View Full Version : What brought you to Bay 13
Anthony_
9 Mar 2008, 01:28
For the first six months on Big Footy I rarely ventured out of the Bulldogs Board. I saw Big Footy just as a lifeline for Doggies information living up north in Thugby land. Occasionally posted in the Main Board, but lets be honest only so much of "rate a player" type threads you can take.
My first foray into Bay 13 was with a hook in my mouth getting baited by Kooley and his love/hate relationship with the Bulldogs.
Took awhile to appreciate this place, as a newbie it takes some time to recognise at a glance the quality threads from the trash. Nowadays I rate it highly as the most entertaining board in Big Footy. :thumbsu:
So what brought you to Bay13?
Hodge2Franklin
9 Mar 2008, 01:33
Great post, very potent ... :)
For me it was an accident. I got involved in a debate in a thread that ended up down here and realised the change once in Bay 13. Once the Bay 13 style protection (i.e the slinging and resultant passion) kicked in, I noticed people open up and say things I hadn't seen on the main board. What I mean here is that it seems that people feel more willing to show their passionate views when they can hide it in a bit of light-hearted attack if that makes sense.
For me I was hooked.
I had found a way to touch a sensitive nerve and hence have some really awesome stuff thrown back that has taught me heaps about the other clubs and it's supporters.
I get labelled as a troll but it kind of annoys me at times because everything I post is basically a genuine question painted in a way to attract a more passionate reponse. I think the fact that the clubs I have bantered with the most are the supporters I get a long with best on here, vindicates this a bit ...
:eek: :):thumbsu:
I basically found Big Footy by accident and used the main board and the Essendon board as a source of information and opinion. Eventually I got bored of the homogeneous thoughts people were posting after the season and its aftermath was finished.
I began to visit Bay 13 more and more, using it as a source of entertainment and found that you get much more passionate football debates at times and piss yourself laughing at others. I was more of a passive reader until I joined in and started posting in Bay 13. Took me a little while to catch on and not get sucked in by trolls and has been a lot of fun since.
Mr Lizard
9 Mar 2008, 03:34
:confused:
There is somewhere else to post?
^^ Mr L, there always is and
Anthony
How confessional do you want this?
I found b13 by accident and was totally unaware of the forums' complexities and the many sub-forums on BF. I stuck to the club board as a way of keeping in touch with AFL and still do as many others I’m sure when away.
Fred infracted me and gave me a very early holiday, 10th or so post for a thread that deserved a trip to Majorca return. Went on a pie tripping extravaganza for a week but was blindsided to the realities. Some wisened pie mentioned prior to Fred's closing note (lol) that it should have been posted on b13.
KS as we now share this legacy let John 21:9 “Though blue we shall strive for redemption” be the new mantra.
Holy Grail it hasn’t been but has given me an insight into my own pathetic labors with the less apocryphal teams before Fred’s cheaper sunlit isle helped me truly find the iconology of true Satanism.
Maldives?
diablo14
9 Mar 2008, 04:50
I signed in to Big Footy one afternoon, and had to go find where the pungent odour was coming from. Turns out it was Bay 13.
I predate Bay 13. Pretty much everything on here was on the main board, but all mixed up and not as unique. From time to time you'd have a lot of great threads with various arguments and sub-arguments... but a lot of the time you'd also get worthless one liners and trolls who could simply not troll properly. Instead of writing something smart, they'd write sms speak like "lolz Fev has a big chinz hahaha". Bay 13 was initially used as a dumping ground (and still is) for those sorts of things, but it has grown a life of its own... originally I'd stay clear away because a lot of the stuff wasn't worth it but in recent times it's been very interesting.
I find Bay13 humorous at times, and some of the content is worthwhile reading... especially from bushie and H2F, I love your work guys. :thumbsu:
Hodge2Franklin
9 Mar 2008, 05:15
I predate Bay 13. Pretty much everything on here was on the main board, but all mixed up and not as unique. From time to time you'd have a lot of great threads with various arguments and sub-arguments... but a lot of the time you'd also get worthless one liners and trolls who could simply not troll properly. Instead of writing something smart, they'd write sms speak like "lolz Fev has a big chinz hahaha". Bay 13 was initially used as a dumping ground (and still is) for those sorts of things, but it has grown a life of its own... originally I'd stay clear away because a lot of the stuff wasn't worth it but in recent times it's been very interesting.
