View Full Version : Dear Terry,

Realistic Tiger
8 Mar 2008, 13:59
“What we need to do is fine-tune.

These were your words after last nights game against the Cats, well Terry to save you some time and to try and help out a little, I rang a few mecahnics/panel beaters this morning to see if they can fit you in between now and Easter. Unfortunately due to it being so close to Easter most were fully booked and even the ones who did have room to fit a customer in said they wouldn't have enough time to fix everything after I explained what was wrong.

Firstly I told them the motor needed work as there seems to be no grunt and it lacked power. I explained that there is plenty of potential for good performance but sadly no matter how much you try to tweak the engine it just constantly misfires and leaves you frustrated. On other occasions the engine revs really hard but again goes nowhere and it seems we just end up using a heap of petrol for not much return.

Secondly I told them that it seems the brakes are stuffed, whenever it seems like the car is getting some momentum up for some reason the brakes seem to come on and we grind to a halt. Then we sort of creep forward slowly only to be overtaken by everyone else.

Finally I said that the car also need a bit of body work, while the car looks good from the outside I said it seems like there are some underlying issues and some dodgy patchup jobs had been done in the past and although you have worked really hard to remedy these they are still lingering around causing headaches every now and then because you think you have got them sorted out and then it reappears again.

So sadly it seems that the car wont be ready for the Easter weekend and we are going to have to make do with some patch work (again) to get through that weekend and hope that one of them can fit us in in the couple of weeks after Easter but I wouldn't be holding your breath.

Regards

RT.

GuzzLG
8 Mar 2008, 14:04
Can you please repost Realistic Tiger's 2008 prediction? It slipped from my memory.;)

Mr Lizard
8 Mar 2008, 14:16
Can you please repost Realistic Tiger's 2008 prediction? It slipped from my memory.;)

I think he had "will finish 6th-8th" but he might have been talking about Geelong.

Realistic Tiger
8 Mar 2008, 14:17
Thats the beauty of predictions made in December you can always change them before the season when all the facts are known.

Forrest Gimp
8 Mar 2008, 15:02
Thats the beauty of predictions made in December you can always change them before the season when all the facts are known.

What didn't you know about Terry then, that you know now?

dapto
8 Mar 2008, 15:03
Particularly if written as a signature. just disappear?? Good work on that and the post!! and also good luck with the mechanics. I think it was the model though; built in obselesce.

Mr Lizard
8 Mar 2008, 15:25
Structurally sound:

http://bp3.blogger.com/_hdlxQSJvoIc/RqfkodLttsI/AAAAAAAAAQA/DwQfa-qbsjI/s400/homer-car.gif

Realistic Tiger
8 Mar 2008, 15:33
What didn't you know about Terry then, that you know now?
It is not so much learning something about Wallace but more seeing how the team itself shapes up, after the Saints game I tried to look at the bigger picture, after the Demons and Swans wins I wanted to see how they go against one of the top sides and after reading about how they went about playing that team it is clear that the hope I had in December and January was just that hope.
Particularly if written as a signature. just disappear?? Good work on that and the post!! and also good luck with the mechanics. I think it was the model though; built in obselesce.
At least I can admit that it was a mistake, most others around here when they stuff up just disappear. I think Lizards picture sums it up beautifully. :)

Corpuscles
8 Mar 2008, 17:03
PRACTICE MATCH!!!!....

......look on the bright side.... if this year is another disaster then surely Wallets has to go , one year early?!:)

Kram81
8 Mar 2008, 17:28
It is not so much learning something about Wallace but more seeing how the team itself shapes up, after the Saints game I tried to look at the bigger picture, after the Demons and Swans wins I wanted to see how they go against one of the top sides and after reading about how they went about playing that team it is clear that the hope I had in December and January was just that hope.

Where do reckon they will end up now?

IMO 7+ wins is a realistic goal, although it's looked bad so far they are only practice games after all.

LJ Garner
8 Mar 2008, 17:48

IMO 7+ wins is a realistic goal, although it's looked bad so far they are only practice games after all.
If you can name 7 teams that they can beat then i'll agree with you there. if not...no chance.

Coach_Required
8 Mar 2008, 18:10
These were your words after last nights game against the Cats, well Terry to save you some time and to try and help out a little, I rang a few mecahnics/panel beaters this morning to see if they can fit you in between now and Easter. Unfortunately due to it being so close to Easter most were fully booked and even the ones who did have room to fit a customer in said they wouldn't have enough time to fix everything after I explained what was wrong.

Firstly I told them the motor needed work as there seems to be no grunt and it lacked power. I explained that there is plenty of potential for good performance but sadly no matter how much you try to tweak the engine it just constantly misfires and leaves you frustrated. On other occasions the engine revs really hard but again goes nowhere and it seems we just end up using a heap of petrol for not much return.

Secondly I told them that it seems the brakes are stuffed, whenever it seems like the car is getting some momentum up for some reason the brakes seem to come on and we grind to a halt. Then we sort of creep forward slowly only to be overtaken by everyone else.

