View Full Version : Can anyone tell me ?.....

NSWCROW
8 Mar 2008, 21:11
the difference between a DOWN-FIELD free kick and a 50 METRE PENALTY ????

FFS !!!!

Not upset we lost....gotta remember we trained in that heat all week while they stayed in the " WITHERING " conditions of TROPICAL MELBOURNE !!!
Who finished the fresher ???

What DOES concern me is , SUPRISE SUPRISE , the forward line :rolleyes:
( Kurt Tippett the exception .......GUN )

jo172
8 Mar 2008, 21:33
This is why I hate the Crows board.

1 small loss in an inconsiquential game and the group dummy spit begins.

Pathetic mate.

Dandy_GO
8 Mar 2008, 21:36
Piss poor umpiring - the non supergoal blunder proved they have no idea what's going on.
The 50 meter supergoal given to St Kilda and not to Burton proved the difference on the scoreboard.

NSWCROW
8 Mar 2008, 21:36
:rolleyes:......( Sighs )....YOU again !!!

See the part that says " NOT UPSET WE LOST " ?

DOOFUS

jo172
8 Mar 2008, 21:38
:rolleyes:......( Sighs )....YOU again !!!

See the part that says " NOT UPSET WE LOST " ?

DOOFUS

WOW, because inserting a DISCLAIMER means that the rest of your TONE is irrelevant:rolleyes:

NSWCROW
8 Mar 2008, 21:39
:eek:

southern star
8 Mar 2008, 21:43

FFS !!!!

Not upset we lost....gotta remember we trained in that heat all week while they stayed in the " WITHERING " conditions of TROPICAL MELBOURNE !!!

it should have been a 9 pointer just like their should of been 55,000 their.

pavilion103
8 Mar 2008, 21:46
I knew it wasn't a supergoal as soon as I saw it. A down field free is not a 50. The player can either elect to take it from where he received it or give it to another player down field....thats the rule

when they initially signalled a 9 pointer I was amazed and knew that it wasn't a supergoal. When they reversed it I wasn't at all surprised, in fact I was waiting for it.

NSWCROW
8 Mar 2008, 21:49

Yeah , i noticed QUARTERBRAIN throw a HISSY-FIT about that :rolleyes:

I knew it wasn't a supergoal as soon as I saw it. A down field free is not a 50. The player can either elect to take it from where he received it or give it to another player down field....thats the rule

when they initially signalled a 9 pointer I was amazed and knew that it wasn't a supergoal. When they reversed it I wasn't at all surprised, in fact I was waiting for it.

Well THAT'S ****ed !!!!

swanfan
8 Mar 2008, 21:52
Lucky the game wasn't for premiership points.

KGCC07
8 Mar 2008, 21:57

FFS !!!!

have a sook mate.

St.Kilda won fair and square.

that didnt have any bearing on who won!Piss poor umpiring - the non supergoal blunder proved they have no idea what's going on.

The 50 meter supergoal given to St Kilda and not to Burton proved the difference on the scoreboard.

thompson wasent in the contest and run over the mark.

a whole lot different to Fishers one. He was in the contest and was running as fast as he could and you ould hardly stop within a metre.

Nick85
8 Mar 2008, 21:58
Lucky the game wasn't for premiership points.

If it was we would have won by a point.

Dandy_GO
8 Mar 2008, 22:19
have a sook mate.

St.Kilda won fair and square.

that didnt have any bearing on who won!

a whole lot different to Fishers one. He was in the contest and was running as fast as he could and you ould hardly stop within a metre.

Except that he ran a hell of a lot further than Thompson did, and clearly didn't stop anywhere near as quickly as he could have.

NSWCROW
8 Mar 2008, 22:22
have a sook mate.

( Turns to rest of forum......:rolleyes: )
See post 4 dipstick !!!

Spook
8 Mar 2008, 22:37

FFS !!!!

Yes I can.

A 50m penalty is 50m down the ground and in NAB cup if its from out side it's a 9 pointer.

In this case it was a relayed free kick which is DIFFERENT to a 50m penalty.
A down the ground free kick IS NOT A 50m penalty. It is were the ball lands. that could be 15m or 75m. When this is the case the team gets the choice of were they want to take the kick, from the original spot or down the ground.
A reason why is if you hand balled the ball 25m from the forward flank on the 50m line towards a guy 45 out right on the boundary you would prefer to take your from the original spot.

Not having a go mate but there is a link to the rules on the main page at the top, all of us (me as well) should learn them before we spit our dummies so much.

http://www.aflpa.com.au/media/2007%20Laws%20of%20the%20game.pdf

Page 61

15.10 FREE KICKS AFTER DISPOSAL
Where Prohibited Contact is made against a Player who has disposed
of the football or against a Player who is Shepherding a Player who has
disposed of the football, a Free Kick shall be awarded to that Player’s
Team and shall be taken by a Player of that Team who is nearest to the
location where the football touches the ground, a Player or crosses
the Boundary Line, as the case may be. If taking the Free Kick at this
location will penalise the Team awarded the Free Kick, the Free Kick
shall be taken by the Player against whom and at the location where
Prohibited Contact was made.

Spook
8 Mar 2008, 22:41
Piss poor umpiring - the non supergoal blunder proved they have no idea what's going on.

It was a blunder by your blokes for not choosing to take the kick from the original spot so as to get a 9 pointer.

In the end that incident was umpired by the rules... Yes the umps stuffed up the signal but they corrected it.

A relayed free IS NOT A 50m penalty THEY ARE DIFFERENT

NSWCROW
8 Mar 2008, 22:42
Rules ?? RULES ?????

RULES are for FAGS !!!!!! BAAAAAHAHAHAHA :D

Dummy spit ?...........obviously not familiar with my past form ;)
That was baby shit !!!

Dandy_GO
8 Mar 2008, 22:46
It was a blunder by your blokes for not choosing to take the kick from the original spot so as to get a 9 pointer.

In the end that incident was umpired by the rules... Yes the umps stuffed up the signal but they corrected it.

A relayed free IS NOT A 50m penalty THEY ARE DIFFERENT

I never said it was - I agree that the correct descision was made in the end.
The fact that it needed to be corrected, however, showed that they had a very poor grasp of the rules themselves.

Spook
8 Mar 2008, 22:51
If it was we would have won by a point.

Unfortunately Nick you are very Wrong old son.

St Kilda hit the post twice and got no score, if normal scoring then they would have won by a point

Nick85
8 Mar 2008, 22:57
Mat you are very Wrong.

St Kilda hit the post twice and got no score, if normal scoring then they would have won by a point

True, though my name isn't Mat and I'm curious as to what makes me very wrong rather than just wrong.

Fergus
8 Mar 2008, 23:03

Not quite true. Thompson went over the mark - no doubt. A 50 metre penalty? Pretty quick call and pretty harsh in my opinion.

Fisher also went over the mark. He was flat out and couldn't pull up before he did which was OK. Where the 50 metre penalty should have come in is that when he thought Burton was going to play on he moved sideways to block him whilst way over the mark. The umpire had not called play on yet Fisher got away with blocking whilst over the mark - a clear 50 metre penalty.

Spook
8 Mar 2008, 23:05
True, though my name isn't Mat and I'm curious as to what makes me very wrong rather than just wrong.

So sorry my keyboard letter e didn't perform. edited now hope it helps your happiness.

Wrong would be 1 poster ie draw

very wrong is you missing 2 posters.. ie St Kilda win

Spook
8 Mar 2008, 23:07
Not quite true. Thompson went over the mark - no doubt. A 50 metre penalty? Pretty quick call and pretty harsh in my opinion.

Fisher also went over the mark. He was flat out and couldn't pull up before he did which was OK. Where the 50 metre penalty should have come in is that when he thought Burton was going to play on he moved sideways to block him whilst way over the mark. The umpire had not called play on yet Fisher got away with blocking whilst over the mark - a clear 50 metre penalty.

True. But when a players momentum takes them over the mark the umpire then tells them were the mark is like "Back 5 meters Sam". The umpire hadn't yet done that and as you said he did only go sideways (even though he over). In the casse of Thompson the ump had called where the mark is then he went over.

Nick85
8 Mar 2008, 23:09
So sorry my keyboard letter e didn't perform. edited now hope it helps your happiness.

Wrong would be 1 poster ie draw

very wrong is you missing 2 posters.. ie St Kilda win

Ok then, interesting logic but ok.

raikkonen
9 Mar 2008, 16:33

a) AAMI holds 51,515
b)It's NAB cup
c) It's been 35C or more in Adelaide for nearly the whole week and will be until next saturday, was 36 or 37 when the game started.
And d) the 28,000 figure was crap. There were more people there than that. The members was where all the empty seats were, the outer was pretty packed

Asgardian
9 Mar 2008, 17:06
Yeah, Robert Walls rant about the crowd was "interesting"

NikkiNoo
9 Mar 2008, 17:09
He's still annoyed after being sacked from the Richmond coaching position after we beat them by 137 :p

KingsCrow
9 Mar 2008, 17:11
Yeah, Robert Walls rant about the crowd was "interesting"

What'd he say

Asgardian
9 Mar 2008, 17:22
I'd have to watch my wife's tape of the game to get it exact, but it was along the lines of Adelaide refusing to transfer the game to Melbourne, and then only filling half the stadium.

He was extending the rant to both Adelaide & Port Adelaide

raikkonen
9 Mar 2008, 17:27
I'd have to watch my wife's tape of the game to get it exact, but it was along the lines of Adelaide refusing to transfer the game to Melbourne, and then only filling half the stadium.

Robert Walls is a miserable old fart in love with Victoria, more than Bill Lawry is. The guy has no credibility at all, and I think a (stereotypical) Port fan would be 10 times as smart as him. :thumbsu:

Asgardian
9 Mar 2008, 17:31
That's no compliment Raikkonen

10 times a zero is still zero ... ;)

KingsCrow
9 Mar 2008, 17:41

We probably should have given it to Melbourne. If they didn't fill the stadium they could never bag us again.

I actually don't mind Wallsy

raikkonen
9 Mar 2008, 17:44
That's no compliment Raikkonen

10 times a zero is still zero ... ;)

It was a backhander wasnt it. :D ;)

Obviously Port fans are smarter than I give them credit for because they knew 10 x 0 = 0. Wallsy would have said 'Chris Judd is my love child' or something else ridiculously Victorian. :D

Coopers
9 Mar 2008, 22:03
GET THE HELL OFF THIS BOARD.

GET OFF NOW.

KingsCrow
9 Mar 2008, 23:44
haha what. He is always good for laugh. Does sometimes say some pretty smart stuff. A character.

Dogga79
10 Mar 2008, 12:47
We probably should have given it to Melbourne. If they didn't fill the stadium they could never bag us again.

I like him in the show On The Couch.

What I will agree with was his commentary on Saturday night was poor. It sounded like he hadn't seen the Crows play at all during the NAB cup and his opinions were fueled by last years performances.

Coopers
10 Mar 2008, 18:33
haha what. He is always good for laugh. Does sometimes say some pretty smart stuff. A character.

Walls is a tool. It's not acceptable that he has absolutely no idea (to the point of getting players names wrong) when commentating on games that involve players outside Victoria/Brisbane.

crowsup
10 Mar 2008, 20:48

Walls + smart = Oxymoron.

brucetiki
10 Mar 2008, 22:25
He's still annoyed after being sacked from the Richmond coaching position after we beat them by 137 :p

That sum's him up perfectly. He's a has-been coach who's still bitter he's been out of the coaches box for 10 years and can only be a commentator.

As for the downfield supergoal - I was initially surprised that it was given a supergoal, and wasn't upset that it got changed.

The Thompson 50 was a joke and wasn't warranted at all. Then to not pay the Burton one for idential circumstance just added insult to injury - either neither should have been paid or both.

It's about time the umpires were brought to account for their actions. The umpire list should be extended from 32 to 40, so that non-performers (like Vozzo, who made numerous errors throughout the NAB Cup) can be dropped (and not even be considerd as an emergency) until they perform to the appropriate standards again. With the current set up, umpires know they can do whatever they want and the worst that will happen is that they become an emergency the following week. No wonder they're not putting in the effort required to be good umpires.

We could have had Mark Benson, Steve Bucknor and Rudi Koertzsen out there umpiring Saturday night and they would have done a better job.

maccas_no1
11 Mar 2008, 10:29

'Chip On Shoulder Club' Founded by C McDermott

OzSparrow
11 Mar 2008, 12:04

Why should we have transferred the game?

We won the right to host it fair and square by being the most attacking side during the series. End of story!

You seriously think that the Sainters (or any other side, for that matter) would have transferred the game from their home ground in silmilar circumstances? Would you guys have transferred it? Don't think so.

The supposed "non-attendance" is merely a symptom of the public's lack of care factor for the pre-season comp.

For too long the AFC (and other interstate clubs, I might add) has been bent over by the Victorian power base of the AFL and we should not continue to let this sort of sh*te happen.

Well done to the AFC admin in telling the AFL to take a flying leap.

Bring on Rd 1 now that the Mickey Mouse comp is finished.

Asgardian
11 Mar 2008, 14:36
You seriously think that the Sainters (or any other side, for that matter) would have transferred the game from their home ground in silmilar circumstances? Would you guys have transferred it? Don't think so.

Hey, don't shoot the messenger mate

I was only paraphrasing what I'd heard Robert Walls say in the commentary

maccas_no1
11 Mar 2008, 21:36
Hey, don't shoot the messenger mate

I was only paraphrasing what I'd heard Robert Walls say in the commentary

Further proof you are a snide troll

Asgardian
12 Mar 2008, 01:53
Oh good grief

Raikkonen bought up the point about the crowd

To which I replied

"Yeah, Robert Walls rant about the crowd was "interesting""

Then KingsCrow said

"What'd he say"

I replied

"I'd have to watch my wife's tape of the game to get it exact, but it was along the lines of Adelaide refusing to transfer the game to Melbourne, and then only filling half the stadium.

He was extending the rant to both Adelaide & Port Adelaide"

It was a perfectly simple, civil conversation

jenny61_99
12 Mar 2008, 07:49
Further proof you are a snide troll

Time to give it a rest Marty.

johnnypanther
12 Mar 2008, 13:33
a) AAMI holds 51,515
b)It's NAB cup
c) It's been 35C or more in Adelaide for nearly the whole week and will be until next saturday, was 36 or 37 when the game started.
And d) the 28,000 figure was crap. There were more people there than that. The members was where all the empty seats were, the outer was pretty packed

:thumbsu:

i agree and this point has been alluded to many times over the last year or so
- if that was 28,000 then Port Power's crowds for the most part would be around the 22,000 mark
- i've been sitting in the outer dead set centrewing since 1991 and also for the Power matches too and over the last few years i'm convinced the actual crowd figures are incorrect. Obviously, only my perception and i cant prove anything but i'm willing to bet my house on it if i had access and control over the counters.