View Full Version : Western Region Football League Team (Part 2)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36

BiG_mAtTy
28 Aug 2008, 10:18
We can't merge with North Footscray, their colours are terrible.

Both clubs seem to be in reasonably strong positions with North going up to Div1 if they win the GF this weekend and West already in Div1. And in response to Norths colours being terrible, they're the same as Wests! and our jumpers are way better then wests anyway.

cougarman
28 Aug 2008, 10:28
no talk about preliminary final this saturday, does anyone give the saints a chance

st albans have a good mix of youth and experience and have hit their best form at the end of the year, i think they can push spotty but probably not beat them

if spotswood underestimate them and they get a sniff they could knock them off but spotty would have to be off their game a bit

on the other hand the woods could still be seething from a narrow loss last week and could flog them by 10 goals

spotty by 33 points

roosters44
28 Aug 2008, 10:43
Both clubs seem to be in reasonably strong positions with North going up to Div1 if they win the GF this weekend and West already in Div1. And in response to Norths colours being terrible, they're the same as Wests! and our jumpers are way better then wests anyway.

Are you serious? I know the jumpers are the same colours....it was a JOKE....

Eric Pearce with the late news....

fisjam
28 Aug 2008, 10:59
no talk about preliminary final this saturday, does anyone give the saints a chance

st albans have a good mix of youth and experience and have hit their best form at the end of the year, i think they can push spotty but probably not beat them

if spotswood underestimate them and they get a sniff they could knock them off but spotty would have to be off their game a bit

on the other hand the woods could still be seething from a narrow loss last week and could flog them by 10 goals

spotty by 33 points

believe spotty have this as well, kelly to come back in this week i believe

LeoRules
28 Aug 2008, 11:49
Hope Spotty don't underestimate St Albans you should never underestimate the underdogs.... They always seem to fight back ?????

obe1
28 Aug 2008, 11:59
Hope Spotty don't underestimate St Albans you should never underestimate the underdogs.... They always seem to fight back ?????

I doubt Spotty will underestimate them, if they bring their "A" game they should be too good for the Saints.

Having said that, the Saints are very confident and are playing good footy and the right time of the year.

It may sound like 50 cents each way but whilst the head says Spotty in a canter if they start well, don't write off the Saints if it becomes an arm wrestle.

brains01
28 Aug 2008, 12:10
I doubt Spotty will underestimate them, if they bring their "A" game they should be too good for the Saints.

Having said that, the Saints are very confident and are playing good footy and the right time of the year.

It may sound like 50 cents each way but whilst the head says Spotty in a canter if they start well, don't write off the Saints if it becomes an arm wrestle.
Obviously Spotty are not going to underestimate us, it is a prelim final.
Could be a interesting night at the selection table for Spotty if kelly is fit.
Do they bring in Murat again, do they think this kid can handle finals footy i think not. If they do bring him in and Kelly is fit who will be the 2 to miss out.

fisjam
28 Aug 2008, 13:40
Do they bring in Murat again, do they think this kid can handle finals footy i think not. If they do bring him in and Kelly is fit who will be the 2 to miss out.

big call this,so you dont rate him them, as for the 2 to miss thought you should be able to tell us. i know 1 who will miss

brains01
28 Aug 2008, 14:08
big call this,so you dont rate him them, as for the 2 to miss thought you should be able to tell us. i know 1 who will miss
How would i know who will miss.
I think they will drop Knight and Pope and if this is the case I think Pope will be very unlucky.

borgsta2006
28 Aug 2008, 14:23
Just for everyone's knowledge (if you cared anyway!) the umpires for the A Grade Grand Final this year are Brett Carter (1st A Grade), Andrew Fregonese (2nd), Paul Dimartino (2nd).

Adrian O'Donnell and Adam Van Kuyk are doing the Division 2 GF.

Good luck to all.

choofa
28 Aug 2008, 15:51
Just for everyone's knowledge (if you cared anyway!) the umpires for the A Grade Grand Final this year are Brett Carter (1st A Grade), Andrew Fregonese (2nd), Paul Dimartino (2nd).

Good luck to all.
how much were this years raffle tickets to see who got the job??

oldtimer30
28 Aug 2008, 16:42
Was he found guilty? I would have though if he was then he should have been suspended, and if he wasnt, he should have gotten nothing. A suspended sentence is sitting on the fence to me. I think that missing any game for swearing at an umpire is a load of sh#t but if they are the rules and other people have been suspended for it, I dont see how this is any different. I also dont think that playing in a final/grand final should make a difference either. Im sure the rule doesnt say that you cant swear at umpires unless its in a finals game. I think the rule should be changed all together. Good luck to Port or any team getting somebody off, (as any other team would do the same) but we had a guy suspended for the same thing earlier in the year. My issue isnt with Port being able to get guys off, rather the leagues inconsisteny.

Heard a rumor that Keenan was reported by a WRFL official for racial vilification to a colts reserves player on Saturday, any truth in this?

BiG_mAtTy
28 Aug 2008, 16:53
Are you serious? I know the jumpers are the same colours....it was a JOKE....

Eric Pearce with the late news....

I assumed that mate...:rolleyes:

colbol35
28 Aug 2008, 17:19
Heard a rumor that Keenan was reported by a WRFL official for racial vilification to a colts reserves player on Saturday, any truth in this?

first i've heard of it.....

ROCK07
28 Aug 2008, 17:45

Good luck to all.

Think the 3 best umps have got the job there, O'donnell is a great umpire also but he was very rust last week, certainly baffled us with some decisions he payed, the umpire's boss must have witnessed this also and this is why he missed the A grade gf.

FiloBeddoe
28 Aug 2008, 18:24

spotty by 33 points

St Albans are a big chance. Most seem to be talking about Spotty being too cocky and so on. It's also easy for a side hitting some form to get cocky and think that the juggernaut will just continue to roll.
St Albans are just as prone to being too confident as Spotswood would be.

Pretty sure that Kolyniuk would be trying to keep a lid on it as we all know that although Albion impressed during the season, they were found wanting when it counted, both times. So how much do you make of St Albans beating Albion? I just hope that their 'self belief' doesn't result in an over-inflated view of themselves and turns Saturday's game into a debacle. However, if it means that they cause a boil over and beat Spotty, then good on em, thoroughly deserved.

Can't wait for the game, should be a cracker! Knight to stay in, Pope to go out (although stiff). Spotty by 5 goals.

FiloBeddoe
28 Aug 2008, 18:32

Doubt that Murat will be selected. Not sure why you'd bring him up. Do you think he did the job on Hollows that day at St Albans? He has some ability but don't think he is good enough to play ones but that doesn't mean he will never be good enough.
If you're reading this Murat, nothing personal, just business. haha

microhard
28 Aug 2008, 18:34
[
Can't wait for the game, should be a cracker! Knight to stay in, Pope to go out (although stiff). Spotty by 5 goals.[/quote]

my tip only change Kelly to come in to replace the injured ............................................................ ............................................................ ............................................................ .......................................................

inka
28 Aug 2008, 18:38
St Albans are a big chance. Most seem to be talking about Spotty being too cocky and so on. It's also easy for a side hitting some form to get cocky and think that the juggernaut will just continue to roll.
St Albans are just as prone to being too confident as Spotswood would be.

Pretty sure that Kolyniuk would be trying to keep a lid on it as we all know that although Albion impressed during the season, they were found wanting when it counted, both times. So how much do you make of St Albans beating Albion? I just hope that their 'self belief' doesn't result in an over-inflated view of themselves and turns Saturday's game into a debacle. However, if it means that they cause a boil over and beat Spotty, then good on em, thoroughly deserved.

Can't wait for the game, should be a cracker! Knight to stay in, Pope to go out (although stiff). Spotty by 5 goals.

........bad day for the cats, JD impressed all day with no help.
Albion lost the game..............Saints had the sniff before half time and ran away with it.
Cats stopped after that........... all their hard work put in over the season gone down the drain.

Spotty by 6 goals plus.

FiloBeddoe
28 Aug 2008, 18:45
........bad day for the cats, JD impressed all day with no help.
Albion lost the game..............Saints had the sniff before half time and ran away with it.
Cats stopped after that........... all their hard work put in over the season gone down the drain.

Spotty by 6 goals plus.

So from this I gather that you think St Albans' performance was overrated?

OverRated_13
28 Aug 2008, 18:57
For all those port colt boys who would u rather play spotty or st albans?

i think both teams have ur measure any way!!!!!!!!!

inka
28 Aug 2008, 19:15
So from this I gather that you think St Albans' performance was overrated?

They played good football but Spotty to get up comfortably!

footystar_
28 Aug 2008, 20:02
Rumor 1: Shannon Grant to coach Altona next season........

Rumor 2: West Footscray and North Footscray to merge next season......

maybe nick grant for coach

FiloBeddoe
28 Aug 2008, 20:04
maybe nick grant for coach

Doubt it. Good bloke and coach but not for senior football. Plus there would be a few issues stopping him from taking the next step.

footystar_
28 Aug 2008, 20:06
I think for SPOTSWOOD to win this game. they must stop Stalbans run and heavy attacking though the wings & pockets. forget the results in previous rounds this year, Albion knocked off Stalbans both times and got smashed when it counted. the last two games Stalbans have played they have run hard and kicked high scores. If spotswood can play an in tight aggressive game i think they will have the measure but if Stalbans keep up the pace and attack attack attack i think it's going to be a surprise to everyone? thoughts?

footystar_
28 Aug 2008, 20:08
Doubt it. Good bloke and coach but not for senior football. Plus there would be a few issues stopping him from taking the next step.

top bloke..does love a beer! and yer agree few issues there. hope he can get on top of em and keep winning premierships for the 18s.. will be going for 3rd in a row.. can party on mad mondays

ROCK07
29 Aug 2008, 00:00
For all those port colt boys who would u rather play spotty or st albans?

i think both teams have ur measure any way!!!!!!!!!

Yes both have our measure........

FiloBeddoe
29 Aug 2008, 00:09
Yes both have our measure........

Rock
What? is that it? You mean you're not gonna slap the boy down for making such a comment? man, that's focus for ya.

FiloBeddoe
29 Aug 2008, 00:18
I think for SPOTSWOOD to win this game. they must stop Stalbans run and heavy attacking though the wings & pockets. forget the results in previous rounds this year, Albion knocked off Stalbans both times and got smashed when it counted. the last two games Stalbans have played they have run hard and kicked high scores. If spotswood can play an in tight aggressive game i think they will have the measure but if Stalbans keep up the pace and attack attack attack i think it's going to be a surprise to everyone? thoughts?

Footystar.

The attack at all costs game plan may suit the Saints against other sides but Spotty do have a tight backline that work very well together. Their against score during the year will show that. Put it this way, their heavy attacking has to come from their half backs and midfield but don't expect Spotty to hand it to them on a platter like Hoppers and Albion may have done. Both very attacking midfields and had talent but tended to play wide of their opponent when I saw them. It won't happen to the same extent on Saturday.
The Saints will go alright though and have a chance, no doubt about it.

ROCK07
29 Aug 2008, 00:54
Rock
What? is that it? You mean you're not gonna slap the boy down for making such a comment? man, that's focus for ya.

I always bite no doubt about that, just ask my team mates, the give it to me the most, but such a ridiculous statement only requires a sarcastic line.

Let's be honest over the last 6 years we have been a very good team but have also lost our fair of games but no other team has ever had our measure and all of the other top teams would rather not play us come finals time, our record will show we perfom better as the stakes go up.

ROCK07
29 Aug 2008, 01:06
As for who we prefer to play, we are not fussed either way.
No doubt spotty are a great side and we are fairly evenly matched.
The saints were the last team to knock us off, and their form in the second half of the season has been awesome.
If the saints happen to upset spotty it would prove that they are a great team and should not be taken lightly, and if they could knock off spotty are capable of also knocking us off.
As for spotty great team that would be very hard to beat come gf day but something we look very forward to if presented with the opportunity.

My tip is spotty by 25 plus.

FiloBeddoe
29 Aug 2008, 01:22
As for who we prefer to play, we are not fussed either way.
No doubt spotty are a great side and we are fairly evenly matched.
The saints were the last team to knock us off, and their form in the second half of the season has been awesome.
If the saints happen to upset spotty it would prove that they are a great team and should not be taken lightly, and if they could knock off spotty are capable of also knocking us off.
As for spotty great team that would be very hard to beat come gf day but something we look very forward to if presented with the opportunity.

My tip is spotty by 25 plus.

Makes for some top footy when all sides view each other as a threat. By the way Rock, where will you be standing on Saturday? I might come over and say g'day and bring your favorite supporter from Spotty with me..haha.

ROCK07
29 Aug 2008, 03:31
Makes for some top footy when all sides view each other as a threat. By the way Rock, where will you be standing on Saturday? I might come over and say g'day and bring your favorite supporter from Spotty with me..haha.

We have made up and have a mutual respect for each other.
Will be on the side lines for the ressies helping out, while sneaking back into our rooms to listen to ben kelly's game plan, great that we get to share rooms.
How did selection go did pope or knight go or did they keep the kids and drop an old fart like beazer???????

brains01
29 Aug 2008, 09:26
[

my tip only change Kelly to come in to replace the injured ............................................................ ............................................................ ............................................................ .......................................................[/quote]
I doubt that there is a injury down at Spotty.
Pope is very stiff to miss out, can someone let him know that we dont have a number 60 down at the saints so he can fit straight in next year.
At selection no outs as of yet but ins were Bakoulous and Jenkins.
So was the only change at Spotty in- Kelly out- Pope.

microhard
29 Aug 2008, 09:27
Will be on the side lines for the ressies helping out, while sneaking back into our rooms to listen to ben kelly's game plan, great that we get to share rooms.
How did selection go did pope or knight go or did they keep the kids and drop an old fart like beazer???????

beazer safe, but a surprise in i have heard.

brains01
29 Aug 2008, 13:05
beazer safe, but a surprise in i have heard.
So what is this surprise microhand or are you keeping us all in suspense.

fisjam
29 Aug 2008, 13:38
So what is this surprise microhand or are you keeping us all in suspense.

there was a major injury concern,

BEAZER
29 Aug 2008, 16:28

Turn it up fossil. Im 29 not 39 like you.

ROCK07
29 Aug 2008, 16:30
there was a major injury concern,

If true was it Mcghie???
Come on what are the changes it will not affect the result???

If pope has gone very very stiff.

ROCK07
29 Aug 2008, 16:32
Turn it up fossil. Im 29 not 39 like you.

So you must have held your spot, well done.
I felt alot older than 39 when my back went last week.
what are the changes

fisjam
29 Aug 2008, 16:38
If true was it Mcghie???
Come on what are the changes it will not affect the result???

If pope has gone very very stiff.

nah not McGhie heard there've tried to strengthen there forward structure

speculator
29 Aug 2008, 16:48
Relax max. There was absolutely no sarcasm in my initial post. Just stating a few of my opinions.

Kangas up by 8 points in the reserves.

GO KANGAS

News from Hogans Road

Dads army are all signed and raring to go in 2009 No truth in the rumor that tails has instigated a coup He has been courted for a role up the highway but at this stage he is still more than happy to coach the twos at Hogans reserve

Colonel Frost is also contemplating a playing return pending a big $$$$ spending spree. Speculation that they have approached the Werribee captain amongst others.

Also at sunshine word is the "had enough"- "message isn't getting through" O'Keefe has removed all the mirrors from Kinda Smith on his resigning He was caught in a huge dilema - enlarge the mirrors to get his charges to have a hard look at themselves or the latter remove the mirrors so his crew doesn't spend the pre-game adjusting hair and make up prior to games.

BEAZER
29 Aug 2008, 17:23
So you must have held your spot, well done.
I felt alot older than 39 when my back went last week.
what are the changes

You will know tomorrow anyway. I wasnt picked last night bcos I broke my hand in the 3rd qtr of the game last week. I trained last night and got the ok from the physio and doctor to play if I had a shot b4 the game and could put up with the pain. They thought it was too big a risk to play me. I played last years G.F having a shot in my knee b4 the game then at half time and got through it ok. Im very disappointed but thats the way it goes.

FiloBeddoe
29 Aug 2008, 17:37

Yeah, I saw the slow motion run that you two did towards one another and the met with a big embrace. Haha

Just listen for someone yelling out "right turn Clyde and flipping you the bird", that'll be me. As for Kelly's game plan, make sure you bring a couple of physisits, rocket scientists, genius mathematicians and an interpreterto help you make sense of it. haha.

A couple of handy ins for the weekend but that's all I'm going to say at this point.

ROCK07
29 Aug 2008, 17:39
You will know tomorrow anyway. I wasnt picked last night bcos I broke my hand in the 3rd qtr of the game last week. I trained last night and got the ok from the physio and doctor to play if I had a shot b4 the game and could put up with the pain. They thought it was too big a risk to play me. I played last years G.F having a shot in my knee b4 the game then at half time and got through it ok. Im very disappointed but thats the way it goes.

Sorry to hear that, i broke my hand in the gf in 05' on had a shot on the day but had no impact, from a coaching point of view i understand their reasons, maybe if they win you will be back for the big one.

BEAZER
29 Aug 2008, 18:01
Sorry to hear that, i broke my hand in the gf in 05' on had a shot on the day but had no impact, from a coaching point of view i understand their reasons, maybe if they win you will be back for the big one.

Thats bullsh#t it didnt help. You must have had a sh#t doctor then. I also had 2 shots during the 04 flag in my ankle and couldnt feel a thing. That was after going white and almost passing out b4 the game. Im right to play. I wouldnt want to make a d#ck of myself or let the team down if I didnt think I could get through it. Have plenty of time to get over it after the season.

ROCK07
29 Aug 2008, 18:06
Thats bullsh#t it didnt help. You must have had a sh#t doctor then. I also had 2 shots during the 04 flag in my ankle and couldnt feel a thing. That was after going white and almost passing out b4 the game. Im right to play. I wouldnt want to make a d#ck of myself or let the team down if I didnt think I could get through it. Have plenty of time to get over it after the season.

Yes true about how long to get over it, but broken bones are different.

FiloBeddoe
29 Aug 2008, 18:09

So does that mean you think your were dropped more on form rather than the hand?

BEAZER
29 Aug 2008, 18:11
So does that mean you think your were dropped more on form rather than the hand?

Im not going to get into that mate.

FiloBeddoe
29 Aug 2008, 18:13
Im not going to get into that mate.

Fair enough, no need delve too deep.

FiloBeddoe
29 Aug 2008, 18:16
Yes true about how long to get over it, but broken bones are different.

Rock. A question for you. What percentage of fitness would you have to be at/under to drop yourself from the big one?

fisjam
29 Aug 2008, 18:33
A couple of handy ins for the weekend but that's all I'm going to say at this point.[/quote]

so r you happy with the ins,

red devil1
29 Aug 2008, 19:33
A couple of handy ins for the weekend but that's all I'm going to say at this point.

so r you happy with the ins,[/quote]

Fisjam you have been dribbling on all day. If you listened to the radio show (Spotswood should get their president to go on the show) Kelly and a first gamer Orchard are in.

fisjam
29 Aug 2008, 19:51
so r you happy with the ins,

Fisjam you have been dribbling on all day. If you listened to the radio show (Spotswood should get their president to go on the show) Kelly and a first gamer Orchard are in.[/quote]

thanks for that mr devil now get back to your div 2 threads

i

FiloBeddoe
29 Aug 2008, 19:52

so r you happy with the ins,[/quote]

Yep pretty much. Good players. One in particular didn't look anything like a senior footballer a few months back but he has impressed and looks very good. All this and earlier looking shaky according to an esteemed few (haha). Not happy with one of the outs though.

BewareI'mFrontandSquare!
29 Aug 2008, 19:55
Spotswood -

In: Kelly, Orchard, Wood
Out: Beasley (inj) Pope, Knight (omitted)

Orchard's more of a crumber than Pope, who likes to lead and or receive by hand. Presumably they feel Orchard is a better fit deep inside 50 working off Keenan and Molan.

Wood is a surprise, young grinding midfielder, in for the seemingly steady Knight.

St Albans -

Bakoulas will come in, Psaila or Graham you would think most likely to be left out.

FiloBeddoe
29 Aug 2008, 19:58
Spotswood -

In: Kelly, Orchard, Wood
Out: Beasley (inj) Pope, Knight (omitted)

Orchard's more of a crumber than Pope, who likes to lead and or receive by hand. Presumably they feel Orchard is a better fit deep inside 50 working off Keenan and Molan.

Wood is a surprise, young grinding midfielder, in for the seemingly steady Knight.

St Albans -

Bakoulas will come in, Psaila or Graham you would think most likely to be left out.

Knight is playing.

As for the Saints, young Psaila missing out will cause some rumblings at the club. Big Mick won't be happy haha.

acr2751
29 Aug 2008, 22:32
Knight is playing.

As for the Saints, young Psaila missing out will cause some rumblings at the club. Big Mick won't be happy haha.

have you ever seen hiim happy, big sook.

ROCK07
29 Aug 2008, 22:55
Rock. A question for you. What percentage of fitness would you have to be at/under to drop yourself from the big one?

95% or better to play, if i can't train 100% thursday night i will not play.

FiloBeddoe
30 Aug 2008, 00:01
have you ever seen hiim happy, big sook.

Haha. Yeah well, I reckon he's a top bloke, even if he does get a bit grumpy every now and then. Plus, I aint going to express any disappointment if he does get grumpy, he's a big unit.

FiloBeddoe
30 Aug 2008, 00:04
95% or better to play, if i can't train 100% thursday night i will not play.

That's pretty selfless. Good message to send to the rest of the boys about the team/club being bigger than the individual. I wonder how many other coaches/players would set the bar that high for themselves (95% or higher)?

ROCK07
30 Aug 2008, 00:17
That's pretty selfless. Good message to send to the rest of the boys about the team/club being bigger than the individual. I wonder how many other coaches/players would set the bar that high for themselves (95% or higher)?

OBE1 will tell you i did it early in the year against sunshine, couldn't tackle the bag the way i should so had a week off, i know people mite say a gf is different but i wouldn't want to let my players down and i suppose i am lucky, i could still have an influence on the game from the side lines.

FiloBeddoe
30 Aug 2008, 01:59
OBE1 will tell you i did it early in the year against sunshine, couldn't tackle the bag the way i should so had a week off, i know people mite say a gf is different but i wouldn't want to let my players down and i suppose i am lucky, i could still have an influence on the game from the side lines.

Good point about having an influence. I don't understand someone knowing that they are well below par due to injury but still take a spot in the GF. It's different if youre injured and can still contribute. i.e Millane in 1990 but that wasn't a leg or torso injury.

Although I would never deny the man a flag in any other circumstance, Laney from West should never have taken his place in that side in last year's G/F. Granted they won by heaps so he didn't hurt them but he was stuffed within 2 or 3 minutes and could hardly move. He was great divvy 2 goal kicker and wouldn't have been any less great had he not played in that GF. Sorry to those who are a bit sentimental but opinions are great at hurting people's feelings...aha.

tiger_12
30 Aug 2008, 15:47
hahahahahaha.... unlucky port colts. it could not happen to a better side...lol

bloods05
30 Aug 2008, 19:58

Get back to arse licking on the Richmond site YOU **** HEAD.
Why unlucky,Sunshine won the game anyway and hopefully they can knock of Spotty.

Kozzis Dizzy
30 Aug 2008, 20:19
Get back to arse licking on the Richmond site YOU **** HEAD.
Why unlucky,Sunshine won the game anyway and hopefully they can knock of Spotty.they are not a chance in hell of beating spotty...they won the game due to the count (even though the scoreboard did show they won if that hadnt of happened they would have got beat today)...no chance of a sniff on Saturday. Should never have happened today, but it did and you have move on. Heard there was a report in the seniors today, anybody have info?

Kozzis Dizzy
30 Aug 2008, 20:20
hahahahahaha.... unlucky port colts. it could not happen to a better side...lolluck paid no part mate....sh*t happens. great club. Your obviously very envious of the colts and the success they have had?

WRFLBOY1
30 Aug 2008, 21:39

yeah thanks D*** HEAD... clearly you didnt make finals this year, and are jelous of the clubs recent high performances.

posts like that aren't needed on this forum, i'm sure the boys feel bad enough after losing, without some piece of sh.t like yourself getting on here and stirring blokes up...

oldtimer30
30 Aug 2008, 22:33

I take it thats your real name and age.(d... h...):mad:

oldtimer30
30 Aug 2008, 22:44
What a cockup, port colts reserves off to a flying start only to have there score taken away for having to many players on the ground.
To many chiefs on the side lines?Shorely one of them could count, I feel sorry for the players who battled all season to get to this point to have this shit happen.Who's going to take the kick in the ass for that?

beeroclock
30 Aug 2008, 23:40
Well what an interesting day of football today. The debarcle in the reserves would have to be 1 of the most dissapointing things in footy. Then the seniors, fu*k what 2 say about that game. 1st qrt thought spotty were in control but thaen 2nd qrt st albans took over. Dont know what happaned after half time but umpires decided they'd pay free kicks every 15 seconds whether they there or not. thought st albans got better deal out of it which made 4 interesting finish. Spotty 2 good in end but was a tough challenge

CHIP
31 Aug 2008, 00:05
I watched todays game between spotswood & st albans & would have to say it was the worst umpiring i have seen in all the leagues i have ever seen. It was like they wanted to just pay a free for any text book free kick which is rediculous in local football. I cant believe there was a report laid on spotswoods number 35 in last qrt in goal square for striking, when he was pushed / hit atleast 15 times in face by a couple of st albans players before he put his own hands up to protect himself from the abuse he was copping. What a disgrace, i hope commen sense from tribunal see same way & allow this guy to play next week. Good luck to both teams next week look forward to a great game.

Harvey04
31 Aug 2008, 00:35
what a pathetic umpiring performance this arvo! Dimma and the young kid weren't to bad ( not to good either) but that c##khead with the big arse was a discrase. Can't believe he got a senior game this week when he couldn't even hold his head up after umpiring the 2's last week. Dissapointing end for colts 2's, would have been great to see colts and spotty in both games next.

ROCK07
31 Aug 2008, 00:41
I watched todays game between spotswood & st albans & would have to say it was the worst umpiring i have seen in all the leagues i have ever seen. It was like they wanted to just pay a free for any text book free kick which is rediculous in local football. I cant believe there was a report laid on spotswoods number 35 in last qrt in goal square for striking, when he was pushed / hit atleast 15 times in face by a couple of st albans players before he put his own hands up to protect himself from the abuse he was copping. What a disgrace, i hope commen sense from tribunal see same way & allow this guy to play next week. Good luck to both teams next week look forward to a great game.

Hopefully crackers does get off, so he can play, both sides at full strength will provide the best game

As for what happened in the reserves, it was a silly mistake from both players and coaching staff so i will take responsability, a very dissapointing way to loose, the unfortunate thing though was we were 1 short anyway as the league rule stopped 4 players from being available and if we got through i'm sure would have given spotty's reserves a shake.
Sunshine will not get with in 80pts.
Well looks as though we got the two best teams in the senior grand final i'm sure it will be another classic and as i said earlier hopefully spotty are at full strength, barring any mishap at training we will be full strength, we are very very confident of winning.....can't wait bring it on
GO COLTS!!!!!!!!!!

FiloBeddoe
31 Aug 2008, 01:03
Hopefully crackers does get off, so he can play, both sides at full strength will provide the best game

As for what happened in the reserves, it was a silly mistake from both players and coaching staff so i will take responsability, a very dissapointing way to loose, the unfortunate thing though was we were 1 short anyway as the league rule stopped 4 players from being available and if we got through i'm sure would have given spotty's reserves a shake.
Sunshine will not get with in 80pts.
Well looks as though we got the two best teams in the senior grand final i'm sure it will be another classic and as i said earlier hopefully spotty are at full strength, barring any mishap at training we will be full strength, we are very very confident of winning.....can't wait bring it on
GO COLTS!!!!!!!!!!

Thought St Albans were very good in a game marred by skill errors. They certainly liked the big ground and gave Spotty a scare. Spotty would not want to produce that sort of game next week as a rested Colts will burn them on the turn over. I reckon they'll be better next week which makes for another cracker Grand Final.
The two older umpires were obviously looking to pay overly technical free kicks because they're after a Grand Final spot. Having said that, you can't get pinged for too high or in the back when you're first to the footy. St Albans were often first to the ball because they read it better. All of that and Spotty still won. That's the measure of a very good side. Can't wait til next week.
Hey ROCK, Julier was chasing a kid around all day today, any injury report from this? Sore hammy from picking the kid up and putting him down again?

ROCK07
31 Aug 2008, 01:08
Thought St Albans were very good in a game marred by skill errors. They certainly liked the big ground and gave Spotty a scare. Spotty would not want to produce that sort of game next week as a rested Colts will burn them on the turn over. I reckon they'll be better next week which makes for another cracker Grand Final.
The two older umpires were obviously looking to pay overly technical free kicks because they're after a Grand Final spot. Having said that, you can't get pinged for too high or in the back when you're first to the footy. St Albans were often first to the ball because they read it better. All of that and Spotty still won. That's the measure of a very good side. Can't wait til next week.
Hey ROCK, Julier was chasing a kid around all day today, any injury report from this? Sore hammy from picking the kid up and putting him down again?

FILO, Your very elusive but it was nice to meet you, always good to put a name to a face, julier is fit and ready to go, he will play that well next week we will all be calling him herb by about 5pm, a few boys told me he is as hungry as ever.

LeoRules
31 Aug 2008, 09:48
what a pathetic umpiring performance this arvo! Dimma and the young kid weren't to bad ( not to good either) but that c##khead with the big arse was a discrase. Can't believe he got a senior game this week when he couldn't even hold his head up after umpiring the 2's last week. Dissapointing end for colts 2's, would have been great to see colts and spotty in both games next.

Umpiring was terrible the young kid did a good job paid the frees the same both ways... Dimma and fat arse where disgracful hope they are held accountable and are sitting watching grand final on the side line this week :thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

GO SPOTTY !!!!!!!

FiloBeddoe
31 Aug 2008, 11:42
Conspiracy Theory. Gordon Ramsey's connection to the Umpires in Saturday's game between Spotswood and St Albans.

We all know how dubious many of the free kicks awarded to St Albans were. Some of us may have heard a taunt coming from one irate member of the crowd near the cricket nets. References were made to one Umpire receiving vouchers to the excellent Bistro at St Albans home ground. Is there something in this?

Date: 28/08/08. Time 0600 hrs. Place. Gillespie road, St Albans.

A large black limousine is seen pulling into St Albans football ground. Out steps a tall, blonde tipped leathery faced man. He is met by a tall, dark member of the St Albans administration. They enter the Bistro.

Over the next two hours, the leathery faced man is heard swearing and cursing at all before him, and constantly referring to daft twats, f@#$ing s@#t food and bollocks. The players stop training an listen to the verbal lashing being handed out to the Bistro staff.

At 0800 hrs, leather face leaves the bistro looking stressed. The dark man follows pleading with him to come back on Saturday night to cook for two very important people. Leather face accepts. Money changes hands.

Leather face looked a lot like Gordon Ramsey, according to witnesses. The dark man was a well known St Albans administrator. Who were the two very important people and why was Saturday night so important?

This theory suggests that the two senior umpires were offered bistro vouchers at St Albans and that Gordon Ramsey would cook for them. All they had to do to keep the vouchers was to PLAY BALL. The third Umpire (young kid) got nothing and that's why his performance did not seem to be affected by outside influences. Further evidence of Ramsey's attendance can be found in the language coming from the St Albans supporters and directed towards the Spotswood full forward. Ramsey obviously gave them some finer points of the Queen's english as well.

Disclaimer. An unaware football fan contributed to this theory with the taunt about vouchers and bribes. If you're upset by this, look for him as I only added the rest of the bullsh$t.

DaVinci
31 Aug 2008, 12:33
Conspiracy Theory. Gordon Ramsey's connection to the Umpires in Saturday's game between Spotswood and St Albans.

We all know how dubious many of the free kicks awarded to St Albans were. Some of us may have heard a taunt coming from one irate member of the crowd near the cricket nets. References were made to one Umpire receiving vouchers to the excellent Bistro at St Albans home ground. Is there something in this?

Date: 28/08/08. Time 0600 hrs. Place. Gillespie road, St Albans.

A large black limousine is seen pulling into St Albans football ground. Out steps a tall, blonde tipped leathery faced man. He is met by a tall, dark member of the St Albans administration. They enter the Bistro.

Over the next two hours, the leathery faced man is heard swearing and cursing at all before him, and constantly referring to daft twats, f@#$ing s@#t food and bollocks. The players stop training an listen to the verbal lashing being handed out to the Bistro staff.

At 0800 hrs, leather face leaves the bistro looking stressed. The dark man follows pleading with him to come back on Saturday night to cook for two very important people. Leather face accepts. Money changes hands.

Leather face looked a lot like Gordon Ramsey, according to witnesses. The dark man was a well known St Albans administrator. Who were the two very important people and why was Saturday night so important?

This theory suggests that the two senior umpires were offered bistro vouchers at St Albans and that Gordon Ramsey would cook for them. All they had to do to keep the vouchers was to PLAY BALL. The third Umpire (young kid) got nothing and that's why his performance did not seem to be affected by outside influences. Further evidence of Ramsey's attendance can be found in the language coming from the St Albans supporters and directed towards the Spotswood full forward. Ramsey obviously gave them some finer points of the Queen's english as well.

Disclaimer. An unaware football fan contributed to this theory with the taunt about vouchers and bribes. If you're upset by this, look for him as I only added the rest of the bullsh$t.

Too funny!!

DaVinci
31 Aug 2008, 12:47
Must say that the fat umpire in question (sorry i don't know his name) was clearly out of his depth. He made decisions that weighted the game and although the decisions seemed to favour St Albans he also made decisions that were incorrect the other way. An umpire should not be the major influence on the field.

On other matters Spotty were a little disappointing yesterday thought they would have disposed of St Albans a lot easier, maybe the GF was on too many minds. But here we are again early sept Colts vs Spotty. Not much ever seems to separate these 2 teams. Both teams will be at full strength, colts have had the upper hand this year. Spotty by 3 points and the best WRFL GF in history. And the man we will call Herb in the evening will be Harris!

FiloBeddoe
31 Aug 2008, 12:47
Too funny!!

Set a record for that one mate, did it while waiting for the kettle to boil. Shows how much complex thought goes into them...haha.

FiloBeddoe
31 Aug 2008, 12:52
Must say that the fat umpire in question (sorry i don't know his name) was clearly out of his depth. He made decisions that weighted the game and although the decisions seemed to favour St Albans he also made decisions that were incorrect the other way. An umpire should not be the major influence on the field.

On other matters Spotty were a little disappointing yesterday thought they would have disposed of St Albans a lot easier, maybe the GF was on too many minds. But here we are again early sept Colts vs Spotty. Not much ever seems to separate these 2 teams. Both teams will be at full strength, colts have had the upper hand this year. Spotty by 3 points and the best WRFL GF in history. And the man we will call Herb in the evening will be Harris!

Of course it will be Harris. He only has to touch the footy during the pre game drills and everyone has him pencilled for three votes, a plasma TV, home entertainment centre, 12 nights in Las Vegas, a new ute and 12 months of free mogambo at any of Melbourne's high priced parlors. Oh, lets not forget the movie offers. haha.

Bulldog_035
31 Aug 2008, 13:27

CHIP I think that was a deplorable report of what happened yesterday in regards to Crackers report.
Crackers and #24 from St.Albans (half the size of Crackers) were chesting each other before Crackers punched the St.Albans player in the face.
As to you claiming Crackers raised his hands to protect himself, I think you might have mistaken that for what actually happened which was Crackers putting his hands theatricaly over his face trying to fool the field umpire into thinking he had been hit, something we are used to seeing from Crackers.

Your misconstrued version of events seem to be very biased towards Spotswood/Crackers. If I was a betting man I'd put my money on you being a part of the Spotswood FC and wrote this crap to try and influence the tribunals decision.

ROCK07
31 Aug 2008, 13:28

How will crackers fair at the tribunal davinci????
What's his record like overall, if a bit dodgy he may need a not guilty verdict, but with the umps eveidence and no favours i'm sure from st.albans he is in a bit of trouble and no doubt it will take alot out of him over the next few days.
As i said previously i hope he is cleared so spotty are at full strength.

acr2751
31 Aug 2008, 13:58

i thought the umpires just paid way too many free kicks the whistle just kept on blowing,the game seemed to be more about them.

well done to spotswood too good for us this time.

good luck for both teams next week.

obe1
31 Aug 2008, 14:05
CHIP I think that was a deplorable report of what happened yesterday in regards to Crackers report.
Crackers and #24 from St.Albans (half the size of Crackers) were cheating each other before Crackers punched the St.Albans player in the face.
As to you claiming Crackers raised his hands to protect himself, I think you might have mistaken that for what actually happened which was Crackers putting his hands theatrically over his face trying to fool the field umpire into thinking he had been hit, something we are used to seeing from Crackers.

Your misconstrued version of events seem to be very biased towards Spotswood/Crackers. If I was a betting man I'd put my money on you being a part of the Spotswood FC and wrote this crap to try and influence the tribunals decision.

If the above is a true and accurate account of events, it is sure to be an anxious wait for Crackers on Tuesday night.

Keep in mind these posts are read by many people and if the version of events differ from party to party and if there is any sign of a cover up/conspiracy ,then you can be sure both parties will receive harsh penalties.

CHIP
31 Aug 2008, 14:14
Crackers and #24 from St.Albans (half the size of Crackers) were chesting each other before Crackers punched the St.Albans player in the face.
As to you claiming Crackers raised his hands to protect himself, I think you might have mistaken that for what actually happened which was Crackers putting his hands theatricaly over his face trying to fool the field umpire into thinking he had been hit, something we are used to seeing from Crackers.

Bulldog you've got to be kidding yourself. It doesnt matter were i'm from or who i follow that st albans player was in crackers face pushing & hitting him right infront of that jerm of an umpire who cheated all day & wouldn't be surprised if he was waiting for crackers to retaliate. When crackers defended himself was reported. I've got no problem with pushing & the other crap that goes on but for it to happen that way is a disgrace. I'm not being bias just calling it as it was if someone else saw the incident what did you think.

acr2751
31 Aug 2008, 14:15
How will crackers fair at the tribunal davinci????
What's his record like overall, if a bit dodgy he may need a not guilty verdict, but with the umps eveidence and no favours i'm sure from st.albans he is in a bit of trouble and no doubt it will take alot out of him over the next few days.
As i said previously i hope he is cleared so spotty are at full strength.

maybe wrong but wasnt that also his 3rd yellow for the year
if its guilty he gets 1 min for his third card.
(not guilty cancels the card)
i think crackers is our favorite oppostion player,dont know about favours maybe cash might need to be exchanged and of course we will need our players teeth back.

obe1
31 Aug 2008, 14:16
Bulldog you've got to be kidding yourself. It doesnt matter were i'm from or who i follow that st albans player was in crackers face pushing & hitting him right infront of that jerm of an umpire who cheated all day & wouldn't be surprised if he was waiting for crackers to retaliate. When crackers defended himself was reported. I've got no problem with pushing & the other crap that goes on but for it to happen that way is a disgrace. I'm not being bias just calling it as it was if someone else saw the incident what did you think.

I think the more you talk about it the worse you are making it for Mark.

cougarman
31 Aug 2008, 14:28

it has to be said, but what a stupid thing for crackers to do late in the last quarter of a prelim final when the game was iced, if #24 was deliberately trying to suck him in(could be another conspiracy filo) why didn't the spotty hierachy take him off the ground, he is the star forward of the team and will play a massive role next week

i hate seeing players miss grand finals through suspension, even if i'm playing against them because if we want to be the best we have to beat the best, but if he's unfortunate enough to get rubbed out he will have no one else to blame but himself for being an idiot

when he came from the ground(sent off) he didn't look too confident and the coach didn't look impressed, i know rock and obe would be furious if one of our guys fell in to a trap like that so no doubt it will a nervous few days for him

for the record i think he will most likely recieve a suspended sentence or severe reprimand as the tribunal seem to have a soft spot for players this time of yr, which a lot of people were saying last week went julier went up for swearing

on a more positive note well done to jason fitzpatrick who played his last game yesterday, been a great player for st albans and wrfl he will be missed :thumbsu:

obe1
31 Aug 2008, 14:37
it has to be said, but what a stupid thing for crackers to do late in the last quarter of a prelim final when the game was iced, if #24 was deliberately trying to suck him in(could be another conspiracy filo) why didn't the spotty hierarchy take him off the ground, he is the star forward of the team and will play a massive role next week

i hate seeing players miss grand finals through suspension, even if i'm playing against them because if we want to be the best we have to beat the best, but if he's unfortunate enough to get rubbed out he will have no one else to blame but himself for being an idiot

when he came from the ground(sent off) he didn't look too confident and the coach didn't look impressed, i know rock and one would be furious if one of our guys fell in to a trap like that so no doubt it will a nervous few days for him

for the record i think he will most likely receive a suspended sentence or severe reprimand as the tribunal seem to have a soft spot for players this time of yr, which a lot of people were saying last week went julier went up for swearing

on a more positive note well done to jason fitzpatrick who played his last game yesterday, been a great player for st albans and wrfl he will be missed :thumbsu:

Always words of wisdom from the skipper, remember to scrub up for your tv appearance later today....off to watch Greenvale and Keilor now, it will interesting to compare the two games.

LeoRules
31 Aug 2008, 15:04
Of course it will be Harris. He only has to touch the footy during the pre game drills and everyone has him pencilled for three votes, a plasma TV, home entertainment centre, 12 nights in Las Vegas, a new ute and 12 months of free mogambo at any of Melbourne's high priced parlors. Oh, lets not forget the movie offers. haha.

people need to watch where the ball goes when he disposseses of it not always good>>>>>>>>>>>>.needs to go in and get a hard ball stop being a hang out :eek:

FiloBeddoe
31 Aug 2008, 16:28
I think the more you talk about it the worse you are making it for Mark.

Obe1. It's crazy to think that what is written on here will influence the perception and decisions of 'THOSE WHO MATTER'. When concerning a professional body such as the tribunal, any suggestion that good old big footy becomes an important part of their evidence is a laugh. If it was really happening and made it worse or better for Krackers, then we'd have a great story for Today Tonight and a skit comedy show.

Anyway the versions of Kracker's indiscretion vary greatly from person to person. It doesn't surprise me that someone who despises a player or club would say that it was a straight punch in the face (btw, not many I have spoken to have even mentioned a punch). Kracker's is an important player but it would be too simple say that Spotty can't win it without him.

ROCK07
31 Aug 2008, 16:52
Kracker's is an important player but it would be too simple say that Spotty can't win it without him.

It would make our job a little easier but spotty have alot of multiple goal kickers in their team, so they would still prove very hard to beat.
Sometimes when such a focal point doesn't play and the team spreads the load it can become more difficult for the opposition in the way they focus on the other teams forward.
An interesting week ahead all out of our control, we will look to have a solid week on the track and be ready and raring to produce on a beautiful saturday arvo.......I'm pumped GO COLTS!!!!!

FiloBeddoe
31 Aug 2008, 17:26
Kracker's is an important player but it would be too simple say that Spotty can't win it without him.

It would make our job a little easier but spotty have alot of multiple goal kickers in their team, so they would still prove very hard to beat.
Sometimes when such a focal point doesn't play and the team spreads the load it can become more difficult for the opposition in the way they focus on the other teams forward.
An interesting week ahead all out of our control, we will look to have a solid week on the track and be ready and raring to produce on a beautiful saturday arvo.......I'm pumped GO COLTS!!!!!

Fair point, spreading the responsibility could be the tonic but we'll wait and see. Would hate to see how good Hawthorn would be if they passed to Roughhead when he's in better position than Buddy. Easy, I'm not comparing Krackers to Buddy.

As for your beautiful display, were you thinking of performing a famous Ballet? Perhaps The Nut Cracker Suite, Swan Lake, The Murphy Reserve Suite? haha, I know what you meant, just couldn't help myself!

obe1
31 Aug 2008, 18:39
[quote=Filo Beddoe;12265740]Obe1. It's crazy to think that what is written on here will influence the perception and decisions of 'THOSE WHO MATTER'. When concerning a professional body such as the tribunal, any suggestion that good old big footy becomes an important part of their evidence is a laugh. If it was really happening and made it worse or better for Krackers, then we'd have a great story for Today Tonight and a skit comedy show.

Who said anything about using big footy as evidence? All I'm saying is that this is a open forum and any comment for or against players, umpires or even coaches can sometimes alter one's attitude or opinion.

FiloBeddoe
31 Aug 2008, 20:18
[quote=Filo Beddoe;12265740]Obe1. It's crazy to think that what is written on here will influence the perception and decisions of 'THOSE WHO MATTER'. When concerning a professional body such as the tribunal, any suggestion that good old big footy becomes an important part of their evidence is a laugh. If it was really happening and made it worse or better for Krackers, then we'd have a great story for Today Tonight and a skit comedy show.

Who said anything about using big footy as evidence? All I'm saying is that this is a open forum and any comment for or against players, umpires or even coaches can sometimes alter one's attitude or opinion.

Thought you were suggesting that the one's who's attitude or opinion can be altered is someone who matters, like a person making an important decision. If that person is influenced, then they're using it as evidence (although not outward). I hope that professionalism would never allow that.
I see your point, freedom of speech can be dangerous but hopefully not in this case.

WRFLfan
31 Aug 2008, 20:48
it has to be said, but what a stupid thing for crackers to do late in the last quarter of a prelim final when the game was iced, if #24 was deliberately trying to suck him in(could be another conspiracy filo) why didn't the spotty hierachy take him off the ground, he is the star forward of the team and will play a massive role next week

when he came from the ground(sent off) he didn't look too confident and the coach didn't look impressed, i know rock and obe would be furious if one of our guys fell in to a trap like that so no doubt it will a nervous few days for him

for the record i think he will most likely recieve a suspended sentence or severe reprimand as the tribunal seem to have a soft spot for players this time of yr, which a lot of people were saying last week went julier went up for swearing

Yeah well done to Fitzy been around since the dinosaurs always played fair and stuck with St Albans even in the not so good times. Was a key to their success well done.

Hollow very good footballer seen him a couple of years ago for Douttas and was impressed with his attack on the ball and big engine. St Albans will be a force in the future some good young kids running around, there junior program has done very well.

bloods05
31 Aug 2008, 21:14
Yeah well done to Fitzy been around since the dinosaurs always played fair and stuck with St Albans even in the not so good times. Was a key to their success well done.

Hollow very good footballer seen him a couple of years ago for Douttas and was impressed with his attack on the ball and big engine. St Albans will be a force in the future some good young kids running around, there junior program has done very well.

Have to agree,Fitzy was a star in this comp loved his work rate,was quite surprised to see him being carried off after yesterday's game,hate his club but was a fair and a gun player who alway's who gave his all,would make a great 2nd's playing coach to guide your thru the next few year's.

And i bet coach the senior's,great clubman,great career.

ROCK07
31 Aug 2008, 21:45
Yes congrats to fitzy, great player, always played the ball and had all of the opposition's respect, league bnf and premiership player so he done it all.
It was great to see him being carried off, i got to shake his hand as he went up the race, he was very emotional, i also felt emotional knowing that i'm not far behind him. We are retired along time, i know i will miss playing so much, although the commardaire of being around team mates is what i will miss the most, and off course kicking a goal or two, but not all the baggings my team mates give me, i'm sure they will miss hanging it on me.