I find Bay13 humorous at times, and some of the content is worthwhile reading... especially from bushie and H2F, I love your work guys. :thumbsu:
Thanks mate ... You are one of the absolute best here and I must admit I love it when I see Thrawn down the bottom of the board here on Bay 13. Don't be shy mate, Bay 13 has some crap, but also some of the best stuff if you dig a bit.
Leather Poisoning
9 Mar 2008, 09:20
I used to constantly shit-stir people on the main board. People kept saying "bay 13" "piss off troll".
Had no idea what they were on about until I had a bit of a look around.
NOW I GET IT.
Now it's Bay 13 for fun, Main Board for more serious discussion and the hawks board for speaking with my own kind.
Hawkamania!
9 Mar 2008, 10:27
Firefox via the intertubes brought me to Bay13.
I enjoy Bay 13 mainly due to the posters. There are some that exhibit great intelligence and even when they are bagging myself or my club, I get some good laughs out of those posters
Of course there are the other posters that rely on the same one or two tactics in virtually every post. To those bottom feeders, learn from the masters and pick up your game.
Of course the best thing about Bay 13 is that it intensifies rivalries between supporters and creates more interest in those games even amongst supporters of other teams.
I saw a "controversial" post on the main board quoted and the reply was :bay 13: so I figured bay 13 = a little bit of relaxed rules and more mud slinging.......sweet.
Leather Poisoning
9 Mar 2008, 10:36
Firefox via the intertubes brought me to Bay13.
I enjoy Bay 13 mainly due to the posters. There are some that exhibit great intelligence and even when they are bagging myself or my club, I get some good laughs out of those posters
Of course there are the other posters that rely on the same one or two tactics in virtually every post. To those bottom feeders, learn from the masters and pick up your game.
Of course the best thing about Bay 13 is that it intensifies rivalries between supporters and creates more interest in those games even amongst supporters of other teams.
This is true - I remember walking out of the semi-final last year, found a parking ticket on my car, had to renew my MCC membership before I could get into the members , so the night cost me about $400. The thing on my mind as I went back to the car "man those roos fans are gonna give me hell as soon as I log on to bigfooty"
Thanks Thrawn:thumbsu::)
You know that I think that you are one of THE top posters on this entire site.
Always composed and always on the money.:thumbsu:
I dips my lid.
For me....I am pretty sure I walked into a Bay 13 thread where a trolling Jeff Dunne was making an outlandish claim about a Freo player.
Well I saw red baby and really went to town....not knowing or understanding the concept of trolling or how bay 13 worked.
Consequently JD and Co sat me on my arse.
So I had another go, and was sat on my freckle again.
Got even angrier and started picking on spelling errors and ranting my head off.
Same consequence....a sore backside.:o
It took me a while to figure out....but I think that I have got the hang of it now.:thumbsu::)
Anthony_
9 Mar 2008, 12:46
Great stuff thanks for replying :thumbsu:
Intresting that most of us have stumbled\fell\dragged onto Bay 13 by chance. :p
Kildonan
9 Mar 2008, 12:47
....but I think that I have got the hang of it now.:thumbsu::)
I love it when someone understates, it's beautiful, subtle and just darn nice.
That'll do, pig.
Great stuff thanks for replying :thumbsu:
Interesting that most of us have stumbled\fell\dragged onto Bay 13 by chance. :p
I didn't fall into here by accident.
I was a moderator of the Saints board, at the time that Bay 13 was being talked about, I was still quite active on the main board (well no-one visited the Saints board and I got lonely), but anytime I said anything controversial or I stood up for the Saints, there would be cat calls and derision (You're a mod - you're not allowed an opinion!!!) well I HAVE opinions - and I didn't want to quit doing the good work I was doing on the Saints board in order to pander to the micro penises trying to gag me. Then Bay 13 was created. Dingster was the moderator and they called for someone to help him, anyone .... anyone at all?
I threw my hat into the ring. I started out all enthusiastic, but the sheer scale of the abuse and childishness was daunting.
Then Dingster dropped out. I was on my own for a while, and I just went on sprees punishing people then going quiet then wreaking havoc again.
The change that made Bay 13 improve was the inclusion of a new moderator, Rusty Hawk. He came into the board when it was dominated by two factions, the Hawthornites and the South Aussie bickerites. He settled the Hawthornites down - they were getting cocky after limited success, and later we were able to do something about the South Aussie bickerites with the help of the Adelaide and Port moderators (thanks guys).
