X_box_X
20 Mar 2008, 17:06
B: Lindsay Gilbee, Brian Lake, Dale Morris
HB: Ryan Hargrave , Cameron Wight, Ryan Griffen
C: Jason Akermanis, Scott West, Nathan Eagleton
HF:Robert Murphy, Mitch Hahn, Brad Johnson
F: Shaun Higgins, Will Minson, Scott Welsh
Foll: Ben Hudson, Adam Cooney, Daniel Cross
Int: Dylan Addison, Matthew Boyd, Daniel Giasiracusa, Josh Hill, Brennan Stack, Peter Street, Stephen Tiller
Fair to assume Boyd, Gian and Hill will play. So who's going to be the other one - possibly Tiller seeing as there is no McDougall. Tiller could always be used as a forward, which will allow Minson to have a run in the ruck if needed.
If McDougall can't get a game this week in our defense, with Williams and Everret out. Then his in big trouble, he isn't even named as an emergency. Sounds like the end of him.
Cam Wight without doubt my least favourite bulldog, his career is going no where fast, give O'Shea a go :)
stefoid
20 Mar 2008, 21:23
If McDougall can't get a game this week in our defense, with Williams and Everret out. Then his in big trouble, he isn't even named as an emergency. Sounds like the end of him.
Oh thanks for stuffing up my super coach backline Rocket!
fred cook
20 Mar 2008, 21:35
Oh Im off to see my therapist again
I keep on getting Paul Dooley nightmares when I see Cam Wight playing for our club
He is so bad:confused:
How is Doogs confidence going ?
Cam wight gets a game before me :)
No McDougall? I though Cam Wight was under an injury cloud - as much I still think he will come good Lake is also under an injury cloud, so fairly big risk to take.
But seriously, no Doogs - WTF? I though he showed a bit end of last year & during the pre-season.
You are kidding yourselves McDougal makes us a 5 goal worst team, he should never play another senior game again.
doggiesin08
20 Mar 2008, 21:59
Oh Im off to see my therapist again
I keep on getting Paul Dooley nightmares when I see Cam Wight playing for our club
He is so bad:confused:
How is Doogs confidence going ?
Cam wight gets a game before me :)
funnily enough I think he has potential, not many blokes 200cm have his athleticism. I think he has a pile of natural talent i just think he's better off playing on a wing rather than in a KP.
fred cook
20 Mar 2008, 22:32
funnily enough I think he has potential, not many blokes 200cm have his athleticism. I think he has a pile of natural talent i just think he's better off playing on a wing rather than in a KP.
Mark Cullen and Tim Walsh had potential
That means nothing
#1 Dogs Fan
20 Mar 2008, 23:31
Cam Wight without doubt my least favourite bulldog, his career is going no where fast, give O'Shea a go :)
He has been at the club now for 6 years so lets give him another 2-3 years when he turns into a veteran to show us what he can do.
paul scholes
21 Mar 2008, 00:08
Mark Cullen and Tim Walsh had potential
That means nothing
That's Mark Cullen who would you believe won tatts a few years back!!!
Big Big year for Wight had a long time in the system
Bruce_Duperouzel
21 Mar 2008, 05:17
Poor guy, went from playing bulldogs reserves to winning 20 odd million. I bet he wonders what might have been????
Cam only turns 24 in another 2 weeks, and someone is mentioning "veteran"
His biggest issue has been lack of bulk. That can only get better.
Coondog 17
21 Mar 2008, 09:30
Big Big year for Wight had a long time in the system
Pretty sure that was just a rumour about winning tatts.
X_box_X
21 Mar 2008, 09:42
Maybe Gary Merrington should come out of retirement and help out that backline.
P-MONEY
21 Mar 2008, 10:02
Bit of a worry about Doogs.. But bring on Rd1!!!!
Bullyboy
21 Mar 2008, 10:43
Fair to assume Boyd, Gian and Hill will play. So who's going to be the other one - possibly Tiller seeing as there is no McDougall. Tiller could always be used as a forward, which will allow Minson to have a run in the ruck if needed.
Both my sons had an appointment with club doctor Landsberger last night and Steve Tiller was the next appointment after them. He told us not to go anywhere Tiller on the way out because he has the flu bad and he was coughing and spluttering. I would say he is doubtful.
gridlocked
21 Mar 2008, 12:49
I think Streety will play.
We need somone to backup Hudson, and I doubt that will be Minson going by the pre-season games. Dont even say Wight.
The Standfield Principle
21 Mar 2008, 14:50
That back-line is fairly close to the one that lined against collingwood ; finals 2006. heaps better than what we dished up last seven rounds of last year. There may be room for optimism.
gridlocked
21 Mar 2008, 15:15
That back-line is fairly close to the one that lined against collingwood ; finals 2006. heaps better than what we dished up last seven rounds of last year. There may be room for optimism.
Good point.
The only improvment that could be made today is Tommy Gun in for Wight.
Lake really needs to play though for us to be a chance.
***Hot off the press - final teams***
Western Bulldogs v Adelaide
1.10pm, Sunday 23 March @ Telstra Dome
WESTERN BULLDOGS
Int: Dylan Addison, Matthew Boyd, Daniel Giasiracusa, Josh Hill,
Emg: Brennan Stack, Peter Street, Andrew McDougall
Stephen Tiller replaced by McDougall in squad due to illness.
New: Scott Welsh (Adelaide), Ben Hudson (Adelaide), Brennan Stack (Pick No.45 2006 AFL Draft).
ADELAIDE
B: Graham Johncock, Ben Rutten, Nathan Bassett
HB: Michael Doughty, Nathan Bock, Simon Goodwin
C: Richard Douglas, Scott Thompson, Nathan van Berlo
HF: Bernie Vince, Scott Stevens, Andrew McLeod
F: Jason Porplyzia, Ken McGregor, Brett Burton
Foll: Jonathon Griffin, Brent Reilly, Tyson Edwards
Int: Kurt Tippett, Robert Shirley, David Mackay, Brad Symes,
Emg: Ivan Maric, Luke Jericho, Bryce Campbell
Looks like our full-foward will ruck and our pre-season CHF is CHB with our pre-season CHB dropped but then replaced on the EMG thanks to one of our up and coming forwards who has played back pre-season... fell sick.
X_box_X
21 Mar 2008, 17:33
HAHA, I didn't think they bothered listing who the new players are if they're only emergencies...
Good to see Addison named... my boy. Hopefully he doesn't let me down and has a huge year.
sackofballs
21 Mar 2008, 18:27
i reckon we needed an extra tall, i wouldnt be disappointed if addison was a late change for either street or mcdougall
#1 Dogs Fan
21 Mar 2008, 18:29
Its great to see Stack pushing for senior selection. I just hope some of the younger KPP in O.Shea and Grant can do the same some time this season.
AngeloPetraglia
21 Mar 2008, 18:51
Teams finalised. Start of a new season. Beautiful weather predicted. Easter Sunday. Holidays. Johnson playing his 300th. Other 300 Bulldogs legends also honoured before the bounce.
Butterflies in the stomach.
Bring it on. Can't wait. Two more sleeps to go.
How could you not love the footy and more importantly our beloved Dogs?
A win and Easter Monday will be perfect.
X_box_X
21 Mar 2008, 19:03
Don't forget it's a 1pm start, guys. I would have rocked up right on one or a tad after if I hadn't have checked the start time.
murphy2bedabest
21 Mar 2008, 19:16
***Hot off the press - final teams***
Western Bulldogs v Adelaide
1.10pm, Sunday 23 March @ Telstra Dome
WESTERN BULLDOGS
Int: Dylan Addison, Matthew Boyd, Daniel Giasiracusa, Josh Hill,
Emg: Brennan Stack, Peter Street, Andrew McDougall
Maybe Hargrave line up next to Welsh, every time he dose Welsh kicks 5+ goals.:p:thumbsu:
Have to admit that centre square listing of Hudson, Cooney, Cross & West sounds like cause for some confidence. Given all have had a full pre-season, it would be our best line up for a number of years.
