View Full Version : Western Region Football League Team (Part 2)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36

13-CABS
23 Apr 2008, 16:42
Brought this to the attention of an Albion supporter and he said of the Semi Final team last year ten of the 22 played there juniors at Albion.

that may be the case last year, but id imagine the team would look a lot different this year. at least 4 new guys from within the league who are each worth 4 points.

footystar_
23 Apr 2008, 17:07
Brought this to the attention of an Albion supporter and he said of the Semi Final team last year ten of the 22 played there juniors at Albion.

from what i believe a few players have been at the club for many years/juniors.

matty/brent/leeroy davis. chris hall. blake richards just to name a few. ALL 1 POINT
this year a few additions have come a few from parkside and yarriville wrfl players would be worth 2, not 4??

13-CABS
23 Apr 2008, 17:40
from what i believe a few players have been at the club for many years/juniors.

matty/brent/leeroy davis. chris hall. blake richards just to name a few. ALL 1 POINT
this year a few additions have come a few from parkside and yarriville wrfl players would be worth 2, not 4??

They would actually be worth 5. players from the same league are worth 5, unless they are from a lower division. This is to ensure the top teams dont go taking the best players out of the lower leagues. We have Morgz, Thorny and Nugget Foley on 5 points each, so that would be the case with at least 4 of those recruits.

acr2751
23 Apr 2008, 18:28
The system is designed to reduce the number of middle rung clubs, poaching players from the cellar dwellars to top up their list, and entice clubs to seek players from outside the league. By doing this the overall strength of the league will improve as better players are brought into it.
It also gives benefit to teams who promote junior development and works at retaining the playing list from year to year.
From what i have seen in the league, there are some clubs who have managed to maintain their list over several years and have reaped the success of this, and as such should be rewarded.
The system can only work if every team plays atleast from u'16 up.
There will still be teams that will struggle, with injuries, retirements and poor years in junior development, but it will mean that most likely every team may struggle over time, because they won't be able to just go out and buy the best team they can afford, instead they will have to play locals and juniors.
It rewards loyalty.
And just a side note, it has been implemented to some extent in the NBL for the last couple of years

This system has merit, but you will find teams in growth areas would have huge advantages over clubs in older areas were the numbers are a lot smaller. sometimes a clubs poor junior program is becouse they just dont have any kids in the area.
and the next problem we will see is clubs recruiting kids from other clubs to get them eligable under points cap.

cinderella man
23 Apr 2008, 22:10
It was all complementary, spoke in glowing terms of all things "hoppers".

Modesty is his middle name ( as you know ) so there wasn't a mention of himself in the discussion. One thing that impressed me however was his ability to hold four cans of beer, continuly drinking out of one and not spilling a drop. Very talented:thumbsu:Obe just as a matter of intrest how is young J.Perkins travelling at the moment.Has he played seniors yet and if not is he far off ?

ROCK07
23 Apr 2008, 22:20
Obe just as a matter of intrest how is young J.Perkins travelling at the moment.Has he played seniors yet and if not is he far off ?

He is going very well,at 19 still has alot to learn but will be a star in this comp with in 2 years, will be in the seniors this week for his second game of the year and 4th overall.

theiceman
23 Apr 2008, 22:50
He is going very well,at 19 still has alot to learn but will be a star in this comp with in 2 years, will be in the seniors this week for his second game of the year and 4th overall.

rock how is cain williams going is he far of from playing seniors?

potter169
23 Apr 2008, 23:57
This system has merit, but you will find teams in growth areas would have huge advantages over clubs in older areas were the numbers are a lot smaller. sometimes a clubs poor junior program is becouse they just dont have any kids in the area.
and the next problem we will see is clubs recruiting kids from other clubs to get them eligable under points cap.
ok if you get kid comming out of under 18's from a club that does not have a senior team in the WRFL,is that kid still worth 5 points?

pascal
24 Apr 2008, 10:02
that may be the case last year, but id imagine the team would look a lot different this year. at least 4 new guys from within the league who are each worth 4 points.
That was my point, but named three home grown kids that have played every game this year who played twos most of last year.

pascal
24 Apr 2008, 10:05
They would actually be worth 5. players from the same league are worth 5, unless they are from a lower division. This is to ensure the top teams dont go taking the best players out of the lower leagues. We have Morgz, Thorny and Nugget Foley on 5 points each, so that would be the case with at least 4 of those recruits.

Nugget Foley surely isn't playing ones? If so is that just to keep his brother happy and father who is on the match committee?:thumbsd: :eek::thumbsd:

acr2751
24 Apr 2008, 11:28
[quote=obe1;10772793]It seems a good system in the more affluent leagues, the colts side's average points under this system to date is 31.

st albans points from last week would have been 23 average for year 26
(includes 17 1 pointers)

13-CABS
24 Apr 2008, 11:43

This kid is gonna be a star i reckon. Played against us in round 1 and while he wasnt outstanding he did some things which just got ur attention. I played on him in the last quarter and he moves well for a big bloke, and has got really strong hands. Could be a few years ahead of us containing him and Brannan.

playsnogood
24 Apr 2008, 12:27
ok if you get kid comming out of under 18's from a club that does not have a senior team in the WRFL,is that kid still worth 5 points?

That is where the system becomes interesting in WRFL, as there are junior clubs with no alignment to a senior club. I would say they would be worth one point, as they are juniors, unless they have played senior football or represented Vic (via TAC cup).
So any senior player who transfers between clubs in same league is worth 5 points. Junior players picked up from non aligned junior clubs 1 point, other juniors to be discussed

ROCK07
24 Apr 2008, 15:54
rock how is cain williams going is he far of from playing seniors?

Had a good pre season and shows alot of potential, certainly a senior player in my eyes.
He is injured at the moment so hopefully he gets some good form back in the two's and put his name up for senior selction soon.

ROCK07
24 Apr 2008, 15:59
I know Mollo played last year but he was injured all year and didnt have the year everybody expected from him. He will basically be a new player given how much better he will be this year. Monty is very hard to replace even though he didnt have the best finals sesries. Bryce Hayes has gone and Im pretty sure Peter Wilson isnt playing and he is very under-rated as Im sure you'd agree. He did a pretty good job on you in a couple of games last year. Im up here but am missing home a bit so I may be back the 2nd half of the year. I may not get a game though the way they are going. Its a funny 1 with the training. We definitely did a lot more hard running at training last year but Im pretty sure everybodys 3km time trials were pretty good this year in comparison to last year. Chops puts a huge emphasis on intensity so maybe the guys are training shorter but more intense. Who knows.

So basically its been in - Shannon, McGhie, OKeeke and Sinnot and out Me, Monty, Wilson and Hayes. You would have to say that the in's are better than the out's.

Look i think peter goes ok but it wasn't him that stopped me from getting a kick i was just pathetic with no second effort at all, i believe it was more my fault than his,either way he done his job.
Well losing hayse and wilson mite leave the backline a little vulnerable, unless sinnot is a defender???

obe1
24 Apr 2008, 16:17
Obe just as a matter of interest how is young J.Perkins travelling at the moment.Has he played seniors yet and if not is he far off ?

Rock's covered both queries in regards to Perkins and Williams but to answer your question, I have no doubt that they both will have long and successful senior careers at the colts.

RAYZOR18
24 Apr 2008, 16:18
Look i think peter goes ok but it wasn't him that stopped me from getting a kick i was just pathetic with no second effort at all, i believe it was more my fault than his,either way he done his job.
Well losing hayse and wilson mite leave the backline a little vulnerable, unless sinnot is a defender???

Hayse is a loss we can cover, but wilson is a huge one!!! Good thing he will be back playing in the 2nd half of the year once his body is right,the bloke is gun,we havent seen the best of him in years but when he fires he is unstopable. Sinnot is a running machine of the back flank and if you throw in Boothey,the back line is looking a treat. Round 1 we shut down the Hoppers Crossing forwards while providing plenty of run.The last two weeks has been a little easy so it should be a good test this week. Will be a ripper game should only be a couple of goals in it.

colbol35
24 Apr 2008, 16:21

yeah sinnot is a defender and a very handy one at that. i believe our backline has improved alot since last year, the recruit who has probably been our best player this year is staring down back, and has yet to get a mention on bigfooty.
pete did a good job last year he is a quality player, i think he played on u 3 times last year rock and may have got the chocalates all 3.

prowln
24 Apr 2008, 16:21
well rock think our backline is still as strong as last year. sinnott is a backman and from all reports goes very well. i have not been down to see a game yet but speaking to a few of the boys he has slotted in nicely. i might have a bit of trouble getting my spot back with all the new inclusions.

colbol35
24 Apr 2008, 16:22
Hayse is a loss we can cover, but wilson is a huge one!!! Good thing he will be back playing in the 2nd half of the year once his body is right,the bloke is gun,we havent seen the best of him in years but when he fires he is unstopable. Sinnot is a running machine of the back flank and if you throw in Boothey,the back line is looking a treat. Round 1 we shut down the Hoppers Crossing forwards while providing plenty of run.The last two weeks has been a little easy so it should be a good test this week. Will be a ripper game should only be a couple of goals in it.

no way....look everyone its ray, lets bag him?

prowln
24 Apr 2008, 16:24
yeah sinnot is a defender and a very handy one at that. i believe our backline has improved alot since last year, the recruit who has probably been our best player this year is staring down back, and has yet to get a mention on bigfooty.
pete did a good job last year he is a quality player, i think he played on u 3 times last year rock and may have got the chocalates all 3.

thanks for the support crackers, but when i get back i might have to slot into the twos forward line for a while and try pushing for a forwards spot with the back half playing well

av07
24 Apr 2008, 16:30
does anyone know wether brett shields and dean pace from altona can be nominated for rookie of the year? both from under 18's last year but did play a few games in the seniors last year.? is there much other competition?

ROCK07
24 Apr 2008, 16:39

Wrong crackers i kicked 5 the first time we played you on big RAYZOR18 and then i kicked 4 and 3 on peter in the next two but missed a few shots alo but he as you say got the choclates in the gf and that's all that matters.

ROCK07
24 Apr 2008, 16:46

You would have done fu ck all running you lazy heap lol
Let's be serious your back line has played two shocking sides and a hoppers team that has no real fwds at the moment, i think their key defender went fwd and got 3, but no doubt you guys are the team to beat and we look fwd to having a crack a few times.
Spotty had a great year last year but personally i didn't think you were that far ahead of the pack and in the end a little lucky to win the gf but a win none the less.
We had some key personal out in the big game and have a few out also this year, i think if you guys loose crackers or mangan to injury your depth to key position maybe tested......just my opinion

On another subject how are the grounds looking????
Any info on glenorden??

RAYZOR18
24 Apr 2008, 16:50
Wrong crackers i kicked 5 the first time we played you on big RAYZOR18 and then i kicked 4 and 3 on peter in the next two but missed a few shots alo but he as you say got the choclates in the gf and that's all that matters.

Mate im sure it was three goals and two behinds LOL and you did us by eight goals that day.But like you said we got up in the big one. Either way mate you have kicked alot of goals over the years and Pete has done the job on some good forwards and has the capacity to move to the other end of the ground and kick some real big bags himself!

DaVinci
24 Apr 2008, 16:52

Hayse spent most of the year up forward and only went back a few times. There fore will not be missed from the backline at all. The Spotty 08 team is a lot better rounded than the 07 team Spotty this week over Sunshine by 5 goals

DaVinci
24 Apr 2008, 16:56
Let's be serious your back line has played two shocking sides and a hoppers team that has no real fwds at the moment, i think their key defender went fwd and got 3, but no doubt you guys are the team to beat and we look fwd to having a crack a few times.
Spotty had a great year last year but personally i didn't think you were that far ahead of the pack and in the end a little lucky to win the gf but a win none the less.
We had some key personal out in the big game and have a few out also this year, i think if you guys loose crackers or mangan to injury your depth to key position maybe tested......just my opinion

Any info on glenorden??

I don't think you can say any team is a little lucky to win the GF otherwise the same could be said for colts in 06 and 05. Spotswood were the bench mark all year and took out the big one case closed. Now on to 08 a few in the running spotty has played well but haven't played anyone of quality, i include hoppers in that they were shocking when it counted RD1.

RAYZOR18
24 Apr 2008, 17:05

Any info on glenorden??

You may have a point there but when we move the ball into our forward line (which is always open) all we do is look for Crackers and why wouldnt we no one will out mark him, Pelar,Molan or Big Ernie can al play through full forward so that wont be a problem! I dont think any team could replace a player like Mango he is the best backman in the comp his marking and skills are unbelieveable.

our ground was really hard last week we had a few sore boys after the game. Council had put a stop on the watering in past weeks. Ground was alot softer under foot last night.

ROCK07
24 Apr 2008, 17:06
I don't think you can say any team is a little lucky to win the GF otherwise the same could be said for colts in 06 and 05. Spotswood were the bench mark all year and took out the big one case closed. Now on to 08 a few in the running spotty has played well but haven't played anyone of quality, i include hoppers in that they were shocking when it counted RD1.

No doubt we were a little lucky in 06, although we did win the last 3 quarters and squandered alot of chances in front of goal, just as we did last year late in the game 2.7 in the last quarter but bad kicking i s bad footy. As for 05 we won by 45pts hardly lucky, very convincing i would have thought, as you said though that's in the past and 08 is what it's about, i also agree with you that spotty are better no doubt and will be even harder to beat than last year, but beatable none the less......

ROCK07
24 Apr 2008, 17:09
Mate im sure it was three goals and two behinds LOL and you did us by eight goals that day.But like you said we got up in the big one. Either way mate you have kicked alot of goals over the years and Pete has done the job on some good forwards and has the capacity to move to the other end of the ground and kick some real big bags himself!

He got 14 in a reserves game last year fair effort, i think he can play i wasn't knocking him, more having a crack at how bad i was.
I also like the way peter plays much much better than richard......pass that on to rich please.

RAYZOR18
24 Apr 2008, 17:14
No doubt we were a little lucky in 06, although we did win the last 3 quarters and squandered alot of chances in front of goal, just as we did last year late in the game 2.7 in the last quarter but bad kicking i s bad footy. As for 05 we won by 45pts hardly lucky, very convincing i would have thought, as you said though that's in the past and 08 is what it's about, i also agree with you that spotty are better no doubt and will be even harder to beat than last year, but beatable none the less......

Everyone is beatable thats for sure looking forward to playing the Colts this year has you guys love to play it hard and are just as good on the lip and never sook about it like some of the other top teams. I know you do your homework on all clubs,how good do you think the cats are and how will they go against say a Port Colts come finals time?

BradMurphy
24 Apr 2008, 18:08
Hi everyone, Brad Murphy from Hoppers Crossing here...have just joined this site to clear a few things up regarding a so called 'King hit' at the Hoppers Crossing football club a couple of weeks back.

I have spoken to the man in question, Bob Twomey, this week over the phone. i apologised for my part in the fight, which was returning a verbal barrage to one of Bobs friends who had something to say to me first.

At this point i was taken inside and remianed there. At no point did i king hit Bob Twomey or any of his mates and Bob acknowledged this during our 15minute conversation.

We both thought it be best if i come on here and put to rest any other rumours that have taken place on this site, some of which have offended Bob and his family, and also myself. I have had a good relationship with Bobs son, Wade, over the last few years during his days at Werribee and was hopeful he would join us at the Warriors this year.

So hopefully this issue can be put to rest on this forum, and we can move on and enjoy the season in 2008 as it seems to be shaping up as a very competitive one.

Good Luck to everyone for the remainder of the season (except when you play Hoppers)

RAYZOR18
24 Apr 2008, 18:51
Hi everyone, Brad Murphy from Hoppers Crossing here...have just joined this site to clear a few things up regarding a so called 'King hit' at the Hoppers Crossing football club a couple of weeks back.

I have spoken to the man in question, Bob Twomey, this week over the phone. i apologised for my part in the fight, which was returning a verbal barrage to one of Bobs friends who had something to say to me first.

At this point i was taken inside and remianed there. At no point did i king hit Bob Twomey or any of his mates and Bob acknowledged this during our 15minute conversation.

We both thought it be best if i come on here and put to rest any other rumours that have taken place on this site, some of which have offended Bob and his family, and also myself. I have had a good relationship with Bobs son, Wade, over the last few years during his days at Werribee and was hopeful he would join us at the Warriors this year.

So hopefully this issue can be put to rest on this forum, and we can move on and enjoy the season in 2008 as it seems to be shaping up as a very competitive one.

Good Luck to everyone for the remainder of the season (except when you play Hoppers)

Thats great thats its all cleared up (what ever) just keep looking over your shoulder when you walk from you car to the club rooms when you play the Colts.Bob Twomey is a great bloke and the boys from Port wont forgive that easy.When you play them champ make sure you keep you head over the footy cause if dont and you have a stinker they will be into you, they are relentless at the man and on the lip but you know how to get the footy and look good so you will be right. GOOD LUCK to everyone are you for real,i say this with all respect to all teams but i hope you all lose and your season falls apart.Stop sucking up mate it doesnt look good, put away the white flag stand up and cop what ever comes your way!!!

hans von luenberg
24 Apr 2008, 19:33
who do people think will win the relegation match between west footscray and yarraville. both teams are struggling and which ever team losers will most likely come last, im tipping west footscray by 14 points

BEAZER
24 Apr 2008, 20:26
Thats great thats its all cleared up (what ever) just keep looking over your shoulder when you walk from you car to the club rooms when you play the Colts.Bob Twomey is a great bloke and the boys from Port wont forgive that easy.When you play them champ make sure you keep you head over the footy cause if dont and you have a stinker they will be into you, they are relentless at the man and on the lip but you know how to get the footy and look good so you will be right. GOOD LUCK to everyone are you for real,i say this with all respect to all teams but i hope you all lose and your season falls apart.Stop sucking up mate it doesnt look good, put away the white flag stand up and cop what ever comes your way!!!

Get off BigFooty you nerd. Im surprised you know how to work this given you are an apprentice cabinet maker. Also heard you were best dressed at the 'S' party last week, coming as a Shitman.

RAYZOR18
24 Apr 2008, 20:50
Get off BigFooty you nerd. Im surprised you know how to work this given you are an apprentice cabinet maker. Also heard you were best dressed at the 'S' party last week, coming as a Shitman.

Carpenter mate get it right...... You must be home and at mangos house cause thats a shit joke that he would use.To more important things ive been told you had some trouble at the airport(a weight issue) your suit case was fine your carry on luggage was fine but there was still a problem.....Your long arse was 15kgs over the limit and dragging along the ground, at $20 a kilo lucky your on some big bucks.

BEAZER
24 Apr 2008, 21:17
Carpenter mate get it right...... You must be home and at mangos house cause thats a shit joke that he would use.To more important things ive been told you had some trouble at the airport(a weight issue) your suit case was fine your carry on luggage was fine but there was still a problem.....Your long arse was 15kgs over the limit and dragging along the ground, at $20 a kilo lucky your on some big bucks.

Im good mate but not that good, unfortunately havent mastered the art of being in 2 places at once but I will work on it. Whats it like living at home and getting you mum to do your washing big bad RAZOR18? What time does she read you your bedtime story? Put your spiderman jarmies on and jump into your race-car bed. Goodnite precious.

BradMurphy
24 Apr 2008, 22:30

White Flag haha. mate it wasnt just my idea to come on here, it was also bobbys. i know bobby is a great bloke, i spoke to him for a good 20mins and ive never doubted that he was a good bloke. as for the games against colts i know colts are a physical side, i expect the verbal and physical stuff, not a problem. your entitled to your opinion mate,thats what this site is for, but come on is it necasary to start threatening stuff off the footy field? i think not...

ROCK07
24 Apr 2008, 22:55

Great effort brad to come on here and apologise for your part in the incident and also to clear up that you didn't throw a puch.
I have spoke to bob and on behalf of him and his family accept that this was the case and all is forgiven and forgotten and now we will just be ready for a tough physical and fair game of footy and all the other stuff will not play apart.

Now ray with a comment like "he better watch himself going to his car"
that is why you cop more sh it than most wake up to yourself....please we as a club play hard on the field but off it we are not thugs as you may think.
If you are going to refer to the gf incident you incited the crowd....end of story.

creative_mind11
25 Apr 2008, 11:46

good to see this finally cleared up. well done to brad and bob for talking it through and sorting it out. Both play for quality clubs and no doubt will meet in a finals match along the way.

to morons such as Rayzor18 honestly mate pull your head in, if someone has the balls to get on here and apologise formally and in a public forum then have the decency to accept that and move on. You dont even play for the club concerned. you have made a real fool of yourself with that post and you have seen some responses of what people actually think of you (Beazer and Rock07). now i think of it maybe all the juice is going to your brain and you arent thinking straight.

Well done to everyone concerned and FFS can we please move on from this topic its been done to death.

anyway my tips for this week:

Spotty to win over Sunshine-6 goals
Hoppers to beat Albion-3 goals
West Footscray to beat Yarra-5 goals
Port to beat Glenorden-15goals
St Albans will beat Altona by 27 points

tige19
25 Apr 2008, 13:07

Are you for real?? anytime you post you bring Spotty down, I would suggest to put a dummy in it mate you sound like a clown.

tommo22
25 Apr 2008, 16:28
wyndhamvale's coach nathan evans is full of shit i reckon - this team is in trouble

http://werribee.yourguide.com.au/news/sport/afl/falcons-fight-winless-run/1229483.html

No cash here
25 Apr 2008, 17:34
wyndhamvale's coach nathan evans is full of shit i reckon - this team is in trouble

http://werribee.yourguide.com.au/news/sport/afl/falcons-fight-winless-run/1229483.html

Firstly you are on the Div1 thread and I am certain that nobody on this thread cares about the Falcons.

Secondly (for whatever reason) 20 senior players have left the club and Evans puts his hand up 2 or 3 weeks before the season to take on a pretty tough job and you want to bag him? I reckon the bloke should get a pat on the back for having a go regardless of the results he has on the board so far.

borgsta2006
25 Apr 2008, 18:19
sunshine dominated today. spotty will need to pick themselves up after this loss.
colbol giving away a silly 100m penalty was one of the sillier things for the day.......
margin was 42 points when i left....
to the people i saw before i left, see you next time!!!

Borgy

ROCK07
25 Apr 2008, 18:51
sunshine dominated today. spotty will need to pick themselves up after this loss.
colbol giving away a silly 100m penalty was one of the sillier things for the day.......

Borgy

Fair result for the kangas and even though i made out i changed my tip i had a feeling they would win, and a big margin at that.Well done kangas but i'm sure spotty will bounce back and positions for top 3 will be on for sure now, very exciting.
Word from the game spotty not as fit as last year crackers and ray looking chubby,although we all look slow when we have a bad day. This mite be a good thing for spotty.

bikkas
25 Apr 2008, 19:28
After not being on this site for a while and seeing this post i am assuming that they are now letting retards use computers. A coward is one who will make statements and hide like yourself. Seeing you have a great memory please recall for us when this so called King hit occurred or is that too too hard for your brain to do??

st leonards pub does that ring a bell at all? ahahahhaah

red devil1
25 Apr 2008, 20:21
Fair result for the kangas and even though i made out i changed my tip i had a feeling they would win, and a big margin at that.Well done kangas but i'm sure spotty will bounce back and positions for top 3 will be on for sure now, very exciting.
Word from the game spotty not as fit as last year crackers and ray looking chubby,although we all look slow when we have a bad day. This mite be a good thing for spotty.

I went down to today as I have a friend who plays for Sunshine. I know its a cliche but what a great advertisement for WRFL footy.

Fantastic Anzac presentation before the game and then a terrific match. Sunshine just wanted it more and worked harder.

Difficult to select stand out players for Sunshine as though were so even across the board.

Some points;
- McInneny did a very good job on Molan.
- Millar and Grainger had the better of the ruck contests with McGhie disappointing. Just didn't impose himself on the contest. Millar and Grainger, while not as polished were more prepared to get their hands dirty. They fought and scrapped for everything.
- Keenan probably kicked 3 or 4, but looked dangerous every time he went near it. Split packs, dished off handballs etc Sunshine got out of jail with this match up as Bright is not a key defender. The Kangaroos need a full back. If Spotty were on top, Keenan would destroy Bright with the right service.
- Jones, Linton, Hill and Connor provided great run and carry. Linton's use of the ball was first rate and Jones kept racking up the stats across half back. Hill looks a really smoky on the wing and Connor was a real livewire and kicked some crucial goals.
- Morgan King probably kicked 3 or 4, but had several shots and looked really good. Stong focal point, great set of hands and really attacked the pill.
- Glowacki and Connor were dangerous crumbers up forward for Sunshine, while Spotty's small men such as Langlands and Ibister were quiet. Sunshine ran the ball out too easily form defence, which in turn made it harder for Molan and Keenan.
- Spotswood coach Kelly never stopped trying in the middle. Looks to be absolute quality. Harris wasn't as prominent, with Trevaskis shadowing him at different stages.
- Foley and Mangan had a tight tussle. They seemed to be by-passed alot, but would have to give the points to Mangan. Foley is a smart player though and was a definite contributer.
- Sunshine were missing about 6 topliners, while I think Spotswood had perhaps only Theodore out. Not sure how Cassidy goes?

Had a fun day and really enjoyed the atmosphere. First rate club Sunshine and they must have made an absolute packet today. Be interested in others thoughts.

colbol35
26 Apr 2008, 01:05

im so chubby

colbol35
26 Apr 2008, 01:12

Borgy

was silly i must admit.... but that was the worst display of umpiring i have ever seen, i honestly never have a problem with umps but today they were terrible, and whats up with umps having to bounce the ball, seriously if u cant bounce straight just throw it up, i know we all make mistakes but bouncing 6 shit ones in a row is getting ridiculous, happened all day.

congrats to sunshine played a very nice brand of football today and gave us a nice touch up, they wanted it more and the pressure they applied was top notch, going to be a great fight for top 3 this year.

Mango83
26 Apr 2008, 13:27
was silly i must admit.... but that was the worst display of umpiring i have ever seen, i honestly never have a problem with umps but today they were terrible, and whats up with umps having to bounce the ball, seriously if u cant bounce straight just throw it up, i know we all make mistakes but bouncing 6 shit ones in a row is getting ridiculous, happened all day.

congrats to sunshine played a very nice brand of football today and gave us a nice touch up, they wanted it more and the pressure they applied was top notch, going to be a great fight for top 3 this year.

yeah the umpiring wasnt the best but it was bad both ways, sunshine played very well and was just better than us all over the ground and they come to play. crackers didnt have the best of days but still kick 4 so thats a win for him. well done sinshine.

borgsta2006
26 Apr 2008, 19:34

adrian was very good mate and from where i was in the crowd, you dropped a mark you should have taken, then took your frustrations out on adrian. (First 50), then you threw your mouthguard down in a demonstrative way (Second 50).
Agree with you about the bouncing. Poor Peter was told by the coach from what I'm led to believe to bounce, which is ridiculous because he clearly can't bounce and he acknowledges that. I think him throwing it up second half was good. Adrian was excellent though, I must say. Clearly the best in the league.
Sunshine were far too good so I'm guessing you can't blame the umpires for that one mate :)

albicat13
26 Apr 2008, 20:14
Hi all

been a long time since i was on here...

Undefeated and going strong. As predicted the cats are here beaten St Albans, Port and now Hoppers... Cats are a force this year let's get the talk up about the cats!!!

Bring on YC next week!!!

ROCK07
26 Apr 2008, 21:55
Hi all

Undefeated and going strong. As predicted the cats are here beaten St Albans, Port and now Hoppers... Cats are a force this year let's get the talk up about the cats!!!

Bring on YC next week!!!

The cats are going great the flags their's....just kidding, they have a bit more hardness this year and have got off to a great start so that should help secure a top 3 spot.
This week will be a great game i think maybe the home ground mite be a bit of an advantage but i think the kangas mite get up again.

darren melton
26 Apr 2008, 22:37
Hi all

Bring on YC next week!!!do the cats a favour champ and keep off here cats along way to go yet

red devil1
26 Apr 2008, 23:41
do the cats a favour champ and keep off here cats along way to go yet

Come on Darren. Give us a bit of match report. How did Brad Murphy play?

roosters44
27 Apr 2008, 02:15

Did number 30 for Sunshine keep getting free kicks? The biggest suck up in the competition.....

W begbee
27 Apr 2008, 05:13
scared an.d is a receiver. wont go get the hard ball

W begbee
27 Apr 2008, 05:15
just gotta say the man has no ticker. the first ever begbee award goes to brad murphy for bein albions best player.

ju8

ali bubba
27 Apr 2008, 08:56
Hi all

Bring on YC next week!!!

It should be a very intersting game albion vs kangas next week especially after an incident that happened after the game at sunshine i can tell you this there is some very very upset people :mad::mad::mad:

RAYZOR18
27 Apr 2008, 13:03
Great effort brad to come on here and apologise for your part in the incident and also to clear up that you didn't throw a puch.
I have spoke to bob and on behalf of him and his family accept that this was the case and all is forgiven and forgotten and now we will just be ready for a tough physical and fair game of footy and all the other stuff will not play apart.

Now ray with a comment like "he better watch himself going to his car"
that is why you cop more sh it than most wake up to yourself....please we as a club play hard on the field but off it we are not thugs as you may think.
If you are going to refer to the gf incident you incited the crowd....end of story.

Come on mate you should know me better then that by now.... Just stiring the pot,as i have no time for a bloke who goes around telling people he went to hoppers cause they have the most money and the pay the best i think he is a joke. People can say what they want about me it dosent bother me at all 9 times out of 10 its behind my back anyway.

Great win to Sunshine they will be very hard to beat all year they cover all postions on the ground. Very fit and fast, maybe Crackers and i need to do a few more laps on tuesday and thursday nights.

colbol35
27 Apr 2008, 13:45
adrian was very good mate and from where i was in the crowd, you dropped a mark you should have taken, then took your frustrations out on adrian. (First 50), then you threw your mouthguard down in a demonstrative way (Second 50).
Agree with you about the bouncing. Poor Peter was told by the coach from what I'm led to believe to bounce, which is ridiculous because he clearly can't bounce and he acknowledges that. I think him throwing it up second half was good. Adrian was excellent though, I must say. Clearly the best in the league.
Sunshine were far too good so I'm guessing you can't blame the umpires for that one mate :)

not blaming the umps at all, sunshine were the far better side and deserved the win. not disputing the 50s either they were there and i shouldnt have done what i did. and come on mate seriously i dont drop marks so it must of been a free kick:thumbsu:

footystar_
27 Apr 2008, 13:51
not blaming the umps at all, sunshine were the far better side and deserved the win. not disputing the 50s either they were there and i shouldnt have done what i did. and come on mate seriously i dont drop marks so it must of been a free kick:thumbsu:

Just a matter of interest colbol35 when you were dragged, what were you and the sunshine spectators aguing about? you seemed to be quite fustrated?:D

borgsta2006
27 Apr 2008, 14:11

That's why BF loves you mate! Always good for a laugh!

Good luck for the rest of the year.

red devil1
27 Apr 2008, 14:58
Just a matter of interest colbol35 when you were dragged, what were you and the sunshine spectators aguing about? you seemed to be quite fustrated?:D

They were mainly Braybrook supporters who having a laugh at colbol35. Can't win answering back to the crowd!

ROCK07
27 Apr 2008, 16:22
Come on mate you should know me better then that by now.... Just stiring the pot,as i have no time for a bloke who goes around telling people he went to hoppers cause they have the most money and the pay the best i think he is a joke. People can say what they want about me it dosent bother me at all 9 times out of 10 its behind my back anyway.

Great win to Sunshine they will be very hard to beat all year they cover all postions on the ground. Very fit and fast, maybe Crackers and i need to do a few more laps on tuesday and thursday nights.

Fair enough, yea i forgot about the money comments early....oh well each to their own.
As for crackers being a bit over weight, doesn't seem to be hurting him, easily on target for the ton.

Just for the record the colts won yesterday 28.12 to 2.9, no one was doing the scoreboard so after 3/4 time so hopefully the wrfl fix that quickly, i'm sure percentage is going to be vital this year.

Also heard a whisper that yarra may pull the pin as early as this week, anyone from yarra care to confirm or deny this.

colbol35
27 Apr 2008, 18:45

wasnt dragged mate, i think it had something to do with rotations:thumbsu:

yeah i was very frustrated, i had a tough day sunshine zoned back really well made life very difficult for me and then the f'ing umps(only joking borgy)...nar when i went off, a group of good looking overweight toothless bogans sitting in the back of a station wagon drinking woodstocks starting getting in to me, and me being the fruitloop iam i couldnt help myself but to bite back. very silly thing to do on my behalf, but hopefully ill learn from that and it wont happen again.

ROCK07
27 Apr 2008, 19:34

yeah i was very frustrated, i had a tough day sunshine zoned back really well made life very difficult for me and then the f'ing umps(only joking borgy)...nar when i went off, a group of good looking overweight toothless bogans sitting in the back of a station wagon drinking woodstocks starting getting in to me, and me being the fruitloop iam i couldnt help myself but to bite back. very silly thing to do on my behalf, but hopefully ill learn from that and it wont happen again.

Na it will rd 6, colts past players and premiership reunion day....you will be their target for the day and ray18

bikkas
27 Apr 2008, 20:24
Na it will rd 6, colts past players and premiership reunion day....you will be their target for the day and ray18

yeh rnd 6 will be a big clash, the fridges better be well and truly stocked up of woodstocks and thank god centrelink is closed that day cos the crowd is going to be huge.....the boys and girls better make sure the rock n roll forms are in early or u wont get paid till the monday......PORT SCUMBAGS.......be good to your mother signing off

Mango83
27 Apr 2008, 20:58

i heard u were so frustrated u ended up at the marquee with beazer. u must of been down and out.

W begbee
27 Apr 2008, 21:47
nugget is a gun

w.weapons
27 Apr 2008, 22:33
hey rock just having a look at your premiership reunion on the wrfl website........

im pretty sure sean ''scorcher'' tripplett is in the photo???....... did he play in that years granny????....obviously realated to loyd'y balshaw......

hahaha he love's being in front of the camera and has played at a few fdfl/wrfl clubs and i certianly didnt know he was involved at the colts......

thesilkmeister
28 Apr 2008, 10:03
Fair enough, yea i forgot about the money comments early....oh well each to their own.
As for crackers being a bit over weight, doesn't seem to be hurting him, easily on target for the ton.

Just for the record the colts won yesterday 28.12 to 2.9, no one was doing the scoreboard so after 3/4 time so hopefully the wrfl fix that quickly, i'm sure percentage is going to be vital this year.

Also heard a whisper that yarra may pull the pin as early as this week, anyone from yarra care to confirm or deny this.

Hey Rock - can't confirm or deny that tidbit of info. I certainly haven't heard anything but left the ground pretty early after the eagles DISCRACEFUL performance against Wests.

secure38
28 Apr 2008, 10:30
Hey Rock - can't confirm or deny that tidbit of info. I certainly haven't heard anything but left the ground pretty early after the eagles DISCRACEFUL performance against Wests.
Sorry Rock have heard nothing in regard to your question. Seconds won though and cordial was nice!! Seriously the league really have to take a serious look at the state of the West ground. It is in the worst condition I have seen a ground for a long time. The council and league need to take affirmative action before a player suffers a serious injury. Well done to west and no soure grapes here. As i said we had a win!!

flyinhigh
28 Apr 2008, 11:58
talk it up albion. 4 wins big deal! you had a good win against port melbourne and hoppers the other two clubs were nothing to brag about!!!
I will be very surprised to see 5-0 on the board after this round!
Ali_Bubba fill me in on who was involved in the fight I was at the game and the after function and heard nothing of?

flyinhigh
28 Apr 2008, 12:04
Sunshine sitting on 3-1 at the moment. Having lost only round one to Port Melbourne, we had many players out, and first game of the year always a bit rusty!
Lost to them by around 3-4 goals. then we beat glenorden by 20 goals, west footscray by 25 goals, spotty by 7 goals. now our next rounds are, albion, yarriville, altona, hoppers, stalbans. good chance of being 8-1 at midyear. and probably top of the ladder. we only really have 2 challenging games but should win if we have our best team out and are switched on.

13-CABS
28 Apr 2008, 12:26
haha lets not get ahead of ourselves mate. not sure if u are even actually from sunshine. this week should be a cracker, both teams are obviously playing good footy so we're looking forward to it. have mentha and possibly acreman to come back in, also with harrison, magnussen and mcgoldrick a chance to play this week. finally might actually have a full list to pick from.

playsnogood
28 Apr 2008, 12:41
Rock, in regards to Yarra, you asking because you want a week off?
A bye is no good to anyone, and then everyone misses out on playing on the best surface in the league.

typewriter
28 Apr 2008, 16:21
haha lets not get ahead of ourselves mate. not sure if u are even actually from sunshine. this week should be a cracker, both teams are obviously playing good footy so we're looking forward to it. have mentha and possibly acreman to come back in, also with harrison, magnussen and mcgoldrick a chance to play this week. finally might actually have a full list to pick from.

if teams were in the sitautions of sunshine's where a player like acreman has had a lengthy spell on the sidelines would they tend to bring him straight into the 1s or give him a week or 2 in the magoos to find his feet.
wot would an approriate layoff be to have to hve to come back through the 2s

pascal
28 Apr 2008, 16:41
if teams were in the sitautions of sunshine's where a player like acreman has had a lengthy spell on the sidelines would they tend to bring him straight into the 1s or give him a week or 2 in the magoos to find his feet.
wot would an approriate layoff be to have to hve to come back through the 2s
Possibly until he gets his jaw broken

johnny bravo
28 Apr 2008, 17:18
do the cats a favour champ and keep off here cats along way to go yet

yes the cats are looking good at the moment, but yes there is still a long way to go. Albion still with a few players to come back in the next few weeks, felton and dicko will add a bit more height.
this week should be a ripper game with a shot out between king (5 last week as predicted) and butina (7)
Brad murphy played a solid game back nothing special, number 5 for hoppers was best for them and almost got them over the line
Spotty still a ?, have not beaten anyone as yet

ROCK07
28 Apr 2008, 18:28
yes the cats are looking good at the moment, but yes there is still a long way to go. Albion still with a few players to come back in the next few weeks, felton and dicko will add a bit more height.
this week should be a ripper game with a shot out between king (5 last week as predicted) and butina (7)
Brad murphy played a solid game back nothing special, number 5 for hoppers was best for them and almost got them over the line

Dickson won't get a game, to old and slow and always gets goals kicked on him. He has been o/s and done nothing for a month, the cats are better off without him.

Also the whispers around the wrfl that spotty's next big youngster is Jack Cairns i think in the under 12's or 14's, look out for him in the future

addorable
28 Apr 2008, 19:01

yeh when was the last time they beat a team above them.

cork_in_the_ocean
28 Apr 2008, 19:23
Dickson won't get a game, to old and slow and always gets goals kicked on him. He has been o/s and done nothing for a month, the cats are better off without him.

Now Rock there isnt a tinge of personal dislike for Dicko in there is there now?

PICMAN
28 Apr 2008, 19:24
good one rock

Nudgeme
28 Apr 2008, 20:39
Albion vs Hoppers game was good to watch, a great hitout between 2 teams who will figure heavily in September. Albion like the in hard contested type of game, they dont run as well as other teams so there ground suits there style of football. They have Butina who is a great option up forward and some solid onballers, Zavallas is just another footballer time has caught up with him but there CHB is the key to there defence. They are a well drilled unit who push back hard to clog up the oppositions forward line.

Hoppers on the other hand to me seemed to struggle with the conditions and ground, they like to spread the ball and run they where clearly the more skillfull team, they only played 1 qtr for the day and that was the 3rd where they looked a class above Albion. They where hit with there CHF going down in the 2nd qtr which hampered there goal opportunities. If you play in and tight with Hoppers they will struggle however if you let them move the ball and have space they will carve through opposition teams.

Overall Albion deserved there win, they are a professional team who play tight contested footy however I think had the game been at Hoppers the result would have been very different.

Albions best where Butina who is as classy as they come at local level,Turner and Dorwood and for Hoppers K.Murphy,B.Murphy who is silky and Downey who is a hard match up for oppositon backman.

2 good teams though who are hard to split, come seasons end I would think I would still back the Warriors.

This week ill be off to the Albion vs Sunshine game and will give another report of that.

darren melton
28 Apr 2008, 21:10
Albion vs Hoppers game was good to watch, a great hitout between 2 teams who will figure heavily in September. Albion like the in hard contested type of game, they dont run as well as other teams so there ground suits there style of football. They have Butina who is a great option up forward and some solid onballers, Zavallas is just another footballer time has caught up with him but there CHB is the key to there defence. They are a well drilled unit who push back hard to clog up the oppositions forward line.

Hoppers on the other hand to me seemed to struggle with the conditions and ground, they like to spread the ball and run they where clearly the more skillfull team, they only played 1 qtr for the day and that was the 3rd where they looked a class above Albion. They where hit with there CHF going down in the 2nd qtr which hampered there goal opportunities. If you play in and tight with Hoppers they will struggle however if you let them move the ball and have space they will carve through opposition teams.

Overall Albion deserved there win, they are a professional team who play tight contested footy however I think had the game been at Hoppers the result would have been very different.

Albions best where Butina who is as classy as they come at local level,Turner and Dorwood and for Hoppers K.Murphy,B.Murphy who is silky and Downey who is a hard match up for oppositon backman.

2 good teams though who are hard to split, come seasons end I would think I would still back the Warriors.

This week ill be off to the Albion vs Sunshine game and will give another report of that.this post way of the mark you ob are from hoppers last 3 years hoppers hav thrashd albion on albions home turf 80 + pts ?? and on hoppers home turf albion should of won 2 times albion dont get numbers back not a game plan they actually back there defenders to win one on one and zavalis been bog nearly in 3 games prior hoppers kicked 3 of there goals from 50mtr penalties which was from over umpiring and should not of been paid overall score board flattered hoppers

Colt_08
28 Apr 2008, 21:23
look i agree albion are a good side early and are looking very strong. but do they have sunshines speed? i think albion are better then hoppers and oviously showed it on the weekend, i don't know what or how the game went but if as you said nudgeme hoppers played one qtr and only lost by 17 pts to a quality side they must of played a bloody good qtr.

when we played albion we were outran by a fitter side, but seeing though albion have recruited all older blokes and are not a very young side i think a lot of teams will overtake them in the fitness section and they will slowly fade during the year.

after a few rounds i have a new top 5
port melbourne- quality side, will start to expand over the upcoming weeks
spotswood- still a quality side won't drop to many more like last week
albion/sunshine- still undecided 3rd 4th both good sides, lets look this week
hoppers- i don't know much about them will see in a few weeks

theiceman
28 Apr 2008, 21:31
this post way of the mark you ob are from hoppers last 3 years hoppers hav thrashd albion on albions home turf 80 + pts ?? and on hoppers home turf albion should of won 2 times albion dont get numbers back not a game plan they actually back there defenders to win one on one and zavalis been bog nearly in 3 games prior hoppers kicked 3 of there goals from 50mtr penalties which was from over umpiring and should not of been paid overall score board flattered hoppers

good call darren albion dominated the 1 st half and the only reason hoppers were still in the game after half time was the very soft 50 mtr penalties which resulted in 3 goals.. typical hoppers comment they moved the ball better and only played 1 quarter hoppers never looked like winning with a 5 to 6 goal breeze the score was level at 3/4 time.. albion were the better and harder side on the day

theiceman
28 Apr 2008, 21:36
look i agree albion are a good side early and are looking very strong. but do they have sunshines speed? i think albion are better then hoppers and oviously showed it on the weekend, i don't know what or how the game went but if as you said nudgeme hoppers played one qtr and only lost by 17 pts to a quality side they must of played a bloody good qtr.

when we played albion we were outran by a fitter side, but seeing though albion have recruited all older blokes and are not a very young side i think a lot of teams will overtake them in the fitness section and they will slowly fade during the year.

after a few rounds i have a new top 5
port melbourne- quality side, will start to expand over the upcoming weeks
spotswood- still a quality side won't drop to many more like last week
albion/sunshine- still undecided 3rd 4th both good sides, lets look this week
hoppers- i don't know much about them will see in a few weeks

hey mate u want 2 have a look at colts list would be older than albions and very top heavy so dont contradict urself champ

Colt_08
28 Apr 2008, 21:41
yer older blokes at port melbourne but we have a lot of 22-24 year old players, looking at albion all seems to look between 25-28? i would only be guessing. but that's from what I saw round 2

ROCK07
28 Apr 2008, 22:47
hey mate u want 2 have a look at colts list would be older than albions and very top heavy so dont contradict urself champ

COLT08 is definately not from colts, let's leave it at that

I would say colts would probably have an average under under albions but that's just a guess with 2 19 year olds and with 3 over 30 but the majority is 21 to 26....i don't think it matters to much anyway, people have been saying for awhile that colts are getting old, well i'm the oldest and i'm feeling ok so really it's just a number especially at this level, it's not like the speed of the game is so great.

secure38
28 Apr 2008, 23:08
Possibly until he gets his jaw broken
what a stupid comment to make. Must have come from a bloke that left the comp to play D4 ammos. Nice work tough guy:thumbsd:

Thunderball
28 Apr 2008, 23:09
[/B]

yeh when was the last time they beat a team above them.
Bit hard to beat a team above you when you have been on top for the most part of last year and all of this year so far!!

Addorable maybe, Smart not likely

Nudgeme
29 Apr 2008, 00:20
this post way of the mark you ob are from hoppers last 3 years hoppers hav thrashd albion on albions home turf 80 + pts ?? and on hoppers home turf albion should of won 2 times albion dont get numbers back not a game plan they actually back there defenders to win one on one and zavalis been bog nearly in 3 games prior hoppers kicked 3 of there goals from 50mtr penalties which was from over umpiring and should not of been paid overall score board flattered hoppers

I have seen Hoppers play 2 or 3 times over the last few years so if that makes me from Hoppers then so be it, I suppose it doesn't matter that I am 40+ and live in Sunshine (hence the reason I watch more Albion matches) now does it?

Just my honest opinion on the game, Albion are a very different side to last year, at least 8-10 players I didnt recognise, they are very well drilled and will be amongst it come seasons end I just think Hoppers have more scope to work with, younger fitter and more skillfull that is just my observation.

At the end of the day the top 5 is going to be a raffle and any team will have a chance, that is how close I see it.

The Kickoligist
29 Apr 2008, 09:48
Is the rumour true that Barry from Hoppers did his knee on the weekend and will miss the rest of the year.
If this is true it is a huge lose for Hoppers as he was one of the only talls in a small side.

BEAZER
29 Apr 2008, 13:35

Also the whispers around the wrfl that spotty's next big youngster is Jack Cairns i think in the under 12's or 14's, look out for him in the future

jack Charlston. He is a freak. I think he is bottom age under 16's this year. Has won 3 or 4 comp medals in a row. Things change when kids get older and people catch up to them we all know that but people who have seen him play say he is 1 of the best juniors they had ever seen, better than a lot of big name AFL players at the same age. A great young kid too and his parents are top people so I hope he does make it.

addorable
29 Apr 2008, 13:47
Bit hard to beat a team above you when you have been on top for the most part of last year and all of this year so far!!

Addorable maybe, Smart not likely

was waiting for that
i was just being a smartarse

footystar_
29 Apr 2008, 14:11
jack Charlston. He is a freak. I think he is bottom age under 16's this year. Has won 3 or 4 comp medals in a row. Things change when kids get older and people catch up to them we all know that but people who have seen him play say he is 1 of the best juniors they had ever seen, better than a lot of big name AFL players at the same age. A great young kid too and his parents are top people so I hope he does make it.

surely not better then bachar houli. he was the same size in under16's then is he now! . when i played against him in u16's he needed 40 goals in 2 games to get 100. he came out kicked 19 in one, then the last game 21 against us. got his 100.. spotswood were the best by a mile that year. they beat i think willi(2nd) one game by 120 points with bachar in, and when he was out in the grand final against them they only got up by 2-3 goals. he was unreal!

The Kickoligist
29 Apr 2008, 14:35
surely not better then bachar houli. he was the same size in under16's then is he now! . when i played against him in u16's he needed 40 goals in 2 games to get 100. he came out kicked 19 in one, then the last game 21 against us. got his 100.. spotswood were the best by a mile that year. they beat i think willi(2nd) one game by 120 points with bachar in, and when he was out in the grand final against them they only got up by 2-3 goals. he was unreal!
From what i have heard apparantly Doug Hawkins won 3 junior league medals in a row and polled the maximum votes in all 3 years.
it is good for the league to have talented juniors making it in the big time but correct me if i am wrong but Spotty are the only team of late to produce afl players ie Urch, Houli.

typewriter
29 Apr 2008, 14:53
From what i have heard apparantly Doug Hawkins won 3 junior league medals in a row and polled the maximum votes in all 3 years.
it is good for the league to have talented juniors making it in the big time but correct me if i am wrong but Spotty are the only team of late to produce afl players ie Urch, Houli.

werribee had prismall from geelong but true about spotty good breeding ground i think ward from the dogs was from spotty, and ive seen this charleston kid play very hard in and under medium sized midfilder who just looks a cut above the rest even at the next level.