadium, which is a huge improvement from 157 at Telstra Dome.

Wouldn't say we had a full team in either, if you're only going to bring up Polak and Schulz (of which Schulz is a dud).

adamania11
7 Mar 2008, 18:53
Well, we beat 'em last year and I am thinking our development and growth as a team over the past 6 months has been greater than theirs. If we can find a way to beat the North Roos squeeze and the Paul Roos flood, they'll need a new trophy cabinet at Artic Park !!

Has anyone ever heard of a team winning a premiership without a decent key defender? Didn't think so...

Big Nasty
7 Mar 2008, 18:54

Get out of it. :rolleyes:
The only team that's gonna have a chance against us this year is the saints.

winty
7 Mar 2008, 19:13

No Ottens, Rooke, Selwood, Stokes and Egan from our best 22. More like we were at 75% strength, but our depth is such that it just seems the team we fielded was a lot stronger than what it was.

burto
7 Mar 2008, 19:33

Well, considering we weren't anything special when we played you last, I am thinking our development and growth as a team since then has been greater. Hawks don't have a CHANCE against the Cats full flight. You better be praying for injuries buddy.

serenityNow
7 Mar 2008, 19:58

I honestly agree with this post.:thumbsu:

Coach_Required
7 Mar 2008, 21:26
What makes you think that? We beat you last year when we were supposedly worse... without Judd.

Easy, I dont rate your team even with Judd, its that simple.

I dont even rate my own team, our only chance of a win is against your mob, thats the truth.

Thrawn
7 Mar 2008, 21:30
Easy, I dont rate your team even with Judd, its that simple.

I dont even rate my own team, our only chance of a win is against your mob, thats the truth.

Fair enough.

But I'll be surprised if we lose with the midfield we will be able to field. They may not be world beaters, but they are good enough to beat your lot. But so are you... in fact, I reckon it will be a close one.

eyeofthetiger
7 Mar 2008, 21:50
the 51- 1 draw odds seem a safe bet

BigBadCam
7 Mar 2008, 23:20
the 51- 1 draw odds seem a safe bet

A 0-0 draw. Your teams are both shite.

Leather Poisoning
8 Mar 2008, 06:18
Richmond get thumped in 2007

How do they address this?

Pick up Jordan McMahon and Richo takes out one of their young forwards.

Richmond get thumped in practice matches.

Richmond will get thumped in 2008.

tigerboyz
8 Mar 2008, 08:57

Wait til cotchin gets a hold of your lot he'll rip em apart.:D

Leather Poisoning
8 Mar 2008, 09:19

At this stage I'd hazard a guess that Judd's impact will be a little more than Cotchin's.

Big call I know but there it is, I've said it.

TigerGlory
8 Mar 2008, 09:52
No Ottens, Rooke, Selwood, Stokes and Egan from our best 22. More like we were at 75% strength, but our depth is such that it just seems the team we fielded was a lot stronger than what it was.

Certainley seemed that way.

Looked through your squad and saw blokes like Bartel, Ablett, Mooney, Scarlett etc. Naturally assumed you were at your best :thumbsu:

celtic_pride
8 Mar 2008, 10:31
What a rudderless rabble ...

BYE BYE TERRY -
Even without Walker, and probably Marc Murphy, I am sure we'll paste the paper-cut Tigers by 80 plus points in rnd 1 ..

TigerGlory
8 Mar 2008, 10:43
What a rudderless rabble ...

BYE BYE TERRY -
Even without Walker, and probably Marc Murphy, I am sure we'll paste the paper-cut Tigers by 80 plus points in rnd 1 ..

Good luck with that.

Considering your mob got their pants handed to them by the Hawks before they stopped, i wouldnt be to confident. :thumbsu:

Realistic Tiger
8 Mar 2008, 10:46
Richmond get thumped in 2007

How do they address this?

Pick up Jordan McMahon and Richo takes out one of their young forwards.

Richmond get thumped in practice matches.

Richmond will get thumped in 2008.
Nicely put, but lets take a closer look at it. Richmond were beaten by the Saints, who are playing in the NAB Cup GF tonight and along the way beat the reigning Premiers, seems like they are a team that is in good form. The other team to beat us is said reigning Premiers, who were playing with 16 members of last years premiership winning team, what were you expecting Richmond to get up and win? In the other 2 games they have comfortably beaten Melbourne (albeit both sides were missing a few regulars) and Sydney (who fielded a fairly strong side).

Now you might be right, Richmond might get thumped in 2008 but making a call based on preseason form is quite amusing afterall just look at Hawthorn's preseason form. They beat the Swans reserves by 2 points, then touched up a powerhouse side like Carlton (remember they were in contention right up until the last game last year, not), before being touched up themselves by Adelaide and then to top off the preseason lost to Collingwood a team that had not won a preseason match at all. So are you going to say the same shit about your own side now seeing as though they haven't exactly set the world on fire?

celtic_pride
8 Mar 2008, 11:00
Hmm you keep clutching at straws RT ...

tigerboyz
8 Mar 2008, 11:04

Just like judd will be clutching his groin in round one.

Realistic Tiger
8 Mar 2008, 11:10
You didn't get what I posted did you?

didak04
8 Mar 2008, 11:11

Pot. Kettle. Black. Carlton have been a joke for years and will only come good again owing to the high draft picks that were gained for years of tanking and mediocrity. Richmond are ordinary currently but atl east they aren't cheats

Skeppersap
8 Mar 2008, 12:21
The sad thing about this thread is that it was Geelong who beat the Tigers, yet it is Hawthorn and Carlton fans who are doing the trolling.

Cats fans have not said much about the match really. We know it was 1st vs 16th last year, everyone knows that. So we probably dont feel the need to have a dig at Richond, because it was a PRACTICE MATCH

Why dont you wait till you beat them till you troll them?

Skeppersap
8 Mar 2008, 12:25
Pot. Kettle. Black. Carlton have been a joke for years and will only come good again owing to the high draft picks that were gained for years of tanking and mediocrity. Richmond are ordinary currently but atl east they aren't cheats

Bingo!

I would be a lot prouder if I was a Richmond supporter than if I was a carlton supperter.

tigerboyz
8 Mar 2008, 12:41
The sad thing about this thread is that it was Geelong who beat the Tigers, yet it is Hawthorn and Carlton fans who are doing the trolling.

Cats fans have not said much about the match really. We know it was 1st vs 16th last year, everyone knows that. So we probably dont feel the need to have a dig at Richond, because it was a PRACTICE MATCH

Why dont you wait till you beat them till you troll them?

Because they have no lives.

celtic_pride
8 Mar 2008, 13:19
Bingo!

I would be a lot prouder if I was a Richmond supporter than if I was a carlton supperter.

This coming from a supporter of the Handbags LMAO !!!

TigerGlory
8 Mar 2008, 13:29

You really make me laugh mate.

You used to barrack for the Cats, then you changed teams (which is bad enough) to Carlton.

Then the Cats end up winning the flag and the Blues have the worst five years in modern sport history. (Only once finishing outside the bottom two)

Your not having a good run are you? :):thumbsu:

Skeppersap
8 Mar 2008, 13:49

What a bizzare comment considering Geelong are reigning premiers, won all the awards they won last year, and are still relatively young.

Carltons last premiership was a product of cheating.

Hodge2Franklin
8 Mar 2008, 13:52
Royce Hart

Hart, regarded as one of the greatest centre-half forwards of all time, said the club's drafting had the wrong focus.

"Their problem is that they haven't got a key-position player, yet they had the chance to take Lance Franklin," he said.

"When they took Brett Deledio and Richard Tambling (ahead of Franklin) at the draft (in 2004) they paraded them proudly at (then-president) Clinton Casey's place. They will be OK, but you have got to have key position players as your main target.

"They haven't got the right players to play the right style. Think of Franklin, Jonathan Brown, Nick Riewoldt and Warren Tredrea. We haven't got anyone like that. Then they get rid of Darren Gaspar last week and have no one to replace him.

"It's just been unplanned as far as I'm concerned and it's been coming for a while. Unfortunately, they have got to start from scratch again.

TigerGlory
8 Mar 2008, 13:54
Royce Hart

Hart, regarded as one of the greatest centre-half forwards of all time, said the club's drafting had the wrong focus.

"Their problem is that they haven't got a key-position player, yet they had the chance to take Lance Franklin," he said.

