View Full Version : Sylvia suspended for round 1
windsock
11 Mar 2008, 21:18
Missed a compulsory training session after Saturday's praccie. He also broke the 1am curfew. Fined $5K and will miss the first match.
FOOOOTY
11 Mar 2008, 21:24
Missed a compulsory training session after Saturday's praccie. He also broke the 1am curfew. Fined $5K and will miss the first match.
Wow, source?, seems like they are going all out on discipline down there.. was looking forward to seeing him play in Rnd 1 too,.
dunkarob
11 Mar 2008, 21:25
one must wonder if he really is worth the trouble, maybe another young kid on our list would appreciate the chance a bit more.... get rid of him, cant play anyway, good reserves player.............:mad:
Tommyneu
11 Mar 2008, 21:27
If true that is so disappointing. I was looking forward to seeing if Col could take his pre-season form into the real stuff. Not the best start to the year...bit of a blow.
bloodpumpsRnB
11 Mar 2008, 21:30
I'm really struggling to believe this.
I'm gonna lock this until I can get some confirmation.
FOOOOTY
11 Mar 2008, 21:42
You can merge the threads Marns, its true..
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,23359490-11088,00.html
Demons suspend Colin Sylvia
Mark Stevens, March 11
MELBOURNE has been rocked by another off-field indiscretion, with forward Colin Sylvia suspended for the club's Round 1 clash with Hawthorn.
The Demons' leadership smacked Sylvia with a one-match ban and a $5000 fine today after the 22-year-old broke a 1am curfew and failed to turn up to a compulsory recovery session.
It comes a week after Melbourne skipper David Neitz announced the players had imposed a 1am limit on attending bars and nightclubs.
Sylvia, the No. 3 pick in the 2003 draft, was one of the club's form players leading into the season opener and his loss is a savage blow to the injury-depleted Demons.
Neitz said tonight he was disappointed Sylvia had let the club down on the eve of its 150th season.
"This is disappointing for Colin and the playing group," Neitz said.
"It's unacceptable for Colin or any other player not to run up for a recovery session as well as not abide by the players' curfew.
"Colin has been in very good form over the pre-season competition afrter competing his best pre-season to date.
"I believe the leadership group and entire player group have handled the situation responsibly."
Sylvia had a solid hitout in the Demons' 51-point practice match loss to the Kangaroos at Casey Field on Saturday.
He was required to meet his teammates at Junction Oval for a recovery on Sunday morning, but was not sighted.
The decision to enforce a ban and fine was completely player-driven, without the input of new coach Dean Bailey and football manager Chris Connolly.
Sylvia is a player of prodigious talent, who after finally overcoming osteitis pubis, is set for his biggest season yet.
The Sylvia no-show capped off an off-season of problems at Demonland, which started with bar room incidents in Greece and Germany involving Brock McLean and Nathan Carroll.
Carroll was suspended for two matches in January under the same strict leadership rules for showing a lack of professionalism.
McLean was recently removed from the leadership by his peers after losing his licence for speeding on his way back to Melbourne from a Bendigo practice match.
The midfielder was also the subject of scrutiny early this year after being banned from the Trinity Grammar carpark for doing "burn-outs".
Sylvia also found himself in the news last July after being in the same bar as Collingwood star Alan Didak and accused murderer Christopher Hudson.
The Demon had fallen asleep in his seat when Didak was offered a drink by Hudson at strip club Spearmint Rhino.
Hudson professed to be a fan of the Magpies and Didak, and offered the Magpie a lift home. Sylvia didn't meet Hudson and had been removed by security prior to any talk about a car ride.
Melbourne's curfew, an idea of the players, applies to weekend nights when players are permitted to drink.
It will remain in place until the team leaders believe players can be trusted to make their own calls.
Neitz made it clear last week that player standards at the club had to be tightened up.
He said the would probably be reviewed in April or May – and could possibly be relaxed if the players stuck to it.
Given the Sylvia incident, the 1am curfew could be in place for a long time yet.
Theseventhhamster
11 Mar 2008, 21:45
Wow what a ****head. He'd better learn from it. :thumbsd:
windsock
11 Mar 2008, 21:53
Source?
Was about to say that it's on the HS site but someone beat me to it.
CaptainDavey
11 Mar 2008, 21:53
The good news is that the leaders of the club aren't taking any shite from any player and are dishing out some good punishments.
The bad news is that if we're gonna do well this season, let alone round 1, we need Col to pull his effin head in, we needed him to beat the Hawks given the form he's currently in.
So friggen frustrating
scottyt2
11 Mar 2008, 21:57
one must wonder if he really is worth the trouble, maybe another young kid on our list would appreciate the chance a bit more.... get rid of him, cant play anyway, good reserves player.............:mad:
:thumbsd:what a stupid comment. Colin gives 100% everytime he steps on the field even with his body breaking down on him. And as for being a reserve player, well you obviously dont have a clue he'll be a very good player for us if can get fit.
master bate
11 Mar 2008, 22:06
:thumbsd:what a stupid comment. Colin gives 100% everytime he steps on the field even with his body breaking down on him. And as for being a reserve player, well you obviously dont have a clue he'll be a very good player for us if can get fit.We all know he is better than a reserves player but the rest of his post is valid. Usually a good start for someone who's body breaks down is to not go out passed 1am and to get to a recovery session. 5k fine and 1 match suspension is fine by me, it's not that bloody hard to leave a place early and rock up to the junction.
I like the way our leadership group is taking some ownership, but I also hope the players get the point now and this is the last incident.
Supermercado
11 Mar 2008, 22:16
Maybe he couldn't believe he got off belting the bloke on Saturday and thought he may as well do something to get himself rubbed out?
What the F@ck is happening with these blokes? Don't they realise they can't go on acting like this, especially with our club facing a very testing year?
Gee it gets me frustrated.:thumbsd:
Good on the leadership group though for being tough on stupid, unprofessional behaviour.
goal sneak
11 Mar 2008, 22:21
1am curfew is bullshit. SHould be 3 or so, then atvleast they can have a decent night. I think we are becoming too over sanatised.
Bartram_Class
11 Mar 2008, 22:23
Wheres that ****ing button gone?
In all serious, could this pre-season have gone much worse?
Can-play
11 Mar 2008, 22:24
1am's pretty stiff i reckon, cant expect young blokes not to have some fun on a weekend and go out with their mates. after 3 or so then yeh thats bordering danger if alcohols involved, but 1 is an early night by most 18-25 yr olds standards.
Fair argument that their footballers and in the spotlight etc...just reckon the curfew needs a bit of flexibility.
Missing round 1 is unfortunate. Lucky Robbo got off.
dutchy12
11 Mar 2008, 22:25
Jeez 5grand is a lot for a young player. like col who wouldn't be on heaps.
cschreuder61
11 Mar 2008, 22:25
I agree, but a curfew is still a curfew, and they need to be punished if Bailey was bringing in new rules and discipline.
When Clarkson took over if players were even a little late for training they had 5am training sessions, and also banned players like Hodge for missing a recovery session in the break the night after his 21st in order to set down the law.
I think its a good idea, especially in a development year, what the Dees are doing.
Can-play
11 Mar 2008, 22:26
1am curfew is bullshit. SHould be 3 or so, then atvleast they can have a decent night. I think we are becoming too over sanatised.
Great call mate, deadset didnt see it before i rambled on...hence the 3min gap.
who's idea was the 1am curfew? i thought it was the Leadership groups? If so, then the team simply has to abide by it. If they're really unhappy with it, there are ways to express that, not to stay out later and then not attending a recovery session.
Grow up Col.
Can-play
11 Mar 2008, 22:28
I think its a good idea, especially in a development year, what the Dees are doing.
is it already conceded that this is a 'development year'?
the 1am curfew isn't too bad, it's not 1am home and tucked in bed... it's 1am, walking out the door, beginning to head home...
i think the bigger issue here isn't the breach of curfew, but missing the compulsary recovery session... you can't just not turn up to training...
the 1am curfew isn't too bad, it's not 1am home and tucked in bed... it's 1am, walking out the door, beginning to head home...
i think the bigger issue here isn't the breach of curfew, but missing the compulsary recovery session... you can't just not turn up to training...
Agreed. He's a paid professional FFS.
demon21
11 Mar 2008, 22:46
Yes I agree the big issue here is that he didnt turn up for the compulsary recovery session.
festa1234
11 Mar 2008, 23:19
guess i have 2 make some changes 2 my supercoach side now FFS
cschreuder61
11 Mar 2008, 23:30
is it already conceded that this is a 'development year'?
