View Full Version : Tasmanian Election

Unwritten_Law
21 Jul 2002, 10:26
Its official, the liberals are a rabble.

It is never a good sign to come out and concede defeat at 8:30pm but to only win two more seats than the Greens is atrocious.

At the moment parliament looks like this:

16 - Labor
6 - Liberal
4 - Greens

It is however possible for the liberal's to snatch one seat off labor or the greens in Bass (Launceston), depending on preferences.

In one electorate, Denison (Hobart), the Greens had a 18% increase in votes while the Liberals coughed up 16 % to them.
The Liberals even managed to claim that the turnaround wasn't actually liberals voting for the greens, but rather left wing labor voters voting for the greens and traditional liberal voters voting for Labor so that there was a majority parliament.

Expect the liberal leader, Bob Cheek, to either be sacked or retire from politics in the very near future.

carlyp
21 Jul 2002, 17:13
I agree totally. It kind of annoys me that the libs are a rable cause there is no way Bacon would be premier if the liberals were any good! The whole abts rail way thing annoys me..what annoys me more is that the people of tasmania still voted for Labor anyway! AHHHHHHH

Bee
23 Jul 2002, 12:24
Originally posted by carlyp
I agree totally. It kind of annoys me that the libs are a rable cause there is no way Bacon would be premier if the liberals were any good! The whole abts rail way thing annoys me..what annoys me more is that the people of tasmania still voted for Labor anyway! AHHHHHHH

Errrrr Carly, how else where they going to vote? From what I have seen down here the leader of the Libs is an absolute dolt. And the party is a joke.
The Labor party have the state moving ahead with tourism ( two new ferries for Bass Strait), shop trading hours finally moving into the 21st Century, and the new gas pipe line. I don't know much about Abt to comment. So how else could the people vote? Democrats? A bit of the protest vote went to the Greens, but they are still insignificant enough not to really count.

Danni
23 Jul 2002, 15:22
Tell you what I was surprised to learn of the election outcome! Especially seeing as I didn't even know there was an election!

Might be an idea for me to pay more attention to local events these days!

carlyp
23 Jul 2002, 17:42
Bee...Bacon gave the developers of abt railway millions without declaring it in parliament or being honest to the people of Tasmania. I expected that tasmanians would be unhappy with this and give the vote to the liberals.
Their leaders arnt great but the liberals have some good young people in their ranks and I believe they deserved a chance!

carlyp
23 Jul 2002, 17:46
Bee...Bacon gave the developers of abt railway millions without declaring it in parliament or being honest to the people of Tasmania. Infact theyve given unsolicited amounts of money to 3 individuals and I dont reckon we'll ever see it again! I expected that tasmanians would be unhappy with this and give the vote to the liberals.
Their leaders arnt great but the liberals have some good young people in their ranks and I believe they deserved a chance!
Shop trading hours??? The bacon government hasnt really done anything about this....just passed the buck onto local government really. Now each council can have its own shop trading hours! No uniformity or anything! Hows that good leadership!!!!

i_luv_westcoast
23 Jul 2002, 21:17
Your right on the money there Carly. Voting Liberal is the only smart thing to do. Labor managed to destroy Victoria, and there traditional voters still try and claim Joan Kirner is some sort of hero :rolleyes:

What is it with Tasmanians, they are a weird lot, they seem to have this fascination with the Green Party. Why would anyone vote for socialists now days? At least the Labor Party has moved with the times and moved towards the Liberal Party in regards to economic management.

carlyp
23 Jul 2002, 21:52
Thanks ILW...Yeah I know what ya mean about the Greens! I dont know why they get votes!
Re Labor...I know alot of my family in WA think Labor are destroying WA too! Coming from traditonal labor supporters that is saying something too! Tasmania is very much a welfare state and most of the people here believe that Liberals are for the rich and that labor are the party that looks after the workingclass man! I agree whole heartedly ILW..economic management all the way!

Unwritten_Law
24 Jul 2002, 09:57
Originally posted by i_luv_westcoast
Your right on the money there Carly. Voting Liberal is the only smart thing to do. Labor managed to destroy Victoria, and there traditional voters still try and claim Joan Kirner is some sort of hero :rolleyes:

What is it with Tasmanians, they are a weird lot, they seem to have this fascination with the Green Party. Why would anyone vote for socialists now days? At least the Labor Party has moved with the times and moved towards the Liberal Party in regards to economic management.

The Green's made a big issue out of old growth forest logging.

Liberal's jumped on their bandwagon but with Bob Cheek their leader and their only other policy being "bring the footy to bellerive", they were always going to be in trouble.

Bee
24 Jul 2002, 11:12
Bee...Bacon gave the developers of abt railway millions without declaring it in parliament or being honest to the people of Tasmania. Infact theyve given unsolicited amounts of money to 3 individuals and I dont reckon we'll ever see it again! I expected that tasmanians would be unhappy with this and give the vote to the liberals.
Shop trading hours??? The bacon government hasnt really done anything about this....just passed the buck onto local government really. Now each council can have its own shop trading hours! No uniformity or anything! Hows that good leadership!!!!

Carly, I have been coming down to Tassie for as long as I can remember. I now live in Hobart. From what I have seen in the past 5 or 6 weeks of living there, the Liberal party never were a chance. Bob Cheek comes across as a bumbling, unintelligent fool.
What was the classic blunder he made in his election speech in front of John Howard? How did it go again? "Mr Prime Minister after July 20th we intend to be the first Australian state back in Labor hands" Oh dear!
And who are the good young people in the Liberal ranks you refer to. Labor have just as many.
The Libs weren't just beaten they were annihilated. They now hold only two more seats than the Greens and the reason the Greens received more votes this time, was probably due to a protest vote from Liberal voters who were disillusioned with the party, but didn't want to vote Labor.

As for the Abt railway I tend to agree with you. As far as I can see it's a lot of money for some old twat to play with his choo choo trains.
But what would I know anyhow? I am still officially a Vic and ineligible to vote in the Tasmanian election. A leftist who loves to see the Liberal Party bleed.:D

carlyp
24 Jul 2002, 11:17
Well Bee...what about Jeremy Rockliffe, Steve Mav etc etc...all very good young candidates! Labor has a few good candidates but not as many younger people as the libs do! Yes the libs were anihalated. Unfortunately now we rely on the greens for any real opposition. I somehow doubt they'll be up to the task but I'll give them ago! I agree that Bob Cheek needs to go because he's had his chance and he blew it..give someone like rene hidding a go I say!

i_luv_westcoast
24 Jul 2002, 13:14
There will be no opposition though, Labor has a majority government and can do whatever they want.

carlyp
24 Jul 2002, 13:50
Originally posted by i_luv_westcoast
There will be no opposition though, Labor has a majority government and can do whatever they want.

You know what I mean ILW...no decent opposition! To keep the government responsible..keep an eye on them..that kinda thing!

Goldenblue
24 Jul 2002, 14:01
The Libs are a rabble. Plain and simple.

In every state they are a rabble. here in the west they are once again looking at replacing the current opposition leader, but once again, they have no one who has the profile to attract people to the Libs. IMHO, if it was not for the boat people issue, the Libs federally would have been tossed out.

Kirner did damage Victoria along with Cain, but Bracks has changed all that, you can not keep blaming the Labor party of the past for the probs in Victoria, after all, Kennet thought he was a hero in Victoria and got tossed out when all expected him to be returned.

The Libs are great economic managers, but after a while, people get fed up with having to tighten their belts for "economic reasons" and want something given back to them for all the pain they had to go through. The Libs caused a lot of pain here in the west especially to those who lived in the bush and Gallop made many promises about fixing those problems. Pity he never kept his word, but the Libs here are now saying that the Gallop Govt have forgotten the people in regional Western Australia, but the damage was done when the Libs were in power. problem is, the Libs use the old cliches too well.

What people want from Govt is action, not words....and people will vote on action.

BTW, I am a swinging voter.......

Philip Ruddock
24 Jul 2002, 16:18
A record number of skilled and business migrants are providing valuable economic benefits to Tasmania.

