View Full Version : Blues Girl's great big Glenelg Oval adventure

Uncle Steve
21 Jul 2002, 02:37
Just thought I'd create a thread for you Anne :)

I don't want to steal ALL your thunder, so I will just make a couple of observations:

- Glenelg was SLAUGHTERED by the umpires in the final term.

- The Sturt supporters are, by and large, complete pansies.

During the second term (before Anne came over to say G'day), a Sturt supporter behind me took me on in a verbal joust. All was fine, until he had a go at Uncle Steve's hairstyle. "At least Feasty doesn't use as much hair gel as you - and I bet that's not hair gel either, that's something else"

That, as they say, is below the belt.

He asked for all that he got.

Screw the footy - I turned around and gave this ****er hell for the rest of the quarter.

"Are you perving at my hairdo sunshine? Do you fancy me? I bet you want to give me great big kiss on the bottom - learned all that from Feasty too I bet, etc, ad nauseam"

It took less than 2 minutes for me to reduce this turkey to a giggling heap. He left at the half-time break, never to return.

Often I get into a bit of a yelling match at the footy. Sometimes I come out on top - sometimes not. Sometimes I see the opposition fans run from me with their tails between their legs. Today was one such example of this.

On the other side, I think I met the Sturt supporter known as "Alex". He came into the club after the match and consoled me on the loss. What a guy! ;)

Uncle Steve
21 Jul 2002, 21:13
Originally posted by Uncle Steve
- The Sturt supporters are, by and large, complete pansies.

This seemed like a clever and witty thing to say at 1 AM with a skin full of grog.

Today, with a more sober and better rested disposition, I realise that this in fact isn't clever or witty.

No offence is intended to any of the BigFooty Sturt fans.

... and I still hope to see Blues Girl's report of her great big Glenelg adventure :)

Blues_Girl
21 Jul 2002, 23:13
Thank you for that Uncle Steve :)

Yes my adventure down at Glenelg was a big one!

As not to bore you all....i'll cut to the highlights

*Getting a buy one get one free fish and chips on the back of the woolies shopper docket
*The fish and chips being the best we've ever had
*We had the pleasure of Uncle Steve's wit and humor
*WE WON :D *yay*

However the highlight of the day was..........

WE SAW EASTY!!!!!!!! :D

Easty it was lovely to see you and you're so right about those Matthew Lloyd looks of yours!!!!

P.S Hello Jerome :D

naughty monkey
22 Jul 2002, 15:55
Originally posted by Uncle Steve
During the second term (before Anne came over to say G'day), a Sturt supporter behind me took me on in a verbal joust. All was fine, until he had a go at Uncle Steve's hairstyle. "At least Feasty doesn't use as much hair gel as you - and I bet that's not hair gel either, that's something else"

That, as they say, is below the belt.

He asked for all that he got.

Screw the footy - I turned around and gave this ****er hell for the rest of the quarter.

"Are you perving at my hairdo sunshine? Do you fancy me? I bet you want to give me great big kiss on the bottom - learned all that from Feasty too I bet, etc, ad nauseam"

It took less than 2 minutes for me to reduce this turkey to a giggling heap. He left at the half-time break, never to return.

This was one of the best comebacks I have ever heard at the footy, the whole hill (what's left of it) was in hysterics!

Even my old man had a laugh at that!

Your timing was immaculate Uncle Steve :D

p.s. thanks for the piccy

Jerome
23 Jul 2002, 07:20
I have to agree with Naughty Monkey, that Sturt supporter deserved everything he got.

Hello BG, it was nice to see you and Go South again.

I had a great time down at the Bay Oval and even enjoyed a few full strength beers (cos that's all they had) at the Bay club. a few things that stick out in my mind that were a cause for concern were:

Kym Koster - Steve decided he would go out to the three quarter time huddle to "yell some sense into them". I went along thinking this could be quite entertaining and found Koster to be the only Bay player to firing the lads up. Byrne had to be yelled at to say anything, Honour seemed fairly reserved.So it was a bit dissapointing to see Kym doing it all on his own.the other thing about Kym was his use of the english language. You would have thought that Kevin Bloody Wilson was his english teacher from the way he carried on!

I watched Honour give his speech at the bay club after the match. At the table in front of the stage were two bay supporters in their club ties who looked like a couple of officials. The thing that annoyed me is that they had their backs to Honour the whole time he was on the stage. they did not even turn to look at him. Very disrespectful. Doesnt matter if you like him or not, its not easy to front up to your supporters after a loss like that, they should'nt have ignored him.

And then for some stupid reason, the club put on free beer for the players. One free beer each to say thanks for losing.

I had a great time at Snouts fence and will make my way down there to do it all again for the Centrals V Glenelg match.

cheers

Jerome