View Full Version : Hawks V Pies: NAB Challenge -Full Time Score & Match Report
RustyHawk
7 Mar 2008, 18:36
This thread is only to keep you upto date with the scores from Shepparton where the Mighty Fighting Hawks take on collingwood.
End first quarter we believe
Hawthorn 1 goal up over the pies.
Goals to Ladson, Franklin and Thorp? - TBC
End First Quarter:
Hawthorn: 3.3.21
Collingwood 2.3.15
* thanks to Badga (hfc) and martinclarke43 (cfc) for scores
When we have the correct scores will update.
To discuss see the thread "Streaming Hawks match"
RustyHawk
7 Mar 2008, 19:02
Half Time:
Hawthorn up by 1 point.
Hawthorn: 6.7.43 points
Collingwood: 6.6.42 points
Hawthorn goal kickers: Roughie, Ladson, Thorp, McGlynn, Franklin and Dew
Collingwood goals TBC!!! Didak, Pendlebury, Cloke, Reid, Holland and Thomas
RustyHawk
7 Mar 2008, 19:48
3 Quarter time
Hawthorn: 9.9. 63
Collingwood 10.10.70
RustyHawk
7 Mar 2008, 20:22
Full time scores. Pies win by 12 points in what sounded like a good game of AFL footy.
Hawthorn: 13.12.90
Collingwood: 16.12.108
Hawthorn goals: Franklin 3, Rioli 2 the rest singles.
*many thanks to Badga and Optimax and others who kept us all informed of the scores.
RustyHawk
7 Mar 2008, 21:56
Match Report by Hawthorn Big Footy Board member: GALON
Just got back from the game.
Brown the only bloke unaccounted for in my books ( rolled ankle so I hear).
A pretty good game to watch, we actually went into the game looking pretty strong.
I won't go into positions much, more just the output of the squad and any observations I made.
For the most part Dowler and Thorp played deep in the forward 50 together. Dowler took a couple of nice grabs and presented well. Same with Thorp who, at one point ran back with the flight of the ball into the goal square only to be spoilt be another player running at him. Great stuff.
Good signs from both players. Can't take much from their first hitout, but I love Thorp.
Roughie. Can't help but love the big fella. Cult hero. Flew for the big ones a couple of times. Nothing special about his game but he presented well and kicked a couple.
Tuck was very impressive. His ability to get in and out of a pack is increasing and at times he was used as a good link player thru the middle of the ground. His tenacity at the ball is great also.
McGlynn will be better for the run. Was pretty solid all around the ground and wearing the number 5.
Morton finds the ball alot and is quite good by foot, although he has a tendancy to get under his kicks. Good output from him tonight though. Took some good grabs and was productive.
Buddy started on a wing in the last but played predominantly at CHF. Took a great one hander on the lead at one point, only to stray the kick.
He is massive, and the crowd love him. Kicked one banana from deep in the pocket, and another from outside fifty, on the right hand boundary. Another from in the goal square after receiving a handball, and being on the end of his good work and run from the wing. Got the easy goal, but worked hard to be there.
Rioli? I was talking about this with my mate after the game and I'm quite sure Cyril sees things in matrix like bullet-time. He gets his hands on the ball and it's like everything turns to stone. Such a great player to watch and can't help but be excited by him.
At one stage he was being manned by Tyson Goldsack and tha ball was dumped in long to Roughead in the square, with in two seconds Cyril had totally lost Goldsack and was standing dead centre, five metres in front of where Roughead was to attempt the mark. The ball hits the deck, Rioli dances around a tackle, handball back to Roughead.....Goal.
Wasn't the first time I saw him hit a pack that had emerged in the forward 50 for the night. And he'll only get better at this.
Birchall was very sound as usual. Some good marks and as always, great run out of defence, started on Medhurst while Brown took Cloke. Thought Birch would be a better match up, but it never eventuated.