Finally I said that the car also need a bit of body work, while the car looks good from the outside I said it seems like there are some underlying issues and some dodgy patchup jobs had been done in the past and although you have worked really hard to remedy these they are still lingering around causing headaches every now and then because you think you have got them sorted out and then it reappears again.

So sadly it seems that the car wont be ready for the Easter weekend and we are going to have to make do with some patch work (again) to get through that weekend and hope that one of them can fit us in in the couple of weeks after Easter but I wouldn't be holding your breath.

Regards

RT.

And to think you Richmond trolls out there think our supporters have NFI and we are all delusional .......................

I think that above post should be mail to Terry himself. :thumbsu:

Realistic Tiger
8 Mar 2008, 18:11

As posted on the Tigers board we are currently looking like a bottom 4 side. :(

Kram81
8 Mar 2008, 18:34
If you can name 7 teams that they can beat then i'll agree with you there. if not...no chance.

They won 3 and half games last year, surely they can't get any worse? (then again..)

Anyway you would think that 7 wins would be about the minimum for Wallets to keep his job?

EasternTiger
8 Mar 2008, 18:59
As posted on the Tigers board we are currently looking like a bottom 4 side. :(

You're right. Bottom 4 with a bullet RT. Could get ugly mate.

We might have to get an old priest and a young priest in to perform an exorcism with Tubular Bells in the background.

Were like an Italian Tank, we seem to have 4 gears in reverse and only 1 forward.:mad:

celtic_pride
8 Mar 2008, 19:00
Structurally sound:

http://bp3.blogger.com/_hdlxQSJvoIc/RqfkodLttsI/AAAAAAAAAQA/DwQfa-qbsjI/s400/homer-car.gif

LMAO - Nice Work :D

TerryWallet
8 Mar 2008, 19:21
great post Realistic Tiger. i had a good laugh.

I like reading posters being realistic about their team .... and humorous to boot.

Bojangles17
8 Mar 2008, 21:35

Regards

RT.

you're a %^$# RT, in our pre season campaign our only two losses, we're knocked off by the reigning premieres and the unbeaten saints...and your hoisting up the flag...Geez I'd love to be in the trenches with you partner:eek:

Hodge2Franklin
9 Mar 2008, 00:04
you're a %^$# RT, in our pre season campaign our only two losses, we're knocked off by the reigning premieres and the unbeaten saints...and your hoisting up the flag...Geez I'd love to be in the trenches with you partner:eek:

Bit harsh, RT is a Tiger enforcer. Surely you can see he is just taking the piss to try and slow down all the Richmond threads. I thought it was brave as he loves the club mate, it is pretty obvious...

westdog54
9 Mar 2008, 00:07
Bit harsh, RT is a Tiger enforcer. Surely you can see he is just taking the piss to try and slow down all the Richmond threads. I thought it was brave as he loves the club mate, it is pretty obvious...
Agreed.

Early frontrunner for Most Potent Mind.

smasha
9 Mar 2008, 01:00
That's what happens when you let Hawthorn duds coach your club.:D

Only jokin' Terry.:p

dapto
9 Mar 2008, 01:10
That's what happens when you let Hawthorn duds coach your club.:D

Only jokin' Terry.:p
This stew has a hand-me down mother-cum in-law receipe to it with a pleasant albino taste.

Second generation always appreciate what the first could not see. Myself included!

Bojangles17
9 Mar 2008, 10:24

well it's lost on me pal, more like some self serving drivel than undying love:eek:

celtic_pride
9 Mar 2008, 10:41
To be fair BJ17, I got the impression that RT was being more scathing/saracastic about Terry Wallace, then the Richmond footy club generally .

Realistic Tiger
9 Mar 2008, 10:44
well it's lost on me pal, more like some self serving drivel than undying love:eek:
Would you like me to break it down for you paragraph by paragraph?

In the first part where I talk about the engine lacking power despite having potential for good performance, what I mean by that is we have all these great kids who have the potential to be stars but everytime you think they are about to break out and really fire they seemingly let us down. Then there are the times where it seem that they are going great and giving it everything they have but then you take a closer look and all they have done is gone around in circles with that bullshit chip chip handball backwards gameplan.

In the next paragraph when I talk about the brakes being shot, that refers to the times in games when we will have teams up against the ropes ready for the kill and then we will for some reason revert to slowing down the play and trying to kill off time, yet because we don't have have the skills to do this we end up stuffing it up and letting the opposition back into the game. Then there are the times when the opposition has a run on and instead of trying to slow the game down and gain some control we keep trying to shoot it out with these teams only to get blown out of the water.

Finally when I spoke about the body needing work it refers to the same players constantly being used to hide problems, i.e. we still use Richo as our main target and everyone thinks that there is no problems with the forward line because Richo kicks 50-60 goals for the season but the problem with that is Richo is approaching the end and there is not one young KP forward on our list that gives me the confidence to take over should Richo either get hurt or call it a day. Then there is down back where Bowden gets everything going through him coming out of the backline and we look ok down back but again put him in the same boat as Richo take him away and who gives you the confidence to play the role that he currently does, none of the kids has shown me that they could do that sort of job.

