View Full Version : Alcohol free Challenge - from Lethal
blynd_freddie
24 Mar 2008, 11:55
LINK (http://footyheads.com.au/index.php/2008/03/24/lethal-bans-lions/)
BY ANDREW LOWTHER from footyheads.com.au
Monday, March 24th, 2008 at 9:12 am
BRISBANE Lions coach Leigh Matthews has banned his players from drinking alcohol.
Matthews said the ban was designed to give his players a ‘deluxe recovery’ before they take on Collingwood next Friday night in Brisbane.
“It is a challenge. If we do everything right we will come up ok in six days, but we have to do everything right.
“You won’t be able to be sloppy in your preparation protocols and your re-hydration and you wouldn’t even think about alcohol,” the four-time premiership coach said.
The ban comes after the Lions lost to West Coast by 16-points in Perth.
Brisbane star Jonathon Brown said the game was played in the hottest conditions he had encountered in an AFL premiership season match. Great to see the Lions attempting to set an example – Surely if players are wanting to be a truly professional athlete and are attempting to get the very best out of themselves personally and as part of a team, where’s the problem?
LionPride
24 Mar 2008, 11:58
Totally agree - a great idea. I think he should impose it for the whole season. Considering what Leigh said about re-hydration and preparation, why not do it for every game? We've all seen what alcohol has done to players in other teams...need we say more!
blynd_freddie
24 Mar 2008, 12:07
Totally agree - a great idea. I think he should impose it for the whole season. Considering what Leigh said about re-hydration and preparation, why not do it for every game? We've all seen what alcohol has done to players in other teams...need we say more!
Forget about other players or teams, a straight forward request with obvious benefits for self and the team as a whole.
Warwick
24 Mar 2008, 12:12
Good idea.
Brisbane star Jonathon Brown said the game was played in the hottest conditions he had encountered in an AFL premiership season match.
That's very surprising considering some of the games we have played at the Gabba under a scorching Brisbane sun.
It's also concerning considering we have to travel back from Perth and play our next match on Friday. We may be a little flat.
blynd_freddie
24 Mar 2008, 12:17
Good idea.
It's also concerning considering we have to travel back from Perth and play our next match on Friday. We may be a little flat.
Does anybody know if we charted a return flight? Low altitude, massage tables etc.
Grimreepah
24 Mar 2008, 12:48
Totally agree - a great idea. I think he should impose it for the whole season. Considering what Leigh said about re-hydration and preparation, why not do it for every game?
Because no one would want to play for us:D
Even though they are professional athletes I think you still have to allow them to let their hair down a bit. You don't want to suck all the fun out of their lives, and if a few quiet ales the night after a game helps them relax then that can be a good thing.
Neil Craig has received a bit of criticism over this in recent times, ie he sets his standards too high and the players aren't enjoying their footy as a result.
blynd_freddie
24 Mar 2008, 13:03
Even though they are professional athletes I think you still have to allow them to let their hair down a bit. You don't want to suck all the fun out of their lives, and if a few quiet ales the night after a game helps them relax then that can be a good thing.
Neil Craig has received a bit of criticism over this in recent times, ie he sets his standards too high and the players aren't enjoying their footy as a result.
I disagree with you Grim, I believe "to relax after a game" is purely a hangover from the social sports club culture.
I ask you, if you were off to Beijing in the 100 meter swim or run would you be relaxing with a “few social brews" the week before your event?
I would normally think that a half a dozen to a dozen stubbies after a game would be pretty normal for most players. I think this is fair enough, this week is different though, arriving at Brisbane airport at 4am on Sunday morning will mean that the next training session would be Sunday night. There shouldn't be a chance for a drink, i sure Lethal would of reminded them that there is plenty of time for a few celebratory drinks this Friday night when the boys do the job against the Pies!
blynd_freddie
24 Mar 2008, 14:10
I would normally think that a half a dozen to a dozen stubbies after a game would be pretty normal for most players.
Totally hypothetical acuguy – but WHAT IF players were told a ˝ Doz plus stubbies accentuated the possibility of “quad problems” what then do you think they would partake in, hard or soft drinks?
i agree with tho no alcohol rule for this week
campbell
24 Mar 2008, 15:21
Totally hypothetical acuguy – but WHAT IF players were told a ˝ Doz plus stubbies accentuated the possibility of “quad problems” what then do you think they would partake in, hard or soft drinks?
I think a lot wouldnt care really, or think it wont happen to me.or understand the physiological differences alcohol can make on a normal body let alone and injured body or a recupratative body. they are young men after all.
I think a curfew and education of it all may be a really good thing. They are not casual athletes but pros, you know.
You only have to go to a few places around town on a Sunday arvo/ night and see the fellas out an about to know they dont really get it.
Can anyone remember if it was 97 or 98 that the whole Adelaide team made a no alcohol pact before the season, and they ended up winning the GF that year.
blynd_freddie
24 Mar 2008, 15:40
I think a lot wouldnt care really
Surely that generalisation, when linked to my hypothetical quote belittles the intelligence of most players?
Grimreepah
24 Mar 2008, 16:00
I disagree with you Grim, I believe "to relax after a game" is purely a hangover from the social sports club culture.
I ask you, if you were off to Beijing in the 100 meter swim or run would you be relaxing with a “few social brews" the week before your event?
I think you're comparing apples and oranges Fred. A swimmer and a footballer have very different schedules in terms of peaking for their respective sports. For a swimmer to abstain during competition would mean not drinking for a couple of weeks or a month. For a footballer it basically means not drinking for half the year.
I agree that alcohol consumption is determined by the environment we live in, but I don't believe that makes it any less significant. From a purely physical point of view, yes it would be ideal not to drink alcohol (ever), but we are social creatures, and alcohol is a social drug. If a few quiet ales helps a player integrate into their social network and helps them unwind from the stresses of the world, then the benefits should be taken into consideration too.
I know we want to be as professional as possible, but I think leading a spartan lifestyle can do more harm than good. If the players are miserable they aren't going to play good footy.
Leigh says "no drink".....then "no drink" it is......no ifs and buts.......if they dont like those rules, play somewhere else......
campbell
24 Mar 2008, 16:12
Leigh says "no drink".....then "no drink" it is......no ifs and buts.......if they dont like those rules, play somewhere else......
Kane Johnson would be in a wee spot of bother under Lethal hey.
Wayde Petersen
24 Mar 2008, 16:19
For this week, I agree because of the fact that they're spending at least 7 hours on the plane, and plus the transfers & waiting times, there's not much of a turn around for the team, and Collingwood are in good form, so we need to get as much advantage over them.
Then after Friday Night (when we towel them up:thumbsu:), then they should be awarded by having a free night.
Look, our SAS soldiers & sailors earn at least some R&R & shore leave, and having some time off to relax does them a lot of good, and if that were to disappear it usually leads to unhappiness (or mutiny), and for a footballer, I think that a similar rule should also apply, provided that they don't do something too silly.
Brilliant:thumbsu:.
Homer Jnr
24 Mar 2008, 16:56
Totally agree with this.
In today's professional era, this would be ever increasing I'd imagine. And understandably, so, yes the players are young men, but they are employed to be at peak physical condition for their footballing abilities by the club. So in reality, there is 26-30 weeks of the year where it should be a once a week occurance at most.
Oh wee wee!! :eek:
blynd_freddie
24 Mar 2008, 17:19
Oh wee wee!! :eek:
Oui... oui oui. (not to be confused with the response to Aussie, Aussie, Aussie. :o :D)
Warwick
24 Mar 2008, 18:10
Can anyone remember if it was 97 or 98 that the whole Adelaide team made a no alcohol pact before the season, and they ended up winning the GF that year.
No alcohol pacts are a great team builder.
Everyone is cheating and they all know it.
True, we once had a coach that banned drinking on Friday nights before a game unsuccessfully.
campbell
24 Mar 2008, 18:35
No idea how they police it, when they dont live in a Brisbane Lions dorm, and have random blood testing or anything. lol.
blynd_freddie
24 Mar 2008, 18:41
No idea how they police it, when they dont live in a Brisbane Lions dorm, and have random blood testing or anything. lol.
No idea? Do you trust your children... or anything. lol.
We have place some trust in the system.
notting18
24 Mar 2008, 18:42
No alcohol pacts or curfews only really work successfully when initiated by the playing group (eg Geelong last year vs Neil Craig/Adelaide this year).
I think Leigh makes a good point about the fact that this week has a much shorter recovery period (with other mitigating factors) which would mean that all players should stay off the drink. Although, I am quietly confident that most, if not all players, would've figured this out for themselves independently of Leigh's comments.
campbell
24 Mar 2008, 18:46
No idea? Do you trust your children... or anything. lol.
We have place some trust in the system.
My children are not what this is about.
I thinks its daft to say something in the media, when its impossible to know if its happening behind closed doors.
blynd_freddie
24 Mar 2008, 19:01
My children are not what this is about.
Apologies if taken the wrong way, used only to emphasise my point of TRUST.
TheBrownDog
24 Mar 2008, 19:03
I thinks its daft to say something in the media, when its impossible to know if its happening behind closed doors.
So the Lions are silly for mentioning the no alcohol policy because they don't put the players in a dorm?
:confused:
campbell
24 Mar 2008, 19:17
Apologies if taken the wrong way, used only to emphasise my point of TRUST.
I am sure though that Richmond fully trusted their Captain to not stuff up too.
I just happen to think trust is earned on both sides of the fence and not something to be spoken about in the media.You know.
I happen to think they are pro footballers and have this wonderful oportunity and should be making the most of this opportunity, to not put any bad things in their body, which is their machine. Treat any machine with care and love and you purr along.
BUT we are talking about 18 year olds and up, males to boot, and that flys out the window. Boys are boys are boys.
IF the policy is there from day 1 of signing on, then it may work. Who knows.
I think the Empire and Normanby will be missing some clienetel if it becomes perminent, especially if AFLQ level follow suit. lol.
campbell
24 Mar 2008, 19:18
So the Lions are silly for mentioning the no alcohol policy because they don't put the players in a dorm?
:confused:
mmm.....:eek:
The Flying Belgian
24 Mar 2008, 20:54
Sometimes I wish media stuff was transcript-based because you can bet your arse Leigh wouldn't bother to put this out there if he wasn't asked. Sometimes we forget to take that into consideration. With the current climate I'm sure booze will be high on any journos question sheet.
But Freddie's point about trust is well-made. If we have trust in the culture of the team, then such a pact shouldn't be a talking point. Will every player adhere? Who knows. Is it a bad thing to try and put the onus on the individual? Not IMO. The bloke who has a couple of possibly cramps up in the last quarter would surely be questioning himself and possibly his team mates would be too.
Grimreepah
24 Mar 2008, 20:57
The bloke who has a couple of possibly cramps up in the last quarter would surely be questioning himself and possibly his team mates would be too.
I heard in an interview that Matthews didn't understand why our players were cramping and WC's weren't.
Hmmmm.....
The Flying Belgian
24 Mar 2008, 21:10
I heard in an interview that Matthews didn't understand why our players were cramping and WC's weren't.
Hmmmm.....
Yeah, but he also pontificated on the effect of travel on the body. Even with their reborn image I'm struggling to see WC player off the plonk regardless! :D
blynd_freddie
24 Mar 2008, 21:12
I think you're comparing apples and oranges Fred. A swimmer and a footballer have very different schedules in terms of peaking for their respective sports. For a swimmer to abstain during competition would mean not drinking for a couple of weeks or a month. For a footballer it basically means not drinking for half the year.
I agree that alcohol consumption is determined by the environment we live in, but I don't believe that makes it any less significant. From a purely physical point of view, yes it would be ideal not to drink alcohol (ever), but we are social creatures, and alcohol is a social drug. If a few quiet ales helps a player integrate into their social network and helps them unwind from the stresses of the world, then the benefits should be taken into consideration too.
I know we want to be as professional as possible, but I think leading a spartan lifestyle can do more harm than good. If the players are miserable they aren't going to play good footy.
With apologies Grim,
your points are all valid but let me p!ss you off a little more ;) with another change of direction... highlighting another point.
Now less about.. social relaxation and more towards respect for ones body.
So for arguments sake if apples and oranges are swimmers and runners then let tomatoes be footballers.
Also allow me to change the alcohol references to tobacco.
So, ignoring the fact that generally people are not going to give two hoots about somebody puffing smoke against a window or wall.
It is common knowledge that there are some footballers and I’m suggesting AFL not specifically Brisbane that are smokers where a social smoke to unwind, relax is also tolerated. Most of these guys will only have a couple of years, if they are elite, maybe just over a decade of their lives to be the best they can be in their chosen hobby or more so today their chosen field of employment.
Forget the ugly side of alcohol abuse I’m talking specifically of self-body worship.
Should a club be able to direct a player to not - smoke OR drink?
For me, I would not be surprised if a zero tobacco/alcohol policy becomes a contractual obligation within the next decade.
Purely as a benefit to the whole, again THE TEAM.
Grimreepah
24 Mar 2008, 21:56
Well I see smoking (even in moderation) as a lot more harmful to the body than drinking in moderation.
Aslo I wouldn't say there are any benefits to smoking. It is considered more antisocial than social these days. Smokers generally don't want to be smokers, they are just bound by their addiction.
For me, I would not be surprised if a zero tobacco/alcohol policy becomes a contractual obligation within the next decade.
Well clubs have to weigh up the costs and benefits. You wouldn't want a young Jonathan Brown knocking back a father/son selection because he knows you're not allowed to drink at the Brisbane Football Club.
I just think it's a situation where different things are best for different people, which is why I'm not for blanket rules (although I've got no problem in a special case like this week). Alcohol is so ingrained in our society that it is considered by many to be part of normal living. And it's important for footballers that they can feel normal.
It is all about moderation, common sense dictates that this week is not a good one to have a drink. Is it just me or does Josh Drummond tend to cramp more than most footballers.
blynd_freddie
24 Mar 2008, 22:10
You wouldn't want a young Jonathan Brown knocking back a father/son selection because he knows you're not allowed to drink at the Brisbane Football Club.
Not club-by-club, more as an AFL directed blanket to be seen as social brownie points. Then with my cynical hat on reflecting the AFL’s hidden agenda to quell players bringing AFL into disrepute.
blynd_freddie
24 Mar 2008, 22:16
It is all about moderation, common sense dictates that this week is not a good one to have a drink. Is it just me or does Josh Drummond tend to cramp more than most footballers.
Should cross link with your coffee thread... wasn't there huge cramp problems re players taking caffeine tablets several years ago?
As soon as that came out about caffeine tablets at the local footy level we all started popping them in massive numbers, never felt it did anything for me except buzz me up a little.
campbell
24 Mar 2008, 22:25
No Doz can be a great thing on a long 12 hr night duty when you have had no sleep that day.
Gives you a mother of a headache though.
brisbanelioness
24 Mar 2008, 22:25
Grrrrrr! It's no alcohol for one week, people, and even if it's for a season, so what! It's for their better health and fitness. I didn't drink when I was pregnant or for the entire year afterwards because I was breastfeeding. I still went out and had a good time or relaxed all without alcohol. You know, it can be done. (My husband is pleading with me not write this because he says "no one will care" but I just want to say that if it's important, one can easily give up alcohol).
campbell
24 Mar 2008, 22:26
As soon as that came out about caffeine tablets at the local footy level we all started popping them in massive numbers, never felt it did anything for me except buzz me up a little.
Yep, I heard of under 18's popping them as well. I think the ones doing that had had hard nights the night before though. lol.
campbell
24 Mar 2008, 22:28
Grrrrrr! It's no alcohol for one week, people, and even if it's for a season, so what! It's for their better health and fitness. I didn't drink when I was pregnant or for the entire year afterwards because I was breastfeeding. I still went out and had a good time or relaxed all without alcohol. You know, it can be done. (My husband is pleading with me not write this because he says "no one will care" but I just want to say that if it's important, one can easily give up alcohol).
Exactly. You are doing it for the health of your child as well, a real darn good incentive.
The difference I think, is its the young men we are talking about, Some are methodical about what they eat and drink and how they train, and some are not so. If you know what I mean.
Shit i didn't know women posted on this forum, is there an all male footy forum anywhere
campbell
24 Mar 2008, 22:35
Shit i didn't know women posted on this forum, is there an all male footy forum anywhere
haha.
cheeky bugger.
:p