There were 204 migrants and their families granted visas for Tasmania in 2001-02 under State specific and regional migration initiatives, the highest number since the initiatives were introduced six years ago.

Almost half of the visas granted were under the Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS) which enables employers to nominate skilled persons for permanent entry when they are unable to recruit from the local labour market.

BSA
24 Jul 2002, 17:02
The Liberals lost because they have moved too far to the Right of the Polutical Spectrum.

Instead of recruiting genuine liberals (Greg Barns for example) to the party - the Tasmanian Liberals are dominated by arch-Conservative Reactionaries such as ERic Abetz and Steve Mav. sorry Carlyp - Mav is a book burning right wing looney, typical of the kinds of people that have been attracted to the Tasmanian Liberals ever since Abetz has run the show down there.

The ironclad golden rule of Australian politics is worth noting here - move too far to the extremes of the political spectrum (left or Right) and the electorate punishes you accordingly.

The Liberal team for this poll was nothing more than a motley collection of fogies, spivs, spruikers, crack-pots, Tories and low grade facscists.

Thanks Senator Abetz - you made the Tassie Liberals in your own image and look what happened.

If they had been a little more insclusive instead of proudly, publically and stupidly drumming all the moderates out of the party they would not have been hung out to dry so much.

Nobody wants to vote for a bunch of troglydytes and the Tasmanian Liberals are just that.

The glory days of Robin Grays administration must seem a long time ago now.

cheers

Bee
25 Jul 2002, 11:16
Well Bee...what about Jeremy Rockliffe, Steve Mav etc etc...all very good young candidates! Labor has a few good candidates but not as many younger people as the libs do! Yes the libs were anihalated. Unfortunately now we rely on the greens for any real opposition. I somehow doubt they'll be up to the task but I'll give them ago! I agree that Bob Cheek needs to go because he's had his chance and he blew it..give someone like rene hidding a go I say!

Okay Carly, I'll give you Jeremy Rockliffe as a potential good young pollie and I'll even throw in one you missed out - Will Hodgman. But Steve Mav?! You cannot be serious. He is a monarchist puppet. Mav isn't even his proper surname, he shortened it from it's original because he thought voters would relate better to it. From what I have seen he is another Alexander Downer in the making.
I am sorry Carly, but the Libs, compared to the Labor party in Tasmania are a long, long way behind.
To be honest I don't really know enough about Tasmanian politics to argue about, but geez, I am learning quick!

carlyp
25 Jul 2002, 14:01
Ok Bee...yes the liberals have ALOT of work to do here in Tasmania but I see alot of potentiial in them!
I like what Steve Mav has to say..except for his monarchist bit. He seems as if he's on the ball and knows where he's going! I like him!

BSA
25 Jul 2002, 15:27
Has Steve Mav, or indeed any Tasmanian politician outlined a clear plan to stop the 300 people (mostly young) who leave Tasmian every month - most of them never to return ?

cheers

Sydneyfan
25 Jul 2002, 15:44
It was a very interesting election result although I'm not too aware of Tasmanian politics. Like BSA asked, are their any policies to stop the outmigration from Tassie?

I had a look at the recently released 2001 Census details at the ABS (http://www.abs.gov.au) and what was a trickle of people permanently leaving Tasmania in 1996 has now become a flood. The worst case scenario is that Tasmania will halve its population in 50 years if the present trend continues.

Though there are promising aspects for Tasmania. I saw in the paper a few days back that a US survey revealed that Tasmania is the second most desired island holiday destination around the world for US tourists. Perhaps, a more assertive tourism ad strategy to the US could woo some more much needed money and jobs to Tassie via tourism, promoting the State's beautiful wilderness and environment, and its wild history.

Steve Bracks
25 Jul 2002, 17:07
Originally posted by Unwritten_Law
Its official, the liberals are a rabble.

Ah yes well this is indeed a fantastic result for the Labor Party and a credit to the tremendous leadership of Jim Bacon down in Tasmania.

