View Full Version : How many times can one team choke?

Pages : [1] 2

Salopek31
8 Mar 2008, 22:52
In all honesty it is beginning to get beyond a joke (or is that choke?) at the Adelaide Football Corporation.

Since Neil Craig took over the reigns in somewhat controversial circumstances the Crows have a record in big games which has to be seen to be believed.

2005 finals series - lose first final to St Kilda after finishing minor premiers, manage to miss the GF completely by the time September was done and dusted.

2006 NAB GF - a home final to a club which hadn't won silverwear of any sort for 43 years and somehow they manage to fall over at the last hurdle here.

2006 finals series - that West Coast game. 4 goals up in a home prelim final and guess what happenes? :eek:

2007 finals series - the experienced Crows are 6 goals up against a hugely inexperienced Hawthorn outfit and look headed for victory. 1 minute remains in the final term and they lead by just 3 points but Scott Thompson has the footy in the back pocket, surely they could hold on from here? No, not this team. :cool:

2008 NAB GF - another embarrassing last hurdle trip up, again at their home ground and again against a joke club. I bet Triggy is wishing he took that $500k now. :o

Is this current Crows team the biggest bunch of chokers that the game has ever seen???

boncer34
8 Mar 2008, 22:55
Dunno you guys were pretty bad for awhile there.

LJ Garner
8 Mar 2008, 22:56
against a joke club?? at least they werent 114 points down to us as u guys were to geeelong.

Peri Peri Sauce
8 Mar 2008, 23:07
http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/17799.jpg

http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/18059.jpg

http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/18057.jpg

http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/18054.jpg

http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/18053.jpg

Peri Peri Sauce
8 Mar 2008, 23:09
http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/18051.jpg

http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/18052.jpg

http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/18050.jpg

http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/17813.jpg

http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/17916.jpg

LJ Garner
8 Mar 2008, 23:10
http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/17799.jpg

http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/18059.jpg

http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/18057.jpg

http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/18054.jpg

http://www.gspimages.com.au/images/thumbs/main/18053.jpg
add on this and you can make a story out of it.
http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5668220,00.jpg

Peri Peri Sauce
8 Mar 2008, 23:12
add on this and you can make a story out of it.
http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5668220,00.jpg
http://img369.imageshack.us/img369/7840/choking769956evt0.jpg

LJ Garner
8 Mar 2008, 23:13
rofl is that tredrea?? thats hilarious!!

Glenno23
8 Mar 2008, 23:38
About the same amount of times as Power it would seem. 01, 02, 03 seem familiar?

Except we don't lose GF's by 119 points

Bit rich coming from a Power supporter, i mean really, i was certain there wouldn't be anything here from a Power supporter, i thought you would still be licking your wounds after losing a real GF by that margin

Its funny how no one says pre season is important (until you lose) and then everyone lets rip

westdog54
9 Mar 2008, 01:03
That is the funniest photo caption I think I've ever read.

The look on his face makes it believeable as well.

Even if you're not the author of the caption, thanks for posting it. Had a good hearty laugh.

Port85
9 Mar 2008, 03:19
Peri Peri Sauce, i'd quote your post but i can't be bothered...

yes, port deserved to be bagged for losing the gf by the record margin... but when will you learn that that game has absolutely f**k all to do with you losing to St Kilda, in a game where you dominated the 1st quarter and kicked 10 pts to 4pts?

Peri Peri Sauce
9 Mar 2008, 03:27
Peri Peri Sauce, i'd quote your post but i can't be bothered...

yes, port deserved to be bagged for losing the gf by the record margin... but when will you learn that that game has absolutely f**k all to do with you losing to St Kilda, in a game where you dominated the 1st quarter and kicked 10 pts to 4pts?
Why would I do that when I can post Port Power pics???

http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s160/skotey/portpowerlogo.gif

Port85
9 Mar 2008, 03:37
ok... not sure i understand exactly why that works as an insult but hell, Australia is a free country and i will defend your right to insult port adelaide to the hilt regardless of whether it makes sense or not!!!

also...wtf are we doing up at 3am on a website anyway ;)

FlyingCrow
9 Mar 2008, 04:36
In all honesty it is beginning to get beyond a joke (or is that choke?) at the Adelaide Football Corporation.

Since Neil Craig took over the reigns in somewhat controversial circumstances the Crows have a record in big games which has to be seen to be believed.

