View Full Version : Practice Matches Over... Round 1 Team?
The Royal Sampler
8 Mar 2008, 16:27
B: Goldsack Wakelin O'Brien
HB: Maxwell Brown H. Shaw
C: Egan Pendlebury Lockyer
HF: Thomas Cloke Didak
F: Medhurst Rocca Davis
Fo: Fraser Burns Clarke
In: Wood, Iles, Reid, Anthony
Emer: Holland, Dawes, Cook
Assumed injured: Presti, Rusling
Can't get a look in: Wellingham, Stanley
Suspended: Johnson
hellfire
8 Mar 2008, 16:38
B: Goldsack, Wakelin, Maxwell
HB: Anthony, O'Brien, H.Shaw
C: Clarke, Pendlebury, Lockyer
HF: Thomas, Cloke, Medhurst
F: Reid, Rocca, Davis
Followers: Fraser, Swan, Didak
Bench: Burns, Obree, Wood, Egan
EMG: Stanley, Iles, Holland.
Assuming the same injuries as you. I think Anthony is ready to go, Brown not quite yet. But that's just my opinion. Besides, Wakelin and O'Brien will be right for Pavlich and Tarrant IMO, we don't need a third tall (although O'Brien can take a small instead of a tall if necessary).
I also really want Wellingham to get an early chance, but I don't think we will promote him yet.
smiddaz123
8 Mar 2008, 16:43
B: Maxwell - Wakelin - Goldsack
HB: H Shaw - O'Brien - R Shaw
C: Lockyer - Pendlebury - Thomas
HF: Reid - Cloke - Didak
F: Davis - Rocca - Medhurst
R: Wood - O'Bree - Burns
Int: Swan - Fraser - Brown - Clarke
Emg: Iles Anthony Egan Holland
Gone Critical
8 Mar 2008, 16:51
Not a bad side
Does Rusling have a new injury?
Dont think you can leave O'Bree out he has been our best clearance player in recent seasons and deserves a place. Let the kids push him out when they can start to challenge his performance. I would leave Brown out Anthony to back Pocket and O'Bree to bench
I would also add R Shaw in place of Iles
DemonErrol1964 - dees
8 Mar 2008, 16:53
B: Maxwell - Wakelin - Goldsack
HB: H Shaw - O'Brien - R Shaw
C: Lockyer - Pendlebury - Thomas
HF: Reid - Cloke - Didak
F: Davis - Rocca - Medhurst
R: Wood - O'Bree - Burns
Int: Swan - Fraser - Brown - Clarke
Emg: Iles Anthony Egan Holland
You sir are a fool.
Playing Dane Swan On the Bench.
You sir are a fool.
That is where he starts every week.
Go worry about your own crappy team.
greatest bench player ever is spider man
The Royal Sampler
8 Mar 2008, 17:20
Excuse me, I've completely bollocksed up my side. Please ignore this appalling effort, in which I managed to leave out not only O'Bree but Dane Swan! Taking medications now...
HB: Swan Brown H. Shaw
Fo: Fraser Burns O'Bree
In: Wood, Maxwell, Clarke, Reid
Emer: Holland, Anthony, Iles
Can't get a look in: Wellingham, Stanley, Dawes
I'd swap Iles with Stanley (although MM probably wouldn't). And the backline seems too big to me...other than Heath, the others are medium-big defenders. I'd take out Wakelin (no real match-up) for a small.
edit: Seems I've overlooked O'Bree and Swan also. O'Bree for Wakelin, Swan for Iles.
I'd swap Iles with Stanley (although MM probably wouldn't). And the backline seems too big to me...other than Heath, the others are medium-big defenders. I'd take out Wakelin (no real match-up) for a small.
edit: Seems I've overlooked O'Bree and Swan also. O'Bree for Wakelin, Swan for Iles.
MM said he expects stanners to be seen wuite often in the midfield of teh seniors this year, he didnt put praise like that on all players really like mcCaffer too
Interesting. Hopefully that eventuates, but unfortunately I think it might take a couple of injuries.
DemonErrol1964 - dees
8 Mar 2008, 17:43
Seriously and not trying to be a smart asse but do you pies think Dane Swan is not up to starting in your best line up.
I as an observer may be wrong, but I really rate him.
Seriously and not trying to be a smart asse but do you pies think Dane Swan is not up to starting in your best line up.
I as an observer may be wrong, but I really rate him.
no we all rate him, but swanny has always been used starting on the bench as has burns the past couple of years so both are fresh and running hard in the last qtr.
We all rate him but he starts on the benche very week and still gets 30 odd touches and often drags us over the line in tight matches
DemonErrol1964 - dees
8 Mar 2008, 17:52
Cheers Opti.. If it works then dont break it. Goodluck for 08.
Lol at him being called spider-man. When i heard about it i rofled.
Cheers Opti.. If it works then dont break it. Goodluck for 08.
that sweet bro hope it does continue to work throughout the year
Lol at him being called spider-man. When i heard about it i rofled.
yeah he had a laugh about it today at the family day eddie said it would an AFL first the brownlow goes to a guy in a spiderman suit lol.
Swanny is a legend lol
Can anyone remember who McPharlan played on last time. Is he quick enough to run with Reid (assuming Reid plays).
think both he and the other one alternated between rocca and cloke, id say he would be bale to keep up with reid most of the way is a very good player luke one backmen i really rate
Yeah i rate Luke highly. Just wondering if we could clear out the forward line and expose him with Reid's pace.
King Woodie
8 Mar 2008, 18:57
Excuse me, I've completely bollocksed up my side. Please ignore this appalling effort, in which I managed to leave out not only O'Bree but Dane Swan! Taking medications now...
HB: Swan Brown H. Shaw
Fo: Fraser Burns O'Bree
In: Wood, Maxwell, Clarke, Reid
Emer: Holland, Anthony, Iles
Can't get a look in: Wellingham, Stanley, Dawes
Much better Sampler, I had a chuckle at your Swan / O'Bree ommissions (too of our best extraction players)
I have the same 22 as my round 1 starting 22, although I can't see Swan playing half back (either bench or midfield.)
Good job.
bucksisbest
8 Mar 2008, 19:26
B Goldsack Wakelin Maxwell
HB Shaw O'Brien Anthony
C Clarke Swan Egan
HF Didak Cloke Reid
F Thomas Rocca Medhurst
Foll Fraser Pendlebury Burns
Int O'Bree Lockyer Wood Davis
BGoldsack Wakelin Maxwell
HB Shaw O'Brien Lockyer
C Clarke Pendlebury Egan
HF Didak Cloke Thomas
F Davis Rocca Medhurst
Foll Fraser O'Bree Burns
Int Swan R Shaw Wood Reid
I look back to the prelim final and know, Bucks, Jimmy, Richards & Bryan won't play.
Fraser and Wood for Richards and Bryan
I've basically brought in Egan and R Shaw with Bucks and Jimmy retiring so I'm a little concerned that we haven't enough backmen. JA would be the one probably for Rhyce Shaw.
Reid in for Rusling (better form and match fitness)
hellfire
8 Mar 2008, 19:57
BGoldsack Wakelin Maxwell
HB Shaw O'Brien Lockyer
C Clarke Pendlebury Egan
HF Didak Cloke Thomas
F Davis Rocca Medhurst
Foll Fraser O'Bree Burns
Int Swan R Shaw Wood Reid
I look back to the prelim final and know, Bucks, Jimmy, Richards & Bryan won't play.
Fraser and Wood for Richards and Bryan
I've basically brought in Egan and R Shaw with Bucks and Jimmy retiring so I'm a little concerned that we haven't enough backmen. JA would be the one probably for Rhyce Shaw.
Reid in for Rusling (better form and match fitness)
:thumbsu:
I'd say the team we fielded against Sydney in the final was the best side we fielded all year. So to contrast what it will look like:
OUT: Buckley, Clement, Richards.
IN: Egan, Anthony, Wood.
In reality it's not THAT bad. We lost a lot of experience, but we also have Johnson to come back.
bomberboy11
8 Mar 2008, 20:40
goldsack wakelin o'brien
h shaw maxwell lockyer
r shaw o'bree swan
egan cloke didak
rusling rocca davis
fraser thomas pendlebury
burns wood clarke anthony
pipeline
8 Mar 2008, 21:26
Where did he say this Opti? I didn't think MM rated Stanners. He spent some time in the middle in the intraclub game on Friday but a lot at HFF.
B: T. Goldsack, S. Wakelin, H. O'Brien
HB: H. Shaw, N. Maxwell, T. Lockyer
C: C. Egan, S. Pendlebury, D. Thomas
HF: A. Didak, T. Cloke, P. Medhurst
F: L. Davis, A. Rocca, B. Reid
R: J. Fraser, D. Swan, S. Burns
Int: C. Wood, S. O'Bree, R. Shaw, S. Iles
EMG: R. Cook, N. Brown, B. Holland
bomberboy11
8 Mar 2008, 21:43
rusling
rusling
I'd rather Reid than Rusling.
bomberboy11
8 Mar 2008, 21:54
I'd rather Reid than Rusling.
fremantle rather pies play reid than rusling, rusling is dangerous
As is Reid. Besides Rusling had a bit of a hiccup injury wise in the preseason and it would be wise to rest him a bit.
Tarkyn_24
8 Mar 2008, 23:38
B: Goldsack - Wakelin - O'Brien
HB: H Shaw - Maxwell - Lonie
C: Didak - Pendlebury - Clarke
HF: Thomas - Cloke - Egan
F: Davis - Fraser - Reid
R: Wood - O'Bree - Lockyer
INT: Rocca - Burns - Swan - Anthony
Surely you jest? No Marty Clarke. I'll put it down to an oversight on your behalf.
Palmer Stoat
9 Mar 2008, 11:05
My team would be:
Brown, Wakelin, Goldsack
H Shaw, O'Brien, Clarke
Lockyer, Pendlebury, Egan
Didak, Cloke, Davis
Medhurst, Rocca, Rusling
Fraser, Swan, Thomas
INT: Wood, Burns, O'Bree, Wellingham
EMG: Cox, Anthony, Stanley
Snoop Dog
9 Mar 2008, 11:21
B Goldsack - Wakelin - Clarke
HB Maxwell - OBrien - H.Shaw
C Thomas - Pendlebury - Lockyer
HF Didak - Cloke - Davis
F Medhurst - Rocca - Reid
Foll Fraser - Swan
Rov OBree
Int Egan - Burns - Wood - R.Shaw
Emerg Holland - Rusling - Anthony
Positives of preseason
Reid looks to have come on really well
Egan and Shaw seem to be showing signs of coming back to their best.
Wood has been a revelation and thats fantastic
A couple of signs that Brown might be finding his form to
Negatives
Our depth is not crash hot.
Stanley, Cook, Iles have not come on
Bryan is not up to AFL level
Ruslings injury concerns just wont abate
Does anyone know where Wood and Fraser played in the WC game? (the only game where they have both played together so far).
I'm interested to know if they'll be changing off the bench (as most of you are putting Wood in I/C), or maybe changing in a forward pocket.
I like it when Fraser plays as more of a forward flanker/pocket, and causes some real match-up problems.
hellfire
9 Mar 2008, 12:46
Does anyone know where Wood and Fraser played in the WC game? (the only game where they have both played together so far).
I'm interested to know if they'll be changing off the bench (as most of you are putting Wood in I/C), or maybe changing in a forward pocket.
I like it when Fraser plays as more of a forward flanker/pocket, and causes some real match-up problems.
They played together against Port. Both were rested forward at times, both went to the bench at times. To be honest Wood looked more dangerous forward on the day, but then against Fraser didn't seem to be trying too hard. Wood was in the goal square for a while, took a few grabs and kicked a couple. (Actually kicked 1, dished one off from about 20m out).
smiddaz123
9 Mar 2008, 12:56
B Goldsack - Wakelin - Clarke
HB Maxwell - OBrien - H.Shaw
C Thomas - Pendlebury - Lockyer
HF Didak - Cloke - Davis
F Medhurst - Rocca - Reid
Foll Fraser - Swan
Rov OBree
Int Egan - Burns - Wood - R.Shaw
Emerg Holland - Rusling - Anthony
Positives of preseason
Reid looks to have come on really well
Egan and Shaw seem to be showing signs of coming back to their best.
Wood has been a revelation and thats fantastic
A couple of signs that Brown might be finding his form to
Negatives
Our depth is not crash hot.
Stanley, Cook, Iles have not come on
Bryan is not up to AFL level
Ruslings injury concerns just wont abate
Completely disagree. Iles has come on well.
smiddaz123
9 Mar 2008, 12:59
You sir are a fool.
You sir are a total idiot.
That is how he is used pretty much every week.
bomberboy11
9 Mar 2008, 13:51
As is Reid. Besides Rusling had a bit of a hiccup injury wise in the preseason and it would be wise to rest him a bit.
i think he has had enough rest and i think the pies were protecting him in the preseason
Lockyer24
9 Mar 2008, 14:46
b: Nick Maxwell - Shane Wakelin - Tyson Goldsack
hb: Heath Shaw - Harry O'Brien - Marty Clarke
c: Tarkyn Lockyer - Scott Pendlebury - Chris Egan
hf: Paul Medhurst - Travis Cloke - Alan Didak
f: Leon Davis - Anthony Rocca - Josh Fraser
r: Cameron Wood - Shane O'Bree - Dale Thomas
inter: Dane Swan - Scott Burns - Brodie Holland - John Anthony
e: Rhyce Shaw - Ben Reid - Ryan Lonie
Ben Johnson (susp)
Coin_Toss
9 Mar 2008, 15:05
B: Goldsack - Wakelin - O'Brien
HB: H.Shaw - Maxwell - R.Shaw
C: Lockyer - O'Bree - Clarke
HF: Thomas - Cloke - Didak
F: Rocca - Rusling - Medhurst
R: Fraser - Pendlebury - Davis
I/C: Swan - Wood - Burns - Egan
E: Reid - Iles - Brown
Where did he say this Opti? I didn't think MM rated Stanners. He spent some time in the middle in the intraclub game on Friday but a lot at HFF.
yesterday heaped more praise on him than the usual family day stuff. Was encouraging to hear
FB - Goldsack - Wakelin - H Shaw
HB - Maxwell - O'Brien - Clarke
MI - Lockyer - O'Bree - Egan
HF - Didak - Cloke - Thomas
FF - Reid - Rocca - Medhurst
RU - Fraser - Pendlebury - Swan
IC - R Shaw - Davis - Wood - Burns
EM - Anthony - Lonie - Cox
Unfortunately I won't be attending the game and it will be the first home game I will miss for 3 years.
I will miss Buckley's lap of honor, and a couple of debuts. Very disappointed.:(
kbutcher24
9 Mar 2008, 20:52
didnt realise how tough it is to put a side together,
either way we are looking pretty strong first up for freo
pipeline
9 Mar 2008, 21:37
yesterday heaped more praise on him than the usual family day stuff. Was encouraging to hear
Thanks Opti. I really rate Stanners - I reckon he's got the cleanest disposal I've seen in years and while he doesn't get huge stats, he makes virtually every one count. I'd rather see him getting 15 clean disposals than someone else getting 30 touchs at 50/50 effectiveness where they more or less cancel each other out. He's also got some sort of injury at the moment but he was still amongst the best in the intra-club.