Philip Ruddock
26 Jul 2002, 14:56
Skilled migrants to Victoria under State/Territory specific and regional migration initiatives reached record levels in 2001-02 with 2,129 visas granted, the Minister for Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs. The initiatives allowed regional and State/Territory authorities as well as employers to attract skilled and business migrants to specific areas.

The Victorian Government is actively attracting migrants to meet skill shortages through the State/Territory Nominated Independent (STNI) Scheme. The STNI scheme enables States and Territories to sponsor skilled migrants to meet identified skill shortages.

There were 203 visas granted under this scheme in 2001-02 and almost 80 percent of all migrants processed under the STNI Scheme in 2001-02 went to Victoria.

Numbers sponsored under the Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS) also increased in 2001-02. Under the RSMS, the migrant is sponsored by a regional employer who cannot fill the position from the local labour market. Examples of persons visaed under RSMS include a Registered Nurse, Retail Pharmacist, Tissue Culture Manager, Agricultural Scientist and Medical Practitioner.

Their skills were sought from areas including Bendigo, Corio, Echuca, Moe, Portland and Traralgon.

Families continue to play an important role in the number of skilled migrants coming to Victoria in 2001-02. This year 85 percent of visa grants relied on a sponsorship from a relative. Australian citizens and permanent residents living in Victoria can sponsor their relatives as distant as first cousins.

Victoria was granted its first visas in the Regional Established Business in Australia (REBA) category in 2001-02. This category allows people who are temporary residents under a Business (Long Stay) visa to apply for permanent residence if they have successfully established a business venture in Victoria and are sponsored by the State Government.

Voice of Reason
26 Jul 2002, 15:12
Originally posted by Philip Ruddock
Skilled migrants to Victoria under State/Territory specific and regional migration initiatives reached record levels in 2001-02 with 2,129 visas granted, the Minister for Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs. The initiatives allowed regional and State/Territory authorities as well as employers to attract skilled and business migrants to specific areas.

The Victorian Government is actively attracting migrants to meet skill shortages through the State/Territory Nominated Independent (STNI) Scheme. The STNI scheme enables States and Territories to sponsor skilled migrants to meet identified skill shortages.

There were 203 visas granted under this scheme in 2001-02 and almost 80 percent of all migrants processed under the STNI Scheme in 2001-02 went to Victoria.

Numbers sponsored under the Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS) also increased in 2001-02. Under the RSMS, the migrant is sponsored by a regional employer who cannot fill the position from the local labour market. Examples of persons visaed under RSMS include a Registered Nurse, Retail Pharmacist, Tissue Culture Manager, Agricultural Scientist and Medical Practitioner.

Their skills were sought from areas including Bendigo, Corio, Echuca, Moe, Portland and Traralgon.

Families continue to play an important role in the number of skilled migrants coming to Victoria in 2001-02. This year 85 percent of visa grants relied on a sponsorship from a relative. Australian citizens and permanent residents living in Victoria can sponsor their relatives as distant as first cousins.

Victoria was granted its first visas in the Regional Established Business in Australia (REBA) category in 2001-02. This category allows people who are temporary residents under a Business (Long Stay) visa to apply for permanent residence if they have successfully established a business venture in Victoria and are sponsored by the State Government.

What's being done about the migration from Tasmania, Mr Ruddock?

mellowyellow
28 Jul 2002, 22:43
what annoys me more is that the people of tasmania still voted for Labor anyway! AHHHHHHH

Spoken like a true representive of the Liberal party.The uneducated swill could not be converted to the high ideals, policy and future vision of the liberal party because they were devoid of any.Jobs, Jobs, Jobs, was the only false mantra that tongue in CHEEK could evoke but without any blueprint for achieving this his party lacked all credebility and belief

As for Cheek , he lacked all the key elements of a worhty alternative and was seen for what he is, ahh, but i'll let you ponder that carlyp, maybe if you and your party get it, you might have some credebility next time round.

Steve Bracks
30 Jul 2002, 20:22
Originally posted by Philip Ruddock
Skilled migrants to Victoria under State/Territory specific and regional migration initiatives reached record levels in 2001-02 with 2,129 visas granted, the Minister for Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs.

Ah yes well that is because Victoria is The Place To Be!