View Full Version : Western Region Football League Team (Part 2)
good site this
18 Jun 2008, 12:23
Make a 4 man interchange! If one player goes down early your stuck with 2 players to only rotate with. Make it a 4 man as the reserves have it.
footy power
18 Jun 2008, 12:51
Make a 4 man interchange! If one player goes down early your stuck with 2 players to only rotate with. Make it a 4 man as the reserves have it.
While they are at it, why not make a Salary Cap. I know it would be easy to breach it however, clubs like Yarraville, West Footscray and basically whoever comes up from Div2 are not going to survive.
playsnogood
18 Jun 2008, 13:39
To enforce a salary cap on a league is a multi facet operation. You need every club to be audited prior to implementing it, have transparency about income generated by the club, declare tax on some aspects which would in the past be done in other ways and possible get ATO and Liquour Licensing involved. That is to enforce something that can still be unenforceable, because no league is going to go to the expense of doing the ground work.
4 on the bench is a good idea.
Every club fields U18's in the same division so there are 3 games every saturday??
THE RED MAN
18 Jun 2008, 14:32
Just to clarify a few things -
Simmo definitely not invited and only found out by mistake ie. Runner for Spotty 18s who happened to be playing us
Few other long time servants/players who weren't invited and unhappy about it as well
If last years reserves coach was sacked cos he wasn't "popular" within the playing ranks, makes Frosty look pretty weak and since when do a playing group decide who the coach is??? Also puts some pressure on Jack as it 20 or so letters from his senior group after the St.albans game didn't paint him in a favourable light.....
But in saying that, the reason for his dismissal is all whispers and rumours
THE RED MAN
18 Jun 2008, 14:37
I think you will find that the undefeated two's coach from hoppers was not well liked by the majority of the playing group.
Lets just say he had his favourites.
Also as far as being undefeated goes anyone could of coached that two's side to a flag.
The coach has a history of coaching sides that wouldnt loose no matter who the coach was and it makes him out to look like a star
Pretty sure the Hoppers 2's were not "unbeatable" when he took them over from Shawy. Finished about 4th under Shawy and 4/5th under Frase the first year he coached
THE RED MAN
18 Jun 2008, 14:44
Player numbers for the weaker sides would be the issue. Quite a few clubs struggle to field 2's sides so by putting another player in the firsts means 1 less for the reserves.
Like the idea but struggling/weaker clubs would be the issue???
Definitely agree that club facilities should be a minimum standard before a club can be in Divvy 1. That way clubs would look at there whole club not just the playing side of it.
Maybe councils are reluctant to put money into footy club facilities when most know they are paying players and then asking for assistance in upgrading facilities. Just a thought....
SWANNEES
18 Jun 2008, 14:52
Firstly i'm not aligned with spotty i was just at the game watching and i happen to know Larry very well. Don't try and tell me that hoppers haven't payed big money in the past they are notorious for throwing around cash. I don't think that this is the forum to throw names around. Just cope it as what i know!!
your post no,8895 13-12-07 said
"yes i am a spotty supporter " isnt that aligned with them
debate over. good luck
Not much footy talk going on lately.
Has spotty's form got everyone running for cover.
Only one contest this week colts v albion should be a good contest, especially after albion were embarrasing against fellow top 3 side spotty a few weeks ago, and we will also be out to avenge our embarrasing performance against albion in rd 2. Both side should be full strength except for savalas with a week to serve. Will albion bring back c.thomas, magnabosco,vimpany and haldane all banished to the two's last week or will savalas leave them down to learn a lesson?????
Looking fwd to another good contest.
GO COLTS!!!!!!!!!!!
DaVinci
18 Jun 2008, 17:39
Not much footy talk going on lately.
Has spotty's form got everyone running for cover.
Only one contest this week colts v albion should be a good contest, especially after albion were embarrasing against fellow top 3 side spotty a few weeks ago, and we will also be out to avenge our embarrasing performance against albion in rd 2. Both side should be full strength except for savalas with a week to serve. Will albion bring back c.thomas, magnabosco,vimpany and haldane all banished to the two's last week or will savalas leave them down to learn a lesson?????
Looking fwd to another good contest.
GO COLTS!!!!!!!!!!!
Colts by 3 goals, i think Albion will start to feel the punch as they did against spotty, they are not use to the thin air at the top of the ladder and colts love a challenge.
Yes we do love a challenge and i'm sure we will be at our best on saturday, a full list and we a re still smarting from our dismal performance last time we played the cats.
Crackers should return to the top of the goal kicking table and stay there til rd 18.
knowing you are aligned with spotty , you should be able to tell us all how many of last years premeir side were originals from spotty ,dont try and tell us they and imports played fpr love of club,if you know so much about hoppers name players you consider raping club ,
Neither team bought flags. The guys from the Hoppers 2004 flag either had or were going to play at Hoppers irrespective how much they got paid given their affiliation with the club. Spotty had a few more in last years flag who werent juniors but that doesnt mean they were 'bought'. Guys like Monty had been there a few years but didnt play juniors there and a couple literally walked in off the street or had mates they wanted to play with. To me, buying a flag means that somebody plays at club bcos that club offered them the most money and the club then has enough of these people to win a flag with. Neither side had this. Strathmore was 1 club that did. They offered players more than they were worth (bcos they could and thats footy) and they got in enough of these types from outside of their club to win a flag. I wanted to play there with a couple of mates but I for 1 was offered more than I was worth.
FiloBeddoe
19 Jun 2008, 01:09
I think you will find that the undefeated two's coach from hoppers was not well liked by the majority of the playing group.
Lets just say he had his favourites.
Also as far as being undefeated goes anyone could of coached that two's side to a flag.
The coach has a history of coaching sides that wouldnt loose no matter who the coach was and it makes him out to look like a star
You may want to reconsider your last point Teddy. He coached an average U/18s side at Werribee knowing damn well that they were going to lose quite a few. He also applied for a junior job at another club in the ara, also knowing that they were going to struggle.
Sunshine chased him for the assistant's job because of his work with the young blokes and development.
Each to their own but he is a good coach and always talks about player development and the importance of senior footy. That doesn't strike me as someone who has entirely selfish motives for coaching.
justwanted2say
19 Jun 2008, 10:25
Is it true??? Is Dell returning to the Cats?
STRONGBOW
19 Jun 2008, 11:41
You may want to reconsider your last point Teddy. He coached an average U/18s side at Werribee knowing damn well that they were going to lose quite a few. He also applied for a junior job at another club in the ara, also knowing that they were going to struggle.
Sunshine chased him for the assistant's job because of his work with the young blokes and development.
Each to their own but he is a good coach and always talks about player development and the importance of senior footy. That doesn't strike me as someone who has entirely selfish motives for coaching.
u super coaches always stick together.
i rate yourself higher than him
Is sunshine season over??? Or will they play finals.
Is the top 3 set? Or do people think hoppers can still get there. They beat us on a very muddy day but other than that have yet to beat a team in the top 5, although i still think they are a very capable side.
Will crackers or buttina kick a ton??
Priest medal... julier, or jacobs b & d from the colts, murphy or harris from other clubs.
Travvy you back this week??? You guys need to get your full list on the track, should win the next 3 and get some confidence back.
cork_in_the_ocean
19 Jun 2008, 15:48
Is the top 3 set? Or do people think hoppers can still get there. They beat us on a very muddy day but other than that have yet to beat a team in the top 5, although i still think they are a very capable side.
Priest medal... julier, or jacobs b & d from the colts, murphy or harris from other clubs.
Travvy you back this week??? You guys need to get your full list on the track, should win the next 3 and get some confidence back.
I think top 3 is pretty much set although hoppers only play one team inside the 5 away in the 2nd half (port) so who knows?
Sunshine's season far from over however round 18 for them looks to loom as the big one as it looks be a fight b/w themselves and stalbans for that 5th spot.
My dark horse bet for the priest is Kelm he has been in the best quite a few times in the first half of the year and albion have only lost one game so far and not hard person to miss :thumbsu:
I think top 3 is pretty much set although hoppers only play one team inside the 5 away in the 2nd half (port) so who knows?
Sunshine's season far from over however round 18 for them looks to loom as the big one as it looks be a fight b/w themselves and stalbans for that 5th spot.
My dark horse bet for the priest is Kelm he has been in the best quite a few times in the first half of the year and albion have only lost one game so far and not hard person to miss :thumbsu:
I for got to metion that buttina and crackers will go very close i think they have 62 and 59 respectively after rd 10 and 'O6' i was on 67 at the same stage and had 14 votes but failed to poll a vote after that, so if either of them match what thery have done so far i think one of them will win it, for some reason the umps in this comp seem to notice goal kickers a little more.
playsnogood
19 Jun 2008, 16:59
Top 3 is set, with Port and Spotty to take top spot, awaiting for the Albion implosion..... only a matter of time (have the players been paid yet) if the implosion happens then hoppers top 3.
Issue for Triple J from Port to win the Priest is there are players competiting for votes, so because of this it could be a low count to win this year.
If that is the case, Harris and O'Keefe would be in consideration.
Now an interesting delema could arise, can a player accumulate votes if playing for two different teams in the same league, same season.... Brad Hewitt may have got some votes playing for Yarraville, and was apparantly best on last week, if form continues, how would that go??
Top 3 is set, with Port and Spotty to take top spot, awaiting for the Albion implosion..... only a matter of time (have the players been paid yet) if the implosion happens then hoppers top 3.
Issue for Triple J from Port to win the Priest is there are players competiting for votes, so because of this it could be a low count to win this year.
O'Keefe is a gun.
Reminds me of Jason Porplyzia (Crows)
cougarman
19 Jun 2008, 17:03
[/b]
I for got to metion that buttina and crackers will go very close i think they have 62 and 59 respectively after rd 10 and 'O6' i was on 67 at the same stage and had 14 votes but failed to poll a vote after that, so if either of them match what thery have done so far i think one of them will win it, for some reason the umps in this comp seem to notice goal kickers a little more.
they didn't notice dave mcgregor when he kicked 10 in rnd 1, maybe it's a red head thing which is great news for crackers but not so good for buttina haha:thumbsu:
cougarman
19 Jun 2008, 17:06
O'Keefe is a gun.
Reminds me of Jason Porplyzia (Crows)
has been very good, he along with d jacobs and b murphy have been massive recruits for there clubs and the wrfl, hopefully we get a few more players of this calibre into the comp next year
Which league was O'Keefe recruited from?
I think the team was Camperdown, don't know which league they play in though.
playsnogood
19 Jun 2008, 17:13
Which league was O'Keefe recruited from?
I think the team was Camperdown, don't know which league they play in though.
O'Keefe came from Bungaree (spud frawley country) and I think spent time playing VFL with Nth Ballarat. May have also played London AFL.....
The British League?
playsnogood
19 Jun 2008, 17:24
The British League?
think so, he spent time over there.....
And having played in the past at his old ground in Bungaree, pencil him in for votes every time it is wet and muddy! The guy was brought up playing in a muddy paddock and the fact he is vertically challenged will suit over the next few weeks if it turns wet as predicted.... bout the time the forwards start to struggle!
Reckon anyone'll get the ton?
FiloBeddoe
19 Jun 2008, 18:11
u super coaches always stick together.
i rate yourself higher than him
Oh, thanks mate but I wouldn't know how to stick a magnet on a fridge let alone mess with them on a coach's board. You must have me confused with someone else. I'll take the compliment anyway:thumbsu:
By the way, you've got me curious, who do you think I am? I may have some words of wisdom to add to the coaching rating scale.
table tennis
19 Jun 2008, 18:13
What happened with Lucas McGhie on the weekend. Just read the tribunal report.
anyone witness the event, please feel free to fill me in.
Morning Glory
19 Jun 2008, 18:16
Would disagree with him going well in the mud. Seen a lot of Occa play and is hard but plays better as an outside player. His is bloody good in the air for a small bloke too. I reckon better player in dry.
red devil1
19 Jun 2008, 18:17
What happened with Lucas McGhie on the weekend. Just read the tribunal report.
anyone witness the event, please feel free to fill me in.
There is an article in today's Herald Sun which I can't find on-line. I think he got 12 weeks. Bones is quoted in the paper providing a comment.
What'd he do to get 12 weeks?! :eek:
acr2751
19 Jun 2008, 18:27
What'd he do to get 12 weeks?! :eek:
1 week failing to leave ground.
3 weeks abusive languge to umpire.
8 weeks for handling umpire
Vincent Vega
19 Jun 2008, 19:17
I ain't saying it's right. But you're saying a foot massage don't mean nothing, and I'm saying it does. Now look, I've given a million ladies a million foot massages, and they all meant something. We act like they don't, but they do, and that's what's so ____ing cool about them. There's a sensuous thing going on where you don't talk about it, but you know it, she knows it, ____ing Marsellus knew it, and Antwan should have ____ing better known better. I mean, that's his ____ing wife, man. He can't be expected to have a sense of humor about that shit. You know what I'm saying?
So how's the cats side shaping up for this week, everyone except for steve and maybe dicko should be available.
We should be full strength except for winters.
Looking forward to the challenge.
GO COLTS!!!!
theiceman
20 Jun 2008, 11:36
So how's the cats side shaping up for this week, everyone except for steve and maybe dicko should be available.
GO COLTS!!!!
so then ur right 2 play this week rock?
Seems as though one loss has scared all the albion people of bigfooty.
Early in the year they had plenty to say and were enjoying themselves, all of a sudden the pressure has seen them disapear of bigfooty, i think this will do them more harm than good, get back on boys and share your thought other wise you will put to much pressure on yourselves.
A loss tomorrow will see you go from top to 3rd, with hoppers and spotty games to come and an ordinary percentage.
Darren from melton maybe you could give us something
so then ur right 2 play this week rock?
I'm in mate just had a extended rest last week it was always planned with the old body, as i said we are full strength except for winters who has yet to play a game, no need for us to hide who is playing and who isn't, once both teams run out we both get the match ups.
Both our reserves and seniors have got the best teams in all year.
How are you guys shaping up???
justwanted2say
20 Jun 2008, 12:04
I'm in mate just had a extended rest last week it was always planned with the old body, as i said we are full strength except for winters who has yet to play a game, no need for us to hide who is playing and who isn't, once both teams run out we both get the match ups.
Full side in at Albion. Haldane back in this week. Everyone looking good. Fenton first game in the 2s. Will be a good game.
theiceman
20 Jun 2008, 12:08
Now an interesting delema could arise, can a player accumulate votes if playing for two different teams in the same league, same season.... Brad Hewitt may have got some votes playing for Yarraville, and was apparantly best on last week, if form continues, how would that go??
there will be no implosion at albion and what would u know about payment at the club u just worry about ur own club
Full side in at Albion. Haldane back in this week. Everyone looking good. Fenton first game in the 2s. Will be a good game.
Back in from two's last week that's good, how does johnny go in the wet???
theiceman
20 Jun 2008, 12:19
yea we are pretty much full strength would have been handy 2 have steve in.... but i think it should be a very close game there r going 2 be some good match ups around the ground may the best team win:thumbsu:
theiceman
20 Jun 2008, 12:28
he plays his best footy in the wet big body and not scared 2 use it
johnny bravo
20 Jun 2008, 12:33
GO COLTS!!!!
rock - what happen to dicko kicking 6 last week? Your putting to much pressure on the man
johnny bravo
20 Jun 2008, 12:41
Early in the year they had plenty to say and were enjoying themselves, all of a sudden the pressure has seen them disapear of bigfooty, i think this will do them more harm than good, get back on boys and share your thought other wise you will put to much pressure on yourselves.
A loss tomorrow will see you go from top to 3rd, with hoppers and spotty games to come and an ordinary percentage.
footy star is very quiet on the bigfooty front after a week in the 2s
calling an SOS footy star
yea We Are Pretty Much Full Strength Would Have Been Handy 2 Have Steve In.... But I Think It Should Be A Very Close Game There R Going 2 Be Some Good Match Ups Around The Ground may The best Team Win:thumbsu:
We Will
he plays his best footy in the wet big body and not scared 2 use it
How important is johnny to your team, only played 4 senior games & 1 reserves games, no goals never been in the best, and he is very injury prone, surely you have a younger player that might add more value, vimpany or thomas????
johnny bravo
20 Jun 2008, 12:54
week 11 tips
only one good game of the round so should be pretty easy tipping
Albion in a close one over port colts, rain will help albion
spotty to smash yarraville by 100 points
st albans easy over WF
sunshine to bounce back against glenordenary
hoppers will be to classy for the young altona team
GOOD LUCK TO ALL
good site this
20 Jun 2008, 13:01
week 11 tips
only one good game of the round so should be pretty easy tipping
Albion in a close one over port colts, rain will help albion
spotty to smash yarraville by 100 points
st albans easy over WF
sunshine to bounce back against glenordenary
hoppers will be to classy for the young altona team
GOOD LUCK TO ALL
Colts will win this one by 5+ goals if they play there best footy.
Spotty by 150+
St Albans by 60 points
Sunshine 100+
Hoppers 60 points
justwanted2say
20 Jun 2008, 13:11
How important is johnny to your team, only played 4 senior games & 1 reserves games, no goals never been in the best, and he is very injury prone, surely you have a younger player that might add more value, vimpany or thomas????
Vimpany is playing - Thomas is injured
Johnny's height is an advantage. He is a good back line player but can also play ruck and forward. Not injury prone. Same injury all year fully recovered now.
grizzley
20 Jun 2008, 13:24
hey rock i wouldn't worry how johnny goes in the wet i'd be more worried how the colts go in the wet.The last time you guys played in the wet hoppers stood all over you's because they were harder at it.Which is pretty hard to cop because i think they are bunch of front running cowards.
footystar_
20 Jun 2008, 13:26
footystar_
20 Jun 2008, 13:31
spotty to beat yarriville by 140+
stalbans likewise against west
sunshine to bear glenorden by 90
hoppers by 50 against altona
and a close game between the only real match to watch albion by 6points
thesilkmeister
20 Jun 2008, 13:48
what's the latest on the C-Train?? When's he expected to get back on the park??
secure38
20 Jun 2008, 14:01
what's the latest on the C-Train?? When's he expected to get back on the park??
Played the week after he broke both his shoulder and ankle. Didn't get a kick and got dropped last week. Did smash the hot dogs though after the game!
footystar_
20 Jun 2008, 14:23
he broke his ribs against stalbans, looks to be 3-4 weeks on the sidelines.
puffpuffgivemo
20 Jun 2008, 14:24
Hey Clarkey,
Serious question.
Have you ever given any thought on putting your hand up for a coaching job in the EDFL?
darren melton
20 Jun 2008, 14:31
what would you like to no rock ? a loss for you guys to puts you in danger of double chance works both ways as you would no! be great game with the best mid field on the day to win the game good luck no to much tho?
darren melton
20 Jun 2008, 14:38
you would only thinkthink what young fella?????
Hey Clarkey,
Serious question.
Have you ever given any thought on putting your hand up for a coaching job in the EDFL?
In the future maybe if the right offer came along, but as long as the colts would have me i will stay.
what would you like to no rock ? a loss for you guys to puts you in danger of double chance works both ways as you would no! be great game with the best mid field on the day to win the game good luck no to much tho?
I know all i need to know just wanted to get some albion people on here to talk up their chances, these are the games we play footy for.
As you said it does work both ways but albion have set the pace early on, let's see if you guys can keep it going.
Good luck tomorrow and either way both sides will have a big say come september.
GO COLTS!!!!!!!!!!!
hey rock i wouldn't worry how johnny goes in the wet i'd be more worried how the colts go in the wet.The last time you guys played in the wet hoppers stood all over you's because they were harder at it.Which is pretty hard to cop because i think they are bunch of front running cowards.
If it was dry that day against hoppers result would have been the same, it was our attitude and hoppers desperation that beat us, we allowed them to embarrass us in the first half, although we showed alot of character in the second half. Port Colts courage is not in question, we will be fine in all conditions.
showstopper82
20 Jun 2008, 17:33
This week sees two of the major players for the 2008 Bundaberg Rum Cup clash with Port Melbourne Colts hosting Albion at Murphy Reserve. The Colts boast Jacobs, Julier, Jacobs and Clarke while the Cats have Butina, Barker, Klem and Turner. It promises some of the best match ups of the season. Lets just hope so ...im hopeing to see a close tuff game of footy ...theres no need for anyone to have talk them or there teams up just show it on the day and thats all that matters good luck to both teams !
PuranaTaskForce
20 Jun 2008, 18:17
Thankyou Hoppers Crossing Fc for all your support. The club had a all time high in May for getting blokes rubbed out and locked up, keep up the good work. could everyone please have this number 0800 555 111 on your mobile phone because you never know when you may need it.
sincerely simon overlands
WRFLfan
20 Jun 2008, 18:20
If it was dry that day against hoppers result would have been the same, it was our attitude and hoppers desperation that beat us, we allowed them to embarrass us in the first half, although we showed alot of character in the second half. Port Colts courage is not in question, we will be fine in all conditions.
Why even entertain these blonks
darren melton
20 Jun 2008, 19:16
I know all i need to know just wanted to get some albion people on here to talk up their chances, these are the games we play footy for.
As you said it does work both ways but albion have set the pace early on, let's see if you guys can keep it going.
Good luck tomorrow and either way both sides will have a big say come september.
GO COLTS!!!!!!!!!!!mini final you could say 4 both sides i think albion need these type of games to gain exprience we know colts spotty hoppers have this already so the more albion play in these big games the better they will become
WRFLfan
20 Jun 2008, 21:06
mini final you could say 4 both sides i think albion need these type of games to gain exprience we know colts spotty hoppers have this already so the more albion play in these big games the better they will become
Was the Spotty game on of these games?
Independent
21 Jun 2008, 12:31
I think your a little confused A bugeja was never reported by the club
Are you sure it wasnt spotty reporting a player from parkside after logan got a broken jaw get it right goose
Bugeja was reported after a match report.... Full investigation, unable to prove a thing though. Bugeja sister is a bit strong, have you seen him throw a punch? The problem would be that you wouldnt before it was too late
mini final you could say 4 both sides i think albion need these type of games to gain exprience we know colts spotty hoppers have this already so the more albion play in these big games the better they will become
Another big loss for albion today, second big loss in 3 games. If they want to play in the big games they need to get better then that.
Another big win for the spotty boys today slow first half only kicking 10 goals but then two 10 goal quarters to finish with molan kicking 9
Another big loss for albion today, second big loss in 3 games. If they want to play in the big games they need to get better then that.
Another big win for the spotty boys today slow first half only kicking 10 goals but then two 10 goal quarters to finish with molan kicking 9
Pete i don't think kicking 9 against yarra is much to hang your hat on, however a bit of confidence for molan no doubt.
The wrfl surely would be concerned with todays results, the closest game was 90 points.
Colts v albion today, was a pretty solid hitout and although the margin was big, albion did have a crack, i just believe we were able to handle their pressure alot better, i also feel that the cats need another fwd option with buttina well held they really had no one that could kick a bag, while we had plenty of fwds that looked dangerous.
I'm sure the cats were dissapointed with that today but i'm sure they will learn, it also didn't help with them suffering some injuries to some key players. The cats will still finish top 3 in my opinion.
Kelm most improved player in the comp.
STRONGBOW
22 Jun 2008, 09:17
This week sees two of the major players for the 2008 Bundaberg Rum Cup clash with Port Melbourne Colts hosting Albion at Murphy Reserve. The Colts boast Jacobs, Julier, Jacobs and Clarke while the Cats have Butina, Barker, Klem and Turner. It promises some of the best match ups of the season. Lets just hope so ...im hopeing to see a close tuff game of footy ...theres no need for anyone to have talk them or there teams up just show it on the day and thats all that matters good luck to both teams !
looks like only one of the players turned up,
might stop the spruiking for a while
Pete i don't think kicking 9 against yarra is much to hang your hat on, however a bit of confidence for molan no doubt.
The wrfl surely would be concerned with todays results, the closest game was 90 points.
Colts v albion today, was a pretty solid hitout and although the margin was big, albion did have a crack, i just believe we were able to handle their pressure alot better, i also feel that the cats need another fwd option with buttina well held they really had no one that could kick a bag, while we had plenty of fwds that looked dangerous.
I'm sure the cats were dissapointed with that today but i'm sure they will learn, it also didn't help with them suffering some injuries to some key players. The cats will still finish top 3 in my opinion.
Yes agree yarra are not much but the positive was the way he was moving and his clean hands. who where there injuries
FiloBeddoe
22 Jun 2008, 20:58
Bugeja was reported after a match report.... Full investigation, unable to prove a thing though. Bugeja sister is a bit strong, have you seen him throw a punch? The problem would be that you wouldnt before it was too late
I was happy to let this one go and trust my own memory of the events that took place. Even received an invitation to Parkside as a guest of honor. So what you are saying is that the incident was mentioned in a match report written by Parkside and then taken further? Please explain.
Travvy43
23 Jun 2008, 00:17
After not having a win for a month (loosing three and the QB Break) the kangas had a good win on the weekend.
Would assume the score we kicked against orden is up there with the most they have had kicked against them this year.
That in itself is not overly important, what was though was getting a good vibe/ feeling back among the boys.
Triplett had a MASSIVE debut slotting through five majors in a bit over a half of footy. McGoldrick in his second or third game back eased his way into some touch and thorn also had his first game back after a 5 or 6 week trip overseas.
Probably still 3-4 players off full strength but as we all know, "full strength" is sometimes an unattainable goal.
Massive month ahead for the kangas:
West
Yarraville
Spotty (away)
Albion (home)
We really need to win BIG over the next two weeks (% could be vital at the end of the year) then win "at least one" of the Spotty/Albion double.
GO KANGAS
grizzley
23 Jun 2008, 09:42
i agree fully with you rock albion need a big body up forward it stood out like dogs balls against spotty and it must of again on the weekend.Buttina is only a h/forward,f/pocket player,but who have they got is fenton the answer.
After not having a win for a month (loosing three and the QB Break) the kangas had a good win on the weekend.
Would assume the score we kicked against orden is up there with the most they have had kicked against them this year.
That in itself is not overly important, what was though was getting a good vibe/ feeling back among the boys.
Triplett had a MASSIVE debut slotting through five majors in a bit over a half of footy. McGoldrick in his second or third game back eased his way into some touch and thorn also had his first game back after a 5 or 6 week trip overseas.
Probably still 3-4 players off full strength but as we all know, "full strength" is sometimes an unattainable goal.
Massive month ahead for the kangas:
West
Yarraville
Spotty (away)
Albion (home)
We really need to win BIG over the next two weeks (% could be vital at the end of the year) then win "at least one" of the Spotty/Albion double.
GO KANGAS
Travvy you kicked 5 goals also, i didn't even realise that you could kick....
Good to see you back, and as for getting some feeling back, you guys really needed it, 2 weeks ago you guys played without any passion or enthusiasm.
If we can beat st.albans this week the kangas will be back in the 5 and then it's in your own hands.
footystar_
23 Jun 2008, 13:12
kanagas are totally in the running. i think the 5th position will come right down to round 18, and which ever team does miss out would be very disapointed. because all 6 teams looking for a top 5 spot are all of good finals quality.
vicki3013
23 Jun 2008, 14:51
kanagas are totally in the running. i think the 5th position will come right down to round 18, and which ever team does miss out would be very disapointed. because all 6 teams looking for a top 5 spot are all of good finals quality.
just hard to imagine that the team 2nd is a 15 goal better side then the team 3rd
WRFLfan
23 Jun 2008, 15:06
So how did you feel saturday sad but a little bit happy just a little bit??? Buttina looked a little over weight.
just hard to imagine that the team 2nd is a 15 goal better side then the team 3rd
No need to imagine, because they are not, even though it was a big margin sometimes it just happens in big games.
I can recall in 04 in game when colts beat hoppers by 78 points with 20 more scoring shots, we played them 2 more times in the finals and they beat us both times.
Then in 05 st.albans beat us by 96pts and we won the premiership.
Footy is a funny game and it comes down to how well the team performs on the day, remember albion beat the colts by 48pts in rd 2, and sunshine give spotty a touch up also.
All teams have their ups and downs
justwanted2say
23 Jun 2008, 15:48
So how did you feel saturday sad but a little bit happy just a little bit??? Buttina looked a little over weight.
Why would he be happy? He did nothing in the 2s?
footystar_
23 Jun 2008, 17:06
Why would he be happy? He did nothing in the 2s?
yer had a pretty disapointing game in the 2s. so agree here with u wasn't a happy day at all.
footystar_
23 Jun 2008, 17:07
buttina has one bad game and everyone gets on his back! He is clearly the most improved and inform player this year, and leading the leauge goalkicking shows just what a player he is, and is cruetal in albions lineup.
Agree with you on that, buttina has had a fantastic year, i just think he was beaten by a better player, even if was at his peak i would still back bonnett to beat him, buttina will still get the ton and good on him.
arc, why didn't hollow play???
Just thought i would let all in wrfl to look out for Steven Milne's interview this week in the MAIL with Les "SQUIZZY "Taylor from port colts, sure to be very incitful, the man is a star and keeps getting better with age.
footystar_
23 Jun 2008, 19:22
krackers krew slipped to 12th in dreamteam this week. doggas dogs massive score though. hey colbol35.
Just thought i would let all in wrfl to look out for Steven Milne's interview this week in the MAIL with Les "SQUIZZY "Taylor from port colts, sure to be very insightful, the man is a star and keeps getting better with age.
"Insightful" is an understatement, It is sure to be one of the most hard hitting interviews Milney has done. Squiz is on par with the great Debono when it comes to deep and lateral thinking.
buttina has one bad game and everyone gets on his back! He is clearly the most improved and inform player this year, and leading the league goal kicking shows just what a player he is, and is cruetal in albions lineup.
There's no doubt he is critical to Albions line up but until he gets some help from a bigger forward line he will always struggle against the best defender in each of the top teams. I dont think he has improved too much,he is getting more opportunities because he is one out more often than not against the lessor teams. He has always been a noted goal kicker winning the award once before when playing under 18 football. It didn't help his cause playing of the wing for a while last weekend.
Independent1
23 Jun 2008, 20:40
I was happy to let this one go and trust my own memory of the events that took place. Even received an invitation to Parkside as a guest of honor. So what you are saying is that the incident was mentioned in a match report written by Parkside and then taken further? Please explain.
Parkside submitted a written official complaint to the league, on paper, in pen and signed. The league passed it onto investigators who interviewed all parties involved and took statements from Parkside trainers and officials who said they witnessed the incident. Unfortunately none of their stories matched up!!! go figure....
D Ginola
23 Jun 2008, 21:18
Parkside submitted a written official complaint to the league, on paper, in pen and signed. The league passed it onto investigators who interviewed all parties involved and took statements from Parkside trainers and officials who said they witnessed the incident. Unfortunately none of their stories matched up!!! go figure....
Get back in your divy van you spotty dog nobody knows anything about it down the club
If so what are the names on the statements then ?
Are you serious ? I broke logans jaw after he hit me first & got 10 weeks when the umpires never saw it you go figure....
FiloBeddoe
23 Jun 2008, 23:38
Are you serious ? I broke logans jaw after he hit me first & got 10 weeks when the umpires never saw it you go figure....
Bale, a post a little while back claimed that one of the umpiring big cheeses reported you after witnessing it. You should know if he did or not because it would have come out at the tribunal. What's your memory of it?
Ginola, I'll say it again. None of us care whether Parkside laying the report was lagging or not. If they thought that it was a dog's act, then they were right in reporting it. It's called responsibility to the game and to your players. We're not in jail or involved in the Underbelly murders. It's footy. What if your kid got dropped behind play and the umpires didn't see it? You'd want the club members who did see it to do something about it. I'm not talking about finding the bloke in the car park and giving him a touch up.
Remember, I don't know much at all about the Logan incident so I can't comment on it.
Travvy43
24 Jun 2008, 00:44
Travvy you kicked 5 goals also, i didn't even realise that you could kick....
Good to see you back, and as for getting some feeling back, you guys really needed it, 2 weeks ago you guys played without any passion or enthusiasm.
If we can beat st.albans this week the kangas will be back in the 5 and then it's in your own hands.
The bolded statement above is correct. Much prefer to handball than kick however was lucky enough to get on the end of a few on the weekend.
The kangas playing finals in 08 is totally in our hands. That final two spots in the five are alive and up for grabs. GO KANGAS.
cork_in_the_ocean
24 Jun 2008, 09:23
yer had a pretty disapointing game in the 2s. so agree here with u wasn't a happy day at all.
Dont worry footstar hopefully you will be back up there soon so maybe i can move up the ground a bit lol...... I am STrugglin back there lol :thumbsu:
footy power
24 Jun 2008, 12:17
Anyone know when the cut off is to sign new players for this year? or get clearences through from another club?
Heard their still could be some movement at a few clubs..
Few clubs may have to recruit if they wish to get near colts and spotty.
playsnogood
24 Jun 2008, 12:49
Anyone know when the cut off is to sign new players for this year? or get clearences through from another club?
Heard their still could be some movement at a few clubs..
Few clubs may have to recruit if they wish to get near colts and spotty.
I think it is monday (june 30), but who would know with the WRFL because it could take them several weeks/months to process the paper work.
Any updates on Big Razors knee injury?
D Ginola
24 Jun 2008, 14:36
think they where R Spider Snr
R Spider Jnr
Rocky S
You are hilarious i never new those trainers you didnt mistake the spelling did you whilst your mouth was full :o
FiloBeddoe
24 Jun 2008, 18:12
You are hilarious i never new those trainers you didnt mistake the spelling did you whilst your mouth was full :o
Some things are better left unsaid.
vicki3013
24 Jun 2008, 19:33
never fill my mouth
Kozzis Dizzy
24 Jun 2008, 20:44
froze down at the colts on Saturday, have to say thought D Jacobs was a class above, yet didn't get in the best players according to the website.?.....kicked a magnificent goal, good to see players like him running around in the wrfl, very instructive on the field....what was your opinion Rock?
He was clearly our best player and is a class above, i wouldn't worry about whose names are or are not in the paper the bnf votes tell the real story.
Danny has been terrific, very instructive to players, and everyone listens to him, which shows how much the boys respect him. He is a pleasure to have around the club. Just not very good at team meetings....he is now banned........lol.
He is easily the best player i have played with and has more than helped with our big losses from last year.