View Full Version : Western Region Football League Team (Part 2)
SurftheWorld
19 Jul 2008, 10:03
Not sure if i have missed something with the WRFL but what happened to playing games at the WHITTEN OVAL?
The WRFL would have to be STUPID to not be signing long term agreements to PLAY ALL WRFL finals there.
What a joke playing at St Albans! there is less parking there than what was ever at Yarraville..
Finals footy and match of the round games would have been played at the whitten oval when the construction was complete but aparently the WRFL pulled out of a deal to do it. Great management team :rolleyes: The Whitten oval is the icon and un-official home of Western region football.
acr2751
19 Jul 2008, 10:38
Yeh, I may have jumped the gun a little.........only because it may have been the year before, I'm still a little hazy from a dose of Bali belly-lol.
Never the less Rock and Cougar have clearly stated their view on the topic so why re-ask the same question, unless its a under handed swipe at the colts?
Whilst on the topic, its seems illogical to experiment with this venue as a night final when only one game has been played under lights to refer back too. I'm all for thinking outside the square on some matters but when its a do or die final, I would think a more suitable time and venue would suit the occasion.
there have been 7 games played under lights at this venue this year.
1 a grade, 3 ladies, 2 interleauge and 1 junior game.
acr2751
19 Jul 2008, 10:56
Finals footy and match of the round games would have been played at the whitten oval when the construction was complete but aparently the WRFL pulled out of a deal to do it. Great management team :rolleyes: The Whitten oval is the icon and un-official home of Western region football.
i dont think clubs would have given up there best earning game for the year.
SurftheWorld
19 Jul 2008, 11:29
i dont think clubs would have given up there best earning game for the year.
Most other leagues have a "show" ground, and they are setup as a profit sharing scheme on game day. The WRFL administration was to be located at the WRFL as I understand it so having the admin being located at one of the best grounds in Vic would have seen more games there. It would see all teams in all divisions having the op to play there and clubs would not be forced I would say. Anyhow, its not going to happen anymore, thats prob why you are not seeing the finals on the Western Oval.
footy power
19 Jul 2008, 11:32
This is probably closer to the point, but thats ok isn't it? Surely you boys have a thick enough skin to take that on board.
I say good on the WRFL for trying something different with the night final.
I am sure the lighting has a lux level that is within the Australian Lighting Standards, otherwise games would not be permitted.
Away change is an issue. Security, i agree could also be an issue but if all goes well on this front, i think it will be a great advertisement for WRFL footy.
Agree that it would be a great advertisement for WRFL footy.. Just not there! does anyone really enjoy going there?? i think not!
If the WRFL wish to promote the league why not play the final at Caroline Springs? Expose the league up that area before they lose that zone to the Essendon Comp also...
[quote=Travvy43;11755101]This is probably closer to the point, but that's ok isn't it? Surely you boys have a thick enough skin to take that on board.
No problem from my point of view, I cant speak for others though.
Your criticism is starting to be a little hollow however, cheap shot here, cheap shot there, it would be much more credible if you "started to walk the walk" instead of just talking the talk Trav.
ali bubba
19 Jul 2008, 19:55
what sort of condition is the altona ground in?
I went past wests ground yesterday i havnt seen there ground for a few years have they had monster trucks training on there ?
Worst ground iv ever seen it should be closed :thumbsd:
darren melton
19 Jul 2008, 22:53
[quote=Travvy43;11755101]This is probably closer to the point, but that's ok isn't it? Surely you boys have a thick enough skin to take that on board.
Your criticism is starting to be a little hollow however, cheap shot here, cheap shot there, it would be much more credible if you "started to walk the walk" instead of just talking the talk Trav.my thorts to obe1 dont think he would be posting these thorts if playing against you guys again:confused:
Travvy43
20 Jul 2008, 00:37
my thorts to obe1 dont think he would be posting these thorts if playing against you guys again:confused:
You thought wrong.
I was responding to the general backlash surrounding the decision to play a night final as part of this years WRFL Finals Series at St Albans. In the same breath, i was questioning if Port had bad form at St Albans, and if so, was that a contributing factor into the angst (from a few port people) regarding the announcement.
The general consensus though from most posters on the topic seems to be that St Albans just never seems like the most pleasant football ground to visit.
YELL FOR CADEL!!!
FiloBeddoe
20 Jul 2008, 01:20
You thought wrong.
I was responding to the general backlash surrounding the decision to play a night final as part of this years WRFL Finals Series at St Albans. In the same breath, i was questioning if Port had bad form at St Albans, and if so, was that a contributing factor into the angst (from a few port people) regarding the announcement.
The general consensus though from most posters on the topic seems to be that St Albans just never seems like the most pleasant football ground to visit.
YELL FOR CADEL!!!
The league has made arrangements to beef up security at the ground. Even though the northern end of the ground has a huge area for car parking, people will still need to run the proverbial gauntlet and park their cars in the streets near the ground. Not interested in protecting the sensitivities of anyone who lives there so I'll say good luck to anyone who doesn't get to the ground in time to park their car inside.
During broad daylight a few weeks back, the opposition team had valuables stolen from the room and a player's car went missing from Gillespie Road. StAlban's FC can't take the blame for some rats who live in the area but rats will be out in force on a Saturday night.
Some think that playing in a night final is a good advertisement for the league and others think that it's playing with fire. Play the game at St Albans, no problem but not at night. If the league is so concerned about advertising it's wares it should do so by sorting out it's issues first. The night game could be more trouble than it's worth.
darren melton
20 Jul 2008, 01:21
You thought wrong.
YELL FOR CADEL!!!
answr obe1 ? first bud im just reponding to hes answr
roosters44
20 Jul 2008, 01:37
[quote=Travvy43;11767281]You thought wrong.
Reasons not to have a night final at St.Albans....
1. They take they're own grog to the oppositions ground.
2. They're rude, crude and unatractive.
3. They think they're shit don't stink.
4. You will get robbed and bashed.
5. I hate them.
6. That is all. Goodnight.
Travvy43
20 Jul 2008, 21:18
[
Your criticism is starting to be a little hollow however, cheap shot here, cheap shot there, it would be much more credible if you "started to walk the walk" instead of just talking the talk Trav.
Just t.h.o.u.g.h.t i would post this to please Mr D Melton.
Obe, i do feel that my cheap shots are few and far between on this forum, the minute i drop one you get on my case about doing them all the time. This is probably a little off the mark. If you do feel though that the majority of my posts are taking pot shots at people, i will take that on board, pull my head in and start posting some insightful comments to keep you all warm and fuzzy.
Thinking back though, i did throw a few pot shots at you in particular over the pre-season, it may have actually been the pre-season before in an attempt to get you out on the track with the boys. You still may be experiencing some animosity towards me for those comments. If this is the case, sorry for that. Cheer up buddy, it is an open forum and you don't need to be a multiple premiership player, coach, assistant coach to have an opinion.
Warmest Regards
YELL FOR CADEL!! (Big night for the boy tonight).
Just t.h.o.u.g.h.t i would post this to please Mr D Melton.
Obe, i do feel that my cheap shots are few and far between on this forum, the minute i drop one you get on my case about doing them all the time. This is probably a little off the mark. If you do feel though that the majority of my posts are taking pot shots at people, i will take that on board, pull my head in and start posting some insightful comments to keep you all warm and fuzzy.
Thinking back though, i did throw a few pot shots at you in particular over the pre-season, it may have actually been the pre-season before in an attempt to get you out on the track with the boys. You still may be experiencing some animosity towards me for those comments. If this is the case, sorry for that. Cheer up buddy, it is an open forum and you don't need to be a multiple premiership player, coach, assistant coach to have an opinion.
Warmest Regards
YELL FOR CADEL!! (Big night for the boy tonight).
Not many people warmer or fuzzier than me Trav and as for worries I am care free....but thanks for the concern.
Opinions, the more the better, everyone is entitled to one and it makes for good reading. I'm just from the school that if you have something to say about something, then be direct, dont "mask it" or "cloud it" .
I interpret your posts to be a little of one and a lot of the other...maybe I'm wrong but then that's my opinion.
Ed Hardy
20 Jul 2008, 22:23
Not many people warmer or fuzzier than me Trav and as for worries I am care free....but thanks for the concern.
Opinions, the more the better, everyone is entitled to one and it makes for good reading. I'm just from the school that if you have something to say about something, then be direct, dont "mask it" or "cloud it" .
I interpret your posts to be a little of one and a lot of the other...maybe I'm wrong but then that's my opinion.
So what he is trying to say Trav is your a d!khead and stop acting like a spotswood coward
Travvy43
20 Jul 2008, 23:22
So what he is trying to say Trav is your a d!khead and stop acting like a spotswood coward
An awesome, well informed post. Clear, direct and no cloud at all. Well done newbie, looking forward to reading your future pearls of wisdom.
FiloBeddoe
21 Jul 2008, 00:34
Here's another one with Spotswoodophobia.
addorable
21 Jul 2008, 08:49
so whats the point of trying to get him qualified
a good side is run on good depth. If one player goes down, I'm sure he is the next option in. we have now all 30 players considered to play Senior finals football this year fit and ready to play, there are a lot of people to choose from and unluckily 6-7 blokes are missing out each week. I will garantee here now, both our seniors and reserves will beat hoppers tomorrow.[/quote]
not even close
SWANNEES
21 Jul 2008, 09:15
so whats the point of trying to get him qualified
a good side is run on good depth. If one player goes down, I'm sure he is the next option in. we have now all 30 players considered to play Senior finals football this year fit and ready to play, there are a lot of people to choose from and unluckily 6-7 blokes are missing out each week. I will garantee here now, both our seniors and reserves will beat hoppers tomorrow.[/quote]
NONE FROM TWO GREAT TIPPING
brains01
21 Jul 2008, 10:57
[quote=Travvy43;11767281]You thought wrong.
Reasons not to have a night final at St.Albans....
1. They take they're own grog to the oppositions ground.
2. They're rude, crude and unatractive.
3. They think they're shit don't stink.
4. You will get robbed and bashed.
5. I hate them.
6. That is all. Goodnight.
Thanks for your kind words mate good to see the love is there.
Just a tip maybe worry about your own club after their effort on the weekend trying to survive relegation now, jealousy is a curse.
I think alot of people dont like travelling to St Albans because their supporters spend the whole day in the rooms and the TAB instead of supporting there club. We get shi,t canned on here alot but i guess everyone is entitled to their opinion.
creative_mind11
21 Jul 2008, 13:31
seriously enough about the finals and where they are being played...im sure if you asked any of the players at any of the teams not in the finals race, if they would happily play a night final at st albans, they would jump at the chance...no matter who they were playing. its just another ground, its a final, and no matter what it will be a great night for the league.
as for the weekends games...i was at hoppers and albion and it was probably the best game ive seen all year (close to the spotty v colts game) hoppers up all game and quite comfortably until last 5 mins wen it got really tight. hoppers did well to hang on and congratulations must go to adam tayler who played his 300th club game for hoppers. if he didnt play in the VFL for such a long time he could of notched up over 400games.
the game was very physical, alot of crash and bash stuff, it was a terrific spectacle. better players for albion were knezevic(especially in 2nd half), haldane was terrific all game as was richards with his run. for hoppers crossing litchfield is a player i hadnt seen much of but he was terrific in close, adam tayler in his 300th was strong and brad murphy had alot of the ball(dont think he deserved the player of the day though). buttinas hands were a highlight of the day, despite having at times 3 or even 4 opponents he is so strong and uses his body really well.
the next couple of weeks is going to have a big impact on the final standings. i think the top 5 is set, but with a few big games it will be interesting to see who finishes on top.
i believe port colts will finsih on top. spotty play st albans and albion in last 3 weeks, and if they drop one of them games colts will take top spot, as i cant see them losing to hoppers at home, or west footscray or altona.
final ladder:
COLTS 60points
ALBION 60points
SPOTTY 56points
HOPPERS 48 points
ST ALBANS 48points
SUNSHINE 40points
GLENORDEN 20points
ALTONA 20points
WESTS 4points
YARRA 4points
[
the next couple of weeks is going to have a big impact on the final standings. i think the top 5 is set, but with a few big games it will be interesting to see who finishes on top.
i believe port colts will finsih on top. spotty play st albans and albion in last 3 weeks, and if they drop one of them games colts will take top spot, as i cant see them losing to hoppers at home, or west footscray or altona.
final ladder:
COLTS 60points
ALBION 60points
SPOTTY 56points
HOPPERS 48 points
ST ALBANS 48points
SUNSHINE 40points
GLENORDEN 20points
ALTONA 20points
WESTS 4points
YARRA 4points[/quote]
so your obviously tipping albion to beat spotty last round they will need a 105 point turn around,will be a fair effort,
after watching spotty on the weekend, there is plenty of room for improvement despite having 17 more scoring shots.
with the depth they have at the moment i reckon theres a few very nervous 1s players.
seriously enough about the finals and where they are being played...im sure if you asked any of the players at any of the teams not in the finals race, if they would happily play a night final at st albans, they would jump at the chance...no matter who they were playing. its just another ground, its a final, and no matter what it will be a great night for the league.
as for the weekends games...i was at hoppers and albion and it was probably the best game ive seen all year (close to the spotty v colts game) hoppers up all game and quite comfortably until last 5 mins wen it got really tight. hoppers did well to hang on and congratulations must go to adam tayler who played his 300th club game for hoppers. if he didnt play in the VFL for such a long time he could of notched up over 400games.
the game was very physical, alot of crash and bash stuff, it was a terrific spectacle. better players for albion were knezevic(especially in 2nd half), haldane was terrific all game as was richards with his run. for hoppers crossing litchfield is a player i hadnt seen much of but he was terrific in close, adam tayler in his 300th was strong and brad murphy had alot of the ball(dont think he deserved the player of the day though). buttinas hands were a highlight of the day, despite having at times 3 or even 4 opponents he is so strong and uses his body really well.
final ladder:
COLTS 60points
ALBION 60points
SPOTTY 56points
HOPPERS 48 points
ST ALBANS 48points
SUNSHINE 40points
GLENORDEN 20points
ALTONA 20points
WESTS 4points
YARRA 4points
Surely you have seen a bit of the highlighted player, as every game you post about involves hoppers, so it's obvious that's who you follow.
As for the ladder i don't think spotty will drop another game, st albans at home they will win easily and i think after the touch up they give albion earlier in the year, a reversal looks highly unlikely.
Colts v albion at st.albans underlights for the first game of finals
Hoppers v st.albans, on the sunday and with the saints beating hoppers both times this year that will be a game they will be confident of winning.
Looking fwd to playing hoppers this week, hopefully making amends for our embarrasing effort when we played them in rd 7.
footy power
21 Jul 2008, 14:14
Has the WRFL announced who profits from the night final at StAlbans?
It couldnt be StAlbans? Surely the WRFL will split the money between all 1st division clubs?
Would be ridiuclous if the Goats cash in, given they take their own grog to all away games..
The Kickoligist
21 Jul 2008, 14:21
Has the WRFL announced who profits from the night final at StAlbans?
It couldnt be StAlbans? Surely the WRFL will split the money between all 1st division clubs?
Would be ridiuclous if the Goats cash in, given they take their own grog to all away games..
Just out of a matter of interest, when the finals used to be played at yarraville who took all the profits from the canteen and bar.
Also I had a laugh at creative_minds post where he said Litchfield was terrific in close. That has to be a joke doesnt it.
PICMAN any selections or comments from your wise self on how the senior wrfl ladder mite finish or how well the mighty spotswood are travelling....please give us some of your great wrfl knowledge.
went to watch d. morris jnr
at chirnside park today ground in good condition middle muddy
bluddy freezing!!
can i stand next to you if their is a night final at st albans?
cougarman
21 Jul 2008, 18:20
went to watch d. morris jnr
at chirnside park today ground in good condition middle muddy
bluddy freezing!!
can i stand next to you if their is a night final at st albans?
the future of football:thumbsu:
thegeneral1965
21 Jul 2008, 18:42
THE PROBLEM WITH THE WRFL!
It all started way back when the FDL absorbed the failed WSFL and created 2nd and 3rd divisions. There are simply too many clubs all too proud to merge or fold. Big money clubs, Spotty Colts, hoppers st albans have a head start on the next rung albion, SYCW are next then the rest battle for sponsors and income. The WRFL need to trim the league again, it cant survive as it is. Port colts shouldnt even be in the league, no team should cross the westgate for a kick. The u/18 divisions are lopsided, junior admin is disgraceful. The wrfl made an error moving to yarraville, skinners reserve was perfect for finals, with ample parking and central in location, now we travel to werribee for finals and apparently the land of goats this year. most 2nd div clubs need to merge, nth sunshine with sycw, sunny heights and albion, west and nth footscray, parkside and braybrook, altona an laverton with the 1st div teams more or less absorbing players, no team being promoted from 2nd division will succeed these days, the top 4 teams are to $$$$ to fall again (parkside destroyed themselves). as for this years finals, spotty look too strong, 2nd div is open, but why win it? look at nth sunshine now, 3 years ago they were on fire, now, just a disgrace. But why should the WRFL management care, they get paid, they'll keep everything as it is, if the league gets in troube they just move onto other jobs.
You did make some sense, but i don't think just because you have to cross the westgate we should be out of the wrfl.
As for spotty being to strong, well they may win the premiership but they have not won against the colts this year, with still seven weeks before the gf, injuries and a little bit of luck always play apart.
PICMAN i'm always here for you.
DOUG MORRIS JNR IS THE FUTURE.
You did make some sense, but i don't think just because you have to cross the westgate we should be out of the wrfl.
As for spotty being to strong, well they may win the premiership but they have not won against the colts this year, with still seven weeks before the gf, injuries and a little bit of luck always play apart.
PICMAN i'm always here for you.
DOUG MORRIS JNR IS THE FUTURE.
i will remember that, goes alright d m jnr ,my opinon (which counts for nothing)final at stalbans is a joke
SWANNEES
22 Jul 2008, 09:11
colts will remain in wrfl needed to keep comp strong,i look forward to clashes with them as you can gain an idea of where your own club is at.
hcfc v colts always interesting games
The Kickoligist
22 Jul 2008, 15:55
With finals just around the corner do any of the teams in contention have any key players coming back in to their side over the next few weeks.
creative_mind11
22 Jul 2008, 18:31
Surely you have seen a bit of the highlighted player, as every game you post about involves hoppers, so it's obvious that's who you follow.
As for the ladder i don't think spotty will drop another game, st albans at home they will win easily and i think after the touch up they give albion earlier in the year, a reversal looks highly unlikely.
Colts v albion at st.albans underlights for the first game of finals
Hoppers v st.albans, on the sunday and with the saints beating hoppers both times this year that will be a game they will be confident of winning.
Looking fwd to playing hoppers this week, hopefully making amends for our embarrasing effort when we played them in rd 7.
hmmm i just looked at my last post of which i reported on a match, and it certainly wasnt a hoppers game! i went out to albions ground and saw steve savalas get rubbed out after doing a stupid act. so your incorrect there. as for seeing hoppers ive been to 4 of there games this season and never noticed litchfield, whether its because he hasnt been playing or just not that impressive i dont know.
as for spotty vs albion, yes of course it wouled have to be a big turnaround, but albion are such a different team on their home ground, its small which wont suit spotty all that much, and i just have a feeling albion will win. logically that doesnt make sense, but i do have a feeling. feel free to spray me in a couple of weeks if spotty flog them.
as for colts vs hoppers there is no way hoppers could beat colts. round 7 was a disgraceful day, hoppers had alot more to lose, it was at hoppers ground and hoppers had a full side in. fast forward 9 weeks, colts are close to full strenght, DJ is absolutely flying, the side is gelling together well and its at their home ground, and very very rarely do colts get done at murphy reserve! and hoppers look depleted, reading an article in the local rag last weel it appears they are minus 7 of their top 21 players. but having said that if hoppers were full strength they still wont beat colts.
colts vs albion at st albans will be a ripper. colts dont have a great record on the ground, whether thats just against st albans or not who knows, but id pick colts to win by 5 goals. colts spotty grand final is almost a certainty.
hmmm i just looked at my last post of which i reported on a match, and it certainly wasnt a hoppers game! i went out to albions ground and saw steve savalas get rubbed out after doing a stupid act. so your incorrect there. as for seeing hoppers ive been to 4 of there games this season and never noticed litchfield, whether its because he hasnt been playing or just not that impressive i dont know.
as for spotty vs albion, yes of course it wouled have to be a big turnaround, but albion are such a different team on their home ground, its small which wont suit spotty all that much, and i just have a feeling albion will win. logically that doesnt make sense, but i do have a feeling. feel free to spray me in a couple of weeks if spotty flog them.
as for colts vs hoppers there is no way hoppers could beat colts. round 7 was a disgraceful day, hoppers had alot more to lose, it was at hoppers ground and hoppers had a full side in. fast forward 9 weeks, colts are close to full strenght, DJ is absolutely flying, the side is gelling together well and its at their home ground, and very very rarely do colts get done at murphy reserve! and hoppers look depleted, reading an article in the local rag last weel it appears they are minus 7 of their top 21 players. but having said that if hoppers were full strength they still wont beat colts.
colts vs albion at st albans will be a ripper. colts dont have a great record on the ground, whether thats just against st albans or not who knows, but id pick colts to win by 5 goals. colts spotty grand final is almost a certainty.
Well majority of the time you talk hoppers, i have not looked back at any of them just going by memory, i don't really care who you follow to be honest.
We have a few injury concerns from the weekend, have lost two backmen and a key fwd, as for hoppers they have a talented list and we will not underestimate them after our pitiful performance last time and will not forgot that some hoppers people labled us soft.....
footyman
22 Jul 2008, 21:56
Very good post!!! I've got no alignment to anyone in the league but I cant believe how shabby the WRFL is compared to other competitions.
I read today on the league website that the Footy Record is back for finals, fair enough the things are a hassle and can be unprofitable. The Eastern FL put together a thing about 100 pages thick every week, filled with sponsors, club news, team lists, results. The EDFL have one as well. In fact, tell me any other decent league anywhere that doesnt produce a weekly publication? At worst the league should put something together each week on the site in electronic form.
I think the league website is done quite well and the leagues radio team is the best in Victoria, but I'm amazed how wrong the results section of the website has been all year. Guys who kick 6 goals are only credited with 3 and players who are clearly best on ground not even getting named in the best six. God help them when two players with the same surname play in the same team. They've done a fine job of mixing up the Fitzpatricks at St Albans, the Murphys at Hoppers and the Jacobs at Port Colts this year. It's a joke. Surely it is somebodys job to make sure that information is correct.
When you've got imbosiles running the league, generally the standard aint going to be great.
footyman
22 Jul 2008, 21:59
Thanks mate lol, i very rarely post on here but regularly read whats said on here, and lets hope Altona can improve in there near future.
Nice to see ya still around kegs, good luck for the rest of the year. :thumbsu:
WRFLfan
22 Jul 2008, 22:45
Very good post!!! I've got no alignment to anyone in the league but I cant believe how shabby the WRFL is compared to other competitions.
I read today on the league website that the Footy Record is back for finals, fair enough the things are a hassle and can be unprofitable. The Eastern FL put together a thing about 100 pages thick every week, filled with sponsors, club news, team lists, results. The EDFL have one as well. In fact, tell me any other decent league anywhere that doesnt produce a weekly publication? At worst the league should put something together each week on the site in electronic form.
I think the league website is done quite well and the leagues radio team is the best in Victoria, but I'm amazed how wrong the results section of the website has been all year. Guys who kick 6 goals are only credited with 3 and players who are clearly best on ground not even getting named in the best six. God help them when two players with the same surname play in the same team. They've done a fine job of mixing up the Fitzpatricks at St Albans, the Murphys at Hoppers and the Jacobs at Port Colts this year. It's a joke. Surely it is somebodys job to make sure that information is correct.
When you've got imbosiles running the league, generally the standard aint going to be great.
Yeah spot on about the record its a joke and they keep going on about how there the best. When new players come to our club and they ask about the lack of a record its embarrassing to tell them we dont have and instead we have two sheets of paper. The WRFL reckons they have replaced it with an email page that no one seems to receive, they go on about how they lose on it but it couldnt be that much and im sure they could make up for somewhere. We have lost our Footy Show on channel 31 we only have the radio shows left which as you said are a good standard
FiloBeddoe
22 Jul 2008, 23:12
Yeah spot on about the record its a joke and they keep going on about how there the best. When new players come to our club and they ask about the lack of a record its embarrassing to tell them we dont have and instead we have two sheets of paper. The WRFL reckons they have replaced it with an email page that no one seems to receive, they go on about how they lose on it but it couldnt be that much and im sure they could make up for somewhere. We have lost our Footy Show on channel 31 we only have the radio shows left which as you said are a good standard
Well, no record, huge fees, empty links on the web page, inaction on the brawl at Glenorden, another brawl in an under 18's game, simplistic decision to play a night final (Hillier labels it as a bright idea...haha) and consequently more business for the car thieves in St Albans, but we have a fantastic administration. Sweep stuff under the carpet too many times and you'll trip over the mound. They're tripping, maybe in more ways than one.
SurftheWorld
23 Jul 2008, 10:58
Agree with all your sentiments re the administration, they are not making forward thinking decisions and only seem to care about the relevance of their bank balance. I didn’t know they had scrapped the weekly rag, that’s something of a tradition in all local footy and something that damages the perception of the league to great effect. It also boosts player moral, how many times have you had a laugh at what a scribe might say about your match or whether you might have landed the name on the review section. I'm very very surprised they canned it. The VAFA manage one every week also, always good material to sit down and have a gawk at after training on a Thursday night when you’re sitting down to a meal with the team. Team application fees should encompass this cost. Anyway, enough about that, I hope it makes it back for the WRFL sake.
Just thought I would add that I went down to Hoppers to watch the game on the weekend and must say I was blown away at how good the commentary and coverage of the game was on I think it was 88.9. Never listened to it before, didn’t know it existed to be honest but the blokes doing the show were fantastic. One of the best things in WRFL.
Anyhow, let’s get back to how much the WRFL is a shambles. They will be without a home soon and might be camped on your front door step.
parkside.. F.C.
23 Jul 2008, 14:15
do you care to explain how we 'destroyed' ourselves?
financially we are in as good a position as we have been in years.
Over the last 2 years we have fielded under 18 sides which the club had not done for about 20-odd years.
Fair enough we did have one bad year, and we aren't traveling the best in division two.
But to say we 'destroyed ourselves' is utter bulls h i t.
in a few short years Parkside will be up there in division one again.
every club has had a bad era in there history, up until last year parkside and spotswood were the only two teams to have not been relegated in the WRFL/FDFL.
in a couple of years time colts, spotty or hoppers could have the same thing happen and end up in the same predicament.
Over the last 2 years we have fielded under 18 sides which the club had not done for about 20-odd years.
Fair enough we did have one bad year, and we aren't traveling the best in division two.
every club has had a bad era in there history, up until last year parkside and spotswood were the only two teams to have not been relegated in the WRFL/FDFL.
in a couple of years time colts, spotty or hoppers could have the same thing happen and end up in the same predicament.
no hope
Where are you CATSELECTION:confused::confused::confused::confused:
probably waiting untill after there forthcoming big wins against Glen Ordinary and Yarraville untill he starts spruiking about how good they are again
jolly roger
24 Jul 2008, 00:30
Colts were in a predictiment just a few years ago, when they were almost relegated. Also i have heard from a friend that they are struggling for juniors, so this could ring true, hopefully for them they continue in first division.
I think it is laughable the league has no footy record, also the internet site could be a little better and maybe some award to follow best players and goal kickers, also the chanel 31 show would have been great if it could have continued but a weekly show on the net would be just as good.
Agree with the previos post also the radio is top notch, with affiliation fees as high as they are i call on the wrfl to listen to the wrfl people and improve these areas and improve the league, it helps attract the better players.
I like the idea of a nite final but at st.albans it is not a wise decision, the surface is way to hard, the away change room are a disgrace and the ground has no wind breaks, so it's always windy, thus affecting the standard of the game.
quiet in here this week
so 3 weeks to go what will this round tell us
port v hoppers match of the round port to use home ground advantage win by 4-6 goals
albion at home to glenorden would think cats by at least 90points or not going to pressure top to sides
stalbans v yarra saints backmen will struggle to stay awake saints by 150points
sunshine v altona good chance for the vikings this week have the sunshine boys given up finals hopes? may drop boys back to the 2s to help prepare them for finals.
and last of all
west v spotty would of been interesting if both Mcghies playing, will be interesting to see how spotty tackle it will they bring back molan and go all out or will the rest a few and give a few of there youngsters a run, im tipping they will stick with there no youth policy and go all out,
spotty by 35goals
footy power
24 Jul 2008, 14:20
quiet in here this week
so 3 weeks to go what will this round tell us
port v hoppers match of the round port to use home ground advantage win by 4-6 goals
albion at home to glenorden would think cats by at least 90points or not going to pressure top to sides
stalbans v yarra saints backmen will struggle to stay awake saints by 150points
sunshine v altona good chance for the vikings this week have the sunshine boys given up finals hopes? may drop boys back to the 2s to help prepare them for finals.
and last of all
west v spotty would of been interesting if both Mcghies playing, will be interesting to see how spotty tackle it will they bring back molan and go all out or will the rest a few and give a few of there youngsters a run, im tipping they will stick with there no youth policy and go all out,
spotty by 35goals
Of course Spotty will have no youth policy! they are playing the bootom team.. all the helium heads will run around high fiving each other when they are 35 goals in front and standing over the young kids with 1/8th of their ability!
Spooty have done that for years! not againt colts etc..
footymad81
25 Jul 2008, 04:43
There has been a lot of criticism about the night final being held at St Albans. I was in the League office only today and witnessed first hand the abuse the WRFL office staff are receiving and to tell you the truth, it wasn’t nice.
Yes, there is a ground at Yarraville, but the council will not allow any SENIOR Finals games played there, this is not the Leagues fault.
Chirnside Park not available, Burbank Oval only wants to host Junior Finals. Port Melbourne ground was sought and is not available, even Coburg’s ground was enquired about and this also is not available.
The only option was to look within the WRFL for an appropriate venue and the forethought to hold a NIGHT Final was considered where not many other leagues around Victoria would be able to do so.
Whilst the rooms may not be the best, we have all played there over the years and got by.
The game will be held between, Spotswood, Port Colts or Albion, the League made the correct decision in not allowing St Albans to play a home final in these conditions.
What everyone should be doing is congratulating the WRFL of taking the initiative to hold such a game and showcase the WRFL to other leagues.
Any club playing in a final should be grateful no matter where the game is being held.
In regards to the criticism towards the League, get along to an AGM and see what goes on. The WRFL clubs have one of the cheapest affiliation fees in Victoria to a football association. We don’t have the ability to charge spectators to get into home and away games, if we did then from footy records, TV shows and the like would able to be afforded. If the affiliation fees were to be increased to cover these costs then everyone would be yelling more about the fees going up but this is to try and keep everyone happy with all these other things. They are in a no win situation.
So before anyone else goes potting the League, go back to your own club President and advise him/her of your concerns so that they can be raised with the League clubs and if everyone is in favour to increase the fees to cover a footy record or TV show then great.
Junior Finals commence this Sunday, then only three games to go til Senior Finals, bring it on.
cougarman
25 Jul 2008, 09:21
There has been a lot of criticism about the night final being held at St Albans. I was in the League office only today and witnessed first hand the abuse the WRFL office staff are receiving and to tell you the truth, it wasn’t nice.
Yes, there is a ground at Yarraville, but the council will not allow any SENIOR Finals games played there, this is not the Leagues fault.
Chirnside Park not available, Burbank Oval only wants to host Junior Finals. Port Melbourne ground was sought and is not available, even Coburg’s ground was enquired about and this also is not available.
The only option was to look within the WRFL for an appropriate venue and the forethought to hold a NIGHT Final was considered where not many other leagues around Victoria would be able to do so.
Whilst the rooms may not be the best, we have all played there over the years and got by.
The game will be held between, Spotswood, Port Colts or Albion, the League made the correct decision in not allowing St Albans to play a home final in these conditions.
What everyone should be doing is congratulating the WRFL of taking the initiative to hold such a game and showcase the WRFL to other leagues.
Any club playing in a final should be grateful no matter where the game is being held.
In regards to the criticism towards the League, get along to an AGM and see what goes on. The WRFL clubs have one of the cheapest affiliation fees in Victoria to a football association. We don’t have the ability to charge spectators to get into home and away games, if we did then from footy records, TV shows and the like would able to be afforded. If the affiliation fees were to be increased to cover these costs then everyone would be yelling more about the fees going up but this is to try and keep everyone happy with all these other things. They are in a no win situation.
So before anyone else goes potting the League, go back to your own club President and advise him/her of your concerns so that they can be raised with the League clubs and if everyone is in favour to increase the fees to cover a footy record or TV show then great.
Junior Finals commence this Sunday, then only three games to go til Senior Finals, bring it on.
with a decision like that there are always going to be protests, especially with st albans as i doubt many visiting teams have had good experiences out there and i'm not talking about the results on field
when it comes to finals it's a luxury to be playing so i'm positive that all players will play anywhere they have to only 3 weeks left and the 5 looks set hopefully we get some good weather like we did last year, made it a better finals series imo
red devil1
25 Jul 2008, 09:33
Good post with some valid points. Not sure why the WRFL office staff would be getting abuse. You would think people have better things to do.
Sounds like you work at the WRFL.
This maybe a very stupid but also sensible question..
Why wont the council allow senior finals at yarraville? whats the big deal and big difference between having junior and senior finals played there
acr2751
25 Jul 2008, 11:27
good thoughtfull post however not all correct.
all abuse should be directed at the councils they are the ones who should be providing venues for the local leagues as we are all residents in these councils and we all pay our rates and its just not good enough that we dont have a finals venue suitable considering how large our league is
when st.albans offered kings park for finals they requested (if they made the finals) that there game be played at churnside park to avoid some of the negativity sorrounding this venue,st.albans made the decision not to play in this game.
maybe just the cheapest affiliation fee but our leauge has a managment fee which includes many diferent things and when you compare the end figure i think you will find the edfl fees are quite a bit cheaper.
The wrfl managment fee's which all clubs pay included costs to cover the tv show and records when these items were removed the managment fee's were not reduced. why would the clubs now agree to be charged again for these items when we are already paying for them.
The record was replaced with the newspaper spread which i am not even sure still goes in each week.
where is the money for the tv show? i have been told it has been used to set up the web show.
our presidents are the ones who vote on all these things. whats yours doing at c.o.m meetings?
Of course Spotty will have no youth policy! they are playing the bootom team.. all the helium heads will run around high fiving each other when they are 35 goals in front and standing over the young kids with 1/8th of their ability!
Lol. No youth policy? Not sure whether you are stirring the pot for a reaction or you believe your own bullsh#t. Everybody knows Spotty give the kids a go IF they are good enough and the club is proud to have the record they do in producing good senior players from the juniors.
You say this sh#t about certain Spotty players standing over kids etc and Id love to know who you are referring to. You have made it quite clear that you think Ray does this which is crap and b4 you say Crackers, he is a stirrer and everybody knows that but he by no means stand over people, so who else are you talking about?
I dont think any team gets too excited when they are winning by large margins so to say we'd be giving high 5's when we are up by a plenty is rediculous. Maybe you are referring to d#ckhead Crackers when he kicked a couple of late goals against you guys last year when you smashed us and he was carrying on? That was silly of him and he knows that now.
Just for the record, we have 2 x 1st gamers tomorrow who played u18's last year who have EARNT their spot. As with you guys, having a strong team means that good players (young and old) have to play 2's and should only come up their form warrants it and there is a spot there. Just to let you know, Im the oldest at 29, Waldron, Richie Wilson and Kelly are 27, Simpson is 26 and everybody else is under 25 of the guys playing atm. I wouldnt have thought that was an old team but you are entitled to your opinion.
Lol. No youth policy? Not sure whether you are stirring the pot for a reaction or you believe your own bullsh#t. Everybody knows Spotty give the kids a go IF they are good enough and the club is proud to have the record they do in producing good senior players from the juniors.
You say this sh#t about certain Spotty players standing over kids etc and Id love to know who you are referring to. You have made it quite clear that you think Ray does this which is crap and b4 you say Crackers, he is a stirrer and everybody knows that but he by no means stand over people, so who else are you talking about?
I dont think any team gets too excited when they are winning by large margins so to say we'd be giving high 5's when we are up by a plenty is rediculous. Maybe you are referring to d#ckhead Crackers when he kicked a couple of late goals against you guys last year when you smashed us and he was carrying on? That was silly of him and he knows that now.
Just for the record, we have 2 x 1st gamers tomorrow who played u18's last year who have EARNT their spot. As with you guys, having a strong team means that good players (young and old) have to play 2's and should only come up their form warrants it and there is a spot there. Just to let you know, Im the oldest at 29, Waldron, Richie Wilson and Kelly are 27, Simpson is 26 and everybody else is under 25 of the guys playing atm. I wouldnt have thought that was an old team but you are entitled to your opinion.
Beazer just for the record there is wrflfan, the orginal and wrfl fan, which has a space, so the post your responding to is not a port colts person.
To footymad81, personaly we are happy to play a final anywhere and a night final is exciting, especially if other grounds are being used.
As for affiliation fees as someone stated in an earlier post i think the final figure is higher than edfl and nfl, and i feel clubs could be getting more value for money, reserve umpires, footy record, a regular updated effecient website.
The radio program is good but needs aimproving, maybe clubs could give their teams to the radio and they could discuss ins outs, name 21 plus 3 emergencies it would help thomsy talk about the game with match ups and stuff like that, at times the poor bloke has no info and just makes things up as he goes.
The web show is a more cost effective way to have a program hopefully that can become a weekly event.
I love the wrfl but i think it's in a whole at the moment, over the last few years we have had mergers, clubs fold and teams winning 2nd div premierships and not wanting to go to 1st div, then the last two years the gap in first div between the bottom and the top teams is widening.
I don't have the answers but steps need to be put in place to really even up the comp and hopefully get the wrfl a more professional competition, with more quality umpires( umps have had a good year,considering the numbers)
red devil1
25 Jul 2008, 15:34
Beazer just for the record there is wrflfan, the orginal and wrfl fan, which has a space, so the post your responding to is not a port colts person.
To footymad81, personaly we are happy to play a final anywhere and a night final is exciting, especially if other grounds are being used.
As for affiliation fees as someone stated in an earlier post i think the final figure is higher than edfl and nfl, and i feel clubs could be getting more value for money, reserve umpires, footy record, a regular updated effecient website.
The radio program is good but needs aimproving, maybe clubs could give their teams to the radio and they could discuss ins outs, name 21 plus 3 emergencies it would help thomsy talk about the game with match ups and stuff like that, at times the poor bloke has no info and just makes things up as he goes.
The web show is a more cost effective way to have a program hopefully that can become a weekly event.
I love the wrfl but i think it's in a whole at the moment, over the last few years we have had mergers, clubs fold and teams winning 2nd div premierships and not wanting to go to 1st div, then the last two years the gap in first div between the bottom and the top teams is widening.
I don't have the answers but steps need to be put in place to really even up the comp and hopefully get the wrfl a more professional competition, with more quality umpires( umps have had a good year,considering the numbers)
I think they do a fantastic job with both radio programs, but would have to agree on the Thomsy comment.
Adam Lux and Kevin Hillier are terrific, and Thomsy adds colour to broadcasts.
Not sure how it work logistically but handing in the teams on for a Friday night preview would be great. Although, iIt has to be remembered that some clubs let the WRFL down on the administration side, which I guess will happen from time to time when run by volunteers.
You should hear Thomsy preview Div.2. Not to be cruel but he just makes it up as he goes. Has no idea. Easy to criticise I guess, would be great if we had a regular Div.2 watcher who could discuss the games.
Yeah, ta. Still meant what I said though, just directed at somebody else.
Nice to see ya still around kegs, good luck for the rest of the year. :thumbsu:
haha yeh still around just dont post much these days!
FiloBeddoe
25 Jul 2008, 21:02
NIGHT GAME AT ST ALBAN'S.
I couldn't give a rat's a__s where the game is held so I don't believe the league should have to take abuse for that.
The issue is with the time of day.
Just a few notes on the issue.
Most will turn up to watch the senior game and struggle for parking so they'll have to run the gauntlet and park in the nearby streets, at night.
There is potential for alcohol to be consumed for five hours before the senior game starts. Even if plenty rock up for the senior game only, it's a Saturday night and most of us would have a drink or 15 on this day on the weekends anyway. What do you think is going to be the order of the afternoon? It only takes a couple of dills, as we know from the Glen Orden V Spotswood, Rage at the Bird Cage and we have problems.
The night final is a first for us but I wouldn't call it genius, a bright idea or great foresight. If anything, as an administrator you do your best to avoid worst case scenarios and our leaders at the league haven't. Forget police or security, it won't matter. If the few nuts with a skinful want to have a crack, night conditions only give them the opportunity and a sense that they won't be easily identified.
This may sound a bit alarmist but the potential for trouble is real. Not a great advertisement if things go wrong as the league is already under fire for it's violence.
FiloBeddoe
25 Jul 2008, 21:10
A sure fire way to attempt to make people think that you know something about WRFL is to have a crack at Spotty about being cowards or soft. Flags and consistent finals appearances are not achieved by the cowardly or soft. Even calling Hopper's soft is without merit. Then again, maybe Rock can tell us how soft Spotty and Hoppers are. You wouldn't have a clue so don't pretend to have one. I'm sure you can find something else to rattle on about.
darren melton
25 Jul 2008, 23:55
I think they do a fantastic job with both radio programs, but would have to agree on the Thomsy comment.
Adam Lux and Kevin Hillier are terrific, and Thomsy adds colour to broadcasts.
Not sure how it work logistically but handing in the teams on for a Friday night preview would be great. Although, iIt has to be remembered that some clubs let the WRFL down on the administration side, which I guess will happen from time to time when run by volunteers.
You should hear Thomsy preview Div.2. Not to be cruel but he just makes it up as he goes. Has no idea. Easy to criticise I guess, would be great if we had a regular Div.2 watcher who could discuss the games.
dont post it if you dont to bag him the guy does a fantastic job for div 1 radio and for the wrfl simple answer for you get out of div2 red devil and get up with the big boys and thomo will learn your players names
A sure fire way to attempt to make people think that you know something about WRFL is to have a crack at Spotty about being cowards or soft. Flags and consistent finals appearances are not achieved by the cowardly or soft. Even calling Hopper's soft is without merit. Then again, maybe Rock can tell us how soft Spotty and Hoppers are. You wouldn't have a clue so don't pretend to have one. I'm sure you can find something else to rattle on about.
Not to sure why you got me involved in this argument, but off course spotty and hoppers are not soft, both sides are very competitive and always give a hard contest, i wouldn't bother about what is written on here about who is hard and who isn't.
FiloBeddoe
26 Jul 2008, 01:11
Not to sure why you got me involved in this argument, but off course spotty and hoppers are not soft, both sides are very competitive and always give a hard contest, i wouldn't bother about what is written on here about who is hard and who isn't.
You're the only one here that I know plays for another club. Plus, I reckon you're more likely to straight shoot. There'd be no use in asking people involved with either club.
roosters44
27 Jul 2008, 01:40
I was the one booing you after half time 35, sounds like you missed a couple because of me, we had our golden Rooster day and forgot to come outside with our free beer. I've seen every West game and you easily have the best hands in the comp, we were saying that the Colts were watching and you missed a couple of easy ones after that...ha ha....
Number 18 was comfortably best on ground.....
Thanks for coming in for a beer after the game Spotty....cheers....
roosters44
27 Jul 2008, 01:49
Don't forget the score 1 minute in....said West 0 1 1, Spotty 0 0 0....
If the siren just had of went 7 more times in the next 30 seconds....
dont post it if you dont to bag him the guy does a fantastic job for div 1 radio and for the wrfl simple answer for you get out of div2 red devil and get up with the big boys and thomo will learn your players names
You must of been one of the top students at melton high :p
thegeneral1965
27 Jul 2008, 10:47
OK lets assume Spotty finish top, the night final will between colts and albion............assuming the game starts at 7.30 and finishes at 10pm. In a day final players and supporters would go back to there respective clubrooms and celebrate or commiserate and clubs would benefit financially, but how many will go back after a night game? Colts clubrooms is 40 minutes away from st albans and albion 20 minutes..........its a bad decision by the WRFL it'll cost the clubs a weeks income. Whoever thought this bright idea up is a fool and should resign immediatley. Its just mind boggling that such am idea was thought up..............:mad:
WRFLfan
27 Jul 2008, 11:42
OK lets assume Spotty finish top, the night final will between colts and albion............assuming the game starts at 7.30 and finishes at 10pm. In a day final players and supporters would go back to there respective clubrooms and celebrate or commiserate and clubs would benefit financially, but how many will go back after a night game? Colts clubrooms is 40 minutes away from st albans and albion 20 minutes..........its a bad decision by the WRFL it'll cost the clubs a weeks income. Whoever thought this bright idea up is a fool and should resign immediatley. Its just mind boggling that such am idea was thought up..............:mad:
Fair point some of our best revenue comes from after finals games, but like the WRFL cares about that as long as they get paid then all is fine.
FiloBeddoe
27 Jul 2008, 12:40
Just using your post to talk about who will finish top but while I'm at it, top job in highlighting yet another problem the night game causes.
Anyhow, what's the chances of Port finishing top due to percentage? I think it's possible due to the last two opponents of Port and Spotty.
Port has Altona and West to come. They will not only win but they will absolutely fry them. Two weeks of percentage boosts.
Spotty has St Albans at home and Albion away. Two games that are no gimme. Can't see them smashing St Albans and we all know Albion grow an extra leg on their own turf. Even if Spotty wins those games, Colts may take over via percentage.
My maths isn't great so comments regarding how bad it really is are welcome. No offense will be taken because Maths at school was catch upon sleep time for me..haha.
FiloBeddoe
27 Jul 2008, 13:00
Don't forget the score 1 minute in....said West 0 1 1, Spotty 0 0 0....
If the siren just had of went 7 more times in the next 30 seconds....
I know that this may sound silly to some but I'll post my thoughts anyway.
Although the game was a whitewash, I was impressed with the boys from West and their hardness at the pill. They didn't look like giving up all day. It would have been easy for them to go the knuckle and turn the game into a farce but they kept going and encouraging each other.
It's easy to sink the boot into a struggling club but there was no questioning their guts.
Not sure how many fled the club after the divvy two flag and why but they should have come down to the old tip yesterday and witnessed some real G&D. Well done West, hope things get better not too far down the track.
Just using your post to talk about who will finish top but while I'm at it, top job in highlighting yet another problem the night game causes.
Anyhow, what's the chances of Port finishing top due to percentage? I think it's possible due to the last two opponents of Port and Spotty.
Port has Altona and West to come. They will not only win but they will absolutely fry them. Two weeks of percentage boosts.
Spotty has St Albans at home and Albion away. Two games that are no gimme. Can't see them smashing St Albans and we all know Albion grow an extra leg on their own turf. Even if Spotty wins those games, Colts may take over via percentage.
My maths isn't great so comments regarding how bad it really is are welcome. No offense will be taken because Maths at school was catch upon sleep time for me..haha.
I have done my maths on this and top spot for us is still very open for us, especially after a big win yesterday, it would have been alot easier if we did not allow hopperes 5 goals in the last quarter, but a great performance nne the less.
We should win very easily against west and are very hopefull of a big win this week, but we will have to be on our game and give altona a bit of respect as they do have some talent.
Then it will come down to how spotty go against st.albans and albion, both games they should win but by how much and if for some reason spotty are down in any of theses games a loss is not out of the question, then top spot will be ours.
Alot of % to make up but still very possible but most likely colts v albion first final saturday night.
georgemichael
27 Jul 2008, 16:14
I was the one booing you after half time 35, sounds like you missed a couple because of me, we had our golden Rooster day and forgot to come outside with our free beer. I've seen every West game and you easily have the best hands in the comp, we were saying that the Colts were watching and you missed a couple of easy ones after that...ha ha....
Number 18 was comfortably best on ground.....
Thanks for coming in for a beer after the game Spotty....cheers....
Sorry but Chris Brannan has the best hands in the comp
I might be biased but i have to agree, what an awesome display he put on yesterday. 22 marks and 12 goals.
Lachy23
27 Jul 2008, 17:05
Spoooooooooonerrrrrr ;)
cougarman
27 Jul 2008, 18:27
Spoooooooooonerrrrrr ;)
spooner is a good young player but not in the same class as a brannan or keenan with his dukes
Iknowfooty
27 Jul 2008, 19:05
spooner is a good young player but not in the same class as a brannan or keenan with his dukes
Hey Cougar great win yesterday Brannan was awsome, how did you pull up. Number 28 goes alright.
cougarman
27 Jul 2008, 19:43
Hey Cougar great win yesterday Brannan was awsome, how did you pull up. Number 28 goes alright.
pulled up well mate didn't do a lot but dj and brannan were on fire along with squiz, thought the old backman set the scene early on but a great win for the club
darren melton
27 Jul 2008, 22:01
You must of been one of the top students at melton high :pna braybrook high then parkside high
WRFLfan
27 Jul 2008, 23:53
Spoooooooooonerrrrrr ;)
Spooner highly rated by the Colts, and will be the future of the comp (as long as he doesnt get stolen by richer comps) but at the moment Chris Brannan ticks every box. Another bloke that goes well in the air is Brad Julier never drops em the big fella and just competes all day. Keenan does seem to drop many either number 25 for Hoppers has got a good set of hands as well, i think his name is Pope or something he went well on the weekend.
D Jacobs for the Priest he bathed Murphy on the weekend
DaVinci
28 Jul 2008, 00:40
Well i'll buy into the best hands debate. It seems the colts boys are a bit bias but in being Spotty bias i'd have to take Keenan. Don't get me wrong i think Brannan's hands a fantastic but i think that when you have played with someone weekend week out you see more of what they can do as the colts boys with Brannan and i with Crackers. Best hands i have seen in the league for brute strength with mits. Tim Trail for Spotty 2001, 2002. He couldn't really jump but his hands were by far the strongest marking mits i have ever seen!
Crackers kicked 8/10 on the weekend should have had 15!
footyman
28 Jul 2008, 00:57
number 25 for Hoppers has got a good set of hands as well, i think his name is Pope or something he went well on the weekend.
Page. All good and well to take marks inside 50, but what did he kick? 1.3 or something and fired one into the man on the mark too. Did take some good marks in the second half though you're right.
Turned up expecting to watch a contest but it was over five minutes in. One side was switched on and the other one wasnt. Some of the best marks on the weekend were complimented by some of the more insipid defensive and spoiling attempts I've seen in a while.
Its hard to believe how tiny the Colts ground is given its surrounded by so much parkland. Looks like they're suited to playing on a small ground, I think they went through unbeaten at home for the season.
Well i'll buy into the best hands debate. It seems the colts boys are a bit bias but in being Spotty bias i'd have to take Keenan. Don't get me wrong i think Brannan's hands a fantastic but i think that when you have played with someone weekend week out you see more of what they can do as the colts boys with Brannan and i with Crackers. Best hands i have seen in the league for brute strength with mits. Tim Trail for Spotty 2001, 2002. He couldn't really jump but his hands were by far the strongest marking mits i have ever seen!
Crackers kicked 8/10 on the weekend should have had 15!
Crackers and brannan both can take a grab, so let's just leave it at that brannan played chf on the week-end and had about 6 opponents, towled them all, cracker should have kicked more but look at the opposition, brannan had another goal that the ump said was touched on the line that clearly wasn't and another disallowed should of had 14 with a bit of luck, easily the best individual performance i have seen in this league and d.jacobs had 50 touches up against b. murphy.
Da vinci ask logan about the brannan performance he witnessed it first hand.
A pleasing performance for us , as we were without, mcgregor, who has been our best forward,hoath he has been in our top 5 all year and millen has been our best backmen.
Back to crackers, i think he has about 87 goals for the year, great effort and i hope he gets the ton after just missing it last year, with at least 4 games to go he should get there.
I also agree with wrflfan young spooner is a gun and at 21 will be a top player in this comp for the next decade, he has about 75 goals, so he may even go close to the ton himself.
FiloBeddoe
28 Jul 2008, 01:36
Crackers and brannan both can take a grab, so let's just leave it at that brannan played chf on the week-end and had about 6 opponents, towled them all, cracker should have kicked more but look at the opposition, brannan had another goal that the ump said was touched on the line that clearly wasn't and another disallowed should of had 14 with a bit of luck, easily the best individual performance i have seen in this league and d.jacobs had 50 touches up against b. murphy.
Da vinci ask logan about the brannan performance he witnessed it first hand.
A pleasing performance for us , as we were without, mcgregor, who has been our best forward,hoath he has been in our top 5 all year and millen has been our best backmen.
Back to crackers, i think he has about 87 goals for the year, great effort and i hope he gets the ton after just missing it last year, with at least 4 games to go he should get there.
I also agree with wrflfan young spooner is a gun and at 21 will be a top player in this comp for the next decade, he has about 75 goals, so he may even go close to the ton himself.
A few things Rock
1) Get ready for the week's rest in the finals
2) The WRFL show blokes were giving Hoppers heaps about a lack of commitment. Where they that bad?
3) Please tell me that Brannan played on Phippsy for most of the day. Reckon Phipps thought that the more marks Brannan took, the more Phipps would get in his pay packet, haha. Gotta question the boy's though processes.
PAUL3232
28 Jul 2008, 08:43
Did Dean Portelli umpire the Colts/Hoppers game Saturday, overheard him talking about their effort, yesterday at the junior finals.
Reckons that they will be hard to beat in this years finals, and said the Danny Jacobs game was one of the best games by a player in the W.R.F.L.
STRONGBOW
28 Jul 2008, 10:59
I know that this may sound silly to some but I'll post my thoughts anyway.
Although the game was a whitewash, I was impressed with the boys from West and their hardness at the pill. They didn't look like giving up all day. It would have been easy for them to go the knuckle and turn the game into a farce but they kept going and encouraging each other.
It's easy to sink the boot into a struggling club but there was no questioning their guts.
Not sure how many fled the club after the divvy two flag and why but they should have come down to the old tip yesterday and witnessed some real G&D. Well done West, hope things get better not too far down the track.
just a pity about the crap coming from there coaching staff.
so what was your thoughts on the debut of Wood and Knight?
imo they both performed really well knighta was good in tight great disposal.
woody was very impressive nice left foot goal in 3rd quart, 4 goals for the game great roving off the tall forwards
these 2 as well as the form of noye, isbister and pope was a highlight.
also good to see these boys get plenty of gametime.
would be good to give these another go this week against the saints.
A few things Rock
1) Get ready for the week's rest in the finals
2) The WRFL show blokes were giving Hoppers heaps about a lack of commitment. Where they that bad?
3) Please tell me that Brannan played on Phippsy for most of the day. Reckon Phipps thought that the more marks Brannan took, the more Phipps would get in his pay packet, haha. Gotta question the boy's though processes.
No phippsy was on me all day and for some strange reason the coach did not put their best defender on to brannan.....even phippsy was asking to have a crack at brannan and even some ex senior hoppers players were yelling out for phipps to go on to brannan but the move just didn't come.
Did Dean Portelli umpire the Colts/Hoppers game Saturday, overheard him talking about their effort, yesterday at the junior finals.
Reckons that they will be hard to beat in this years finals, and said the Danny Jacobs game was one of the best games by a player in the W.R.F.L.
Yes dean umpired, hoppers had a bad day as we did when we played them at home. Most clubs have had their off days this year, so i wouldn't read to much into it.
Yes we will be hard to beat come finals time but so will albion and spotty without doubt are the team to beat , so much depth and class and are not at full strength yet....SCARY
footy power
28 Jul 2008, 13:42
I heard a few players have walked out down at Albion??
Any Albion people give an update on that?
also, on Saturday, Did Jacobs and Murphy go head to head?? if so, who got the honours?
georgemichael
28 Jul 2008, 14:07
also, on Saturday, Did Jacobs and Murphy go head to head?? if so, who got the honours?
Bit unfair on Murphy comparing the two players. One bloke would still be playing at the highest level if not for a dodgy hip, and the other didn't quite make it at AFL level. The game on saturday reflected that.
peterpowers
28 Jul 2008, 14:08
Not quite sure if they went HD to HD but Jacobs was the better player. Murphy was not the worst for Hoppers though...That award went to the entire coaching panel.
Tony Delaney
28 Jul 2008, 14:41
West were celebrating Saturday night as they expected to lose by 40 goals and kept the margin to 38. They did hope however to score 2 or 3 goals but only managed the one. Oh well.
Curious in regards to West player Lika. I know that if I played every senior game for the season and was dropped for a grand final for a guy who had a snapped knee just so he could sit on the bench and get a madal, I would have a bit more pride than to come back and play the year after. Yes team comes first but self pride is pretty important especially when you play your whole life for a flag.
Looks like Albion have dropped off a bit, hopefully can get back to early form to make finals more interesting. Looking forward to getting down there for the 1988 reserves premiership reunion in August.
Not quite sure if they went HD to HD but Jacobs was the better player. Murphy was not the worst for Hoppers though...That award went to the entire coaching panel.
Cant understand their reluctance to make moves from the bench, after seeing their whiteboard which is bigger than me...lol.
Then again perhaps that may have been the problem too few magnets to fill in the many gaps.
Tony Delaney
28 Jul 2008, 15:00
Think there will be a coaching vacancy at Hoppers next year. Think Frost showed his inner workings perfectly with how Fraser was treated.
Hope they don't make the finals. No time for a club that wouldn't clear a guy to a battling second division club til he paid the money for a raffle ticket that he didn't sell 2 years ago.
SWANNEES
28 Jul 2008, 15:29
Think there will be a coaching vacancy at Hoppers next year. Think Frost showed his inner workings perfectly with how Fraser was treated.
Hope they don't make the finals. No time for a club that wouldn't clear a guy to a battling second division club til he paid the money for a raffle ticket that he didn't sell 2 years ago.
not correct used ticket to attend function but DIDNTpay for same.
not correct used ticket to attend function but DIDNT pay for same.
As Rock pointed out, every club can have a bad day now and again.
Its not the end of the world.
One thing you have been criticised for before is for playing too much of a "Foreign Legion" and for playing "expensive recruits" ahead of your younger blokes.
This cant be said for Saturday and as is the case, younger blokes peak and trough more than their experience team mates.
For your sake lets hope they chalk it down to experience and quickly move on.
peterpowers
28 Jul 2008, 16:54
Im pretty sure he has signed for the next year but it appears some people have been treated unfairly. There are blokes happily running around in the seconds and dont want to play in the seniors.
You'd suggest that 50 touches would almost get the chocolates
cougarman
28 Jul 2008, 17:40
i doubt that would happen, the club is in the best position it has been in over the last 20 yrs finals for the 2nd yr in a row and a top 3 finish would have thought the cats personel would be pretty happy
anyone else heard anything or can we put this one to bed
All good down at Parsons reserve.............waiting for the return bout with Spotty:thumbsu:
FiloBeddoe
28 Jul 2008, 18:47
No phippsy was on me all day and for some strange reason the coach did not put their best defender on to brannan.....even phippsy was asking to have a crack at brannan and even some ex senior hoppers players were yelling out for phipps to go on to brannan but the move just didn't come.
At least he was willing to have a crack. Got to give him that. I'm not sure what Frosty would have been thinking, if at all. Even if the move did come, it wouldn't have made any difference. When Brannan is on, he is on!
FiloBeddoe
28 Jul 2008, 18:54
just a pity about the crap coming from there coaching staff.
so what was your thoughts on the debut of Wood and Knight?
imo they both performed really well knighta was good in tight great disposal.
woody was very impressive nice left foot goal in 3rd quart, 4 goals for the game great roving off the tall forwards
these 2 as well as the form of noye, isbister and pope was a highlight.
also good to see these boys get plenty of gametime.
would be good to give these another go this week against the saints.
Wood and Knight are likely types but I wouldn't say too much until I see them against better opposition. Knight's disposal was very good and Wood played some smart footy.
Not sure what will happen this week against the saints. May have a few coming back so the boys may get edged out. Either way, they've had a taste, all be it against a struggling team. Just being exposed to the demands of the coaching staff would have been a good experience.
I saw the coach get kneed in the head accidently. The kid who did it went over to him and apologized and copped a mouthful for his trouble, haha. Lets hope the boys show the same lack of understanding and mongrel over the next month.