View Full Version : Tarrant will play this week

Cameron_K
31 Mar 2008, 21:34
Harvey has just confirmed Tarrant will play for Fremantle this weekend.

fat wombat
31 Mar 2008, 21:36
So be it. There's no point in blowing up over it.

ImperialPurple
31 Mar 2008, 21:37
Of course he'll play. IMO he's still another 2-3 more poor performances from being dumped.

estibador
31 Mar 2008, 21:39
Then for everyone's sake I hope he plays well.

Especially for my blood pressure.

Cameron_K
31 Mar 2008, 21:39
Of course he'll play. IMO he's still another 2-3 more poor performances from being dumped.

I agree.

I am not as worked up with his performances as others around here. I am much more worried about the midfield than anything Tarrant has done. If our midfield clicks Tarrant will be brought into the game.

Harvey also said tonight Brock is 1 game or so from being looked at seriously for selection.

FD369
31 Mar 2008, 21:45
So he matches up on Hansen.

Simple.

Both over rated.

Nil all Draw.

1/22 covered.

Make it so :thumbsu:

afl08
31 Mar 2008, 22:05
Damn that just soured my day. Bloody depressing news.

chook2734
31 Mar 2008, 22:05
Good call Harvs. The best thing about this is the speculation is squashed early. The pressure is still on Taz to perform, but he gets another chance to redeem himself. Show us what you've got Taz. We all want to see you succeed.

anti.
31 Mar 2008, 22:07
So he matches up on Hansen.

Simple.

Both over rated.

Nil all Draw.

1/22 covered.

Make it so :thumbsu:

hansen may be dropped...although he is in the leadership group, still though i hope he gets dropped for a few weeks. playing shocking at the moment.

Frigate
31 Mar 2008, 22:08
I reckon he will have a good game. I hope so anyway. I want 10 kicks, 7 marks and 2 goals, and a hell of a lot of running.

afl08
31 Mar 2008, 22:11
I just want him to bloody do something for a change

Ripper
31 Mar 2008, 22:27
Smart move. He just has to fill Tazza's head full of how the WC Media are trying to assassinate him and the best way to shut them up is to flog the Eagles.
:thumbsu:

eagles rule
31 Mar 2008, 22:31
which WAFL team is Tarrant aligned with,sorry I mean which team would he play with if he was dropped.

dont bowl there
31 Mar 2008, 22:41
I dont really see the point in coming out on a Monday and saying this, sure tell Tarrant he will play but keep it in house.

anti.
31 Mar 2008, 22:42
Smart move. He just has to fill Tazza's head full of how the WC Media are trying to assassinate him and the best way to shut them up is to flog the Eagles.

you guys crack me up, you need the media to get yourself up for a game. pathetic

ImperialPurple
31 Mar 2008, 22:45
way to misunderstand anti. you're either trolling or stupid. and FWIW I don't actually think you're all that unintelligent.

dont bowl there
31 Mar 2008, 22:58
you guys crack me up, you need the media to get yourself up for a game. pathetic

Just on this note did anyone here have any clue what Sumich was going on about tonight on the news? Something about not respecting the Eagles for a few years because we have Essendon people at the club??? I had no idea.

Belnakor
31 Mar 2008, 23:00

well we could develop a drug problem at the club and then develop a "siege mentality" i guess...

Brazen
31 Mar 2008, 23:56
I just want him to bloody do something for a change

It'd be great for you guys if he found this form again - and attack on the ball...

oE9RQIg6Bi4

Just not this week OK! :)

But yeah - how refreshing would it be for dockers fans to see just one highlight like those this week!?

chook2734
1 Apr 2008, 00:00
Just on this note did anyone here have any clue what Sumich was going on about tonight on the news? Something about not respecting the Eagles for a few years because we have Essendon people at the club??? I had no idea.

dbt, you can find Suma's rambling here http://www.news.com.au/perthnow/story/0,21598,23464106-5005401,00.html

From reading, it, he appears to be saying that we don't respect them because we keep beating them, and that's because we have Essendon (Victorian) people here who also kept beating them, but we really should show them more respect :confused: It still doesn't make much sense even when written down.

kp junior
1 Apr 2008, 00:11
[QUOTE=Brazen;10505724]It'd be great for you guys if he found this form again - and attack on the ball...

oE9RQIg6Bi4

But yeah - how refreshing would it be for dockers fans to see just one highlight like those this week!?[/QUOTE

He can actually play a bit when you see that. Where is that guy?

Parasite
1 Apr 2008, 00:14
dbt, you can find Suma's rambling here http://www.news.com.au/perthnow/story/0,21598,23464106-5005401,00.html

From reading, it, he appears to be saying that we don't respect them because we keep beating them, and that's because we have Essendon (Victorian) people here who also kept beating them, but we really should show them more respect :confused: It still doesn't make much sense even when written down.