"When they took Brett Deledio and Richard Tambling (ahead of Franklin) at the draft (in 2004) they paraded them proudly at (then-president) Clinton Casey's place. They will be OK, but you have got to have key position players as your main target.

"They haven't got the right players to play the right style. Think of Franklin, Jonathan Brown, Nick Riewoldt and Warren Tredrea. We haven't got anyone like that. Then they get rid of Darren Gaspar last week and have no one to replace him.

"It's just been unplanned as far as I'm concerned and it's been coming for a while. Unfortunately, they have got to start from scratch again.

Not a big fan of Richo then Royce? :eek:

Catsace
8 Mar 2008, 14:27
Royce Hart's coaching career of approximately two and a half seasons at the Dogs was very uneventful.

Well, uneventful in terms of success....this rivals Graeme Gellie, Bernie Quinlan and Mr 0-13 Alan McConnell for failure. Check this link...from allthestats.com

http://afl.allthestats.com/coaches/coach.php?id=242

Granted he was a multi premiership player at Richmond, and was a mainstay in the '67-69'-73'-74 era, and indeed was the Carey of his day. But as he found out as a coach only a few years after his retirement in 1977, it's harder than you think to try and construct a side.

Personally what i reckon the Tigers should try to focus on is using who they have currently, try to build a side that is strong in at least one area. Maybe winning contested possesions out of the centre with Foley, Coughlan (If he can stay fit), even K.Johnson....he might need to turn himself into a Liberatore-style niggler to make things uncomfortable for opposition midfielders. Then as this group sort of gains confidence, work on the other aspects of the game with targetted drafting/recruiting in the coming years.

Geelong did that by going midfield-centric in their 1999 and 2001 drafts....as well documented Corey, Ling, Chapman, Enright, (the failed Bray, Spriggs notwithstanding) in '99 and Gary Jr, Bartel, S.Johnson and Kelly. Almost all midfield sized, as Bomber's plan was to get a strong engine. Build the enngine, and you then can add the rest, as a powerful midfield gives constant and quality supply to the forwards, and also eases the pressure on the backmen. Brisbane used their 'fab 5' as their midfield engine that powered their way to three flags and four G/F's. Bomber Thompson and the powers that be at Geelong saw this as the plan. The Tigers would do well to try and focus on the midfield aspect, maybe forget about sheer wins/losses, as long as the blokes can get the footy and develop a plan to use the ball. I think there is a base there already with Tambling, Delidio, Foley, Coughlan and i think Connors and certainly Cotchin. Give these players support, coachincg and direction and the wheel can turn. But i reckon build a big engine, the rest will take care of itself.

Forrest Gimp
8 Mar 2008, 15:06

Um...I think they dropped that tag last year, or haven't you heard?

Thrawn
8 Mar 2008, 15:21

And how long will I have to wait? :p

tigerboyz
8 Mar 2008, 15:32
And how long will I have to wait? :p

Second half of the season when we play you again.;)

Truetiger
8 Mar 2008, 16:54

If anyone is a joke its Carlton more so cause of the lack of effort and not giving a stuff about winning last season. Most sides could of played Geelong and got smashed in fact. On the same day Carlton kicked 13goals to win a game kicking 13goals against a lower rate side. Richmond kicked 12 goals against the best side in the league. So carlton are nothing flash eather knowing you just about had your full side playing! You idiot go back and bat over Judd abit more cause its the only pleasure Carlton fans will get this season.

hodge-910111213
8 Mar 2008, 17:05

Jesus that is on of the most ridiculous posts by you, CLA!!

You are making all us Hawks supporters look terrible, I mean how many times do I have to tell you that it's:

Get it right!! :thumbsu:

celtic_pride
8 Mar 2008, 19:10
BTW For tugger fans

Rhys Palmer will be a far better player then Trent Cotchin, another typical Tiger draft blunder set to haunt them in years to come :D

Realistic Tiger
8 Mar 2008, 19:29
BTW For tugger fans

Rhys Palmer will be a far better player then Trent Cotchin, another typical Tiger draft blunder set to haunt them in years to come :D
Just wondering if making stupid statements is a natural gift or is it something you have developed over the years?

celtic_pride
8 Mar 2008, 20:58
Just wondering if making stupid statements is a natural gift or is it something you have developed over the years?

Well right you, you can't actually refute that statement can you, your majesty ???