View Full Version : Truly awesome!

Phil McCreviss
30 Mar 2008, 17:55
Awesome game today guys. Strength, skill and committment. Was a pleasure to watch.

I can't wait until my beloved Hawks play you. Win, lose or draw it will be a great learning experience for our kids to learn what it takes to be the best.
Good luck for the rest of 08, although I dont think you will need any!:thumbsu:

Ammo Man
30 Mar 2008, 18:01
Thanks P.M. With your list you've got years of thrills to look forward to. Just make sure your coach concentrates on controlled aggression. It would be a pity to see you lose matches like last year's final against North purely by use of uncontrolled aggression.

mxett
30 Mar 2008, 18:42
Yes, way to good for us baby bombers. It was like watching the seniors play the under 12's, truely outclassed in every facet.

If you guys dont win the next 2 flags you've under achieved.

thatday
30 Mar 2008, 18:59
F-ing well played Geelong. So far ahead of everyone else in the competition at the moment. Absolutly love watching you guys play. As the OP said, good luck, but I doubt you will need it.:thumbsu:

CatmanForever
30 Mar 2008, 19:02
looking forward to games against the pies & hawks...they will be rippers

cancat
30 Mar 2008, 19:05
If you guys dont win the next 2 flags you've under achieved.

Steady on mate it's only round 2. We played well but there's a long long way to go. I don't think anyone at Geelong will be putting that sort of pressure on themselves.

hugorune
30 Mar 2008, 19:23
I just wish other AFL teams could get up to this level. It's transcendent.

Seeing a team play with such intelligence, speed, strength, and skill - its pretty awesome. Wish it was somebody other than Essendon at the other end of the hiding, though - sure we'll see plenty of that to come.

Merv
30 Mar 2008, 19:27
Well played cats.

I have to say i was surprised how bad you made us look today.

I thought we go down by about 7 or 8 goals in a competitive performance but we were made to look totally inept.

Beaten in virtually every department.

Was really like a Pit Bull in a kindergarten....

Renegade
30 Mar 2008, 19:54
Was really like a Pit Bull in a kindergarten....
hahahahahaha i love that analogy :thumbsu:

wazzabp
30 Mar 2008, 20:02
Well done to the Cats, that was just a devastating display of footy.
Who the hell do we tag? Bartel, Corey, Ablett, Selwood(Jesus he's bloody good for a young kid!)
This will not be the last or the biggest thrashing this team dish out this year!

Red Gum
30 Mar 2008, 20:14
Geelong are scary.

The Pivotonian
30 Mar 2008, 20:20
Geelong are scary.

I like supporting a team that is described as "scary":)

Wildrig
30 Mar 2008, 21:44
The funny thing is, I didnt think we were "that bad" Ive seen us play much much worse (Hawks last year) and go down by much less. We were just thoroughly caned by a much more mature and hardened outfit.

On the upside...glad we kept trying with the gameplan and didnt simply try to clog it up - much more to learn that way and also good for the fitness to be chasing tail all day.

We will learn a lot from that.

Awesome game - seriously good unit youve got rolling along there :thumbsu:

dustyy
30 Mar 2008, 21:55
What an absolute pleasure it is to have sensible opposition supporters leaving positive remarks about Geelong. It is such a fresh change to have obviously intelligent supporters of another team recognising the performance of our team Geelong. Maybe we could take a leaf out of their books. Well done and thanks for the positive remarks. A breath of fresh air.

GFCats07
30 Mar 2008, 22:02
i am surprised, shocked, happy, proud etc etc with the way we played.
so early on in the season and out 2007 form is showing through.

keep it up cattass.
:thumbsu:

Ozzie72
30 Mar 2008, 22:03
Geelong do so much basketball play it is not funny. I love how Ablett sprints at his team mate knowing that he is going to smash his direct opponent so he gets space. The stupid thing that Essendon weren't doing is switching they would try and stick on their own player so when they get a pick set on them they are in no man's land. When the teams in the league realise they have to switch then Geelong might not get so much space. Also how Blake runs through a pack with the ball throwing his elbows around so no one is going to go near a machine doing that. Loved how when a player has taken a mark and they run towards that player with their opponent and pretend to go one side of him but then push their opponent and run to the other side knowing that their defender can't run through the mark, so they receive the hands and again Essendon did not switch.

GFCats07
30 Mar 2008, 22:05
What an absolute pleasure it is to have sensible opposition supprters leaving positive remarks about Geelong. It is such a fresh change to have obviously intelligent supporters of another team recognising the performance of our team Geelong. Maybe we could take a leaf out of their books. Well done and thanks for the positive remarks.

yes.
very true.
great to see.

its those people that have good sportsmanship.
:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

mxett
30 Mar 2008, 22:25
Steady on mate it's only round 2. We played well but there's a long long way to go. I don't think anyone at Geelong will be putting that sort of pressure on themselves.

That was partly the intention of the post. The pressure will mount with every week, as will the expectation. Whether your classy team copes with that pressure will determine whether they go down as 'GREAT'.

This happened to us in 1999 to 2001. We finished minor premiers 3 years running, considered a fair distance above the opposition, yet only won one GF.

Eventually things change, either you drop off the pace due to injury or form, or the opposition rise. Time will tell.

I must say though I am really enjoying watching you guys play though. Its hard to hate brilliance. Would have to say they are my second favorite side. Plus I still love Bomber Thompson. :thumbsu: Quality guy.

richmond fanatic
30 Mar 2008, 22:28
Going to a game knowing you're going to win. Im only 16 and have witnessed Richmonds worst era so I go to every game pretty much expecting a loss. You guys must be on top of the world right now. Best of luck although you probably dont need it for 08.

bingle
30 Mar 2008, 22:49
Going to a game knowing you're going to win. Im only 16 and have witnessed Richmonds worst era so I go to every game pretty much expecting a loss. You guys must be on top of the world right now. Best of luck although you probably dont need it for 08.

it's such a contrast to the geelong teams of the past that had potential but never trully delivered on a consistant basis. Self belief is such a vital thing to have at this level and going to the games and seeing it in the players makes you get it too.
I go to every game now expecting them to win just like the players would.

KING-JAMES
30 Mar 2008, 22:59
Congrats on today guys. I walked out of the game barely feeling the usual pain of a loss, even when it was as severe as the margin showed. I truly believed the cats are a class above and would have belted any side today.

The game style is a pleasure to watch, and that midfield is plain awesome. I can't see anything slowing down either, with the likes of Joel Selwood who is my favorite player outside of Essendon, and Matthew Stokes improving every week it looks likely to only get better. Tom Hawkins will continue to improve and will be near unstoppable if he gets the delivery that goes inside that forward 50 in the prime of his career.

The Cats defense is another part of the side that doesn't get enough credit. Everyone works in tandem and covers each other when an opposing player breaks loose. Harry Taylor was fantastic on debut, and looks like yet another important cog to an already brilliant defense line. Scary to think an All-Australian CHB is on the sidelines in Matthew Egan. I wasn't one of the fans jeering Matthew Lloyd today as I think he was toweled up by a great defense.

One thing with Geelong I dont understand is how young Brent Prismall doesn't get a game ahead of the likes of Shannon Byrnes. Yes Brynes plays a different role and brings speed to the table but Prismall cuts up the VFL and looks pretty comfortable at senior level. Probably just goes to show how strong Geelong's depth is when you have classy guys like Lonergan, Prismall and when Ottens is back Trent West waiting in the wings.

Now I could go on and on about how impressed I am with Geelong but Thats my brief take on Geelong. All the best for the rest of 2008. I certainly will be getting behind the cats if my bombers arent in contention in our building year. With an attacking beatiful brand of football like they play they deserve to win.

All the best guys :thumbsu:

hobart cat
30 Mar 2008, 23:06
looking forward to games against the pies & hawks...they will be rippers

quoted 4 truth

and that is exactly why ol' hobartian cat is making the jaunt over the strait to see both those games (rd 9 and rd 17)

bingle
30 Mar 2008, 23:11
Congrats on today guys.

fantastic to see such a warm response from opposition supporters
thanks to you all in this thread:thumbsu:

dustyy
30 Mar 2008, 23:18
I agree. The Bombers Supporters have always showed class. Well done Bombers Fans.
Dustyy.

jacke
30 Mar 2008, 23:32
Keep the Lid on it. Respect your opponents. Play as a team. Take it one game at a time. Tackle, tackle, tackle, Play the way you have been playing. Never show off or show any sort of disrespect to another player or team and just go on doing what's best for the team. We have had the champions but its better to have a champion team

moth_15
30 Mar 2008, 23:36
One thing with Geelong I dont understand is how young Brent Prismall doesn't get a game ahead of the likes of Shannon Byrnes.

You're not alone on that one

Kent_Kingsley
30 Mar 2008, 23:44
the way we played early in that 2nd quarter was just breathtaking...no one can go with us when we click like that.
and to kick 150 points with Hawkins, Moons and Johnno kicking 3 between them is brilliant.

Red Gum
31 Mar 2008, 00:33
It's not just Dons fans who should take notice of what happened today. Geelong play the Dees at Skilled next week... I predict a bloodbath.

swingdog
31 Mar 2008, 09:54
Can we just hand you the premiership flag now and get on with developing our lists?

There's a grain of truth in that for most of the other teams. It's unlikely we'll be competitive against Geelong come finals so the pressure is off to some extent this season.

Give us a few years, though.

Ari
31 Mar 2008, 10:04
You guys were bloody good!

Lance Uppercut
31 Mar 2008, 10:09
way too good for us at this stage. I'd hoped to get you guys a little underdone. lol

WN123
31 Mar 2008, 10:25
Best performance I have seen from any side for many years. I think Geelong supporters have a few very happy years ahead of them because most of your key players are just entering their prime ---- And then there is Hawkins, Selwood etc.

Casey Cat
31 Mar 2008, 10:35
Keep the Lid on it. Respect your opponents. Play as a team. Take it one game at a time. Tackle, tackle, tackle, Play the way you have been playing. Never show off or show any sort of disrespect to another player or team and just go on doing what's best for the team. We have had the champions but its better to have a champion team

Brilliant! :thumbsu:

Just to illustrate have a look at Stokes' game yesterday. He was cleaned up in the first quarter but got right back up and into it. In the third quarter he cannoned into Houli (I think) and gave away the free kick. Then he checked to see if Houli was ok and helped him to his feet! They patted each other on the back and got back into the game. I just love the toughness being displayed by my team lately and the respect being shown for the game and their opponents.

Sometimes I do worry about the over handballing in defence but it just seems to work out.

As for Essendon, I honestly had to keep reminding myself of the margin because I didn't think they were playing badly. Ryder is a star and did a fantastic job on Mooney. Dyson busted a gut and I was cheering Alwyn Davey on whenever he had the ball (gotta cheer on the little guys - especially when it's another blackfellah! :p ).

The best analogy about yesterday's game I can think of is like a player fresh out of junior tennis ranked in the hundreds coming up against Roger Federer. The young guy plays some great shots and goes down fighting but in the end he still loses in straight sets. Essendon, as a whole, didn't stop trying. The only disappointments would have been Lloyd, Hille being beaten by Blake, McPhee dropping marks and Watson's kicking for goal. Apart from that there were a number of times when they won the ball and had some great runs through the middle of the ground. They just couldn't finish off.

One Essendon supporter behind me commented at one point that it was just an exhibition match for Geelong. I didn't see it like that, however. Geelong needs to keep focused on each and every game, giving the opposition proper respect and play to the best of their abilities every week. Mooney SJ and Hawkins are all below par at the moment. It will be interesting to see how the team performs next week. I fully expect no mercy to be shown but I don't really expect the team to start perofrming at its best until the middle of the season.

Thank you to all who have posted on here! :thumbsu:

Crancon
31 Mar 2008, 10:43

Stick with 'em young fella! They are not as far off as you may think.

As some others have already commented; thank you once again for the generous words from the opposition supporters in this thread. :thumbsu:

mxett
31 Mar 2008, 11:44
Stick with 'em young fella! They are not as far off as you may think.

As some others have already commented; thank you once again for the generous words from the opposition supporters in this thread. :thumbsu:

One reason I think so many opposition supporters are complimenting the Cats is because they are a quality side and club yet not cocky and arrogant. That includes their fans. Maybe it's from years of suffering close GF losses that all you guys are just too busy enjoying your success to worry 'bout rubbing it in to the oppositions fans.

If this were Collingwood winning everything so easily I don't think the compliments would be as free flowing. They would be as cocky as all hell, and generally unbearable (in their own special way :D).

Thanks for being gracious champs. :thumbsu:

TheTimeCometh
31 Mar 2008, 13:33
I wasn't one of the fans jeering Matthew Lloyd today as I think he was toweled up by a great defense.

where was the jeering mostly coming from - cats or dons?

i had this 20 something woman behind me, near the dons race, all but bawling her eyes out and banging on about the "lack of respect" (or some sort-a-shit) that the cats fans had with respect to booing lloydy. and she followed it up with "...sniff.. we NEVER were like that ..sniff... when we were dominating".

hmmm, methinks she was a lil sensitive.

hawker19
31 Mar 2008, 13:50
I watched the Hawks play Freo on Saturday night and left feeling pretty pleased about our chances this year. I was actually starting to think that maybe we were approaching a level similar to Geelong. Then I watched the Cats play yesterday and truly realised how far ahead you guys are compared to the rest of the competition. We are all playing for second place ...

winty
31 Mar 2008, 14:21
where was the jeering mostly coming from - cats or dons?

i had this 20 something woman behind me, near the dons race, all but bawling her eyes out and banging on about the "lack of respect" (or some sort-a-shit) that the cats fans had with respect to booing lloydy. and she followed it up with "...sniff.. we NEVER were like that ..sniff... when we were dominating".

hmmm, methinks she was a lil sensitive.

I think it was a bit half and half. Bomber fans may have jeered him when he initially got his hands on the ball, but Geelong fans were jeering him when he went through with his whole routine ie. tucking shirt in, pulling up socks, throwing grass, etc.

ezbian
31 Mar 2008, 14:22
One reason I think so many opposition supporters are complimenting the Cats is because they are a quality side and club yet not cocky and arrogant. That includes their fans. Maybe it's from years of suffering close GF losses that all you guys are just too busy enjoying your success to worry 'bout rubbing it in to the oppositions fans.

If this were Collingwood winning everything so easily I don't think the compliments would be as free flowing. They would be as cocky as all hell, and generally unbearable (in their own special way :D).

Thanks for being gracious champs. :thumbsu:

Beautifully put.

As a cats fan all I want is some respect from the footy public about how well these blokes are playing at the moment. The Cats rise has been good for the game, as flooding, dour games are a thing of the past.

Had three drongo Essendon supporters in front of us who whinged for two hours about umpiring and continue to slag us for being handbaggers. I watched the replay last night and yes Essendon were stiff 4 or 5 times, but would that have changed the game, NO.

It's great that there are some intelligent opposition supporters who are out there that have respect for these guys. The Cats are a pleasure to watch at the minute, and all football supporters should rejoice that the great game is back to being played with flair, dash, run and creativity that we all love.

beastie
31 Mar 2008, 16:46
As someone who loves footy, that was simply one of th best displays I have ever seen.

Well done boys but next time can you please do it to someone else?

Ramsay Bogunovich
31 Mar 2008, 16:59
The funny thing is, I didnt think we were "that bad" Ive seen us play much much worse (Hawks last year) and go down by much less. We were just thoroughly caned by a much more mature and hardened outfit.

On the upside...glad we kept trying with the gameplan and didnt simply try to clog it up - much more to learn that way and also good for the fitness to be chasing tail all day.

I agree with this that there is much more to be gained by allowing players to play than by being "negative" and just trying to clog our forward line. I also believe that Essendon weren't disgraced in any way - they had a dip (the Umps were also terrible in the 2nd half against the B's), which is all you can really ask for. It's a learning experience now for some of these young teams, and you can learn a lot from Geelong at the moment. :)

Haven't had a good look through these boards for a while now, but I hope that the Geelong fans are keeping things in perspective and realise that a lot has to go right for us to be contending deep into September. That seems to be the gist of what I'm seeing now.

Thanks for the comments all those opposition supporters. :thumbsu:

Houli2Gumbleton
1 Apr 2008, 14:30
When essendon played geelong last week, i expected us to win. When i was watching, i could not believe how good ur game style is. Even though we had a faster team, geelong seemed to move the ball way faster than we did. Ling is a freak. Ablett and Bartel are arguablly the best mids in the AFL. Corey is top 10 easily. It was so good how quick your team handball. It is so quick and effective. Sometimes you don't see it because the camera isn't quick enough to pick it up. I hope essendon learnt so much from Geelong.

Overall, Geelong will win the preiership this year very comfortably. Great coach, players and game style. Good luck for the rest of the season guys:thumbsu:

Mooney_d'King
1 Apr 2008, 14:43
When essendon played geelong last week, i expected us to win. When i was watching, i could not believe how good ur game style is. Even though we had a faster team, geelong seemed to move the ball way faster than we did. Ling is a freak. Ablett and Bartel are arguablly the best mids in the AFL. Corey is top 10 easily. It was so good how quick your team handball. It is so quick and effective. Sometimes you don't see it because the camera isn't quick enough to pick it up. I hope essendon learnt so much from Geelong.

Overall, Geelong will win the preiership this year very comfortably. Great coach, players and game style. Good luck for the rest of the season guys:thumbsu:

Thanks mate, very kind of you.

Tonycam*
1 Apr 2008, 16:19

thanks. Good luck to you guys also. class act , Love watching the bombers play ,a good mate gets me to take a lot of interest .

PoidaCat
1 Apr 2008, 18:56
Spot on.

Quick Movement of the Ball > Quick Players...

No point having fast players if they chip it around and hold it up...

Jimmy 2 Shoes
1 Apr 2008, 19:22
When essendon played geelong last week, i expected us to win.

Any reason for that in particular?

Houli2Gumbleton
1 Apr 2008, 21:08
Any reason for that in particular?

i think i got to cocky after the win against the roos.

clogwearer
2 Apr 2008, 06:05
Taken me a few days to get over the result, and I haven't seen the game from way over here in Colorado (not sure I really want to either) but listened to the call and it sounded like you guys played a great game. Hoping it's an aberration for the Bombers rather than an indication of the season to come, but the Cats certainly seem like they haven't dropped any of the form that took them to the premiership in 07.

Congrats to Geelong on a great game, well done guys.

bigdroppunt
2 Apr 2008, 08:56
Taken me a few days to get over the result, and I haven't seen the game from way over here in Colorado (not sure I really want to either) but listened to the call and it sounded like you guys played a great game. Hoping it's an aberration for the Bombers rather than an indication of the season to come, but the Cats certainly seem like they haven't dropped any of the form that took them to the premiership in 07.

Congrats to Geelong on a great game, well done guys.

hahahah !!! thanks buddy :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

With a name like yours you waould have to be Dutch ??? Surly

Vitamin K
2 Apr 2008, 13:16
A lot of people got a bit too excited after the Dons stepped up in round one. That said, they're not a bad team, after all they were hanging around the eight for a reasonable chunk of last year and were on the wrong end of a few close ones. They have had the potential to play like that for a little while. They just frustrate the hell out of me because of simple skill errors and poor decision making (especially down back). If they iron those issues out they'll be damn exciting to watch and potentially very hard to beat.

Hopefully Essendon can learn a bit from Sunday's match.

dapto
2 Apr 2008, 14:07
I have some dues to pay as well

Although considered my comments to be balanced I did have a good ole laugh at one poster saying we would get sodomised.

Well we got rogered and buggered. And take my humble pie

Have to applaud the cats play. It was clinical and the really odd thing i dont think it was such a bad game. The defense rebound did become a little wearisome.....but now is the the time for post game analysis.

I have never sat in a bar so throughly bemused in my life I think. But I have hope for the bombers yet

There was some reward just for watching a team playing such good football.

congrats cats

candiehappy
2 Apr 2008, 16:40
I wish I could heve been as generous as these guys when the cats were on receiving end..............

clogwearer
3 Apr 2008, 03:25
hahahah !!! thanks buddy :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

With a name like yours you waould have to be Dutch ??? Surly

Nah, its an old joke that would take too long to explain and wouldn't seem funny unless you were there, but I was born and bred in Melbourne, not even a whiff of Dutch in the general vicinity.