View Full Version : Strangest thing you've ever eaten?

estibador
16 Mar 2008, 22:45
We've had strangest places you've been bitten but what is the strangest thing you've bitten?

I'm a big fan of this show on Fox called Man vs Wild. Anyone who has Fox but hasn't seen it should check it out. It's about this British ex SAS survival expert who gets dumped in various harsh areas around the world with nothing but a knife, a small water bottle and a flint. He teaches you how to find food, water, shelter (and how to eventually escape) if you're ever caught in the middle of nowhere. He's my new hero.

Anyway, in the episode when he was dumped in the Arctic he hadn't eaten for two days when he finally came across a dead animal. Score! I thought - he's gunna cook himself a nice roast. But no - apparently it's not safe to eat the animal - but it is safe to eat... maggots!

So being the impressionable chap I am I decided to try it out for myself. Some cat food that our fussy cat decided not to eat had been left outside all day and had some nice little maggots all over it (the flies work quickly up here.)

You only live once I thought (especially if you copy everything you see on tv hey? ;)) so I chucked a couple in my mouth. Didn't taste as bad as I was expecting - actually quite sweet. But they were tiny ones - not like the big fat ones my hero tucked into on tv.

I've also tried witchetty grubs a few times - but I wouldn't recommend them. They taste like a snot filled condom (I assume. Never had the pleasure of eating a snot filled condom.)

I'm sure there's more that I can't think of right now (apparently humans swallow X amount of spiders while they sleep over their lifetime without even realizing it.)

So what's the strangest thing/s you've eaten?

Rob
16 Mar 2008, 23:22
So being the impressionable chap I am I decided to try it out for myself. Some cat food that our fussy cat decided not to eat had been left outside all day and had some nice little maggots all over it (the flies work quickly up here.)

You only live once I thought (especially if you copy everything you see on tv hey? ;)) so I chucked a couple in my mouth.

You ****en what?

Fair dinkum, i'm not even going to try and top that - and I reckon if anyone can then they're lucky they haven't made the Darwin awards list!

estibador
16 Mar 2008, 23:28
If it's good enough for Bear Grylls it's good enough for me.

That's my new life motto.

shibz_1989
17 Mar 2008, 01:12
HAHAHA I'm too busy laughing at Rob's reaction :D

Um...ate cat food (the dry stuff) when I was younger.

My mate ate washing powder on NYE as a dare...we was burping out bubbles for ages :D:thumbsu:

Underdog
17 Mar 2008, 01:14
a "meat" pie ;)

estibador
17 Mar 2008, 01:29
Um...ate cat food (the dry stuff) when I was younger.

Yeah I've tried that. I was a bit disappointed - thought they might taste like some sort of beef jerky flavoured Shapes but they were pretty tasteless.

Haven't quite worked my way up to wet cat food yet, though some of those little single serve cat food pouches smell surprisingly tempting.

My mate ate washing powder on NYE as a dare...we was burping out bubbles for ages

That's a pretty good effort. Not sure I'd be game to do that.

a "meat" pie ;)

Eaten... not thrown.

estibador
17 Mar 2008, 01:54
Bear also showed how to catch a fish with your bare hands and eat it alive by killing it with your first bite through the spinal cord.

But I'm not cruel enough to try that out on a goldfish unless it's a life or death situation.

Dyslexic Emo
17 Mar 2008, 05:51
I haven't eaten anything like that esti. but in my family i'm the go to guy if you think something is off, I'll smell it, taste it and give you an answer. Not once has anyone gotten sick of things i've given my seal of approval. However. My approval to myself when i'm hungry well there's another story altogether.

But on more traditional 'food sources' I've actually developed quite the appreciation to skate (stingray) of late and buy it at any given opportunity. Also have been going through a Kangaroo stage at the moment but i'm sure that will die down soon as I get sick of the toughness.

Looking for crocodile though so if anyone knows where to get it?

Lach72
17 Mar 2008, 09:20
Bear also showed how to catch a fish with your bare hands and eat it alive by killing it with your first bite through the spinal cord.

But I'm not cruel enough to try that out on a goldfish unless it's a life or death situation.

Beau Waters board

Lach72
17 Mar 2008, 09:21
I've eaten caribou...quite nice...like a fatty beef

pinkus maximus
17 Mar 2008, 09:23
monkey brain

rubbery

summerthebat
17 Mar 2008, 12:12
I will probably lose 1530135 docker points when I admit to this.

But I went to the 2002 world cup, but based myself only in Korea.... and you can guess where this is going.

'When in Rome' and all that.

So yeah, a friend and I ate dog.

Look, I love dogs as much as the next guy... I was just in travel zone OK.

Terrible meat, tastes like low grade roast beef.

Don't regret it though.

ImperialPurple
17 Mar 2008, 12:37
Reading all this makes me thankful I'm a vego. :(

Lach72
17 Mar 2008, 12:41

Damn hippies....
How many tempeh's did you kill for your dinner last night? Huh? Huh? :mad:

Ogrebait
17 Mar 2008, 13:07
I know it's only an urban myth, but I'm not a big fan of Chinese food.

www.snopes.com/photos/food/rats.asp (http://www.snopes.com/photos/food/rats.asp)

shibz_1989
17 Mar 2008, 18:34
I will probably lose 1530135 docker points when I admit to this.

But I went to the 2002 world cup, but based myself only in Korea.... and you can guess where this is going.

'When in Rome' and all that.

So yeah, a friend and I ate dog.

Look, I love dogs as much as the next guy... I was just in travel zone OK.

Terrible meat, tastes like low grade roast beef.

Don't regret it though.

Bahaha when I went over to Vietnam, my grandmother went through all the words to look out for when eating out, like the ones that mean dog, cat, field rat and the like. I was very cautious about what I ate...I must say though, I never got sick once, and I became addicted to chicken satays :thumbsu:

estibador
17 Mar 2008, 19:16
Sure they were chicken Shibz? Any coincidence that you can't find chicken that tastes like that in Oz? ;)

I've tried camel before too. Not too bad. It's a bit sweeter than beef.

FreoAzz
17 Mar 2008, 20:46
I haven't eaten anything like that esti. but in my family i'm the go to guy if you think something is off, I'll smell it, taste it and give you an answer. Not once has anyone gotten sick of things i've given my seal of approval. However. My approval to myself when i'm hungry well there's another story altogether.

But on more traditional 'food sources' I've actually developed quite the appreciation to skate (stingray) of late and buy it at any given opportunity. Also have been going through a Kangaroo stage at the moment but i'm sure that will die down soon as I get sick of the toughness.

If the Kangaroo's tough it's cause you're cooking it for too long. It's got no fat on it whatsoever so it's one big muscle. So the pan has to be really really hot and the meat just needs to be seared on either side. Probably 30 seconds a side is long enough. It comes out kind of rare but if you leave it for a moment too long it'll go tough.

Just my advice ;)

freo heave ho
17 Mar 2008, 21:22

Surely you've had a dodgy legume in the past??

Dyslexic Emo
17 Mar 2008, 23:03
Point taken about the Roo cheers:thumbsu:

docker_azza
18 Mar 2008, 10:21
This thread's got me thinking about my trip to China this summer just gone. It's a shame that I didn't get to try some dog and snake when I was in China. :(
Even though I wouldn't eat the consciously, it's worth giving them a try for the novelty factor.

Stronzo
18 Mar 2008, 11:06

Gollum style, cool. I really want to watch this show.

bigkev bleeds purple
18 Mar 2008, 12:42
Gollum style, cool. I really want to watch this show.

Esti's right, it's good and that bloke is a gun, if not a bit tapped in the head. I saw one where he was up in the Kimberley before, he picked up a snake, swam across a pool in the bottom of a gorge to get to the rocks on the other side and then killed it with his bare hands by smashing it against the rocks before cooking and eating it. He reckons it was good, too.

The next day he was in the European Alps. He's pretty versatile.

Stronzo
18 Mar 2008, 13:07
Don't have foxtel :(

Are there DVDs?

estibador
18 Mar 2008, 15:27
Damn, I missed the Kimberley one. I was wondering if they were going to send him to Oz.

Here you go Stronz: http://shopping.discovery.com/product-65773.html

The one when he was in Africa was pretty cool. He got water by squeezing the juices of freshly laid elephant dung into his mouth and food by eating raw strips of meat off a recently killed zebra he found.

Lucky there's no elephants or zebras where I live.

Stronzo
18 Mar 2008, 15:43
mmm elephant dung water...

bigkev bleeds purple
18 Mar 2008, 22:16
I was thirsty 5 minutes ago. Now, my thirst has mysteriously vanished...

docker_azza
18 Mar 2008, 22:26
Was watching BIzarre Foods on travel and Living (Foxtel) a few weeks back, in Vietnam they have a coffee which comes from an animal after the animal has digested the coffee beans.

Stronzo
18 Mar 2008, 23:10
Damn, I missed the Kimberley one. I was wondering if they were going to send him to Oz.

Here you go Stronz: http://shopping.discovery.com/product-65773.html

The one when he was in Africa was pretty cool. He got water by squeezing the juices of freshly laid elephant dung into his mouth and food by eating raw strips of meat off a recently killed zebra he found.

Lucky there's no elephants or zebras where I live.
Sorry forgot to thank you esti, cheers :thumbsu:

I'll probably order it when I'm not so broke. :o

Shaymuhz
18 Mar 2008, 23:29
i've eaten chicken heart, llama and piranha. i guess they're kind of odd

estibador
19 Mar 2008, 01:23
i've eaten chicken heart, llama and piranha. i guess they're kind of odd

Nice work.

It's always good to get one back on any little bastard animals who think they can eat us.

estibador
27 Mar 2008, 22:33

I had crocodile for dinner tonight.

Interesting taste - it's almost like a cross between chicken, pork and beef. Can't really explain it but it sort of tastes vaguely familiar to everything while at the same time not tasting like any of them. A little tough though.

Dyslexic Emo
27 Mar 2008, 22:41
whre'd you find it esti? was it frm a resaraunt or did you go out hunting on the weekend dundee style?

estibador
27 Mar 2008, 22:45
You mean Bear Grylls style?

I took him down with nothing but my bare hands and a shotgun I made out of an old branch and a few bottletops I found.

Nah, the only wrestling I did was getting my wallet out of my pocket - got it from the local butcher shop. They ordered it from Darwin originally I think.

Dyslexic Emo
28 Mar 2008, 00:14
which butcher is that? cos i've been trying to find some for ages but just can't anywhere?

ps: bear gyllis is a fag, it's all staged

estibador
28 Mar 2008, 00:24
Sorry to disappoint, but it would probably cost you a grand or so in airfares to get to this particular butchers shop.

If there was some way I could send you some I would. But by the time it got to you the postie would probably drop it off at the copshop thinking it was a ransom note with some rotting fingers and toes inside.

estibador
29 Mar 2008, 04:45
ps: bear gyllis is a fag, it's all staged

Only just noticed this piece of sacrilege. How dare you!!!!

Obviously there's a bit of creative licence taken when shooting the show. It is a tv show after all - they have to make it as dramatic and entertaining as possible.

And they make that quite clear with the disclaimer at the start, so it's not like they are trying to con us - except for people who are too stupid to bother reading it.

But there's nothing fake about the (continuous) shots of Bear eating maggots, spiders and fish alive - or drinking his own urine or the juice from elephant shit. Or catching turtles and snakes and cooking up a nice feed. Or showing you how to find water no matter where you are.

Please don't badmouth my hero anymore or you'll make me cry.