View Full Version : Western Region Football League Team (Part 2)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36

w.weapons
12 Aug 2008, 13:59
Having seen all the finals sides run around this year there is one glaring difference between all the sides and I have said this for a while. Julier! He is an outstanding ruckman and I would rate him in the best 1 or 2 for the last 10 years. My tip is to watch him closely and start roving off him. Cmon guys you have had a couple of years to watch him. He will continue to smash part time ruckmen all year round!

clint mckellan.......best ruckmen ive seen in this comp by a mile.........got 2 barry priests to go with a premiership........:thumbsu:

BEAZER
12 Aug 2008, 14:17
clint mckellan.......best ruckmen ive seen in this comp by a mile.........got 2 barry priests to go with a premiership........:thumbsu:

Andrew Venner could play a bit too.

peterpowers
12 Aug 2008, 14:37
Andrew Venner could play a bit too.

Wasn't to bad in his day. I believe he too has gone walk about after becoming disenchanted with Frosty and the club.

Astro5
12 Aug 2008, 15:58
Instead of you blokes just potting the guy why dont you give us a reason why he shouldnt be in the team.
i think he will be lucky to hold his spot as i cant see a position for him with Puhar and Jenson rucking, there is no need for a 3rd string ruckman. There isnt any big body forwards in other teams that he can play down back on most of the top forwards are all mobile and good leaders. With the forward line there isnt a spot either with Crackers,Molan and Simpson being the 3 talls.
I dont think he is also the only one to be nervous on Thursday night Noye put in an absolute shocker on the weekend and Patak hasnt had a touch for awhile. I think Spotty rely alot on Sablich run out of the backline and with him playing on Caruso deep will really take his run out of his game.
to say noye was shocking is a bit rough the poor kid had stuff all game time and has always been better behind the ball never been a forward anyway,patak mighten be getting kicks but i sure wouldnt wont to get tackeld by him the man is a beast so maybe with the lack of 1% down there he still might be safe,on the game i think the only one who can keep his head up is okeefe the blokes a freak,poor ben harris looks like bnf is a one horse race,then again do u give votes

av07
12 Aug 2008, 16:31
to say noye was shocking is a bit rough the poor kid had stuff all game time and has always been better behind the ball never been a forward anyway,patak mighten be getting kicks but i sure wouldnt wont to get tackeld by him the man is a beast so maybe with the lack of 1% down there he still might be safe,on the game i think the only one who can keep his head up is okeefe the blokes a freak,poor ben harris looks like bnf is a one horse race,then again do u give votes

noye won an under 18 bnf a couple of years back, was a top junior player and is good seeing him have a go in the one's this year.
patak showed last year that hes going to be a good young player, and so far from what i have heard is in the starting 18.
pope has been given a fair chance this year and have been told he isn't doing to bad.

These two blokes would be in our top 10 players and would love them down at grant reserve :D, give them 2-3 years and i'm sure they will be great local players.

av07
12 Aug 2008, 16:33
Does anyone know if pace can win the rookie of the year? He would be odd's on favourite, played a few senior games last year. Could this effect him? Who are other contenders?

Iknowfooty
12 Aug 2008, 16:46
It's that time of year. Which coaches are staying and who is going in 2009???

Port Colts - wouldn't think anything would change
Spotswood - Bit going on down there by the sounds of it????
Albion - ??????????????
St.Albans - ????????????????
H/C - Frosty has another year on his contract but under immense pressure internally. A lot of unhappy players/supporters/committee people
Sunshine - ?????????????????
Glen Orden - Pretty sure Mcgaw signed multiple year deal
Altona - Freeland moving on so up for grabs. Can anyone confirm????
West Footscray - Good luck to whoever wants this
Yarraville - ??????????????

I dont think Frosty will be coaching Hoppers next year. I reckon an ex premiership player #8 might be involved with Tails.

fisjam
12 Aug 2008, 16:59
noye won an under 18 bnf a couple of years back, was a top junior player and is good seeing him have a go in the one's this year.
patak showed last year that hes going to be a good young player, and so far from what i have heard is in the starting 18.
pope has been given a fair chance this year and have been told he isn't doing to bad.

These two blokes would be in our top 10 players and would love them down at grant reserve :D, give them 2-3 years and i'm sure they will be great local players.

altona could treat the finals as a draft camp plenty of good young players playing 2s footy could fit into altonas plans

av07
12 Aug 2008, 17:06
altona could treat the finals as a draft camp plenty of good young players playing 2s footy could fit into altonas plans

yer well that's correct. As well as a good list of under 18's at altona coming though a few other teams have some good young talent.
but we also must look outside the wrfl.

i'll get down to watch spotty albion and hoppers albion reserves should both be good games

bloods05
12 Aug 2008, 17:08
I dont think Frosty will be coaching Hoppers next year. I reckon an ex premiership player #8 might be involved with Tails.

Frosty could be working in Brisbane next year,from what i have heard.

colbol35
12 Aug 2008, 17:20
Frosty could be working in Brisbane next year,from what i have heard.

i heard frosty and beazer could be starting a bit of a dynasty with one of the local teams in brisbane. Two of the best local footballers to have ever played in melbourne could surely get things goin up north. beazer already has the contacts after dominating for half a season up there earlier in the year.

Astro5
12 Aug 2008, 17:45

dangle some carrots u never no who u might get,here some of the younger ones arent happy at spotty so to earn some coin and play ones footy might just get them down there,all will depend on who coaches u guys next year heard a little rumour shannon grant was interested if so u might get more than u could wish for,would love to see him play local footy again would be great for the comp

Astro5
12 Aug 2008, 17:47
i heard frosty and beazer could be starting a bit of a dynasty with one of the local teams in brisbane. Two of the best local footballers to have ever played in melbourne could surely get things goin up north. beazer already has the contacts after dominating for half a season up there earlier in the year.
must be a slow paced game for beazer to dominate the boy is getting slow

BEAZER
12 Aug 2008, 17:53
must be a slow paced game for beazer to dominate the boy is getting slow

Getting slow????? I havent been able to run out of sight in a dark night since I started playing footy at 7, unless there was a hot dog or a pie night at the end of it.

BEAZER
12 Aug 2008, 17:54

Very true Mark.

footies changed
12 Aug 2008, 17:55
I missed the Sunday Herald Sun but apparantly there was report of a brawl at Glenorden again on the weekend, any truth and if so, will the league do anything?
Second rumor is that West Footscray could be in a bit of strife with their club rooms and liquor license, trading all the time. Could be damaging for the club, not that to many would care if they didn't have to play at either ground i would think.

Anyone know what is happening with either situation?

fisjam
12 Aug 2008, 18:04
I missed the Sunday Herald Sun but apparantly there was report of a brawl at Glenorden again on the weekend, any truth and if so, will the league do anything?
Second rumor is that West Footscray could be in a bit of strife with their club rooms and liquor license, trading all the time. Could be damaging for the club, not that to many would care if they didn't have to play at either ground i would think.

nah it was at albion v glenordan 18s
from what im told
one player hit another then he hit him back a bit harder. then a parent asked the coach who hit his relation the coach wouldnt say so he got hit.
game called off then 2 team mates punched on in the carpark
not sure how correct this is thats why i havent mentioned names

Astro5
12 Aug 2008, 18:15
Getting slow????? I havent been able to run out of sight in a dark night since I started playing footy at 7, unless there was a hot dog or a pie night at the end of it.
they stopped the pie nights because u eat them all

Feel Good
12 Aug 2008, 19:27
tell me champs. wat do use think about the St. Albans seniors? They don't look to good. Spotty or Port Colts look like pure favorites in the grannie. But it look's like hoppers and albion have dropped off the past few years.

Astro5
12 Aug 2008, 19:37
tell me champs. wat do use think about the St. Albans seniors? They don't look to good. Spotty or Port Colts look like pure favorites in the grannie. But it look's like hoppers and albion have dropped off the past few years.
where are u coming from mate albion are a real threat lets hope they give spotty another touch up will be good for some egos down there alot of them love there self

WRFLfan
12 Aug 2008, 21:18
where are u coming from mate albion are a real threat lets hope they give spotty another touch up will be good for some egos down there alot of them love there self
Are you from Spotty Astro? There seems to be alot anger towards Spotty, not that thats bad of course

Da Vinci where are you?? not like you to let this Spotty hating happen

DBourke
12 Aug 2008, 22:11
should be an interesting finals serious. spotty looks the favourites, however if clarke fires for colts it can be a different story. he tends find a extra gear come finals.
saints are capable of beating anyone on there day, however have a young side so be interesting to see how the handle the finals as the only real experienced guys are the fitzy brothers and swadiak.
albion are no good away from home, and hoppers are in just to make up the numbers.

red devil1
12 Aug 2008, 22:44
The North Footscray Football Club are looking for players to participate in the over 35's super-rules football league in 2009.

If you are interested or would like more information, please attend a meeting@7:30pm on 27th August, 2008 at the clubrooms.

If you are unable to attend the meeting, you can contact Aldo Pagano on 0417304514 for more details.

jolly roger
12 Aug 2008, 23:39
should be an interesting finals serious. spotty looks the favourites, however if clarke fires for colts it can be a different story. he tends find a extra gear come finals.
saints are capable of beating anyone on there day, however have a young side so be interesting to see how the handle the finals as the only real experienced guys are the fitzy brothers and swadiak.
albion are no good away from home, and hoppers are in just to make up the numbers.

I think there has been some over reaction to a narrow loss last week for spotty, clearly have been the best team for two years and will take a power of beating come finals time. With any club that has great depth there will be some people thinking they should be in the seniors for other, that is footy, i think some young blokes need to put their ego's in their back pocket and let the coaching staff just pick the team and accept their decision. It's a tough job and i'm sure kelly's only goal is to pick a team that will win, not look after mates or anything of the sort.
There has been talk of altona chasing some spotty boys hopefully they don't go and stay faithfull to their own club, just as altona should focus on their own group.
For me spotty are still the team to beat and obviously colts are a very close second, shooting for their fith grand final in a row, so a proven finals performer, not sure if clarke is their key though, they have alot of forward options a great defense, a very good midfield and easily the best ruckmen in the comp, a clear advantage.
Albion have improved again must have alot of confidence after last week, buttina injury is a worry, a good mix of experience and youth will carry them along way.
St.albans are a smoky the group is playing well together, a great forward line a solid midfield, although their defense is a little light on, scott in the ruck also has a go.
Hoppers i feel are just making up the numbers, the have some quality especially their older bloke a solid defense but no goal kickers is their worry.
A comment on the nite final,it has some merit, but for most would have never even played a nite game let alone final, but lets just see how it unfolds.
A great final series awaits.

thesilkmeister
13 Aug 2008, 08:42

I had heard that the pub down the road from Wests ground was shut down so the locals have been heading down to the footy club for a few frothies........not sure of much more than that, or even if that is fact. Could spell trouble depending on the specifics of their license.

STRONGBOW
13 Aug 2008, 09:27
Are you from Spotty Astro? There seems to be alot anger towards Spotty, not that thats bad of course

maybe DaVinci agrees??????

The Kickoligist
13 Aug 2008, 10:17

Apparantly a kid from Glenorden was hit during the 2nd quarter so the kids parent (who used to be in a coaching role down at Glenorden seniors) went into the Albion changerooms and confronted the coach and asked who the kid was and when he was not told he decided to whack the coach.

The Kickoligist
13 Aug 2008, 10:27
I agree with you on Noye i think the kid is a talent and is better suited down back. i just think that sometimes players are judged on their last game and it seemed that kelly didnt have enough faith in the kid to play him down back in a big game even though he was very good against St Albans the week before down back.So i think his head might be on the chopping bloke and also Pope will be unlucky to miss as he will be replaced by Langlands.

Feel Good
13 Aug 2008, 10:42
spotty do look like the clear favorites, after this year. But i do think that polt colt's do have it over them this year. But no surprise if Spotty do win this year by a couple of goals.

av07
13 Aug 2008, 10:42
dangle some carrots u never no who u might get,here some of the younger ones arent happy at spotty so to earn some coin and play ones footy might just get them down there,all will depend on who coaches u guys next year heard a little rumour shannon grant was interested if so u might get more than u could wish for,would love to see him play local footy again would be great for the comp

gee good rumour that one!
I don't think shannon will come down next year. Would be great for local footy, i think we will look for a ex-vfl player, not a high profile, more like a theodore sort of player.

STRONGBOW
13 Aug 2008, 11:14
nice of StAlbans to let Albion train on there ground,

brains01
13 Aug 2008, 11:58
nice of StAlbans to let Albion train on there ground,
Yeah we arnt that bad and we even supplied a BBQ for the players after training.

acr2751
13 Aug 2008, 12:06
Yeah we arnt all bad and we even supplied a BBQ for the players after training.

cut it out stop starting poor rumours

justwanted2say
13 Aug 2008, 12:17
[quote=brains01;12050845]Yeah we arnt all bad and we even supplied a BBQ for the players after training.[/quote

Maybe not that bad. The boys appreciated it. Thanks.

Feel Good
13 Aug 2008, 13:21
It is pretty weak but for an team to let the opposition on the ground. No club should do that. Doesn't matter if you're versing them or not.

Kozzis Dizzy
13 Aug 2008, 13:27
I think there has been some over reaction to a narrow loss last week for spotty, clearly have been the best team for two years and will take a power of beating come finals time. With any club that has great depth there will be some people thinking they should be in the seniors for other, that is footy, i think some young blokes need to put their ego's in their back pocket and let the coaching staff just pick the team and accept their decision. It's a tough job and i'm sure kelly's only goal is to pick a team that will win, not look after mates or anything of the sort.
There has been talk of altona chasing some spotty boys hopefully they don't go and stay faithfull to their own club, just as altona should focus on their own group.
For me spotty are still the team to beat and obviously colts are a very close second, shooting for their fith grand final in a row, so a proven finals performer, not sure if clarke is their key though, they have alot of forward options a great defense, a very good midfield and easily the best ruckmen in the comp, a clear advantage.
Albion have improved again must have alot of confidence after last week, buttina injury is a worry, a good mix of experience and youth will carry them along way.
St.albans are a smoky the group is playing well together, a great forward line a solid midfield, although their defense is a little light on, scott in the ruck also has a go.
Hoppers i feel are just making up the numbers, the have some quality especially their older bloke a solid defense but no goal kickers is their worry.
A comment on the nite final,it has some merit, but for most would have never even played a nite game let alone final, but lets just see how it unfolds.
A great final series awaits.as someone else has stated opinions are like a*seholes, everyone has one, just curious how you think Spotty are the team to beat when Colts have beaten them twice this year? You a spotty man perhaps? Colts having the rest will certainly help a few, especially D Jacobs...watch out for him come finals time, class above.

STRONGBOW
13 Aug 2008, 13:38
Yeah we arnt that bad and we even supplied a BBQ for the players after training.

well done, 6 cases of gastro reported all ready:thumbsu:

BEAZER
13 Aug 2008, 13:48
as someone else has stated opinions are like a*seholes, everyone has one, just curious how you think Spotty are the team to beat when Colts have beaten them twice this year? You a spotty man perhaps? Colts having the rest will certainly help a few, especially D Jacobs...watch out for him come finals time, class above.

I totally agree. Port are the team to beat atm but finals are a different story as we all know. If they make the GF again this year, unbelievable effort whether they win it or not.

Anybody else know of teams in other leagues (decent comps, not F-grade ammos) with regular appearances in grannys? I think St Pauls in the Southern league have played in a few in recent times and Vermont have in the Eastern league. Not sure how many though.

footballobserver
13 Aug 2008, 13:57
as someone else has stated opinions are like a*seholes, everyone has one, just curious how you think Spotty are the team to beat when Colts have beaten them twice this year? You a spotty man perhaps? Colts having the rest will certainly help a few, especially D Jacobs...watch out for him come finals time, class above.

couldnt be more spot on buddy...this man will single handidly get colts across the line in the granny and why shouldnt he, was a handy player at AFL level when essendon was in its prime early 2000's let alone at WRFL level.
i think he hasnt taking it out of 3rd gear yet finals time we might see something special. is there any player in the comp good enough to tag him in the finals? even keep him to 20-25 possies instead of 50

ROCK07
13 Aug 2008, 14:09
couldnt be more spot on buddy...this man will single handidly get colts across the line in the granny and why shouldnt he, was a handy player at AFL level when essendon was in its prime early 2000's let alone at WRFL level.
i think he hasnt taking it out of 3rd gear yet finals time we might see something special. is there any player in the comp good enough to tag him in the finals? even keep him to 20-25 possies instead of 50

NO, Personally i can't believe how good he is. I know he come from the afl but he his 6ft 4, can out run anyone in the comp has massive hands, so can take a mark better than most and is awesome at ground level, he can't wait to get on to chirnside park, i'm sure he will go to another level.
As long as the other 20 blokes make a solid contribution we will be hard to beat no doubt, but undersestimate spotty and albiom at your peril.

ROCK07
13 Aug 2008, 14:14
[quote=BEAZER;12051993]I totally agree. Port are the team to beat atm but finals are a different story as we all know. If they make the GF again this year, unbelievable effort whether they win it or not.

It will be a great effort to make 5 in a row but if we loose we will be very dissapointed to make 5 and only win two that will be take some gloss off the effort, we will do what we can to get that winning% in our favour.
In 2003 we also finished on top but went out in staight sets, we had no depth at all, got some key injuries and couldn't win a final, although we got close to spotty 2points in the prelim and they got beat by a kick in the gf.

Half Back Pocket
13 Aug 2008, 14:52
I totally agree. Port are the team to beat atm but finals are a different story as we all know. If they make the GF again this year, unbelievable effort whether they win it or not.

Anybody else know of teams in other leagues (decent comps, not F-grade ammos) with regular appearances in grannys? I think St Pauls in the Southern league have played in a few in recent times and Vermont have in the Eastern league. Not sure how many though.

vermont have won 11 out of the last 19....and lost at least 2 Granny's in there as well. Pretty good record (but take into account their weekly wages bill - approaching $20,000!! - 20 week season)

bac
13 Aug 2008, 15:04
The North Footscray Football Club are looking for players to participate in the over 35's super-rules football league in 2009.

If you are interested or would like more information, please attend a meeting@7:30pm on 27th August, 2008 at the clubrooms.

If you are unable to attend the meeting, you can contact Aldo Pagano on 0417304514 for more details.

Have North been accepted into the comp, I thought MAF indicated at ther AGm last year there were enough teams in the West already?

The other clubs in the West didnt want our club in the comp, but we were a very strong club in the Country masters with three teams.

thorpedo
13 Aug 2008, 16:20
In 2003 we also finished on top but went out in staight sets, we had no depth at all, got some key injuries and couldn't win a final, although we got close to spotty 2points in the prelim and they got beat by a kick in the gf.[/quote]

Incorrect Hoppers finished top and out in straight sets firstly to Parkside then Spotty in pre lim. Hoppers havent finished lower than 3rd since 2001.

CREATIVE
13 Aug 2008, 17:08
[quote=BEAZER;12051993]I totally agree. Port are the team to beat atm but finals are a different story as we all know. If they make the GF again this year, unbelievable effort whether they win it or not.

It will be a great effort to make 5 in a row but if we loose we will be very dissapointed to make 5 and only win two that will be take some gloss off the effort, we will do what we can to get that winning% in our favour.
In 2003 we also finished on top but went out in staight sets, we had no depth at all, got some key injuries and couldn't win a final, although we got close to spotty 2points in the prelim and they got beat by a kick in the gf.

Rock hoppers finished on top in 2003. went out in staight sets. pretty sure spotty beat them in the prelim. was that just one big lie that you made up???

cougarman
13 Aug 2008, 17:50

Incorrect Hoppers finished top and out in straight sets firstly to Parkside then Spotty in pre lim. Hoppers havent finished lower than 3rd since 2001.[/quote]

[quote=ROCK07;12052273]

Rock hoppers finished on top in 2003. went out in staight sets. pretty sure spotty beat them in the prelim. was that just one big lie that you made up???

colts finished top 3 and went out in straight sets, parkside beat us in the qualifying final then spotty beat us by 2 points a week later, hoppers also went out in straight sets that year

geez very quick to get into rock we still went out in straight sets when we could have done better which was the point i think

hoppers may not have finished lower than 3rd since 01 but that is about to change can't see them having an impact in the finals this yr

colbol35
13 Aug 2008, 17:58

ill tag him

ROCK07
13 Aug 2008, 17:59
[quote=ROCK07;12052273]

It was mistake di ck head not a lie, yes we finished second on the same points , hoppers had a better %, although we did go out in straight sets, that was my point but an improvement from the year before as we had to win out last game or face being in divvy 2. It's been a great turnaround.

Feel Good
13 Aug 2008, 18:07
So St Albans are handing out free sausages with training nights, can't get enough of that opposition c#%k in their mouth can they, wouldn't have happened in the 80's or 90's

obe1
13 Aug 2008, 18:25
So St Albans are handing out free sausages with training nights, can't get enough of that opposition c#%k in their mouth can they, wouldn't have happened in the 80's or 90's

A little harsh on your former club mate! The opening of their ground to rivals and the complementary bbq was a good gesture.

With four days to go until the night final things are really on a downer in and around sunny St Albans however. ie, machete attack at the local high school, murder and attempted murder at the train station and another shooting overnight in Kings Road,lets hope the trend does not continue on Saturday Night.

grizzley
13 Aug 2008, 18:29

im not from the goat hearders but with a name like Feel Good it sounds like you dont mind a bit of c#%k in your mouth

bloods05
13 Aug 2008, 18:44
A little harsh on your former club mate! The opening of their ground to rivals and the complementary bbq was a good gesture.

With four days to go until the night final things are really on a downer in and around sunny St Albans however. ie, machete attack at the local high school, murder and attempted murder at the train station and another shooting overnight in Kings Road,lets hope the trend does not continue on Saturday Night.

Wonder how many of the wrfl official's who decided it would be a good idea to have a night final at St Alban's,are going out there on sat night to watch the game.

ROCK07
13 Aug 2008, 18:50

You have me scared off obe1, think i mite stay home.

obe1
13 Aug 2008, 18:55
You have me scared off obe1, think i mite stay home.

What a shame we cant watch it on tele.

I'm sure the big fella Brains will take care of us on the night, we might even get a seat up in the scoreboard.:thumbsu:

inka
13 Aug 2008, 19:42
Just in............
Lebenese Tigers
Triads
The Wongs
The Del Bombers
The Fordham Baldies
The Ducky Boys
The Wanderers
Crips
Bloods
KKK
The Aryan Brothers
and anyone noted in the series Underbelly
.............will all be there on saturday nite!

Bale
13 Aug 2008, 20:07
Just in............
Lebenese Tigers
Triads
The Wongs
The Del Bombers
The Fordham Baldies
The Ducky Boys
The Wanderers
Crips
Bloods
KKK
The Aryan Brothers
and anyone noted in the series Underbelly
.............will all be there on saturday nite!

RIFFS !!!!!!
You left out the grammer city riffs
if spotty wins saturday night they will have to bop there way back to coney island with 60,000 soldiers after them:cool:

grizzley
13 Aug 2008, 20:54
RIFFS !!!!!!
You left out the grammer city riffs
if spotty wins saturday night they will have to bop there way back to coney island with 60,000 soldiers after them:cool:

and wouldnt be more than 10,000 police in this whole city,can you dig it

Astro5
13 Aug 2008, 22:24
[/b]

agree with this but highlighted bit a bit harsh, but then again that my explain some of the rotations when players doin well and how some players look for each other,:confused: interesting
it might be harsh but its the truth that hurts,are u hurting ben plz let us no,then again in fifty years when your telling your grandkids about how good u were youll leave out the fact u voted for yourself

Astro5
13 Aug 2008, 22:32
ill tag him
tag him youll smash him, plz take on the challenge. no doubt youll kick six on him pity you wont leave the forward fifty,with a bit of luck they might push him back then youll get your chance

tige19
13 Aug 2008, 22:36

Beazer I believe Sunbury have been in 8 out of 9 of the last Grand Finals in the Ballarat comp. There side has dropped off a bit this year but are still 2nd on the ladder, normally dominate Ballarat. Previous to that they dominated the RDFL when it was really strong with teams like Craigieburn,Melton,Melton South,Gisborne and Darley playing in the league.

Gee looking at those teams, had the RDFL keept them all in the comp it would probably be the 2nd best Metro comp going around behind the Eastern.

ROCK07
13 Aug 2008, 22:46
PICMAN, sorry to hear about your loss in the grand final, hopefully it's omen and your senior team suffer the same fate.
So what is yur take on the happenings of the senior wrfl comp???
The nite final?? who will win?? Your a wise man, pass on some wisdom.

Astro5
13 Aug 2008, 22:47
[quote=jolly roger;12047957]I think there has been some over reaction to a narrow loss last week for spotty, clearly have been the best team for two years and will take a power of beating come finals time. With any club that has great depth there will be some people thinking they should be in the seniors for other, that is footy, i think some young blokes need to put their ego's in their back pocket and let the coaching staff just pick the team and accept their decision. It's a tough job and i'm sure kelly's only goal is to pick a team that will win, not look after mates or anything of the sort.

i dont believe its been an over reaction because of a close loss,
spotty may have great depth but thats no good if your not going to give them a go. like i said yesterday its probably been left to late to make changes, i just hope that spotty 1s can at least make the grand final that way the players in the 2s have a better chance of retaining there spot and not giving it up to some of the 1s players that can come down
actually thought the boys to altona was just shit talk untill i heard it first hand last night.
i new it wasnt shit talk they have dangled some serious carrots lets not forget spotty have never been big pocketed when it comes to there kids coming through,so this could be a huge problem come contract time lets just hope the young fellas dont loose heart and give this great game away, if your not happy boys move on and keep that passion going,spotty will run out of cash soon so you never no u might be part of the next dynasty you wont no unless u hang around and play for free,no dont do that these superstars will stay on.so move on and look after yourselfs just like the superstars will do if they get offered more even though there not worth it..

colbol35
13 Aug 2008, 22:49
tag him youll smash him, plz take on the challenge. no doubt youll kick six on him pity you wont leave the forward fifty,with a bit of luck they might push him back then youll get your chance

couldnt care if dj beats me, my mate ben harris will still kick it to me and harro and i will both get the votes, thats how we do it down at spotty. oh and we will make sure we dont give that okeefe any more votes

Feel Good
13 Aug 2008, 23:05
Can someone from the league get on here and explain why for the first time in years that we have Qualifying finals and Elimination finals played on the same day, even though they are different grades. Wouldn't it have been easier to have the divy 2 finals at St Albans and the divy 1 finals at Altona if they were worried about advantages to the hosting club, that way we can get back to Qualifying finals on Saturday and Elimination finals on Sundays. Hoppers seem to be hard done by moving 18's and Reserves to St Albans and Seniors fronting Sunday at Chirnside. Doesn't seem as though a lot of thought has gone into it. Like they say when you pay peanuts you get monkeys. Thoughts from the league if willing!

DaVinci
13 Aug 2008, 23:26

well its good to feel missed. Haven't posted cause i haven't seen a game for a while. Plus not in to responding to Spotty bashing had to deal with it for the last 9 years.

But from the results on the weekend seems that the Albion boys got some confidence up cause they have been posting like crazy. Over all the years that i have played against them they have always been strong at their home grown regardless of where they sit on the ladder so i wouldn't take too much out of it. Missing CHF and CHB plus your main forward crumber has to hurt. Spotty to bite back but colts the team to beat at this point! Jacobs should have to play with a lead jacket to slow down his running!

FiloBeddoe
13 Aug 2008, 23:56
Not a great post LEORULES. To say that about one of our players who has a division 1 senior premiership medal swingin around his neck is pretty poor. Why don't you add some substance to your post and have the balls to at least put YOUR NAME TO THE IT. There were 21 players out there on saturday the blame is on us all. Bring on saturday night..

Give us a break Ben. There have been plenty of average footballers in all grades who have goldies swinging around their necks one year only to be poor the next. It's almost as if you're saying that any player who has played in a premiership can never ever be rated poorly again. The player in question hasn't been great this year and would most likely say so himself.

Substance in a post is not in the name attached champ, it's in what is written. This aint a competition of 'who has the biggest balls?' Anonymous posts do well to guard against the over sensitive knuckleheads in here that will threaten and look to square up outside.

21 players to blame? Come on, surely there would have been a couple who could be blameless for a 108 turn around, or is it just easier to lay collective blame to protect individuals who just aren't up to it?

FiloBeddoe
14 Aug 2008, 00:15
To the Neanderthals looking forward to a bit of crowd violence on Saturday night, stay home, put on your bluey singlet, sink a few woodstocks, listen to some Barnsey, tell the missus to 'make the man some f...kin eggs and then give her a good touch up. Don't forget to flake out in the front yard but watch your head on the old car parts, washing machines, bike rims and grog bottles.
See? Staying home can be just as violent and enjoyable without screwing the league!

fisjam
14 Aug 2008, 08:44
well its good to feel missed. Haven't posted cause i haven't seen a game for a while. Plus not in to responding to Spotty bashing had to deal with it for the last 9 years.

But from the results on the weekend seems that the Albion boys got some confidence up cause they have been posting like crazy. Over all the years that i have played against them they have always been strong at their home grown regardless of where they sit on the ladder so i wouldn't take too much out of it. Missing CHF and CHB plus your main forward crumber has to hurt. Spotty to bite back but colts the team to beat at this point! Jacobs should have to play with a lead jacket to slow down his running!

i didnt think there had been any Albion boys on here

fisjam
14 Aug 2008, 09:05
[quote=DaVinci;12058826]well its good to feel missed. Haven't posted cause i haven't seen a game for a while. Plus not in to responding to Spotty bashing had to deal with it for the last 9 years.

pity you havent seen many games lately especially some of the 2s, then you may understand why some posting on hear are getting frustrated, heaps of guys playing really good footy not given much of a go when you have a few in the 1s who seem to be struggling and have been all year.
as has been said be for a bit late now

brains01
14 Aug 2008, 09:49
What a shame we cant watch it on tele.

I'm sure the big fella Brains will take care of us on the night, we might even get a seat up in the scoreboard.:thumbsu:
The suburb of St Albans hasnt had a great week in reference to violence so hopefully that is the end of it and nothing happens on Saturday night.
You can sit wherever you want Obe we will even set up a desk for you so you can take down all your notes for the following week.

obe1
14 Aug 2008, 10:22
You can sit wherever you want One we will even set up a desk for you so you can take down all your notes for the following week.

Thanks champ, remember you still owe me a pie or three from round one, so I will be keeping an eye out for you:thumbsu:

Dee Snider
14 Aug 2008, 13:37
and wouldnt be more than 10,000 police in this whole city,can you dig it

"You see...thats what you get when you mess with the Orphans".......

Half Back Pocket
14 Aug 2008, 14:24
"You see...thats what you get when you mess with the Orphans".......

Dee, you going to the game on Sat nite?
I've got an insider supplying a few free lagers!!

Thunderball
14 Aug 2008, 17:12
Dee, you going to the game on Sat nite?
I've got an insider supplying a few free lagers!!

Normally Clubs have the opportunity to quote/apply/tender for the catering rights at Finals. Who got the gig for saturday Night ?

Or is it the normal St Albans Catering process, BYO and sell your own beer tickets to your own members and supporters ?

Isackedsheppa
14 Aug 2008, 17:50

I thought you already had a super-rules side in the form of
the 2nds,some of those blokes qualify for masters.

fisjam
14 Aug 2008, 18:18
Normally Clubs have the opportunity to quote/apply/tender for the catering rights at Finals. Who got the gig for saturday Night ?

Or is it the normal St Albans Catering process, BYO and sell your own beer tickets to your own members and supporters ?

spotty can make there bus a big party bus parked at the opposite end the removal van, hook up the big spud18 bbq trailer.

better still all clubs set up like a 9s and 10s fun day own tents and bbqs

CATSELECTION
14 Aug 2008, 22:13
Things down at Albion couldn't be better.

Going into the first week of finals with now a full list injury free.

Last week is history and finals is a funny game, after last year going in against Sunshine underdog's I think we are in a simular situation.

Any updates on ins/out's for Spotswood? I believe Andrew Knezavic and Steve Zavarlos will be included into the lineup will find out tomorrow.

GO CATS!!!!!

PICMAN
14 Aug 2008, 23:00
PICMAN, sorry to hear about your loss in the grand final, hopefully it's omen and your senior team suffer the same fate.
So what is yur take on the happenings of the senior wrfl comp???
The nite final?? who will win?? Your a wise man, pass on some wisdom.
yeah 2 gf 2 losses time for picman 2 go as for snr final far be it from me to give any side in final l five any ammunition looking fwd to coming games will be there sat nite (with jack in dry area see you there ) 10 last week well done

ROCK07
14 Aug 2008, 23:18
yeah 2 gf 2 losses time for picman 2 go as for snr final far be it from me to give any side in final l five any ammunition looking fwd to coming games will be there sat nite (with jack in dry area see you there ) 10 last week well done

Cu there mate , in the dry area also. 10 last week doesn't count against the bottom sideneed to get a kick in the finals.

PICMAN
14 Aug 2008, 23:19

ask micka walshey did the best tagging job on him and jimmy last week any way:thumbsu:

Micka Morris
14 Aug 2008, 23:23
Yeah we arnt that bad and we even supplied a BBQ for the players after training.Speaking of BBQ'S - Three Colts committee men were standing around the barbecue, then there were four...
The Tong-Master Boothy was at the barbecue and Jimmy was at the barbecue and Micka was at the barbecue; three men standing around a barbecue, sipping beer, staring at sausages, rolling them backwards and forwards, never leaving them alone. We were there to cook the Colts bbq, drawn there like moths to a flame. The barbecue was a powerful gravitational force, a man-magnet.
Micka said the thin ones could use a turn, Boothy said yeah I reckon the thin ones could use a turn, Jimmy said yeah they really need a turn it was a unanimous turning decision. Boothy was the Tong-Master, a true artist, he gave a couple of practice snaps of his long silver tongs, SNAP SNAP, before moving in, prodding, teasing, and with an elegant flick of his wrist, rolling them onto their little backs. A lesser tong-man would've flicked too hard; the sausages would've gone full circle, back to where they started. Nice, Micka said. The others went yeah.
KB was passing us, he heard the siren-song—sizzle of the snags, the barbecue was calling, beckoning, Kevinnnnn . . . come. He stuck his head in and said any room? We said yeah and began the barbecue shuffle; Micka shuffled to the left, Jimmy shuffled to the left, Boothy shuffled to the left, Kevin slipped in beside Boothy, we sipped our beer. Now there were four of us staring at sausages, and Micka gave Jimmy the nod, Jimmy's cue. Jimmy was second-in-command, and he had to take the raw sausages out of the plastic bag and lay them on the barbecue; not too close together, not too far apart, curl them into each other’s bodies like lovers — fat ones, thin ones, herbed and continental. The chipolatas were tiny, they could easily slip down between the grill, falling into the molten hot-bead-netherworld below. Carefully Jimmy laid them sideways ACROSS the grill, clever thinking. Boothy snapped his tongs with approval; there was no greater barbecue honour.
Poss came along, he said looking good, looking good — the irresistible lure of the barbecue had pulled him in too. We said yeah and did the shuffle, left, left, left, left, he slipped in beside Jimmy, we sipped our beer. Four men, lots of sausages.
Micka was the Fork-pronger; he had the fork that pronged the tough hides of the Bavarian bratwursts and he showed a lot of promise. Stabbing away eagerly, leaving perfect little vampire holes up and down the casing. KB was shaking his head, he said I reckon they cook better if you don’t poke them.
There was a long silence, you could have heard a chipolata drop, this newcomer was a rabble-rouser, bringing in his crazy ideas from the MUA. He didn’t understand the hierarchy; first the Tong-master, then the Sausage-layer, then the Fork-pronger — and everyone below was just a watcher. Maybe eventually they’ll move up the ladder, but for now—don’t rock the Weber.
Cara popped her head in; hmmm, smells good, she said. She was trying to jostle into the circle; we closed ranks, pulling our heads down and our shoulders in, mumbling yeah yeah yeah, but making no room for her. She was keen, going round to the far side of the barbecue, heading for the only available space . . . the gap in the circle where all the smoke and ashes blew. Nobody could survive the gap; Cara was going to try. She stood there stubbornly, smoke blinding her eyes, ashes filling her nostrils, sausage fat spattering all over her arms and face. Until she couldn’t take it any more, she gave up, backed off. Kevin waited till she was gone and sipped his beer. We sipped our beer, yeah.
Boothy handed KB his tongs. KB looked at him and he nodded. KB knew what was happening, he'd waited a long time for this moment—the abdication. The tongs weighed heavy in his hands, firm in his grip. Was he ready for the responsibility?
Yes, he was. He held them up high and they glinted in the sun. Don’t forget to turn the thin ones Boothy said as he walked away from the barbecue, disappearing toward the clubroooms. Yeah KB called back, I will, I will. He snapped them twice,
SNAP SNAP, before moving in, prodding, teasing, and with an elegant flick of his wrist, rolling them back onto their little bellies. KB was a natural, he was the TONG-MASTER. But only until Boothy got back from the toilet.

PICMAN
14 Aug 2008, 23:30
Cu there mate , in the dry area also. 10 last week doesn't count against the bottom sideneed to get a kick in the finals.
me personally juust want to watch really good footy (with my family) without hearing you weak f#cking dogs 20 times a qutr:confused:

georgemichael
15 Aug 2008, 01:35
Careful Micka, you're showing up filobeddoe with that gem. Can't wait for the next chapter!

fisjam
15 Aug 2008, 08:27
Things down at Albion couldn't be better.

Going into the first week of finals with now a full list injury free.

Last week is history and finals is a funny game, after last year going in against Sunshine underdog's I think we are in a simular situation.

Any updates on ins/out's for Spotswood? I believe Andrew Knezavic and Steve Zavarlos will be included into the lineup will find out tomorrow.

GO CATS!!!!!

from what ive been told Mango,Molan,Knight,Orchid are in not sure about outs

cougarman
15 Aug 2008, 08:47

no langlands, i thought they were pretty keen to get him back in is he injured?

with all the talk about spotswood selection of late there would be plenty of interest in the outs if anyone knows?

STRONGBOW
15 Aug 2008, 09:07

your source needs to get off the sauce, no orchard langlands is in

cougarman
15 Aug 2008, 09:49

looks like both sides will be at close to full strength so far this is the biggest game of the season, spotty will be hungry after last week and albion will confident and having played there under lights in round1 and after the victory last week

i think spotty underestimated albion after what happened in round 9 but that wont be the case tomorrow night but i also think albion are a very good outfit and have learnt a fair bit from the big losses they had during the yr

i'm tipping spotswood by 15 points but could go either way

fisjam
15 Aug 2008, 10:28

shit sorry i misunderstood

Iknowfooty
15 Aug 2008, 10:39
Speaking of BBQ'S - Three Colts committee men were standing around the barbecue, then there were four...
The Tong-Master Boothy was at the barbecue and Jimmy was at the barbecue and Micka was at the barbecue; three men standing around a barbecue, sipping beer, staring at sausages, rolling them backwards and forwards, never leaving them alone. We were there to cook the Colts bbq, drawn there like moths to a flame. The barbecue was a powerful gravitational force, a man-magnet.
Micka said the thin ones could use a turn, Boothy said yeah I reckon the thin ones could use a turn, Jimmy said yeah they really need a turn it was a unanimous turning decision. Boothy was the Tong-Master, a true artist, he gave a couple of practice snaps of his long silver tongs, SNAP SNAP, before moving in, prodding, teasing, and with an elegant flick of his wrist, rolling them onto their little backs. A lesser tong-man would've flicked too hard; the sausages would've gone full circle, back to where they started. Nice, Micka said. The others went yeah.
KB was passing us, he heard the siren-song—sizzle of the snags, the barbecue was calling, beckoning, Kevinnnnn . . . come. He stuck his head in and said any room? We said yeah and began the barbecue shuffle; Micka shuffled to the left, Jimmy shuffled to the left, Boothy shuffled to the left, Kevin slipped in beside Boothy, we sipped our beer. Now there were four of us staring at sausages, and Micka gave Jimmy the nod, Jimmy's cue. Jimmy was second-in-command, and he had to take the raw sausages out of the plastic bag and lay them on the barbecue; not too close together, not too far apart, curl them into each other’s bodies like lovers — fat ones, thin ones, herbed and continental. The chipolatas were tiny, they could easily slip down between the grill, falling into the molten hot-bead-netherworld below. Carefully Jimmy laid them sideways ACROSS the grill, clever thinking. Boothy snapped his tongs with approval; there was no greater barbecue honour.
Poss came along, he said looking good, looking good — the irresistible lure of the barbecue had pulled him in too. We said yeah and did the shuffle, left, left, left, left, he slipped in beside Jimmy, we sipped our beer. Four men, lots of sausages.
Micka was the Fork-pronger; he had the fork that pronged the tough hides of the Bavarian bratwursts and he showed a lot of promise. Stabbing away eagerly, leaving perfect little vampire holes up and down the casing. KB was shaking his head, he said I reckon they cook better if you don’t poke them.
There was a long silence, you could have heard a chipolata drop, this newcomer was a rabble-rouser, bringing in his crazy ideas from the MUA. He didn’t understand the hierarchy; first the Tong-master, then the Sausage-layer, then the Fork-pronger — and everyone below was just a watcher. Maybe eventually they’ll move up the ladder, but for now—don’t rock the Weber.
Cara popped her head in; hmmm, smells good, she said. She was trying to jostle into the circle; we closed ranks, pulling our heads down and our shoulders in, mumbling yeah yeah yeah, but making no room for her. She was keen, going round to the far side of the barbecue, heading for the only available space . . . the gap in the circle where all the smoke and ashes blew. Nobody could survive the gap; Cara was going to try. She stood there stubbornly, smoke blinding her eyes, ashes filling her nostrils, sausage fat spattering all over her arms and face. Until she couldn’t take it any more, she gave up, backed off. Kevin waited till she was gone and sipped his beer. We sipped our beer, yeah.
Boothy handed KB his tongs. KB looked at him and he nodded. KB knew what was happening, he'd waited a long time for this moment—the abdication. The tongs weighed heavy in his hands, firm in his grip. Was he ready for the responsibility?
Yes, he was. He held them up high and they glinted in the sun. Don’t forget to turn the thin ones Boothy said as he walked away from the barbecue, disappearing toward the clubroooms. Yeah KB called back, I will, I will. He snapped them twice,
SNAP SNAP, before moving in, prodding, teasing, and with an elegant flick of his wrist, rolling them back onto their little bellies. KB was a natural, he was the TONG-MASTER. But only until Boothy got back from the toilet.

Very impressive Micka not one spelling mistake. Not bad for someone who was educated at South Melbourne Tech.

The Kickoligist
15 Aug 2008, 12:18
Who made way on both sides for the inclusions into the sides from last week.

av07
15 Aug 2008, 13:06

two massive inclusions!

does anyone know either sides omissions/injuries?

Gobombers55
15 Aug 2008, 14:19
My Selections this week!

Seniors
Spotty over Albion by 26 points - Spotty will hit back hard from last week after losing top spot
St Albans over Hoppers 34 points - The saints have hit good form towards the end of the season and will have too many goal kickers.

Reserves
Sunshine over Colts by 15 points - Sunshine seniors being out will certainly help there cause but who have Colts dropped back for a run whilst the 1's have a week off.
Hoppers over Albion by 9 points - Hoppers have too many good players in the 2's running around compared to Albion. Should see Hoppers get up in a close one.

CATSELECTION
15 Aug 2008, 14:59
two massive inclusions!

does anyone know either sides omissions/injuries?

Albion

In Zavarlos, Knezavic

Out Magnabosco, Stephens.

CATSELECTION
15 Aug 2008, 15:02
My Selections this week!

Seniors
Spotty over Albion by 26 points - Spotty will hit back hard from last week after losing top spot
St Albans over Hoppers 34 points - The saints have hit good form towards the end of the season and will have too many goal kickers.

Reserves
Sunshine over Colts by 15 points - Sunshine seniors being out will certainly help there cause but who have Colts dropped back for a run whilst the 1's have a week off.
Hoppers over Albion by 9 points - Hoppers have too many good players in the 2's running around compared to Albion. Should see Hoppers get up in a close one.

Spotty By 26?
If anything the side is going to be at full strength!
Expect a very close game, Spotty do play good finals football, expect a massive effort under lights from our boys. GO CATS!

Hoppers have to many good players in the 2's compared to ALBION?????
Reserves have Vimpany, Magnabosco, Stephens, Savage, Gauci, Bond and a late inclusion Adam Fenton who have all played senior football this year. Expect another close match!

GO CATS!!

ROCK07
15 Aug 2008, 16:36
Well just got the news that Ben Kelly is out with a torn hamstring, it happened last nite at training, very unfortunate for the coach.
Also heard that Daniel Pelar Quit during the week, after coping a barage on big footy and a team mate having a joke ( as team mates do) he decided not to play anymore. Now we are all different but to let people get you down who don't even know who they are is a bit soft in my opinion.If they are not man enough to admit who they are i wouldn't think about it for a second, people have opinions and they are generally negative so Pelar should just learn to ignore such things, obviously i'm on here alot and i don't think anyone has coped it more than me, but i never take it personaly.You are a long time retired and to let an outsider or who ever it my be control youR emotions is something you will regret forever. Pull the boots back on.
Not sure if my mail is 100% accurate but i would be very surprised if it's not/
After speaking to a couple of players form each club i'm sure this will be a cracker of a game the cats have got back some running players while spotty have got back some key talls, a result either way would not surprise but i think spotty's depth will win out in a close game .SPOTTY by 22 PTS

FiloBeddoe
15 Aug 2008, 17:02
Well just got the news that Ben Kelly is out with a torn hamstring, it happened last nite at training, very unfortunate for the coach.
Also heard that Daniel Pelar Quit during the week, after coping a barage on big footy and a team mate having a joke ( as team mates do) he decided not to play anymore. Now we are all different but to let people get you down who don't even know who they are is a bit soft in my opinion.If they are not man enough to admit who they are i wouldn't think about it for a second, people have opinions and they are generally negative so Pelar should just learn to ignore such things, obviously i'm on here alot and i don't think anyone has coped it more than me, but i never take it personaly.You are a long time retired and to let an outsider or who ever it my be control youR emotions is something you will regret forever. Pull the boots back on.
After speaking to a couple of players form each club i'm sure this will be a cracker of a game the cats have got back some running players while spotty have got back some key talls, a result either way would not surprise but i think spotty's depth will win out in a close game .SPOTTY by 22 PTS

Rock
You know you can't believe everything that you read or hear. I don't think he's the type of bloke who would give it a way for such reasons you may have heard. Only those in the inner sanctum would know and I doubt that he would have been allowed to walk away that easily without reasons better than the ones circulating at the moment. If someone in the know has blurted out information then they are the ones who should have their character questioned.
As for making valid comments or observations of a player, identifying yourself doesn't really make a difference. E.J. himself could come down from the heavens and deliver an opinion about a player but this shouldn't be any more a reason for someone to take comments to heart and ultimately send them to early retirement. In the end it's an opinion, whether it be anonymous, of the next door neighbor's parrot, or of Jesus Christ himself...hallelujah brother.

WRFLfan
15 Aug 2008, 17:48
My Selections this week!

Seniors

Reserves
Who goes back for Sunshine Bombers???

WRFLfan
15 Aug 2008, 17:57
There might be a Tong Master but we all know who really runs the show

BEAZER
15 Aug 2008, 18:04

I thought I better clear up what he has done. Firstly, it isnt all football related. He has had a few other things going on in his life over the past month or 2 and the BigFooty crap just made him decide that footy wasnt everything to him as it is with a lot of us. He is just having a week away from footy and then he will decide whether he wants to come back and have a crack at playing in the finals. He knows it will be tough to get back in the 1's now but I dont think he is overly concerned given where footy sits with him atm. Not sure if a week is enough to regain your passion to play but hopefully it is. He has done the hard work since November last year and would be a shame to chuck it in now given that both sides are looking to go deep into the finals so hopefully we see him back next week.

BEAZER
15 Aug 2008, 18:14
Rock
You know you can't believe everything that you read or hear. I don't think he's the type of bloke who would give it a way for such reasons you may have heard. Only those in the inner sanctum would know and I doubt that he would have been allowed to walk away that easily without reasons better than the ones circulating at the moment. If someone in the know has blurted out information then they are the ones who should have their character questioned.
As for making valid comments or observations of a player, identifying yourself doesn't really make a difference. E.J. himself could come down from the heavens and deliver an opinion about a player but this shouldn't be any more a reason for someone to take comments to heart and ultimately send them to early retirement. In the end it's an opinion, whether it be anonymous, of the next door neighbor's parrot, or of Jesus Christ himself...hallelujah brother.

I do agree that identifying your name shouldnt make a difference when giving an opinion but it is much easier to defame a person or 'exaggerate' what they say to make somebody sound worse than they are bcos they dont have to be accountable for what they say. Why do journalists put their name to everything? They should just write the article and leave it at that. This is a local forum and you dont have to identify yourself but I personally think that it holds more weight if you do (or everybody knows who you are, like Clarkey for instance) but thats just my opinion.