Rusty and I saw that there were inherent problems with being the dumping ground of junk threads and recalcitrant posters. I had a few ideas about educating posters by making them appreciate what a good troll is and maybe making them emulate the best of them. I also thought it would be good to point out what a bad troll is - and highlighting this as well. I am fond of the old fashioned "carrot and stick" method of motivation.
Unfortunately I moved house when it all got interesting with the " Impotent Flog " awards and really have not been able to do it justice yet.
I think that Bay 13 has improved because of these actions - that posters who may have hated each other before, now hold some grudging respect for each other and this is a good thing. We have natural leaders here like Hodge2Franklin, Keyser Soze, Bushie, Mr Lizard, and more (I don't want to make too big a list and accidentally miss someone out so I'll stop there).
I liked Bay 13 because it allowed me to say a few controversial things without being told that I'm a moderator (something which I already know) and because it keeps me laughing at the sometimes quite brilliant work you guys do.
Mr Lizard
9 Mar 2008, 12:48
...sat me on my arse...
...was sat on my freckle again.
Got even angrier and started picking on spelling errors and ranting my head off.
Same consequence....a sore backside.:o
It took me a while to figure out....but I think that I have got the hang of it now.:thumbsu::)
It's always funny watching someone make the transition.
By which I mean: it's funny watching someone get sat on their arse.:thumbsu:
I used to only look at the Hawthorn and main board. And when you made a tongue in check comment, you used to get cut down to peices. Then discoved Bay 13 . . . Wow this is for me. Some people on Bigfooty do have a sense of humour. I think it was Poida who made a few comments, and that got me going. Havent really looked anywhere else since.
NiGHTFuRY
9 Mar 2008, 13:45
Found it by wandering around BF. It really is a rather large site if you go exploring.
By which I mean: it's funny watching someone get sat on their arse.:thumbsu:
Its funnier seeing them try to find their feet again from there
It was when bay 13 was a long way down the forum list. I think I must've been looking around, found bay13 and was intrigued.
Couldn't quite remember what it is that captured my imagination so I did a bit of research and found my first post on bay 13.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=329925&page=6
As it turns out it was a hotdog thread and I was taking the piss out of him. It soon became a light past time, logging on and taking the piss out of hotdogs, had some very big laughs with H2F, lizard and a few other posters and from then I was hooked.
I was drawn here by celtic_pride's insightful posts, her ability to never be wrong and her unwavering loyalty.
Bay 13 has the most witty and downright clever posters on the whole of BF but none of it would be possible without the excellent work both Rusty and Kildonan have done.
Bay 13 is clearly the hardest board to moderate and takes a lot of work to do it well.
Both have not only just done their job, but have made it interesting and are continually trying to invigorate it, with great success.
Anyways, i don't want to turn this into a suckfest or give both of them bigger heads than they already have but in future before you want to have a whine or a bitch about the moderating here consider this.....
It could be a lot worse, i could be a Mod here.....
Peri Peri Sauce
9 Mar 2008, 15:17
The hyperlink on the main page.
Kildonan
9 Mar 2008, 15:18
The hyperlink on the main page.
Well thats....concise
I was drawn here by celtic_pride's insightful posts, her ability to never be wrong and her unwavering loyalty.
Bay 13 has the most witty and downright clever posters on the whole of BF but none of it would be possible without the excellent work both Rusty and Kildonan have done.
Bay 13 is clearly the hardest board to moderate and takes a lot of work to do it well.
Both have not only just done their job, but have made it interesting and are continually trying to invigorate it, with great success.
Anyways, i don't want to turn this into a suckfest or give both of them bigger heads than they already have but in future before you want to have a whine or a bitch about the moderating here consider this.....
Aint that the truth!!
But don't worry Merv, we are all sure that you will be back as the non-trolling:rolleyes: mod from time to time.:thumbsu:
Aint that the truth!!
But don't worry Merv, we are all sure that you will be back as the non-trolling:rolleyes: mod from time to time.:thumbsu:
When have i ever claimed to be a non trolling mod?
I do it on Bay 13, where it is acceptable.
When have i ever claimed to be a non trolling mod?
I do it on Bay 13, where it is acceptable.
I am sure that it is well within the rules Merv.
However, I never have been a fan of having your cake and eating it too!!!
And this has nothing to do with the red....that was clearly my fault.
EasternTiger
9 Mar 2008, 16:22
My girlfriend is trying to turn me into a metrosexual. So I rolled over like a 2 dollar hooker and decided to accomodate her. Being the ruggedly handsome bloke I am, I turned to BigFooty for guidance
I started reading the Richmond board but not a girlie boy in sight. I tried the collingwood board and they were just brutes, i went to the hawthorn board and they were juuuuuust right. Luckily most of them hang out on Bay 13 so its a happy compromise.
Now if anyone knows where i can get a flannelette shirt thats metrosexual-ish, I would be most greatful.
I already have the Lonsdale thongs:D
Realistic Tiger
9 Mar 2008, 16:50
Being a Richmond fan, and we all know Richmond is a favoured target on Big Footy, I always seemed to post in threads that inevitably ended up being shifted to Bay 13. At first I was like most others and took a lot of what was said to heart and would treat things too seriously. Now I enjoy Bay 13 more because you can get stuck into the opposition without fear of being carded unlike when you venture into some of the team boards. Now I will rarely venture onto the mainboard unless there is a Richmond based thread that grabs my attention.
Barry Zuckercorn QC
9 Mar 2008, 16:54
My ban on the main board :mad::thumbsd:
Purple supporters.
That and it`s much more fun than the main board.
Corpuscles
9 Mar 2008, 17:11
Belatedly became aware of BF... ...seemed to me there was just as much rancour & bitchin on MainBoard but at least on Bay 13 it was done with freedom, vim and more humour... so for a start as a newbie Bay13 was BigFooty!!!
For a while was bogged with rediculous juvenile threads with little thought. That was prior to RustyHawk and Kildonean takin over mod jobs :thumbsu:.....and now it is returning to a very humorous ,fun place where stooopid stuff can be said to blow off steam!
Sometimes thoughts expressed in Bay13 are sometimes fair dinkum legit opinions which would be taken as infractables, if posted anywhere else! and... generally posters here realise not to take what is said too much to heart!
I still can't start a decent Bay 13 thread , even if my life depended on it, so I admire the efforts of those who can!!! ... most entertaining!!!:)
Anthony_
9 Mar 2008, 17:27
I didn't fall into here by accident.
I was a moderator of the Saints board, at the time that Bay 13 was being talked about, I was still quite active on the main board (well no-one visited the Saints board and I got lonely), but anytime I said anything controversial or I stood up for the Saints, there would be cat calls and derision (You're a mod - you're not allowed an opinion!!!) well I HAVE opinions - and I didn't want to quit doing the good work I was doing on the Saints board in order to pander to the micro penises trying to gag me. Then Bay 13 was created. Dingster was the moderator and they called for someone to help him, anyone .... anyone at all?
I threw my hat into the ring. I started out all enthusiastic, but the sheer scale of the abuse and childishness was daunting.
Then Dingster dropped out. I was on my own for a while, and I just went on sprees punishing people then going quiet then wreaking havoc again.
The change that made Bay 13 improve was the inclusion of a new moderator, Rusty Hawk. He came into the board when it was dominated by two factions, the Hawthornites and the South Aussie bickerites. He settled the Hawthornites down - they were getting cocky after limited success, and later we were able to do something about the South Aussie bickerites with the help of the Adelaide and Port moderators (thanks guys).
Rusty and I saw that there were inherent problems with being the dumping ground of junk threads and recalcitrant posters. I had a few ideas about educating posters by making them appreciate what a good troll is and maybe making them emulate the best of them. I also thought it would be good to point out what a bad troll is - and highlighting this as well. I am fond of the old fashioned "carrot and stick" method of motivation.
Unfortunately I moved house when it all got interesting with the " Impotent Flog " awards and really have not been able to do it justice yet.
I think that Bay 13 has improved because of these actions - that posters who may have hated each other before, now hold some grudging respect for each other and this is a good thing. We have natural leaders here like Hodge2Franklin, Keyser Soze, Bushie, Mr Lizard, and more (I don't want to make too big a list and accidentally miss someone out so I'll stop there).
I liked Bay 13 because it allowed me to say a few controversial things without being told that I'm a moderator (something which I already know) and because it keeps me laughing at the sometimes quite brilliant work you guys do.
You snuck that into your post, only found it now. Great insight Kildon, thanks for all the good work you've put into making this a great board. :thumbsu:
Oh and great working cleaning house on those pesky South Australians and Hawks ;)
Yes I remember your short reign (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=9930359&postcount=409) of Bay 13 Merv ;)
Have to say that kildonon's story was good reading and encapsulated some of the movement he and others have acheived with this board.
Anthony....
