View Full Version : Carey wants to play for Adelaide

sapaul
21 Jul 2002, 15:19
Michelangelo Rucci has just said on 5AA that Wayne Carey decided last Wednesday that he wants to play for the Adelaide Football Club in 2003.

He also said now it is just down to North Melbourne for what they want for him.

Leigh Roy
21 Jul 2002, 16:15
What exactly did he say?

I'm okay with this, not really feeling any great positive or negative feelings, I think I'm still doubting.

ThePowerFromPort.com
21 Jul 2002, 17:40
What exactly did he say?

Not exact as I was concentrating on my son's game, but Rucci said something along the lines of, the word coming into Adelaide on Wednesday was that Wayne was advised he would be better off coming to SA (Port were only luke-warm over him) and he decided that's what he wants to do so he must have been happy with whatever deal the Crows offered him, and it is now up to the Kangaroos whether a satisfactory deal can be worked. KG was happy. Said if Carey comes to the Crows next year they will win the 2003 flag. :eek:

Leigh Roy
21 Jul 2002, 17:46
Not sure about that.

Do you think that whichever team does get Carey will win a Premiership because of him? I don't think so but imagine the media and the football public, Carey this Carey that.

ThePowerFromPort.com
21 Jul 2002, 21:03
No I don't think so! Just saying what KG said. He was very excited at the prospect. And yes I can also imagine what the media would be like here if Carey came to town? :rolleyes:

Leigh Roy
21 Jul 2002, 22:23
Not just the SA teams, any. Say Freo get Carey and they get in the top 6, it's not a strange prospect but because Carey is with them, he'll be the only reason they got there.

topjars
21 Jul 2002, 23:20
Originally posted by ThePowerFromPort.com

KG was happy. Said if Carey comes to the Crows next year they will win the 2003 flag. :eek:

Thatll be back to back again!!:D

Go South
24 Jul 2002, 20:00
Excellent.

Here's hoping we get him.

sapaul
24 Jul 2002, 23:15
Caroline Wilson asked Kevin Sheedy on "talking footy" last night "who will Wayne Carey be playing for next year?" Sheedy replied "probably Adelaide".

maccas_no1
25 Jul 2002, 08:56
" Biglands taps it down to Bickley who dishes out a quick handball to Mcleod, Mcleod on the burst kicks long looking for Carrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreeeeeeeeeeeeeeyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy, Carey takes a great mark 35 m out directly in front."

Bring it on in 2003:D

Carlos
25 Jul 2002, 09:02
Originally posted by maccas_no1
" Biglands taps it down to Bickley who dishes out a quick handball to Mcleod, Mcleod on the burst kicks long looking for Carrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreeeeeeeeeeeeeeyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy, Carey takes a great mark 35 m out directly in front."

I think i'm gonna throw up! :(

Rooboy 96
25 Jul 2002, 09:19
Originally posted by Carlos

I think i'm gonna throw up! :(

Don't worry too much Carlos... they are relying on USC and Michelangelo Rucci to be correct at the same time...

Groucho
25 Jul 2002, 11:36
Well ,sad to say,it's about best case scenario for me. Despite'98 my hatred for Essendon,Collingwood and Richmond will always exceed by far any animosity I feel towards Adelaide,yes even if Carey does help them get another 2 flags!!

Carlos
25 Jul 2002, 11:41
Originally posted by Groucho
...even if Carey does help them get another 2 flags!!
The feeling of wanting to vomit is increasing by the minute! :(

sapaul
25 Jul 2002, 13:04
Nothing happening on the North Melbourne boards boys?:D

Carlos
25 Jul 2002, 13:13
Originally posted by sapaul
Nothing happening on the North Melbourne boards boys?:D
Theres always something happening on the North Boards! We're BF freaks dont ya know!!

But fair enough. Sorry to air the "dirty laundry" so to speak on your board. Saw the topic and it got my interest.

Having a very hard time coming to terms with the prospect of Wayne in another club's guersney as you can probably gather. Sorry mate. :(

sapaul
25 Jul 2002, 13:17
Nah, you guys are always welcome on our boards.I hope I speak for all the rest of Crows fans when I say that.

Carlos
25 Jul 2002, 13:22
Nah, you guys are always welcome on our boards.I hope I speak for all the rest of Crows fans when I say that.
Ditto and cheers.

