View Full Version : Western Region Football League Team (Part 2)
Iknowfooty
28 Jul 2008, 19:08
Bit unfair on Murphy comparing the two players. One bloke would still be playing at the highest level if not for a dodgy hip, and the other didn't quite make it at AFL level. The game on saturday reflected that.
Pretty well summed up D.Jacobs is not only a class above B.Murphy, he has no peer in the comp. Without putting to much pressure on Danny if he doesnt win the comp medal it would be the biggest disgrace in the history of the WRFL. He is just a super player and you can see why he was a succesful AFL player.
No phippsy was on me all day and for some strange reason the coach did not put their best defender on to brannan.....even phippsy was asking to have a crack at brannan and even some ex senior hoppers players were yelling out for phipps to go on to brannan but the move just didn't come.
keep on raping phippsy up,it will go to his head and he will start playing the way he can,having played with the poof i no he likes all the talk,dont no if his up to brannan,rock if he got on top of u y didnt u knock him out again im sure most people would be on your side
just a pity about the crap coming from there coaching staff.
so what was your thoughts on the debut of Wood and Knight?
imo they both performed really well knighta was good in tight great disposal.
woody was very impressive nice left foot goal in 3rd quart, 4 goals for the game great roving off the tall forwards
these 2 as well as the form of noye, isbister and pope was a highlight.
also good to see these boys get plenty of gametime.
would be good to give these another go this week against the saints.
just hope they get a go against the big boys they might be able to gage were there at,id hope knight with 20 odd p and wood with 4 goals the boys would be able to stake a claim for next week,only time will tell,with a few coming back in i think the coaching panel needs to start looking at in form players,lets not forget finals are just around the corner
keep on raping phippsy up,it will go to his head and he will start playing the way he can,having played with the poof i no he likes all the talk,dont no if his up to brannan,rock if he got on top of u y didnt u knock him out again im sure most people would be on your side
Don't think he relly got on top of me, just the boys stuck to the game plan and went to brannan as much as possible and it worked, i doubt very much if phipps could have stopped him.
I think the first game DJ played was against Albion...........looked like he's injury was a bigger problem than most thought but watching him against us at their home ground [BOG that day]and then hearing him on the radio, as he stated, it was him trying to adjust to the lesser level of WRFL which he has taken on and obviously now the stand out player of comp. ALL respect and commendation goes to DJ not just for making the AFL but for giving so much to the WRFL, there have been a few ex-AFL players such as AJ who give nothing [a few goals] and wanted everything $$$$$, stay for a few years & take off.
Hopefully he has a few more years in him.:thumbsu:
I think the first game DJ played was against Albion...........looked like he's injury was a bigger problem than most thought but watching him against us at their home ground [BOG that day]and then hearing him on the radio, as he stated, it was him trying to adjust to the lesser level of WRFL which he has taken on and obviously now the stand out player of comp. ALL respect and commendation goes to DJ not just for making the AFL but for giving so much to the WRFL, there have been a few ex-AFL players such as AJ who give nothing [a few goals] and wanted everything $$$$$, stay for a few years & take off.
Hopefully he has a few more years in him.:thumbsu:
INKA, it's about time you made some sense, those comments after albion beat the coltsin rd 2 were way off the mark, you pissed me off big time, luckily for you i had my son with me...hahaha, It was dj's first game and he was still one of our better players and now easily the best player in the comp and easily the best i have seen in the wrfl, with all due respect to frosty, i didn't see every week.
PICMAN how did young jack go on the week end????
Did you enjoy the game on saturday???
PICMAN how did young jack go on the week end????
Did you enjoy the game on saturday???
sat was a pretty awesome display (not pissing in your pocket) how good was squizzy he could play for another 5 years sun we won by 7pts in extra time after game being a draw hard day at the office:thumbsu:
INKA, it's about time you made some sense, those comments after albion beat the coltsin rd 2 were way off the mark, you pissed me off big time, luckily for you i had my son with me...hahaha, It was dj's first game and he was still one of our better players and now easily the best player in the comp and easily the best i have seen in the wrfl, with all due respect to frosty, i didn't see every week.
Could be for the next few years, even if two play on him each week.............the presence, the instructions he shouts out, by far the best!
By any chance, would he go to another comp where more ex-AFl players play or has he had his time in the big league and happy to play with mates and family? Would be a huge loss to the WRFL in general!
Also can CATSELECTION come out of hiding!:)
sat was a pretty awesome display (not pissing in your pocket) how good was squizzy he could play for another 5 years sun we won by 7pts in extra time after game being a draw hard day at the office:thumbsu:
Yes the squiz is a extraordinary athlete...does not look the part.
Great effort mate, must have been the coaching that got them over the line
Yes the squiz is a extraordinary athlete...does not look the part.
Great effort mate, must have been the coaching that got them over the line
not me mate boys did really well worked hard in very trying conditions freezing cold pissing rain at willy it was the same for both teams
FiloBeddoe
28 Jul 2008, 22:59
Could be for the next few years, even if two play on him each week.............the presence, the instructions he shouts out, by far the best!
By any chance, would he go to another comp where more ex-AFl players play or has he had his time in the big league and happy to play with mates and family? Would be a huge loss to the WRFL in general!
Also can CATSELECTION come out of hiding!:)
Yep very good point about D Jacobs and his instructions. I'm dead set he won the game for Colts when they beat Spotty the first time this year. The second time his brother went nuts, brought his own footy and racked up the p's without anyone going near him. Neither of them will go anywhere until they've won a flag together. Great chance of doing it this year as I think the Colts are a better side than last year. Even then, they'll stick around.
As for CATSELECTION, he'll be around, especially if they beat Spotty in rnd 18. They'll all be tuning up the band and greasing the wheels of the wagon!
addorable
29 Jul 2008, 08:32
just hope they get a go against the big boys they might be able to gage were there at,id hope knight with 20 odd p and wood with 4 goals the boys would be able to stake a claim for next week,only time will tell,with a few coming back in i think the coaching panel needs to start looking at in form players,lets not forget finals are just around the corner
agree 100%
IMO theres at least 3 senior players that could do with a run in the 2s to try and get some form leading into the finals, St Albans are running a very young senior side so will do Woody and Knighta good.
agree 100%
IMO theres at least 3 senior players that could do with a run in the 2s to try and get some form leading into the finals, St Albans are running a very young senior side so will do Woody and Knighta good.
3 players could be
sinnott was good against hoppers but quiet since
pelar cant recall him being in best this year
wilson has been quiet of late
only thing if they go down might not get back up, puhar finding it hard to get back into 1s
Go Doggies
29 Jul 2008, 14:03
Thanks to everyone who Supported the Darren Green Fundraiser at the Sunshine Football club, what a night - we raise over $40K for Darren to support him through this time. It was great to see so many clubs offer their assistance from both 1st and 2nd division. With over 320 people in attendance the night went off with a bang.
Darren was overwhelmed by the support. Thanks again
CATSELECTION
29 Jul 2008, 14:26
Yep very good point about D Jacobs and his instructions. I'm dead set he won the game for Colts when they beat Spotty the first time this year. The second time his brother went nuts, brought his own footy and racked up the p's without anyone going near him. Neither of them will go anywhere until they've won a flag together. Great chance of doing it this year as I think the Colts are a better side than last year. Even then, they'll stick around.
As for CATSELECTION, he'll be around, especially if they beat Spotty in rnd 18. They'll all be tuning up the band and greasing the wheels of the wagon!
havn't gone into hiding I just find there is nothing to talk about down at Albion for the time.
Was a dismal lose against Hoppers crossing the conditions were shocking, not taking anything away from hoppers though, they deserved the win on the day, come finals time things will change.
We got over the line on the weekend against Glenorden, a poor performance without Steve & Justin, yet good signs with many younger guys in Chris Hall & Brad Hewit playing good football.
With two rounds left against Yarra and Spotty I can't see us losing a 3rd spot on the ladder and a night final is almost certain.
Still probably 3-4 blokes who havn't really proved themselves and would want to lift in the next two if they want to play seniors finals.
3 players could be
sinnott was good against hoppers but quiet since
pelar cant recall him being in best this year
wilson has been quiet of late
only thing if they go down might not get back up, puhar finding it hard to get back into 1s
not bad choices,puhar in pelar out is probably the way to go,not sure how many were rested last week, should be an interesting selection crisas on thursday, should they keep the new boys, might be a few noses out of joint
Molan, McGhie & Harris to come back in this week. Langlands is also back from injury and Puhar and Murat playing well in the 2's along with a couple of others. Murat tagged Hollow out of it last time against St Albans apparently. 2 young guys played very well last week and Wilson, Pelar and Sinnot (as mentioned) havent done anything wrong so they would be unlucky to miss out aswell. There will definitely be at least a couple of disappointed players. Its a good position to be in though.
looks like the kids might miss out then.still think puhar would be a better option then pelar though, nothing against the man,just think puhar is a better tap ruckmen also can take a grab every now and then, so to me this puts puhar just in front.lets not forget one has only one eye so really hes miles infront
FiloBeddoe
29 Jul 2008, 22:59
Murat was ok but Hollow (who I'd never seen before) was still very effective. I think some may have overrated Murat's performance. The young blokes will not play senior finals, I'd say that's a given. They should just enjoy the experience and set their sights on next year.
I reckon Pelar, Wilson and Sinnot will play out the year and others will make way for those coming back. If they were ever going to be dropped it would have happened earlier. Obviously the coach has a bit of faith in them so can't see it happening. I reckon Sinnot's been good in the games I've seen so I'm not sure why he's being brought up. The other two have had a bit of a roller coaster ride.
Thought with only two weeks to go i would have a crack at team of the year, obviously i don't see opposition teams every week and i will probably be a bit biased but let's see how it comes out
BACKS TAYLOR (COLTS), BONNETT, SABLICH
H/BACKS SAVALAS, MANGAN, ARENA
CENTRES HOLLOW, D.JACOBS, RICHARDS
H/FWDS BRANNAN, KEENAN, FOLEY
FWDS O'KEEFE, SPOONER, BUTTINA
RUCKS JULIER, B. MURPHY, HARRIS
INTER BARKER, KELM, HOATH, MCGREGOR, B. JACOBS, JOHNS, KELLY, PHIPPS, D FITZPATRICK, LINTON, DORWOOD, AGIUS
A very hard task, went with the dream team theme and picked a squad of 30. Give me your thoughts people, who should have been in from your club that i missed, or who have i over rated.
I would love to coach this team against the edfl or efl.
brains01
30 Jul 2008, 09:21
Thought with only two weeks to go i would have a crack at team of the year, obviously i don't see opposition teams every week and i will probably be a bit biased but let's see how it comes out
INTER BARKER, KELM, HOATH, MCGREGOR, B. JACOBS, JOHNS, KELLY, PHIPPS, D FITZPATRICK, LINTON, DORWOOD, AGIUS
A very hard task, went with the dream team theme and picked a squad of 30. Give me your thoughts people, who should have been in from your club that i missed, or who have i over rated.
It is always tough to do this as you only see other teams twice a year and Rock i am not having a go at your selections but i doubt Richards,Aguis and Mangan would make team of the year with the amount of footy that they have missed this year.
This is obviously biased but i think D Scott and C Brown from St Albans have had great years and deserve a mention.
Having Spooner in front of Butina is also controversial maybe Keenan and FF and Butina and Spooner in the pockets.
brains01
30 Jul 2008, 09:23
Just interested as to why McGhie didnt play against West on the weekend was it through injury or was he cautious about playing against his old mans club.
yeh protecting him and the others from getting leather poisoning
crap post
It is always tough to do this as you only see other teams twice a year and Rock i am not having a go at your selections but i doubt Richards,Aguis and Mangan would make team of the year with the amount of footy that they have missed this year.
This is obviously biased but i think D Scott and C Brown from St Albans have had great years and deserve a mention.
Having Spooner in front of Butina is also controversial maybe Keenan and FF and Butina and Spooner in the pockets.
Thought the three highlighted were still classy enough to warrant a spot, and d scott is not far behind kelm, and brown also stiff.
As for spooner, i rate him higher than buttina and i think spooner has really gone to another level the secon half of this year.He has also kicked more bags of 5 or more than buttina.
brains01
30 Jul 2008, 12:55
Thought the three highlighted were still classy enough to warrant a spot, and d scott is not far behind kelm, and brown also stiff.
As for spooner, i rate him higher than buttina and i think spooner has really gone to another level the secon half of this year.He has also kicked more bags of 5 or more than buttina.
Yeah i agree that those 3 players are all of quality but when picking a team of the year games played will come into it but i would definently have those 3 in any rep side that i am picking.
Your comments on Spooner are also interesting and i tend to agree that Spooner is more consistent than Butina.
I think even Mango would admit that his form and number of games played wouldnt warrant a spot in the team this year. We have been a much more even team this year apparently, with the continued improvement of the likes of Sablich, Isbister and Noye and the inclusion of McGhie, Okeefe, Sinnot and a reasonably injury free Molan there havent been too many standouts.
I agree about mango but i really rate him as one of the best backmen in the comp and other than maybe fitzpatrick or barker at chb i couldn't think of anyone ele and those two don't play there that often.
Who should have been there.
footy power
30 Jul 2008, 17:51
I agree about mango but i really rate him as one of the best backmen in the comp and other than maybe fitzpatrick or barker at chb i couldn't think of anyone ele and those two don't play there that often.
DICKO from Albion... (ha)
HAHAHAHAH
no way the old number 7 from the colts kicked 4 on him in a quarter... dicko is finished
Just kidding he has had a pretty good year but has played fwd and back and also missed a few but is in good form
I agree totally. He and Bonnett would be the 2 best backmen in the comp by a long way but he hasnt played as well as he would have liked and has missed 7 or 8 games. Im sure a big game isnt far away for him though. Lachie McGhie has been playing there of late and although he hasnt played there all year, he's been in unbelievable form and would be a chance. Maybe Bonnett at CHB and Phipps at FB?? Crackers has to be FF, not CHF. Ronald McDonald wouldnt know where CHF was unless somebody gave him a compass.
colbol35
30 Jul 2008, 18:40
good team. would go well against those other comps for sure
with them 4 coming back into the side will put Woody and Knighty back to the 2s who will be the unlucky other 2???????? wouldn't expect you to name them beazer.
good spot for the team to be in
also what bout undies???
WRFLfan
30 Jul 2008, 20:52
H/BACKS SAVALAS, BARKER, ARENA
CENTRES HOLLOW, D.JACOBS, HOATH
H/FWDS SPOONER, BRANNAN, B. JACOBS
FWDS B. MURPHY, KEENAN, BUTTINA
RUCKS JULIER, O'KEEFE, HARRIS
INTER KELM, DORWOOD, MCGREGOR, FOLEY, D FITZPATRICK, LINTON, MILLEN, MASSIS, J RUSSO, LEATCH, IBISTER, MOLAN
Hard to do thought Keenan is a true full forward and done it season after season so is proven, O'Keefe and Harris two best on ballers. Barker to good to start on the bench been good when playing back. Molan too good to leave out and this not as injured as last year and you can tell, Ibister maturing as a player, Leatch class of the half back. Millen as been very strong for us all year and Massis hasnt played as much as he should have but you know when he does plays and the oppostion would agree. Russo been Strong all year.
Full_Back_Player
30 Jul 2008, 22:28
Who would be captain, Danny Jacobs a safe bet?
H/BACKS SAVALAS, BARKER, ARENA
CENTRES HOLLOW, D.JACOBS, HOATH
H/FWDS SPOONER, BRANNAN, B. JACOBS
FWDS B. MURPHY, KEENAN, BUTTINA
RUCKS JULIER, O'KEEFE, HARRIS
INTER KELM, DORWOOD, MCGREGOR, FOLEY, D FITZPATRICK, LINTON, MILLEN, MASSIS, J RUSSO, LEATCH, IBISTER, MOLAN
Hard to do thought Keenan is a true full forward and done it season after season so is proven, O'Keefe and Harris two best on ballers. Barker to good to start on the bench been good when playing back. Molan too good to leave out and this not as injured as last year and you can tell, Ibister maturing as a player, Leatch class of the half back. Millen as been very strong for us all year and Massis hasnt played as much as he should have but you know when he does plays and the oppostion would agree. Russo been Strong all year.
I just did the math and my side would flog your side by about 8 goals, cracker is a better option at h.fwd missses to many shots on goal, him and brannan are great marks and would win the ball at h/fwd and spooner and buttina will finish.....THANX FOR THE CONTEST but like supercoach i got you again hahahahha
WRFLfan
31 Jul 2008, 03:57
I just did the math and my side would flog your side by about 8 goals, cracker is a better option at h.fwd missses to many shots on goal, him and brannan are great marks and would win the ball at h/fwd and spooner and buttina will finish.....THANX FOR THE CONTEST but like supercoach i got you again hahahahha
Please you put Richards in he's only played a handful of games and you said you pick em on what youve seen when they played us he was anything special. Keenan needs to be closer to goal so he makes the distance. Bonnett to Buttina and well you know how that ends. And O'Keefe to beat B. Murphy by the Flemington straight
with them 4 coming back into the side will put Woody and Knighty back to the 2s who will be the unlucky other 2???????? wouldn't expect you to name them beazer.
good spot for the team to be in
also what bout undies???
I seriously have no idea. At least 3 will come back in with 3 obviously having to make room for them. Hard to drop somebody who kicks 4 goals on debut though. Generally last 1's in are the 1st to go but I just dont know what they will do. Given the selection dilemma and the fact he has missed 5 or 6 weeks, Id suggest that Langlands will get a game in the 2's 1st b4 he comes back in.
Matt Shannon has to have an op on his knee I think. His season and possibly his career is over. He was a gun of the comp b4 he left a couple of years ago and its a shame he has to finish in this way. Ripper bloke to go with it.
cougarman
31 Jul 2008, 10:25
I seriously have no idea. At least 3 will come back in with 3 obviously having to make room for them. Hard to drop somebody who kicks 4 goals on debut though. Generally last 1's in are the 1st to go but I just dont know what they will do. Given the selection dilemma and the fact he has missed 5 or 6 weeks, Id suggest that Langlands will get a game in the 2's 1st b4 he comes back in.
Matt Shannon has to have an op on his knee I think. His season and possibly his career is over. He was a gun of the comp b4 he left a couple of years ago and its a shame he has to finish in this way. Ripper bloke to go with it.
i hate reading about players having to give the game away because of injury, still was a good player for spotswood he will be missed
cougarman
31 Jul 2008, 10:31
Please you put Richards in he's only played a handful of games and you said you pick em on what youve seen when they played us he was anything special. Keenan needs to be closer to goal so he makes the distance. Bonnett to Buttina and well you know how that ends. And O'Keefe to beat B. Murphy by the Flemington straight
haha what a pisser your sides are just about identical once the game started and rotations kicked in players would alternate between half forward and deep forward, i would tip a draw between these 2 sides
on another point i know it's hard to pick a side but i would have Nathan Lovell from glenorden in the squad somewhere, has kicked a few goals and rucks and has been in the best quite a bit this yr
haha what a pisser your sides are just about identical once the game started and rotations kicked in players would alternate between half forward and deep forward, i would tip a draw between these 2 sides
on another point i know it's hard to pick a side but i would have Nathan Lovell from glenorden in the squad somewhere, has kicked a few goals and rucks and has been in the best quite a bit this yr
Wha would you know??? Tipping a draw is a soft option, don't worry about wrflfan getting into you coz you tip my team.
As for lovell, don't just judge it on number of times in the best, he is in an ordinary team.
Richards played well against us wrflfan and was very good in rd 1, quality wingman.
Y es matt shannon was a gun player in this comp before he left and as cougar said, it's sad to see injury end a player's season even worse when it may be his career. Always played it hard and fair.
He did seem to struggle a little in games i seen this year may have had a few niggles that looked to be bothering him and with spotty's depth he may have struggled to hold his spot anyway.......is this close to the mark beazer.
Also just wondering how come ruckmen of the year and premiership ruckmen of 2007 puhar is not in the side???
WRFLfan
31 Jul 2008, 14:22
Y es matt shannon was a gun player in this comp before he left and as cougar said, it's sad to see injury end a player's season even worse when it may be his career. Always played it hard and fair.
He did seem to struggle a little in games i seen this year may have had a few niggles that looked to be bothering him and with spotty's depth he may have struggled to hold his spot anyway.......is this close to the mark beazer.
Also just wondering how come ruckmen of the year and premiership ruckmen of 2007 puhar is not in the side???
Please, Puhar getting selected before Julier was a joke in 2007. Matt Shannon was a stand out for Spotty before he left.
Cougar dont worry about upsetting the Rock our sides are different and if it came to benches mine is star studded. Be honest my sides better(and your in my starting side buddy)
Injuries have definitely had an effect on Matt this year but he was just starting to play some good footy b4 he got injured again. He probably didnt get the opportunity on the ball given the guys we have there so I think he would have held his spot, if he was given an opportunity on ball.
Basically Puhie wasnt playing great footy. His confidence was down and he is a very big 'confidence' player. He has shown what he can do over the last couple of weeks when he has the confidence to jump for his marks. Not sure what Chops will do as big Ray has been given a chance in the ruck and has taken it with both hands, being in the better players over the past 3 weeks.
Iknowfooty
31 Jul 2008, 14:44
Sorry to hear about Matty, he is a nice bloke. Was a good player but IMO even when he had his first stint in this league was a good player but not a gun of the comp. I think Matty will agree that he was a better player much earlier in his career late 90s early to mid 2000s. This is when he was younger.
Injuries have definitely had an effect on Matt this year but he was just starting to play some good footy b4 he got injured again. He probably didnt get the opportunity on the ball given the guys we have there so I think he would have held his spot, if he was given an opportunity on ball.
Basically Puhie wasnt playing great footy. His confidence was down and he is a very big 'confidence' player. He has shown what he can do over the last couple of weeks when he has the confidence to jump for his marks. Not sure what Chops will do as big Ray has been given a chance in the ruck and has taken it with both hands, being in the better players over the past 3 weeks.
Good to see Ray in the ruck i'm sure julier will thrive on a that challenge and it's even better to see him out the back line i know our forwards will be happy.
Iknowfooty
31 Jul 2008, 15:10
Good to see Ray in the ruck i'm sure julier will thrive on a that challenge and it's even better to see him out the back line i know our forwards will be happy.
Hey Rock Next at Sale 1min boxed ex 2,3,4 and 12.
Get off the punt and do some work hahahaha
ColeReserve
31 Jul 2008, 15:24
LATEST RESULTS:
Sale Race 4:
12 - LADY HANNA 5.90 2.30
10 - LOMINATA 1.70 Exa 12 - 10 23.80
4 - BUSH BOSS 3.60
Iknowfooty
31 Jul 2008, 15:25
Hey Rock. This was a good result @ the Gold Coast Harness.
10-ROLLING ROCK 6.80 2.90 Qin 10 - 3 25.10 3-MY FLYER 2.30 Exa 10 - 3 91.00 9-EMPEROR SANTOS 2.40 Due 10 - 3 18.40 1-JUST SMARTEN UP
ColeReserve
31 Jul 2008, 15:29
Hey Rock. This was a good result @ the Gold Coast Harness.
10-ROLLING ROCK 6.80 2.90 Qin 10 - 3 25.10 3-MY FLYER 2.30 Exa 10 - 3 91.00 9-EMPEROR SANTOS 2.40 Due 10 - 3 18.40 1-JUST SMARTEN UP
Suppose that makes ROCK'N'READY in the last at Sale worth a look ??
puffpuffgivemo
31 Jul 2008, 15:35
Sorry if it's been mentioned previously.
How did you Sunshine boys go with the fundraiser for Darren Green.
I know i organised a donation for a dinner package and hopefully you were able to raise some money with all donations and auction items.
Hopefully after such a tragic accident the money raised has given him a bit of a kick along.
Cheers
Iknowfooty
31 Jul 2008, 15:35
Suppose that makes ROCK'N'READY in the last at Sale worth a look ??
Well ColeReserve ive got a good bank now thanks to Rolling Rock so i will have a crack at ROCK'N'READY.
Running Double R7 Rango into ROCK'N'READY.
cougarman
31 Jul 2008, 16:50
Please, Puhar getting selected before Julier was a joke in 2007. Matt Shannon was a stand out for Spotty before he left.
Cougar dont worry about upsetting the Rock our sides are different and if it came to benches mine is star studded. Be honest my sides better(and your in my starting side buddy)
you got me, we'd win comfortably lol:thumbsu:
WRFLfan
31 Jul 2008, 18:00
you got me, we'd win comfortably lol:thumbsu:
1 nil Rocky
FiloBeddoe
31 Jul 2008, 18:16
Ray has been good but the proof in pudding comes about when he hits the better ruckmen. Will be better for the experience. Still think the backline functions better with him in there.
Puhie may not have been playing great footy but there were a couple of others who on performance, could have been dropped before him. Rumour has it that he won't see another senior game this year. Any truth, and no media savvy responses please Beaza. haha.
Full_Back_Player
31 Jul 2008, 19:28
Here is my team of the year.
FB KELM, BONNETT, ARENA
HB PACE, MANGAN, SABLICH
C SCOTT, D.JACOBS(c), RICHARDS
HF BRANNAN, KEENAN, CLARKE
FF O'KEEFE, SPOONER, MOLAN
R JULIER, B. MURPHY, HARRIS
I BARKER, BROWN, HOATH, LOVELL
Lachy23
31 Jul 2008, 22:24
Your missing Hollows buddy
FB KELM, BONNETT, ARENA
HB PACE, MANGAN, SABLICH
Thanx mum, seriously i'm not up to this team anymore, but thanx for the inclusion. I was close to having a spell in the two's
table tennis
1 Aug 2008, 10:30
FB KELM, BONNETT, ARENA
HB PACE, MANGAN, SABLICH
Would have thought Butina would be a chance.
Gobombers55
1 Aug 2008, 17:02
FB KELM, BONNETT, ARENA
HB PACE, MANGAN, SABLICH
Ha ha no Ben Foley. Wouldn't be far off winning the medal plus had 54 touches and 9 goals in 1 game this season.
Iknowfooty
1 Aug 2008, 17:54
Ha ha no Ben Foley. Wouldn't be far off winning the medal plus had 54 touches and 9 goals in 1 game this season.
Sorry mate but Ben Foley has got as much chance of winning the medal as Rock07. A bloke who goes around with the Colts with #28 on his back is a living cert. I got $8.00 with Norm Short early in the year and had a crack, im already counting my money.
Just remember IKNOWFOOTY, Rocko7 has one in his closet, already hopefully number 28 wins, if the umps pay attention properly he is a cert, but does a few players taking votes from him, where someone like brad murphy mite not have as much oppostion in his own team.
Iknowfooty
1 Aug 2008, 18:21
Just remember IKNOWFOOTY, Rocko7 has one in his closet, already hopefully number 28 wins, if the umps pay attention properly he is a cert, but does a few players taking votes from him, where someone like brad murphy mite not have as much oppostion in his own team.
I hear what your saying Rock but i reckon #28 has already got 6-7 BOGs with the cahance to get two more. He will probably poll in at least 10 games min out of 18 that suggests to me that he mite sneak home.
P.S Sorry Rock i wasnt aware that you won the medal.
I hear what your saying Rock but i reckon #28 has already got 6-7 BOGs with the cahance to get two more. He will probably poll in at least 10 games min out of 18 that suggests to me that he mite sneak home.
P.S Sorry Rock i wasnt aware that you won the medal.
HAHAHA...Probably coz i shouldn't have
He should have at least 7 bog's and maybe even another when we lost to st.albans, if votes have been given properly he should win, but i just remember rd 1 when d mac kicked 10 chow mentioned it to the umps and they had no idea.....they can be strange
good site this
1 Aug 2008, 19:33
don't discount chris o'keefe, the guy is a freak, goal kicking midfielder, small, quick, a little like rusty last year prob better. But agree with jacobs is clearly the best player in the comp and has no arrogance about him!
Full_Back_Player
1 Aug 2008, 21:49
Yes Hollows, Butina and Foley all probarly deserve to be in the side, Don't know how I didnt pick Foley in it but anyway I just think Hoath, Brown and Clarke really deserve to be in the side ahead of Butina and Hollows. If I had my time again I would probarly include Foley.
If I had my time again I would probably include Foley.
Mate, its a fictional side, you can have as many goes as you like.
HAHAHA...Probably coz i shouldn't have
He should have at least 7 bog's and maybe even another when we lost to st.albans, if votes have been given properly he should win, but i just remember rd 1 when d mac kicked 10 chow mentioned it to the umps and they had no idea.....they can be strange
You make me laugh Jay Jay.
Theres a bloke in your team who played on the wing last week who's not happy hes been forced to go back.
You make me laugh Jay Jay.
Theres a bloke in your team who played on the wing last week who's not happy hes been forced to go back.
At least he is in the team......for now
what happened to patak from spotty. thought he was the stand out player last year,cant he make the side,has he gone missing, or just dont give a rats, thought the boy should of gone further than the wrfl,now he cant make the fictional side:confused:
With one round to go, finals are almost with us but still 1 big game to come, SPOTTY v ALBION. Neither side would want to go into a finals series after a loss but this will be the case. The cats have not lost at home all season so should have alot of confidence playing there, while spotty should also be very confident smashed albion last time and have dominated the competition for the past two years, hopefully it's a close game, A win by the cats would see them take on spotty again the following week, i think it will be a close game but spotty by 1 GOAL.
A close game would open up top spot for us as long as we can do to west a similar thing that spotty did, kick a massive score and keep them to under 20pts, highly unlikely for both to happen but still a possabilty and maybe a cats win would take % out of the equation.
Still a few possabilties with one round to complete.
The big dissapointment of the year would have to be SUNSHINE after a great performance against spotty on ANZAC day their season had some real promise but finished without a finals berth, very dissapointing after a few years playing good footy, i'm sure they will be back up there next year.
brains01
4 Aug 2008, 11:54
it is very quiet on here, so the final 5 has been decided after the weekends game and just the top 3 spots still inconclusive.
also if any Spotty people were wondering why no St Albans players came back into the rooms after the game it was because we were told not to by one of the spotty players who stated you are not welcome into our rooms.
Dont know if this would be true but please correct me if im wrong, everyone is welcome in the rooms before, during and after the game. The only sour note to come from the weekends game was in the twos when a coulple of your players and the runner tried to start trouble after the siren. Big game this weekend for the boys, a good win would cerment top spot and the weeks break and also will decide the goal kicking with both full forwards playing and only a few goals between them.
it is very quiet on here, so the final 5 has been decided after the weekends game and just the top 3 spots still inconclusive.
also if any Spotty people were wondering why no St Albans players came back into the rooms after the game it was because we were told not to by one of the spotty players who stated you are not welcome into our rooms.
And if any of the St Albans people are wondering why somebody was told they werent welcome in after the game its bcos a he spat in the direction of 1 of the Spotty players and told him to f#ck off when he went to shake his hand after the game. Their coach apparently was laughing at the incident. F#cking low act IMO and unfortunately 1 incident like this brands the whole club.
cougarman
4 Aug 2008, 15:22
pretty ordinary brains, a lot worse things have been said and done on a footy field but once the game is over we all move on and always go in the rooms even if only for one drink:thumbsd:
footy power
4 Aug 2008, 15:26
pretty ordinary brains, a lot worse things have been said and done on a footy field but once the game is over we all move on and always go in the rooms even if only for one drink:thumbsd:
is anyone surprised by St Albans not going in for a drink??
It raise doubts about them once again - they probably sat in the changerooms and drank their own beer, just like there supporters probably did all afternoon..
Iknowfooty
4 Aug 2008, 15:30
And if any of the St Albans people are wondering why somebody was told they werent welcome in after the game its bcos a he spat in the direction of 1 of the Spotty players and told him to f#ck off when he went to shake his hand after the game. Their coach apparently was laughing at the incident. F#cking low act IMO and unfortunately 1 incident like this brands the whole club.
Hey Beazer how was your form on the weekend, i watched the 1st half and IMO didnt have much of it you had some good touches early in the second Q then you were on the bench, found that a bit strange from coach Logan. Also i thought St Albans dominated the first 15 min into the wind then Spotty went bang and kicked 4 goals. Isbister was good this was helped by Arena not giving him any respect. Crackers was good with some good grabs and strong body. He must also be good at the dinner table. #29 was ok shows good courage, and also #1 was good in the 2nd Q after being down in the 1st Q. Im not sure if #18 is the answer in the ruck he doesnt seem to be smart enough around the ground.
brains01
4 Aug 2008, 16:16
that isnt true about the spitting as it didnt happen and maybe he didnt shake hands after the game because the way crackers carried on at the kid who played on him (before you jump on and say once in seniors fair game, i agree with that but i wouldnt see crackers carrying on like that to a senior bloke). Brands the whole club, we have already been branded as the worst club by many people so believe what you want.
brains01
4 Aug 2008, 16:32
On a brighter note I thought it was a good game and we are still learning with a young side.
For Spotty Harris was very good and just keeps racking up possies, i thought he was best but Sablich also gave plenty of run. Crackers and Isbister were the 2 forwards who looked dangerous and Murat job on Hollow was good but i dont know how he kept getting away with not facing the ball at every ball up and just looking at Hollow in the face and not looking at the ball. i think he could be an important part of their finals line up if he can tag Turner and cougarman who i would tag from port out of the games.
colbol35
4 Aug 2008, 17:39
that isnt true about the spitting as it didnt happen and maybe he didnt shake hands after the game because the way crackers carried on at the kid who played on him (before you jump on and say once in seniors fair game, i agree with that but i wouldnt see crackers carrying on like that to a senior bloke). Brands the whole club, we have already been branded as the worst club by many people so believe what you want.
well it did happen, not that i care, the guy in question is a dill he sooks up every game we play against you and if he cant shake hands after the game well he can get fuc.ked. also i didnt say the players arent welcome in after the game, just that one guy. fair bit of coaching too by kolynuik, sets a good example
oh yeah sorry for carrying on with that kid, i forgot he is only 18 and im not allowed too. u obviously know what i was doing to him, enlighten us? your right i wouldnt do it to a senior player no way, what do u think im crazy, ill stick to picking on kids thank you very much.( the kid did have a tattoo thou so give me some credit, he is sort of tough)
anyway good luck in the finals hopefully we meet again
cougarman
4 Aug 2008, 17:48
well i did happen, not that i care, the guy in question is a dill he sooks up every game we play against you and if he cant shake hands after the game well he can get fuc.ked. also i didnt say the players arent welcome in after the game, just that one guy. fair bit of coaching too by kolynuik, sets a good example
oh yeah sorry for carrying on with that kid, i forgot he is only 18 and im not allowed too. u obviously know what i was doing to him, enlighten us? your right i wouldnt do it to a senior player no way, what do u think im crazy, ill stick to picking on kids thank you very much.( the kid did have a tattoo thou so give me some credit, he is sort of tough)
a little bit of tension leading into finals i like it lol, it would be good if st albans and spotty were playing in the 1st week
Hey Beazer how was your form on the weekend, i watched the 1st half and IMO didnt have much of it you had some good touches early in the second Q then you were on the bench, found that a bit strange from coach Logan. Also i thought St Albans dominated the first 15 min into the wind then Spotty went bang and kicked 4 goals. Isbister was good this was helped by Arena not giving him any respect. Crackers was good with some good grabs and strong body. He must also be good at the dinner table. #29 was ok shows good courage, and also #1 was good in the 2nd Q after being down in the 1st Q. Im not sure if #18 is the answer in the ruck he doesnt seem to be smart enough around the ground.
I was on the bench bcos I gave away 2 stupid 50's in a row so that was fair enough. I thought I played ok when I was on the ground without starring but i got caught with the ball a few times and fumbled a bit late in the game. Yeah not sure what Arena and the coaching staff were thinking. I would have thought that 3 goals in the 1st q should have been enought to man Isbister up earlier. Ray has been good in the ruck. He is getting his hands on the ball around the ground and is giving us the grunt we need in the middle. He is giving our on ballers 1st use at boundary throw ins too. He will get better the more he plays there in regards to where he runs etc.
a little bit of tension leading into finals i like it lol, it would be good if st albans and spotty were playing in the 1st week
was rock 07 swapped at birth with scott burns ?:)
well it did happen, not that i care, the guy in question is a dill he sooks up every game we play against you and if he cant shake hands after the game well he can get fuc.ked. also i didnt say the players arent welcome in after the game, just that one guy. fair bit of coaching too by kolynuik, sets a good example
come on we all no u like sticking it up em,ifs its not the players then its the crowd u give it to ,either way its all entertaining
was rock 07 swapped at birth with scott burns ?:)
Yes i have had that said to me a few times.
ive seen a young young kid from st.albans over the year. number 40. doesnt play every game. his nickname is fluff i think. not quite sure of his full name. he is from the western jets. a good player with great hands and skills are quality. he really helps st.albans out with there structure as he frees up fitzzy to go CHB and eases the workload off spooner. anyone know much about him?
he will be pivital if st.albans are to be a chance in the finals.
Ive seen a young young kid from st.albans over the year. number 40. doesnt play every game. his nickname is fluff i think. not quite sure of his full name. he is from the western jets. a good player with great hands and skills are quality. he really helps st.albans out with there structure as he frees up fitzzy to go CHB and eases the workload off spooner. anyone know much about him?
he will be pivotal if st.albans are to be a chance in the finals.
The kids name is McKerracher and as you say he can be handy, interested to hear form any "jetters" out there as to how you rate him?
I noticed another "jet" kicked five of the best and starred for Keilor on the weekend. By all reports he was head and shoulders above the rest. How do the two compare??
ive seen a young young kid from st.albans over the year. number 40. doesnt play every game. his nickname is fluff i think. not quite sure of his full name. he is from the western jets. a good player with great hands and skills are quality. he really helps st.albans out with there structure as he frees up fitzzy to go CHB and eases the workload off spooner. anyone know much about him?
he will be pivital if st.albans are to be a chance in the finals.
He is a monster for his age and a very good player. Surely he is good enough to play at the Jets? He took a couple of big marks playing on Mango and McGhie and not many do that.
brains01
5 Aug 2008, 12:14
The kids name is McKerracher and as you say he can be handy, interested to hear form any "jetters" out there as to how you rate him?
I noticed another "jet" kicked five of the best and starred for Keilor on the weekend. By all reports he was head and shoulders above the rest. How do the two compare??
Dimartino is a massive unit and has at least 4 or 5 inches on McKerracher.
he can play but has been very injury prone with his shoulders.
I think the weekends game was only his 1st or 2nd game back from injury but i might be wrong. Dimartino is a key position player at TAC level where as McKerracher is more a flanker.
random_bloke
5 Aug 2008, 12:37
did any other jets players play senior footy on the weekend and if so how did they go???
The Kickoligist
5 Aug 2008, 15:01
I was just flicking through the WRFL website and i noticed that it has Frosty down as playing 4 reserve games this year.
Obviously he hasnt played these games but they have put him on the team list so he qualifies for the 6 games for the year.
Is he any chance of playing this year.
secure38
5 Aug 2008, 15:26
I was just flicking through the WRFL website and i noticed that it has Frosty down as playing 4 reserve games this year.
Obviously he hasnt played these games but they have put him on the team list so he qualifies for the 6 games for the year.
He did play a half against Yarra the second time around and had about 92 possessions in the second quarter. Keenan Reynolds also played that day
SWANNEES
5 Aug 2008, 15:42
played all games listed if only for 10-15 minutes per game,every chance of playing,great bonus being elligible for seniors and reserves finals
Dimartino is a very big boy as i saw last year when he played the first few games. they are two different players as McK is a lead up type were as Dimartino looks the lumbering type, like crackers.
when i watched the game against colts and hoppers that st.albans both won he seemed to push up the ground, i dont no if he was moving into the midfield or just going for a run up the ground but seems to have a fair engine.
will he be playing against sunshine and be around come finals for st.albans... or be playing jets?
footy power
5 Aug 2008, 15:55
Moving forward a week here, but with the Night final next week at St Albans, it will most likey feature Albion and probably colts, does anyone think Albion will have some kind of advantage due to the fact they already played a night game there this year??
No way
table tennis
5 Aug 2008, 17:30
No way
Port will have the advantage, as they smacked Albion last time around......
it will just be like another NIGHT on the training track for port
thegeneral1965
5 Aug 2008, 18:19
it will just be like another NIGHT on the training track for port
Who knows? Maybe Albion will beat Spotty this week and have a week off?
Maybe Colts will struggle in a night final far away from home?
With only 2 goals separating Keenan and Butina who will top the goalkickers? Surely the rumour that some Glenorden boys will be following Keenan from end to end wont put him off? Time will tell!
And dont forget, Albion couldnt be THAT terrible again against both Spotty and Colts........A smart coach who learned a lot!