View Full Version : It's true - I have a man-crush
The Pivotonian
30 Mar 2008, 20:06
Loved Stokes work today. Sure, overshadowed by Bartel, Ablett, Corey and co but gee whiz, was his game good today or what??
Matthew Stokes - I have some man-love for you!!:D
Furious_G
30 Mar 2008, 20:18
Mine is for Selwood and I just don't care what people think.....
Gavin Excell
30 Mar 2008, 20:19
all ofa sudden he has sneaked up on most of us and become a quality midfielder.
of course his game is helped by an opposition that pays him no respect and refuses to man up on him.
catempire
30 Mar 2008, 20:21
all ofa sudden he has sneaked up on most of us and become a quality midfielder.
of course his game is helped by an opposition that pays him no respect and refuses to man up on him.
That's the problem for the opposition when there are 6-7 quality midfielders to worry about. Someone is going to slip under the guard.
rocker_oz33
30 Mar 2008, 20:22
l've liked stoke's the first time l seen play he just keeps getting better
The Pivotonian
30 Mar 2008, 20:23
I loved his games as well, and Bartel's, and Ablett's, and Ling's...does that make me a hussey??
Duskfire
30 Mar 2008, 20:46
Ive had a mancrush on Stokes for about a year now. Getting better and better; can easily imagine him becoming more of a midfield then a forward in the future.
Since the standing ovation in that game against Port I new we had a little champ.
Generalissimo
30 Mar 2008, 21:06
does that make me a hussey??
I dunno. How's your cover drive?
The Pivotonian
30 Mar 2008, 21:23
I dunno. How's your cover drive?
Not as good as Mike's.
geelong16
30 Mar 2008, 22:27
Im just in love with them all, like seriously...
CatmanForever
30 Mar 2008, 22:30
Stokesy is fast becoming my favorite player in the team. He is a tough little nugget that can take a big hit then get up and run down the field to assist with play. I will always remember how he twisted his knee in the GF, was declared gone by all and sundry, then came back and played a ripper. That is Stokesy to a tee.
passthebottle
30 Mar 2008, 22:34
Loved Stokes work today. Sure, overshadowed by Bartel, Ablett, Corey and co but gee whiz, was his game good today or what??
We all do, we all do!!!
Just keeps getting better and better.
madcat001
30 Mar 2008, 22:55
he is becoming an absolute champ! Tough as. Anyone find it interesting that is growing on the game the same way Gaz did, started as a small forward and then began working into the midfield?
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
31 Mar 2008, 00:46
It's true - I have a man-crush
Me too!
If there was a 2 man draft with Stokes and Tambling, 15 clubs would choose Stokes and Richmond would choose Tambling because its their nature to make poor draft choices.
Stokes has really surprised me, one thing i've said is i'm not entirely sure what his best footy characteristic is - but now all it is he is just a winner, it doesn't matter what aspect of his game it is he beats his opponent. Especially his marking, bloody great hands for a little fella.
Wasn't it true that Bomber wasn't too fussed on Stokes when we drafted him? If that's the case, I bet Stokesy has well and truly won him over by now.
Absolute gun! How spoilt are we for small forwards/midfielders? Chapman, Ablett, and now Stokes. All are as tough as nails, have silky smooth skills, and are deadly if given time and space. :thumbsu: Add Gamble and SJ to the mix with Hawkins and Mooney, and it's no wonder our forward line is so potent.
Copernicus
31 Mar 2008, 11:34
He just goes about it in the right way. The way that he dealt out that shepherd just a minute after being sandwiched in a marking contest was brilliant to see. He's an absolute gun.
S "Thinks He's Daicos" J
31 Mar 2008, 11:38
What about the mark, hit the deck, get up and goal from 50!
Bryceson
31 Mar 2008, 11:39
he was best on for me just ahead og gaz and jimmy. his best game for the club so far.. he was just briliant.
candiehappy
31 Mar 2008, 14:34
It's not just the one's who get the votes from the umpires - that curly headed bloke with no.30 on his back gets me excited. How many did Lloydy kick? Sweet fa! Will be great to see him on Neitz this week.
I've loved him ever since he practically ran his guts out and won us the game against Port a couple of years ago.
cat in sydney
31 Mar 2008, 16:03
Gotta agree with you furious. Stokesy is a champ, and he's getting better and better, that's for sure.
But I just can't believe that Selwood is so good, so young. I rate his importance to our team very highly.
Dasher39
31 Mar 2008, 16:29
He is one tough little bastard and I think we all love him for it.
It was evident again yesterday when he got crunched by Mal Michael, yet still got up straight away despite being in pain and not 2 minutes later he is throwing himself into a shepherd.
The guy is a star and another gem that Wellsy has picked up for us. Amazing that he was selected with Pick 61.
couchy555
31 Mar 2008, 18:56
We all know how hard he is but also his skills are top notch too, and he's also smart and great overhead.
Does anyone else here think he's kinda similar in style to another favourite Paul Chapman?
BlueNWhite
31 Mar 2008, 20:37
Correct mate. I love the way both the Chap and the Stoker stand up in tackles and just bounce around and THROUGH opposition players.
I have a man-crush on J. Bartel that is bordering on becoming a bit of a worry.
Hood007
31 Mar 2008, 21:01
Gaz gives me bulges in my pants.
He does things that no one else in our team (and pretty much the league) can do.
And he does them week in week out.
The new hairdo suits him too...
The Pivotonian
1 Apr 2008, 09:53
Correct mate. I love the way both the Chap and the Stoker stand up in tackles and just bounce around and THROUGH opposition players.
I have a man-crush on J. Bartel that is bordering on becoming a bit of a worry.
I know where you're coming from, luckily I have enough man-love for both Stokes and the Jimmy!!
I had his Brownlow Poster up for 3 weeks which is something of a concern for a grown man....luckily the better half is also a fan so I was allowed to keep Jim up a bit longer than was perhaps necessary:eek:
Duskfire
1 Apr 2008, 10:23
I know where you're coming from, luckily I have enough man-love for both Stokes and the Jimmy!!
I had his Brownlow Poster up for 3 weeks which is something of a concern for a grown man....luckily the better half is also a fan so I was allowed to keep Jim up a bit longer than was perhaps necessary:eek:
I wish my better half was a Geelong supporter, or any supporter for that matter. She has zero interest in football, which is frustrating because she cant understand why I get so excited come the weekend :P
The Pivotonian
2 Apr 2008, 09:04
I wish my better half was a Geelong supporter, or any supporter for that matter. She has zero interest in football, which is frustrating because she cant understand why I get so excited come the weekend :P
She is actually a North supporter :mad:
I think her love for Jimmy is a little different to mine :D
She is actually a North supporter :mad:
I think her love for Jimmy is a little different to mine :DGet her to jump on the Cats when North fold!
MicksterD
2 Apr 2008, 13:14
We all do, we all do!!!
Just keeps getting better and better.
Winning every week gets boring but when you win a game after losing 10 on the trot....now thats a great feeling. I feel sorry for you poor bastards :D
The Pivotonian
2 Apr 2008, 14:05
Get her to jump on the Cats when North fold!
No chance, she's clearly a jinx. She used to support Fitzroy:rolleyes: