View Full Version : A preview that tips us last, are we that bad?!!?!?

NathanCarroll41
10 Mar 2008, 12:44
http://sportal.com.au/AFL-opinion-display/afl-club-previews-melbourne-44634

Supermercado
10 Mar 2008, 13:02
Surely we're better than Richmond

melbourne150
10 Mar 2008, 16:23
Mate sportal is a joke.......

dee-molishon
10 Mar 2008, 17:49
dont think we are, but i fear we will finish bottom 4.

Id prefer to finish last than finish 13th ill take all the crap from my mates for getting the wooden spoon if it means we get the first pick in the draft.

If it gets to round 14 and we are bottom 4 i urge u to tank it bails, TANK IT.

davey_magik
10 Mar 2008, 18:38
dont think we are, but i fear we will finish bottom 4.

Id prefer to finish last than finish 13th ill take all the crap from my mates for getting the wooden spoon if it means we get the first pick in the draft.

If it gets to round 14 and we are bottom 4 i urge u to tank it bails, TANK IT.

Please don't post here again if you're going to say things like that.
For Melbourne we need to instil a winning culture, tanking will just hurt the club.

We're definitely not bottom two material. This year I'll back us in to be better than Essendon, Richmond, Carlton, the Doggies and Sydney. That might sound like a big call, but if injuries are kind we're not that bad.

Marns
10 Mar 2008, 18:43
After Round 22: The Sportal experts predict 16th place. A side that can be very good or very bad, but expect more of the latter in Dean Bailey's first season.
Some real crystall ball stuff right there. I'd have thought a side that can be very good or very bad would do enough to avoid the spoon. But what would I know?

CaptainDavey
10 Mar 2008, 18:45
If this club decides to tank, I won't buy a membership. I don't ask a lot as a supporter, but a desire to win is a given. I'd hate to think what I'd do if our club does a Carlton

dee-molishon
10 Mar 2008, 19:11
If this club decides to tank, I won't buy a membership. I don't ask a lot as a supporter, but a desire to win is a given. I'd hate to think what I'd do if our club does a Carlton

Ill buy a membership every year no matter what. Tank, no tank, win the premiership or be a wooden spoon. Dont matter to me what we do, im a loyal member and always will be.

What im getting at is that IF we want to be the best instead of middle rung the only way i think we can do it is through the draft and getting the best picks we possibley can. (High profile players arent interested in joining our club we dont have the cash to lure them.) Weather that be through tanking games or trading players i dont give a stuff. I just want a premiership so bad that id be more than willing to suffer for 3 years at the bottom of the ladder if it means we build a team that can compete in the top rung for 10 years!!

Klyntonius
10 Mar 2008, 20:07
What im getting at is that IF we want to be the best instead of middle rung the only way i think we can do it is through the draft and getting the best picks we possibley can. (High profile players arent interested in joining our club we dont have the cash to lure them.) Weather that be through tanking games or trading players i dont give a stuff. I just want a premiership so bad that id be more than willing to suffer for 3 years at the bottom of the ladder if it means we build a team that can compete in the top rung for 10 years!!

Just like Geelong did. :rolleyes:

The article is generally pretty accurate but I'm stuffed if I know how they came up with last given their own write-up. Time will tell but I think we should be much better than last.

DemonErrol1964 - dees
10 Mar 2008, 20:10
Oohh That smacks so much of Carlton but I do see what your saying. I.ve probably got 30 odd years to live on average so I want a Demon Flag in that time.

dutchy12
10 Mar 2008, 20:52
I guarantee in a weeks time when all the journe give their thoughts on the year e.g. Brownlow, Top 8 etc we'll be the one most predicited to win the spoon.

But serioulsy who cares? Like Mark Robinson the other day on SEN who tipped us last was talking about our list. Firstly he spoke bout our top end players Yze, Neitz etc saying they were past it, fiar enough. Then he spoke about players like Bate and Petterd and stated he didn;t know where they were at!

For christ sakes the blood nut in his 2nd year of playing AFL footy finished 3rd in our B&F. And Petterd he played 8 brilliant games before he nearly died.

My point is that these are the type of ppl who are tipping us and seriously their knowledge on the club is minimal at best.

davey_magik
10 Mar 2008, 21:07
I guarantee in a weeks time when all the journe give their thoughts on the year e.g. Brownlow, Top 8 etc we'll be the one most predicited to win the spoon.

But serioulsy who cares? Like Mark Robinson the other day on SEN who tipped us last was talking about our list. Firstly he spoke bout our top end players Yze, Neitz etc saying they were past it, fiar enough. Then he spoke about players like Bate and Petterd and stated he didn;t know where they were at!

For christ sakes the blood nut in his 2nd year of playing AFL footy finished 3rd in our B&F. And Petterd he played 8 brilliant games before he nearly died.

My point is that these are the type of ppl who are tipping us and seriously their knowledge on the club is minimal at best.

Mark Robinson is a fat bastard anyway who has NFI about the game.
The best thing Al Clarkson ever did was put him in his place in a media conference.

dutchy12
10 Mar 2008, 22:01
Mate I was so angry. Like how could you have a go at Ricky Petterd for under performing? What a complete tool

davey_magik
10 Mar 2008, 22:11
Mate I was so angry. Like how could you have a go at Ricky Petterd for under performing? What a complete tool

Don't even worry about it mate, I'd rather the media talk us down (As much as I hate certain journalists like Robinson and Trevor Grant :mad:).

