View Full Version : Byrnes' handball to Kelly

Pages : [1] 2 3

DanA
31 Mar 2008, 08:50
At full tilt Byrnes gave off a brilliant hand ball on the left over his shoulder. It hit Kelly on the run who chipped to Mooney (I think) who goaled. Magnificent handball by the little fella who showed Ablett like vision. Play of the day for me.

darren forssman
31 Mar 2008, 08:55
one good play as opposed to the numerous other times he either handballed to the opposition or put a team mate under pressure.

and the goal career update:

19:40

winty
31 Mar 2008, 09:55
Play of the day for mine was when Ablett got caught in a tackle, handballed over his head to Corey who dished it off to Hawkins who centred the ball to Bartel who took a screamer and goaled.

As for Byrnes, he still hasn't learnt he doesn't have a right foot. Was one stage there in the 3rd quarter where he marked on the 50m line, and then wheeled onto his right side trying to get around the man on the mark, but got caught and turned it over as a result.

Hood007
31 Mar 2008, 10:02
This is a positive Byrnes thread.
Can't those who wish to be negative towards him do it elsewhere?

candiehappy
31 Mar 2008, 10:18

I think the reply to the first thread says it all.......

TheTimeCometh
31 Mar 2008, 10:22
nah, that weighted, left-handed, 15m handball from SJ for gamble to run onto was way better.

imagine if we had freds for each players individual highlight(s). or is it just that having one h'light sticks out???

Hood007
31 Mar 2008, 10:24
I think the reply to the first thread says it all.......

The guy did more than one good thing.
I'm sure whoever wants to talk sh!t about him can go to one of the other negative threads about him...

c0ze
31 Mar 2008, 10:42
I thought he had a really good game. But I wish he could kick goals, it really lets him down.

Bryceson
31 Mar 2008, 11:31
He played well and that handball was very good. Obviousl still can work on his skills with only 57% efficiency, but i wish everyone would lay off the byrnes bashing. Its a ****ing joke. The kid can play and is still improving. Just let hiom play football and help your club win games:thumbsu:

Selwood07
31 Mar 2008, 11:42
Round 3 coming up and we're into Byrnes-bashing again. He made a number of errors which stand out in such slick, skilful company - his kick at the Coventry end which should have bee a goal happens too often when there are others vying for a place in this amazing team - and I'm sure he knows he's under the pump for his inaccuracy. The handball was great - but it required a top player like Kelly to use it to effect. Just have too keep working at the disposals Byrnesie - and don't sulk to the press - does you no good at all.

eliiiiza
31 Mar 2008, 12:47
As for Byrnes, he still hasn't learnt he doesn't have a right foot. Was one stage there in the 3rd quarter where he marked on the 50m line, and then wheeled onto his right side trying to get around the man on the mark, but got caught and turned it over as a result.
There was also one stage where he kicked on his right foot which resulted in a goal. No right foot, hey?

I think he needs to stop panicking whenever he gets the ball and take his time (but not too much time!). Lack of confidence is definitely an issue here.

Look, we all know he isn't a superstar and will never be one, but you simply can't deny the fact that he's playing a whole lot better than he did in previous years. To say so would just be blind bias. Are you all that incapable of giving credit where it's due?

bigdroppunt
31 Mar 2008, 12:54
There was also one stage where he kicked on his right foot which resulted in a goal. No right foot, hey?

I think he needs to stop panicking whenever he gets the ball and take his time (but not too much time!). Lack of confidence is definitely an issue here.

Look, we all know he isn't a superstar and will never be one, but you simply can't deny the fact that he's playing a whole lot better than he did in previous years. To say so would just be blind bias. Are you all that incapable of giving credit where it's due?

Hes like a Moody girlfriend.... You never know what your going to get, On any one day.:p:D

TheTimeCometh
31 Mar 2008, 13:07
hahaha!! that right foot kick was a straight shank that floated in a players general direction!!!

and it's not boo-ernes bashing for bashings sake - there must be something to the fact that this player gets a "positive" fred based on just ONE instance of play.

and for the record chappy is pretty useless on his opposite as well.

TheTimeCometh
31 Mar 2008, 13:09
Hes like a Moody girlfriend.... You never know what your going to get, On any one day.:p:D

Who is this Moody you speak of and his plethora of girlfriends? Sounds saucy.

rocker_oz33
31 Mar 2008, 13:11
yeah that hand pass was good,but there's more bad things he dose than good eg panic give the ball up to easy,miss set shots l guess all his team mates just look so much better one good thing he dose do is get in position really well to get the kick or hand pass but all most times stuffs it up or puts his team mate under pressure

eliiiiza
31 Mar 2008, 13:20
and it's not boo-ernes bashing for bashings sake - there must be something to the fact that this player gets a "positive" fred based on just ONE instance of play.
Well something has to balance out all the negative ones. ;)

thehoff
31 Mar 2008, 13:24
Wow - The goose did one thing right.

I really dont understand what game people are watching. For me, the guy offers nothing but pace and even then when he is chasing at half pace. His intensity is very poor when he does not have the ball. Maybe people do not see this who are not at the game but i'd be glad if the guy never played a game in the hoops again.

Prismall in, Shannon out.... FOREVER!

Rosella
31 Mar 2008, 13:29

I really dont understand what game people are watching. For me, the guy offers nothing but pace and even then when he is chasing at half pace. His intensity is very poor when he does not have the ball. Maybe people do not see this who are not at the game but i'd be glad if the guy never played a game in the hoops again.

Mate I'm not a Shannon fan either but he did a number a good things and a number bad. Prismall in the twos wasn't great either - first half disposal very ordinary.

eliiiiza
31 Mar 2008, 13:38
Are you all that incapable of giving credit where it's due?

Thanks for answering my question. :thumbsu:

Deep North
31 Mar 2008, 13:41
Mate I'm not a Shannon fan either but he did a number a good things and a number bad. Prismall in the twos wasn't great either - first half disposal very ordinary.

Very important point.

Lets face it the only reason we get down on Byrnes is because we all know Pris is better. However I watched the first half the VFL game on the weekend and both his skills and work rate were exposed by COBURG.

Whilst I'm sure he will come up and be a champion, Byrnes didn't do alot wrong on the weekend and Pris was very disappointing in the part of the game I watched. You can't replace a premiership player until you're really kicking some arse in the twos.

bigdroppunt
31 Mar 2008, 13:55
Very important point.

Lets face it the only reason we get down on Byrnes is because we all know Pris is better. However I watched the first half the VFL game on the weekend and both his skills and work rate were exposed by COBURG.

Whilst I'm sure he will come up and be a champion, Byrnes didn't do alot wrong on the weekend and Pris was very disappointing in the part of the game I watched. You can't replace a premiership player until you're really kicking some arse in the twos.

Eliiiiza has other reason to get DOWN on Byrnes !!!!:eek:

darren forssman
31 Mar 2008, 14:04

it is a forum...a place to discuss.

his one highlight blighted by many fundamental errors...the funniest being handballing to a voice, that voice being a bombers player.

i dont wish him any ill will but when we start getting players back i dont think he will be fighting off prismall but gamble. i would prefer gamble on half forward flank.

Cats fan 16
31 Mar 2008, 14:10
hahaha!! that right foot kick was a straight shank that floated in a players general direction!!!

and for the record chappy is pretty useless on his opposite as well.

Im no huge byrnes fan, but that right foot kick wasn't a shank...it travelled about 40m straight to stokes who was all alone.
However, it is ridiculously frustrating when he runs onto his right foot and tries to handball to the ground or run onto his left..ffs kick on your right foot...even if it is horrible

someday-somehow
31 Mar 2008, 14:11
Very important point.

Can't we just give him a go?, he has shown enough IMO to earn a spot several times over. I would like to see him get 2 games to show what he can do but he cannot do that being an emergency!

Byrnes tries hard and is fast, he's not bad at taking a leading mark either BUT he gets caught too often trying too much and half the time because he wants to get on his left foot. His decision making results to turnovers too many times.
Prismal shows class and I believe if he was given the oppurtunities that Byrnes has had he would be further advanced right now. At the very least if he played as a half forward flanker I would trust him passing to a leading forward or kicking a straight goal before Shannon.

It's hard proving you can perform at AFL standard when you haven't been given the chance.

someday-somehow
31 Mar 2008, 14:12
Im no huge byrnes fan, but that right foot kick wasn't a shank...it travelled about 40m straight to stokes who was all alone.
However, it is ridiculously frustrating when he runs onto his right foot and tries to handball to the ground or run onto his left..ffs kick on your right foot...even if it is horrible

You're right...he meant it to go to Stokes but it could've gone anywhere, it was a real pie-floater and it was lucky Stokes was about 40 metres in the clear so he could wait for it.

Ling Sting
31 Mar 2008, 14:27
He played alright. Definately got better as the match went on. I wouldn't be getting to excited if I was a Shannon fan though.

Remember at the start of last year. Stokes and Byrnes were essentially playing for the same position and seen as at the asme level of development. To be honest Byrnes hasn't really moved on much from then. On the other hand look at Stokesy, he has taken the next step and looks like he could take even more steps and become not only a great player but hopefully a 200+ game club champ.

I just can't see Byrnes taking that next step ever!

TheTimeCometh
31 Mar 2008, 14:50
exactly s-s. it was a shank/floater that happened to go straight. and the fact that stokes seemed to have 37 minutes up his sleeve whenever the ball got close to him.

darren forssman
31 Mar 2008, 15:37
He played alright. Definately got better as the match went on. I wouldn't be getting to excited if I was a Shannon fan though.

in a game where we decimated the opposition he had a 57% disposal efficiency. he must have been awful at the start to lift the %.

and in the herald sun the only player he beat out for point ranking was trent west, who only had 7 possessions.

catempire
31 Mar 2008, 16:30
It's hard proving you can perform at AFL standard when you haven't been given the chance.

Bingo. Let's face it, Prismall has played probably 20 VFL games of a standard worthy of having him promoted. Byrnes after what, 50-odd AFL games, is STILL probably the 22nd player picked every week.

On that basis, it is inevitable that Prismall will get a chance at some stage sooner or later. And if anyone raises the team balance issue...:mad:

The right foot kick by Byrnes was a stinker. It went high and floated to a team mate that was 40m in the clear. If that's the best thing he did in the match, god help him.

Ling Sting
31 Mar 2008, 17:04
in a game where we decimated the opposition he had a 57% disposal efficiency. he must have been awful at the start to lift the %.

and in the herald sun the only player he beat out for point ranking was trent west, who only had 7 possessions.

Your splitting hairs mate. I said nothing about his efficiency. If your read the rest of my post you'd see I was hardly pumping up his tyres.

thehoff
31 Mar 2008, 17:11
Thanks for answering my question. :thumbsu:

How are those Rose colored Glasses?

One effective possession does not negate his past performances. WOMEN!:D

Cattery
31 Mar 2008, 17:13
Bingo. Let's face it, Prismall has played probably 20 VFL games of a standard worthy of having him promoted. Byrnes after what, 50-odd AFL games, is STILL probably the 22nd player picked every week.

On that basis, it is inevitable that Prismall will get a chance at some stage sooner or later. And if anyone raises the team balance issue...:mad:

The right foot kick by Byrnes was a stinker. It went high and floated to a team mate that was 40m in the clear. If that's the best thing he did in the match, god help him.

For a guy who supposedly has no right foot it was a good effort, "floater" or not, the ball went exactly where it was intended to go. :thumbsu:

About time as well that quite a few posters here got over this Prismall obsession, blind freddy can see by now that he's not going to replace Byrnes in the seniors, and after seeing his disposal on Saturday, especially in the first half, it's no wonder, if Byrnes had butchered the ball as many times as he did the usual Byrnes bashers would be going ballistic.

I'd suggest it's far from inevitable that Prismall will get a chance, matter of fact he's probably further away now then he was last year, if Gamble can hold his form then he'd have a better chance of displacing Byrnes when we have a full squad to choose from..

darren forssman
31 Mar 2008, 17:13
Your splitting hairs mate. I said nothing about his efficiency. If your read the rest of my post you'd see I was hardly pumping up his tyres.

yeah, i was not having a go at your or what you wrote even though re-reading it comes across that way.

darren forssman
31 Mar 2008, 17:14
I'd suggest it's far from inevitable that Prismall will get a chance, matter of fact he's probably further away now then he was last year, if Gamble can hold his form then he'd have a better chance of displacing Byrnes when we have a full squad to choose from..

correct!!!!!!

eliiiiza
31 Mar 2008, 17:21
How are those Rose colored Glasses?

One effective possession does not negate his past performances. WOMEN!:D
If you looked at my previous post, I don't think you'd see anything indicating I had rose-coloured glasses on. It was about people giving credit where it was due. Even a self-proclaimed Byrnes hater said Shannon had a pretty good game in another thread.

If you find the need to pick on my gender as part of your argument, then I have nothing more to say to you.

Cattery
31 Mar 2008, 17:28
If you looked at my previous post, I don't think you'd see anything indicating I had rose-coloured glasses on. It was about people giving credit where it was due.

Don't hold your breath waiting for certain people to say a good word about Shannon, it's simply beyond them I'm afraid, if he had an efficiency rating of 99% [ now that I'd like to see :) ] they would be whinging about the one he messed up.

g-thing
31 Mar 2008, 17:49
How f*&^n boring!! Have you guys got nothing else in your lives but to bag Byrnsie on every occasion? The Hoff and Darren Forrsman - absolute experts at everything no doubt!
Clearly Byrnsie is in the team for a reason and is doing his job - and improving all the time in my view. He's part of the machine that keeps us moving froward.
By the way your focussing on this kid to the exclusion of everyone else shows you are not objective. Stokesie can kick it straight to opposing player, Bartel can do a silly handpass off the ground which gets intercepted, Mooney can kick as many behinds as goals on any given day, and no-one says boo b/c you can't criticise the heroes, (are you too scared that someone will have a go at you?)- yet you chumps are happy to load up on a bloke trying his guts out and contributing well.
Get a new hobby! :mad:

thehoff
31 Mar 2008, 17:56
If you looked at my previous post, I don't think you'd see anything indicating I had rose-coloured glasses on. It was about people giving credit where it was due. Even a self-proclaimed Byrnes hater said Shannon had a pretty good game in another thread.

If you find the need to pick on my gender as part of your argument, then I have nothing more to say to you.

HAHAHA - Bit touchy!

The gender thing was tongue in cheek.

I'm a self confessed Byrnes hater and i think he was average at best. I fail to see how people can see he has a positive input into our side.

WE Are Geelong
31 Mar 2008, 18:12
The first point to make is that modern day footy is getting to the point where people posting on this board dont really know what to talk about any longer. 'Floating zones' anyone?...They simply dont know what they are talking about I guess...thats the simple answer/reason to that...so they dont want to look foolish...so just bash a player instead and then watch water find its own level amongst the host of morons on this board.

Byrnes cant kick...anything else?....didnt think so. Funny thing is this thread is about a Byrnes' handball....yet the dumb people keep getting on talking about his kicking. Is he a good handballer btw? Is handballing a disposal? (Gee this is very complex stuff)

So its a no-brainer according to the genius' on here that Byrnes cant kick...but its equally a no-
brainer they arent intelligent enough to talk about anything else .....or actually do that then and try discuss something else? Anything! Its also a no-brainer Byrnes had 21 touches on a forward flank and at least two of those touches lead directly to goals (2 direct assists out of 22 when we had 14 goal kickers) so thats a good effort from a small forward even if his disposal was down on last week. I agree he needs to work on goal kicking...I disagree he is actually in the team specifically as a goal kicker. The Geelong game plan style is not based around necessarily having designated goal kickers from week to week (we often have many goal kickers each week)...but you genius' would know that or then again maybe you dont? We are watching the same side same game plan last 12 months...but then again who can tell from the incessant posting about very boring and limited football matters....week after week. Should be a celebration on here or at least something revealing about a brilliant team playing brilliant footy...yet every week it feels like a funeral.

To think we won by 99 pts and this is all that is being discussed is a simple undiluted description of lack of football IQ on this board and nothing else. People dont like being called dumb on this board...well prove me wrong? Talk about something truly intelligent in a footballing sense for a change and I will be given a reason to have a rethink.

I was informed recently by someone hoping to be thought of as intelligent that calling people's actions stupid or trying to get them to look at things more rationally like recent statistics or current form (God forbid) never changes someone's behaviour on here. Who cares...doesnt change the facts. People on this board talk/post about stupid football things every single day...so stupid is as stupid does IMO.

Eliza, whilst she obviously likes Shannon, can talk about things in a far more balanced way RE him than any of you idiots can because you never ever change ur tune.

Some Balance vs No Balance. Thats a no-brainer too.

Why not just post 'ditto' after each and every post you make about Byrnes from now on. I would love to know what's new about any of this?

Its the second round of a new season after we won a flag and we won by 99 pts...who would have thought given the miserable posting on this geelong board.

thehoff
31 Mar 2008, 18:34
The first point to make is that modern day footy is getting to the point where people posting on this board dont really know what to talk about any longer. 'Floating zones' anyone?...They simply dont know what they are talking about I guess...thats the simple answer/reason to that...so they dont want to look foolish...so just bash a player instead and then watch water find its own level amongst the host of morons on this board.

Byrnes cant kick...anything else?....didnt think so. Funny thing is this thread is about a Byrnes' handball....yet the dumb people keep getting on talking about his kicking. Is he a good handballer btw? Is handballing a disposal? (Gee this is very complex stuff)

So its a no-brainer according to the genius' on here that Byrnes cant kick...but its equally a no-
brainer they arent intelligent enough to talk about anything else .....or actually do that then and try discuss something else? Anything! Its also a no-brainer Byrnes had 21 touches on a forward flank and at least two of those touches lead directly to goals (2 direct assists out of 22 when we had 14 goal kickers) so thats a good effort from a small forward even if his disposal was down on last week. I agree he needs to work on goal kicking...I disagree he is actually in the team specifically as a goal kicker. The Geelong game plan style is not based around necessarily having designated goal kickers from week to week (we often have many goal kickers each week)...but you genius' would know that or then again maybe you dont? We are watching the same side same game plan last 12 months...but then again who can tell from the incessant posting about very boring and limited football matters....week after week. Should be a celebration on here or at least something revealing about a brilliant team playing brilliant footy...yet every week it feels like a funeral.

To think we won by 99 pts and this is all that is being discussed is a simple undiluted description of lack of football IQ on this board and nothing else. People dont like being called dumb on this board...well prove me wrong? Talk about something truly intelligent in a footballing sense for a change and I will be given a reason to have a rethink.

I was informed recently by someone hoping to be thought of as intelligent that calling people's actions stupid or trying to get them to look at things more rationally like recent statistics or current form (God forbid) never changes someone's behaviour on here. Who cares...doesnt change the facts. People on this board talk/post about stupid football things every single day...so stupid is as stupid does IMO.

Eliza, whilst she obviously likes Shannon, can talk about things in a far more balanced way RE him than any of you idiots can because you never ever change ur tune.

Some Balance vs No Balance. Thats a no-brainer too.

Why not just post 'ditto' after each and every post you make about Byrnes from now on. I would love to know what's new about any of this?

Its the second round of a new season after we won a flag and we won by 99 pts...who would have thought given the miserable posting on this geelong board.

Well if this guy says so it must be true... yawn!

catempire
31 Mar 2008, 18:47
57% effective disposal on Sunday. Ran himself and his teammates into trouble numerous times. Kicked yet another behind from his one and only chance, taking his career tally to 19.40.

Apparently though, we can't criticise him for this, because he gave a quick handball which hit a target (oh, so it wasn't one of the 10 possessions that missed a target) and after yet again trapping himself on his wrong side, he floated a pass which managed to hit a teammate miles in the clear. Bravo.

Prismall was Geelong's best again in the VFL on any measure.

Part of that comes from the drive being shown by the players who didn't get to play in last year's AFL Grand Final.

"Some of those guys were knocking on the door last year, but were a bit stiff to miss out," he said.

"But they'll get their opportunities this year."

He pinpoints Ryan Gamble, Kane Tenace, Brent Prismall and Trent West as the players likely to drive the Cats further this season.

"But at this time of the year I think most coaches and teams would have goals to play certain individuals.

"We've got Harry Taylor, Brent Prismall and Trent West and these people who we want to give opportunities to and we will do that.

Not sure on what measure he could be further away than he was last year.

I think it was darren forssman that made the obvservation that Byrnes will remain in the side short term, but it's only a matter of time before he's out.

With this much pressure coming from players in the VFL and from players coming back, and Byrnes being one of the last players picked, he's on thin ice. It may not be Prismall that replaces him, but make no mistake, he will be replaced.

Big Nasty
31 Mar 2008, 18:57
I tend to lay into Shannon Byrnes a bit, and rightfully so. But his game this week was excellent and i guess you can see why he gets picked. I reckon his clangers are decreasing also.

Geelong2k9
31 Mar 2008, 18:58

no,cause he sucks

cats2rise
31 Mar 2008, 19:01
Where the hell is that clown who kept banging on about Byrnes having a 77% effiecency rating in Round one???

Slipped down to 57% in Round Two.

What stats you gonna pull out this week?

cats2rise
31 Mar 2008, 19:09

That kick on the right was a pretty bad kick. Yes it was on his right boot, but it wasnt a good kick in any sense of the word. One shit kick on his right doesnt equal having a right foot.

cats2rise
31 Mar 2008, 19:15
Byrnes cant kick...anything else?....didnt think so.

Cant kick on his right, cant help out a team mate, cant make many good decisions, cant kick for goal...
:)

Its also a no-brainer Byrnes had 21 touches on a forward flank and at least two of those touches lead directly to goals (2 direct assists out of 22 when we had 14 goal kickers) so thats a good effort from a small forward even if his disposal was down on last week.
You kept bringing up 75% efficiency rating last week, so do I get to bring up the 57% for this week?

WE Are Geelong
31 Mar 2008, 19:48
Well if this guy says so it must be true... yawn!

The feeling is completely mutual.

WE Are Geelong
31 Mar 2008, 19:49
Cant kick on his right, cant help out a team mate, cant make many good decisions, cant kick for goal...

You kept bringing up 75% efficiency rating last week, so do I get to bring up the 57% for this week?

The same as Steve Johnson this week 57%...both played on the half forward line. Maybe it had something to do with the sort of pressure the Bombers were putting on us.

So what is your point exactly? I mean in football terms?

cats2rise
31 Mar 2008, 19:51
That Byrnes is an average footballer.
Dont even put SJ in the same sentence as Byrnes.

Telstra Dome.. no wind.. no rain... if you get to use useless stats, i do to.

davey_magik
31 Mar 2008, 19:51
Don't know why such a good side in Geelong plays someone like Byrnes.
I mean surely a Varcoe would be a better option?
Byrnes has poor skills and decision making and won't be getting any better. He also never uses his pace properly.

WE Are Geelong
31 Mar 2008, 19:53
57% effective disposal on Sunday. Ran himself and his teammates into trouble numerous times. Kicked yet another behind from his one and only chance, taking his career tally to 19.40.

Apparently though, we can't criticise him for this, because he gave a quick handball which hit a target (oh, so it wasn't one of the 10 possessions that missed a target) and after yet again trapping himself on his wrong side, he floated a pass which managed to hit a teammate miles in the clear. Bravo.

I think it was darren forssman that made the obvservation that Byrnes will remain in the side short term, but it's only a matter of time before he's out.

With this much pressure coming from players in the VFL and from players coming back, and Byrnes being one of the last players picked, he's on thin ice. It may not be Prismall that replaces him, but make no mistake, he will be replaced.

The same 57% efficiency as Steve Johnson in the same game.

Its relevant because they both play half forward. Its relevant because it happened in the same match. Its relevant because Steve Johnson is a budding champion. If you raise the stat...it has to be made relevant. I am equating it to something relevant...are you?

You are equating your reasoning to a VFL game played in completely different conditions to an AFL match. Completely different playing standards and the players mentioned played completely different positions on the ground.

So are you adding something to this discussion? Other than what dribbles out on a regular basis I mean? Week after week...RE Byrnes.

Say something relevant for a change.

cats2rise
31 Mar 2008, 19:54
WAG, you mean like you regarding Byrnes' skill?

WE Are Geelong
31 Mar 2008, 19:55
That Byrnes is an average footballer.
Dont even put SJ in the same sentence as Byrnes.

Telstra Dome.. no wind.. no rain... if you get to use useless stats, i do to.

Ok cool...Steve Johnson half forward 14 touches 57% efficiency vs Byrnes 21 touches half forward 57% efficiency.

I am asking you a definitive question. Whats your point?

WE Are Geelong
31 Mar 2008, 19:57
WAG, you mean like you regarding Byrnes' skill?

You raised the 57% stat...so answer the question relevantly to the game. The specific game. You know a football match I mean on Sunday against the Bombers...that thing where leather gets kicked around...that game.

Can you?

WE Are Geelong
31 Mar 2008, 20:01
no,cause he sucks

You're worse. Much much worse.

cats2rise
31 Mar 2008, 20:07
Whats the definitive question?

Want me to bring up SJ v Byrnes career stats if we are comparing them?

eliiiiza
31 Mar 2008, 20:10
HAHAHA - Bit touchy!

The gender thing was tongue in cheek.

I'm a self confessed Byrnes hater and i think he was average at best. I fail to see how people can see he has a positive input into our side.
Of course I f*cking am, I'm sick and tired of everyone ignoring my comments because I'm a girl. Get over it already.

Davey_magik, Varcoe will be a very good player some day, but at the moment, Byrnes is better choice than he is.

WE Are Geelong
31 Mar 2008, 20:11
Whats the definitive question?

Want me to bring up SJ v Byrnes career stats if we are comparing them?

You brought up one half forwards (Byrnes) 57% efficiency rating in a particular match Essendon vs Geelong. I raised another geelong half forwards (Steve Johnsons) efficiency rating of 57% in the same game.

Please comment...if you can? The only thing to add is Byrnes had 21 touches and SJ had 14 touches with SJ kicking the first goal of the match. Byrnes laid 2 tackles and SJ 0 and SJ spent slightly longer on the ground.

Go on...?

Geelong2k9
31 Mar 2008, 20:14
You're worse. Much much worse.

and your a knob for thinking this shits real.....

cats2rise
31 Mar 2008, 20:16
Whats to argue...?
I am arguing about Byrnes' place in the team, and his average average skills.
Im not arguing about Steve Johnson, or his game on the weekend.

didak04
31 Mar 2008, 20:21
Don't know why such a good side in Geelong plays someone like Byrnes.
I mean surely a Varcoe would be a better option?
Byrnes has poor skills and decision making and won't be getting any better. He also never uses his pace properly.
Varcoe was very ordinary in the VFL on the weekend, why would you put him in over Byrnes who had a pretty good game, more to the point why make any changes when you've smashed a side by 99 points

catempire
31 Mar 2008, 20:24
The same 57% efficiency as Steve Johnson in the same game.

Its relevant because they both play half forward. Its relevant because it happened in the same match. Its relevant because Steve Johnson is a budding champion. If you raise the stat...it has to be made relevant. I am equating it to something relevant...are you?

You are equating your reasoning to a VFL game played in completely different conditions to an AFL match. Completely different playing standards and the players mentioned played completely different positions on the ground.

So are you adding something to this discussion? Other than what dribbles out on a regular basis I mean? Week after week...RE Byrnes.

Say something relevant for a change.

How is anything I posted irrelevant?

What is it about my post that you actually dispute?

Geelong2k9
31 Mar 2008, 20:26
Whats to argue...?
I am arguing about Byrnes' place in the team, and his average average skills.
Im not arguing about Steve Johnson, or his game on the weekend.

Prismall should be in the team, Varcoe has superior skills to bYRNES.....

Byrnes has terrible disposal, he keeps getting caught with the ball, panics too much..... shall we go on???

Who cares if he did a thing or two on the w/end, he needs to sustain the effort and skill :p to maintain his spot....

Bottom line is, sucky games outweigh his good games by a loooonnnngggg way.....

thehoff
31 Mar 2008, 21:39
Of course I f*cking am, I'm sick and tired of everyone ignoring my comments because I'm a girl. Get over it already.

Davey_magik, Varcoe will be a very good player some day, but at the moment, Byrnes is better choice than he is.

Stress less princess. We value your opinion.

lohnro
31 Mar 2008, 22:50
byrnes is a player ive always cringed when ive seen him selected in the past, but i must say his last few games have shown great improvement I think id much rather have him in the team over varcoe.

catempire
31 Mar 2008, 22:54
To be clear, Varcoe is nowhere near it at the moment.

Catman
31 Mar 2008, 22:55
Shannon will only keep his spot because the VFL side was dreadful and no one put their hand up for a senior spot.

It was a typical Shannon game yesterday but until we either get players back from injury or someone in the VFL pulls their finger out, he'll stay in the seniors.

He's carried by the rest of the side but when you win by 99pts, your weaknesses are overshadowed by the superiority of your teammates.

Hinkley29
31 Mar 2008, 23:15
Here's the drill guys:

One thing cannot be ignored - Byrnes continues to get a game EVERY week. In a team that is as dominant (if not more dominant) than any team in my memory.

There is a lot that goes on at footy clubs and footy teams that punters like us have absolutely no knowledge of, which means that individual player's contribution to results can sometimes not be evident to ill-informed onlookers. How do any of us know what instructions he is given by the coaching staff every week, and thus how he is measured? None of us on here do. Byrnes has to be providing a solid contribution to our performances, otherwise he would be dropped. Pure and simple. It is not like we don't have players cueing up to take his spot.

I think one thing has been irrefutably proven over the last 12 months - Our football dept are not stupid. If Byrnes wasn't pulling his weight, someone else would be in his spot. Just because his contribution is not obvious to us all, that does not mean it doesn't exist. I am not saying that Byrnes is a superstar - far from it, but he obviously fills a role for our team.

Let me channel my inner Bomber Thompson here.......All of you, all of you - leave him alone.

Duskfire
31 Mar 2008, 23:25
I think Brynes is a bit of a douche, but one day it would be nice to actually be able to come into the forum after a win and not see someone bitching about Brynes.

catempire
31 Mar 2008, 23:26
Here's the drill guys:

One thing cannot be ignored - Byrnes continues to get a game EVERY week. In a team that is as dominant (if not more dominant) than any team in my memory.

There is a lot that goes on at footy clubs and footy teams that punters like us have absolutely no knowledge of, which means that individual player's contribution to results can sometimes not be evident to ill-informed onlookers. How do any of us know what instructions he is given by the coaching staff every week, and thus how he is measured? None of us on here do. Byrnes has to be providing a solid contribution to our performances, otherwise he would be dropped. Pure and simple. It is not like we don't have players cueing up to take his spot.

I think one thing has been irrefutably proven over the last 12 months - Our football dept are not stupid. If Byrnes wasn't pulling his weight, someone else would be in his spot. Just because his contribution is not obvious to us all, that does not mean it doesn't exist. I am not saying that Byrnes is a superstar - far from it, but he obviously fills a role for our team.

Let me channel my inner Bomber Thompson here.......All of you, all of you - leave him alone.

Most measured and reasonable post I've read on the topic.

I have said in another Shannon thread that we all have our biases and there's no doubt plenty have it in for Shannon, rightly or wrongly.

If there are reasons for Shannon being retained in the side which are not visable to the majority of Geelong supporters there's not a lot we can do about it. All we can go by is what we see, and personally, when I watch Shannon I see a flawed footballer. I see a player that, in my view, is not important to the team. I also see the stats there in black and white that time and time again support this view.

I will continue to call it as I see it. Others can feel free to argue against the substance of what I'm saying.

Cattery
31 Mar 2008, 23:29

Which is not saying a lot considering the way they played, and his disposal in the first half was abysmal.

Well in light of the fact he couldn't break into the side last year, and at the moment Gamble appears to have stepped up, I'd say his chances now are less then they were previously.
And I don't see what quoting Kelly and Thompson is supposed to prove, of course they're going to pump up the tyres of the players on the fringe.

Yep DF would be the man to turn to for an objective opinion about Byrnes. :rolleyes:

What players in the VFL are these?
Of course his position is always going to be under threat, don't think anyone's denying that, if we find ourselves in the position of having everybody available there's a very good chance he'll miss the cut, but the point I was making was that he won't be replaced by Prismall in a direct swap, no matter how much some may wish it.

Look, I may not entirely agree with the way WAG puts his points across, but the fact is he's correct, the constant carping criticism of Byrnes on here is really quite pathetic; have you ever asked yourself why, if he's half as bad as he's made out to be, he keeps getting a game in the best side in the competition.

catempire
31 Mar 2008, 23:36
Which is not saying a lot considering the way they played, and his disposal in the first half was abysmal.

Overstated. Missed targets, so did everyone. Some of his missed targets were actually where he kicked to position correctly but had team mates going to the wrong side of the ground or opposition players cutting in.

In the second half, he showed he is a class act.

Well in light of the fact he couldn't break into the side last year, and at the moment Gamble appears to have stepped up, I'd say his chances now are less then they were previously.

Since when has been competing for a spot with Gamble?

And I don't see what quoting Kelly and Thompson is supposed to prove, of course they're going to pump up the tyres of the players on the fringe.

How convenient.

Yep DF would be the man to turn to for an objective opinion about Byrnes. :rolleyes:

rolleyes. What a convincing argument. How about addressing the substance?

What players in the VFL are these?
Of course his position is always going to be under threat, don't think anyone's denying that, if we find ourselves in the position of having everybody available there's a very good chance he'll miss the cut, but the point I was making was that he won't be replaced by Prismall in a direct swap, no matter how much some may wish it.

Just saying it doesn't make it true. Apart from returns from injury, it is the next most obvious move.

have you ever asked yourself why, if he's half as bad as he's made out to be, he keeps getting a game in the best side in the competition.

It baffles me almost every day.

DanA
31 Mar 2008, 23:44
Here's the drill guys:

I hate it when people say football is on such a high level that nobody here can understand it except our clubs football department. **** off. I'm not a professional but I can watch a game a footy and voice my opinion in a forum.

Just because the club goes one way with a decision doesn't mean it is the only option or even the right option.

scottydeewah
31 Mar 2008, 23:49
For two little blokes they do a bloody good job taking overhead marks and just as importantly making a contest and spilling the ball against MUCH larger opposition (hell isnt everyone much larger!!).

Brynes has spilled our outmarked a couple of ruckman whilst a team is clearing from our 50.

Stokes has taken some great contested marks inside 50 to get goals.

Well done by both the little fellas, a lot of this goes to prove that positioning, a bit of a leap and a lot of heart and balls can win you a contest.

Now let the bagging of Brynes begin.

Duskfire
31 Mar 2008, 23:51
I hate it when people say football is on such a high level that nobody here can understand it except our clubs football department. **** off. I'm not a professional but I can watch a game a footy and voice my opinion in a forum.

Just because the club goes one way with a decision doesn't mean it is the only option or even the right option.

Well yeah, everyone is entitled to an opinion and they should be allowed to voice it. However, doesn't it get tiring voicing the same thing week in, week out? Its like those who constantly complain about umpires. Eventually it starts to sound like a broken record.

I've only been here since June, and the Bryne complaints haven't really ever stopped. Even when we won the Grand Final people were still bitching about him. It just seems... pointless, to go on and on about it.

Hinkley29
31 Mar 2008, 23:52

In no way am I saying you can't have an opinion, and if that is what you took from my post, then you're a certifiable goose.

This club's footy dept has an enviable track record in decision making over the past 12 months. If you can't see that, and accept that Byrnes plays a role in our team, then you are the one who can **** off.

catempire
31 Mar 2008, 23:54
Woh si tihs Brynes? I lkie teh snuod fo hmi!

Cattery
31 Mar 2008, 23:55
Overstated. Missed targets, so did everyone. Some of his missed targets were actually where he kicked to position correctly but had team mates going to the wrong side of the ground or opposition players cutting in.

In the second half, he showed he is a class act.

This is exactly the sort of think I was saying, if Byrnes butchered the ball the way prismall did in the first half Saturday we'd never hear the end of it, yet with Prismall it's excuses.

Since when has been competing for a spot with Gamble?

Since when has Byrnes been competing for a spot with Prismall? The point is that there's now another player [ Gamble ] who appears to have passed Prismall, therefor making it harder for him to win a spot.

How convenient.

Well I see Kelly also named Tenace as one of those players, yet according to many on here he's a bigger dud then Byrnes, so what's the point you're trying to make?

Just saying it doesn't make it true. Apart from returns from injury, it is the next most obvious move.

Maybe to the Prismall fans, but it's highly unlikely.

catempire
1 Apr 2008, 00:01
This is exactly the sort of think I was saying, if Byrnes butchered the ball the way prismall did in the first half Saturday we'd never hear the end of it, yet with Prismall it's excuses.

That's the great thing when you've developed a good record with something - one bad game and you get to use some excuses. Sadly, the same luxury cannot be afforded to Byrnes.

Since when has Byrnes been competing for a spot with Prismall? The point is that there's now another player [ Gamble ] who appears to have passed Prismall, therefor making it harder for him to win a spot.

But Gamble hasn't passed Prismall. Prismall has never been pressing for a spot in the forward line. He's pressing for a midfield/wing role and Byrnes plays mostly on the wing.

Well I see Kelly also named Tenace as one of those players, yet according to many on here he's a bigger dud then Byrnes, so what's the point you're trying to make?

Hmm, notice anything about the other names mentioned - Gamble, Tenace, West and Taylor? They've all been given a chance early this season. So yes, one view could be that "of course they're going to pump up the tires of the young players". Another view, perhaps supported by demonstrated evidence, is that they are speaking the truth.

Maybe to the Prismall fans, but it's highly unlikely.

Time will tell. On history, my money's on your thinking. On my observations of both players, I have to disagree.

Honestly, I'm not one of these "Burns is shit. He cant evun kick" type people. I present my views, demonstrated by evidence and statistics where possible.

That's it from me on the topic for the moment. I'm sure WAG will be back tomorrow to beat me about the head.

Rosella
1 Apr 2008, 00:07
Woh si tihs Brynes? I lkie teh snuod fo hmi!

I think Scotty thinks it's funny. It is a bit - it's a common typo.

catempire
1 Apr 2008, 00:08
Amazingly, I've still seen some people type "Burns".

Cattery
1 Apr 2008, 00:20
But Gamble hasn't passed Prismall. Prismall has never been pressing for a spot in the forward line. He's pressing for a midfield/wing role and Byrnes plays mostly on the wing.

We'll have to agree to disagree on this, I don't see Prismall as a straight swap for Byrnes, he's a straight up midfielder in my opinion and I think we'd agree that he's not going to break into that group.

Hmm, notice anything about the other names mentioned - Gamble, Tenace, West and Taylor? They've all been given a chance early this season. So yes, one view could be that "of course they're going to pump up the tires of the young players". Another view, perhaps supported by demonstrated evidence, is that they are speaking the truth.

Not suggesting they're lying, just saying the right things, and those other players mentioned have got game time because of circumstances, no other reason.

Honestly, I'm not one of these "Burns is shit. He cant evun kick" type people. I present my views, demonstrated by evidence and statistics where possible.

That's it from me on the topic for the moment. I'm sure WAG will be back tomorrow to beat me about the head.

Yeah think it has just about been done to death, though I'm sure there's another chapter, or three, waiting in the wings.

ciaobella
1 Apr 2008, 00:24
Play of the day for mine is the 4 or 5 handballs in the backline, eventually ending up with Chappy who passes it 50 metres to Jimmy sinks one from outside 50 about 20 in from the boundary. Oozes class :thumbsu:

That and Jimmy's mark in the second.

Geelong_Sicko
1 Apr 2008, 00:27
One of the strengths he can really work on is the run-down tackle. I've seen him lay some good ones, and his speed is invaluable. He really could be a little jet fighter shooting down enemy midfield runs if he played to those strengths:thumbsu:

TheTimeCometh
1 Apr 2008, 00:50
The matter cannot be any clearer, to me, that when the play moves around the ground the only glaring gremlin in the machine is shan. the natural rhythm is lost. i kinda don't understand what he is exactly in the team for.

i don't wish this to sound like isolated bashing.

And like i said earlier, chappy looks like he can't kick, or have the confidence to, on his opposite - he floated a shocker to the pocket on his left and check-sides whenever goin' left - it's just that the lucas', the riccardis and chappys of the world cover their weaknesses ten-fold in their strong sides and other areas.

scottydeewah
1 Apr 2008, 02:19
I think Scotty thinks it's funny. huh?

Copernicus
1 Apr 2008, 03:12
Any chance we can just have a 'Byrnes Discussion Thread' stickied? This is all a bit deja-vu.

candiehappy
1 Apr 2008, 08:08

Confused with Ronnie Burns ? Played 154 games - more than I expect to see Shannon play.

someday-somehow
1 Apr 2008, 08:44
I cannot fathom this "if it aint broke don't fix it attitude".

When Shannon got his first game with the cats (think it was 2005/2006) I was impressed with his tackling and speed but I thought he was not blessed with good disposal "it will come in time I thought" - fast forward 50 odd games and I can't see that his disposal has improved that much.

I don't hate the guy but surely there are some guys in the VFL that deserve seniors game time too....that's why they play football. Are you all suggesting that if we win every game then nobody should be dropped no matter how poorly they play?

Consider this....many posters on this forum also defended Kent Kingsley as a full forward....my opinion was that we would never get anywhere with him as our star forward, the decision was made by the club to take him out of that role and we have not looked back.

I am not saying we trade Shannon but rather I would like to see him, Varcoe and Prismal rotated around that spot (Gamble at this stage is a leading forward and should not be moved based on current form). I DO NOT want to see Byrnes as an automatic selection every week over guys like Prismal.

Now onto Prismal..."played a shocker in the VFL"..."not as good as last year"....bullshit, it is far easier to look good in a running team full of confidence than another going through a difficult time because their seasoned players were either not playing or have been traded. See what happens when you put Judd at Carlton....all of a sudden he doesn't look as good but he is still a fantastic player.

I would love to see him on a half forward flank for starters and I just wonder how many times on sunday he could have got free and split the middle of the goals or smacked Gamble and Hawkins on the chest with that great kick of his....he is our midfield depth but he needs to spend time at the highest level.

That's my opinion for what it's worth,

darren forssman
1 Apr 2008, 08:49

as objective as your argument is the other way.

i think my point was that he is in for the short term, until players start coming back from injury and the inevitable squeeze on senior positions happens.

or do you disagree?

gypsy_1
1 Apr 2008, 08:50
Stokes... the 21 st century Greg Williams. Never fumbles, excellent decision maker, peripheral vision, surgical handballs, tackles. Challenge my contention !!!!

darren forssman
1 Apr 2008, 08:59
scotty, back from the bigfooty graveyard.

is brynes actually meant to be bartel?

Ramsay Bogunovich
1 Apr 2008, 09:02

The Age has a slideshow of the game and there was a picture of SB with a caption underneath that called him "Matthew Burns" :D:D

DanA
1 Apr 2008, 09:10
Why is Prismall getting canned for a game in which I thought he was best on ground for the cats?

candiehappy
1 Apr 2008, 09:34
Stokes... the 21 st century Greg Williams. Never fumbles, excellent decision maker, peripheral vision, surgical handballs, tackles. Challenge my contention !!!!

he' not an arrogent a##hole.......

catempire
1 Apr 2008, 09:36
Why is Prismall getting canned for a game in which I thought he was best on ground for the cats?

Good question. And it's not like it was easy going either *cough*, *99 point win*, *cough*. The VFL team were getting absolutely smashed.

catempire
1 Apr 2008, 09:39
The Age has a slideshow of the game and there was a picture of SB with a caption underneath that called him "Matthew Burns" :D:D

Classic!

Couldn't decide whether it was Matthew Stokes or Monty Burns.

cats on a tree
1 Apr 2008, 09:46
it's all good if Byrnes does not play a particularly bad game:cool:

but do not try to convince people that Stokes and Byrnes are the same class player.

Stokes is a much more (hundred times or more) skillful and reliable player!!

totally different class!! :thumbsu:

Cattery
1 Apr 2008, 11:09
as objective as your argument is the other way.

i think my point was that he is in for the short term, until players start coming back from injury and the inevitable squeeze on senior positions happens.

or do you disagree?

What have I said that you think is less then objective?

I'm not pumping up his tyres, or suggesting he's some sort of champ, as a matter of fact I wouldn't be posting much about him at all if it wasn't for the need to redress a lot of the BS that's written about him on this forum.

Do I disagree that his spot is under pressure, well if you read what was said previously you'll see I said exactly the same thing, although it's not a given, as some seem to believe, that he'll be squeezed out, after all with the exception of Egan we had a full squad to choose from in the 07 finals and he managed to retain his spot.

Cattery
1 Apr 2008, 11:11
The VFL team were getting absolutely smashed.

Which is an excuse for missing targets by hand and foot?