Damn it
I knew what was behind that link before I clicked on it. But still had to look.:thumbsu:
Some clean and sweep, some just edit, some warn and award, sooome shoot to kill.. hmm, and some delete. Horses for courses huh
spiraldiver
9 Mar 2008, 19:05
I came to Bay 13 because, invariably, most threads on the main board turn feral. May as well start in the gutter rather than slowly descend from the stars.
Crimson King
9 Mar 2008, 19:11
It was due to bushie...
He was having an argument with this numbnut and asked him to bring his carcass to Bay 13..Went and checked it out and its highly addictive.
Typical bushie..:D:thumbsu:
PoidaCat
9 Mar 2008, 19:16
Stronzo did.
bomba4eva
9 Mar 2008, 20:06
Most fun in the entire BF site occurs in Bay 13:thumbsu:
Stronzo did.
Very good, now go make me some light refreshments.
RustyHawk
9 Mar 2008, 23:34
** K is being too modest. I just helped refire the passion ;)
Meh, I came here for the Booze, The Babes and The Burgers.. I mean, what else is there to life!
fishguts
9 Mar 2008, 23:37
Meh, I came here for the Booze, The Babes and The Burgers.. I mean, what else is there to life!
Money? I mean those babes don't pay for themselves.:cool:
EagleMan87
10 Mar 2008, 00:06
Can't remember what first brought me here, but I do remember taking it seriously; not in the sense of biting everyone's head off for insulting my team, but in the non-confrontation/rational-argument sort of way.
Needless to say I didn't get many replies, because not many threads on here nurture sensible conversation, so I went over to the dark side and started emulating some of the behaviour I saw here(have to say Bushie was the one I tried to copy the most).
And it worked, I started winding some of less intelligent posters up and having a really good time with it, and now it's the first place I visit after the West Coast board.
Very glad I did, the main board is too nice and everyone's on the same side on the Eagle's board, so it gets repetitive. This is just right:D
chewysnake
10 Mar 2008, 02:08
I just clicked on a ad on an Animal Porn site which was promoting it and it sounded like my cup of tea
Well most of my perusing of BF started around September last year and then obviously off season is crazy season. Bay 13 kept me sane with the likes of H2F, Chewie and others. I don't post too often but I need my fix like anyone else and I am quite adept to being a catch of the day to some trollers going fishing for MFC supporters. When the AFL season starts I will be in the Melbourne board more often but will always get my fix of bay13 in between "sensible" postings.
Most of all I liken to the Bill Hicks analogy when he has to watch the tv show "cops" which is like playing with a saw tooth.
NOTE MODS: what is the deal with youtube content on Bay13 where colourful language like the f word is used?
choco123
10 Mar 2008, 19:32
yer i joined BigFooty via Google to follow last yr's trade week, as i was at work and the AFL site sucks as it has no rumours or hypotheticals. after trade week finished i was bored so started exploring the wider site. found bay 13 and pissed myself laughing at the first 10 threads (by memory they were all about port's GF loss). haven't looked back since!!
btw how do you find your first post on bay 13 i would love to!
Keyser Soze
10 Mar 2008, 19:58
yer i joined BigFooty via Google to follow last yr's trade week, as i was at work and the AFL site sucks as it has no rumours or hypotheticals. after trade week finished i was bored so started exploring the wider site. found bay 13 and pissed myself laughing at the first 10 threads (by memory they were all about port's GF loss). haven't looked back since!!
btw how do you find your first post on bay 13 i would love to!
Go to search forum at the top of the page, use advanced search and put choco123 in the box for find posts by.
And press the button for Search.
Will show all your posts in Bay 13.
Anthony_
10 Mar 2008, 20:00
Go to search forum at the top of the page, use advanced search and put choco123 in the box for find posts by.
No picture Keyser:confused: :eek:
What brought you here oh wise and noble one????:)
Keyser Soze
10 Mar 2008, 20:23
What brought you here oh wise and noble one????:)
I was promised a modship;):)
:rolleyes::rolleyes:
Typical Eagle attitude.
What's in it for me??
Kildonan
10 Mar 2008, 23:33
What's in it for me??
Money for nothing and your chicks for free !!!
...or was that a song I heard somewhere ?
Money for nothing and your chicks for free !!!
...or was that a song I heard somewhere ?
Hush!!
You are showing our age!!
I'm off to get my MTV!!
Bay 13 didn't exist when I first posted on BigFooty.
Sorry Rory, given that Bushie and Kildonan began this and have about declared theirs, are you referencing a youthful self to your avatar? Who is it?
Achilles
11 Mar 2008, 15:30
i simply wanted to visit a real necropolis