View Full Version : To Drummond - Bryce Campbell WTF?

Stephen2
8 Mar 2008, 21:07
Drum,

So was the Rocket injured or sick?? How the hell did that happen, if he was 100% and didn't get a second on the ground, I'll be really pissed at our coaches for the first time in a long time...

You must be cursing mate!

hey shorty
8 Mar 2008, 21:19
Id love to know what went on too. We picked him as the extra midfield legs and we didnt use him..... he HAD to be crook or have a niggle, theres just no other explanation.

pinkcrows
8 Mar 2008, 21:32
didn't the same thing happen wid a crows player in 1999 had the hole game on the bench? vs the doggies at the mcg ?

hey shorty
8 Mar 2008, 21:34
didn't the same thing happen wid a crows player in 1999 had the hole game on the bench? vs the doggies at the mcg ?

Yeah but that was Lucas Herbert....... enough said.

Drummond
8 Mar 2008, 21:43
I am furious for a number of reasons, this being one of them. Bryce Campbell played about 10 minutes at the max tonight. He came on for his first run with 10 minutes remaining in the final term and I’m pretty sure he didn’t finish the game on the ground. I am absolutely disgusted at how Neil Craig is handling him, and I know I’m biased towards Bryce but how can anyone honestly defend the way he is treating him? This being the last game before the season proper and Bryce sits on the bench for 3 straight quarters, and finally comes on for his first run with 10 minutes left. I’m scratching my head at what Craig was trying to achieve.

We know he wasn’t injured as he did play, albeit extremely briefly, and what would the point be of sitting him on the bench to learn when it’s a NAB Cup match? I see absolutely NO logic behind the treatment of Bryce tonight, and you would have to be the most resilient character not to be extraordinarily annoyed at the coach for the way he handled him. You would think he’d be a shattered man tonight, how can you not be? Being picked to play in the GF and yet you’re sitting on the bench for all but 10 minutes of it?

Just staggering stuff. What a waste of a player, we played with a man down for no reason. I want an explanation why that was the case, Neil...

Dandy_GO
8 Mar 2008, 21:43
Noticed him on the ground for about 5 minutes in the last quarter. Not sure what was going on there. Even stickman Mackay got about 20 minutes

hey shorty
8 Mar 2008, 21:50
I am furious for a number of reasons, this being one of them. Bryce Campbell played about 10 minutes at the max tonight. He came on for his first run with 10 minutes remaining in the final term and I’m pretty sure he didn’t finish the game on the ground. I am absolutely disgusted at how Neil Craig is handling him, and I know I’m biased towards Bryce but how can anyone honestly defend the way he is treating him? This being the last game before the season proper and Bryce sits on the bench for 3 straight quarters, and finally comes on for his first run with 10 minutes left. I’m scratching my head at what Craig was trying to achieve.

We know he wasn’t injured as he did play, albeit extremely briefly, and what would the point be of sitting him on the bench to learn when it’s a NAB Cup match? I see absolutely NO logic behind the treatment of Bryce tonight, and you would have to be the most resilient character not to be extraordinarily annoyed at the coach for the way he handled him. You would think he’d be a shattered man tonight, how can you not be? Being picked to play in the GF and yet you’re sitting on the bench for all but 10 minutes of it?

Just staggering stuff. What a waste of a player, we played with a man down for no reason. I want an explanation why that was the case, Neil...

You know this doesnt happen all that often so get ready........ I agree with you:p

Its utterly implausible that a fit guy can only manage 10 minutes on the ground on a 40 degree night where fresh legs are at a premium. Even if you are a resilient character you would still have to be extremely peeved at what happened this evening. I for one have been a bit critical of him in the past....... but if youve picked the guy...... effing well play him !!!

jarmanagic
8 Mar 2008, 21:57

1. 26 men, short game time changes the equation
2. No doubt it was circumstances/match ups etc. Neil Craig shown some faith in him by picking him tonight and up in the draft at all. He turned the ball over a lot a fortnight ago. The chalenge is for Bryce to demand to be picked at AFL or at SANFL level. Not yet seen that
3. Neil Craig is not answerable to you

Stephen2
8 Mar 2008, 22:00
So it's true... He was fit. That is a ***$&$&#*@*@&# disgrace!

