View Full Version : Western Region Football League Team (Part 2)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36

Witts
24 Jun 2008, 21:58
He was clearly our best player and is a class above, i wouldn't worry about whose names are or are not in the paper the bnf votes tell the real story.
Danny has been terrific, very instructive to players, and everyone listens to him, which shows how much the boys respect him. He is a pleasure to have around the club. Just not very good at team meetings....he is now banned........lol.
He is easily the best player i have played with and has more than helped with our big losses from last year.

Interesting, care to elaborate?

Morning Glory
25 Jun 2008, 08:58
He was clearly our best player and is a class above, i wouldn't worry about whose names are or are not in the paper the bnf votes tell the real story.
Danny has been terrific, very instructive to players, and everyone listens to him, which shows how much the boys respect him. He is a pleasure to have around the club. Just not very good at team meetings....he is now banned........lol.
He is easily the best player i have played with and has more than helped with our big losses from last year.

He has been great for the league and when we played them was very sportsman like and even calmed a situation down that could of got out of hand. Not a big head at all and from what I heard from our blokes very constructive and positive on field (even to opposition but we were getting flogged).

ROCK07
25 Jun 2008, 09:56
Interesting, care to elaborate?

Just an inside joke.....

Witts
25 Jun 2008, 16:04
Just an inside joke.....

Fair enough. :thumbsu:

playsnogood
25 Jun 2008, 16:26
He has been great for the league and when we played them was very sportsman like and even calmed a situation down that could of got out of hand. Not a big head at all and from what I heard from our blokes very constructive and positive on field (even to opposition but we were getting flogged).

I know this sounds like a love in, but he would appear to be a champion bloke on and off the field, plays hard and plays the ball. No crap. Talks to everyone when we played him, and then had a beer and chat with a few locals after.... very classy individual.

thegeneral1965
25 Jun 2008, 19:00
Albions problems lie with the assistant coaches, gibbo and browny, a first year coach needs great sideline coaches, they are not. Your best onballer starting in the forward line( Turner)? When against the wind, your best player for inside 50's, (blake richards) is in the forward line, he should be where the ball is, not waiting for it to arrive. They are trying to outsmart themselves and have been shown to struggle with moves and tags. Albion are now not a contender for the flag, 2 100 point losses is hard to come back from, probably still the 3rd best team in the comp, but Savalas needs help to improve the team this year and next. A few players are not up to it, Caruso and stephens need time in the reserves and then maybe return, dixon is struggling, but with not much quality to pick from what can they do? Albion need to find 2 more touigh inside players to be a force, but its getting late this year.

cougarman
25 Jun 2008, 19:10
Flyinhigh keep on pumping port colts tyres up, they couldnt keep yp with albions youth and speed, jacobs was towelled by barker and with Richards, bettin and maybe hewitt back soon the cats will only get better.

Albions problems lie with the assistant coaches, gibbo and browny, a first year coach needs great sideline coaches, they are not. Your best onballer starting in the forward line( Turner)? When against the wind, your best player for inside 50's, (blake richards) is in the forward line, he should be where the ball is, not waiting for it to arrive. They are trying to outsmart themselves and have been shown to struggle with moves and tags. Albion are now not a contender for the flag, 2 100 point losses is hard to come back from, probably still the 3rd best team in the comp, but Savalas needs help to improve the team this year and next. A few players are not up to it, Caruso and stephens need time in the reserves and then maybe return, dixon is struggling, but with not much quality to pick from what can they do? Albion need to find 2 more touigh inside players to be a force, but its getting late this year.

change of heart in regards to the cats general1965

cork_in_the_ocean
25 Jun 2008, 20:16

Savalas to come back in this week will add a tough inside player and more on field leadership. Blake is just coming back from a fairly tricky injury and will only get better and maybe fenton to come back in sooner or later into the 1s so all is not lost and no need to write us off at third best side. Confidence is a funny thing though im sure everyone will agree and when we had it we were going exceptionally well and now we have lost a bit of it things are not coming as easy as they were first half of the year, but as many people have said time and time again on this thread it is a long season and there are still some games to go to get that much needed boost of confidence needed to match it with sides such as port and spotty. The key to the rest of the season for us and perhaps any team outside the 3 is to maintain a spot in the top 3. With the teams we have in the top 3 at the moment who ever finishes outside will more than likely have to play both port and spotty (and perhaps beat one of them twice) to have any chance to be premiers and i think that may be too much to ask for a side outside the 3 (this is just my opinion take it how you wish).

Just cant wait to see how it all unfolds now that we are coming to the business end of the season.

WRFLfan
25 Jun 2008, 20:29
Savalas to come back in this week will add a tough inside player and more on field leadership. Blake is just coming back from a fairly tricky injury and will only get better and maybe fenton to come back in sooner or later into the 1s so all is not lost and no need to write us off at third best side. Confidence is a funny thing though im sure everyone will agree and when we had it we were going exceptionally well and now we have lost a bit of it things are not coming as easy as they were first half of the year, but as many people have said time and time again on this thread it is a long season and there are still some games to go to get that much needed boost of confidence needed to match it with sides such as port and spotty. The key to the rest of the season for us and perhaps any team outside the 3 is to maintain a spot in the top 3. With the teams we have in the top 3 at the moment who ever finishes outside will more than likely have to play both port and spotty (and perhaps beat one of them twice) to have any chance to be premiers and i think that may be too much to ask for a side outside the 3 (this is just my opinion take it how you wish).

Just cant wait to see how it all unfolds now that we are coming to the business end of the season.

Confidence it takes weeks even months to build and only one week to lose

The Jacobs boys you will find a both great blokes on and off the field

albicat13
25 Jun 2008, 23:43

Are we all forgetting the cats were undefeated until a couple of weeks ago?? When the cats/spotty/colts are at their best who is the best side? Not sure how often it happens that the two teams playing on the day play their best but I would back the cats... The first time we played colts we didn't play our best but finished up with a 48 point win... This time round we broke down in our half forward line..

If Savalas had of played no doubt there would have been a different result. He provides the quick rebound (almost Mathew Scarlett like) where Albion didn't have that on Saturday. Maybe we wouldn't of won but definitely would not have be smashed like that. Whenever there was a turnover it was scrappy or players didn't feel confident enough to step up..

Albion are a young side and in my eyes I prefer that Albion has been put back in its place at this point in time rather than the first two weeks of the finals. We now know if we drop the ball the standard of our competitors means we will get smashed. However if we harness our concentration and efforts and use the last two weeks as a case study (of what happens when we slip) the cats will be fine!

Still think the Cats will make the granny :thumbsu:

FC Holden
26 Jun 2008, 00:01
buttina has one bad game and everyone gets on his back! He is clearly the most improved and inform player this year, and leading the leauge goalkicking shows just what a player he is, and is cruetal in albions lineup.

Agree with you on that, buttina has had a fantastic year, i just think he was beaten by a better player, even if was at his peak i would still back bonnett to beat him, buttina will still get the ton and good on him.

Totally agree with these sentiments. Butina has had an amazing year, and I believe that he will reach his ton and probably hold off Keenan to win the Top Goal Kicker. I think Butina is a very underated player, he has great ability and fantastic marking skills. I think the comments made about his weight on WYN were incredibily harsh, a few kilos in this game is very easy to lose. Albion would be in far worse off spot without Butina this year. He has contributed a great deal to their success.

Whether Albion as a team are still a flag contender I don't think that is in doubt. It has only been two loses, large loses true, but they can still claw back.

FiloBeddoe
26 Jun 2008, 01:18
Are we all forgetting the cats were undefeated until a couple of weeks ago?? When the cats/spotty/colts are at their best who is the best side? Not sure how often it happens that the two teams playing on the day play their best but I would back the cats... The first time we played colts we didn't play our best but finished up with a 48 point win... This time round we broke down in our half forward line..

If Savalas had of played no doubt there would have been a different result. He provides the quick rebound (almost Mathew Scarlett like) where Albion didn't have that on Saturday. Maybe we wouldn't of won but definitely would not have be smashed like that. Whenever there was a turnover it was scrappy or players didn't feel confident enough to step up..

Albion are a young side and in my eyes I prefer that Albion has been put back in its place at this point in time rather than the first two weeks of the finals. We now know if we drop the ball the standard of our competitors means we will get smashed. However if we harness our concentration and efforts and use the last two weeks as a case study (of what happens when we slip) the cats will be fine!

Nobody has forgotten about Albion being undefeated up until the Spotty game. Now starts the business end of the season where early season glory counts for conversations at the bar (and on the net) and that's about it. The cats came up against Spotty and didn't fire a shot. Two huge losses against two contenders would mean that predictions of playing off in a Grand Final are a touch premature. I wouldn't back anyone at this point.

It's pretty difficult to dissect such a big loss. I'm not saying that Albion are finished, not by a long shot. A 20 goal turn around probably points to two things. 1) Colts are on a roll and gradually building up full steam 2) Albion lost the game above the shoulders. You can't do much about number 1 because they are probably the hardest side to stop when they get rolling. As for number 2, only your boys know how to stop that from happening again. I reckon you'd have to beat Spotty convincingly in the return game at Albion.

Nothing against Savalas but he most likely wouldn't have made a significant difference. Certainly plays the game well and does provide quick rebound but Colts would've had enough blokes on the day to give him a headache rather than the other way around.

All that aside, makes for a bloody interesting season, spewin I can't get a live feed of the match of the round when I'm out of Melbourne.

ROCK07
26 Jun 2008, 08:20

One player no matter how good he is would not have made a difference to the result last week. We also had a few missing and one was our best player against albion last time.
Albion have a great midfield and their back line is fair especially with savalas running off h/back, however their fwd line is their major concern especially if buttina doesn't fire, i think they mite be better off playing barker as another deep forward.
As i said the blow out margin is not a true reflection how the sides compare and i still think the cats will finish top 3 but do gace some big games hoppers (away) and spotty (home) and then we will all know what impact they will have come finals time.

BEAZER
26 Jun 2008, 09:46

Im sure there was a reason for these moves and how long were they in those positions for? Not sure about Gibbo but Browny knows his football better than most. Whether these decisions were right or wrong, Id suggest they have gotten it right more often than not this year. This is exactly what people mean about Albion being their own worst enemies, they have 2 losses and start pointing the finger. Surely those 2 moves didnt equate to a 100 point loss? And are they a different coach from when they beat Port earlier in the year by 7 goals? And likewise back then, they probably werent the reason they won by 7 goals. Sideline coaches may influence games in 1 way or another but they arent the difference between winning and losing by 100 points.

ROCK07
26 Jun 2008, 16:54
Well another round where only 1 game looks to a contest, the colts v st.albans.
We have a poor record at the saints home ground so we are really looking to improve on that and hopefully they are close to full strength, they will need swadiak, hollow and bakolas in to make a game of it, so hopefully they are for the leagues sake.
BRAINS/ARC will you guys have all your big guns available,
if so should be a good contest the saints have embaressed us a few times at their ground.

thegeneral1965
26 Jun 2008, 18:27

Ok harsh on browny, not laying blame on turner or richards, but stephens and caruso just arent up to it, M. Bettin didnt get much time his frist game back, he has class and will put his head over the ball!

FiloBeddoe
26 Jun 2008, 23:38
Ok harsh on browny, not laying blame on turner or richards, but stephens and caruso just arent up to it, M. Bettin didnt get much time his frist game back, he has class and will put his head over the ball!

How's young magna going? Better than Stephens?

addorable
27 Jun 2008, 11:01
just had a look on wrfl website noticed a few late clearance applications put in to spotswood, C Urch,C Beasley,S Tobin,I Allen,

ROCK07
27 Jun 2008, 11:59
just had a look on wrfl website noticed a few late clearance applications put in to spotswood, C Urch,C Beasley,S Tobin,I Allen,

Well urchy has put in to be cleared to darley, scratcher would probably play two's as would tobin i think, beazer would be of good value but he is still putting a good player out and maybe even someone with a bit more pace, so i don't think that it will make them alot better at senior level, however it gives them a greater amount of depth and it will be very hard for others to knock off their reserves.

vicki3013
27 Jun 2008, 13:37
Well urchy has put in to be cleared to darley, scratcher would probably play two's as would tobin i think, beazer would be of good value but he is still putting a good player out and maybe even someone with a bit more pace, so i don't think that it will make them alot better at senior level, however it gives them a greater amount of depth and it will be very hard for others to knock off their reserves.

could make it alot harder for some off the younger ones to get a game off footy,

brains01
27 Jun 2008, 14:21
Well another round where only 1 game looks to a contest, the colts v st.albans.
We have a poor record at the saints home ground so we are really looking to improve on that and hopefully they are close to full strength, they will need swadiak, hollow and bakolas in to make a game of it, so hopefully they are for the leagues sake.
BRAINS/ARC will you guys have all your big guns available,
if so should be a good contest the saints have embaressed us a few times at their ground.
Should be an interesting game between St Albans and Port.
St Albans do have a very undermanned side and are playing alot of young blokes with pace but port have struggled everytime they venture to kings park.
Apart from this game every other game is one sided.

av07
27 Jun 2008, 14:30
St Albans do have a very undermanned side and are playing alot of long blokes with pace but port have struggled everytime they venture to kings park.

i wouldn't say that stalbans port is the only game to worry about. Altona do play very good football against albion and showed it both last year losing by a kick and this year being up at half time to get beaten by 8 goals.
we are a redhot dip and if we can cover buttina and lock savalos out the game we can take the points and really shake up albions year.

DaVinci
27 Jun 2008, 14:30

Well ROCK looks like neither of us got him. I saw him a few weeks ago and he said he wasn't happy down at willy and he was playing in the 2's. I wouldn't have thought that he would need a clearance after being at AFL level for 5 years. Unless he registered himself with Spotty when he signed with willy??

ROCK07
27 Jun 2008, 14:50
i wouldn't say that stalbans port is the only game to worry about. Altona do play very good football against albion and showed it both last year losing by a kick and this year being up at half time to get beaten by 8 goals.
we are a redhot dip and if we can cover buttina and lock savalos out the game we can take the points and really shake up albions year.

Altona are no chance will not get with in 10 goals

ROCK07
27 Jun 2008, 14:54
Well ROCK looks like neither of us got him. I saw him a few weeks ago and he said he wasn't happy down at willy and he was playing in the 2's. I wouldn't have thought that he would need a clearance after being at AFL level for 5 years. Unless he registered himself with Spotty when he signed with willy??

Yes i think he is more frustrated with his body and particular hisdodgy hammy, hopefully it comes good and he sticks it out with willie, his best isa senior player there no ressies.
If he does leave it would be hard for colts or spotty to pay him, you cant blame him for chasing a quid,

ROCK07
27 Jun 2008, 14:55
St Albans do have a very undermanned side and are playing alot of long blokes with pace but port have struggled everytime they venture to kings park.

I wouldn't say we have struggled every time but not our best ground, however you will see a much improved colts performance... we will be prepared mentally.
GO COLTS!!!!!

av07
27 Jun 2008, 15:00
Altona are no chance will not get with in 10 goals
we played albion round 3, they won the first 9 games of the year. got within 10 goals then and they were in form.
Now the cats no form at all, we match up good with them and it will be a good game, it should be match of the round in my opinion as the colts smashed saints last time by 15 goals.

As i said if we stop buttina up forward and savarlos down back/midfield we will go very close some young guns in pace and shields(probably will win rookie of the year) they are very hard to stop so it will be interesting game. Corey thomas isn't playing either. we are back to full strength after a few poor games

av07
27 Jun 2008, 15:03
after 11 games of footy the ladder will look a little like this at the end of the season
1colts/Spotty
2colts/spotty ( who ever wins that game 1st)
3hoppers
4sunshine
5albion
6stalbans
7altona
8glenorden
9westfootscray
10yarraville

flyinhigh
27 Jun 2008, 15:09
sunshine have , west,yarra,albion,spotty,altona in the next 5. do have the ability to win all 5 games and be 11-5 going into round 17. stalbans and hoppers to lose a few more in the next month. 3rd spot could be a brimbank showdown between the cats and the roos!

ROCK07
27 Jun 2008, 15:11
we played albion round 3, they won the first 9 games of the year. got within 10 goals then and they were in form.
Now the cats no form at all, we match up good with them and it will be a good game, it should be match of the round in my opinion as the colts smashed saints last time by 15 goals.

As i said if we stop buttina up forward and savarlos down back/midfield we will go very close some young guns in pace and shields(probably will win rookie of the year) they are very hard to stop so it will be interesting game. Corey thomas isn't playing either. we are back to full strength after a few poor games

This is what i was more worrie about , your form has been terrible, colts beat you by 140pts and the west almos got you.
If you are in good form and bck to full strength it may be a contest closer than prediced butthe cats will win still.

playsnogood
27 Jun 2008, 16:52
[/b]

This is what i was more worrie about , your form has been terrible, colts beat you by 140pts and the west almos got you.
If you are in good form and bck to full strength it may be a contest closer than prediced butthe cats will win still.

Is the game at Altona? if so, depending on which ground they are on, they would be a chance. Albions attempt at a full ground zone will allow the Vikings to kick easy goals out of defence, as they carried it pretty well in a few games.

justwanted2say
27 Jun 2008, 17:28
Is the game at Altona? if so, depending on which ground they are on, they would be a chance. Albions attempt at a full ground zone will allow the Vikings to kick easy goals out of defence, as they carried it pretty well in a few games.

The game is at Albion. Sorry Altona not this time. But you are the best of the worst.

WRFLfan
27 Jun 2008, 19:02
Yes i think he is more frustrated with his body and particular hisdodgy hammy, hopefully it comes good and he sticks it out with willie, his best isa senior player there no ressies.
If he does leave it would be hard for colts or spotty to pay him, you cant blame him for chasing a quid,
Darley requested him to choose them as a second club, but will never get him. Willy wont let him go.
Albion will be breathing fire and will smack Altona(sorry) they are a better sid ethan last weeks score line alot of quality players down. And some strange coachin moves, also injuries. Its not an easy away game Colts, they need Fenton back and Turner giving them first use . Like always Tymms gives his all Albion need more of him.

obe1
27 Jun 2008, 19:10
St Albans do have a very undermanned side and are playing a lot of young blokes with pace but port have struggled everytime they venture to kings park.

Your correct Brains, its sure to be interesting one way or another.

With Bakoulis being overseas and Swadiaks knee still crook your younger blokes will really have to stand up. You loose another one of your better players overseas next week too dont you?

Hollow back in will help strengthen your midfield but you will still be a little undermanned in this division. Not too sure of the fellas correct name but he was one of your better players the last time we meet...xureb ( at a guess) my mail is he too is out?

Perhaps you can kick 10 to save the day??

av07
27 Jun 2008, 19:14
Darley requested him to choose them as a second club, but will never get him. Willy wont let him go.
Albion will be breathing fire and will smack Altona(sorry) they are a better sid ethan last weeks score line alot of quality players down. And some strange coachin moves, also injuries. Its not an easy away game Colts, they need Fenton back and Turner giving them first use . Like always Tymms gives his all Albion need more of him.

i hope we can prove you wrong tomorrow and cause the upset of the year to date. really shake that 3rd spot.
Turner has been in the side hasn't he? does anyone know outs and ins for albion?

obe1
27 Jun 2008, 19:14
As i said if we stop button up forward and savalas down back/midfield we will go very close some young guns in pace and shields(probably will win rookie of the year) they are very hard to stop so it will be interesting game. Corey Thomas isn't playing either. we are back to full strength after a few poor games

There's no harm in being confident and the above points if carried out will give you every chance of a win.

The thing is now that you have talked the talk, its time to walk the walk.

Good Luck.

obe1
27 Jun 2008, 19:18
i hope we can prove you wrong tomorrow and cause the upset of the year to date. really shake that 3rd spot.
Turner has been in the side hasn't he? does anyone know outs and ins for Albion?

I would say Zavalas in for sure , Fenton played his first game in the reserves last week and maybe a chance, Kncenivic went off early and may be doubtful along with the bloke who plays fullback.

cookie33
28 Jun 2008, 11:14
sunshine have , west,yarra,albion,spotty,altona in the next 5. do have the ability to win all 5 games and be 11-5 going into round 17. stalbans and hoppers to lose a few more in the next month. 3rd spot could be a brimbank showdown between the cats and the roos!

Kidding your self, Sunshine are by far the worst mob chasing a finals spot. They will lose to Albion by 4 or 5 goals and Spotty by 15+ and get over the line against Altona by 6 or 7, the rest are gimmes. they will wib 3 out of 5.

thegeneral1965
28 Jun 2008, 12:33
How's young magna going? Better than Stephens?
Magna played well early but his dropped off and so was he, he's back this week but really needs to show something to stay in.

future29
29 Jun 2008, 00:20
cum on av chill a little mate. we wil be a force but give it a few more years. We do match up very well against albion , but we just need a few years for our youngens to develop. speaking on that whose the fav for the rookie of the year??? surely altona would have to have a few up there ????

grizzley
29 Jun 2008, 09:26
A top win to the goat hearders they could be the big smokey's this year,rock you were right they are always hard to beat at home.Will this loss have any bearing on the top five

ROCK07
29 Jun 2008, 13:35
A top win to the goat hearders they could be the big smokey's this year,rock you were right they are always hard to beat at home.Will this loss have any bearing on the top five

Well i think it has secured the saints in that 5th position, and the colts will have to win either against spotty or hoppers to make sure they hold on to top 3.
It was a good win for the saints, i feel they were more desperate at the contest for pretty much all game and deserved the win more than us, even though we were in front for 98%, but for some reason we just can't take the saints at home and it seems a bit the other way we they come to our ground, as we seem to touch them up on our home turf. very easily......footy alot is between the ears.
Looking fwd to having a crack at spotty this week on their turf, i can guarantee it will be a much more hungrier and desperate team than yesterday.

secure38
29 Jun 2008, 14:32
Any word on the condition of Chris Murphy and the fall out from the spotty and glenorden game? From all reports a very ugly scene that would set the league back 10 years? If what I hear is correct it is an absolute disgrace what transpired yesterday

FiloBeddoe
29 Jun 2008, 17:51
Any word on the condition of Chris Murphy and the fall out from the spotty and glenorden game? From all reports a very ugly scene that would set the league back 10 years? If what I hear is correct it is an absolute disgrace what transpired yesterday

The way in which the league reacts to this will be very important. If they do nothing, then we are back more than ten years.

You run the risk of people not wanting to take families to the local footy. The League's response will need to be fast and furious. I'm not confident that any punishment given to people regardless of which club will be harsh enough. A damn shame considering many of us enjoy watching our local sides rather than fight the masses at an AFL game.

The details I have are sketchy though. Has anyone got a run down on what happened?

AsIseeit
29 Jun 2008, 18:05
The way in which the league reacts to this will be very important. If they do nothing, then we are back more than ten years.

You run the risk of people not wanting to take families to the local footy. The League's response will need to be fast and furious. I'm not confident that any punishment given to people regardless of which club will be harsh enough. A damn shame considering many of us enjoy watching our local sides rather than fight the masses at an AFL game.

The details I have are sketchy though. Has anyone got a run down on what happened?

As i saw it. Them seemed to be a fair bit of banter between Spotswood players and Genordon supporters behind the goals at the club room ends. This then in turn resulted in Spotswood supporters to throw abuse back which then resulted in a crowd scuffle with Chris Murphy being hit several times, that person is known but will remain nameless on this forum. To the credit of Spotswood supporters they attempted to pull away there supporters in an attempt to diffuse the situation. It was a dark day for Glenordon just as they were building up a rep in div one this occurred. Glenordon supporters were a disgrace and the club itself should take it upon themselves to discipline those involved. Again to the credit of spotswood they still went into the rooms for a drink.

These incidents are beginning to occur to often and it is time that the league stop worrying about survival and start creating a league that is worth having. The league needs to take responsibility for this as much as anyone!!!

AsIseeit
29 Jun 2008, 18:08
On footy matters Spotswood look the clear favourites with colts dropping to St Albans next week colts vs spotty will be massive with colts trying to sneak a game back and continue to revenge last years GF and spotty will want to account for the last 6 point loss.

bloods05
29 Jun 2008, 18:10

Well fill us in what happened ????,by the way good win to st alban's yesterday,some thing's never change Brain's your ________ supporter's,are they true supporter's for your club or just home game maggot's.

bloods05
29 Jun 2008, 18:16
As i saw it. Them seemed to be a fair bit of banter between Spotswood players and Genordon supporters behind the goals at the club room ends. This then in turn resulted in Spotswood supporters to throw abuse back which then resulted in a crowd scuffle with Chris Murphy being hit several times, that person is known but will remain nameless on this forum. To the credit of Spotswood supporters they attempted to pull away there supporters in an attempt to diffuse the situation. It was a dark day for Glenordon just as they were building up a rep in div one this occurred. Glenordon supporters were a disgrace and the club itself should take it upon themselves to discipline those involved. Again to the credit of spotswood they still went into the rooms for a drink.

These incidents are beginning to occur to often and it is time that the league stop worrying about survival and start creating a league that is worth having. The league needs to take responsibility for this as much as anyone!!!

Why is this Murphy being named was he a player or watching the game,you must be gagging about Spotty pulling their supporter's back they would have been shitting brick's and glad it never got out of hand.

Witts
29 Jun 2008, 18:39
Murphy is the president of Spotswood.

Saw him this afternoon, his left eye is closed over - massive shiner.

The way I hear it, a Spotswood player ran into an open goal, kicking it just above the fence (accidentally, definitely not on purpose) and hitting a Glenorden supporter standing behind the goal - this didn't go down too well, and words were exchanged.

Ray Jensen, who wasn't playing, tried to diffuse the situation, and got abused for his trouble - next thing, Murphy's in there & two Glenorden players jumped the fence and started giving it to him.

This is not an eyewitness account, I was not at the game - this is what I've heard.

Travvy43
29 Jun 2008, 18:52

What would you like to see the league do?

Would be good to see some dot points on how they could handle this issue.

No idea what happened, how the incident evolved or who was involved. However i that probably more so the club need to take responsibility for the incident and put into place actions that ensure incidents of that nature do not occur again.

Witts
29 Jun 2008, 18:54

No idea what happened, how the incident evolved or who was involved. However i that probably more so the club need to take responsibility for the incident and put into place actions that ensure incidents of that nature do not occur again.

If my account is right, ie the two players jumping the fence - that effectively means they cannot play again in that match, no?

red devil1
29 Jun 2008, 21:02

You looking for a Powerpoint presentation Travvy?:) If two players jumped the fence then of course the league has to get involved.

AsIseeit
29 Jun 2008, 22:00
You looking for a Powerpoint presentation Travvy?:) If two players jumped the fence then of course the league has to get involved.

No players jumped the fence. But the ball being kicked into a spectator was an accident. Ray did very well in an attempt to break it up and actually copped won for his effort, to his credit he told the bloke to get f____d and and laughed it off. Goes to show all you guys who get on his case that he is a bigger man than you give him credit. As for spotty people being scared i think this issue goes beyond that and the fact that supporters were willing to step in to break it up while certain cowards through punches while guys were occupied with trying to break it up is a disgrace. Shame on those supporters wanna be heroes.

As for ways to deal with this here are some possible solutions.

An agreement needs to be made with the league and the clubs that security or officials should be present at all games. I'm aware this is an added expense but instead of knocking the idea down lets work out a solution to make it happen.
Even if possible 2 police officers at the ground could even help alcohol abuse.

Just in the same way in which clubs provide a time keeper they should have to provide a camera person to tape the game. All grounds should have a central position where these cameras are set up such as the wing. This allows for good video positioning.

Lets not just sit and write off all solutions and find reasons why we can't deal with them. Lets start cleaning up the league cause with the way some score lines are and with incidents like these we will only go backwards.
To for the league to start stepping up to the plate and stop being soft!!

Bale
29 Jun 2008, 22:52
No players jumped the fence. But the ball being kicked into a spectator was an accident. Ray did very well in an attempt to break it up and actually copped won for his effort, to his credit he told the bloke to get f____d and and laughed it off. Goes to show all you guys who get on his case that he is a bigger man than you give him credit. As for spotty people being scared i think this issue goes beyond that and the fact that supporters were willing to step in to break it up while certain cowards through punches while guys were occupied with trying to break it up is a disgrace. Shame on those supporters wanna be heroes.

An agreement needs to be made with the league and the clubs that security or officials should be present at all games. I'm aware this is an added expense but instead of knocking the idea down lets work out a solution to make it happen.

Just in the same way in which clubs provide a time keeper they should have to provide a camera person to tape the game. All grounds should have a central position where these cameras are set up such as the wing. This allows for good video positioning.

Lets not just sit and write off all solutions and find reasons why we can't deal with them. Lets start cleaning up the league cause with the way some score lines are and with incidents like these we will only go backwards.

I think the cost would be the problem to have 2 police officers at each game unless your spotty or YC who have plenty of the boys in blue at there clubs :thumbsd:

FiloBeddoe
29 Jun 2008, 22:55
Why is this Murphy being named was he a player or watching the game,you must be gagging about Spotty pulling their supporter's back they would have been shitting brick's and glad it never got out of hand.

Bloods. It did get out of hand.

Shitting bricks is a fair alternative to the situation getting to the point where a hundred people are involved and some poor bastard gets booted to death in the frenzy. We see it in international soccer where spectators get caught up in the heat of a large brawl and someone either dies or ends up in a coma.
From what I hear, anyone trying to diffuse it was in a bit of strife. No use having a large set of chops when their lying underneath a hospital gown.

Thunderball
29 Jun 2008, 22:57

Wrong - 2 players jumped the fence as per umpire's report - tribunal an/or League to deal with as a matter of course

Jensen struck by "fridge" - Glenorden Captains (who was not playing)brother - Police and league to investigate

Murphy hit from behind by Glenorden Captain and his brother (see above)- Police and League to investigate

Glenorden to suspend their Captain !! and ban his brother from attending games until at least the end of the season - WRFL Radio show broadcasting from there next week !!

Footy - Spotty v PMC this week. No AFL or VFL games so should be a big crowd at McLean Reserve. StAlbans v Hoppers Xing as well. Both games to have a bearing on the makeup of the final 5.

Thunderball
29 Jun 2008, 23:01
Wrong - 2 players jumped the fence as per umpire's report - tribunal an/or League to deal with as a matter of course

Jensen struck by "fridge" - Glenorden Captains (who was not playing)brother - Police and league to investigate

Murphy hit from behind by Glenorden Captain and his brother (see above)- Police and League to investigate

Glenorden to suspend their Captain !! and ban his brother from attending games until at least the end of the season - WRFL Radio show broadcasting from there next week !!

Footy - Spotty v PMC this week. No AFL or VFL games so should be a big crowd at McLean Reserve. StAlbans v Hoppers Xing as well. Both games to have a bearing on the makeup of the final 5.

Sorry - forgot to mention - Glenorden Shit can make their own arrangements while the finals are on - Maybe a busload to visit their mates at Barwon Prison !!

Thunderball
29 Jun 2008, 23:04
Sorry - forgot to mention - Glenorden Shit can make their own arrangements while the finals are on - Maybe a busload to visit their mates at Barwon Prison !!

Sorry again - forgot to wish the personal from the Radio show all the best for the game on Saturday, particularly if Altona (as expected) are winning.

FiloBeddoe
29 Jun 2008, 23:06

This gets a touch worse as more details come out. The league wont take too kindly to a registered player/captain getting involved. Then again, knowing the league, he'll get the ol 'naughty boy' couple of weeks.

Travvy43
29 Jun 2008, 23:11

Many of the suggestions that have been raised cost money and i am sure the league does not have a stack of money to throw around. If some of these strategies were put into place it would probably mean increased league affiliation fees for clubs and that would then mean increased membership fees for players.

Club themselves should be taking an active role in ensuring events of this nature dont take place.

EG
If there are alcohol abuse issues, committees should be enforcing the responsible service of alcohol.

If all clubs take a role in filtering out the badly behaved, then it will be for the betterment of the league.

RED DEVIL

Agree.. if players jumped the fence or an umpire was abused some way off field in the clubrooms then the league should get involved. However a fight between supporters off the ground is predominately a club issue. The league may follow up with the club for a bit of a "Please explain" (in want of a different phrase) to ensure the issue has been dealt with a strategies have been put in place for it not to occur again.

Also to Red Devil.... good to see you back posting after 7 days off.

beeroclock
29 Jun 2008, 23:18
So sick of people calling spotty soft. I was at the game against glenorden & right from the start glenorden tried to ruff spotty up. Spotty never took a back step & when given cheap shots like soft cowards do when players head over ball ,would stand up & give back to glenorden players to there face. Spotty footy club attract good footballers to there club to play football not to start fights or give cheap shots, thats why they been so successfull for so many years. What happened on weekend was a disgrace & should never of happened, i just hope that glenorden make the right decision & penalise the people involved because if they ever want to become succussful in division 1 & gain respect then it needs to start now. We dont need this shit in our comp anymore.

beeroclock
29 Jun 2008, 23:28
Bale im sick of hearing you call spotty players copper dogs or laggers, just name 1 player who is a cop at spotty. There use to be a few & i can tell you they where prob the better blokes at the club. Time to move on bale those days are well past.

future29
30 Jun 2008, 00:59

VFL play this week mate

FiloBeddoe
30 Jun 2008, 02:00
Many of the suggestions that have been raised cost money and i am sure the league does not have a stack of money to throw around. If some of these strategies were put into place it would probably mean increased league affiliation fees for clubs and that would then mean increased membership fees for players.

Club themselves should be taking an active role in ensuring events of this nature dont take place.

EG
If there are alcohol abuse issues, committees should be enforcing the responsible service of alcohol.

If all clubs take a role in filtering out the badly behaved, then it will be for the betterment of the league.

RED DEVIL

Agree.. if players jumped the fence or an umpire was abused some way off field in the clubrooms then the league should get involved. However a fight between supporters off the ground is predominately a club issue. The league may follow up with the club for a bit of a "Please explain" (in want of a different phrase) to ensure the issue has been dealt with a strategies have been put in place for it not to occur again.

Also to Red Devil.... good to see you back posting after 7 days off.

Trav
Clubs can conveniently sweep situations like this under the carpet. Many pass it off as the booze and then continue to serve it irresponsibly. It's all about the dollars and some clubs have no choice. Crowd and supporter behavior is more than likely going to become a league issue as the attempts to clean up the image of local footy becomes more of a priority.

Orden have taken some big steps in the last couple of years. They have some good people there and it would be a shame if nothing comes out of this and there's a repeat of it in the future. Make no mistake, the league will have to step in or be seen as irrelevant.

Thunderball
30 Jun 2008, 08:22
VFL play this week mate

Thanks for the correction. Yes only Port Melbourne v Bendigo play on the Saturday so should be a few interested people from the likes of Williamstown and Werribee

grizzley
30 Jun 2008, 10:00

How would you go in a jack shop thunderball singing like a canary you known dog let the club & league handle it.Are you 30/30 in disguise looking for another payout you rat

brains01
30 Jun 2008, 10:01
Well fill us in what happened ????,by the way good win to st alban's yesterday,some thing's never change Brain's your ________ supporter's,are they true supporter's for your club or just home game maggot's.
I am not going to defend our supporters because they should be gracious in victory and defeat but in all honesty it was a couple of old drunk guys who were mouthing off and for port supporters and injured players to go over there was only going to start trouble.
we have coped it over the years about our supporters not travelling to away games but i didnt see many supporters from port there on Saturday, so i guess it is a common theme with most clubs.
our supporters a little unfairly have the worst rep in the league but i can remember reading on here that ports crowd gave it to spootty when they beat them at the start of the year but spotty were man enough to walk away.
i am not defending our supporters actions in any way.

about the game anyway it was a good hard game off footy with both teams wasting some opportunities in front of goal but in the end we were just lucky enough to be in front at the final siren.
better players for both sides were St Albans were Aguis,Brown,Hollow and Port Jacobs and young Campbell looked good

av07
30 Jun 2008, 10:07
ok, so albion beat us by 50 points. I don't think the final score reflected on the way we played as a team. We made many errors and Albion cleaned up on that.
the second quarter really hurt us on the scoreboard where we allowed 9 goals to be scored however we won the second half which shows Albion can't run away with games.

Thunderball
30 Jun 2008, 10:29
How would you go in a jack shop thunderball singing like a canary you known dog let the club & league handle it.Are you 30/30 in disguise looking for another payout you rat
Grizzley, thanks for your insightful and well worded retort. Better to post the facts than some of the previous inaccuracies. You are right though, let the League handle it.

Bale
30 Jun 2008, 10:42
Bale im sick of hearing you call spotty players copper dogs or laggers, just name 1 player who is a cop at spotty. There use to be a few & i can tell you they where prob the better blokes at the club. Time to move on bale those days are well past.

Yeah M D , your president & your a copper dog
& im sure theres plenty more down there i even heard spotty offered c nixon a 3 year deal she should be a great adittion come finals time

playsnogood
30 Jun 2008, 10:44
Crowd violence should not be tolerated and all matters should be investigated fully and where possible criminal charges should follow. It isn't part of the game. But due to the courts being soft, the league has to be tough!!!
Glenorden were an incident waiting to happen, there have been several close calls where supporters have approached opposing teams at the breaks and after the games hurling abuse at them and being confrontational.
An incident while slightly more severe occurred several years ago in a country league, where there was an all in brawl prior to the match commencing, players and crowd involved and the game was called off. As a result the league kicked the team out! They had half a year off, won an appeal and got back in, but it made them clean up their supporters.
Banning supporters from going onto the ground would be a start.
You won't get police to alot of games as according to the papers, there are none!
Security may help, but I doubt it.
Taking a strong handed approach and banning the team for the rest of the season could send a very strong message. Giving the seniors a year off would be severe but if it happened again could be called for.
Not doing something would make the league responsible for any incidents that happen in the future, and they will happen.
There is nothing wrong with being passionate for your club, but if you use it as a way to release some stress, cos your missus left you when you yelled or belted her, then perhaps you need help from a higher authority!

cork_in_the_ocean
30 Jun 2008, 11:09
we were also very disapointing on saturday lucky to win in the end. we played just over a quarter of good football, credit to west footscray though they stood tall and will be good in the next few years. does anyone give altona reserves a crack at the flag this year? just outside the 5 with a few players to come in and a few under 18s maybe to get into the mix?? with a very high percentage, with hoppers crossing, albion, glenorden in the nesxt three we could be sitting in the top 3.

Wrong again av07. stop gettin ahead of yourself mate

secure38
30 Jun 2008, 11:29
Crowd violence should not be tolerated and all matters should be investigated fully and where possible criminal charges should follow. It isn't part of the game. But due to the courts being soft, the league has to be tough!!!
Glenorden were an incident waiting to happen, there have been several close calls where supporters have approached opposing teams at the breaks and after the games hurling abuse at them and being confrontational.
An incident while slightly more severe occurred several years ago in a country league, where there was an all in brawl prior to the match commencing, players and crowd involved and the game was called off. As a result the league kicked the team out! They had half a year off, won an appeal and got back in, but it made them clean up their supporters.
Banning supporters from going onto the ground would be a start.
You won't get police to alot of games as according to the papers, there are none!
Security may help, but I doubt it.
Taking a strong handed approach and banning the team for the rest of the season could send a very strong message. Giving the seniors a year off would be severe but if it happened again could be called for.
Not doing something would make the league responsible for any incidents that happen in the future, and they will happen.
There is nothing wrong with being passionate for your club, but if you use it as a way to release some stress, cos your missus left you when you yelled or belted her, then perhaps you need help from a higher authority!
At $40.00 bucks an hour x 4 minimum. $640 plus each week. Cheaper than the coppers but how clubs can come up with that amount every week? Although I'm willing to negotiate on prices. ha ha:thumbsu:

FiloBeddoe
30 Jun 2008, 11:29

Grizzley. Years ago clubs and leagues were trusted to control their crowds and it didn't work. The dollar overrides sensible decision making. Why else would clubs set up make shift bars outside the club rooms? From all reports this wasn't two groups of supporters having a dust up. As a club, you can't ban anyone from turning to council park lands to watch a game of footy or drink their own beer while they're doing it. I'm sure the Glenorden will deal with it as best they can but their best won't stop this from happening again once blokes have had a skin full. I'd hate to see us go down the line of the VAFA a few years back and ban alcohol from games but it's a possibility.

Dogs, singing like a canary, rats, payouts? This aint Underbelly or the God Father. Clubs have been too soft in the past, haven't rid themselves of trouble makers or done enough to discourage bad behavior. Most of those clubs could be struggling too survive, playing in a crap division or aren't around anymore.

table tennis
30 Jun 2008, 11:54
On a completley different note: with the split round and interstate footy games in the AFL, again, the WRFL is presented with a chance to host a Division one night game on Friday or Saturday night.

What is the main deterant for this not going ahead as they have proven to be highly successful.

Most Division one clubs have the facilities. Why not use them. Im sure that the clubs involved would be better off and it would make for a good spectacle.

tubber
30 Jun 2008, 12:32
At $40.00 bucks an hour x 4 minimum. $640 plus each week. Cheaper than the coppers but how clubs can come up with that amount every week? Although I'm willing to negotiate on prices. ha ha:thumbsu:
From what I understand of the league most clubs come up with significants amount of $$ to pay their players each week. If clubs truly want to support the development of the sport and the league maybe clubs need to prioritise their spending and take security seriously. Am sick of hearing clubs crying poor, wanting councils to provide better lights and other facilities for them yet are irresponsible in paying overrated hacks to play football. Its a catch 22 I know as clubs need to spend to remain competitive - reinforces the argument for league salary cap/points system

table tennis
30 Jun 2008, 13:01
From what I understand of the league most clubs come up with significants amount of $$ to pay their players each week. If clubs truly want to support the development of the sport and the league maybe clubs need to prioritise their spending and take security seriously. Am sick of hearing clubs crying poor, wanting councils to provide better lights and other facilities for them yet are irresponsible in paying overrated hacks to play football. Its a catch 22 I know as clubs need to spend to remain competitive - reinforces the argument for league salary cap/points system

Dont think the points/ salary cap would work, but if a club spends the money on security and gets a safer and more enjoyable feel to the club, a few more people might go and watch. Maybe a few more women and childeren, and maybe that short term pain of spending could turn into a long term gain??? maybe...

long and direct
30 Jun 2008, 13:30
well done to west footscray on the weekend keeping the margin under 200 points. 200 points certainly looks a lot worse than 199. well done. maybe the 3 players left from last year are still celebrating.

beeroclock
30 Jun 2008, 14:13
& im sure theres plenty more down there i even heard spotty offered c nixon a 3 year deal she should be a great adittion come finals time

Bale, i'm sorry if this dissapoints you but there isn't 1 cop playing for spotty, i know who you are refering to but think you may find this guy may not be servicing at moment, not that it should matter anyway but to you obviously does. So maybe you can move on from these comments. I'm sure it wont take you long to find something else to refer to spotty fc. Yeah spotty signed c nixon up just before clearances closed, going to play her out of goal square next to crackers, wont be able to tell them apart.

LeoRules
30 Jun 2008, 18:01
not good when president of club wants to sweep it under the carpet like nothing has happened ??? was standing close by when he said DONT WORRY ABOUT IT JUST LET IT GO...... FINE EXAMPLE HE IS SETTING.... wouldn't want to take your family to that ground unless you are FERRAL!!!

Nighthawk08
30 Jun 2008, 20:37
get a grip Bale Glenorden HAVE AND WILL ALWAYS BE A DIV.2 team thats where sh1tness belongs!!!!

Nighthawk08
30 Jun 2008, 20:41
If the league had any BALLS it would take action! the league just keeps loosing it, first it let a player who attacked an umpire, go from life ban to 12 months to 12 weeks...whats it coming too???? The League is also to blame here!

PAUL3232
30 Jun 2008, 21:06
Heard that the Spotty Prez was going to get scans on his eye today, and then going to the police station to report this matter.
Can anyone confirm this, this was coming from someone who spoke to him yesterday at junior footy Very upset of the incident was full of praise for Big Razor for the way he tried to handle the situation.

inka
30 Jun 2008, 21:32
ok, so albion beat us by 50 points. I don't think the final score reflected on the way we played as a team. We made many errors and Albion cleaned up on that.
the second quarter really hurt us on the scoreboard where we allowed 9 goals to be scored however we won the second half which shows Albion can't run away with games.

spot on nerd!:thumbsd:

Astro5
30 Jun 2008, 21:47
razor was good in the way he handle himself but i thought the two blokes that helped out chris murphy need some kind of reward

Bale
30 Jun 2008, 21:51
Heard that the Spotty Prez was going to get scans on his eye today, and then going to the police station to report this matter.
Can anyone confirm this, this was coming from someone who spoke to him yesterday at junior footy Very upset of the incident was full of praise for Big Razor for the way he tried to handle the situation.

Yes mate i can confirm big bad ray picked up the prez today & drove him straight to the jack station & signed a statement
The prez was full of praise for big bad ray & after it said
(now thats a true spotty man):D

Astro5
30 Jun 2008, 21:55
Grizzley. Years ago clubs and leagues were trusted to control their crowds and it didn't work. The dollar overrides sensible decision making. Why else would clubs set up make shift bars outside the club rooms? From all reports this wasn't two groups of supporters having a dust up. As a club, you can't ban anyone from turning to council park lands to watch a game of footy or drink their own beer while they're doing it. I'm sure the Glenorden will deal with it as best they can but their best won't stop this from happening again once blokes have had a skin full. I'd hate to see us go down the line of the VAFA a few years back and ban alcohol from games but it's a possibility.

Dogs, singing like a canary, rats, payouts? This aint Underbelly or the God Father. Clubs have been too soft in the past, haven't rid themselves of trouble makers or done enough to discourage bad behavior. Most of those clubs could be struggling too survive, playing in a crap division or aren't around anymore.
filo you must of played some poor grade off football

Astro5
30 Jun 2008, 21:59

u want underbelly i am the godfather

go4gold
30 Jun 2008, 22:19

Lets see now,Spotty pres got hit and he is alive,Glenorden are ferrals,everybody knows that.
More importantly,Albion struggling Altona out scorred them in the second half they still have sunshine hoppers and spotty to play, this could be another three losses and find themselves in fourth position.

All this talk about the spotty pres has also taken the heat off colts loss to St Albans,come on rock07 give us the goss on what happened.

Hotspot
30 Jun 2008, 22:23
razor was good in the way he handle himself but i thought the two blokes that helped out chris murphy need some kind of reward
theres deen some sh it on here lately like security at games come theyd get flogged if there was a fight and if there was security would they feel a loyalty to the club they are workin at ray theres been some intresting stuff of him lately first let a teamate get hit then first response was 2 let the ump now and not back his mate in anyway then he gets hit and does nothin again on the weekend come ray fly the flag or do you only fire up when the odds azre in your fava imagine how many spotty witnesses to that report from the pres danger danger looks like the wrfl public have already hung glenorden and theres only been one side of the story thrown up anyone from the game not a one eyed spotty person

Astro5
30 Jun 2008, 22:23
not good when president of club wants to sweep it under the carpet like nothing has happened ??? was standing close by when he said DONT WORRY ABOUT IT JUST LET IT GO...... FINE EXAMPLE HE IS SETTING.... wouldn't want to take your family to that ground unless you are FERRAL!!!
good call should i name names dont think i have to, shitmen run shitmen and all dogs have there day

Astro5
30 Jun 2008, 22:30
theres deen some sh it on here lately like security at games come theyd get flogged if there was a fight and if there was security would they feel a loyalty to the club they are workin at ray theres been some intresting stuff of him lately first let a teamate get hit then first response was 2 let the ump now and not back his mate in anyway then he gets hit and does nothin again on the weekend come ray fly the flag or do you only fire up when the odds azre in your fava imagine how many spotty witnesses to that report from the pres danger danger looks like the wrfl public have already hung glenorden and theres only been one side of the story thrown up anyone from the game not a one eyed spotty person
funny thing is there not ferel dont fight one to hundred there to enjoy the game attack the ball not the man unlike some captains of some feral teams

Astro5
30 Jun 2008, 22:43
hotspot not a spotty fan but sometimes a true man walks away with his head held high can u do the same

go4gold
30 Jun 2008, 22:43
How is the ladder going to end up,with only 6 games to go there could be a few changes by the end of the season.
Spotty will retain top spot,even if they loose to Colts
Colts will get 2nd
Hoppers will really challange for third spot if they can get over Albion in R15
Albion will end up fouth after holding top spot for most of the year,struggling at the moment and will not be able to keep up with Hoppers Colts and probably even Sunshine
St Albans will scrape in for 5th,the win over Colts on Saturday has set them up to retain this spot.

Bad luck to Sunshine, beat Spotty early in the year then could only manage to get over the bottom four teams that the top six was always going to beat.How they beat Spotty must have been a miricle or Spotty came out with their reserve team.

Kennen for Back to Back Gibson Medals, Butina has been found out and the second time clubs play Albion they know what to do to stop him.
Preist Medal could go to anyone, OKeeffe must be up there along with Murphy Kelm
& Hoath problem with all these players are that their clubs are all winning games and other players will be taking votes off them, I will stay with OKeeffe
Premiership will be an excact replay of last year and again Spotty to just get over the line after coming from behind again.

What are other peoples thoughts?

FiloBeddoe
30 Jun 2008, 23:16

Hotspot. If you're playing at the moment, you'd know about the third man in rule. Spotty were getting on top and an all in is not the way to get the points. Savalas got a couple of weeks for his indiscretion and Ray and the bloke who got whacked were free to play the next week. So who came out better off?

No one at the game on Saturday would have a second story to tell. Are you looking for someone to come in and say that old blokes from Spotty threw a few cut lunches first? Things got way out of hand and the grog was largely to blame.

Clubs have a responsibility that extends beyond their players. Laws say that they must do their best to create a safe environment for all, regardless of who they are. It may not be fair on the club but that's the way it goes. I don't think Glen Orden will be hung however they will be encouraged to do something about the major players in the brawl. If their penalty for the offenders and the league recommendations are too soft, there's nothing guarding against this happening again. If it does, they'll be in strife then. Look at the examples of Central Altona and Newport. Players didn't want to go to Central and Newport were booted out. Both senior clubs aren't around anymore. Both were great clubs once but they lost control, simple as that.

Even some of the big tough blokes in here would rather watch a game of footy instead of head butting some bloke's fist.

ROCK07
30 Jun 2008, 23:19
All this talk about the spotty pres has also taken the heat off colts loss to St Albans,come on rock07 give us the goss on what happened.

I don't know about the heat on us, but a very dissapointing loss, even though we lead all day, it was not a true indication of the way we set ourselves to play, i think another let down after getting up for a big game against albion the week before and also a history of bad performances at the saints home ground. We also had some key running players out which hurt us a little but no excuse. i thought the saints were terrific and deserved the win alot more than we dis, so even though it seemed they pinched a winm i thought they deserved it more.
I have no doubt the real port colts will turn up for the spotty game, we will need to as they are a great side but i think we have the game plan to knock them off and have some advantages over them in key areas.
It will be a cracker of a game, and hopefully some positive exposure for the wrfl after an ordinary week.

go4gold
30 Jun 2008, 23:48
I don't know about the heat on us, but a very dissapointing loss, even though we lead all day, it was not a true indication of the way we set ourselves to play, i think another let down after getting up for a big game against albion the week before and also a history of bad performances at the saints home ground. We also had some key running players out which hurt us a little but no excuse. i thought the saints were terrific and deserved the win alot more than we dis, so even though it seemed they pinched a winm i thought they deserved it more.
I have no doubt the real port colts will turn up for the spotty game, we will need to as they are a great side but i think we have the game plan to knock them off and have some advantages over them in key areas.
It will be a cracker of a game, and hopefully some positive exposure for the wrfl after an ordinary week.

HERE HERE.
Know doubt about it,will be a cracker with a big crowd expected,Hoppers will also get a big crowd with them hosting St Albans.
Can't see either of these two games having a winning margin of greater than 15 points.
Yet the game of the day is Glenorden hosting Altona,whilst this will also be a close game Altona should easliy account for them,hopefully the same sh.t that went on there last Saturday does not repeat itself otherwise it will bring the standard of the WRFL back down again.

Just on this matter with Glenorden,it takes two to tango,what about Spotty surely they will have a lot to answer to.Something must have happened for the Glenorden supporters to get upset,did they steal their mockies or ask one of the single mums out for a date?

Witts
30 Jun 2008, 23:57
Just on this matter with Glenorden,it takes two to tango,what about Spotty surely they will have a lot to answer to.Something must have happened for the Glenorden supporters to get upset,did they steal their mockies or ask one of the single mums out for a date?

Not a lot.

Spotswood player running into an open goal kicked it slightly above the fence, hit a spectator standing behind the goal (quite accidentally), the Glenorden supporters began abusing, Jensen tried to calm it down, and as far as I know that's when the fight started

Nighthawk08
1 Jul 2008, 00:22
Let sleeping DOGS lye! we all know that it takes two to tango, but one can always tango harder then the other!!!! would of glenorden supporters had a fight if it was at Spotty????

FiloBeddoe
1 Jul 2008, 01:15

Rock
How'd the boys deal with the verbal barrage coming from the Saints supporters after the game? Gotta love em, they have ball. Haven't been there for a few years, is the big renovator's van still parked behind the goals?