2005 finals series - lose first final to St Kilda after finishing minor premiers, manage to miss the GF completely by the time September was done and dusted.

2006 NAB GF - a home final to a club which hadn't won silverwear of any sort for 43 years and somehow they manage to fall over at the last hurdle here.

2006 finals series - that West Coast game. 4 goals up in a home prelim final and guess what happenes? :eek:

2007 finals series - the experienced Crows are 6 goals up against a hugely inexperienced Hawthorn outfit and look headed for victory. 1 minute remains in the final term and they lead by just 3 points but Scott Thompson has the footy in the back pocket, surely they could hold on from here? No, not this team. :cool:

2008 NAB GF - another embarrassing last hurdle trip up, again at their home ground and again against a joke club. I bet Triggy is wishing he took that $500k now. :o

Is this current Crows team the biggest bunch of chokers that the game has ever seen???
I guess we have learnt from the Masters

Seriously buddy it was the Nothing cup, and historically the Runners up do better than the Winners...But I Shouldnt have to tell you guys that?? Just to Jolt Your Memory

Port Adelaide V Brisbane Lions 17.9 (111) - 3.8 (26)

http://users.chariot.net.au/~byoung/wanganeen/wanganeen19.jpg

But

http://www.foxsports.com.au/common/imagedata/0,5001,5438650,00.jpg

topjars
9 Mar 2008, 09:48

Nup, we'll never get beyond your choking record LOL:p

Youve had the chokers tag for awhile now havent you? You must be so annoyed ;heh heh POTKETTLE BLAK

Leather Poisoning
9 Mar 2008, 09:52
http://i153.photobucket.com/albums/s224/matjfitz/choke.jpg

pavilion103
9 Mar 2008, 10:01
Although the power has proven to choke in the past. You could hardly call the GF loss last year a choke! As 1. they were not expected to win 2. played clearly the best side in the league.

At least in 2004, they were able to redeem the past chokes of 2001,2002,2003..... what have the Crows redeemed??? nothing

the only premierships you have won are when u finished 4th and 5th and in a final series where St Kilda and the Bulldogs (what absolute powerhouses) were the best teams.... Go figure.....

jazz
9 Mar 2008, 10:06
2008 NAB GF - another embarrassing last hurdle trip up, again at their home ground and again against a joke club.

Saints with all their best players in are no joke club. They'll be well about Port if they keep their players on the park.

And how can Port supporter even mention an "embarrassing last hurdle trip up"?

Glenno23
9 Mar 2008, 10:40
What's even funnier is i get a PM this morning from one of the Port supporters (not naming names) after i posted in this thread last night having a go at me

taking Bay 13 a little too seriously me thinks.......

Stats Man
9 Mar 2008, 11:20
Semi-Final 2001 v Hawthorn - home ground (top four)

Qualifying Final 2002 v Collingwood - home ground (top four)

Qualifying Final 2003 v Sydney - home ground (top four) (I'm copying and pasting by now)

Reeaalllyy...

Bay Pie
9 Mar 2008, 11:41
Semi-Final 2001 v Hawthorn - home ground (top four)

Qualifying Final 2002 v Collingwood - home ground (top four) no Buckley

Qualifying Final 2003 v Sydney - home ground (top four) (I'm copying and pasting by now) no Michael O'Loughlin

PF 2003 v Pies - pumped at the 'G'

Reeaalllyy...

Port really are in no position to create a thread about choking.

Slammer
9 Mar 2008, 11:51

Sal 31. Mate, what a great fishing trip - you've hooked a lot of fish, unfortunately they're all minnows, so just laugh at all those you hooked and throw them back in....before they "choke to death"! :)

mark73
9 Mar 2008, 13:44
Some massive counter punches thrown by the Adelaide supporters in here.

Should be interesting to see how the Port Adelaide supporters respond. :)

FlyingCrow
9 Mar 2008, 13:48
Nup, we'll never get beyond your choking record LOL:p

Youve had the chokers tag for awhile now havent you? You must be so annoyed ;heh heh POTKETTLE BLAK
They have gone beyond that tag and now are known as the World Champions at Losing Aussie Rules Grand Finalists.

At least they can say they live up to the Club Song. "History in the Making"

AKA Heartless

Toots Hibbert
9 Mar 2008, 15:45
Port really are in no position to create a thread about choking.
You had two chances to beat Brisbane and it ended in tears. We got it right first time.

Bay Pie
9 Mar 2008, 16:40
https://www.colliwobbles.com/catalog/images/Year_after_Year.gif

You had two chances to beat Brisbane and it ended in tears. We got it right first time.

I'm sure your finals appearances in 2001, 2002 & 2003 ended in jubilation.

I won't even mention 2007. Whoosh.

Peri Peri Sauce
9 Mar 2008, 17:11
http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/images/AFL/AFL%20A-E/PChapman246.jpg

KingsCrow
9 Mar 2008, 17:33
lol, choking in a NAB Cup

is that even possible?

Porps_is_HOT_loz
9 Mar 2008, 17:42
lol, choking in a NAB Cup

is that even possible?
Im pretty sure a choke is when you loose by more then 50 points so on not 5 points!!
And KC its not possible.
This thread is the Biggest Bulls**t i have ever seen.
http://i29.tinypic.com/28tc2p.jpg

Big claps to you port fans ^^ BIG claps to you!

http://i27.tinypic.com/24q96h5.jpg

Im sorry you have to hear this Port fans but this was actually Mailed to us by a Port fan

KingsCrow
9 Mar 2008, 17:56
To me choking is when you have a tonne of pressure put on you/your team and you crumble. You fall to peices.

Why on earth would a team choke in a NAB cup game. haha its just stupid.

Toots Hibbert
9 Mar 2008, 18:05
I'm sure your finals appearances in 2001, 2002 & 2003 ended in jubilation.....
http://img337.imageshack.us/img337/7720/colliwobblesanimationuh5.gif

SuperPower
9 Mar 2008, 18:11
http://www.news.com.au/common/imagedata/0,,5927561,00.jpg

Cheer up guys, it's only a practice match ;)

KingsCrow
9 Mar 2008, 18:15
Every Loss hurts.

I can't imagine what it would feel like to lose by 119 points in front of 100,000 people though.

FlyingCrow
9 Mar 2008, 18:41

Cheer up guys, it's only a practice match ;)
I think there is sweat in his eyes....**** it was hot at the game.

Also shows they have a bit of heart...

SuperPower
9 Mar 2008, 19:06
Also shows they have a bit of heart...

More heart than the no shows that didn't turn up.

FlyingCrow
9 Mar 2008, 19:15
LOL

I guess Crows supporters being the "Thetre Going Chardonnay Set" were to busy at the Festival or Fringe.

Plus it is to hard to have a BBQ in a a carpark on a 40d day.

bernie lomax
9 Mar 2008, 20:40

F***, you must live under a big mushroom!!!

SuperPower
9 Mar 2008, 20:43
I heard the Sydney flames have lost the last 6 womens basketball Grand Finals. :eek:

FlyingCrow
10 Mar 2008, 11:12
F***, you must live under a big mushroom!!!
He obviously does not go to Port games and experience the half empty stadium.

SuperPower
10 Mar 2008, 11:39
He obviously does not go to Port games and experience the half empty stadium.
No, I'd rather go watch the crows, more old people who share their hot tea and scones and its easier to get out of the place with so many of them leaving early. :thumbsu:

KingsCrow
10 Mar 2008, 11:42
I like going to Port Games because I get a whole bay to myself, even at the showdowns. :p

FlyingCrow
10 Mar 2008, 11:42
No, I'd rather go watch the crows, more old people who share their hot tea and scones and its easier to get out of the place with so many of them leaving early. :thumbsu:
Mate you have no idea. I go to both games. I live near Footy Park. Takes a Crows crowd twice as long to leave,

I also see more people leave earlier when the team is losing. Mind you when Port lose the game is over at half time and you guys get thrashed, due to the peas sized hearts of 90% of the players. re GF.

Porps_is_HOT_loz
10 Mar 2008, 11:54
I like going to Port Games because I get a whole bay to myself, even at the showdowns. :p
Me to.

So relaxing

And quite.. i could just sleep:thumbsu:

SuperPower
10 Mar 2008, 11:54
Mate you have no idea. I go to both games. I live near Footy Park. Takes a Crows crowd twice as long to leave,

I also see more people leave earlier when the team is losing. Mind you when Port lose the game is over at half time and you guys get thrashed, due to the peas sized hearts of 90% of the players. re GF.
Well maybe if we played 2 extra defenders like the crows do, we wouldn't of lost by so much. But that dosen't do the game any good does it!