And if Wayne pulls on the Crows colours next year, i'm tipping you'll be seeing a whole lot more of us!!

I'm going away now to assume the phoetal positon and put my thumb in my mouth at the prospect!! :(

(Why Wayne? Why?!?!?)

ant
25 Jul 2002, 13:59
I'm foaming at the mouth just at the prospect of Carey joining the Crows....I mean, what a story.....the disgraced King returning to the State where he started his footy, to regain his rightful place on the throne.....*ant slips away to dreamland*

PrideOf
25 Jul 2002, 16:13
Just wondering if anyone else thinks that the Roos aren't in as strong a bargaining position as they may think. They have a player wanting to leave the club. They (seemingly) don't want him back. He wants to join another club. Same situation with what happened with us and Shaun Rehn. We couldn't just demand half-a-dozen first round draft picks, because he was going anyway. We had to take the best on offer - which turned out to be one early draft pick we traded to get Bodey.

napsyd
25 Jul 2002, 16:48
Agreed. Beggars can't be choosers. The only one in any position of power really is Wayne himself.

It will be hard for me to come to terms with Wayne at Adelaide if it happens. I spent a decade hating the mongrel! Probably just a reflection of how good a player he was.

I hope he does come to Adelaide and recaptures some of that form.

Sco
25 Jul 2002, 19:15
but what will we get for him??

who will u give us?

Porthos
25 Jul 2002, 19:49
Originally posted by KangaMan

who will u give us? Mark Stevens :D

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
25 Jul 2002, 21:52
Good one Porthos!

As if the Crows are going to give Mark Stevens back to the Kangaroos for Wayne Carey. I don't think so. It would be more likely draft picks and mid ranged players. Certainly not our key players - of which Stevo is one.

The Crows are no certainty to get Carey. If he is looking for a quite little life reconciling with Sally - then Adelaide is not the city to come to! We are a two team town and our players are always being watched by fans/media. Just ask the lads who were involved in the Ramsgate saga, Peter Burgoyne and his antics, Stewy Dew being picked up by the cops in an unregisted/uninsured car. He wouldn't have a quiet life that is for sure!

k
xx

FISH
25 Jul 2002, 22:13
Originally posted by KangaMan

who will u give us?

I think you will struggle to get a high profile player as the club doesn't have great bargaining power maybe we will let you have lawrence angwin for him but seriously i for one would love to see him at the club and if he doesn't go well he can go back and help north adel out god knows we need it!!!:D :D

Kane McGoodwin
25 Jul 2002, 22:52
kb - I believe Carey wants the following:

1. To get out of Melbourne (& away from the Kangaroos, Mr & Mrs Stevens) to start a new life. ie. Doesn't really want to run into them on the street.

2. He would like to play in a side which has a good chance of winning a premiership. This rules out Sydney. I doubt he want to head West, particularly when he has connections in SA. Brisbane don't really want him (or need him). Carey doesn't really fit into Port's plans (ie. recruiting an older player) - they are more likely to try & get Pavlich.

The Crows seems the obvious choice. We are no certainties, but I would suggest favourites.

Kangaroos would want something reasonable for their dethroned King. I don't think they are interested in Angwin, but I reckon another couple of clubs are. So we may be able to do a 3-way deal with a draft pick(s) &/or a 2nd tier player thrown in. I hope Sugar doesn't want to return home, but if he does, then we should not stand in his way & use him as part of the trade.

Then there is Pavlich. If Pav knows Carey is coming to the Crows & will be a premiership threat, he may decide to come & joing the party. Freo are in the box seet, but it should be an interesting trade period ...

Tredders#16
26 Jul 2002, 14:22
Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
Just ask the lads who were involved in the Ramsgate saga, Peter Burgoyne and his antics, Stewy Dew being picked up by the cops in an unregisted/uninsured car. He wouldn't have a quiet life that is for sure!

Not to mention Mods and Vards' antics over the years!

Tredders#16

Tyson J- Curry
26 Jul 2002, 16:34
Originally posted by Tredders#16

Not to mention Mods and Vards' antics over the years!

Tredders#16

Leave Vard's outta this :mad:

Rooboy 34
26 Jul 2002, 16:40
Originally posted by PrideOf
Just wondering if anyone else thinks that the Roos aren't in as strong a bargaining position as they may think. They have a player wanting to leave the club.

Aren't you guys in the same situation with Kane Johnson - he is a player wanting to come home to Victoria.

As suggested, I think that it may come down to where Wayne wants to go. If he is really specific, then we may struggle, but if he is tossing up between a couple of clubs, then it will bea bidding war that we will win...

bomberrob
28 Jul 2002, 02:59
Originally posted by maccas_no1

You better hope McLeod get's it at some stage. Without him you guys are just middle-of-the-road. Oh sorry, that's right, you guys touched up St Kilda by 18 points in a game where McLeod didn't play.

Tyson J- Curry
28 Jul 2002, 10:22
Originally posted by bomberrob

You better hope McLeod get's it at some stage. Without him you guys are just middle-of-the-road. Oh sorry, that's right, you guys touched up St Kilda by 18 points in a game where McLeod didn't play.

And Johnson, And Ricciuto for most of the game, ohh yea and apparently Goodwin was getting ripped apart.

The Adelaide 2nd rate midfield ripped apart St Kilda's 1st string.

Tyson J- Curry
28 Jul 2002, 10:23
Add to that Stenglein.

Sorry

FISH
28 Jul 2002, 11:55
Originally posted by bomberrob

no definatly you blokes are firing seeing how your team dominated the tigers on friday night!!LOL!!:eek: :eek: :eek:

stewart
29 Jul 2002, 21:31
He also said now it is just down to North Melbourne for what they want for him.

And you'd let McCleod & Johnson go...!! You've got nothing else... ;)

Stewart

rednugget
31 Jul 2002, 16:44
They said on the news last night that if Carey did choose Adelaide, that the biggest problem would be convincing his wife Sally to move to Adelaide as she would prefer to stay in Melb. And he wouldn't want to screw her around much more.

Kane McGoodwin
2 Aug 2002, 00:10
Well unless Essendon trade a play or two away (which I doubt they will want to do after last year's dramas), they can't fit Carey under the salary cap since the AFL refused to change the veterans list eligibility (for Hird).

Carlton are the latest team to after Carey, which I find a bit strange as they are not likely to be a premiership contender over the next few years & should look at rebuilding their team. Also, it is unlikely Pagan will coach them (now he looks to be sorting things out with the Roos).

I reckon out biggest competition will come from Hawthorn & Melbourne, who are similarly positioned to the Crows. I wonder how Nick Holland feels about the Hawks chasing Carey. Certainly the Dees could do with a CHF after the retirement of the Ox.

It may come down to whether he & his wife want to stay in Melbourne or move interstate. Well it looks like the Crows are doing everything in their power to snare him. They have met with him, been the only team to offer him a contract (so far) & both Roo & Bicks have rung him up to encourage him to join the Crows. I guess all will be revealed next week...

Spogs
2 Aug 2002, 12:33
It's gets so damn frustrating watching the midfeild continually pumping the ball up forward with no reward. Stevens is doing fine at CHF so Carey wouldn't need to do much running around. That's why Carey's age or mobility isn't that important. What we need is a big strong target in the goalsquare.

We don't need Carey to play a 'Pagan's paddock' role, we need 'Ayres Rock'. Coincidently, that means we wouldn't need to change his nickname much either. We can't call him the 'Roo Boy' obviously (We've already got one anyway), so we can just call him 'Ulu-roo'.

Jars458
2 Aug 2002, 13:13
Originally posted by Spogs
We don't need Carey to play a 'Pagan's paddock' role, we need 'Ayres Rock'. Coincidently, that means we wouldn't need to change his nickname much either. We can't call him the 'Roo Boy' obviously (We've already got one anyway), so we can just call him 'Ulu-roo'.

Pure gold:D

Kane McGoodwin
2 Aug 2002, 13:35
Spogs, I agree with you 100% about the King or 'ulu-roo'. BTW, nice bit of comedy. :D

Jars458, welcome back from your self-imposed exile. Been too busy knocking back a few pales or South Aussie reds?

Jars458
2 Aug 2002, 13:39
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin

Jars458, welcome back from your self-imposed exile. Been too busy knocking back a few pales or South Aussie reds?

I had actually given up the whole thing mate but it is my last day in the country for 5 weeks today so I thought I would have one last day on the net.

Will miss the Adelaide board but not much else.

Last time I went overseas the Crows won 5 in a row, so lets hope the same thing happens again.

Cheers

Kane McGoodwin
2 Aug 2002, 14:03
I had actually given up the whole thing mate but it is my last day in the country for 5 weeks today so I thought I would have one last day on the net. Jars, I'm also going overseas (Europe) too in 3 weeks time for 4 weeks. Where are you heading?

Last time I went overseas the Crows won 5 in a row, so lets hope the same thing happens again. No reason why they can't win 5 games in a row (v PAP's is probably the hardest game) . I hope to be back in time for a Crows v Port Prelimiary final.

Jars458
2 Aug 2002, 15:27
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Jars, I'm also going overseas (Europe) too in 3 weeks time for 4 weeks. Where are you heading?

No reason why they can't win 5 games in a row (v PAP's is probably the hardest game) . I hope to be back in time for a Crows v Port Prelimiary final.

Just to the mother country to see my family.

I hope they have the Internet somewhere in my little old home town.

ant
2 Aug 2002, 18:16
Can I just say I think the timing of both your holidays rather sucks :p But at least you'll be back in time for the business end of the finals....hopefully we'll be there :)

Enjoy your trips fellow Crow posters :)

Kane McGoodwin
2 Aug 2002, 18:41
Can I just say I think the timing of both your holidays rather sucks But at least you'll be back in time for the business end of the finals....hopefully we'll be there Ant, I know the timing is bad, but travelling through Sweden, Denmark, Germany, Holland & France (& perhaps Belgium), was too good an opportunity to miss ... even after sacrificing the live footy (Richmond & perhaps a final). I'll should have net access in Sweden/Holland & apparantly they have highlights of the games too. So I should be able to keep in touch with what's happening. Hopefully, I will be back to see the Crows play in the preliminary & grand finals.

Enjoy your trips fellow Crow posters Sure will. Thanks. :)

Tyson J- Curry
6 Aug 2002, 00:42
After tonights interview...I have the feeling we are very much the frontrunners for Wayne's signature.

Thanks Mike Sheehan...for asking him 100 questions about the crows, the state, the coach, the #18, brett burton (hasnt got OP god dammit!) and then Wayne said that mcleod was in the top 2 players in the comp.

When are you ready to sign Wayne?

FISH
6 Aug 2002, 00:47
Originally posted by Tyson J- Curry
After tonights interview...I have the feeling we are very much the frontrunners for Wayne's signature.

Thanks Mike Sheehan...for asking him 100 questions about the crows, the state, the coach, the #18, brett burton (hasnt got OP god dammit!) and then Wayne said that mcleod was in the top 2 players in the comp.

When are you ready to sign Wayne?

Yep definatly got the feeling that adelaide have a good chance after a few comments he made espicially after he said about relocation of his wifes job wasn't a problem as they have offices in adelaide as well!!

Woodson
6 Aug 2002, 14:31
'Scuse I.

I reckon that a complicated three-way/ four way trade could be on the cards here. I'm OK with Johnson but WANT MORE !!!

I feel we should be well compensated for and you guys might get 'a guarenteed flag' out of this. Lucky b@stards. ;)

McLeod will 'most likely' win the Brownlow next season.

Zombie
6 Aug 2002, 16:45
Originally posted by Woodson
'Scuse I.

I reckon that a complicated three-way/ four way trade could be on the cards here. I'm OK with Johnson but WANT MORE !!!

I feel we should be well compensated for and you guys might get 'a guarenteed flag' out of this. Lucky b@stards. ;)

McLeod will 'most likely' win the Brownlow next season.

??? Sorry didn't realise you could see into the future, "most likely" is a bit of a stretch when this season hasn't even finished, McLeod could be run down by a bus tommorrow. You can never say that a player is most likely to win a Brownlow, how often does the favourite, even on Brownlow night, win?

powergirlluv17
6 Aug 2002, 16:57
isn't it starting to become a tradition now for guys with bleached blonde hair to win the brownlow now?;)

napsyd
6 Aug 2002, 17:02
He'd look a bit odd with the blonde tips, old Macca! :D

sapaul
6 Aug 2002, 17:08
Originally posted by Zombie

Sorry didn't realise you could see into the future, "most likely"

"most likely" Which is unlike you 2 weeks ago when predicting the Crows upcoming matches eh?

Western Bulldogs=loss
Geelong=loss

HoRsE
6 Aug 2002, 17:28
Reading between the lines of what he said last night, I believe his preference will be Adelaide. I would rather nothing for Carey than be short changed on a deal. We will play hard ball im sure, we have nothing for him this year so wont be any skin of our nose. I wouldn’t go underestimating Norths bargaining position here, bcos I think youll find most North people would support leaving him to the draft if the deal isnt acceptable.
And just remember what ever colours he is wearing are external only, he will always be the ROOBOY! I hope you guys continue to boo him, otherwise it would hypocritical wouldn’t it?

Zombie
6 Aug 2002, 17:47

"most likely" Which is unlike you 2 weeks ago when predicting the Crows upcoming matches eh?

Western Bulldogs=loss
Geelong=loss

Both those team did lose, didn't they ;)

Two 2 to 1 predictions a week before the event are a little more justified than a 400 to 1 prediction 8 months before the season has even begun.

I still think they "should" have won, but all credit to the Crows they beat them on the day and that's all you can do.

sapaul
6 Aug 2002, 17:56
:)

Dogs - Loss
Geelong - Loss
Sydney - 50-50 at SCG
Essendon - Loss
Port - Loss
Richmond - Win
Fremantle - Loss

Can't see Crows making it

Macca19
6 Aug 2002, 19:06

Western Bulldogs=loss
Geelong=loss

you cant talk!!!! A few weeks ago you said the Crows wouldnt make the eight and that you were only confident of them winning two more games for the rest of the year!!!

topjars
6 Aug 2002, 21:24
One all Macca19 n sapaul:D

Id take or leave Careyyeah right but if we must have him and not give away ANYTHING significant because Carey is owed money by the club, well lets sign up the missus first:eek:

Shes the one to convince on the move to Crowland

sapaul
7 Aug 2002, 00:28
Originally posted by Macca19

you cant talk!!!! A few weeks ago you said the Crows wouldnt make the eight and that you were only confident of them winning two more games for the rest of the year!!!

Thankyou Zombie.

ok.crows
7 Aug 2002, 00:56
Dogs - Loss
Geelong - Loss
Sydney - 50-50 at SCG
Essendon - Loss
Port - Loss
Richmond - Win
Fremantle - Loss

Yes, I remember it well.

What a pundit this Zombie is, NOT.

When Zombie can't see the Crows making the eight, they promptly make the top 4.

Further evidence to support the painfully obvious conclusion ...

"You are an idiot Zombie".

But we already knew that.

Kane McGoodwin
7 Aug 2002, 01:03
Originally posted by ok.crows
Dogs - Loss
Geelong - Loss
Sydney - 50-50 at SCG
Essendon - Loss
Port - Loss
Richmond - Win
Fremantle - Loss

Yes, I remember it well.

What a pundit this Zombie is, NOT.

When Zombie can't see the Crows making the eight, they promptly make the top 4.

[/B]I'm a little worried as going on the anti-Zombie tipping theory, it looks like we will lose to Richmond. :eek: Well, I suppose at least we win the Showdown & the other games. ;)

Further evidence to support the painfully obvious conclusion ..."You are an idiot Zombie". Yeahh, but at least he is a funny idiot. :D

PrideOf
7 Aug 2002, 10:33
Jeez Zombie ... one angry little man with the traditional Port Adelaide chip on both shoulders.

Why don't you concentrate on tightening the wheel nuts on the Port Power bandwagon? Injuries .... suspensions ....

topjars
7 Aug 2002, 21:58
Interviews tomorrow Wayne....dont be late mate.:D

napsyd
8 Aug 2002, 09:55
It would be interesting to know who payed for Wayne's ticket "to visit familt and friends".

Kane McGoodwin
8 Aug 2002, 22:00
Originally posted by napsyd
It would be interesting to know who payed for Wayne's ticket "to visit familt and friends". Reckon he must have an all-around-Oz ticket which has to be used up within the week. ;)

raboyle
8 Aug 2002, 22:52
Originally posted by Go South
Excellent.

Here's hoping we get him.

He'll probably go back to the Roosters.