View Full Version : Matthew Lloyd on the footy show - is there a dumber AFL player?
well Fevola obviously...
but wow.. listening to Lloyd's grunting on the footy show tonight.. this bloke is sounding more and primitive every year
Ice-Wolf
19 Mar 2008, 21:21
Crawford's pretty stupid too
GreaT SourcE
19 Mar 2008, 21:25
He's not stupid at all, but is a pretty shy person, and I don't think you / anyone should knock him because he has that personallity...
He let's his footy do the talking, not like some other players...:rolleyes:
Bombers1234
19 Mar 2008, 21:26
well Fevola obviously...
but wow.. listening to Lloyd's grunting on the footy show tonight.. this bloke is sounding more and primitive every year
Maybe, but that dumb person will be richer, more famous and more succesfull than you will ever be.
Crawford's pretty stupid too
at least he's got a personality and can entertain. what matthew lloyd possibly is there to offer the audience is beyond me
The Dustbin
19 Mar 2008, 21:27
well Fevola obviously...
You just answered your own question. ;)
rainman06
19 Mar 2008, 21:30
Stupid thread. He has been just as entertaining as the other 2 on the panel tonight. Not everyone has to be a clown like fev or crawf. Sure they are better to watch but dont knock the bloke cos he isnt an idiot.
nonchalance
19 Mar 2008, 21:31
Lloyd isn't actually dumb. He's just completely incapable of speaking to a camera.
Ice-Wolf
19 Mar 2008, 21:33
Lloyd isn't actually dumb. He's just completely incapable of speaking to a camera.
He seems awful worried about the new sides signing up players. (Don't worry Lloydy they won't try to poach you :p)
The Dustbin
19 Mar 2008, 21:38
He seems awful worried about the new sides signing up players. (Don't worry Lloydy they won't try to poach you :p)
He just signed a new 3 year contract. Ditto. :rolleyes:
:p
I'd like to see Fevola and Lloyd play against each other in a game of chess.
As most people have said, he isn't dumb, just doesn't like being in front of the camera.
probably a fair call
why then, is he on the footy show so much? does not do himself any favours really..
Ryder Is God
19 Mar 2008, 21:45
He's not dumb, he's just not a great public speaker.
at least he's got a personality and can entertain. what matthew lloyd possibly is there to offer the audience is beyond me
An educated football opinion?
I couldn't care less if he ever goes on TFS again, as long as he just keeps kicking 60+ each year, i'm happy
probably a fair call
why then, is he on the footy show so much? does not do himself any favours really..I'm pretty sure he's got a good footy brain. Just isn't an exciting public speaker. Maybe he was better when he was younger. I've seen him numerous times absolutely pissing himself laughing around 10 years ago.
dales.girl38
19 Mar 2008, 21:52
Lloyd's alright, I don't know why footballers who aren't morons get attacked for it...some people can't be pleased.
Hope Matty Scarlett was watching when he said Darren Glass is the best full back in the competition, since Scarlo will be playing on the diver next week. :D
The Fireman
19 Mar 2008, 21:57
No dumber than anyone who watches TFS.
Bomber32
19 Mar 2008, 22:01
I don't care whether Lloyd is a good public speaker or not.
His performances on the field speak for themselves.:thumbsu:
haha, would be funny to see
Horsie to B2...
I don't care whether Lloyd is a good public speaker or not.
His performances on the field speak for themselves.:thumbsu:
They sure do, doesn't mean he's good on tv. he's probably the worst on the footy show. you don't need to defend him cos he is your star player. Christ, Fev is as dumb as dog shit but you can always have a laugh at him on TFS.
Horsie to B2...
Then Fev calls out "UNO!"
No dumber than anyone who watches TFS.