SuperPower
10 Mar 2008, 12:00
Me to.

So relaxing

And quite.. i could just sleep:thumbsu:

Lol if you think crows games have more atmosphere than a Port game.

KingsCrow
10 Mar 2008, 12:02
When spotlight is running a 'sale' at the exact time as the Crows game, yes.

FlyingCrow
10 Mar 2008, 12:03
Well maybe if we played 2 extra defenders like the crows do, we wouldn't of lost by so much. But that dosen't do the game any good does it!
Actually you do

P Burgoyne and C Cornes float in the backlines and rarely have a direct apponent. They are your loose guys in defence quite often. But you dont see that on the telly.

Port crowds are louder than Crows, but there is also an echo in a half filled stadium. The two NAB games with only 10K people there was quite louder than I expected, due to the echo and the acoustics of the ground.

Porps_is_HOT_loz
10 Mar 2008, 12:05
I find it really funny how our NAB cup crowd was the amount Port get at normal games

Porps_is_HOT_loz
10 Mar 2008, 12:06
Actually you do

P Burgoyne and C Cornes float in the backlines and rarely have a direct apponent. They are your loose guys in defence quite often. But you dont see that on the telly.

Port crowds are louder than Crows, but there is also an echo in a half filled stadium. The two NAB games with only 10K people there was quite louder than I expected, due to the echo and the acoustics of the ground.
Port arn't louder!
Theres just heaps of people screaming coz their choking

Porps_is_HOT_loz
10 Mar 2008, 12:08
Lol if you think crows games have more atmosphere than a Port game.
read above and if i get a bay 2 myself its quite their

SuperPower
10 Mar 2008, 12:09
I find it really funny how our NAB cup crowd was the amount Port get at normal games
I find it funny that Port could draw 10,000 more to it's Pre seasons Grand Final at Football Park than what the crows could.

SuperPower
10 Mar 2008, 12:11
read above and if i get a bay 2 myself its quite their
Let me guess, you are not one of the old people?

KingsCrow
10 Mar 2008, 12:11
I find it funny that Port could draw 10,000 more to it's Pre seasons Grand Final at Football Park than what the crows could.

But get only 23,000 to a premiership season game.

Sounds Very Port 'Bandwagon' Power to me.

FlyingCrow
10 Mar 2008, 12:13

well the best attended game was rnd 22 against Freo. A game that Freo wanted to lose to hinder the WCE.

SuperPower
10 Mar 2008, 12:14

It was too hot, prices are too expensive, too much on, it is almost Easter, it was 1/2 delayed on tv, ohh, sorry that's your excuses. :o

KingsCrow
10 Mar 2008, 12:17
32,000 paid for memberships

23,000 to the game.

FlyingCrow
10 Mar 2008, 12:18
It was too hot, prices are too expensive, too much on, it is almost Easter, it was 1/2 delayed on tv, ohh, sorry that's your excuses. :o
Our Nothing Cup Crowd was only just behind your 2006 Average Crowd

2006 Membership 35,648 Average Crowd 28,546

FlyingCrow
10 Mar 2008, 12:20
Our Nothing Cup Crowd was only just behind your 2006 Average Crowd

2006 Membership 35,648 Average Crowd 28,546
and Hello the 2007 average Corwd Figure dropped closer our Nothing Cup crowd

Port Adelaide Power Total 306,572 average crowd 27,870

http://www.theroar.com.au/2008/01/25/football-codes-crowd-attendance-afl-leads-the-way/

KingsCrow
10 Mar 2008, 12:25
and Hello the 2007 average Corwd Figure dropped closer our Nothing Cup crowd

Port Adelaide Power Total 306,572 average crowd 27,870

http://www.theroar.com.au/2008/01/25/football-codes-crowd-attendance-afl-leads-the-way/

and was only that high because of the massive bandwagon parade in round 22 when 44,000 screaming 'fans' turned up.

FlyingCrow
10 Mar 2008, 12:28
and was only that high because of the massive bandwagon parade in round 22 when 44,000 screaming 'fans' turned up.
Exactly

worst in the Comp

Collingwood Magpies AFL 11 603,881 54,898
Essendon Bombers AFL 11 575,232 52,294
Adelaide Crows AFL 11 461,910 41,992
Carlton Blues AFL 11 457,418 41,583
West Coast Eagles AFL 11 448,703 40,791
Richmond Tigers AFL 11 421,207 38,292
St Kilda Saints AFL 11 417,135 37,921
Fremantle Dockers AFL 11 412,213 37,474
Sydney Swans AFL 11 391,953 35,632
Hawthorn Hawks AFL 11 369,052 33,550
Geelong Cats AFL 11 347,016 31,547
Melbourne Demons AFL 11 324,903 29,537
Brisbane Lions AFL 11 317,325 28,848
Western Bulldogs AFL 11 316,551 28,777
Kangaroos AFL 11 311,210 28,292
Port Adelaide Power AFL 11 306,572 27,870

KingsCrow
10 Mar 2008, 12:32
The Gold Coast Power anyone?

FlyingCrow
10 Mar 2008, 12:38
they are the only club to have a declining long term Trend in attendances

bomba4eva
10 Mar 2008, 12:46
Damn, I was hoping this thread was about Collingwood:(
They are the biggest chokers going around. Overrated bunch of ferals. 1 flag in about 50 years shows exactly how good they are. Pathetic joke of a club.

Chief Crow
10 Mar 2008, 12:46
If losing in a NAB cup game is considered choking that means Port choked against Carlton at home in the first round. YOU TOOL

Malibu#27
10 Mar 2008, 12:51
If losing in a NAB cup game is considered choking that means Port choked against Carlton at home in the first round. YOU TOOL

Huh .... wouldnt that mean there are about 176 chokes every minor round ???

Chief Crow
10 Mar 2008, 13:07
EXACTLY. Thats why saying losing a pre season game is considered choking is the biggest load of crap i have heard.

Malibu#27
10 Mar 2008, 13:12
EXACTLY. Thats why saying losing a pre season game is considered choking is the biggest load of crap i have heard.

Which is why your players were crying after the game ?

Hell I had a supporter in the pub I was at in tears after the loss.... had me in stitches. The bigger concern is a continuing trend of losing games with something riding on them.

Porps_is_HOT_loz
10 Mar 2008, 13:17
Which is why your players were crying after the game ?

Hell I had a supporter in the pub I was at in tears after the loss.... had me in stitches. The bigger concern is a continuing trend of losing games with something riding on them.
Crying?????????????????????????????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? ????????????????????????????????????????
Naa dont think so
Is that why all the Crows Players at the Crwos Shed where all happy as chappy??

BWST
10 Mar 2008, 13:18

Our crowds are three times as noisy and passionate, even with way less fans.

Thats heart.

Malibu#27
10 Mar 2008, 13:22
Crying?????????????????????????????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? ????????????????????????????????????????
Naa dont think so

Toots Hibbert
10 Mar 2008, 13:25
To me choking is when you have a tonne of pressure put on you/your team and you crumble. You fall to peices.

Why on earth would a team choke in a NAB cup game. haha its just stupid.
See that's what's got us laughing a bit at the Crows. :)

Porps_is_HOT_loz
10 Mar 2008, 13:32
Yeahh totally convinced me that their crying.
Really convinced...
Thought of getting sweat of face? Thats how I do it!
This looks more like crying to me...
http://i25.tinypic.com/jkhrf7.jpg
http://i27.tinypic.com/2jayb8w.jpg
And there is more to come

Malibu#27
10 Mar 2008, 13:44
And there is more to come

NO shit - they just got thumped in a grand final - of course they are upset, and I'd be pissed off if they weren't ........ or do they just have sweat on their faces ... ... hear a new one evey day :)

Toots Hibbert
10 Mar 2008, 13:53
Yeahh totally convinced me that their crying.
Really convinced...
Thought of getting sweat of face? Thats how I do it!...
Don't kid yourself Porps. Granted the NAB cup is not as prestigious these days compared to the last time Port won, but still, have a read of this:-

http://img510.imageshack.us/img510/3001/crowscryingbh9.jpg
"ADELAIDE is using the "devastation" of a shock loss to Geelong two years ago as motivation to win Saturday's NAB Cup grand final.

Midfielder Brent Reilly said the Crows were rocked by losing the 2006 pre-season grand final to the underdog Cats at AAMI Stadium and wanted redemption.

And he said anyone who thinks the pre-season competition counts for nothing should have witnessed the despair in the Crows changerooms when they were beaten by a late Cam Mooney goal".

SuperPower
10 Mar 2008, 13:53

They were happy to lose a Grand final abiet a pre season one?
Says alot about the club.

KingsCrow
10 Mar 2008, 13:59
Our crowds are three times as noisy and passionate, even with way less fans.

Thats heart.

I wouldn't say a Port Game is as loud. But there is more constant noise.

Porps_is_HOT_loz
10 Mar 2008, 14:02
NO shit - they just got thumped in a grand final - of course they are upset, and I'd be pissed off if they weren't ........ or do they just have sweat on their faces ... ... hear a new one evey day :)
Just showing what crying looks like

KingsCrow
10 Mar 2008, 14:04

You may claim they are crying, I'd say they are a little dejected, was bloody hot and they lost by a goal. Now I don't think that is reason to have a cry.

Nor do I beleive the Power had ANY right to have a cry after the GF. Why didn't they show a little heart during the game, what the hell is the use in crying AFTER a game where you got smashed. Why are you upset, you got smashed, there is no 'what if...' when you lose by that much.

Porps_is_HOT_loz
10 Mar 2008, 14:06
You may claim they are crying, I'd say they are a little dejected, was bloody hot and they lost by a goal. Now I don't think that is reason to have a cry.

Nor do I beleive the Power had ANY right to have a cry after the GF. Why didn't they show a little heart during the game, what the hell is the use in crying AFTER a game where you got smashed. Why are you upset, you got smashed, there is no 'what if...' when you lose by that much.
KC you legend:thumbsu:
You just explained it all:thumbsu:

thesouthernend
10 Mar 2008, 14:20
When my petrol got milked out of the Commodore the other night I realized that the Crows were playing at Footy Park again. No theft at all during the off season, but come the football season and the Crows home games, I lock everything up, they steal almost anything and the mess they leave in the streets is disgusting.

Malibu#27
10 Mar 2008, 14:22
KC you legend:thumbsu:
You just explained it all:thumbsu:

I swear its like working with a sixth grader.

wce4premiership
10 Mar 2008, 14:45
This thread backfired a lot. :D :p

FlyingCrow
10 Mar 2008, 14:49
When my petrol got milked out of the Commodore the other night I realized that the Crows were playing at Footy Park again. No theft at all during the off season, but come the football season and the Crows home games, I lock everything up, they steal almost anything and the mess they leave in the streets is disgusting.
we must be neighbours.....I would say it is the same for all matches...unless you are so far out that Port people dont use your street for a carpark...

BWST
10 Mar 2008, 15:19
I wouldn't say a Port Game is as loud. But there is more constant noise.

I would say Port games are louder, and a more constant noise. I've been to both against different teams.

chewysnake
10 Mar 2008, 15:43
I guess we have learnt from the Masters

Seriously buddy it was the Nothing cup, and historically the Runners up do better than the Winners...But I Shouldnt have to tell you guys that?? Just to Jolt Your Memory

Port Adelaide V Brisbane Lions 17.9 (111) - 3.8 (26)

http://users.chariot.net.au/~byoung/wanganeen/wanganeen19.jpg

But

http://www.foxsports.com.au/common/imagedata/0,5001,5438650,00.jpg

Interestingly without knowing you'd struggle to be able to tell the difference between the Nothing Cup Winners and the September Cup winners

fishbowl
10 Mar 2008, 17:54
Geelong did it for 44 years.

KingsCrow
10 Mar 2008, 17:59
I would say Port games are louder, and a more constant noise. I've been to both against different teams.

I would say a Crows game would get a louder noise.

But what I am saying is a port game gets constant loud noise. Because you guys just dont know when to be quiet ( Port V Geelong, Anzac Round...the last post...hahahahhaahahhaa)

i_love_the_hoff
10 Mar 2008, 17:59
i bet if it were adelaide playing a grand final at the MCG and they were getting thrashed they would leave at quarter time. No passion at that club

KingsCrow
10 Mar 2008, 18:03
"I swear its like working with a sixth grader. "

Malibu#27
10 Mar 2008, 18:27
"I swear its like working with a sixth grader. "

:D:D:D:thumbsu:

Peri Peri Sauce
10 Mar 2008, 18:33
i bet if it were adelaide playing a grand final at the MCG and they were getting thrashed they would leave at quarter time. No passion at that club
LOL.

HAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAH LMAO!!!!

sworc36
11 Mar 2008, 01:50

yeah righto....considering all the "so called" port people I know dont even attend h&a games but seem to on chorus come finals time....real passionate supporters your minnow club has:rolleyes:

sworc36
11 Mar 2008, 01:55

hmmm just ask the the shop owners in West Lakes how many things get stollen from their shops when port are playing accross the road. I know a girl who works there and she told me that the shop owners have to be absolutely on their guard when your mob are playing at Aami

Rory
11 Mar 2008, 02:10
hmmm just ask the the shop owners in West Lakes how many things get stollen from their shops when port are playing accross the road. I know a girl who works there and she told me that the shop owners have to be absolutely on their guard when your mob are playing at Aami

Oh well if your sisters, boyfriends dog cleaner told you then it must be true!

relapse
11 Mar 2008, 11:47
So lets get this straight a side (adelaide) who are going to finish between 9-12 in the opinion of most footy experts getting beaten by St Kilda who are rated higher and will most probably finishin the top 4 and in the preseason a choke ??

So does Port losing against Carlton in the first round at home constitute a choke as well ???

relapse
11 Mar 2008, 11:48
Oh well if your sisters, boyfriends dog cleaner told you then it must be true!

and if it comes from a Port supporter then it must be true :D

i_love_the_hoff
11 Mar 2008, 17:03
yeah righto....considering all the "so called" port people I know dont even attend h&a games but seem to on chorus come finals time....real passionate supporters your minnow club has:rolleyes:

as it has been said a couple of times on the AFL main board,
30,000 port adelaide supporters make 3 times as much noise as 50, 000 adelaide fans.

''so called'' huh, well if we go on bigfooty to talk about our club then i am sure that we are not so called. So called are people who are as tight as a fishes arse hole to buy tickets for the games and are to lazy to get off their arses. The point being, us pafc supporters on bigfooty are not ''so called port people''.

relapse
11 Mar 2008, 17:22
as it has been said a couple of times on the AFL main board,
30,000 port adelaide supporters make 3 times as much noise as 50, 000 adelaide fans.

''so called'' huh, well if we go on bigfooty to talk about our club then i am sure that we are not so called. So called are people who are as tight as a fishes arse hole to buy tickets for the games and are to lazy to get off their arses. The point being, us pafc supporters on bigfooty are not ''so called port people''.

I love how port fans create these so called myths and the supporters continue to perpetuate them supposedly as fact.

This is just like when Port supporters claim that they wouldnt ever turn on their team when they are losing and even worse leave when they are losing :D

It all comes down to perception and because Port have a smaller crowd the number of people that dont cheer is obviously smaller than Adelaide because the crowd is far smaller whereas the percentages of who cheers and who doesnt is most probably fairly close. They then throw out comments like, but when Port have 40k it is louder when the Crows do, but this is because 40k at a Port game is usually only for a marquee match that is high stakes (finals etc) of course a prelim or something for Port the crowd would be louder than Crows V Sydney during the middle of the season.

Many people have commented that the crowd for the Adelaide prelim final against West Coast in 06 was about the loudest ever at AAMI stadium. Its the old thing of Port supporters trying to create a cop out to justify lack of success (ie you have more supporters, but our supporters are better or louder), that wont ever change with Port I have seen them try and claim that somehow their 2004 flag was a bigger achievement than the 97 and 98 flags for Adelaide. They try and tell themselves that rubbish to sleep easier at night.

Port85
11 Mar 2008, 19:43
I love how port fans create these so called myths and the supporters continue to perpetuate them supposedly as fact.

Many people have commented that the crowd for the Adelaide prelim final against West Coast in 06 was about the loudest ever at AAMI stadium.

I have seen them try and claim that somehow their 2004 flag was a biggier achievement than the 97 and 98 flags for Adelaide. They try and tell themselves that rubbish to sleep easier at night.

who are "many people"? crows supporters? independent sound engineers with hi tech sound analysing equipment? created your own myth here buddy.

I've never claimed 97/98 are linked in any way to 04... & i certainly don't need to tell myself anything to help myself sleep easier at night, certainly not about the crows, pretty much irrelevant to my sleep.

KingsCrow
12 Mar 2008, 00:26
So called are people who are as tight as a fishes arse hole to buy tickets for the games and are to lazy to get off their arses. The point , us pafc supporters

Edited. Sounds much better now.