View Full Version : Who watched Underbelly last night? - The Carlton Club

Obeanie1
20 Mar 2008, 11:46
My wife watches this and last night I watched half and couldn’t help by laugh in the scene where the Melbourne mobsters met after one of them had bashed and shot a bloke for owing him $1,500. About 10 mobsters met, they looked like Italian mafia types, gangster glasses, a couple of young blokes and the older greying mafia bosses talking in husky Italian accents.[/FONT

What was sooooooo funny was where they met and the subtitle saying what they were called.[/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT]

They met at Princeses Park in a footy grandstand watching footy training and guess what the subtitle said they were called

The Carlton Club:eek::p:D:cool

Ho ho ho….Oh my…….HOW FUNNY IS THAT?

What does Pratt look like? :rolleyes: He could have been there. AND if Fev does get sacked I’m sure he could get a job as an extra on this show. NO worries there AT ALL

And the trolls out there say West Coast and Cousins hanged out with under world figures. I’m betting they didn’t hold meetings at Subiaco and didn’t call themselves the West Coast Club.

Solid Gold boys…….solid gold!!!!!

They even mentioned the boys on the track were training like sh!t. Could have been a REAL Carlton training session.

As a ex Melbourne based mate of mine just siad "I don't think Judd really knows who he's playing for now."

JUBJUB
20 Mar 2008, 11:49
Nice sizes :rolleyes:

Hirdy!!
20 Mar 2008, 11:50
Your wifes mint ;)

Obeanie1
20 Mar 2008, 11:52
Nice sizes :rolleyes:

Wait a minute, I've just fixed it.

Copied and pasted out of an email.

beautime
20 Mar 2008, 11:53
They were the carlton crew because they were based in Carlton

They did however catch up at Princess park like you said.

Most of them were shit at what they were doing, got owned by bogans from Sunshine. The godfather would be ashamed

bourbons
20 Mar 2008, 12:04
...and didn’t call themselves the West Coast Club.

small point, but carlton is a suburb and 'west coast' is not.

InCase
20 Mar 2008, 12:07
Underbelly is awesome, finished it though :( wish it could have went on longer then 13 eps/.

Royal Flush
20 Mar 2008, 12:07
My wife watches this and last night I watched half and couldn’t help by laugh in the scene where the Melbourne mobsters met after one of them had bashed and shot a bloke for owing him $1,500. About 10 mobsters met, they looked like Italian mafia types, gangster glasses, a couple of young blokes and the older greying mafia bosses talking in husky Italian accents.[/FONT

What was sooooooo funny was where they met and the subtitle saying what they were called.[/font][/SIZE][/font]

They met at Princeses Park in a footy grandstand watching footy training and guess what the subtitle said they were called

The Carlton Club:eek::p:D:cool

Ho ho ho….Oh my…….HOW FUNNY IS THAT?

What does Pratt look like? :rolleyes: He could have been there. AND if Fev does get sacked I’m sure he could get a job as an extra on this show. NO worries there AT ALL

And the trolls out there say West Coast and Cousins hanged out with under world figures. I’m betting they didn’t hold meetings at Subiaco and didn’t call themselves the West Coast Club.

Solid Gold boys…….solid gold!!!!!

They even mentioned the boys on the track were training like sh!t. Could have been a REAL Carlton training session.

As a ex Melbourne based mate of mine just siad "I don't think Judd really knows who he's playing for now."

CARLTON CREW ACTUALLY

Bomba Sheldon
20 Mar 2008, 12:11
They were the carlton crew because they were based in Carlton

They did however catch up at Princess park like you said.

Most of them were shit at what they were doing, got owned by bogans from Sunshine. The godfather would be ashamed

They were the Carlton crew as they were based / hung out in Lygon St Carlton. Whether it is fact thet they caught up for regular meetings in the Gardiner Stand at Princes Park who knows?

I dont know about getting owned by bogans in Sunshine as the people based out there were doing their dirty work. The main players were based in from around Essendon / Alberfeldie, Brunswick / Coburg through to Templestowe / Doncaster areas.

Makes for good viewing anyway.

gangsta deluxe
20 Mar 2008, 12:13
The main members of the Carlton club used to hang around at a variety of football ovals - to do business I assume

I should know. When I was playing junior footy at the footy oval next to the Brunswick st oval Victor pearce and the Morans went for a pitch invasion. It wasn't nasty but they were chesting adults who had stepped onto the field to prevent a fight after Victor Pearce nephew Corey(this kid got arrested for stealing the then police commissioners briefcase!!!) caused some trouble.