Looking over the rest of the squad... jeez we're short, thought Doogs would get a run with Tommygun & Skinny out.
#1 Dogs Fan
21 Mar 2008, 19:29
Have to admit that centre square listing of Hudson, Cooney, Cross & West sounds like cause for some confidence. Given all have had a full pre-season, it would be our best line up for a number of years.
Looking over the rest of the squad... jeez we're short, thought Doogs would get a run with Tommygun & Skinny out.
To be honest i think our round 1 line up is great. Yes it is abit small but you saw what happened to us when we played the tall slow moving talls that were not up to it. Any way i think the Crows are now abit short and have injected a couple of more pacey running players into their team so we just do likewise :thumbsu:
ozdevil1978
21 Mar 2008, 20:57
when will the full side be announced hopefully hill gets a game real excitment machine he looks like
Post #21 in this thread. And yes Hill got a game.
ozdevil1978
21 Mar 2008, 21:05
Post #21 in this thread. And yes Hill got a game.
how did addison get a game this guy makes mistakes left right and centre
Eade loves his attack on the ball
ozdevil1978
21 Mar 2008, 21:11
Eade loves his attack on the ball
he might have good attack on the ball but is terrible when he has it though:mad:
#1 Dogs Fan
21 Mar 2008, 21:14
Don't forget it's a 1pm start, guys. I would have rocked up right on one or a tad after if I hadn't have checked the start time.
On the fixture it says the game kicks of at 1:10pm ? meaning the game starts at 1:10pm instead of 1:00pm.
Or is that what you meant ?
The_Bulldogs_Bite
21 Mar 2008, 21:46
Gee, thanks for that Xie, I would've turned up at quarter time. I assumed it was a 2:10 start.
The advertising of the games have been a little poor to date IMO. Not a whole lot of broadcasting to it, even with last nights game (Tigers/Blues), but perhaps I haven't exactly looked out for it.
fred cook
21 Mar 2008, 22:31
he might have good attack on the ball but is terrible when he has it though:mad:
That hasnt stopped Boyd,Morris, and Wight getting a game
He might have a role for him as tough foward pocket player just to keep the ball there instead of being taken out of ease which happens alot in our side
That hasnt stopped Boyd,Morris, and Wight getting a game
He might have a role for him as tough foward pocket player just to keep the ball there instead of being taken out of ease which happens alot in our side
Could be an idea while Harbrow's out
P-MONEY
22 Mar 2008, 10:09
Addisons attack is encouraging.. Still young and to be throwing his head over the ball like he does is a win for him..
Give him a go, why not..
X_box_X
22 Mar 2008, 10:54
On the fixture it says the game kicks of at 1:10pm ? meaning the game starts at 1:10pm instead of 1:00pm.
Or is that what you meant ?
Yep, was thinking 1.10pm, but said 1pm assuming everyone would know games don't actually start until ten past or twenty to.
#1 Dogs Fan
22 Mar 2008, 11:41
Yep, was thinking 1.10pm, but said 1pm assuming everyone would know games don't actually start until ten past or twenty to.
Yes true and better safe then sorry ;)
For those of you who might not have found out yet the game against the crows kicks off at 1:10pm tomorrow.
a special presentaion at 12.45 to celebrate Johnsons 300th:D
who gets a game if tiller cannot play due to food poisoning
On like for like it would have to be McDougall.
edit. Tiller was taken out of the squad of 25 and was replaced by McDougall who is now an emergency.
#1 Dogs Fan
22 Mar 2008, 17:06
I hope they give O'Shea another go :thumbsu:
macca69
23 Mar 2008, 11:30
What's the go with Farren Ray?
Did he play the VFL praccy match yesterday?
What's the go with Farren Ray?
Did he play the VFL praccy match yesterday?
3-4 weeks away, broken tibia