View Full Version : Trade Sylvia at the end of 2008?

eliasd82
12 Mar 2008, 10:59
Ok boys and girls,

I know I'll get blasted for raising this topic but keep in mind I DONT BELIEVE THIS, im just playing devils advocate to see what everyone thoughts are?

If we did trade Sylvia at the end of 2008 season - for his constant indiscreations and inconsistent form - what would he be worth?

Would we get a pick inside the top 12?
cause he would definateley be a gun at another club cause he is the type of play that would really respond in getting a major kick up the butt... or will his indiscreations and inconsistency lower his market vaule to something like a pick 17-25?

There is no doubt we all agree he has the raw abilty but you really would wish that he had a brain like Junior McDonald.

You thoughts lads?

Pipefitter
12 Mar 2008, 11:11
We'd get a 2nd rounder for him, prob in the late 20s

saj_21
12 Mar 2008, 11:13
Stupid thread, like most people of bigfooty just reacting to news. It was only days ago people started a thread saying he would be better than maclean and now people wnat him traded.

demonfan9
12 Mar 2008, 11:13
Don't see the need for this thread on the verge of Round 1.

eliasd82
12 Mar 2008, 11:26
Geeez, read the post.
Not suggesting that I want him traded.
Just wanting to know what your thoughts on his market vaule?

Supermercado
12 Mar 2008, 11:27
Market value of fukal. If he does enough this year to raise it then there's no point in trading.

demonfan9
12 Mar 2008, 11:29
At the moment his value wouldn't be high enough to consider trading him (unless he continues with more of these indiscretions or his form drops badly, then we have no choice).

I'm thinking around 30-40.

Panthera
12 Mar 2008, 11:33
From an outsiders point of view, it's pretty obvious he's not going to live up to his TOP 5 draft pick :thumbsd:

Trade him to Richmond for a 2nd rounder at seasons end and cut your losses...Jones, Bartram, Petterd and Morton will form the nucleous of your midfield for years to come and he's surplus to requirments.

demonfan9
12 Mar 2008, 11:35
From an outsiders point of view, it's pretty obvious he's not going to live up to his TOP 5 draft pick :thumbsd:

Probably not, but hopefully he can still be a valuable contributor without having to be a superstar.

daics cousin
12 Mar 2008, 11:39
Hey guys if you don't want him we'll take him off your hands.
Even with his indescretions he is still a very damaging player.C'mon dees dont get rid of him like you did travis Johnston,that was a big mistake.

eliasd82
12 Mar 2008, 11:41
All really good points... I think this year is really critical for Sylvia..
He needs to prove that he is vaulable player to the team on and off field.

Hopefully this really makes him change his attitude, personally I would have suspended him indefinately. Due to Melbfc making this curfew last week, he didn't even last a week and that shows a massive amount of disrespect to the team and even more so the leadership group.

Fingers crossed he sets the footy world on fire after his time on the sidelines.

demonfan9
12 Mar 2008, 11:45
Even with his indescretions he is still a very damaging player.C'mon dees dont get rid of him like you did travis Johnston,that was a big mistake.

As an outsider, can I ask why you think that getting rid of Johnstone was a mistake?

Although he is immensly talented, he is also very inconsistent. In 10 seasons at Melbourne, he finished Top 10 in the B&F just twice. At 27 years old, we had to make a decision. Do we keep the same blokes that have failed to deliver a flag, or do we cut our losses and move on?

I suppose you could argue that guys like Neitz, Yze, White, Robertson, Bruce and Green haven't delivered a flag either, so why weren't they traded? Well, you can't simply get rid of all your experienced players at once. You need leaders around the club to help with the development of your younger players. It would not benefit anyone to go out there with an average age of 20 years and lose every match by 15 goals. Plus, some blokes like Neitz, White, Yze and Robertson have done enough over their careers for this club and don't deserve to be shipped off. Others like Bruce and Green are simply more consistent than Johnstone.

ausde13
12 Mar 2008, 12:30

DC.... mate can you imagine young Col and Didak playing in the same side?? ****en nightmare written all over it. The next Karl Norman/Lawrence Angwin combo....

BEEG
12 Mar 2008, 13:03
If Mclean and Sylvia both have average seasons 1 of the 2 even both will be traded i was speaking to a mate about this last week they really need to pull there finger out by the way i would love to have both of them at the Pies i think if Sylvia could stay fit and get a fresh start could be really handy

RandB
12 Mar 2008, 14:18
Every team needs depth and Sylvia is a required player so until the end of the season we have no idea of whether to get rid of him or not. The team has laid down the gauntlett, let's see if Col responds and gets his priorities straight.

Spirit of 26
12 Mar 2008, 15:56
Is he really as good as everyone thinks?

So far doesn't rack up big stats. Plays hot and cold. Gets injured. Good tackler and has bobbed up on the odd occasion for a goal but surely he should be able to do more and start to move to being on a match winner.

Been watching this kid for a little while now, and comes across as thick as two thick planks of very thick wood, that are thick. Is that the problem?

Time to deliver. Time to start getting plenty of stats. Time to start being a match winner. If not, another wasted opportunity of a high pick ending up not giving much.

davey_magik
12 Mar 2008, 16:27

So far doesn't rack up big stats. Plays hot and cold. Gets injured. Good tackler and has bobbed up on the odd occasion for a goal but surely he should be able to do more and start to move to being on a match winner.

Been watching this kid for a little while now, and comes across as thick as two thick planks of very thick wood, that are thick. Is that the problem?

Time to deliver. Time to start getting plenty of stats. Time to start being a match winner. If not, another wasted opportunity of a high pick ending up not giving much.

Firstly, if you actually saw him in the u/18s and a few VFL games he was dominating matches with ease.

To be fair he's had OP since he came to the club. I agree it is time to deliver, but this has already been said by all on this board. This season is a massive year for him, and calling to trade him now is idiotic when the season hasn't even started yet.

dutchy12
12 Mar 2008, 16:29

See its ppl like you have been suckered into this expectation that high draft pciks are going to become stars over night. Not everyone is Chris Judd. In some cases it takes time e.g. Luke Hodge Sylvia hasn't set the world on fire but he has had a terrible case of Ostetius Pubis and we really have only seen him perform in patches.

Let's just let him play out the season before we categorise him as being a dud that should be traded.

If someone could provide a link to that article in inside footy with him where he sounded quite mature and knew exactly what 2008 meant for him.

scooter600x
12 Mar 2008, 16:41
He was offered to the Dogs last trade period for pick 5. Dogs said no thanks.

Supermercado
12 Mar 2008, 17:19
Lies. They couldn't say anything because they were too busy rolling on the floor and laughing at the idea.

Stants_24_Legend
12 Mar 2008, 17:24
We'll take him no doubt...
If u wanna get rid of him no worries
we'll have him. knighter will sought him out

melbourne150
12 Mar 2008, 17:36

OK and you know this how??:rolleyes:

Sylvia is probebly the most talented player on our list but his body hasn't allowed him to use it....

Once he gets rid of his injuries(and it appears he has) and gets fit enough to play in the midfield he will show us why he was taken so highly.

just watch the queens birthday highlights to see what he will be doing week in week out once he gets his body right.:thumbsu:

I think the coach and leadership group need to have a long chat with him and make him realise that he is a proffesional athlete and that his behaviour will not be tolerated at Mfc or any other club for that matter!

We have put to much time and effort into him(and his injuries) and he has to much talent to be traded......I would be outraged if we traded him!!!

Bartram_Class
12 Mar 2008, 17:54
No, we've put four years into him, he's got to give a couple of good years ala TJ before we even think about moving him on.

delirious1
12 Mar 2008, 18:01
His market value would be a late second round pick

High draft pick 4 years ago doesnt=First Rounder, Obviously he has struggled with form/injury and the fact your trying to off-load him means any club will laugh at a first rounder.

BIG question marks over attitude, no club will offer that much to an injury prone bloke who creates headlines.

melbourne150
12 Mar 2008, 18:13
His market value would be a late second round pick

High draft pick 4 years ago doesnt=First Rounder, Obviously he has struggled with form/injury and the fact your trying to off-load him means any club will laugh at a first rounder.

BIG question marks over attitude, no club will offer that much to an injury prone bloke who creates headlines.

Just because some Bulldogs supporter reckons we wanted to trade him doesn't make it true:rolleyes:

jackolegend
12 Mar 2008, 18:26
Would be madness to get rid of him. His form in the pre-season looked very promising. Was our most consistent performer along with Jones, Davey. Need a good ball user to replace the silky skills of Johnstone and I think Sylvia is that player.

whelan=legend
12 Mar 2008, 19:08
If Mclean and Sylvia both have average seasons 1 of the 2 even both will be traded i was speaking to a mate about this last week they really need to pull there finger out by the way i would love to have both of them at the Pies i think if Sylvia could stay fit and get a fresh start could be really handy
Bahahaha good luck!:thumbsu:

CowboyFromHell
12 Mar 2008, 22:02

I heard you then backed this up by offering us Wayde Skipper for Pick 3. Wheels and roundabouts.

No point in trading him as a highly doubt he would have any real value. All I'm banking on is for Col to pull a Steve Johnson like turnaround. His punishment was nowhere near as harsh, but the turnaround is all that counts!

borgo
13 Mar 2008, 09:30
See its ppl like you have been suckered into this expectation that high draft pciks are going to become stars over night. Not everyone is Chris Judd. In some cases it takes time e.g. Luke Hodge Sylvia hasn't set the world on fire but he has had a terrible case of Ostetius Pubis and we really have only seen him perform in patches.

Let's just let him play out the season before we categorise him as being a dud that should be traded.

If someone could provide a link to that article in inside footy with him where he sounded quite mature and knew exactly what 2008 meant for him.

Sylvia is an interesting one. I don't think he is going to be near the class of McLean, Jones, Morton etc.. and if he puts in a good year - you should think about the trade. You need to trade talent to get talent and with a superdraft coming it could be a good opportunity to set yourselves up long-term. With your drafting last year you really need to stock up on KPP and now is the time to do it.
Also, Hodge won a B&F in his 4th year so i'm not sure he took a 'long time' to develop..

or you could do a Carlton and tank..?

ohwhenthesaints
13 Mar 2008, 09:48
Would be madness to get rid of him. His form in the pre-season looked very promising. Was our most consistent performer along with Jones, Davey. Need a good ball user to replace the silky skills of Johnstone and I think Sylvia is that player.

Bottom line. If he turns it around after serving time, we will all be hailing him. If he doesnt turn it around, he is not worth a cold pie in trade talks.
We are at the mercy of what happens on the field. I hate this game.

C4[2]Yo`DooR
13 Mar 2008, 09:51
Having watched him in the TAC/Championships with Andy Walker.

I'd be willing to part ways with an early 2nd round pick (which for us is probably 18/19/20) for him.

C4[2]Yo`DooR
13 Mar 2008, 09:52
or you could do a Carlton and tank..?

Jarryd Roughead
Lance Franklin
Xavier Ellis
Beau Dowler

borgo
13 Mar 2008, 09:58
Yo`DooR;10312679']Jarryd Roughead
Lance Franklin
Xavier Ellis
Beau Dowler

You disputing that you didn't tank last year?

Kreuzer
Gibbs
Murphy
Walker
(And Goddard would have been yours..)

thats 5 - 2..

thomas12
16 Mar 2008, 20:19
theres no point trading sylvia, because melbourne seem to always pick up mediocre players, usually all around the 180-185cm with an average weight of 80kg. Melb simply have to many players that are capable to play on the ball and not enough big men like Jonathan Brown, Lance Franklin, Fevola & Pavlich. Melb need to lift there game and and pik up some players that are able to destroy other teams!

Tommyneu
16 Mar 2008, 21:59
theres no point trading sylvia, because melbourne seem to always pick up mediocre players, usually all around the 180-185cm with an average weight of 80kg. Melb simply have to many players that are capable to play on the ball and not enough big men like Jonathan Brown, Lance Franklin, Fevola & Pavlich. Melb need to lift there game and and pik up some players that are able to destroy other teams!

Yeah...because players like this just grow on trees don't they? :rolleyes:

Lynch takes a mark
16 Mar 2008, 22:06
not like you couldn't have picked up the likes of Sellar and Henderson in the past 2 drafts instead of Morton and Frawley

both look likely types at FF/CHF long term

Flashhh
16 Mar 2008, 23:26
The most sensible thing thats been said in this whole thread.
Look at the players we have drafted for the forward line:
Bate - Tall half forward / Midfielder forced to play CHF.
Dunn - Tall half forward / Midfielder who started off forward but has moved into the midfield.
Morton - Tall half forward / Midfielder.

And as for the defence, its our weakest area and we've payed no attention to it besides recruiting James Frawley (which IMO opinion was a good move). With a backline of Carroll, Holland and the brain dead Miller (and Rivers who is not big enough to play on some of the power forwards) we go to the draft and pick a halfback flanker/midfielder in Grimes rather than going for a Tayte Pears or Alex Rance.

RandB
17 Mar 2008, 09:44
The most sensible thing thats been said in this whole thread.
Look at the players we have drafted for the forward line:
Bate - Tall half forward / Midfielder forced to play CHF.
Dunn - Tall half forward / Midfielder who started off forward but has moved into the midfield.
Morton - Tall half forward / Midfielder.

And as for the defence, its our weakest area and we've payed no attention to it besides recruiting James Frawley (which IMO opinion was a good move). With a backline of Carroll, Holland and the brain dead Miller (and Rivers who is not big enough to play on some of the power forwards) we go to the draft and pick a halfback flanker/midfielder in Grimes rather than going for a Tayte Pears or Alex Rance.
Finally we agree on something.:)

bluesforever
17 Mar 2008, 12:08
Sylvia is shit. A poor drafting decision.

melbourne150
17 Mar 2008, 12:43
Sylvia is shit. A poor drafting decision.

You are an idiot, and will be eating your words when Sylvia destroys you in round 4....

Pipefitter
17 Mar 2008, 13:07
Id love sylvia to be the player we all want him to be. I dont think he will be. The fact he has had OP doesnt affect his slow and poor decision making, being out of position, and continual off field misbehaviour.

Pjkimber
17 Mar 2008, 14:32
Id love sylvia to be the player we all want him to be. I dont think he will be. The fact he has had OP doesnt affect his slow and poor decision making, being out of position, and continual off field misbehaviour.

Couldn't agree with you more! At the moment he is looking like a waste of a top 3 draft pick.

demonfan9
17 Mar 2008, 20:45
A poor drafting decision.

You should know.

demonfan9
17 Mar 2008, 20:50
Couldn't agree with you more! At the moment he is looking like a waste of a top 3 draft pick.

There wasn't much else in that draft. In fact, I dare say that the last 35 drafted are collectively better than the first 35 drafted.

After Sylvia was taken, there was Ray, McLean, Bradley, Tenace, Clarke, Trotter and Dunn. McLean is the only good player there and we got him anyway. It's not as if we picked Sylvia and overlooked Judd, Pavlich, Riewoldt and Cox.

footyman
18 Mar 2008, 12:28
No point in trading him as a highly doubt he would have any real value. All I'm banking on is for Col to pull a Steve Johnson like turnaround. His punishment was nowhere near as harsh, but the turnaround is all that counts! You are after all the president of his fan club. Bought his 2008 badge yet mate? :D

Talented, but not using it to his full potential. If it ever clicks he'll be a star. If it doesnt...well he might look back at it when hes an old man and regret never achieving what he could have.