Most of the footy media have very little idea about a lot of players in the AFL that aren't big names.
To be honest I would back myself to write something infinitely better than the drivel in the Sun. As annoying as he is Sheahan is the only person who writes for the Sun who has an idea about all players in the AFL.

ExTasDeeMan
10 Mar 2008, 22:41
I think that the Dees have the chance to be the "unknown quantity" this season. I'll be happy if we prove people wrong.

Bartram_Class
11 Mar 2008, 01:07
I think that the Dees have the chance to be the "unknown quantity" this season. I'll be happy if we prove people wrong.
Are you thinking what I'm thinking B2?

Scroll down to find out....

15th.

Prove them wrong Demons.

CaptainDavey
11 Mar 2008, 01:31
Tell you what, this board is becoming so depressed I can already smell the stink of paint fumes in the air.

I don't mind where the bloody hell we finish, as long as we give a shit, it's not too much to ask. This year is a write off before it even begins, everyone knows that

Theseventhhamster
11 Mar 2008, 06:53
Our team is much the same as the one that was thought of as Victoria's best or second best chance at a premiership at the start of 2007. Why can't we be at least as good as 06 again? Nobody replied to my post in the other chicken little thread, anyone want to enlighten me?

Melbourne team vs StKilda elimination final 2006.

B: Whelan Holland Ward
HB: Rivers Carroll Bell
C: Green Bruce TJ
HF: Davey Miller Pickett
F:Yze Neitz Robbo

R: White McDonald McLean

INT: Sylvia Jones Bate Jamar

Look familiar? We are only missing Pickett, TJ and Ward. Neitz, White and Yze are older and probably wont be as good as they were then but the rest of the core are still in their prime years. Sylvia, Jones, Bate and Bell were only minor players in 06 and should all be much better this year.

My point is we may be good this year and we may be shit but this talk that we are certain to be bottom 4 or no chance at finals or whatever else is just a bunch of bitching by jaded supporters at this point.

Deenamite
11 Mar 2008, 08:03
Our team is much the same as the one that was thought of as Victoria's best or second best chance at a premiership at the start of 2007. Why can't we be at least as good as 06 again? Nobody replied to my post in the other chicken little thread, anyone want to enlighten me?

Melbourne team vs StKilda elimination final 2006.

B: Whelan Holland Ward
HB: Rivers Carroll Bell
C: Green Bruce TJ
HF: Davey Miller Pickett
F:Yze Neitz Robbo

R: White McDonald McLean

INT: Sylvia Jones Bate Jamar

Look familiar? We are only missing Pickett, TJ and Ward. Neitz, White and Yze are older and probably wont be as good as they were then but the rest of the core are still in their prime years. Sylvia, Jones, Bate and Bell were only minor players in 06 and should all be much better this year.

My point is we may be good this year and we may be shit but this talk that we are certain to be bottom 4 or no chance at finals or whatever else is just a bunch of bitching by jaded supporters at this point.

It's quite a good point. I think MFC was very stable on-field at that point and had learned to work together. Somewhere along the way into 2008 they have forgotten this and DB needs to get it back into them before it's too late.

Bring-Back-Powell
11 Mar 2008, 11:12
If anyone saw us at Cranny on Saturday, they would realise that we are so off the mark it's not funny. Sportal are spot on in predicting us last.

Previously when bigfooty "know it alls" like Zebra predicted us last , I'd be like you idiot, but sadly I reckon their right.

It's up to bailey to improve our skill level which at the moment is under 11's standard. If he can't then we made the wrong choice in selecting him as coach.

Theseventhhamster
11 Mar 2008, 21:28
If anyone saw us at Cranny on Saturday, they would realise that we are so off the mark it's not funny. Sportal are spot on in predicting us last.

Previously when bigfooty "know it alls" like Zebra predicted us last , I'd be like you idiot, but sadly I reckon their right.

It's up to bailey to improve our skill level which at the moment is under 11's standard. If he can't then we made the wrong choice in selecting him as coach.
Yeah but you said we'd lose against StKilda in 06 by 80 odd points. Cop that for memory, negative nancy!

Bring-Back-Powell
12 Mar 2008, 14:10
Yeah but you said we'd lose against StKilda in 06 by 80 odd points. Cop that for memory, negative nancy!
WTF :eek:
The final or round 10?

Theseventhhamster
12 Mar 2008, 23:01
WTF :eek:
The final or round 10?

The final.

ohwhenthesaints
13 Mar 2008, 09:54
The final.
Add an S to that last word son, that is where we are heading in 08.:thumbsu:

Supermercado
13 Mar 2008, 09:59
I'll have what he's having

Ashley B
14 Mar 2008, 17:12
I dont barrack for the Dees but as i said in another post am buying a Melb. membership this yr to help them out. I have always rated the Dees and i have picked u to make the 8. I picked Melb. to win the flag last yr . Losing 8 or 9 major players last yr within about a month basically curtailed any chance the Dees had of having a good yr, people neglect to look at this. I think u have good youngsters and experience, however time is definately running out, many say it has for the older group. But hey, believing is what football is all about, i rate my side no 1 does outside the club it seems, and i hope the Dees can join my team in the 8 this yr so we can stick it up all the doomsayers. Always believe and support your club u never know what may happen :thumbsu: