View Full Version : Surely ibbo cant get dropped

adam10
2 Apr 2008, 22:46
If he doesnt stay in the team along with palmer and Mayne is shocking.Knowing freo theyll proberly play some old hack . Keep the youngsters rolling i like the look of Ibbo myself! Im tipping freo this week but might change once i see the teams

markfarmer
2 Apr 2008, 23:11
Troll above

Ibbo strugled a bit.. As much as I would like to give him a chance, I think he will go back to work on a few things. It would be best for his long term development.

chook2734
2 Apr 2008, 23:13
Mark Harvey and the selection committee could save themselves a lot of time and effort and just let the media, opposition sides and supporters select the team. Everyone seems to be an expert. :rolleyes:

dominguez
3 Apr 2008, 00:05
eye'll proberly tip da doggys two.

David_Brent
3 Apr 2008, 00:11
Geez people get worked up about players in their DT sides...

Jetau
3 Apr 2008, 00:36
Ibbotson was definitely the poorest of the three rookies last week. I would be very surprised if he plays this week, given that Black and McManus will be available (I hope Macca doesn't come in).

Palmer is a certainty for this week, and I'd be disappointed if Mayne didn't hold his place, but I don't think Ibbotson did enough to hold his spot. Having said that, I hope he plays at least 10-12 games this year. :thumbsu:

estibador
3 Apr 2008, 01:00
I don't think there's anything to gain from dropping Ibbo this week.

He made a few mistakes but at least he was involved. It wasn't like he was out of his depth and couldn't get into the game. Give him a few games to get his confidence up and adjust to the pace of AFL. The fact that he got better as the game went on is a good indication that he just needs time to get a feel for the quicker intensity of the AFL. And he isn't going to adjust to AFL level by being stuck in the WAFL.

Dropping him after only one week would be counter-productive to his development imo.

Ripper
3 Apr 2008, 01:04
I don't think there's anything to gain from dropping Ibbo this week.

He made a few mistakes but at least he was involved. It wasn't like he was out of his depth and couldn't get into the game. Give him a few games to get his confidence up and adjust to the pace of AFL.

Dropping him after only one week would be counter-productive to his development imo.

Yep, put him back on the horse. When he clashed with Hodge (and got pinged :mad: ) He showed at least as much hardness as Macca did when He clashed famously with Wirra.

That alone should get him a game this week.

pistol17
3 Apr 2008, 01:06
If black is fit then id just make one change. Campbell out Black in....

Possibly peake/crowley out and Warnock in to go against Cox/Seaby combo

Ibbo/Palmer/Mayne should all hold their spot

Freo Blood
3 Apr 2008, 01:15
If ya wanna bring someone in drop Peake instead - time to get some confidence back in the WAFL. Warnock should definately play. Not sure who else will make way as Blackie will come back in.

SandyMcManus
3 Apr 2008, 02:07
I thought Ibbo was terrible. Was far to slow to make decisions, and there was one play going forward where he tried to get his way back into the middle for some reason and got caught that was a real momentum killer. I was under the impression he was a midfielder? What was he doing in defense? I wouldn't be angry to see him named in the side, but I also wouldn't be sad to see him dropped. I really thought he looked out of his depth...

Mayne was pretty good and Palmer was exceptional. Would be very disappointed to see either of them dropped.

estibador
3 Apr 2008, 02:31
Mayne was pretty good and Palmer was exceptional. Would be very disappointed to see either of them dropped.

If Harves drops Palmer this week I will pretty much lose all faith in him instantly.

Won't happen though.

SandyMcManus
3 Apr 2008, 02:50
Better not happen!

I never like expecting to much from a youngster, so I didn't have crazy expectations like a lot of people, but he blew me away. I felt more comfortable when he had the footy than when any other midfielder had it. Hopefully he can back it up against the wankers.

Belnakor
3 Apr 2008, 12:15
Ibbo looked to be still getting used to the pace. Palmer looked the same in the early part of the game, but quickly adapted.. Ibbo probably needs a week or two in the WAFL and then can come back in when we get an injury or someone like M.Carr finally gets dropped.

summerthebat
3 Apr 2008, 12:51
I am a little in between, on one hand he wasn't very good and made a huge amount of clangers and gave away a lot of free kicks... if it were a seasoned player I would expect them to be dropped. But if he played again this week, it's not like he is going to make as many mistakes and he will only get better until he reaches his potential.

Frigate
3 Apr 2008, 14:43
Ibbo is fast and has good skills. Get him back in there.

As the old saying goes you can't teach an old docker new tricks...

Sman-21
3 Apr 2008, 20:13
It was probably nerves an he made far too many mistakes an gave away far too many free kicks.

A freo vs eagles game is about double the pressure/intensity of a normal game. So if he couldnt handle it against the hawks things dont look to good for him in the derby.

So drop him for this game.
Then bring him back an give him 3-4 games in a row to give him a chance to gain confidence/settle down.

FootyEater
3 Apr 2008, 20:37
It was probably nerves an he made far too many mistakes an gave away far too many free kicks.

A freo vs eagles game is about double the pressure/intensity of a normal game. So if he couldnt handle it against the hawks things dont look to good for him in the derby.

Then bring him back an give him 3-4 games in a row to give him a chance to gain confidence/settle down.

good call sman thats exactly what id be doing, he looked a little like a roo in the headlights last week, but i definitely want him back in the side soon.

estibador
3 Apr 2008, 21:27
I don't think telling him he isn't good enough for the derby is going to do much for his confidence.

dominguez
3 Apr 2008, 21:33

I agree, especially with shit weather forecast which isn't going to suit him.

dominguez
3 Apr 2008, 21:37
I don't think telling him he isn't good enough for the derby is going to do much for his confidence.

You obviously don't tell him that. "Sorry Garrick, we've decided to go with an extra ruckman this week so you are the unlucky one who misses out. Play well for the Sharks on Sunday and you are a big chance to come back in for the Richmond game."

Jetau
3 Apr 2008, 21:45
Yep, Warnock IN, Ibbotson OUT. Warnock can do more for us this week. Against Cox, we will need him more than Ibbo.