St Kilda used EVERY interchange every quarter, used all their men and gave all their young players a run.

We sat Mackay on the bench for the whole 1st half I believe, gave Campbell 5 minutes!! 5 MINUTES!

I am very slow to turn on our coach, and haven't even bagged Craig for keeping Massie on Franklin, but this really takes the cake.

I feel that is really not up to scratch! Shattered to hear that Campbell was fit, I was *SURE* he must have been injured to not be played. :mad::thumbsd:

Don't care that we lost, don't get me wrong, I loved the game, the use of players was not fair or even smart, or in our best interests as a football club.

TERRIBLE!

hey shorty
8 Mar 2008, 22:02
I am annoyed, but if it was a regular season game I would be absolutely ropable.

starskyCrow87
8 Mar 2008, 22:08
Good evening everyone, im new here so hey!:)

just one point.... if bryce campbell wasnt going to play then why did they select him and not just keep sellar in the side? we could have done with a leading forward like him tonight, (which sellar is) even if he is still very raw, it would have been good experience for him.
Tippett did extremely well (he will be an absolute gun one day) but at times we probably did lack that forward leading into space.

hey shorty
8 Mar 2008, 22:12
Good evening everyone, im new here so hey!:)

just one point.... if bryce campbell wasnt going to play then why did they select him and not just keep sellar in the side? we could have done with a leading forward like him tonight, (which sellar is) even if he is still very raw, it would have been good experience for him.
Tippett did extremely well (he will be an absolute gun one day) but at times we probably did lack that forward leading into space.

First of all..... Welcome :thumbsu::thumbsu:

And you do raise some very good point, all of which most of us are thinking. Dropping an 18yo keyforward who has struggled a bit in recent weeks for a hard midfielder..... fair enough. But to not play him for any length of time is just plain dumb.

barone
9 Mar 2008, 03:16
maybe he forgot he was there? its not every game you get an 8 man bench. ahahaha but seriosly Ive never taken much notice of neil craig as a coach and from what most people say he sounds good, but his interview before the game was a shocker, didnt show any emotion about the game and looked like he didnt want to be there.
seemed weird!
good luck for the season proper, ive got symes and porpz in my dt team ahaha.

James_37
9 Mar 2008, 03:59
I'm am shocked with the whole Cambell saga, we dropped Sellar, a KPF, for Cambell, fine, I can understand to a degree. But then not to bother playing him, that just is plain bs, surely if that was all we planned for Cambell, then why bother, Mcgregor was unseen as far as i can remember, stevens useless upforward, all we had was Tippet, surely another KPF would have been useful since our forward line was a complete disgrace, just hopeless, just couldn't score in a brothel. WTF!!! If Sellar wern't to play, I'd expect his replacement to atleast get a chance, that and Mackay should have got a lot more time, even just as a small forward, maybe he might have been able to do something, we just had no hope if Tippet didn't mark it(we had no hope even if Burton did mark it).

Carl Spackler
9 Mar 2008, 08:23
I can only surmise that we were treating this as a dress rehearsal for Round 1. We don't have the extra interchange options in the premiership season so our rotations would be out of whack if we used all 24 (or was it 26?) players.

So why did we pick him at all? Well, you have to name a full team I guess.

SA Tricolours
9 Mar 2008, 10:19
I can only surmise that we were treating this as a dress rehearsal for Round 1. We don't have the extra interchange options in the premiership season so our rotations would be out of whack if we used all 24 (or was it 26?) players.

Agree

I don't think the issue was Campbell - probably been the same if any other player.

With the Crows already 2 players down at half time and by effectively not using 2 interchange, it became more like a normal game with 22.
Also, I think Craig stuck with the younger midfield nealry all night - as per the pre-season "trial" planning.
Although a final, it was treated more as trial to learn about players for the coming season.

Dogga79
9 Mar 2008, 10:36

Thats was my take on what was happening too. It may have hurt us a little last night, I guess NC had a list of objectives he wanted to achieve. Even if it meant us losing. What it has done is made it a lot clearer where we are heading selection wise round 1.

banana breath
9 Mar 2008, 10:46
When you consider that we lost by under a goal in extreme conditions, Neil Craig has no one but himself to blame for not coaching well.

It might only be a NAB Cup, but his crap Coaching cost us some silverware!

I know it's only pre-season and the season proper hasn't started yet, but l believe that this season MUST be Craigs last as Crow's Coach.

I don't rate the guy at all!!!

crows dude
9 Mar 2008, 11:43
This was an absolute disgrace!!!!

Now I am a huge fan of Brycey Campbell after watching him for the last three years. I cannot believe the way he is being treated.

Last night we couldnt get the ball out of the centre. Well Bryces strength is his work in close and we could have done with him in the middle.

Also we had no crumber at forward. This is another place he can play as a small forward. We don't have Matty Bode anymore. Bryce is a perfect replacement here Craigy.

BLOODY WELL USE HIM

And not on a Half Back Flank. He will obviously come back to Norwood and play in his best spot in the Centre.

Since as it looks like he will Spend all year for Norwood I might put some money on him for the MAGAREY MEDAL.

macca23
9 Mar 2008, 11:55
Personally I think the treatment that Campbell got in only playing 7 minutes is disgraceful.

While he may not be the most fashionable of footballers, he's not hopeless, although he was treated as such.

Why not pick Sellar if that was a pre-planned situation with Campbell and continue the experimentation?

As it was, nobody benefited by Campbell's selection and lack of ground time, be it the player himself, other players, the team or goodwill towards the club.

Some have suggested it was to become used to the lesser number of players available in a team when the season proper commences.

I don't quite buy that because it doesn't take rocket science to work out which rotations are additional because of the larger playing squad.

Players have feelings and to treat Campbell like an old rag is a black mark against those in charge who talk up being a team player - that goes both ways. :thumbsd:

topjars
9 Mar 2008, 12:08
He must've been injured - thats the only explanation.

Markthirtytwo
9 Mar 2008, 12:31
Personally I think the treatment that Campbell got in only playing 7 minutes is disgraceful.

While he may not be the most fashionable of footballers, he's not hopeless, although he was treated as such.

Why not pick Sellar if that was a pre-planned situation with Campbell and continue the experimentation?

As it was, nobody benefited by Campbell's selection and lack of ground time, be it the player himself, other players, the team or goodwill towards the club.

Some have suggested it was to become used to the lesser number of players available in a team when the season proper commences.

I don't quite buy that because it doesn't take rocket science to work out which rotations are additional because of the larger playing squad.

Players have feelings and to treat Campbell like an old rag is a black mark against those in charge who talk up being a team player - that goes both ways. :thumbsd:

I agree, I must admit I didn't see him at all during the game.
This is ridiculous to pick someone and then not use them or very little at least. The use of both him and MacKay need to be explained to the faithful.

Very poor.

swanfan
9 Mar 2008, 12:41

I never too often disagree with this man and he is right yet again.
Bryce would have benefited from plenty of more time on the ground and in the situations that arose from the game.
He is a great in and under player and we needed that last night and unlike many players last night can actually hold a player when they are tackled and not let go of them.
Bryce would have be an asset in the last 2 quarters last night.
It goes without saying that neither party benefited from the actions shown last night and as a supporter hope we manage our players better than that during the season.

J-Ro-20
9 Mar 2008, 13:32
Lucas Herbert would be feeling a little bit better at home...now that he is not the only crow to sit on the pine a whole game.

swanfan
9 Mar 2008, 13:39
Lucas Herbert would be feeling a little bit better at home...now that he is not the only crow to sit on the pine a whole game.

He wasn't on the pine for the whole game but bloody close to it.

FlyingCrow
9 Mar 2008, 13:39
I didnt get it, but after reading Specklers post it makes sense.

However it would of been better Sellar sitting in the Powerade Box than Campbell. Sellar has the potential to chage games, Campbel does not.

Anyway if Cragy was using this game as a Dress rehersal and pretending it was a "real" game does that mean he considers it a close win? 9.10 to 9.09. If so would be one of the first close wins we have had with Craigy.

brucetiki
9 Mar 2008, 13:42
I never understood what the club sees in Campbell.

The only thing I remember him for in the SANFL was his cheap shot on Luke McCabe (and the 3 week suspension for it as well). He's done sod all since.

So I'm not too upset he sat on the pine all night - but dropping Sellar for him was a joke IMO.

swanfan
9 Mar 2008, 13:49

The only thing I remember him for in the SANFL was his cheap shot on Luke McCabe (and the 3 week suspension for it as well). He's done sod all since.

So I'm not too upset he sat on the pine all night - but dropping Sellar for him was a joke IMO.

I would have given Sellar a run but if you are going to replace him with another player, at least he should have given him more than a 5 minute run.

hey shorty
9 Mar 2008, 14:00
Yeah exactly. Its not whether we see him as a good player or not, the club dropped Sellar in favour for him and then they dont play him. It is just dumb coaching by Craigy.

Oh and bruce........ a Centrals player would never take a cheap shot would they.....:rolleyes:

Drummond
9 Mar 2008, 14:13

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=8756843&postcount=14

You're unbelievable. In Round 2, 2005 Bryce Campbell was suspended following a striking charge. Since then he hasn't been reported once. What a thug! :rolleyes:

Let's face it, you claiming he's done "sod all since" is nothing more than you showing your ignorance. Yeah, the fact that he averaged 20 possessions, a goal a game and was named in the best players on 12 occasions in 2006 to get himself drafted was such a poor year.

hey shorty
9 Mar 2008, 14:21
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=8756843&postcount=14

You're unbelievable. In Round 2, 2005 Bryce Campbell was suspended following a striking charge. Since then he hasn't been reported once. What a thug! :rolleyes:

Let's face it, you claiming he's done "sod all since" is nothing more than you showing your ignorance. Yeah, the fact that he averaged 20 possessions, a goal a game and was named in the best players on 12 occasions in 2006 to get himself drafted was such a poor year.

Ease up, youve had an interesting 24 hrs havent you lol. Not having a go either mate, just to clear that up.

Youre forgetting that Centrals fans have a different definition of "thug" than most of us.

RoosterLad
9 Mar 2008, 14:21
delist

jericho>campbell

hey shorty
9 Mar 2008, 14:31
"He who shall not be named" by a looooong way.

WheresGroomgone
9 Mar 2008, 14:48
When you consider that we lost by under a goal in extreme conditions, Neil Craig has no one but himself to blame for not coaching well.

It might only be a NAB Cup, but his crap Coaching cost us some silverware!

I know it's only pre-season and the season proper hasn't started yet, but l believe that this season MUST be Craigs last as Crow's Coach.

I don't rate the guy at all!!!

Woah settle down, perhaps if you look at it as a glass half full rather than the pessimistic half empty view, you may give NC some credit for revitalising a list by the tune of 14 new players and still having an excellent preseason. I rate Neil Craig's management skills as second to none, his match day coaching has had some scrutiny but he has the strength to stick to a plan and his development of his staff has been brilliant. If Neil Craig was to "be let go" there would be a large line of AFL clubs trying to win his services.

By the way is that you Rooch?

Eastern Crow
9 Mar 2008, 15:00
I do not have an issue with the limited game time given to Bryce

NC obviously went in with a plan to give as much game time to the players most likely to play round 1, knowing they have a full weeks recovery, it's all about preperation for round 1

Bryce would of been selected on the basis that he would get significant game time if players showed signs of not handling the heat, Bryce may of been aware of this

I have no issues with NC given the significant minutes to the players who will play round 1, it ensures they are 100% march fit come round 1

4 points against the dogs is all that matters

crowugoodthing
9 Mar 2008, 15:01
0 touches in 7 minutes.... thank God he didn't play any longer. Based on his previous 2 games he should never have been picked in the first place.

If he plays a game this year we are in trouble.

End of story

TheLeftFist8
9 Mar 2008, 15:05
0 touches in 7 minutes.... thank God he didn't play any longer. Based on his previous 2 games he should never have been picked in the first place.

End of story

This from a Norwood supporter:eek:

Having said that i reckon Douglas should be dropped as well :p

Drummond
9 Mar 2008, 15:21

End of story
You are further testament that everyone should have to sit an IQ test before joining a forum.

hey shorty
9 Mar 2008, 15:24
Nah Drum I disagree, I wouldnt have been able to join if that were the case.

Drummond
9 Mar 2008, 15:38
Nah Drum I disagree, I wouldnt have been able to join if that were the case.
Rubbish! :p

I mean seriously, it's almost funny how someone can justify that Campbell was rightfully treated like rubbish because he failed to pick up a possession in 7 minutes, while tagging no less. And regardless of his two previous games, he was selected to play against St.Kilda. If you select someone surely it's only fair to play them?

hey shorty
9 Mar 2008, 15:45
I would have thought so yes. Now as you know I am not sold on whether Bryce has a future as an AFL footballer at the Crows, but how on earth are we going to find out if when we pick the guy, he barely sets foot on the ground. His hard running would have proved vital IMO last night, probably as a tagger like he was doing for those 7 minutes.

Someone mentioned the possibility of him not going through the interchange gates properly and therefore not being allowed back onto the ground. Now a club like ours, or any at AFL level, should never let something like that happen, but I have seen it on the odd occassion before.

For me its just a case of bad coaching. Now im not willing to completely hang Craigy on this one unlike some people but it was a very poor moment for him.

NikkiNoo
9 Mar 2008, 15:50
Ok just finished watching the replay as I didn't get to see a lot of the game at the ground last night. I noticed after the game that Campbell's elbow was strapped up quite interestingly and they showed at 3/4 time Campbell going into the race and the rooms under the members by himself....

Porps_is_HOT_loz
9 Mar 2008, 16:16
Sunday Mail gave him 0 out of 10
:eek:

macca23
9 Mar 2008, 16:35
Ok just finished watching the replay as I didn't get to see a lot of the game at the ground last night. I noticed after the game that Campbell's elbow was strapped up quite interestingly and they showed at 3/4 time Campbell going into the race and the rooms under the members by himself....

If Campbell was scheduled to play the 2nd half and got injured - then while that's bad luck, it's okay.

If he wasn't injured then his treatment was unfair.

Asgardian
9 Mar 2008, 16:52

I assume he was fit prior to the commencement of the game, otherwise he wouldn't have been selected.

He hadn't got onto the field in the 1st 3 quarters, how on earth did he become injured?

Elbowed the I/C bench??????

BTW, John Cahill left Roger Kerr on the pine until the last 10 minutes or so of a SANFL G/F, Kerr left us & went back to WA

crowugoodthing
9 Mar 2008, 17:23
This from a Norwood supporter:eek:

Having said that i reckon Douglas should be dropped as well :p

Unlike some around here I can look past that and judge a player without that having an influence. :rolleyes:

Unfortunately he will not make it to more than 10 games with the AFC, nothing against the guy not everyone can make it, I just call it as I see it.

Bring on any IQ test you wish to put forward Drummond... those in glass houses.........