Enjoying the show then Firey? ;)
ManWithNoName
19 Mar 2008, 22:07
Yeah...nah.
swansrule100
19 Mar 2008, 22:08
I'm pretty sure he's got a good footy brain. Just isn't an exciting public speaker. Maybe he was better when he was younger. I've seen him numerous times absolutely pissing himself laughing around 10 years ago.
probably a bit nervous, they dont involve the players on the show as much as they did when it was dunstall and lyon and brownless etc in the early days. Im no lloyd fan, but i think people just like baggin him
Why does he want a media career then?
Ah, the irony. Maybe when crawf, fev and lloyd are all retired they can host a late night tv show, like that Up late with Hotdogs crap :)
And_ROOS
19 Mar 2008, 22:10
He's not stupid at all, but is a pretty shy person, and I don't think you / anyone should knock him because he has that personallity...
Correct, his diving on the field does alot of talking :thumbsu:
He doesn't actively seek the media spotlight. However, media work is expected in his role as Captain of the Essendon Football Club.
malteaser
19 Mar 2008, 22:14
Maybe, but that dumb person will be richer, more famous and more succesfull than you will ever be.
so money and fame is what success is about. I don't think so. there are millions of others out there who have done alot more for society without the money and fame, its just we base success on money rather than what really matters. That is why the world is in such dire straits
Very well said :thumbsu:
He doesn't actively seek the media spotlight. However, media work is expected in his role as Captain of the Essendon Football Club.
No, I've read several times he's seeking a media role post football.
FisherHawk
19 Mar 2008, 22:18
Fev..."No Mathew. The King can only move 1 square per move. He can't move 5 squares and dive forward".
Mathew..."Ohh Bendon my feet are wet. Did you spill you're beer on the floor"?
at least he's got a personality and can entertain.
Huh? :confused:
Unless he's making some stupid smartarse pre rehearsed comment about Newman, he's got the personality of a tree stump.
Daytripper
19 Mar 2008, 22:26
If Bill Brownless can eke out a ten year media career post footy then anybody can do it.
Lloydy gave a speech at my school in like 2000, has actually improved as every second word was "umm" back then. Obviously not a natural public speaker and so tries to talk very deliberately. Nothing wrong with that.
GreaT SourcE
19 Mar 2008, 22:29
Hope he does, as long as he keeps up being the best FF in the league, I'm happy...:p:cool:
Well the bloke does tuck his footy jumper into his shorts, I mean c'mon what do you expect ?
YEP.....absolute dumb sh!t.
Essendon won't properly move into a new era until the Great Diver retires and hands over the captaincy.
Last Line Hero
19 Mar 2008, 22:37
Hope Matty Scarlett was watching when he said Darren Glass is the best full back in the competition, since Scarlo will be playing on the diver next week. :D
Probably his stupidest comment of the night. Pretty disappointing and disrespectful too, considering Scarlett was the ONLY guy able to consistently contain him when in his prime. He's relatively easy pickings now for most good FB's.
He's gone from saying Scarlett was the best several times in recent years, then not playing on Scarlett the last 4 times the Cats have played Essendon due to injury and suspension and forgetting how good he is.
Care to post those articles, I mean if you've read them, they're obviously on the net somewhere. :rolleyes:
Daytripper
19 Mar 2008, 22:41
Probably his stupidest comment of the night. Pretty disappointing and disrespectful too, considering Scarlett was the ONLY guy able to consistently contain him when in his prime. He's relatively easy pickings now for most good FB's.
So the bloke is not allowed to have an opinion, is he ?
Given that he's played on both of them all of their careers I'd say he is perfectly entitled to judge who is the better than say someone like you.
YEP.....absolute dumb sh!t.
Essendon won't properly move into a new era until the Great Diver retires and hands over the captaincy.
At least he isn't as dumb as Vandenturd & is a hell of a lot better footballer as well.
Daytripper
19 Mar 2008, 22:43
At least he isn't as dumb as Vandenturd & is a hell of a lot better footballer as well.
Don't feed the trolls, mantis.
rioli brownlow
19 Mar 2008, 22:43
well Fevola obviously...
yeah there is 37 of them who can be seen training at mc labour pk most weeks.
i don't include the bloke who is seen wearing number
FordGTHO
19 Mar 2008, 22:46
Well he has the personality and charisma of a fence post, and the verbal eloquence of Joffa.
Lloyd stumbles and bumbles through sentences with a boring monotone, thank god he can play footy .
Proof people will bitch about anything.
He might not be the sharpest tool in the shed, but he's not that bad. Nathan Thompson speaks very sloooowly as well but he's completed a law degree.
No...I'm pretty sure you've beaten him with this comment.
Probably didn't need to make the comment seeing we are playing Geelong next week, but how is it stupid for him to give an opinion...oh that's right because he did nominate your mate Matty Scarlett as the best fullback in the competition.
I'm beating that if he did, you wouldn't be sooking about it!!
rioli brownlow
19 Mar 2008, 22:49
jesus all these cats supporters all of a sudden coming out, my local under 10 side could of beaten port adelaide in last years grand final.
i suggest you wait until you have a couple of consistant years in the top 4 before you start bad mouthing some of the great forwards of our game.
Strike Swiftly
19 Mar 2008, 22:50
Is there a dumber bigfooty poster?
Comparing him to a retired player is a pretty weak comeback but i guess you're on the right track considering that's what Lloyd should have done a long long time ago.
rioli brownlow
19 Mar 2008, 22:52
Probably didn't need to make the comment seeing we are playing Geelong next week, but how is it stupid for him to give an opinion...oh that's right because he did nominate your mate Matty Scarlett as the best fullback in the competition.
exactly right.
just a fact aswell ,i am pretty sure lloydy kicked 7 on scarlett in scarletts first game which was probably in the middle of lloydys prime.
i reckon glass has a better record on him than the white gollywog from geelong
Last Line Hero
19 Mar 2008, 22:54
He's stated on more than one occassion in recent years that Scarlo is the best. BUT he's obviously forgotten how good he is due to the fact he hasn't played on Scarlett since 2005. I'm sure Rnd 2 will jog his memory. :D
jacko57
19 Mar 2008, 22:57
Horsie to B2...
Prawn to B4.........
Daytripper
19 Mar 2008, 23:00
He's stated on more than one occassion in recent years that Scarlo is the best. BUT he's obviously forgotten how good he is due to the fact he hasn't played on Scarlett since 2005. I'm sure Rnd 2 will jog his memory. :D
Yes, obviously a Geelong supporting Big Footy noob knows more about who is the better full back than a full forward who has been playing top level AFL for the past decade. :rolleyes:
Ever consider he has watched and studied all the FB as part of his preparation and considered Glass to be better, after watching them all play in many different games?
Last Line Hero
19 Mar 2008, 23:02
exactly right.
just a fact aswell ,i am pretty sure lloydy kicked 7 on scarlett in scarletts first game which was probably in the middle of lloydys prime.
i reckon glass has a better record on him than the white gollywog from geelong
No he didn't actually, he kicked 4 in the first quarter on Tim McGrath. Scarlo came off the bench and held him to 3 for the rest of the game.
Since 2003 (When Glass became the permanent FB for the Eagles) he's kicked 21 goals in 5 games against West Coast. Biggest bag of 8. He's kicked 13 in 5 on Scarlett in the same time. Biggest bag of 5. Which compared to most FF's is actually quite a good record. Anyway, I wouldn't have said Scarlett was the only guy able to hold down Lloyd at his best if it wasn't true and plain for everyone to see.
So no, your'e wrong.
kelvin_sheedy
19 Mar 2008, 23:04
1999 - 5 goals
2000 - 7
2001 - 6
2002 - 6
2002 - 2
2003 - 1
2004 - 2
2004 - 3
2005 - 5
2005 - 4
2006 and 2007 DNP.
That give us 41 goals in 10 games for an average of 4.1 since 99. Seeing he has a career average of 3.6 then playing Geelong must be pretty good to Lloydy. ;)
Last Line Hero
19 Mar 2008, 23:14
Actually Scarlett never played on Lloyd permanently until 2002. He played 3 quarters on him in his debut game in 1998 and that was it for a while. Ben Graham was always our FB, when Scarlett was developing. So that would make it 21 in 7 games. Because the 2nd game of 2005, Lloyd actually kicked 3 (2 on Scarlett).
I know all Scarlett's stats against individual opponents so there is no point trying to outpoint me in this area.
Care to post those articles, I mean if you've read them, they're obviously on the net somewhere. :rolleyes:
Take my word for it mantis, and sorry I don't actively horde articles in anticipation of bigfooty fights, unlike yourself.
Unfortunately, he will move into the media after his career ends.
rioli brownlow
19 Mar 2008, 23:20
Actually Scarlett never played on Lloyd permanently until 2002. He played 3 quarters on him in his debut game in 1998 and that was it for a while. Ben Graham was always our FB, when Scarlett was developing. So that would make it 21 in 7 games. Because the 2nd game of 2005, Lloyd actually kicked 3 (2 on Scarlett).
I know all Scarlett's stats against individual opponents so there is no point trying to outpoint me in this area.
why did you only play on lloyd for 3 quarters? was that because he was towelling you up?
cmon matty ,surely you don't have to get on here to self promote yourself.
yes you are amongst the top 3 fullbacks in the comp but you are still behind glass and rutten
rioli brownlow
19 Mar 2008, 23:22
1999 - 5 goals
2000 - 7
2001 - 6
2002 - 6
2002 - 2
2003 - 1
2004 - 2
2004 - 3
2005 - 5
2005 - 4
2006 and 2007 DNP.
That give us 41 goals in 10 games for an average of 4.1 since 99. Seeing he has a career average of 3.6 then playing Geelong must be pretty good to Lloydy. ;)
here here
super_phaser
19 Mar 2008, 23:23
LOL
Jesus.
Fev..."No Mathew. The King can only move 1 square per move. He can't move 5 squares and dive forward".
Mathew..."Ohh Bendon my feet are wet. Did you spill you're beer on the floor"?
Nice try, but there's a flaw in this.
You're assuming Brendan knows how the King moves.
Last Line Hero
19 Mar 2008, 23:27
why did you only play on lloyd for 3 quarters? was that because he was towelling you up?
cmon matty ,surely you don't have to get on here to self promote yourself.
yes you are amongst the top 3 fullbacks in the comp but you are still behind glass and rutten
Because it was his first game.
Do you think he would have started his first game at FB on the best FF in the competition? A skinny, nervous little kid, whom the Cats didn't even know at that stage would turn out to be key defender? He was only 75kg when he was drafted and under 190cm. In looking back on it, he did a good job on the day. Lloyd had 4 in the 1st on Tim McGrath, then Scarlo was given the momentus task and held him to 3 for the rest of the game. You are clearly stupid.
Last Line Hero
19 Mar 2008, 23:29
here here
I just think you should read my quoted post here before you go off saying "here, here" for no apparent reason. Perhaps because you're a tool.
Gee you guys are pathetic.
Lloyd would have a better idea about football than the vast majority of people on bigfooty. He has played 231 games at the highest level and kicked 829, and is the best full forward of the last decade. He has a bit of experience behind his opinion. He is captain of one of the biggest clubs in the league, obviously he is going to be on shows such as the footy show.
You guys mock his leadership, yet how would you know much about it? Have you seen him around his team mates? Have you heard him talk to a group of 22? It is different to talking to the media and to hundreds of thousands of people. He hasn't done anthing wrong as captain, so there is no reason you should be saying Essendon is going nowhere with him there.
There is obviously a lot of people on this forum jealous about Lloyd. He is a great player, you cannot argue against that, and while he is not the best public speaker, his opinion would be valued as much as most of the other AFL players with such vast experience. People here jump on him at any possible time, but you'd be kidding yourselves if you wouldn't have loved to have him in your team over the past 10 years.
As for those Geelong supporters (and it is only the Geelong supporters) sooking about him naming Glass as the best full back, get over it. It is one guys opinion, and he'd have a pretty good idea about who he finds harder to play on. So just because he didn't pick your golden boy doesn't mean you can tear him to shreds. Whoever said it was the worst comment of the night is a ********. You think that it is no competition between Scarlett and Glass? You have no idea, if calling Glass is such a stupid comment, then 99% of stuff said on this forum is worse.
kelvin_sheedy
19 Mar 2008, 23:42
Ya-ha.
In 2003 Lloyd moved up the ground and had 11 possies, 8 marks and allowed Cupido to kick 5 and Lucas 3.
In 2004 he kicked 2 goals 4 behinds in one game and was top scorer in a low scoring final with 3 goals.
To say that Scarlett has had his measure is laughable.
Last Line Hero
19 Mar 2008, 23:54
Ya-ha.
In 2003 Lloyd moved up the ground and had 11 possies, 8 marks and allowed Cupido to kick 5 and Lucas 3.
In 2004 he kicked 2 goals 4 behinds in one game and was top scorer in a low scoring final with 3 goals.
To say that Scarlett has had his measure is laughable.
You can try and convince yourself with these pedantic and frankly sad details that Scarlett hasn't had more success than anyone in containing the best FF of this era since their rivalry became a fixture, but the fact is he has. Trying to use the fact he kicked 1 goal in a game, or 2 goals 4 (when he had 2.2 in the first quarter) as a positive in his favour is really scraping the bottom of the barrel.
I never said Scarlett had his measure, quite frankly noone has.
Achilles
20 Mar 2008, 00:07
this primadonna of a footballer is alone this year without a superstar in hirdy
and let's see what occurs
in regards to the glass argument he has had better support, and played in better teams than scarlo, so looking at goals against is only part of the analysis
scarlo sets up so many goals
so let's get real, who gives a tosser about the opinion of a real tosser
rainman06
20 Mar 2008, 00:17
this primadonna of a footballer is alone this year without a superstar in hirdy
and let's see what occurs
in regards to the glass argument he has had better support, and played in better teams than scarlo, so looking at goals against is only part of the analysis
scarlo sets up so many goals
so let's get real, who gives a tosser about the opinion of a real tosser
because he would know better than anybody ?
DapperDon
20 Mar 2008, 00:34
My god you Geelong supporters are a sad bunch.
"wah, he said Glass is better than Scarlett wah"
I'm guessing Lloyd's un-biased opinion holds more weight than you bunch of tools. Wake up and realise Scarlett is not the best Full Back in the league, and he only has 1-2 more years max being in the best 3.
Enjoy the hangover.
Collins-Langford-Ayres
20 Mar 2008, 00:43
The minute he accepts an invitation to grab some media attention, his footy becomes irrelevant and his ability to communicate becomes the key issue.
The bloke's a half wit, but you'd know that, as it takes one to...
:eek:
ANGEL DARK
20 Mar 2008, 00:48
Then why the hell is he on TFS then as its not the type of show for quiet shy types.Fair dinks he has got the personality of a dunny door
ANGEL DARK
20 Mar 2008, 00:54
Gee you guys are pathetic.
Lloyd would have a better idea about football than the vast majority of people on bigfooty. He has played 231 games at the highest level and kicked 829, and is the best full forward of the last decade. He has a bit of experience behind his opinion. He is captain of one of the biggest clubs in the league, obviously he is going to be on shows such as the footy show.
You guys mock his leadership, yet how would you know much about it? Have you seen him around his team mates? Have you heard him talk to a group of 22? It is different to talking to the media and to hundreds of thousands of people. He hasn't done anthing wrong as captain, so there is no reason you should be saying Essendon is going nowhere with him there.
There is obviously a lot of people on this forum jealous about Lloyd. He is a great player, you cannot argue against that, and while he is not the best public speaker, his opinion would be valued as much as most of the other AFL players with such vast experience. People here jump on him at any possible time, but you'd be kidding yourselves if you wouldn't have loved to have him in your team over the past 10 years.
