View Full Version : Hartlett incident

Sharks On A Plane
21 Mar 2008, 00:51
Can somebody fill me in?

I walked up the stairs to see Cam Howat being assisted off the ground, apparently Hartlett belted him?

For those who saw it what exactly took place?

blues4flag
21 Mar 2008, 01:35
I'd also like to know. :thumbsu:

BLue_Bloys
21 Mar 2008, 01:36
Hartlett tackled Howat, nothing resulted could have been a free for holding the ball wasn't paid.

They were getting up slight wrestle, Howat threw a punch or an elbow at Hartlett left him on the ground clutching his face for a good 30 seconds.

5 mins later Hartlett was seeking revenge and (I didn't see this incident that well could well be wrong, was on the other side of the ground) stuck his arm out and clocked him.

Absolutely stupid from Hartlett should have let his footy do the talking anyway, imo Hartlett will get 4-5 weeks as it was behind play etc. Howat if caught on camera should get suspended also.

thylacine60
21 Mar 2008, 01:40
Hartlett tackled Howat, nothing resulted could have been a free for holding the ball wasn't paid.

They were getting up slight wrestle, Howat threw a punch or an elbow at Hartlett left him on the ground clutching his face for a good 30 seconds.

5 mins later Hartlett was seeking revenge and (I didn't see this incident that well could well be wrong, was on the other side of the ground) stuck his arm out and clocked him.

Absolutely stupid from Hartlett should have let his footy do the talking anyway, imo Hartlett will get 4-5 weeks as it was behind play etc. Howat if caught on camera should get suspended also.

If this is true Harts is in a whole world of career trouble.

JuddTheBlue
21 Mar 2008, 01:43
If this is true Harts is in a whole world of career trouble.

My thoughts exactly. Disappointing to say the least.

Mayesy_23
21 Mar 2008, 01:45
Stupid thing to do. Just finsihed watching the replay and he's gone for at least 3.

Thrawn
21 Mar 2008, 01:47
Yup, he's gone. Stupid, stupid man.

bluegal1983
21 Mar 2008, 10:21
He will definately have something to answer this week.

Blue Through and Through
21 Mar 2008, 10:40
Hartlett was just starting to get back in the side, what an absolute waste.

legendtofski
21 Mar 2008, 10:44
Hatlett played like a loser and should get punished accordingly.

A team as crap as ours shouldn't be acting in such a loser type way.

In the end who was the team to get thumped?

Never Miss
21 Mar 2008, 10:50

IMO that was the turning point of the match, thats what got Richmond going.

JohnD
21 Mar 2008, 10:53
Is "the concussion defence" a possibility here?

Dramoth
21 Mar 2008, 10:54
IMO that was the turning point of the match, thats what got Richmond going.

Same as when Didak the wanker dropped Scotland with a shoulder to the chin a couple of years ago...

They kept on playing football, we wanted to get even...

We were winning all over the ground, but in the end, they walked all over us because we wanted to prove we were tough...

We need a single enforcer out there who will clean up any wankers who try and take out our boys... We dont have one anymore... and we need one desperately

HBF
21 Mar 2008, 10:54

That's a bit tough. Even though he didn't star, I thought he provided a good target up the ground.

Didn't see the incident, and won't subject myself to watching that replay. Still, doesn't sound good. Silly silly boy.

HBF
21 Mar 2008, 10:56
We need a single enforcer out there who will clean up any wankers who try and take out our boys... We dont have one anymore... and we need one desperately

I reckon the only bloke in the team that has **** in him is Fevola. You can just see that every time he tackles someone, he makes it stick. And, he also flies the flag should any of his team-mates should the need arise E.G. Murphy vs Collingwood last year.

krayfesh
21 Mar 2008, 11:01
Hartlett looks kinda tough. Maybe he can get a reputation as a killer or somehing. Turn this negative into a slightly less negative.

Bomba Sheldon
21 Mar 2008, 11:06

FFS thats a pretty ordinary statement about Hartlett being a loser. Whilst I don't condone whacking blokes on the field (well not always) he was whacked about 5 minutes earlier on the southern side of the ground. This led to a Tigers goal as his opponent Polak marked alone in the forward line and chipped across to that sheepdog in Brown.

At least Hartlett was providing us with option out of the forward line on long leads and if blokes like Carrazzo could hit a f**en target he would have got more of the footy.