SpringChoke
9 Mar 2008, 17:24

Yes Craigy does tend to make some strange decisions from time to time, especially in finals.

swanfan
9 Mar 2008, 17:27
Yes Craigy does tend to make some strange decisions from time to time, especially in finals.

I was on the mend from that after intense counselling and you mention it again. :mad::D

jenny61_99
9 Mar 2008, 17:38
Haven't had a chance to watch the whole game yet, and am perplexed at the lack of use of Campbell.... but, could it have been a case of gastro or something? I mean, isn't it possible something as simple as that could be the cause of his lack of game time? Has anyone heard Craig's postmatch presser?

SpringChoke
9 Mar 2008, 17:50
I was on the mend from that after intense counselling and you mention it again. :mad::D

Too be honest, in hindsight we did pretty well. If you compared each side on paper before the game, you would have said Saints by 8 goals + given their experience.

I was really impressed with some of the youngsters last night and really disappointed with some of our seniors, especially the captain. Goodwin had a real good chance to put his hand up and play a Bickley/Roo like captains knock - he was hardly sighted. He must have been injured. I did notice he started the 4th quarter on the bench, although he moved okay when he came back on.

Crow-mo
9 Mar 2008, 20:36

End of story

er, steady on.

Coopers
9 Mar 2008, 22:02
Harsh way to treat a bloke. What's craig trying to do, ruin the kid's confidence?

If he was fit, he deserved more than that.

If he wasn't fit, Massie/whoever should have been in.

jarmanagic
9 Mar 2008, 23:39
Must be more important football issues than this. Really hard to form an argument that a 1 game player would have made a difference

Rather than stick the knife into Craig, for reasons entirely unclear to me, and bleat about junior development, loss of confidence please consider

1. Campbell is nearly 24, I'm sure grateful for a second (lucky)chance at AFL. He is capable of dealing with this

2. Craig is superb at getting the best out of young players. Despite being left with little elite talent, in his 3 1/2 years coaching we've seen Rutten, Bock, Hentschel, Knights, Van Berlo (who by the way was smashed by Harvey in the 3rd quarter during the patch where St Kilda scored 21 points in 3 minutes and won the game, but god forbid anyone could criticise our beloved VB) emerge, and Porpylzia, Griffen Tippet etc on the verge

Stop complaining over non issues. 26 played. Someone sure to get little game time

Kane McGoodwin
10 Mar 2008, 01:24
Must be more important football issues than this. Really hard to form an argument that a 1 game player would have made a difference

Rather than stick the knife into Craig, for reasons entirely unclear to me, and bleat about junior development, loss of confidence please consider

1. Campbell is nearly 24, I'm sure grateful for a second (lucky)chance at AFL. He is capable of dealing with this

2. Craig is superb at getting the best out of young players. Despite being left with little elite talent, in his 3 1/2 years coaching we've seen Rutten, Bock, Hentschel, Knights, Van Berlo (who by the way was smashed by Harvey in the 3rd quarter during the patch where St Kilda scored 21 points in 3 minutes and won the game, but god forbid anyone could criticise our beloved VB) emerge, and Porpylzia, Griffen Tippet etc on the verge

Stop complaining over non issues. 26 played. Someone sure to get little game time

It's not a non-issue. Craig's decision to give Campbell very limited game time, when it was a hot night & rotations were needed was strange & not unreasonable to question ... particularly given Knights was injured for most of the game. Our midfield didn't have it's best night, so why not try someone who is on the bench?

jenny61_99
10 Mar 2008, 08:11
There surely has to have been something said by Craig re this by now? I can't believe nothing has been said in the paper or on radio? (It may have been, but as I don't live there, haven't seen it, but I thought someone in here would have mentioned it if it had).

macca23
10 Mar 2008, 10:25
There surely has to have been something said by Craig re this by now? I can't believe nothing has been said in the paper or on radio? (It may have been, but as I don't live there, haven't seen it, but I thought someone in here would have mentioned it if it had).

Nothing said Jen other than that he wasn't injured.

crows98
10 Mar 2008, 10:33
BTW, John Cahill left Roger Kerr on the pine until the last 10 minutes or so of a SANFL G/F, Kerr left us & went back to WA

And consequentially had a son named Daniel. You know him as the boy who plays for the West Coast Eagles.

Asgardian
10 Mar 2008, 12:46
Yep, it's why I've always said that Port had no hope in hell of ever getting Daniel

Freddy Bassett
10 Mar 2008, 15:27
NC stated before the game he was going all out to win the game and prepare for round 1. Bryce was not in his plans for round 1, he is clearly our 26th man. Im sure Bryce would of rather played for Adelaide than Norwood on the weekend. End of story. This is not a game of under10s where every kid must get at least half a game of football. And if this ruins Bryce as stated by some posters, he was never tough enough to make it in the first place, which Im sure he will bounce back from. And the bloke who called for Craigys head, all I can say is every club have them, knockers... Im also sure if we won you would of been singing his praise and saying we should sign him for life. Peanut

jackster83
11 Mar 2008, 10:08
Does anyone know why we drafted Campbell? I'm not having a crack at Bryce but why draft a mature age player if you don't intend to play him?
He's obviously not there as a backup midfielder as Knights got injured in the 2nd quarter and Campbell (or Mckay) would have seemed the most obvious replacement...:confused:

banana breath
14 Mar 2008, 12:34
Woah settle down, perhaps if you look at it as a glass half full rather than the pessimistic half empty view, you may give NC some credit for revitalising a list by the tune of 14 new players and still having an excellent preseason. I rate Neil Craig's management skills as second to none, his match day coaching has had some scrutiny but he has the strength to stick to a plan and his development of his staff has been brilliant. If Neil Craig was to "be let go" there would be a large line of AFL clubs trying to win his services.

By the way is that you Rooch?

Rooch???
I thought Hawthorn played terribly the week before and there is no excuse when it come to 'new' players. The players were ok, but the Coaching was crap!
When it comes down to a less than 5 point loss, l believe Craig was the influence.
Sad, sorry, but true.
Don't be so bias.

WheresGroomgone
15 Mar 2008, 00:33
Rooch???
I thought Hawthorn played terribly the week before and there is no excuse when it come to 'new' players. The players were ok, but the Coaching was crap!

When it comes down to a less than 5 point loss, l believe Craig was the influence.
Sad, sorry, but true.
Don't be so bias.

So please explain this theory, if a team loses a close game it's the coach? Or has the coach and his support staff got them to the position where they are highly competitive and therefore close to the opposition?

and there is no excuse when it come to 'new' players.

um yes there is, they're new!!

Sad, sorry, but true.

Nope far from true, you or I or anyone else have no concrete proof as to whether it was the coach, players, heat, umpires, etc ever heard of causation? Very difficult to identify one part of the whole event with so many variables.

Biased perhaps but I lost years of my life watching Gary Ayers coach Adelaide and Neil Craig has done incredibly well with the same list that he had, his results speak buckets and at this moment is by far the standout choice to coach AFC.

Crow-mo
15 Mar 2008, 01:01
So please explain this theory, if a team loses a close game it's the coach? Or has the coach and his support staff got them to the position where they are highly competitive and therefore close to the opposition?

firstly, it depends on whether its a one off, when its a repeated pattern you look beyond random luck.

secondly, did we lose a close game, where did well to be in at the death, or did we snatch defeat from the jaws of victory - ala hawthorn final. we didn't do well to be that close, we were dragged back.

Biased perhaps but I lost years of my life watching Gary Ayers coach Adelaide and Neil Craig has done incredibly well with the same list that he had, his results speak buckets and at this moment is by far the standout choice to coach AFC.

well he did no better than Ayres when he shared the same list in 2004, and prior to that it was a consistent deep finals threat. the difference is overstated.