As for those Geelong supporters (and it is only the Geelong supporters) sooking about him naming Glass as the best full back, get over it. It is one guys opinion, and he'd have a pretty good idea about who he finds harder to play on. So just because he didn't pick your golden boy doesn't mean you can tear him to shreds. Whoever said it was the worst comment of the night is a ********. You think that it is no competition between Scarlett and Glass? You have no idea, if calling Glass is such a stupid comment, then 99% of stuff said on this forum is worse.
Just because youve played a couple hundred games of AFL footy doesnt necessarily mean he knows more about the game than any educated football follower.We all know he is a great footballer but thats not the issue we are discussing here is it so why bring it up.Its his ability to communicate through the media that stinks and he is clearly a tool in this area no matter how good a footballer he is
FisherHawk
20 Mar 2008, 00:55
Nice try, but there's a flaw in this.
You're assuming Brendan knows how the King moves.
It’s a big call I know. But so was Global Warming.
Do you remember the Simpson’s episode, where homer had a crayon surgically removed from his brain? Bendon has a similar story, but with a twist.
He too, unfortunately stuffed a Chess piece, not a crayon, into his brain as a child.
At school, he bullyed the nerds, that played chess in the library, and stole their king. When they tried to get it back, he quickly stuffed it in his ear. As he ran out from the room, he noticed a fly at the window. It was so amusing, that from that moment on, Bendon forgot about the Chess piece inside his head.
He then arrived at Carlton, 1 year latter. When he first came to the club, they noticed something a little odd, about this one. They immediately ordered a brain scan.
To this day, Bendon has that chess piece stuck inside his head. Unlike Homer, Brendons IQ would drop dramatically if the piece was removed. The decision was made to keep it in.
Bendan framed the scan and put it above his bed. He is now able to actually identify a king from a Chess set. At this stage, he cannot identify other pieces. Bendon studied hard though, weeks on end, and finely announced to all, that the King is only able to move one square at a time.
Bendon spoke his first word at the age of 9, "Piss". Therapists diagnosed Bendon as just having a grunt, or a stridor through his early years. His family was reassured though, that this is completely normal for such a slow developer. This was a major turning point in Bendons life, and made his family so proud. But now his family, club and teammates can share in Bendons latest achievement. His description of a Chess piece moving from one square to the other is flawless.
Mind boggling I know, but I can assure you, Bendon knows how the King moves.
I doubt he will ever understand the concept of castling though.
I had no issues with any of the panel tonight. As long as they don't act like wankers (see Crawford) then it's fine with me. They discussed footy when given the opportunity.
What more can you ask?
Jonesy1987
20 Mar 2008, 00:58
Lloyd talks like that on purpose because he is God and if anyone hears his one true voice they will wont be able to handle it and they will die by their head exploding
DapperDon
20 Mar 2008, 00:59
Just because youve played a couple hundred games of AFL footy doesnt necessarily mean he knows more about the game than any educated football follower.We all know he is a great footballer but thats not the issue we are discussing here is it so why bring it up.Its his ability to communicate through the media that stinks and he is clearly a tool in this area no matter how good a footballer he is
You're right, you'd know heaps more sitting on your arse eating pies than a bloke who actually PLAYS on them.:rolleyes:
ANGEL DARK
20 Mar 2008, 01:07
You're right, you'd know heaps more sitting on your arse eating pies than a bloke who actually PLAYS on them.:rolleyes:
Thats exactly right so live with it buddy
viddleodge
20 Mar 2008, 06:20
excellent thread guys.
thanks for the laugh.:thumbsu:
hawkstars
20 Mar 2008, 07:23
Dont believe he is but maybe his voice makes him sound that way.
Geelong_Sicko
20 Mar 2008, 17:31
Mind boggling I know, but I can assure you, Bendon knows how the King moves.
I doubt he will ever understand the concept of castling though.
Probably not en passant either!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/En_passant