If you want to be critical look towards our leaders like the Carrazzo and Thorntons who either waste the ball and /or hold onto it for too long.

I suppose you weren't happy with young Edwards either?????

Dramoth
21 Mar 2008, 11:08
I reckon the only bloke in the team that has C*NT in him is Fevola. You can just see that every time he tackles someone, he makes it stick. And, he also flies the flag should any of his team-mates should the need arise E.G. Murphy vs Collingwood last year.

yup... I remember that one...

Fev needs to stay in the forward line... Who knows... maybe Hartlett can pick up the roll of enforcer. He isnt as essential as Fev is and could miss a week or two a year :)

Bomba Sheldon
21 Mar 2008, 11:12

Essendon used it with Van Der Haar in 1989 second semi when Dermie cleaned him up and Van Der Haar was later reported in that game.

I think what the AFL has done now is tighten up on this by not condoning this an excuse to escape punishment. It has put the emphasis back on the club not to let concussed players continue playing or be placed back onto the field (if they know that they are concussed). The clubs can find themselves in trouble if they knowingly allow this to happen.

CQTiger
21 Mar 2008, 11:14
The cameras didn't show anything of significance but the injury sustained will be critical in Hartlett's case. Behind play hits are always the worse kind as they are usually unexpected by the victim.

Dramoth
21 Mar 2008, 11:17
Essenndon used it with Van Der Haar in 1989 second semi when Dermie cleaned him up and Van Der was later reported.

I think what the AFL has done now is tighten up on this by not condoning this an excuse to escapr punishment. It has put the emphasis back on the club not to let concussed players continue or be placed back onto the field (if they know that they are concussed). The clubs can find themselves in trouble if they knowingly allow this to happen.

or in the case of the hyphen ironing out Williams while he was still playing for the swans, letting the player back on the ground with a broken jaw :)

Much as Rhys denies it, he went back out to settle the score that day :)

Cruiser23
21 Mar 2008, 11:23
The cameras didn't show anything of significance but the injury sustained will be critical in Hartlett's case. Behind play hits are always the worse kind as they are usually unexpected by the victim.

Howat did look really shaken up but he did come on again shortly after. He might get one or two IMO, don't see how he can get anymore considering they only have one camera angle and it wasn't that easy to see either. Also Howat wasn't out for the rest of the game so that really helps him

AlecDuncan
21 Mar 2008, 11:24
or in the case of the hyphen ironing out Williams while he was still playing for the swans, letting the player back on the ground with a broken jaw :)

Much as Rhys denies it, he went back out to settle the score that day :)
I think Diesel broke his arm doing it too. Must have been a good punch.

The Hyphen said to my brother once that he was working his way back from his knee injury just so he could punch Diesel's lights out. Sadly, Hyphen never really recovered and then Williams joined Carlton to top it off.

jmeery
21 Mar 2008, 15:10
Will Hartlett be likely to come straight back into the team after serving his suspension, or will he need to win his spot back via the VFL?

blue gunslinger
21 Mar 2008, 15:23
Same as when Didak the wanker dropped We need a single enforcer out there who will clean up any wankers who try and take out our boys... We dont have one anymore... and we need one desperately
Look at the Dockers last year rtying to be tough - and where did it get them
Toughness is more respected from players like Doull and SOS. They were tough to beat and had discipline. What Hartlett did was wrong and he must take it on the chin, whatever the penanlty. He and the team should look at it and learn from it. J Brown at the Lions is tough. He is big and knows how to use it. He also got reprted often but now appears to have wised up. I don't think we need an enforcer. I would rather concentrate on winning the ball and then using it properly.

Styxx
22 Mar 2008, 00:15
When I saw the replay I had the eerie sensation of thinking about the Leigh Matthews - Neville Bruns incident twenty years ago.

Hartlett is big trouble. I don't think it's a delisting offence but he's going to have to work hard to make amends.

TheGeneral
22 Mar 2008, 00:55
I hope they don't take the comments of Walls into account who put Hartlett in it for the hit off the ball.

Yet their expert commentator didn't notice Howat swatting Adam before hand.

And he backtracked on his comments. :rolleyes: :thumbsd:

Blue in spotlight was felled earlier
(http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/blue-in-spotlight-was-felled-earlier/2008/03/21/1205602664654.html)
Expert commentator and Age correspondent Robert Walls was damning in his assessment on the television broadcast. "I just saw something that was very, very ugly out there — a Carlton player, Adam Hartlett, who unnecessarily put a Richmond player down," Walls said on Channel Ten.

Asked by a co-commentator whether it was just a hip and shoulder, Walls said: "I reckon it might be a bit more sinister than that … that young Carlton player is in strife."

Walls said yesterday that the footage replayed by Ten was inconclusive.

"He certainly made contact and the kid (Howat) went down. But as to how vicious it was and to how nasty it was, I don't know.

"I was shocked because it was such a long way off the ball … but I saw the replay twice and to me, it was inconclusive as to whether he (Hartlett) put a shoulder into Howat or whether he's used his forearm and struck him with a forearm."

Walls said he was unaware of a lead-up incident, but with 4½ minutes to go in the third term, Howat appeared to put Hartlett to ground after the Carlton player had laid a fair tackle on him.

He'll go of course for an off the ball hit, but his record should see him avoid a heavy penalty IMO.

I have no sympathy for Howat if he hit Adam earlier.

I'm pleased someone's throwing his weight around because Adam looked like he'd taken a few angry pills.

The side needs an enforcer.

THE AISSASSIN
22 Mar 2008, 01:08

The close up shows him swing his arm....it looks quite bad

Behind play
forceful contact
Head high

I dont exactly how the points system works but all those points are bad and anything under 4 weeks will be a good result me thinks

Pratt = Premiers
22 Mar 2008, 09:41
The replay's didn't show much, but what it did show was Howat running straight towards Hartlett, more than likely lipping off about how he dumped him ealier. My guess is that little sh1t deserved to be dropped. might cost Adam a few weeks on the sidelines, but well deserved if you ask me.

I'm pretty sure Adam will use the Bart Simpson defence, he warned Howat that he will be swinging his arm around and if Howat was to walk into that space it will not be Adam's fault if he hits him.

thylacine60
22 Mar 2008, 10:55
I hope they don't take the comments of Walls into account who put Hartlett in it for the hit off the ball.

Yet their expert commentator didn't notice Howat swatting Adam before hand.

And he backtracked on his comments. :rolleyes: :thumbsd:

Blue in spotlight was felled earlier
(http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/news/blue-in-spotlight-was-felled-earlier/2008/03/21/1205602664654.html)

He'll go of course for an off the ball hit, but his record should see him avoid a heavy penalty IMO.

I have no sympathy for Howat if he hit Adam earlier.

I'm pleased someone's throwing his weight around because Adam looked like he'd taken a few angry pills.

The side needs an enforcer.

Will do a lot of enforcing from the sidelines.

blue gunslinger
22 Mar 2008, 11:09
[/b]Will do a lot of enforcing from the sidelines.
Like blugal says to me as she whips me once more - it is all about discipline

bluegal1983
22 Mar 2008, 11:20
Like blugal says to me as she whips me once more - it is all about discipline

I don't hear you complaining :p

Thommo 42
22 Mar 2008, 11:55
Same as when Didak the wanker dropped Scotland with a shoulder to the chin a couple of years ago...

They kept on playing football, we wanted to get even...

We were winning all over the ground, but in the end, they walked all over us because we wanted to prove we were tough...

slight difference. The Didak hit was legal and was in play...

blue gunslinger
22 Mar 2008, 11:56
I don't hear you complaining :p
Begging for more mistress

THE AISSASSIN
22 Mar 2008, 12:55
Should use the Des Headland defence......apparantly it dosnt even need to be corroborated

JohnD
22 Mar 2008, 18:42

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=424351

Genius, me.

bluegal1983
23 Mar 2008, 12:01
Hartlett was officially listed as being concussed after the game after an incident 2 minutes prior to Howat going down. You would think that will come into it if he has anything to answer (which I'm sure he will).

IMO the video is too inconclusive... you can't actually see the contact Hartlett made with Howat.

prettyboy65
23 Mar 2008, 20:13
can anyone link me too the video
i saw it at the match
but i wouldnt mind seing what the afl will see

TorresIsGod
23 Mar 2008, 20:22
Provokation isn't a valid reason when going up at the tribunal.