Far out, I always thought he was a couple of slices short of a loaf in those tip top hyfibre adverts, but he has outdone himself. Wtf is he on about? Maybe he is the sledging coach down at WC?

Nodgey
1 Apr 2008, 00:23
watching that youtube clip I don't know whether to laugh or cry...:(

anti.
1 Apr 2008, 00:24
not sure what suma is going on about there.

Avid_Avenger
1 Apr 2008, 00:30
It'd be great for you guys if he found this form again - and attack on the ball...

oE9RQIg6Bi4

But yeah - how refreshing would it be for dockers fans to see just one highlight like those this week!?

Cheers for the Taz highlights Brazen :thumbsu:

Watching that you realise how good Taz used to be at the Collywobbles.

Very inspiring stuff. Not sure if his legs allow him to go for those high flying marks anymore but hopefully he can get back to hitting the ball at speed again and showing us all what he can do.

He just needs his confidence and the confidence of his teammates. And I think he needs to have an important role in the game plan - as in, he needs to be the focal point for 10-15 minutes a quarter. I think CC destroyed his confidence by playing him mainly as a decoy and further up the field rather than a forward in his own right who demanded as much ball as Pav. I know he couldn't kick straight but it was all tied in together...

It's hard to see on TV just how hard he's running this year tho. Most suggest he's dropped off in this area but ever since he came to Freo he's often been ignored in favour of Pav whose being triple-teamed or we kick the damn pill over his head or at his feet and he has lost a little agility at the moment...

I have a feeling (hopefully its not wishful thinking) that Taz is about to turn it around very soon. He's got the right kind of coaching support behind him and watching those highlights shows he's got no shortage of talent. Bring on the derby!

Brazen
1 Apr 2008, 00:38
watching that youtube clip I don't know whether to laugh or cry...:(

Just watched it again myself... thats some fkn inspiring football from 1 player... I think thats what the recruiters dreamed of when the deal was done - imagine the Dockers with THAT ^ Tarrant and Pavlich both on fire.

Brumbies
1 Apr 2008, 00:42
Someone should sit him down and play that on a big screen in front of him to remind him what he is capable of. You never know he is a confidence player and it might just fill him with some.

Sman-21
1 Apr 2008, 00:43
No suprises always knew they wouldnt drop him i reckon he could do nothing until round 8-10 before they drop him.

The thing is with tarrant even if he does absolutely nothing and doesnt get near the ball.
Hes still doing something because the guy has talent its just a matter of when we wants to put in the effort.
So that means a opposing coach has to put the 2nd best defender on him just incase taz decides to put in an effort.
Which means other forward options then get the 3rd choice defender to stop them.

PapaJ
1 Apr 2008, 02:55
A passing comment on Footy Classified tonight said that he was actually physically unwell last weekend - hope its no the booze again;).

He's no doubt had a couple of poor games for his standard. In fact, I reckon his performance to potential ratio would be probably be the clubs worst based on the first two games, but it's way too early to drop a proven talent like him yet. Despite the highlight real posted earlier, he's had plenty of down times a the pies too. As long as he keeps working hard and presenting, then he's got to make selection for a few weeks yet before he has a run in the WAFL.

prattsta
1 Apr 2008, 03:21

oE9RQIg6Bi4

Who the hell is that guy? We should get him playing for us...

micfreo
1 Apr 2008, 03:30
gee it would be good to see taz jumping on guys like that again as long as he pulls some down, he just looks disinterested like he never wanted to come here in the first place ,it's like croad all over again, i think he would benifit from being put in the goalsquare and being told everything is coming his way (with pav in the middle) put pressure and resposability on him, just not sure if we can take that risk at the moment??

DockerDuke
1 Apr 2008, 11:51
you can clearly see in that footage that Tarrant was enjoying playing footy and was full of confidence. Hence the talent, belief and celebrations (and some awesome marks and goals).

One thing i did notice about his kicking action was that he was really kicking the ball hard and kicking through it regardless of distance from goal. When kicking for Freo he seams to kick it with not much power or follow through. He also has a great leap in these clips and hits the packs hard - something we have not yet really seen buy him at Freo. This could be linked to his calf injuries and leg soreness he has had - if so drop him and let him recover. If not.....please Taz get back to playing like that clip!!

Stronzo
1 Apr 2008, 12:10
I dont really see the point in coming out on a Monday and saying this, sure tell Tarrant he will play but keep it in house.
To take it off the media's agenda and to publicly show faith in him and to also put the onus on him to perform.

That is reverse logic from Suma. The fact is they don't respect us, which is why we keep getting the better of them.

wce4premiership
1 Apr 2008, 12:33
Here's hoping for another shocker :thumbsu:

Cisco Kid
1 Apr 2008, 12:40
gee it would be good to see taz jumping on guys like that again as long as he pulls some down, he just looks disinterested like he never wanted to come here in the first place ,it's like croad all over again, i think he would benifit from being put in the goalsquare and being told everything is coming his way (with pav in the middle) put pressure and resposability on him, just not sure if we can take that risk at the moment??

Yes the marks look good but only if you are kicking the ball long and direct not 15 metres at there toes ,, in those highlights he gets a lot of ground ball and hand balls near 50 and has that characteristic left footers hook which gives him penetration.... bring him out to half foward and let him run , also needs to play on not go back and think too much about his kicking.... but one step at a time lets see if we can get him up to double figure possessions .... he was trying on saturday working the mark etc was very evident just down on confidence like the balance of the team.... lets hope that we can get it all working this week...

hoogs
1 Apr 2008, 14:17

An Eagles supporter saying the word 'crack'...Wonder what's on anti's mind...

We don't need the media to get us up for a game, though you're tosspot assistant Sumich is sure trying to use them as a channel. We're going to flog your pigeon feathers all over the park on the weekend and you know it. Nothing like a game against WC to play us into some form.

raffrox
1 Apr 2008, 15:25

oE9RQIg6Bi4

Quick. Someone send this clip to Tarrant.

Remember this Chris?

Its all mental because physically I'd say he's still got it.

Juddism
1 Apr 2008, 15:48

he does a good job of assassinating himself...1.6 as his average for 2007, no help needed from any media when your return is that bad.

PAVnTAZ
1 Apr 2008, 16:52
Here's hoping for another shocker :thumbsu:

We'll beat you by 20 goals if you serve up that crap you did against Adelaide last week.:)

wce4premiership
1 Apr 2008, 17:54
We'll beat you by 20 goals if you serve up that crap you did against Adelaide last week.:)Definitely. If we play like that we deserve to lose.

Rabbitoh
1 Apr 2008, 19:33
that Video Clip Posted By Brazen Just Infuriates Me!!!
is Tarrant Our New Jarrad Schofield Or Something!
drop The Lazy S**t To The Wafl Until He Learns To Do That Again!
he Should Be Made To Watch That Clip Over And Over, Clockwork Orange Style!!!!!

hoogs
1 Apr 2008, 19:39
Definitely. If we play like that we deserve to lose.

You always deserve to lose. WC taint society.

wce4premiership
1 Apr 2008, 20:11
You always deserve to lose. WC taint society.Fremantle taint football.

Avid_Avenger
2 Apr 2008, 13:21
Fremantle taint football.

No that would be WC again...your team is a permanent stain on the 2006 cup...

And by the way, YOU taint BF ;)

ting tong
2 Apr 2008, 17:21
spot on Avid, and while were on the subject, your little hero there BC tainted the brownlow.

NiGHTFuRY
2 Apr 2008, 17:26
Fremantle taint football.
http://www.shipmentoffail.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/01/starwarsfail.jpg (http://www.shipmentoffail.com)

Frigate
2 Apr 2008, 17:52
Taz to get a run in the midfield. Harvey said he has a big engine and they are looking at getting some bigger blokes in the midfield (like Pavlich).

The only concern I have is that Tarrant seems to turn like a semi-trailor at times.

anti.
2 Apr 2008, 17:55
loved the back page of the west. really opened my eyes. it should also note, whoever is not dropped by west coast and fremantle this week is a masterstroke by worsfold and harvey as they could potentially play well.

pinkus maximus
2 Apr 2008, 18:14
Taz to get a run in the midfield. Harvey said he has a big engine and they are looking at getting some bigger blokes in the midfield (like Pavlich).

The only concern I have is that Tarrant seems to turn like a semi-trailor at times.
cannot see how he will work in the middle

HB or wing maybe, but not in the guts

leeloo
2 Apr 2008, 21:11
loved the back page of the west. really opened my eyes. it should also note, whoever is not dropped by west coast and fremantle this week is a masterstroke by worsfold and harvey as they could potentially play well.

Yep, truly another fantastic piece of journalism........what a crock!

paccraig
2 Apr 2008, 21:31
Heath Black just said on news that Tarrant has been training in the centre square.
Haselby will be worried about his role on his return :)

Ripper
2 Apr 2008, 23:22
I have a feeling in my water that Tazza will kick arse big time this week.

dominguez
3 Apr 2008, 00:55
I have a feeling in my water that Tazza will kick arse big time this week.

According to someone (Caro??) Tarrant had a virus last week. Nerves against his old club week one, virus week two, shocks everyone with a big performance week three. :thumbsu:

BTW, Tazza is a really gay nickname. :p

Ripper
3 Apr 2008, 00:59
According to someone (Caro??) Tarrant had a virus last week. Nerves against his old club week one, virus week two, shocks everyone with a big performance week three. :thumbsu:

BTW, Tazza is a really gay nickname. :p

Just to give Dom the shits. :) :p

dominguez
3 Apr 2008, 21:31
Just to give Dom the shits. :) :p

:p

In all seriousness I want him to play well. I just found it baffling that some were more than pleased with his form last season.