View Full Version : The first five goals of the second quarter against the bombers...

WE Are Geelong
31 Mar 2008, 19:46
...is probably the best footy I have ever watched!

Its a shame I wasnt at the game and I would love to hear from somebody/anybody at the game what the feeling and atmosphere was like.

Its a real privilege to support the cats at the moment and this is the best time I can ever remember on and off the field as a supporter of the club.

Well done to the GFC and thanks in advance to anyone who can tell me what it was like being there during that great run of play and anything positive to remark on another extraordinary 4 quarter effort from the cats.

BTW...does anyone else think Bomber got the cats up as a possible payback to the bombers given the poor way they treated a legend in Sheeds last season? As much as we all know we can play like that...I wasnt expecting it so soon in the season to be honest.

cats2rise
31 Mar 2008, 19:49
Was pretty scary footy.... Was amazed!!

PoidaCat
31 Mar 2008, 20:44
Yeah I was on the 50 at the end they were kicking too...was awesome stuff...

cats2rise
31 Mar 2008, 20:51
Yeah I was on the 50 at the end they were kicking too...was awesome stuff...

me too... side?

haywood jablome
31 Mar 2008, 21:15
I was behind the goals under the ****ing level 2 concrete bit. It was like clock work, goal cheer goal cheer goal cheer, thought it would go forever. Then Essendon got one back and it slowed down a bit.

D0nk
31 Mar 2008, 22:03
Unfortunately I was at the other end of the ground, I think someone sent me a text at the start of the quarter, I looked down to get my phone and by the time I looked up the ball had been bounced we won the centre clearance and kicked a goal, it was all happening too fast to take in.

bingle
31 Mar 2008, 22:15
i tell ya what, it would've been bloody scary to an opposition supporter.
the silence was evident from the bomber people, inc. the two on opposite sides of me. The atmosphere from the Bomber faithful after that 10 minutes was non-existant and who could blame them.
to think the bombers had just 10 possessions up until the 8 and a half minute mark of that quarter is simply out of this world. Kind of reminiscent of the 1st quarter of the Bulldogs game in R16 last year.

The big hungry Cats going in and executing a the quick kill.

DanA
1 Apr 2008, 00:14
Four Bomber supporters in front of me packed up and called it a day after the 3rd goal. It was great tap work by Blake clean hands in the middle, magnificent spreading from the stoppage. Based on how they lined up it looked like the Bombers we given instruction to go head to head rather than tag. That was quickly stopped.

Copernicus
1 Apr 2008, 02:18
That was incredible stuff. It must have been completely demoralising for the Bombers, who I thought did pretty well at that stage to stem the bleeding and stop our run. For a moment there I thought we'd kick ten goals for the quarter at least, we were unstoppable.

WE Are Geelong
1 Apr 2008, 11:04
Thanks guys...thats been brilliant to get on today and read that. Must have been awesome to be there...even on tv as a replay it was amazing to watch for the first time I can tell you.

ripitup27
1 Apr 2008, 11:12
I was behind the goals under the ****ing level 2 concrete bit. It was like clock work, goal cheer goal cheer goal cheer, thought it would go forever. Then Essendon got one back and it slowed down a bit.

Yeah same, on level two in front of the function room? Was incredible football to watch.

I sent a message to my brother saying when I used to say 'that is pure Geelong' it was normally when we f'd up. Now it's periods like that that I say it. Brilliant footy.

Jobe 1 Kinobe
1 Apr 2008, 11:33
It was incredible to watch. They where awesome! Even though we got flogged I really enjoyed watching Geelong play. Enjoy this year, you are shoe ins for the flag!

Mooney_d'King
1 Apr 2008, 11:45
It was a real crescendo of excitement. Blitzkrieg on a footy field.

And I really like your comments about what a time it is to support the club. They're doing everything right and as you say, it feels like a privilege.

hoopla
1 Apr 2008, 12:14
I agree completely. I think that was the best 10 minutes I have ever seen the cats play, and probably the best I have seen any team play.

I really didn't think the bombers were too bad on Sunday, although they did miss quite a few shots. But the bombers were a hell of a lot better than Port in the 2007 GF and the Tigers in that thrashing last year.

Can they get any better? It would be frightening to see them play like that for the whole game.

Lindner Wazzagun
1 Apr 2008, 12:23
I agree completely. I think that was the best 10 minutes I have ever seen the cats play, and probably the best I have seen any team play.

I really didn't think the bombers were too bad on Sunday, although they did miss quite a few shots. But the bombers were a hell of a lot better than Port in the 2007 GF and the Tigers in that thrashing last year.

Can they get any better? It would be frightening to see them play like that for the whole game.

Get the GF DVD out again

someday-somehow
1 Apr 2008, 12:45
...is probably the best footy I have ever watched!

Its a shame I wasnt at the game and I would love to hear from somebody/anybody at the game what the feeling and atmosphere was like.

Its a real privilege to support the cats at the moment and this is the best time I can ever remember on and off the field as a supporter of the club.

Well done to the GFC and thanks in advance to anyone who can tell me what it was like being there during that great run of play and anything positive to remark on another extraordinary 4 quarter effort from the cats.

BTW...does anyone else think Bomber got the cats up as a possible payback to the bombers given the poor way they treated a legend in Sheeds last season? As much as we all know we can play like that...I wasnt expecting it so soon in the season to be honest.

No I don't think Bomber would've planned this and I can't see what Essendon did wrong in their handling of Sheedy.

Anyway back to the football, I was watching the game and I was grinning and laughing like an idiot....I was in heaven.
I loved watching Brisbane at their best in 2002, thought it was great to see such a polished team but I would have to say the slick attacking football the cats played was better than anything I'd seen from the lions.

WE Are Geelong
1 Apr 2008, 21:50
No I don't think Bomber would've planned this and I can't see what Essendon did wrong in their handling of Sheedy.

Anyway back to the football, I was watching the game and I was grinning and laughing like an idiot....I was in heaven.
I loved watching Brisbane at their best in 2002, thought it was great to see such a polished team but I would have to say the slick attacking football the cats played was better than anything I'd seen from the lions.

Yup, Geelong look the most skilled side I think I have ever seen. There is enough evidence around over a sustained period to suggest that now.

Again...thanks to all those who responded...just great to get inside what some of you were thinking when that great run of play took place.

Cheers!

a.f.k.a.y.o.p.
2 Apr 2008, 20:40
Yup, Geelong look the most skilled side I think I have ever seen. There is enough evidence around over a sustained period to suggest that now.

Again...thanks to all those who responded...just great to get inside what some of you were thinking when that great run of play took place.

Cheers!
It ws fantastic WEG.
fantastic!
Mooney D King and i had a bomber supporter next to me with his plug in radio in his ear. by mid way thru the second, he had thrown it away in disgust and just sat there shaking his head and mumbling "damn wallsy"........not sur e why! but gold!

Hood007
2 Apr 2008, 22:07
3 classy goals in the first 1:40.
Followed by Jimmy's hanger/goal.
If only Stevie had have slotted that one from the pocket.......
The thing that makes me proud is that we play fast attacking football, but nobody can accuse of not being hard/tough.
Makes you feel good to be a Cats supporter.

catempire
2 Apr 2008, 22:20
Scintillating.

Just watching it again now.

Blake dominating. Ablett majestic. Steve Johnson kicked a beauty and gave off 3 others. Selwood looks like he's been playing at the level for 10 years. New comers in Gamble and Taylor look at ease.

Amazing stuff.

catempire
2 Apr 2008, 22:25
The commentators are just talking about a passage of play on the wing involving ablett, saying how he made the footy talk.

He's a freak.

The ball spilt onto the ground after a contest with Dempsey. He did what you do to a basketball lying on the ground - tap it so it comes back up to you. But I had to rewind the tape to see it, he did it that fast. The ball just bobbed up to him and he sprinted away from the contest and hit Gamble lace-out.

We are seeing something very special getting to watch him.

cats2rise
2 Apr 2008, 22:31
Is it on reply on fox or something catempire, or do you download footage of each game, or buy each game on dvd etc?

catempire
2 Apr 2008, 22:34
Is it on reply on fox or something catempire, or do you download footage of each game, or buy each game on dvd etc?

Or something mate. ;)

It's not on fox at the moment, to my knowledge.

cats2rise
2 Apr 2008, 22:36
Not really following you... but ok :)

catempire
2 Apr 2008, 22:41
Bit like the torrential rain today mate.

Ox: They're [Geelong] stuffing around with it now.

Dennis: This man [Selwood] will do something with it though.

40 metre pass finds ling 40m out directly in front. :thumbsu:

catempire
2 Apr 2008, 22:52
And wasn't Mooney absolutely schooled by Ryder in the first half. I recall only one significant possession from Mooney and Ryder won every single aerial contest.

Going to be quite a playe, Ryder. Buddy v Ryder will be worth paying to see for years to come.

WE Are Geelong
2 Apr 2008, 23:17
It ws fantastic WEG.
fantastic!
Mooney D King and i had a bomber supporter next to me with his plug in radio in his ear. by mid way thru the second, he had thrown it away in disgust and just sat there shaking his head and mumbling "damn wallsy"........not sur e why! but gold!

ha ha...That's exactly the sort of story I was hoping to hear...:thumbsu:...absolute gold as you say. How many times has that been us in those stands in the past!

WE Are Geelong
2 Apr 2008, 23:19
3 classy goals in the first 1:40.
Followed by Jimmy's hanger/goal.
If only Stevie had have slotted that one from the pocket.......
The thing that makes me proud is that we play fast attacking football, but nobody can accuse of not being hard/tough.
Makes you feel good to be a Cats supporter.

Exactly

cats2rise
2 Apr 2008, 23:22
Just remembered:

After Blake calmy slotted his from 50 (gawd, who thought we could say that), Hille had a set shot from 35 or 40m about 5 minutes later. He shanked it. I and atleast two other supporters in and around my aisle shouted 'Blake would have kicked it!'

Heart warming stuff for Blake :)

thejester
3 Apr 2008, 00:40
I was sitting next to the Essendon cheersquad. 'BLAKEY, GO FOR HOME!....BLAAAKEY YOU ARE A STAAAAAAARRRRR!'* Out of the seat, the three Essendon chicks and the cheersquad hated it.

*Not to be quoted against me when I argue that Blake is a good player and nothing more/less.

Hood007
3 Apr 2008, 03:44
And wasn't Mooney absolutely schooled by Ryder in the first half. I recall only one significant possession from Mooney and Ryder won every single aerial contest.

Going to be quite a playe, Ryder. Buddy v Ryder will be worth paying to see for years to come.

Apart from a couple of occasions, the midfied didn't do him any favours with their delivery. Most of the kicks in sat up in the air a bit. In fact no key forwards for either side really had an impact on the game...
Ryder definitely won the contest but I wouldn't call it a schooling...

Copernicus
3 Apr 2008, 04:42
The commentators are just talking about a passage of play on the wing involving ablett, saying how he made the footy talk.

He's a freak.

The ball spilt onto the ground after a contest with Dempsey. He did what you do to a basketball lying on the ground - tap it so it comes back up to you. But I had to rewind the tape to see it, he did it that fast. The ball just bobbed up to him and he sprinted away from the contest and hit Gamble lace-out.

We are seeing something very special getting to watch him.

I'll have to go and find that bit later on because I remember them saying that but I couldn't recall why except that Ablett had managed to once again win a contested ball comprehensively.

His first half was incredible.

catempire
3 Apr 2008, 08:05
Apart from a couple of occasions, the midfied didn't do him any favours with their delivery. Most of the kicks in sat up in the air a bit. In fact no key forwards for either side really had an impact on the game...
Ryder definitely won the contest but I wouldn't call it a schooling...

I take your point on the delivery, it wasn't lace-out but as a key forward, you need to take some contested marks and Mooney took none. Half a dozen aerial contests in the first half and Ryder got comprehensive spoils on nearly every one of them. Not only that, Mooney just couldn't get any body on him to make it a wrestle. Ryder knew he had to make it a running jump at the contest. He had it all worked out.

bingle
3 Apr 2008, 10:38
[quote=thejester;10527368]I was sitting next to the Essendon cheersquad. 'BLAKEY, GO FOR HOME!....BLAAAKEY YOU ARE A STAAAAAAARRRRR!'* Out of the seat, the three Essendon chicks and the cheersquad hated it.

[quote]

thats gold:thumbsu:

i was next to dogs cheer squad in R16 when we blitzed them in the first quarter. i was louder than their whole cheer squad i reckon. i reckon they didnt appreciate me too much after that either HAHA

cat in sydney
3 Apr 2008, 10:52
Great few minutes of footy to watch.

You'll notice that straight after we've kicked our third goal of the quarter (Corey I think), the clock was still 18:16 to go (which means it was only 1:44 of playing time), we had kicked three goals, with only 16 possesions, and the Bombers had only had one possession.

Tell me if that is not the most dominant 1:44 ever!!

That's a goal every 5.33 possessions. :eek::eek::eek:
Talk about efficiency!

sarah.13
3 Apr 2008, 12:26
I take your point on the delivery, it wasn't lace-out but as a key forward, you need to take some contested marks and Mooney took none. Half a dozen aerial contests in the first half and Ryder got comprehensive spoils on nearly every one of them. Not only that, Mooney just couldn't get any body on him to make it a wrestle. Ryder knew he had to make it a running jump at the contest. He had it all worked out.
I think that the thumb injury he incurred late last year is still affecting him.

winty
3 Apr 2008, 22:44
Just remembered:

After Blake calmy slotted his from 50 (gawd, who thought we could say that), Hille had a set shot from 35 or 40m about 5 minutes later. He shanked it. I and atleast two other supporters in and around my aisle shouted 'Blake would have kicked it!'

Heart warming stuff for Blake :)

Were you sitting near aisle 37, because I yelled out exactly the same thing. :D