I didn't mean to imply anything, but the first year would be getting used to the game plan and new rules, so its a good time to do it I would have thought, considering you are coming off a low finish last year, you need to shake it up a bit.Was Sylvia expected to have a big year?
super_phaser
11 Mar 2008, 23:39
As talented as Ablett
And about as smart as welll
Damn shame really :mad:
old_clint
12 Mar 2008, 00:55
I think the issue is that Col is inclined to have way too many decent nights. Last year in Feb he had a Court Order made against him after a drunken 3.30am episode, was famously getting pissed with Didak in June and now can't make it to Recovery even though he only lives a suburb away. You have to ask yourself, "How many other decent nights has he had which may have been similarly decent but escaped public scrutiny?"
I'd be inclined to now put him in the high-risk/low-return category.
Bartram_Class
12 Mar 2008, 01:08
You can argue whether 1am is too early or not, but the point is all players were told that this would be the rule and Colin has gone out and broken it.
Not just that but he has then missed a training session. Not good enough and they need to come down on him hard.
He's no rookie anymore, this is his 4th year at the club and he needs to start producing, cutting back on his night outs would be a decent start. Take a leaf out of Woey's book.
melbourne150
12 Mar 2008, 01:38
Fuuuuuuuuuuuuuk what an idiot.....breaking the curfew i can understand but not showing up for a compulsery recovery season??:mad:
He's been in good form and finaly looked like he was over his injuries and now he goes and stuffs it by doing something stupid and immature:mad:
He has not only let himself down but now we go into round 1 a player down and with Bruce, Rivers, Whelan, Bartram and Wheatley all battling to be fit for round 1 this is the last thing we need!!!!
Your a Proffesional athlete grow the *** up!!
I feel sorry for the rest of our team for having to abide by strict rules and cerfews because a few players keep stuffing up and getting into trouble.....
Sorry if i over reacted. But i am royally P'd off right now:mad:
Deenamite
12 Mar 2008, 06:03
Our pre-season couldn't have gone worse. He lacks a brain that kid, it really makes you wonder on several issues regarding commitment and bad choices. Add to that the fact that he was a #3 draft pick and hes done sweet FA.
DemonDoob
12 Mar 2008, 09:01
Bailey has tried to introduce new rules to old dogs. Problem is the Melbourne players attitudes are a joke. Bailey should've had the balls to clean the club out. All we have is a bunch of old players at the healm (the leadership group) trying to tell players you can't do what you've been doing the last few years. Really Bailey should've cleaned out Robertson when he wanted to go to the Bulldogs (not make him part of the leadership group), moved on Yze, told Neitz to retire, moved on Jeff White (who is just hopeless as he can't get any effective hitouts), moved on Brad Miller. He should've just gone in with total youth for 2008 and made Cam Bruce Captain or even Brad Green. Then let the true leaders come through.
Obviously Sylvia isn't a true leader. He continually stuffs up. Everyone touts Mclean as the next captain but he fails to step up to the plate as well. My vote goes to Nathan Jones. This guy is a goer and goes in hard for the ball, and has kicked important goals when it counts.
Anyway Bailey learn your lesson quickly and move on the old players at the MFC and rebuild.
DemonDoob
12 Mar 2008, 09:03
:thumbsd:what a stupid comment. Colin gives 100% everytime he steps on the field even with his body breaking down on him. And as for being a reserve player, well you obviously dont have a clue he'll be a very good player for us if can get fit.
Doesn't matter if he gives 100% on the field mate, he isn't good enough. It is well known amongst the AFL players to put pressure on Sylvia because he is slow in disposing the ball. He makes slow decisions. He is a great overhead mark for his size, but he is slow on his feet and slow decision making. As the previous post said, great reserves player but doesn't cut it afl.
ausde13
12 Mar 2008, 09:37
1am's pretty stiff i reckon, cant expect young blokes not to have some fun on a weekend and go out with their mates. after 3 or so then yeh thats bordering danger if alcohols involved, but 1 is an early night by most 18-25 yr olds standards.
Fair argument that their footballers and in the spotlight etc...just reckon the curfew needs a bit of flexibility.
Hang on a tick his job is to play footy.. he has had a body that won't allow him to play at his full potential. the leaders he helped appoint in his work place have a curfew they put in place. He has finally started to get his body right to play at 100%. The club as a new coaching staff it is the clubs 150th season and these blokes a week before the season starts are going out getting blind. for ****s sake it is not that hard to get out of the pub by 1am. This is his livelyhood, if he doesn't want to be part of it then he can get a real job and go banana's like the rest of us do but you can't have it both ways.
The fact he missed the recovery session with his injury history is just silly.
I've been on the positivity bandwagon waiting for the first few rounds to see where we are at but the attitude of these guys just does not seem to be where premiership clubs are (besides West Cost...).
Supermercado
12 Mar 2008, 10:18
#1 pick - TRADED
#13 pick - DELISTED and working as a barman on Bridge Road
#16 pick - TRADED to Adelaide.
#9 pick - DELISTED without playing a game
#15 pick - DELISTED after 4 games
#3 - SUSPENDED
#5 - DUMPED from leadership group
Bartram_Class
12 Mar 2008, 10:24
Moral of the story SuperMerc?
old_clint
12 Mar 2008, 10:49
Clearly the club has not been nearly astute enough or has been dead stiff or both. This despite praise of Craig Cameron from various quarters.
Supermercado
12 Mar 2008, 10:57
Really we got 10 serviceable years from Johnstone, Lamb was robbed not to play more, there was nothing we could to keep Thompson, McLean has been good and it's not like Sylvia has killed somebody and gone to prison.
I just wanted to add to the generally hysterical and tabloid feel of Big Footy by making something more of it than it was.
Pipefitter
12 Mar 2008, 11:01
oh dear. come on col.
demonfan9
12 Mar 2008, 11:20
Bailey has tried to introduce new rules to old dogs. Problem is the Melbourne players attitudes are a joke. Bailey should've had the balls to clean the club out. All we have is a bunch of old players at the healm (the leadership group) trying to tell players you can't do what you've been doing the last few years. Really Bailey should've cleaned out Robertson when he wanted to go to the Bulldogs (not make him part of the leadership group), moved on Yze, told Neitz to retire, moved on Jeff White (who is just hopeless as he can't get any effective hitouts), moved on Brad Miller. He should've just gone in with total youth for 2008 and made Cam Bruce Captain or even Brad Green. Then let the true leaders come through.
Obviously Sylvia isn't a true leader. He continually stuffs up. Everyone touts Mclean as the next captain but he fails to step up to the plate as well. My vote goes to Nathan Jones. This guy is a goer and goes in hard for the ball, and has kicked important goals when it counts.
Anyway Bailey learn your lesson quickly and move on the old players at the MFC and rebuild.
You can't expect a new coach to come in and make those decisions instantly. He needs time to see how the players go on and off the field. We already lost six experienced players. Anymore and the Junction Oval would resemble an afterschool care program.
They play AFL and are professional athetes the last things on their minds should be is a good night out. 3 am is to late, 1 am is fine.
If they wanna have a good time with their mates play local footy and do as they please dont play AFL. The curfew has felxibility as it says players should be HEADING home by 1am, not walking in their front door at precisely 1:00:00 am.
demonfan9
12 Mar 2008, 11:24
What the F@ck is happening with these blokes? Don't they realise they can't go on acting like this, especially with our club facing a very testing year?
Gee it gets me frustrated.:thumbsd:
Good on the leadership group though for being tough on stupid, unprofessional behaviour.
I think it's a good thing that the club is taking this approach with the players.
There will always be a handful of players at each club that take time to adjust to these changes, or always live on the edge (such as getting into fights, etc...)
lethalselbow
12 Mar 2008, 13:31
Great move suspending Sylvia for breaking team rules. :thumbsu:
Lay down the law to players and stick to it.:thumbsu::thumbsu:
stickman11
12 Mar 2008, 14:37
He'll learn from this - as soon as he knows he can't get away with this stuff anymore, the sooner he'll buckle down. I blame Travis Johnstone for setting the wrong example. Good move by the club.
CowboyFromHell
12 Mar 2008, 21:56
All we need now is for Rivers to break down again and for Nathan Jones to go AWOL and only THEN will our season be really underway. :rolleyes:
Rivers has been ruled out for round 1 already along with Wheelan and bruce is 50/50. There is an article in the hearlad sun today saying so.
melbourne150
13 Mar 2008, 14:48
Rivers has been ruled out for round 1 already along with Whelan and bruce is 50/50. There is an article in the hearlad sun today saying so.
Yes but in that article they were ruled out by the guy that wrote it not by Bailey.
Why would we risk playing them at sandringham this sunday if they have already been ruled out?
Rivers and Whelan should be a better chance of playing than Bruce considering they have already played half a game at Sandy and Bruce hasn't played at all.