They liked to hang around alot of ovals(probably to discuss their businesses) - Arden st, Princess Park, Brunswick st oval.

The only player who had a solid connection with them is Wayne Carey. He gave Character evidence for Jason Moran after the king st bashings. Carey is indirectly mentioned in Underbelly when Jason's father Lewis says "we'll need to get a good character witness, a real upstanding member of the community".......laughed stacks when he said that

Lunchlady Doris
20 Mar 2008, 12:20
That scene was set in 1995, was funny when they said 'It's gonna be a long year'.

Bomba Sheldon
20 Mar 2008, 12:29
That scene was set in 1995, was funny when they said 'It's gonna be a long year'.

Didn't that statement prove to be wrong, you being a Cats supporter would have found this out on the last Saturday in September. :D

The Old Dark Navy's
20 Mar 2008, 12:34
Stop the presses, criminals like footy too.

Royal Flush
20 Mar 2008, 12:39
Another famous crim was Brendon Abott (Post Card Bandit) who while on the run had bought a Pagons Club NMFC membership and sat quitely with his Coe watching footy on the second tier of the Southern stand.
All this while there was a national man hunt for him.

ep2006
20 Mar 2008, 12:39
Stop the presses, criminals like footy too.

I hear that Kizon bloke is an Eagles supporter. :eek:

The Old Dark Navy's
20 Mar 2008, 12:41
Is Mokbel one of ours? Who does Chopper Read like? Let's see who can claim the most 'celebrity' gangsters amongst their fold.

GrantleyBuffalo
20 Mar 2008, 12:46
The only player who had a solid connection with them is Wayne Carey.
Don't forget Wayne Johnston...

Royal Flush
20 Mar 2008, 12:50
Is Mokbel one of ours? Who does Chopper Read like? Let's see who can claim the most 'celebrity' gangsters amongst their fold.

Chopper Read would be either a Fitzroy or Collingwood. It's where he grew up

The Teflon Dean
20 Mar 2008, 12:50
Is anybody in Western Australia aware that "Underbelly" is a dramatisation?

The Teflon Dean
20 Mar 2008, 12:51
Chopper Read would be either a Fitzroy or Collingwood. It's where he grew up

Chopper follows Collingwood.:thumbsu:

North also have their share of "colorful racing identities".

Royal Flush
20 Mar 2008, 12:54
Chopper follows Collingwood.:thumbsu:

North also have their share of "colorful racing identities".

Yes the Post Card Bandit, Brendon Abbott

The Teflon Dean
20 Mar 2008, 12:56

Strange, considering the bloke came from Melbourne.

The Teflon Dean
20 Mar 2008, 13:01
Yes the Post Card Bandit, Brendon Abbott

Dennis "Fat Cat" Smith of GBR and the Manilla Bar fame is also a staunch North supporter.

Then theres the Kane brothers, and about every second Painter and Docker (including Keithy Faure).

A lot of Crims have come from the Flemington/Kensington/Ascot Vale commision flats areas that border North Melbourne over the years.

South Melbourne also used to have a huge following with the waterfront types.

Stronzo
20 Mar 2008, 13:18
You can add Troy Mercanti although hes now been kicked out of the Coffin Cheaters.

The Old Dark Navy's
20 Mar 2008, 13:19
Chopper Read would be either a Fitzroy or Collingwood. It's where he grew upI remember in the early days of BigFooty, Joffa used to post here. He linked to a photo of himself where he dead set looked like Chopper Read. He took my comparison ... reasonably well. :D

Obeanie1
20 Mar 2008, 13:30

You can't choose your supporters BUT you do choose (ELECT) your President.:eek::eek::eek::D

How is Mr Pratt:cool:

Lunchlady Doris
20 Mar 2008, 14:22
Didn't that statement prove to be wrong, you being a Cats supporter would have found this out on the last Saturday in September. :D

Indeed.

Mcchawk
20 Mar 2008, 15:00
Morans were Hawks. Had the theme song played at the end of the funerals

old_clint
20 Mar 2008, 15:48
Morans were Hawks. Had the theme song played at the end of the funerals
Rubbish. Carlton.
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,21440844-11088,00.html

jacko57
20 Mar 2008, 16:23
The main members of the Carlton club used to hang around at a variety of football ovals - to do business I assume

I should know. When I was playing junior footy at the footy oval next to the Brunswick st oval Victor pearce and the Morans went for a pitch invasion. It wasn't nasty but they were chesting adults who had stepped onto the field to prevent a fight after Victor Pearce nephew Corey(this kid got arrested for stealing the then police commissioners briefcase!!!) caused some trouble.