Which brings me to Murphy, he came on after Brown rolled the ankle and did a fairly decent job on Cloke. I'm not a big fan of Murphy,don't get me wrong I want to believe he can make it, but I sometimes wonder. However he was very good tonight. After he came on and was put onto cloke he did a fair job of keeping cloke up the ground and spoilt when possible.
Ladson gave us great run all night, even pushing forward to kick a goal at one point early on. his disposal is top notch.
Campbell was in everything early, but I didn't notice him much as the game went on.
Bateman was back to his hard running best. Still a bit costly by foot, but his link up thru the guts is something we need.
Hodge. Party tricks in the last. Pushing forward for a bit of a speccy and a goal. Just his usual self. Does as he pleases. Cruises around. Noticed he gave to Ryce Shaw with every chance he got. Love it.
Croady dropped two absolute gimmies off the chest but other than that he did his part and was ok in the back half.
Stewy Dew, solid. Well what else could he be? But he looks trim....for what he was. Uses the ball well, continuously put us into attack.
Gilham, Guerra had solid games. Young...please clarko...move him up the ground. Gets caught in the headlights too much. Would rather see him running thru the middle delivering long. Which he did on occasion, but there were times when he was defensive side of the centre and just didnlt look comfortable. I'm still a fan though.
Wrapping up, Clarke, Sewell, Osborne all made it thru unscathed. Good performances by all. Clarke and Sewell in particular.
Had to stand next to one Magpie supporter who constantly bleated whenever Collingwoood got a goal, and another one in front of me who must've said 'that wasn't 25 metres' for about 99% of each kick made during the game.
Got a few under the belt and I can't be stuffed trying to downsize the pics right now...will do tomorrow...and probably add more. Right now I'm hitting the pub to tell anyone who'll listen about how bloody good Rioli and Franklin are.
7 Mar 2008, 22:26
Great report GALON!!!
Most pleased with the following:
Good performances from Rioli and Murphy (on a good opponent).
Roughead getting to lots of contests.
Morton continues to be solid.
Tucky round 1 certainty yet?
Sounds like another good pre-season game - high standard and that's the best practice we can have!
FisherHawk
7 Mar 2008, 23:11
Fantastic work guys. Thaks Galon and Rusty:thumbsu:.
Lets hope there's not a lot wrong with Brownies ankle. He has 22 days to recover, but we would rather see him training, and running.
I would imagine the final score would be
Hawks 13/12/90
Pies 16/12/108
Not 90/102;)
Gary Shadforth
8 Mar 2008, 07:21
Thanks everyone from an interstater.
QuietHawk
8 Mar 2008, 09:51
Just a couple of observations from the game:
Thorp- has courage and talent but looked a little lost at times and a couple of times he led into buddy and roughie's space. Needs time to get a little smarter with his positioning.
Dowler- had a crack and definately deserves more opportunities, showed glimpses.
Buddy & Hodge were in cruise control, both did some nice things but faded in and out of the game all night.
Cyril- this kid is magic, agree wholeheartedly with galon's description.
Guerra- Love the way this bloke plays, but his biggest strength can be his biggest weakness. Sometimes he can pinpoint passes at will and others he seems to have a brainfade and kick to 2 or 3 on 1's. Made me laugh when he ran out of the square from a kickout without kicking it to himself after being called to play on.
Croad- Aside from the dropped chestmark under no pressure at all in the defensive goalsquare was quite solid.
Gilham- showed very little respect for young Ben reid and was caught napping a couple of times when Reid was used through half forward.
Clarke- I am one of his biggest knockers, but gee he has a crack. didnt stop running all night and was actually quite good with his disposal last night, Deserves his spot for round 1 at least.
Ruckmen- I wasnt taking a great deal of notice(of the rucks) but i dont recall a single hitout from a collingwood ruckman last night. Having said that though, our boys need to direct their taps a little better, too often we clearly won the hitout but it went to a collingwood midfielder.Overall, we played quite well in patches and so did Collingwood. A Quality hitout that should stand us in good stead come the real stuff.
HaloHawk
8 Mar 2008, 10:55
Can someone tell me if Tim Boyle played.
RustyHawk
8 Mar 2008, 10:55
Interesting observations QuietHawk :thumbsu: Thank you
Thorp- has courage and talent but looked a little lost at times and a couple of times he led into buddy and roughie's space. Needs time to get a little smarter with his positioning.
Dowler- had a crack and definately deserves more opportunities, showed glimpses.
Buddy & Hodge were in cruise control, both did some nice things but faded in and out of the game all night.
Guerra- Love the way this bloke plays, but his biggest strength can be his biggest weakness. Sometimes he can pinpoint passes at will and others he seems to have a brainfade and kick to 2 or 3 on 1's. Made me laugh when he ran out of the square from a kickout without kicking it to himself after being called to play on.
Croad- Aside from the dropped chestmark under no pressure at all in the defensive goalsquare was quite solid.
Gilham- showed very little respect for young Ben reid and was caught napping a couple of times when Reid was used through half forward.
Clarke- I am one of his biggest knockers, but gee he has a crack. didnt stop running all night and was actually quite good with his disposal last night, Deserves his spot for round 1 at least.
Ruckmen- I wasnt taking a great deal of notice(of the rucks) but i dont recall a single hitout from a collingwood ruckman last night. Having said that though, our boys need to direct their taps a little better, too often we clearly won the hitout but it went to a collingwood midfielder.Overall, we played quite well in patches and so did Collingwood. A Quality hitout that should stand us in good stead come the real stuff.
That seems like a real problem with our rucks, and if the tap is going to our midfielders its ussually not in a great position i.e. there is a certain hit out formation which is ussually a tap directly horizontal of the circle made to a running Sam Mitchell who draws an oponent and flicks it over but it seems so many times you will see Mitch go for the run on the tap and have to stop and catch it at ankle height.
Gone Critical
8 Mar 2008, 11:10
Just checking out thoughts you guys had on the match
Pie supporters who were there have mainly commented about the quality of Woods (our new guy from Brissie) ruckwork and palming but that he didnt do as much around the ground as in previous weeks.
Shows how different oppositions perspectives can be.
Sounds like an even match and good hitout for both sides.
Any of you guys who saw the match have any thoughts on Wood, Egan, Brown or R Shaw for us
Thanks
bloods01
8 Mar 2008, 11:52
Did Ellis play?
LuvMyHawks
8 Mar 2008, 12:25
Did Ellis play?
No he didn't. Nor did Crawford,Lewis,Boyle,Mitchell. Could be more that I can't think of. Oh yes Stokes, (jarred elbow) and Mark Williams missed too.
Posting some pics up in the other thread.
tommyk72
8 Mar 2008, 12:48
How did Dawson go? Did he play? And did he play on Rocca? I read that Rocca struggled, but kicked 3 late in the game.
Haven't seen any feedback on Dawson elsewhere...
Murray Hawk
8 Mar 2008, 14:22
Dawson didn't play. Agree with earlier post that Murphy did quite a good job on Rocca all things considered.
QuietHawk
8 Mar 2008, 20:23
Just checking out thoughts you guys had on the match
Pie supporters who were there have mainly commented about the quality of Woods (our new guy from Brissie) ruckwork and palming but that he didnt do as much around the ground as in previous weeks.
Shows how different oppositions perspectives can be.
Sounds like an even match and good hitout for both sides.
Any of you guys who saw the match have any thoughts on Wood, Egan, Brown or R Shaw for us
Thanks
Woods was very good around the ground but didnt win very many hitouts, i think with a little more strength and support will be a fantastic pickup.
Egan was lively and very clean in the forward half.
Shaw was pretty much the same as usual, still a little worried about body contact but quick and skillful.
didnt even notice brown ? what number does he wear?