View Full Version : Hawks v Pies @ Shepparton - Match review here
Just thought we'd have a separate thread for the games analysis, so we don't get the same thing as last week.
Guys that heard/saw the game, please post here.
I think:
Goals:
Rocca 3
Dids 3
Reid 2
Cloke 2
Pendlebury 2
1 goal - Egan, Thomas, Holland, Davis
That is a good sign. Best players amongst goal kickers. Goal kicking mid-fielders, love that.
On secodn hand info
R.shaw, pendlebury, swan, goldsack cloke and obree the best
Marty tearing it up in the 2nd half and medders, thomas, and didak having a terrific last qtr.
Rocca kicking very straight only miss from a snap.
Like i said though all secpnd hand info
Thank God Pendles is back in form.
Players like Pendles and Didak are too good to waste their talent on practice games. they spend most of the time trying not to get injured which is fair enough.
I know, I agree, I would much prefer us to lose than get an injury, but i have to admit it is nice to have our players showing some form going into the season.
Hawthorn were missing a couple of players from there best, but i'm still pretty happy with the result, considering it was a practice game.
Rhyce was good last week too. Looks fit and was hitting targets more often than not. The Adelaide game was an abomination, but hopefully it he was just shaking out some cobwebs.
The Royal Sampler
7 Mar 2008, 21:16
A good win against a good side (minus their best mids, and one or two of ours) with no injuries. Bring on the real thing! :)
boom crash opera
7 Mar 2008, 21:25
did john anthony play? get much of it?
Played VFL earlier today.
zorbadunde
7 Mar 2008, 21:42
hey mate i was at the game john didnt play.
now my best would be egan, medhurst, cook, didak, and nathan brown.
now of course there are more, but i liked these guys work ethic and all just kept going and going and going.
I would like to also confirm that the pies have a great ruckman in wood.
his tapouts are just perfect and his workrate is very good for a big bloke.
Rhyce shaw's runs through the middle where quite good but he just needs a little more class under pressure.
The rest of the team had a fairly good game all round.
of course thomas did his usual, so did obree etc etc
ohh and the last one is ried.. damn he is fast on the lead.
Greg
Paddywackers
7 Mar 2008, 22:22
According to an article on afl.com Egan played a very good game. I am very exited about Egan this year.
Egan may not have got a lot of it, but when he did get it he was very important for us.
My quick player by player review.
Was a great ground and great atmosphere. From my vantage point things were a bit skewed so I didn't get too great a view of things but my player by player review.
1. Davis - good in the midfield all day, unsure about his accountability (i.e. I didn't get a good look at it, could have been great, could have been bad)
4. Didak - his usual self up forward and around the ground. Good.
5. Maxwell - bit quiet up my end but good. Played a slightly different role, ran up field and supported a lot more.
6. Holland - was impressed by his sharpness. Drilled a nice calm goal on the run. Could be a very good bonus
7. Medhurst - again tried in the midfield with mixed results. Doesn't seem to realise he has to make quicker decisions and less risky ones. But is surprisingly good in other thing important for a mid like reading the tap and moving in traffic once he gets the tap.
8. O'Brien - had the best of Franklin for a while but he got the better of him probably slightly on the day. He was still a contributor, and a lot of Franklins goals were from great blocking from Hawthorn forwards and/or some poor communication from defence.
10. Pendlebury - showed some class but I didn't see that much in terms of possesions. Probably at the end of the day got it alot but I didn't see it much, but he was probably one of our best. He was especially good in running forward and being dangerous there.
11. O'Bree - O'Bree was O'Bree. Brilliant at times in traffic and some short kicking blunders but was good.
13. Thomas - he was good one of our best
14. Wakelin - Wakelin was Wakelin, gave Roughead and whatever other forwards he got a bath (Dowler, Thorp)
15. Egan - get him in the side now. His ability to constantly be involved in goal assists and get on the end of handball chains was brilliant. When the likes of Swan, Pendlebury and O'Bree grabbed the ball from the pack he was at the end of it for the breakaway clearance.
16. Brown - don't be surprised if he's picked round 1. Not sure he is needed against Freo with a modest tall forward line but he won 80% of his ariel battles. Needs some more experience as he leaked a couple of chances through covering the wrong bloke, but at least he is being encouraged to do more than just stick to his man. Was played on Thorp and Dowler and wasn't really beaten one on one, neither on the ground or in the air. Nothing wrong with his disposal or decision making he almost slotted right in.
18. Clarke - needs to work on kicking under pressure but his role as a run-with accountable mid/in and under mid got him a fair amount of the ball.
19. Wood - probably not as impressive around the ground as he was reportably against WCE and as I saw against Port but very very very good in the hitouts against Campbell. His rucking display was better than last week. It was a joy to watch him direct so many taps down. A lot of the time he'd get clean hands to it, actually tap it to his own advantage and in Fraser-esque ground level ability pick it up and pump it forward.
20. Reid - one of our best. His ability to not only burn his many but get into holes very quickly is good. Kicking needs work.
22. R.Shaw - should be in the team as provides so much run
23. Rocca - was ok. Pretty fit actually. Much fitter than Croad his opponent funnily enough who looked very flat.
24. Lockyer - was ok, pretty quiet
29. Cook - played wing/HFF when he got the ball he actually did pretty well but just doesn't get it enough and doesn't do anything too special to warrant attention at this stage. But I was pretty pessimistic on him and this has given me a bit of hope.
32. Cloke - Cloke was Cloke. marking + leading machine. some poor kicking right in front a couple of goals snagged from very tight angles. Again impressive in his ability to fight for the ball and win it one on one and out of tackling situations
36. Swan - a bit quiet
38. Goldsack - quiet but kept Rioli quiet
39. H.Shaw - great across Half back and the wing
40. Bryan - again a lot of mis kicks but some of his taps were actually pretty good
I was very impressed with our clearance work. Wood was great with hitouts and Egan, while not in the 4 starters in the square was constantly in the right position to receive the handball that clears the club with his pace and skill. These two are going to make a big difference to our side.
What a bonus it will be if Egan comes good.
smiddaz123
8 Mar 2008, 01:23
I'm not a fan of this whole 'Medhurst the midfielder' experiment. We had plenty of good midfielders to run throguh there. Medhurst is a great finisher and one of the more reliable set shots for goal. Provides much more value up forward imo.
Invigoration
8 Mar 2008, 04:24
00Reid was always proclaimed as a solid kick of the footy as a junior and I stand by this after what I've seen as him as a junior.
He has a solid technique, powerful punch and impressive follow through, I honestly think his kicking won't be a problem... Regardless of the 'Collingwood Syndrome', I sincerely hope he won't turn out at a Tarrant type sort at goal.
Pendles, O'bree, R.Shaw, Dids, Thomas and H.Shaw were in my best, with all the defenders being pretty solid (wakes, goldy, brown etc)
Medhurst is the midfield was interesting, I've always been a huge fan of him, yet at the same time a huge critic of him as well. Some of his decisions were so delayed that it started to frustrate me, generally I think he has a great sense of awareness, but sometimes he seems to not even realise at all and before he knows it he is swamped by opposition. I think time will tell whether or not he is a realistic proposition for our midfield, personally I don't think he is and I think he should stick to the HFF/FP role
Egan looked okay, guys on here are overrating his value IMO, but I still think he was above average. I don't think he was exceptional tonight, while I thought it was good to finally see him involved in chain link goals and quick linked played I still didn't see enough 'out of the blocks' pace or breaking the lines play from him. I've a;ways been a big supporter of him, but I think he lacks a huge amount of confidence not only in himself by that, that is shown from his team.... He just doesn't seem to back himself as a line breaker/play maker at all IMO, which really disappoints me seeing he is a top 10 pick. In saying that I really hope he does perform this year.
Wood -> Short but sweet, I'm definitely impressed. He oozes potential, I honestly think we have picked up a top 10 draft pick three years into his development. While I don't think he is ready made, he has all the tools their in front of him. I was impressed with his ruck work and his general ground work, while I think he needs to work on his body weight for general contests/throw in/marking contests, i think the frame is there to work with yet it is three years ahead of where it would have been had we got a new draftee.... I'm really confident he will be a good player, I personally think he is as good as and if not better as Fraser at this age.
Brown will come good, I have no doubt. He just has all the tools to become a star. I personally would love to see him up forward, but with all our current options it just isn't viable... To me he seems like he could be such a solid, dominant marking forward. Seems to have enough speed off the mark to compete as a backman on the best of the competitions forwards, I'm just worried that he will want to create more off the back line then he is allowed because he definitely isn;t a no fuss 'Presti' type player.
Could be used more efficiently as a Croad type rebound player IMO, he would be wasted at Fullback I think...
I'll finish my comments tomorrow if anyone is keen to hear, that is just from what I think over the last three weeks and including tonight
Thanks for the reports guys! :thumbsu:
On Medders, I can't see him being more than a part of a fast rotating midfield, and I'd wager he'd still spend more time than not at his smal leading forward role when the real season starts.
Snoop Dog
8 Mar 2008, 08:50
The difference for us this year could well be Wood, Reid, Egan and R.Shaw. If they can step up they provide us real flexibility.
Wood allows Fraser to go fwd and become dangerous whereas Egan and Shaw give us so much run. Reid could be anything I reckon.
I dont give a stuff about whether the senior blokes play well or not in these games its more the fringe players who are battling a spot.
Didak spends every game trying not to get injured Kirby. Sounds like he's primed and ready to go for round one :thumbsu:
It's hard to take too much from a practice match where both teams have rested key players and tried not to show too much.
It's just good to see both teams got through without major injuries. It's been a shocking pre-season for knees so far.
Bring on the real thing.
Thanks for the reports guys! :thumbsu:
On Medders, I can't see him being more than a part of a fast rotating midfield, and I'd wager he'd still spend more time than not at his smal leading forward role when the real season starts.
I totally agree with that. perhaps we were just giving him more time in the middle to also boast his fitness.
From all reports, it just sounds like he had some of Neon, Daisys' and Dids minutes in the midfield.
But there you have 4 very dangerous HFF that can rotate through the midfield.
Footy guru
8 Mar 2008, 11:19
I think you will find that he plays more in the midfield this year - apparently in time trials he is quickest over the short distance swan was number three doesnt really say much for the speed at the club - some of the guys like dids and thomas look quick just for the shorts spurts. Would prefer to see these guys around goals anyway much classer than Medhurst.
No way. Medhurst is one of the best finishers in the league. Your best set shot inside 45m by some margin too.
I do agree you'll need Didak (and Davis) in the middle more this year though.
No way. Medhurst is one of the best finishers in the league. Your best set shot inside 45m by some margin too.
I do agree you'll need Didak (and Davis) in the middle more this year though.
Our best set shot inside 45 would be didak.
Not on what I've seen ... but debating that fact is just a pissing contest really. The real discussion is their relative worth in the midfield. Didak will offer a lot more in the guts than Medhurst ... as long as someone else is there to win the hard ball of course.
Then you havent seen a great deal imo.
The decision now becomes Reid v Rusling.
Reid has played an outstanding pre-season and has kicked multiple goals every time he has played.
Rusling again got injured, has played 1 half where he got 1 or 2 touches and looked out of nick.
We all love Rusling, but Reid would have to be the pick at the moment until Rusling gets some consistent match fitness behind him.
I know Rusling has shown a lot in the few games he has played...but Reid has only played around 2 games, and he slotted a few on debut in an impressive effort against Hawthorn when Rocca was out.
smiddaz123
8 Mar 2008, 12:17
JohnD is right about Medhurst. Probably our best set shot for goal.
Having him in the midfield has no logic whatsoever. He's a forward, he should stay there.
jerry springer
8 Mar 2008, 12:22
Reid has played an outstanding pre-season and has kicked multiple goals every time he has played.
Rusling again got injured, has played 1 half where he got 1 or 2 touches and looked out of nick.
We all love Rusling, but Reid would have to be the pick at the moment until Rusling gets some consistent match fitness behind him.
I know Rusling has shown a lot in the few games he has played...but Reid has only played around 2 games, and he slotted a few on debut in an impressive effort against Hawthorn when Rocca was out.
have to pick reid on form and fitness.will allow travis to roam whereever he feels like it too
hellfire
8 Mar 2008, 12:29
I think we should start Rusling for round 1. At this stage he has the build for the big time, and when he's been fully fit (not often), he has shown he can kick a bag. We all saw how dangerous our forward line was with Rusling in it. I'm not sure Reid is ready to do the same. But, we can only try it and see... for now though, I'd play Rusling, and if he does nothing, put Reid in.
Big Bucks
8 Mar 2008, 12:39
hey mate i was at the game john didnt play.
now my best would be egan, medhurst, cook, didak, and nathan brown.
now of course there are more, but i liked these guys work ethic and all just kept going and going and going.
I would like to also confirm that the pies have a great ruckman in wood.
his tapouts are just perfect and his workrate is very good for a big bloke.
Rhyce shaw's runs through the middle where quite good but he just needs a little more class under pressure.
The rest of the team had a fairly good game all round.
of course thomas did his usual, so did obree etc etc
ohh and the last one is ried.. damn he is fast on the lead.
Greg
Rhyce Shaw will never have any class under pressure, his kicking skills are sh!thouse.
He has been on our list for 8 years, and if a player of his size has not improved after 5 they never will.
Big Bucks
8 Mar 2008, 12:46
What a bonus it will be if Egan comes good.
Bonus ! the guy was a first round draft selection.
Then you havent seen a great deal imo.
Congratulations. You just pissed 1.99m.
Swan is much quicker than people give him credit for.
Rhyce was good last week too. Looks fit and was hitting targets more often than not. The Adelaide game was an abomination, but hopefully it he was just shaking out some cobwebs.I like Rhyce and I have stuck up for him for a long time but unfortunately I think the Adelaide was reflective of how he goes when sides apply pressure. Not that it was an especially hard game but it was tighter than a practice match is. When he is pressured he can’t kick. Unfortunately the end is nigh.
agree, thats been his let down over the years. disposal under pressure makes him just an average player with speed. he needs to have a big year , theres a lot of young guys on our list that can do just as much as rhyce. i love him , but very frustrating at times
shaw thing
9 Mar 2008, 12:10
a few points from the match
-there was a noticeable lift in intensity this week -good hard running and tackling.
-disposal effectiveness improved especially in second half as game opened up. result-far less costly turnovers and smooth movement into forward line
-the quicker we moved the ball the better we looked with linking of chains of possessions with leading players and runners getting on the end of it in the forward 50
-travis looking great but still has the yips in front of goal
-ben reid led well,sticky hands and kicking much better than previosly thought by many. i was right behind one shot at goal on a 45 degree angle that split the middle
-egan looking fit and focussed and running in to the right spots