They liked to hang around alot of ovals(probably to discuss their businesses) - Arden st, Princess Park, Brunswick st oval.

The only player who had a solid connection with them is Wayne Carey. He gave Character evidence for Jason Moran after the king st bashings. Carey is indirectly mentioned in Underbelly when Jason's father Lewis says "we'll need to get a good character witness, a real upstanding member of the community".......laughed stacks when he said that
I believe Moran's lawyer put in a retrospective application last year to have Carey's character evidence withdrawn from the court's records. ;)

Royal Flush
20 Mar 2008, 16:26
Rubbish. Carlton.
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/story/0,21985,21440844-11088,00.html

That article is interesteing, how did Carlton end up with 16 cups?
I thought they (CUPS) were given out from the 1960's onwards?

Funny how MccHawk claimed them to be Hawthorn.

Another notrious Gangland Dealer used to play for West Coast-Ben Cousins.

Pie eyed
20 Mar 2008, 16:45
Read the book. As far as I know it is not "banned" in Victoria and goes into far more detail.
Many of the families had long standing associations with footy clubs over many decades through parents, grandparents etc. who had little or nothing to do with crime. Much like many Melbourne families.

Can't see how apart from their obvious "lawlessness" these guys would be any more or less likely to follow a footy team than anyone else.
They could however afford to get a lot closer to the clubs as they were cashed up to the max.

Royal Flush
20 Mar 2008, 16:55
Read the book. As far as I know it is not "banned" in Victoria and goes into far more detail.
Many of the families had long standing associations with footy clubs over many decades through parents, grandparents etc. who had little or nothing to do with crime. Much like many Melbourne families.

Can't see how apart from their obvious "lawlessness" these guys would be any more or less likely to follow a footy team than anyone else.
They could however afford to get a lot closer to the clubs as they were cashed up to the max.

The TV show is banned in Victoria because there are trials still going through the courts that are related to the series.

I have watched up to episode 9.

old_clint
20 Mar 2008, 16:57

Premiership Cups have been awarded since 1959. I think the retrospective cups have to be essentially paid for by the respective Premiers.

Royal Flush
20 Mar 2008, 17:10
Premiership Cups have been awarded since 1959. I think the retrospective cups have to be essentially paid for by the respective Premiers.

SO does that mean the Doggies have a premiership cup in their cabinet?

Southerntakeover
20 Mar 2008, 17:15
Are you going to be a president who goes down to the rooms before a game?
I never interfere with what Greg's (Swann) doing, with what the coach is doing. I only ever did that once and it nearly got me shot by Alphonse (Gangitano). After an Essendon-Carlton game, I went into the rooms after I'd had a few drinks and I told them not to be so upset, that there's always next week. (Rumour has it Alphonse had invested heavily on the Blues that day, and wasn't happy with the notion all would be remedied a week later.)

Dick Pratt in the Herald Sun

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23399134-19742,00.html

Classy club.

Royal Flush
20 Mar 2008, 17:28
Dick Pratt in the Herald Sun

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23399134-19742,00.html

Classy club.

What a great story, I could imagine what Alphosnso said to Pratt;
"Do you know who I am? I'm the Black Prince"

old_clint
20 Mar 2008, 18:36
SO does that mean the Doggies have a premiership cup in their cabinet?
I'd imagine someone passed the hat around when the opportunity availed itself wouldn't you.

gangsta deluxe
20 Mar 2008, 22:41
The TV show is banned in Victoria because there are trials still going through the courts that are related to the series.

Episode ten is available at these sites

www.torrentspy.com

(not too sure if its on these two)
www.eztv.it
www.mininova.org

I do not condone the illegal downloading of these torrents ;)

InCase
20 Mar 2008, 22:48
11,12,13 are available as well, just in some parts for a few odd seconds the sound goes out and there is a timer.

Pie eyed
20 Mar 2008, 22:56

And the book?

Mcchawk
22 Mar 2008, 04:33

They can have them, bloody glad

old_clint
22 Mar 2008, 09:40
http://www.bookworm.com.au/shop/scditem.asp?ProdID=23412And the book?