View Full Version : AFL fans let down in Asia!
Thaihawk
10 Mar 2008, 13:48
Australia Network's coverage of AFL games this year is very, cery, disappointing. Last year five games were covered with replays on Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights at 22:00 hours. There was also one game on Saturday and one on Sunday.
2008 coverage has the ten P.M. start moved back to midnight, with no replacement for the Sunday time slot, and a 10:30 game on Saturday and Sunday mornings, four games in all.
AFL and NRL appear to be suffering as the network promote the Super 14s. Easter weekend has Super 14s scheduled as follows:
Friday, 21 March: 5:00 P.M.
9:00 P.M.
Saturday, 22 March: 8:30 A.M.
1:30 P.M.
3:30 P.M.
Incidently, there are only two NRL games over the Easter weekend, and I believe this will be the norm for the year.
I have been living here for ten years, and in that time have converted many socer fans over to Aussie Rules. This doesn't help promote our game internationally as Mr. Demetriou tells us he is trying to do.
All AFL fans can help by e-mailing Australia Pacifichttp://australianetwork.com/sportslounge/ and going to contact us.
Please help your Asian extats and lodge your protest.
I have already protested, and to their credit they replied immediately with the old 'scheduling' excuse, and the fact that they don't only cater for expats. With the increase in Super 14s coverage I don't believe them.
They don't give a shit about the home of football, why would they care about another country?
hong_kong_bond
10 Mar 2008, 15:44
Thanks for the heads-up Thaihawk - I will circulate amongst the Hong Kong community and get some complaints registered.
There are heaps of Aussie expats here who make Saturday and Sunday games on TV here a ritual at the pub - and the Friday night game was always fantastic to view after sliding home from a few drinks to finish off the working week
plugger59
10 Mar 2008, 16:58
[quote=hong_kong_bond;10289475]Thanks for the heads-up Thaihawk - I will circulate amongst the Hong Kong community and get some complaints registered.
Will do the same here in Shanghai.
As will I but i can not say it was unexpected. They have always held their sporting coverage and scheduling very close to their chest. A mate gave the heads up about this and it is not the first time expats have had to take on the broadcaster.
At least when C7 had the coverage you got most of the games and real time. The problem is that Aus network pay little and consequently provide a service rather having to bid for them. Thats my take on it.
The big change is the timing. I am not so interested in NRL, and have Aust network at home but like too watch it with mates. It can make it hard but that isn't the only difficult thing being away no?
Will keep my eye on this thread
Thailand AFL schedule
AFL Premiership Season - Rnd 1: Port Adelaide v Geelong
Friday 21 Mar at 00:00
AFL Premiership Season - Rnd 1: Collingwood v Fremantle
Saturday 22 Mar at 10:30
AFL Premiership Season - Rnd 1: St Kilda v Sydney
Sunday 23 Mar at 00:00
AFL Premiership Season - Rnd 1: Western Bulldogs v Adelaide
Sunday 23 Mar at 10:30
AFL Premiership Season - Rnd 1: Kangaroos v Essendon
Monday 24 Mar at 10:30
AFL Premiership Season - Rnd 2: Brisbane Lions v Collingwood
Saturday 29 Mar at 00:00
AFL Premiership Season - Rnd 2: Melbourne v Western Buldogs
Saturday 29 Mar at 10:30
AFL Premiership Season - Rnd 2: St Kilda v Carlton
Sunday 30 Mar at 00:00
AFL Premiership Season - Rnd 2: Geelong v Essendon
Sunday 30 Mar at 10:30
WaltzingMatera
11 Mar 2008, 00:22
In Japan last year, they didn't even show the Grand Final.
The year before, 4 games a week were shown, plus every final of course.
I was so angry with everybody associated with the AFL (to say the very least). I had to resort just to downloading torrents.
Predator.
11 Mar 2008, 01:32
In Japan last year, they didn't even show the Grand Final.Yes they bloody did, because I watched it on my own TV (and then tore my own eyes out with my fingers).
Agree with the OP though, the coverage is getting worse. #('$&('#$kers.
Rod Stroker
11 Mar 2008, 02:43
Which part of Japan were you in? They definitely showed it in Tokyo, the Goannas had a big piss up for it down at Paddy Foley's in Roppongi.
Rod Stroker
11 Mar 2008, 02:53
Not a big deal for me. Christ they are still showing 5 of the 8 games in round 1 (albeit an hour or so later than last year), but geez, what more do you want? If the timing is such an issue then just do what I sometimes do: set the timer on the VCR to tape it and watch it at a more convenient time.
We get to watch AFL on TV half a world away from home for free (Ausnetwork is complimentary with any Starhub TV package here in Singapore) and we're still complaining? I reckon we should be grateful that we get any feeds at all.
And before you ask, no, I don't have any affiliation with the network or the AFL.
kosifantutti
11 Mar 2008, 03:49
Better than 2001 when they turned off C7 about a week before the start of the season.
fishmonger
11 Mar 2008, 07:05
Another example of Sydney based media pushing rugby agendas over Aussie Rules.
For some reason someone high up in the ABC is shit scared of the growth of our indigenous game both here and abroad and is doing their best to squash it.
handy point
11 Mar 2008, 07:31
Which part of Japan were you in? They definitely showed it in Tokyo, the Goannas had a big piss up for it down at Paddy Foley's in Roppongi.
Is that sports "pub" in Shinjuku still going? I stopped there in 05 and had some suprisingly nice battered fish. Admittedly it was straight after backpacking through India/Nepal for a month and a bit, so that may have played in it's favour. But they had cheapish pints of Asahi at certain times of the day too,huh?
Rod Stroker
11 Mar 2008, 12:38
Is that sports "pub" in Shinjuku still going? I stopped there in 05 and had some suprisingly nice battered fish. Admittedly it was straight after backpacking through India/Nepal for a month and a bit, so that may have played in it's favour. But they had cheapish pints of Asahi at certain times of the day too,huh?
That place would be the Clubhouse (known as the "Clubby") which was the Goannas social headquarters until the end of 2006, when the Aussie owner Pete pulled up stumps and legged it back home to Oz. To be honest I was never a big fan of the joint (tired, small, dingy) but it was a Goanna's major sponsor so we were there to support them.
Since last year they have used Paddy Foley's for their social base.
Angelus512
11 Mar 2008, 13:29
So who dares brave Malone's on Tongren Lu in Shanghai for the 1AM....1AM!!!! game for Port v Geelong?
But yeah coverage seems a bit sucky. I'd prefer they use their brains and rebroadcast the games at reasonable hours. Like the Thurs PortvGeel game should be rebroadcast on Friday at say 6:30PM or something.
The troubling thing for me is the Pies v Frem game seems like I'm getting geared up to get pissed before mid-day.....
Bartram_Class
14 Mar 2008, 18:15
Shit, didn't realise this.
I'll get in on the act and send 'em a letter.
I won't be back in Hanoi till mid-April, but will see if I can get Jaspas to arrange a group protest - they do half their weekend business through the games! :mad:
Borgsta
14 Mar 2008, 18:26
Yes they did. They always show the GF.
Shere Khan
14 Mar 2008, 18:32
Australia Network paid some nice $$ to land the Super 14 & Tri-Nations rights off Star ESPN so they are always going to show those games first. Thankfully the Super 14s will be over soon enough. The hour later is a pain though. Staying up for a midnight match isn't too bad. 1am start is a killer. I'll have to tape it.
But echoing a post earlier in this thread, we're living outside of Aus yet we get to watch on average 4 AFL games a week. This really is heaven compared to our fellow expats in Europe or the US. While I'd prefer every game played and live, I can happily live with what I get.
Thankfully this year, for the first time, they will be televising the dreamtime match.
Admiral Afterworld
14 Mar 2008, 19:11
What is this "Asia" place? Is that the airport where the plane stops to refuel when you're flying to Europe? :confused:;)
If you go to asia it's to watch the ping pong not bloody footy, those Thai's can sure serve a ping pong ball.
WaltzingMatera
14 Mar 2008, 20:55
I was in Nagoya that weekend and went to the big australian bar there called Red Rock. I saw the Eagles' Grand Final there the year before and it was absolutely packed full of Aussies wearing all sorts of footy shirts.
The next year, I was in Nagoya as well for round 1 of the football season. when i got there they were not showing Aussie Rules on the tv. I asked if i could have a look at the satellite tv guide and saw for the whole month that there was no football. This was a big change from the year before where there were about 4 games shown a week.