So if you still want to think that this is me hoisting up the white flag then go ahead but if you have a closer look this is me telling others what problems there are with the Tigers and what Terry needs to fix before we can take that big step forward that all Richmond fans are waiting for.

huggy_b
9 Mar 2008, 10:54

In the first part where I talk about the engine lacking power despite having potential for good performance, what I mean by that is we have all these great kids who have the potential to be stars but everytime you think they are about to break out and really fire they seemingly let us down. Then there are the times where it seem that they are going great and giving it everything they have but then you take a closer look and all they have done is gone around in circles with that bullshit chip chip handball backwards gameplan.

In the next paragraph when I talk about the brakes being shot, that refers to the times in games when we will have teams up against the ropes ready for the kill and then we will for some reason revert to slowing down the play and trying to kill off time, yet because we don't have have the skills to do this we end up stuffing it up and letting the opposition back into the game. Then there are the times when the opposition has a run on and instead of trying to slow the game down and gain some control we keep trying to shoot it out with these teams only to get blown out of the water.

Finally when I spoke about the body needing work it refers to the same players constantly being used to hide problems, i.e. we still use Richo as our main target and everyone thinks that there is no problems with the forward line because Richo kicks 50-60 goals for the season but the problem with that is Richo is approaching the end and there is not one young KP forward on our list that gives me the confidence to take over should Richo either get hurt or call it a day. Then there is down back where Bowden gets everything going through him coming out of the backline and we look ok down back but again put him in the same boat as Richo take him away and who gives you the confidence to play the role that he currently does, none of the kids has shown me that they could do that sort of job.

So if you still want to think that this is me hoisting up the white flag then go ahead but if you have a closer look this is me telling others what problems there are with the Tigers and what Terry needs to fix before we can take that big step forward that all Richmond fans are waiting for.

http://forums.offtopic.com/images/smilies/owned.gif

EasternTiger
9 Mar 2008, 10:54

Summed up nicely RT. Nice use of metaphor to simplify what is a complicated problem. Even the carlton and hawthorn supporters will get it.

Frankston Rover
9 Mar 2008, 16:46
Summed up nicely RT. Nice use of metaphor to simplify what is a complicated problem. Even the carlton and hawthorn supporters will get it.

Oh we got it a loooong time ago. Enjoy 16th again. :thumbsu:

BTW RT, in all seriousness, good OP.:thumbsu:

Bojangles17
9 Mar 2008, 16:58

i still dont get it pal, your jumping at shadows, when a side loses to geelong , I dont believe that's the basis for suggesting we haven't taken a forward step..fair call:confused:..I dont care for whatever metaphors you care to use, a week ago after we won and kicked plenty you posted a thread promoting the tiges as on the way, lose to the reigning premieres at Kadinia Park fielding a crack squad and you post that garbage...Go Figure:eek:

Realistic Tiger
9 Mar 2008, 17:37
i still dont get it pal, your jumping at shadows, when a side loses to geelong , I dont believe that's the basis for suggesting we haven't taken a forward step..fair call:confused:..I dont care for whatever metaphors you care to use, a week ago after we won and kicked plenty you posted a thread promoting the tiges as on the way, lose to the reigning premieres at Kadinia Park fielding a crack squad and you post that garbage...Go Figure:eek:
Are these the posts you're referring to:

Probably the best thing I read out of the reports. Hopefully it is a sign of things to come.

Also the fact we had 10 goalkickers from 17 goals with 8 coming from Richo and Lids, 2 to Johnson and singles to Hughes Tuck Polak Pettifer Tambling Brown & White.
One where I praised Tambling for seemingly having a good game and the fact that we had 10 goalkickers in a haul of 17 goals, hardly me stating that the Tigers are on their way.

As well as the one below where I wanted to read that the team played a good brand of footy and that the players we expect improvement from in 08 actually start to show that they will improve, where I asked that we start showing signs that we are not reliant on the same players that we have been for the last few years. Seems to me this posts just backs up what I posted in this thread. Again sorry if what I ahve to say is not to your liking, but I wont just sit back and watch this club go around in circles, I see what I believe is holding us back and unless Wallace can show something this year to suggest that it is changing then I'm afraid that he needs to go contract or not.
Scoreboard means jackshit tonight but what I want to read (and I'm pretty sure there will be a report somewhere) is that some of the players that we're expecting improvement from this year showed something against a pretty competitive Swans outfit seeing as they are playing quite a few of their better players as well. I want to read Tambling, Schulz, Hughes all continued on from last weeks form in Cairns, that the rest of the forward line played well i.e. Richo, Brown, Deledio, Pettifer were all amongst the goals. The backline worked well as a unit and was not solely reliant on Bowden but had good contributions from players like McMahon, Thursfield, Polak, King and co.

Basically I just want to read that the team played good footy. If we win then it is a bonus. If we lose then so be it as well.

Bojangles17
9 Mar 2008, 21:29
Seems to me this posts just backs up what I posted in this thread. Again sorry if what I ahve to say is not to your liking, but I wont just sit back and watch this club go around in circles, I see what I believe is holding us back and unless Wallace can show something this year to suggest that it is changing then I'm afraid that he needs to go contract or not.

whatever RT, in any case in a months we will all be the wiser..here's hoping :thumbsu: