View Full Version : Timmy shows his true colours - Again!
Brown Blood
27 Mar 2008, 15:48
Anyone who has listened to tim lane commentate a hawthorn game, especially in tasmania knows he seems to have a deep seated resentment towards us.
It seems this is becoming a bit more overt with him now openly campaigning for tasmanians to reject supporting HFC's efforts playing 4 games in tasmania and to recruit tasmanians as members as they should have their own team:
Originally Posted by tim lane
Then there's the Hawthorn arrangement. Demetriou would respond to my scream by saying the AFL does have a footprint in the state. By the grace and generosity of one of its clubs, Tasmanians are given the chance to see four games a year.
Yes, it's true. Those who support Collingwood, Carlton, Geelong and Essendon are given the opportunity each year to see Hawthorn playing Port Adelaide, Adelaide, Fremantle and one or two other clubs whose lack of a following in Melbourne would have made less than big earners of the Hawks' home games against them at the MCG.
The Tasmanian Government puts your money into Hawthorn's pocket, Jeff Kennett and his outfit laugh all the way to the bank, and Demetriou and the AFL go away with a warm inner glow for doing their bit for the under-privileged.
and
Originally Posted by tim lane
What you now experience is merely a second-rate form of football life.
You follow a team that is based in a suburb of Melbourne, or some other far-flung city, and which in no way, other than via some fantasy to which you cling, really represents you.
I am suggesting you opt for a team that truly represents you, which you can watch every second week amid the hysteria of a one-team crowd, and which is truly yours.
http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story...7-3462,00.html (http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,23438947-3462,00.html)
I think it is tim that clings to a fantasy, it is not going to happen - or is it that it pi5se5 him off that HFC is having more success than his beloved blues on and off field including recruiting members in his old stamping ground.
BTW, as tim has now come out to openly declare his stand on this issue I would expect he would stand down from commentating any further games involving HFC as he would surely have a conflict of interest that may affect his objectivity and we know how he feels about the dangers of that!
He has always been the worst commentator going around.
Get your stupid face of our television screens.
http://i272.photobucket.com/albums/jj192/Figgy101111/untitled-4.jpg
That's deliberate
27 Mar 2008, 16:13
You can just picture it.
Tim Lane ...ra ra ra ra ra Tasmania...rararararara...Hawforn...rarararara
Demetriou....yes Tim we hear you... puts phone on mute ....bwahahahaha..
Tim Lane...and we should have a rararararrarara ...Tasmania....bla bla bla
Demetriou....ahhhhh Tim just stay with us a minute, some valid points there...hold on let me put you on loud speaker it's important the rest of the team hear this......(puts phone on loud speaker - hey boys take 5 and gather around, this is priceless)..
Demetriou - go on Tim..(chokes, holding back the laughter)
Tim Lane - Gday boys, as i was saying...Tassie should blablablablablabla....andwe should bla bla bla....18th team....bla bla bla
Demetriou and Team....BWAHAHAHAHA......BWAHAHAHHAHAHA...um sorry Tim was that an 18th team you said or 19th...
Tim Lane - Guys im serious we need a blablablablaba......
Demetriou and Team - BWAHAHAHAHAHAHA....BWAHAHA..you're a crack up Tim....ok gotta go now , we should catch up with Terase and the kids soon...good on ya Tim...BWAHAHAHA.....hangs up phone
Tim Lane...hello guys ....guys.....you still there....
Oh.
Well I guess I can file away my "It's one round back from injury you stupid so-and-so" speech.
For now...
MadDawg
27 Mar 2008, 16:18
Timmy is not as bad as Dwayne "Dwayne Pipes" Russell but he aint far off. I would even rather listen to Malcolm Blight carry on about some chicken or whatever he talks about during a game than little Timmy biased eyes. Didnt he snub 9 because he thought Eddie would be biased in his calls?
You can just picture it.
Demetriou....ahhhhh Tim just stay with us a minute, some valid points there...hold on let me put you on loud speaker it's important the rest of the team hear this......(puts phone on loud speaker - hey boys take 5 and gather around, this is priceless)..
Tim Lane - Gday boys, as i was saying...Tassie should blablablablablabla....andwe should bla bla bla....18th team....bla bla bla
Demetriou and Team....BWAHAHAHAHA......BWAHAHAHHAHAHA...um sorry Tim was that an 18th team you said or 19th...
Demetriou and Team - BWAHAHAHAHAHAHA....BWAHAHA..you're a crack up Tim....ok gotta go now , we should catch up with Terase and the kids soon...good on ya Tim...BWAHAHAHA.....hangs up phone
LMFAO:DClassic:thumbsu:
Realist
27 Mar 2008, 16:30
I usuallythink that Tim Lane is a tool and the most overrated commentator in history.
However, I will be backing him 100% on his Tasmanian football campaign in the hope that the people and government of Tasmania will agree with him and refuse to extend our current agreement. This will mean the end of this Tasmanian home games fiasco and restore Hawthorn as a Victorian club.
I usuallythink that Tim Lane is a tool and the most overrated commentator in history.
However, I will be backing him 100% on his Tasmanian football campaign in the hope that the people and government of Tasmania will agree with him and refuse to extend our current agreement. This will mean the end of this Tasmanian home games fiasco and restore Hawthorn as a Victorian club.
Don't worry mate, Hawthorn is still and will be forever nothing but a Victorian Club. I know Jeff and our marketing dep. have gone to far to label us the Tassie Hawks. The heart of our footy club is still in Victoria. The Tassie envolvment has been nothing but a positive and financially rewarding process.
There is no chance we will be locating.
LuvMyHawks
27 Mar 2008, 16:47
Tim "who"??
And btw Tim, you moron, what about the rest of the population in Tasmania that support clubs all over Australia. They don't even get to see their club play there, or anywhere.I am sure that the majority of people there would appreciate any team that plays there, and brings them some AFL... What an absolute ?anker he is, just confirms what I have ALWAYS thought of him..It seems he is jealous of the success we are having, both on and off the field. Even his pathetic blues haven't had 9,000 more new members than this time last year,like we have..
I think it is more JK that annoys him, than the club, but that makes it even more delicious!!hehehe:)
He has always had it in for us, what a pity we don't play them before round 22 this year...
GO Hawks!!! :thumbsu:
moistie
27 Mar 2008, 16:53
As he is Tasmanian, I can understand his wish to get a purely Tasmanian based team, they face a deal of problems proving it's financially viable with both membership and corporate support.
But to dismiss Hawthorn out of hand as having no Tasmanian connections when we've had players like Hudson, Eade, Robinson, Pritchard, Rawlings, and with Birchall and Thorp in our current lineup, is a bit rich.
kimbopen
27 Mar 2008, 17:46
As he is Tasmanian, I can understand his wish to get a purely Tasmanian based team, they face a deal of problems proving it's financially viable with both membership and corporate support.
But to dismiss Hawthorn out of hand as having no Tasmanian connections when we've had players like Hudson, Eade, Robinson, Pritchard, Rawlings, and with Birchall and Thorp in our current lineup, is a bit rich.
You've omitted Simon Taylor from that list! ;)
Carn Hawkas
27 Mar 2008, 18:03
However, I will be backing him 100% on his Tasmanian football campaign in the hope that the people and government of Tasmania will agree with him and refuse to extend our current agreement. This
I agree with you there mate.
GoHawkers
27 Mar 2008, 18:17
Tim Lane is a goose! If it wasn't for us they probably wouldn't have any afl footy coming into Tassie. It was Peter Hudson who was the instrument in getting such a deal done. He knew a footy team wasn't viable in Tassie so he worked out with a team for the next best thing.
I like the connection the Hawks have with Tassie and I think the government is doing alright with the deal too. Tassie gets a lot more exposure for tourism.
Goldhawk
27 Mar 2008, 18:27
Your obviously a short minded person who can't see the bigger picture,the sponsorship with the Tasmanian Government is a fantastic deal for Hawthorn as it will financially give the Hawks the upper hand in gaining more members and sponsors for the future,there would be half a dozen clubs that would jump on this deal if they could.Luckily Hawthorn had the forsight to make this to fruition.Thank heavens we have Jeff Kennett.
And as for Tim Lane what a tool he is.
LuvMyHawks
27 Mar 2008, 19:12
How dare that dipstick Lane complain about Govt funds going to sponsor Hawthorn!!
What about the money the pathetic blues are getting from OUR govt, along with other clubs..
I didn't see him complaining about this headline that OUR Govt is giving::
CARLTON
$1 million to support the redevelopment of MC Labour Park.
What a hypocrite, Lane, they have a President that rips off the public, to the tune of millions, let him put in the million dollars. BTW I didn't see Lane complaining about the rip off either..
And as for Realist, if he is a Hawk supporter I am a Scum supporter...
What a negative poster he is...:thumbsd:
Your obviously a short minded person who can't see the bigger picture,the sponsorship with the Tasmanian Government is a fantastic deal for Hawthorn as it will financially give the Hawks the upper hand in gaining more members and sponsors for the future,there would be half a dozen clubs that would jump on this deal if they could.Luckily Hawthorn had the forsight to make this to fruition.Thank heavens we have Jeff Kennett.
And as for Tim Lane what a tool he is.
Agreed. Great post.
I do think the marketing dep. still went too far to call us the Tassie Hawks.
Big Ronnie
27 Mar 2008, 19:20
You're a bit suss mate?:confused:
Why would we throw away the money we get from Tassie?
I think you want Hawks in Melb only to fold?
There's something smelly about you isn't there?
Who are you really?
Junior Boy 33
27 Mar 2008, 19:22
The only good thing that has come out of Tim Lane is his daughter Sam!
15hodge
27 Mar 2008, 20:01
Tim Lane is a hypocrite re: conflict of interest issues.
Also, if he wants a Tassie-based AFL club he should be having a go at the AFL not at the Hawks.
But im glad we eat at him cos he is a hypocrite. Suck the big one Timmy.:D
With regards to Realist and his opinions of the Tassie deal, he is entitled to his opinions, so dont attack him over it. We all want to see what we think is best for our club and as long as your heart pumps brown and gold blood, you deserve to be able to express an opinion on a public forum. This topic was discussed in depth in a previous post and Hawks fans have a variety of opinions on it. For me, the jury is still out. I'm glad of the sponsorship but, as mentioned by several posters, i'm not happy about being marketed as the Tassie Hawks. I also think we should have "Discover Tasmania" on our guernseys and not "Tasmania". Sure, its a small point of contention but we are the Hawthorn Football Club.
Tim Lane is a hypocrite re: conflict of interest issues.
Also, if he wants a Tassie-based AFL club he should be having a go at the AFL not at the Hawks.
But im glad we eat at him cos he is a hypocrite. Suck the big one Timmy.:D
With regards to Realist and his opinions of the Tassie deal, he is entitled to his opinions, so dont attack him over it. We all want to see what we think is best for our club and as long as your heart pumps brown and gold blood, you deserve to be able to express an opinion on a public forum. This topic was discussed in depth in a previous post and Hawks fans have a variety of opinions on it. For me, the jury is still out. I'm glad of the sponsorship but, as mentioned by several posters, i'm not happy about being marketed as the Tassie Hawks. I also think we should have "Discover Tasmania" on our guernseys and not "Tasmania". Sure, its a small point of contention but we are the Hawthorn Football Club.
Very good post hodgie you beat me to it. Timbo is a prize hypocrite and a self rightious git.
And Realist has every right to have an opinion about the Tasmanian deal and I am surprised that some posters seem so quick to attack him for it. As far as what you say about the jumpers again I agree. It is tourism Tasmania is sponsoring as far as a naming right sponsor, nothing else.
Our club is Hawthorn.
PatientHawk
27 Mar 2008, 20:16
You can just picture it.
Great stuff...well done:thumbsu:
Anyone who has listened to tim lane commentate a hawthorn game, especially in tasmania knows he seems to have a deep seated resentment towards us.
It seems this is becoming a bit more overt with him now openly campaigning for tasmanians to reject supporting HFC's efforts playing 4 games in tasmania and to recruit tasmanians as members as they should have their own team:
and
http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story...7-3462,00.html (http://www.news.com.au/mercury/story/0,22884,23438947-3462,00.html)
I think it is tim that clings to a fantasy, it is not going to happen - or is it that it pi5se5 him off that HFC is having more success than his beloved blues on and off field including recruiting members in his old stamping ground.
BTW, as tim has now come out to openly declare his stand on this issue I would expect he would stand down from commentating any further games involving HFC as he would surely have a conflict of interest that may affect his objectivity and we know how he feels about the dangers of that!
Yes, it certainly seems that our current good fortune, on and off the field, is starting to upset a few people. First Barnes and now Lane again.
SUFFER!
Big Ronnie
27 Mar 2008, 21:02
The only good thing that has come out of Tim Lane is his daughter Sam!
Even thats a bit rough Junior boy?:rolleyes::thumbsd:
Pessimistic
27 Mar 2008, 21:56
Tim Lane is a goose! If it wasn't for us they probably wouldn't have any afl footy coming into Tassie. It was Peter Hudson who was the instrument in getting such a deal done. He knew a footy team wasn't viable in Tassie so he worked out with a team for the next best thing.
I like the connection the Hawks have with Tassie and I think the government is doing alright with the deal too. Tassie gets a lot more exposure for tourism.
Peters first attempt was to merge us with the melbourne dawks so the jurys out on that one.
monhawks
27 Mar 2008, 23:36
Any of you out there that are happy playing 4 home games in tassie need your head read. We haven't progressed anywhere until those games are at least back in melbourne and even better at the MCG. Seven home games is a disgrace. Make no mistake we're second rate battlers compared to the power clubs while this arrangement exist. I for one hope tim succeeds so i can sit with my children in m50 like i should be for 11 games instead of prostituting my club to Tasmanias money.
medusala
28 Mar 2008, 00:14
Tim Lane has a decent point regardless of whether or not you favour the deal Hawthorn has.
Its the same point Singo made re the Central Coast and the NRL.
Plenty of people on here seem to think that Hawthorn (and its players) are completlely above any sort of criticism regardless of whether or not its warranted.
If there was a Tas team it would have a great following. The games vs Victoria in the late 80s at North Hobart were brilliant (and Tas won one).
Great jumper too.
If there was a Tas team it would have a great following. The games vs Victoria in the late 80s at North Hobart were brilliant (and Tas won one).
Would the people who already support clubs give up and support the Tassie side?
Sure they could always target the younger generation, but it'll leave a massive gap in support between Tassie and other clubs.
Anyway, the Tassie Premier has come out with his 2 cents...
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23443590-19742,00.html
I'm tourn on this, pound for pound they deserve (and should have) had a team for many years now, but that's the problem IMO. If they could support themselves, why has it taken until now for them to be heard?
They've tried and failed for 30 years, surely that's proof enough that economically a Tassie team wouldn't be sound?
Even if it isn't economically sound, should the AFL kick in and support the new club financially indefinately like they already do for a number of teams in Melbourne, is it enough to be passionate about a club, or are the $$$ and market position more important for the AFL in the long term?
Reading the article it appears to me that Tim has simply got his 'Tassie' hat on. Hawthorn happen to be caught up in the subject of his attack because we are the team that gained the sponsorship. I'm sure he would have 'attacked' any other team (apart from the Blues) had they been in hawthorn's place.
Where I believe Timmy has got it wrong is in his belief that Tassie can sustain a local team. Simply wishful thinking by a biased man.
And he quotes Saul Eslake, a prominent economist no doubt, but also a passionate, footy mad Taswegian, and probably equally biased.
medusala
28 Mar 2008, 18:53
Would the people who already support clubs give up and support the Tassie side?
Havent lived there for a while (grew up there) but I think yes they would just as nearly everyone in WA and SA who all followed AFL clubs gave them up once they had their own teams. I would certainly follow them and buy a membership in addition to supporting the Hawks.
Sure they could always target the younger generation, but it'll leave a massive gap in support between Tassie and other clubs.
Support counts for little unless you attend games or buy membership ie put up the $.
They've tried and failed for 30 years, surely that's proof enough that economically a Tassie team wouldn't be sound?
Tried and failed what?
If the govt got on board and created a 25k stadium in Hobart and they got a major sponsor then supposedly if you listed to Saul Eslake and others it could work.
The Cats make a fortune due to their stadium deal. I cant see why a Hobart based team would be much different.
medusala
28 Mar 2008, 18:57
Where I believe Timmy has got it wrong is in his belief that Tassie can sustain a local team. Simply wishful thinking by a biased man.
After reading what Eslake and a few others wrote I am not so sure.
Melbourne supports 10 teams. Work out the population per team then compare it to Hobart alone with potentially a far, far better stadium deal and govt support
Then it doesnt sound so stupid.
medusala
28 Mar 2008, 23:37
As far as eslake goes I used to work with him & he is a bank economist (and a 5hit one at that) who knows absolutely nothing about the economics of AFL football.
I have never been a huge fan of his writing but he should have some idea.
And I am sure you realise the population argument is a furphy anyway:
Dont disagree with you on much of this. Tas would be able to bring together support, its just that supporters wouldnt travel.
Forget the half the population argument, its Hobart or nothing (maybe a few games up North)
Re corp sponsors the argument is that a national sponsor would be interested due to TV coverage (how good an argument this is I dont know)
They could get over 25 sponsors. Hawthorn has about 3k the Saints 2 and I suspect Carlton, Pies and Richmond similar. It wouldnt surprise me if there are over 15k AFL club members already in Tas.
So if you look at all this you realise a full time, permanent afl team in tasmania just doesn't make economic sense
If they had a ground given to them by the govt where they made substantial profits on 20k gates and had a decent sponsor then I think they could.
keefriffhard
29 Mar 2008, 08:45
The Cats make a fortune due to their stadium deal. I cant see why a Hobart based team would be much different.
Imagine what the Cats could rake in if they had a larger capacity ground. They already have trouble fitting their members in for game day.