JohnD
23 Mar 2008, 21:54
Provokation isn't a valid reason when going up at the tribunal.

No, it's not.

I'm tipping that 'concussion' might get a fair run though.

HBF
23 Mar 2008, 21:58
Hartlett was officially listed as being concussed after the game after an incident 2 minutes prior to Howat going down. You would think that will come into it if he has anything to answer (which I'm sure he will).

IMO the video is too inconclusive... you can't actually see the contact Hartlett made with Howat.

Oh come on BG. Take off your blinkers. Hartlett is in a world of trouble, no matter which you slice it. If he gets off this, or even gets only a couple of weeks, it will be a minor miracle.

Blue History
23 Mar 2008, 22:20
can anyone link me too the video
i saw it at the match
but i wouldnt mind seing what the afl will see

I'll try to get it on here asap.

Pretty much, Howat was running across the square, Hartlett was standing with his opponent....and as Howat passed Hartlett stepped out and shirt fronted him, i didn't see him raise his arm, and consdering Hartlett is much taller i think Howat would have hit the strong muscles in his arm.

But watching it ealier, there was a Carl player on the ground....good on Ch 10 not to mention this or take video to it, but by all accoounts it was Hartlett.

He'll be fine, footage isn't clear.

bluegal1983
23 Mar 2008, 23:19
Oh come on BG. Take off your blinkers. Hartlett is in a world of trouble, no matter which you slice it. If he gets off this, or even gets only a couple of weeks, it will be a minor miracle.

I am not disputing that at all but you can't actually see the contact Hartlett makes is what I am saying.

HBF
24 Mar 2008, 13:49
I am not disputing that at all but you can't actually see the contact Hartlett makes is what I am saying.

Doesn't matter. He's a goner.

Blueinblood
24 Mar 2008, 13:52
Wouldve been dropped anyway. With Fish back in one of edwards and HArtlett was gunna be dropped and Edwards was very good so problem solved

blue gunslinger
24 Mar 2008, 16:16
Should use the Des Headland defence......apparantly it dosnt even need to be corroborated
Asked this question and the concussion question on ABC radio Perth this morning. The minds on the program said even considering it he is gone daddy done. Plus said crap about Hedland being a different kettle of fish with race, Tat of daughter etc. I reckon if a bloke with few brains loses control of them because someone gave him a whack, then that should have a bearing. Surely we can afford a good doctor who can get up there and say when the lad came off he thought he was a goat in Istanbul!
Not like he was very productive after. We should have sent him straight to hospital after the game and had a scan! Swann could have made sure in was concussion on the way and knocked some sense into him. I have watched the footage a heap of times. Regardless of whether the elbow was raised it was stupid and deserves time!

thylacine60
24 Mar 2008, 16:20
Asked this question and the concussion question on ABC radio Perth this morning. The minds on the program said even considering it he is gone daddy done. Plus said crap about Hedland being a different kettle of fish with race, Tat of daughter etc. I reckon if a bloke with few brains loses control of them because someone gave him a whack, then that should have a bearing. Surely we can afford a good doctor who can get up there and say when the lad came off he thought he was a goat in Istanbul!
Not like he was very productive after. We should have sent him straight to hospital after the game and had a scan! Swann could have made sure in was concussion on the way and knocked some sense into him. I have watched the footage a heap of times. Regardless of whether the elbow was raised it was stupid and deserves time!

I'm wiping sprayed tea off the lap-screen. Knock it off.

blue gunslinger
24 Mar 2008, 17:16
I'm wiping sprayed tea off the lap-screen. Knock it off.
Well that is your problem thylacine. Public holiday - should be beer or Tequila!

Blueinblood
24 Mar 2008, 17:26
Offered 2 weeks by MRP

thylacine60
24 Mar 2008, 17:27
Well that is your problem thylacine. Public holiday - should be beer or Tequila!

Told you mate, I don't indulge.

Offered 2 weeks by MRP

You've got to be joking?

Blueinblood
24 Mar 2008, 17:31
nup....come on down my friends dad( tribunal dude)

blue gunslinger
24 Mar 2008, 17:34
[quote=thylacine60;10419700]Told you mate, I don't indulge.

You musnt' be married to a wife like mine, have kids like mine or have a job like mine! Line them up baby

2 weeks seems fair if not leniant!

marcmurphy3
24 Mar 2008, 17:41
2 weeks is a good result for us.

thylacine60
24 Mar 2008, 17:43
I was thinking a month. He'll take 2 weeks in a second.

MyBloodIsBlue
24 Mar 2008, 17:47
I was thinking a month. He'll take 2 weeks in a second.

I'm sure they'll take it! Howatt's been offered the same amount for his hit also.

blue gunslinger
24 Mar 2008, 17:49
I'm sure they'll take it! Howatt's been offered the same amount for his hit also.
Well that seems a steal.Why don't they say the 2 cancel themselves out, both can play and game on!

thylacine60
24 Mar 2008, 18:32
Well that seems a steal.Why don't they say the 2 cancel themselves out, both can play and game on!

Way too logical. Don't the ice-hockey boys have a free swing rule or something? Like to see that introduced here.

Blue History
24 Mar 2008, 23:21
[quote=Blue History;10412375]I'll try to get it on here asap.[quote]

H_sXyjUaKRk

theone5
25 Mar 2008, 14:22
Wouldve been dropped anyway. With Fish back in one of edwards and HArtlett was gunna be dropped and Edwards was very good so problem solved

Does anyone else agree with this? :confused:

thylacine60
25 Mar 2008, 14:34
Does anyone else agree with this? :confused:

A tough one. How tall do want to go up forward? Discuss.

theone5
25 Mar 2008, 14:41
A tough one. How tall do want to go up forward? Discuss.

The best forward lines in the game have 3 talls, 2 being the minimum.
Sydney - O'Keefe, O'Loughlin, Hall, etc.
St.Kilda - Riewoldt, Koschitzke, Gehrig, etc.
Hawthorn - Franklin, Roughead, Boyle, etc.

Teams like West Coast and Geelong who lack the talls get most of their goals from their midfield.

So the question Ratten needs to ask himself is:
"Can the likes of Judd, Stevens and Murphy kick more goals without the need of Hartlett playing?"

My simple answer is NO.
You need him to take out another tall defender, at least while Fisher is still out because if he does not come back into the side, expect to see Fevola get double-teamed all year just like Brown was last year when Bradshaw was injured.

Andyt31
25 Mar 2008, 20:58
Cam Howat copped 3 weeks :thumbsu: cause he challanged his report
and Adam did the right thing in not and only got 2 instead of 3 if he
had Challanged So Richmond enjoy it

simplicity
25 Mar 2008, 22:11
hartlett will he get a spot into the team straight away then after his suspension or will he be replaced since edwards seems like he played a pretty good match too
also pfieffer likely to get a game in his absence then?

Blue History
25 Mar 2008, 22:15
With our forward line i think you need players like Harlett and Edwards to play along with Fev and Fisher and have smalls in Betts, Murph and Hoops on the flanks while resting out of the midfield.

If Harltett plays he'll get the 2nd best defender, simply as he is playing CHF. Fisher gets the 3rd and Edwards the 4th....Fisher could cause major troubles and Edwards if he leads away from Fev will also be dangerous if he can kick straight.

My forwadline would be
Betts, Hart, Murp/Hoops
Fish, Fev, Edwards

Fisher to play the stay at home forward, his pack marks and reach are sometimes unmatched, Fev and Edwards leading in opposite directions, while Hartlett roams and Betts, Murph and Hoops create and swoop.

eugene_tomas
28 Mar 2008, 13:26
wld he back after his suspension or wld it take time for him to get back in???

thylacine60
28 Mar 2008, 13:36
wld he back after his suspension or wld it take time for him to get back in???

This is something he'll be having a good think about right now. He's not established anywhere near enough to be just sitting out for a fortnight. Think he comes back against Collingwood so possibly he'll come in to stretch their undersized backline (cue idiots).

He could be so important to our future gameplan if he stays fit.

Bluebear
28 Mar 2008, 14:02
This is something he'll be having a good think about right now. He's not established anywhere near enough to be just sitting out for a fortnight. Think he comes back against Collingwood so possibly he'll come in to stretch their undersized backline (cue idiots).

He could be so important to our future gameplan if he stays fit.
Keep in mind Kreuzer needs to be squeezed in up front as well.

Quite right that he's not established enough to go for cheap holidays. Edwards needs to make every post a winner as well.