I was coincidently in Nagoya again for the time of the GF later that year (G v PA) and got there and this year the bar was completely closed. I figured if they could show the GF then they definitely would because business was so good for that day. I put two and two together and shrugged that it must have been taken off cable full stop.
If it was on cable in Tokyo then that is on one hand bizarre and a shame that i couldn't see it at all live and had to resort to downloading torrents.
Does anyone have any more information?
Rod Stroker
14 Mar 2008, 23:56
I was in Nagoya that weekend and went to the big australian bar there called Red Rock. I saw the Eagles' Grand Final there the year before and it was absolutely packed full of Aussies wearing all sorts of footy shirts.
The next year, I was in Nagoya as well for round 1 of the football season. when i got there they were not showing Aussie Rules on the tv. I asked if i could have a look at the satellite tv guide and saw for the whole month that there was no football. This was a big change from the year before where there were about 4 games shown a week.
I was coincidently in Nagoya again for the time of the GF later that year (G v PA) and got there and this year the bar was completely closed. I figured if they could show the GF then they definitely would because business was so good for that day. I put two and two together and shrugged that it must have been taken off cable full stop.
If it was on cable in Tokyo then that is on one hand bizarre and a shame that i couldn't see it at all live and had to resort to downloading torrents.
Does anyone have any more information?
If you haven't already, get in touch with the Goannas or JAFL as they would be in the best position to give advice on where to watch games in Japan
http://www.tokyogoannas.com/Contact.php?cid=6
http://www.jafl.org/ (click on the English link)
WaltzingMatera
15 Mar 2008, 02:39
Cool man - although I'm back in Perth now...
*Crash*
28 Mar 2008, 08:16
This weekend in Asia - Screening times
AFL Premiership Season
Rnd 2: Brisbane Lions v Collingwood
New Delhi: Saturday 29 Mar at 01:30
Hong Kong: Saturday 29 Mar at 01:00
Suva: Saturday 29 Mar at 01:00
Rnd 2: Melbourne v Western Buldogs
New Delhi: Saturday 29 Mar at 09:00
Hong Kong: Saturday 29 Mar at 11:30
Suva: Saturday 29 Mar at 15:30
Rnd 2: St Kilda v Carlton
New Delhi: Sunday 30 Mar at 01:30
Hong Kong: Sunday 30 Mar at 01:00
Suva: Sunday 30 Mar at 01:00
Rnd 2: Geelong v Essendon
New Delhi: Sunday 30 Mar at 09:00
Hong Kong: Sunday 30 Mar at 11:30
Suva: Sunday 30 Mar at 15:30
Hey RS I see your in Singapore, theres a great little pub in Little India called the Prince of Wales which shows every AFL game, I usually head there though if Im at my apartment ABC Asia always shows the games though they are delayed.
Ill be over there next weekend
MSB ROYS
28 Mar 2008, 12:23
Wrote to them and got a standard reply (which i have since deleted!). Basically, they favour the Super 14 over AFL games. Until it finishes we are shafted on late night games...
Eagle87
28 Mar 2008, 12:32
Wrote to them and got a standard reply (which i have since deleted!). Basically, they favour the Super 14 over AFL games. Until it finishes we are shafted on late night games...
I wrote to them and got the following (semi non-standard) reply:
Thank you for your recent comment about our scheduling of the 2008 AFL season.
You will be pleased to know that the schedule will be revised as of 11 April, and will conform to the following basic pattern:
1. An average of four matches per weekend will be shown: one on Friday night, one on Saturday afternoon, one on Saturday night, and one on Sunday afternoon.
2. No matches will be shown on Sunday nights.
3. When there is no Super 14s match to be shown at 2100 (Hong Kong time) on Friday or Saturday, the AFL match will be shown between 2100 and 2400.
4. When a Super 14s match is shown at 2100 on Friday or Saturday, the AFL match will follow it at 2300.
5. There will be occasional exceptions to this pattern. On Saturday 12 April, for instance, the matches will be shown at 1230 and 1730, and on Anzac Day, Friday 25 April, the Collingwood vs Essendon match will be shown at 1330, and the Fremantle vs Geelong match will be shown at midnight.
The changes for the weekend 11-13 April are already on our website schedule. The changes for subsequent weekends will appear very soon.
So it basically stays at 4 games per week but in the absences of a Super 14's game, the Friday and Saturday night games will now be in the 9pm (Hong Kong timelsot) which is an improvement over the current midnight (or 1 am) timeslot.
So they have made some amendments which will be a bummer for those looking forward to a Saturday night fix of All Saints which was their previous scheduled show (in preference to AFL).
They are run by a bunch of Sydney based rugger buggers, so any movement at all by them is both unexpected and welcome.
Angelus512
28 Mar 2008, 13:10
Ok well I'm going to be at Big Bamboo in Shanghai at 1AM for the Pies game on Saturday morning.
Anybody in SH care to join?
*Crash*
31 Mar 2008, 07:09
This thread here (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=427382) in the International footy forum may be helpful to some.
Consider yourself lucky you're getting games at all. No way to get them here in the arctic of Canada.
Gonna sign up for an online stream that will get me three random online games a week and it's gonna cost me $350.
Rod Stroker
7 Apr 2008, 18:06
I've just checked the TV schedule for Australia Network here in Singapore this week and was shocked to see this weeks AFL programming guide:
AFL Premiership Season - Rnd 4: Essendon v Western Bulldogs Friday 11 Apr at 21:00
AFL Premiership Season - Rnd 4: Kangaroos v Melbourne Saturday 12 Apr at 12:30
AFL Premiership Season - Rnd 4: Sydney v West Coast Eagles Saturday 12 Apr at 17:30
AFL Premiership Season - Rnd 4: Hawthorn v Adelaide Sunday 13 Apr at 11:30
AFL Premiership Season - Rnd 5: St. Kilda v Essendon Friday 18 Apr at 23:00
AFL Premiership Season - Rnd 5: Geelong v Sydney Saturday 19 Apr at 12:30
AFL Premiership Season - Rnd 5: Collingwood v Kangaroos Saturday 19 Apr at 21:00
AFL Premiership Season - Rnd 5: Melbourne v Carlton Sunday 20 Apr at 11:30
AFL Premiership Season - Rnd 6: Collingwood v Essendon Friday 25 Apr at 13:30
AFL Premiership Season - Rnd 6: Fremantle v Geelong Saturday 26 Apr at 00:00
AFL Premiership Season - Rnd 6: Carlton v Adelaide Saturday 26 Apr at 12:30
AFL Premiership Season - Rnd 6: Port Adelaide v St. Kilda Saturday 26 Apr at 21:00
AFL Premiership Season - Rnd 6: Brisbane Lions v Melbourne Sunday 27 Apr at 11:30
AFL Premiership Season - Rnd 7: West Coast Eagles v Carlton Friday 2 May at 23:00
They have brought the starting times forward!!! No more 1AM starts anymore! Good news for those who complained before about the late starting times :)
This basically just confirms the content of Eagle87's post on the previous page but at least now it's set in scheduling concrete from the source :)
Was great to watch the Eagles v Dockers live here in Thailand on Saturday, followed not long afterwards by Brisbane v Sydney.
Always good to see businesses that creatively solve a problem
;)
Rod Stroker
7 Apr 2008, 18:32
Was great to watch the Eagles v Dockers live here in Thailand on Saturday, followed not long afterwards by Brisbane v Sydney.
Always good to see businesses that creatively solve a problem
;)
OzNetwork doesn't show games live and they weren't even showing the Brisbane vs Sydney at all over the weekend.
These businesses you engaged the services of, do they install large diameter satellite dishes by any chance? :)
triplegee
8 Apr 2008, 00:05
Yeah - I too was stoked to see that this weekend's Eagles vs Swans game is on a 20 minute delay. :thumbsu:
To also have Friday's game on at 8pm (Thai time) is a huge plus.
Good result all round really - thanks Aus Network! :D
Melbourne Lion
8 Apr 2008, 00:51
Stroker - Check PM
ooo ooo tell me too :)
I'm in Shanghai.
Consider yourself lucky you're getting games at all. No way to get them here in the arctic of Canada.
Gonna sign up for an online stream that will get me three random online games a week and it's gonna cost me $350.
Huh? Which online stream?
Rod Stroker
19 Jul 2008, 14:28
For those in Asia, you might be interested to know that Australia Network has now decided to show the Cats vs Dogs time tonight at 11:30PM (Singapore time) at the completion of the Lions versus Eagles game. The regular Saturday arvo game is still Tigers versus Dons starting now. That would make it 5 games they are showing this weekend :)
http://australianetwork.com/guide/schedule_singapor.htm
*Crash*
19 Jul 2008, 15:48
You may want to have a look at new aussie sports site that covers footy - can only be viewed outside Australia - here (http://www.aussiesport.tv/?WT.mc_id=wldfootnws).
Monkey King
19 Jul 2008, 16:31
So who dares brave Malone's on Tongren Lu in Shanghai for the 1AM....1AM!!!! game for Port v Geelong?
Head to the Big Bamboo on Nanyang Lu (off Tongren).
pivotal
19 Jul 2008, 17:57
I assumed the Geelong vs WB game - clearly match of the round - would be the game shown on Oz Network today and was shocked to find out that they chose to broadcast Essendon vs Richmond instead. How far ahead to they set the schedule?
handy point
20 Jul 2008, 11:16
Gonna be passing through Shanghai for round 21...hoping to catch the Pies/Swans sat night game.
Do these places mentioned above just take the Australia Network feed?
Monkey King
20 Jul 2008, 12:49
Gonna be passing through Shanghai for round 21...hoping to catch the Pies/Swans sat night game.
Do these places mentioned above just take the Australia Network feed?
Yes, so check the schedule.
Head to the Big Bamboo for sure, IMO it's the best place to watch AFL in Shanghai. Sponsors of the Shanghai Tigers. It's on Nanyang Rd cross Xikang Rd, one street back from Nanjing Rd West between Plaza 66 and the Portman Hotel.
Upstairs is usually dedicated to AFL games including commentary. With a projector screen and several LCD TV's, no matter which direction you face, you can see all the action. Sells pies and Aussie beers to boot.
Rod Stroker
22 Jul 2008, 00:46
I assumed the Geelong vs WB game - clearly match of the round - would be the game shown on Oz Network today and was shocked to find out that they chose to broadcast Essendon vs Richmond instead. How far ahead to they set the schedule?
Initially I was spewin that they chose to telecast the Dons/Tigers game during the day instead of Cats/Dogs. As it turns out though the Dons/Tigers was much better viewing and entertainment value. I started watching the Cats/Dogs delayed telecast at night but Geelong and their dominance literally put me to sleep on the couch.
They generally set the schedule 2 weeks in advance (so we knew 2 weeks ago they were going to show Dons/Tigers during the day), although it was only a last minute decision to telecast the Cats/Dogs game on delay (up until last Friday the schedule did not indicate that they would be showing Cats/Dogs at all).
I must admit their scheduling can be weird some times and I don't know the logic behind it. They have access to all televised games each round (thats each 8 games every round) so I don't know why they don't show the best possible games each week. e.g on Saturday night the feature game in the regular slot was Lions/Eagles and not Saints/Hawks.
Hindsight is a wonderful thing and they probably got the better game but if they chose it two weeks ago is still baffling as to why they chose the Essendon Richmond game.
handy point
31 Jul 2008, 11:31
Arse!
Aust Network have got Brisbane vs Carlton instead of Pies/Swans for round 21 sat night.
:thumbsd:
Reckon I'll still drop in at the Bamboo though.
Rod Stroker
18 Aug 2008, 00:15
OzNetwork programming of AFL is really screwed. This week they are showing Lions vs Blues, instead of Pies and Swans.
Then in round 22 they are showing Cats vs Eagles (top vs bottom) instead of Crows vs Dogs, and Blues vs Hawks instead of Swans vs Lions.
I'd have hoped they would be showing games that have more impact on the finals.
At least they'll be showing every finals game.
I find the programming to be weird.
The Friday and Saturday games were changed after Round 10 from 9pm to 6pm.
The games were originally at 11pm which is late but it is difficult to finish work in time on a Friday to watch a 6pm game.
Also in 2007, Essendon was covered for the last 4 rounds and in 2008 ony feature once in the last 4 rounds.l