Thanks again - that's encouraging. Now I hope MM lives up to his talk.
davis 24
10 Mar 2008, 10:16
BP R. Lonie- S Wakelin- H. O Brien
HB T.Goldsack- N.Maxwell- H. Shaw
C L.Davis- S.Pendlebury- M.Clarke
HF A. Didak T. Cloke P.Medhurst
F J.Fraser B. Reid D. Thomas
R C. Wood D.Swan t. Lockyer
I. C.Egan A Rocca R. Shaw S. Burns
Em. D.Stanley S. O Bree B. Holland
hellfire
10 Mar 2008, 11:57
BP R. Lonie- S Wakelin- H. O Brien
HB T.Goldsack- N.Maxwell- H. Shaw
C L.Davis- S.Pendlebury- M.Clarke
HF A. Didak T. Cloke P.Medhurst
F J.Fraser B. Reid D. Thomas
R C. Wood D.Swan t. Lockyer
I. C.Egan A Rocca R. Shaw S. Burns
Em. D.Stanley S. O Bree B. Holland
Obree emergency? Are you mad?
paulyb_gopies
10 Mar 2008, 12:43
F/Back: H. O'brien S. Wakelin T. Goldsack
H/Back: H. Shaw N.Maxwell J. Anthony
Midfield: S.Pendlebury M.Clarke T.Lockyer
H/Forward: A.Didak T.Cloke D.Thomas
F/Forward: L.Davis A.Rocca P.Medhurst
Ruck:J.Fraser S.Burns S.O'bree
Interchange: D.Swan C.Wood B.Reid C.Egan
Emergency:S.Rusling B.Holland R.Shaw
Rusling is without a doubt in my best 22 if he is fit, extremely dangerous and just adds another component to our forward line, J.Anthony is there but depending on the talls for Freo maybe a Rhyce Shaw or Sam Iles may take his spot for this game
GO PIES!
Footy guru
10 Mar 2008, 13:26
You guys are not paying attention he does not start there every week only when he has an injury does he start on the bench and after the game against the saints last year he had an ankle injury pickering his manager revealed that on foxtel that when he played on Ling the next week it was still sore. He is no. one or two at hard ball gets and clearances he will start on the ground - take note who has been peforming in practice matches Swan has been in best every week - most consistent player in team got 30 touches in Dubai scored (111) for the Albany match for 78 minutes game time and got best player this week in Shepparton. Fancy pointing him on bench Pendlebury has only played okay at shepparton the rest on the games he was woeful, Thomas still makes mistakes I will be placing Swan on the ground he always goes well against Freo. Go swannie my best:thumbsu:
vinnie_vegas69
10 Mar 2008, 14:12
You guys are not paying attention he does not start there every week only when he has an injury does he start on the bench and after the game against the saints last year he had an ankle injury pickering his manager revealed that on foxtel that when he played on Ling the next week it was still sore.
First - Punctuation. Give it a shot.
Second - You're the one not paying attention. Dane Swan only averaged 67% game time last year - He spends significant time on the bench in each and every game, and USUALLY he starts there.
Footy guru
11 Mar 2008, 10:58
First - Punctuation. Give it a shot.
Second - You're the one not paying attention. Dane Swan only averaged 67% game time last year - He spends significant time on the bench in each and every game, and USUALLY he starts there.
I think you better check your stats , he only started to play on the bench in the last half of the year as he was injured unknown to other teams as I said after the Saints game. He was not permitted to run when pre season started due to an injury. I bet you he starts on the ground as he has been best midfield over the pre season. if you say he only played 67% pretty good for someone who came fourth in brownlow.
PS sorry about the errors but wanted to get it typed quickly and made some mistakes only human.
bradrowe#32
11 Mar 2008, 12:17
B: Tyson Goldsack - Shane Wakelin - Harry O'Brien
HB: Tarkyn Lockyer - Nick Maxwell - Martin Clarke
C: Heath Shaw - Scott Pendlebury - Chris Egan
HF: Paul Medhurst - Travis Cloke - Alan Didak
F: Ben Reid - Anthony Rocca - Leon Davis
R: Josh Fraser - Shane O'Bree - Dale Thomas
I: Scott Burns - Dane Swan - Nathan Brown - Cameron Wood
E: Brodie Holland - Ryan Cook - Shannon Cox
Goldsack Wakelin OBrien
Maxwell Anthony Shaw
Shaw Pendlebury Clarke
Didak Cloke Medhurst
Rusling Rocca Davis
Fraser Obree Burns
Wood Swan Egan Lockyer
Anthony will play Round 1 on Tarrant
Presti and McCarthy are injured
Illes Wakelin Anthony
H Shaw O'Brien Maxwell
Clarke Pendles Lockyer
Thomas Cloke Didak
Davis Rusling Rocca
Fraser Burns Swan
Inter: Wood, O'Bree, Medhurst, Egan / R Shaw. (can't split the two for the last possie on the bench)
Holland and Goldsack may be a little under done, having only played in the last couple of praci matches, hence why they haven't been picked. Johnson is still serving suspension.
Cox unlucky as I think he will step up this year or else he'll find himself playing at Aberfeldie with Richie Cole.
Goldsack, Wakes, Maxwell
H Shaw, Obrien, Clarke
Egan, Pendles, Lockyer
Thomas, Cloke, Didak
Rusling, Rocca, Davis
F: Fraser, Burns, Obree
I: Swan, Wood, Anthony, Medhurst
Ins: Fraser, Wood, Egan, Anthony
Outs: Richards, Bryan, Bucks, Jimmy
Pretty conservative team first up but I prefer that for Round 1. Guys who performed last year get a chance to hold their spots. The only real talking points are Anthony coming in for Jimmy, which is insurance I suppose for their key forwards and Egan coming in for Bucks.
We are going to have to rotate all of Davis, Didak, Medhurst and Thomas through the middle if we are to win this one as I think we may be one runner short.
MM might go for Iles instead of Egan, although I think Eags has a lot more upside, and he may opt for the bigger bodied Brown instead of Anthony. I think we have enough defensive cover though as Maxwell could possibly go to Tarrant or Pavlich.
Something tells me we will go down in this game, but somehow find a win against the odds at the Gabba to go 1-1 after 2 rounds.
Marklar_33
11 Mar 2008, 22:11
Goldsack Wakelin Lockyer
Maxwell O'Brien H.Shaw
Clarke Burns Thomas
Didak Cloke Davis
Rusling Rocca Medhurst
Fraser O'Bree Pendlebury
Wood Swan Egan Anthony
Reid R.Shaw Brown
D_train
13 Mar 2008, 09:55
B Goldsack Wakelin Maxwell
HB Shaw O'Brien Anthony
C Clarke Swan Egan
HF Didak Cloke Reid
F Thomas Rocca Medhurst
Foll Fraser Pendlebury Burns
Int O'Bree Lockyer Wood Davis
Hey mate, have you gone with Reid over Rusling because Rusling's injured atm (adductor IIRC), or you think Mick prefers Reid?
hellfire
13 Mar 2008, 10:06
I have a bad feeling about this match too nihh.
When was the last time we actually looked good in round 1? I'd say 2003, considering we've lost every year since then... and won last year looking absolutely terrible. And before that (2003)... 2000 was the last time we won one.
The Rusler
15 Mar 2008, 10:39
....Round 1
Goldsack Wakes Brown
Heath Harry'O Lockyer
Didak Pendles Egan
Medders Trav C Daisy
Leon Rusling Rocca
..Foll.Fraser, Swan, O'Bree
..Int.Burns, Wood, Max, Marty
....Main season
Goldsack Wakes Brown
Heath Harry'O Marty
Didak Pendles Johnno
Egan Trav C Daisy
Leon Rusling Rocca
..Foll.Fraser, Swan, Lockyer
..Int.Burns, Wood, O.Bree, Medders
-->Reid is unlucky to miss but we look a so much better side when Rusling plays. Stronger marker of the ball and this means that Rocca can't be double teamed. Rocca will win all day 1 on 1 and Cloke is released further up the ground where he's at his best..
-->Egan to play 22 games this season