View Full Version : Good Win Lions
Jie_Hodge
29 Mar 2008, 10:45
Just want to say it was a great game last night (early contender for game of year) and a very good win from you blokes to come back in the last in those conditions (old fashioned footy dont you love it), we should put you away at the end of the third.
All other collingwood supporters are blaming the umpires, (i was furious at the time too) but i thought we had a few soft ones too, as well as the obree throws.
Brennen played well in the middle, do you reckon hell play more in their this year, (although you could play him on the bench all game against the pies and he would still manage to kill us)
Proud goes in hard, might be a good one when he works on a few things
Well done one a good win do we play again this year, if not see ya in the finals
Pies blaming umpires is stupid. We got a couple of soft ones in the last quarter but Collingwood got plenty of soft ones all game. I bet Colm Begley is still wondering what the hell he did wrong when Egan got that free kick for over the shoulder. And what about O'Bree's throw?? Had Thomas slotted the goal that resulted from that throw, and Collingwood had won, would the Pies fans be saying that it was undeserved??
If you want to see a case of bad umpiring, get the tape of the Lions and WCST last week. 29 frees to 17 WCST's way, real home town decisions. Look out especially for Cox's big push out on Merret, not paid, goal to Cox. THAT was a case of bad umpiring. Last night is just a case of bad losers.
Lehmo87
29 Mar 2008, 12:15
Just want to say it was a great game last night (early contender for game of year) and a very good win from you blokes to come back in the last in those conditions (old fashioned footy dont you love it), we should put you away at the end of the third.
All other collingwood supporters are blaming the umpires, (i was furious at the time too) but i thought we had a few soft ones too, as well as the obree throws.
Brennen played well in the middle, do you reckon hell play more in their this year, (although you could play him on the bench all game against the pies and he would still manage to kill us)
Well done one a good win do we play again this year, if not see ya in the finals
thanks :thumbsu: both teams played a fantastic brand of footy (although, at times, spoiled by poor umpiring decisions). It's a pity that these two great rivals aren't meeting again for the rest of the year.
Thanks Jie. It was a great game, and I didn't enter the last quarter with much confidence.
I wasn't convinced the Pies were going to be able to reproduce last year's form, but I'm starting to come around on that. Collingwood's ability to surround the contest and squeeze the ball carrier will unzip most sides.
They've got Brennan fitter than he's ever been, and I think the general plan is to play his as a Goodes/Kouta type of ruckrover. He'll sneak forward and pinch goals, but he seems to be better when he doesn't get time to think and make decisions.
Kochie 16
29 Mar 2008, 12:32
You're welcome, pity there aren't too many pie supporters like you around!
Cara_Cougar #16
29 Mar 2008, 12:54
Couldn't agree more with you there, some pies supporters are absoultley filthy about the win, saying it was given to us by the umpires. I continue to see more collingwood supporters that are like you and have similar opinions about the game.:thumbsu:
twoforjoy
29 Mar 2008, 13:06
it was cracker of a game, my heart was in mouth and my head was in my hands. Thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. We missed our opportunity to take it and your boys were good enough on the night. Respect! Don't worry about some of my Pies brethren, first reality check for the year can hit some pretty hard.
TheBrownDog
29 Mar 2008, 13:10
Thanks mate, very much appreciated. Your boys fight tooth and nail for that one and it could just as easily gone the other way.
Collingwood will play finals this year,don't you worry about that.
it was cracker of a game, my heart was in mouth and my head was in my hands. Thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. We missed our opportunity to take it and your boys were good enough on the night. Respect! Don't worry about some of my Pies brethren, first reality check for the year can hit some pretty hard.
No fair!!
That's two reasonable, fair-minded Collingwood supporters in the one thread.
What's this forum coming to?:eek:
Gyroscope_182
29 Mar 2008, 13:18
Great fightback boys, sad when looking at the result, and yes, even worse when you know the umpires played a huge part in the result (lets be honest...soft frees to Pies were balanced during the first three quarters with 50-50 frees to brisbane also...the last quarter was dreadful umpiring that surely be addressed to the AFL), saying that, we missed chances that should have put us in front.
Good to see wet weather footy at its best by both sides, congrats on the win, and another reason to keep the great rivalry going.
Great signs on Corrie as well, great recruiting to keep him there. If Trav Johnstone could use the ball, we would of lost by plenty more, but he should only improve (well, his overall efficiency has gone from 43% to 46%)
TheBrownDog
29 Mar 2008, 13:24
Great signs on Corrie as well, great recruiting to keep him there. If Trav Johnstone could use the ball, we would of lost by plenty more, but he should only improve (well, his overall efficiency has gone from 43% to 46%)
46 percent in the wet is okay IMO.
He got 22 possessions, which means close to 11 were effective.
11 effective Travis Johnstone possessions are pretty dangerous.
Kochie 16
29 Mar 2008, 13:25
Great fightback boys, sad when looking at the result, and yes, even worse when you know the umpires played a huge part in the result (lets be honest...soft frees to Pies were balanced during the first three quarters with 50-50 frees to brisbane also...the last quarter was dreadful umpiring that surely be addressed to the AFL), saying that, we missed chances that should have put us in front.
Good to see wet weather footy at its best by both sides, congrats on the win, and another reason to keep the great rivalry going.
Great signs on Corrie as well, great recruiting to keep him there. If Trav Johnstone could use the ball, we would of lost by plenty more, but he should only improve (well, his overall efficiency has gone from 43% to 46%) But he led the game with the most effective kicks, 11 kicks!
Kochie 16
29 Mar 2008, 13:26
46 percent in the wet is okay IMO.
He got 22 possessions, which means close to 11 were effective.
11 effective Travis Johnstone possessions are pretty dangerous.
Damn it just bet me too it.
spursmania
29 Mar 2008, 14:14
Great game played by both teams last night:thumbsu:, much better than watching Saints v Swans last week:eek:
I had the Lions in my tipping comp, so a good result for me though i wasn't confident 10 mins to go.
Good to see players getting a bit muddy for a change:)
Dylan12
29 Mar 2008, 15:35
After seeing our 2 games and a few others, what is concerning me is the umpiring and how soft the game is becoming.
Both Lions and Magpies were the recipients of some horrible decisions. It seems backman cannot do anything without giving a free away and will ruin the game. Surely there can be some contact, but from what i have seen over the past 2 weeks is that the umps are seeking free kicks out - if it were me, only pay the bloody obvious ones because the game will turn to netball in a few years the rate we are going.
EurekaKid
29 Mar 2008, 18:48
After seeing our 2 games and a few others, what is concerning me is the umpiring and how soft the game is becoming.
Both Lions and Magpies were the recipients of some horrible decisions. It seems backman cannot do anything without giving a free away and will ruin the game. Surely there can be some contact, but from what i have seen over the past 2 weeks is that the umps are seeking free kicks out - if it were me, only pay the bloody obvious ones because the game will turn to netball in a few years the rate we are going.
From what I've seen so far, AFL 2008 = Netball
I haven't watched many of the non-Lions games, but if the umpiring interpretations are consistent across the board then I'm fearful of what is to become of this great game. What raises my ire even more is the inconsistencies in the rulings, one minute a hand merely placed in the back is a free kick, but the next a player can flop over the top of a diving marking player and nothing is called up. The sheparding calls last night were completely random and downright confusing. It seemed like the umpires were just out to pull a few up to prove a point (maybe after the whole tunneling issues after round one).
you would hate to be a defender, it seems if you dont go for the ball you will be free kicked, i think i heard the umpire say to merritt hands around the player thats a free kick every time. seems like we will see more of that to come.
konstas_87
30 Mar 2008, 00:04
yeah agree with all that has been said.
at the game last night i was tearing my hair out all night with the countless soft umpiring decisions (plenty for both sides as well i might add, we got some shockers).
Apparently Jamie charman isnt allowed to make physical contact with anybody anymore, and also on the new 2008 rules, defenders aren't allowed to spoil the ball.
One of the replays towards the end of the game on the big screen was just farcical (spelling?). Daniel Merrett was pretty much humping Anthony Rocca because he was making sure his hands weren't touching Roccas back in the middle of a pack marking contest. That's pretty much what defenders have to do to avoid conceding free kicks now.
I was a bit concerned that the weather would ruin potentially one of the matches of the year, but considering the conditions i thought it turned out o be a ripping game from both sides:thumbsu:
yeah agree with all that has been said.
at the game last night i was tearing my hair out all night with the countless soft umpiring decisions (plenty for both sides as well i might add, we got some shockers).
Apparently Jamie charman isnt allowed to make physical contact with anybody anymore, and also on the new 2008 rules, defenders aren't allowed to spoil the ball.
One of the replays towards the end of the game on the big screen was just farcical (spelling?). Daniel Merrett was pretty much humping Anthony Rocca because he was making sure his hands weren't touching Roccas back in the middle of a pack marking contest. That's pretty much what defenders have to do to avoid conceding free kicks now.
I agree with your sentiments.
The "chopping the arms" rule was brought in with good intent but it's reached a total state of paranoia with the Umps.
Begley's spoil on Egan was the classic punch of the ball away from the marking forward but what do we get?...the ump racing in to blow a free for an alleged "chop".
Looks to me that frees are now being paid on suspicion of the defender maybe have touched a fingernail in an overhead marking contest.
The umps have got to be told that unless they see a clear "chop", it should be play on.
Otherwise they may as well play Netball "contact Goal defense" frees on every marking contest.:mad:
Agree, rules are ridiculous.....watching Saints last night, Saint player tackled opp. player from behind, landed on back of the player...free given to opp. player....fair enough........not long later, identical situation up field a bit,.... nothing!.....not a mention of a free to anyone, just played on!!.....Consistancy seems to be lacking IMO.....some other decisions are lacking common sense as well....but we could discuss umpiring all day and night i guess, and get no-where ....