View Full Version : Season 2008

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

knackers27
4th April 2008, 13:28
Lets make this thread purely about the games, players, games aftermath and general footy without the crap.

HAWK20
4th April 2008, 13:51
Sounds good Knackers, but it seems everyone has lost interest or just kepping it close to their chest.
Should be a good day weather wise tomorrow which will hopefully see some high scoring.
I don't know about anyone else but it's great to be playing footy again.

SugarRay11
4th April 2008, 21:36
Well Guys pre season is over, Best of luck 2 all Teams, players, Coaches etc 2morrow, lets hope injuries & Umpiring don't influenced the results of the games this year (and by umpiring I mean BAD Umpiring decisions).

Btw here r my tips 4 Round 1

Yack By 40 points over Chiltern
KSC By 1 point Over Mitta
Beechworth By 50 points over Wodonga Saints
Wahgunyah By 15 points over Rutherglen
Tallangatta By 10 points over Thurgoona
DMB by 30 points over Barnawartha

Gurnerd Fanning
6th April 2008, 08:40
Sounds good Knackers, but it seems everyone has lost interest or just kepping it close to their chest.
Should be a good day weather wise tomorrow which will hopefully see some high scoring.
I don't know about anyone else but it's great to be playing footy again.

If people would start new topics/threads it will prompt people to reply. Have a look at the AFL team forums and see how many topics they have. Piling all replies into 1 or 2 threads just makes it a mess and have no structure. Every game should have it's own thread, every decent/infamous player should have a thread. Starting a thread like "Season 2008" is just going to go down the same path as the previous monster thread.

White Sticks
6th April 2008, 18:17
interesting games on the weekend with a few suprises, Tallangatta beating Thurgoona and Chiltern over Yack... showing this might be a bit more of a competative season....

i was at the kiewa v mitta game at eskdale on saturday and they had quite a turnout, interesting to note that kiewas top 2 recruits, cameron & richardson didnt play, surley the club must be getting a little annoyed at richardsons injuries will he ever get fit again or are his recreational activities far more important???? as for cameron obvioulsy his knee is under too much pressure from the few extra kgs he seems to have put on over pre season. also noticed kiewa coach bone is still not over the 07 premiership result, had his back turned as they unveiled the premiership flag, great sportsmanship, no wonder kiewa are a quality club :thumbsd:

D-Shackle
6th April 2008, 18:29
interesting games on the weekend with a few suprises, Tallangatta beating Thurgoona and Chiltern over Yack... showing this might be a bit more of a competative season....

i was at the kiewa v mitta game at eskdale on saturday and they had quite a turnout, interesting to note that kiewas top 2 recruits, cameron & richardson didnt play, surley the club must be getting a little annoyed at richardsons injuries will he ever get fit again or are his recreational activities far more important???? as for cameron obvioulsy his knee is under too much pressure from the few extra kgs he seems to have put on over pre season. also noticed kiewa coach bone is still not over the 07 premiership result, had his back turned as they unveiled the premiership flag, great sportsmanship, no wonder kiewa are a quality club :thumbsd:

Wow. that's terrible!

mountain man
6th April 2008, 19:54
Yes very true about simon bone turning his back at the flag ceremony. i was at the game my self and was quite disgusted with it. Also just reading what what written on the other thread about cohen and pearce being weak, i think ( i hate pre season ) should say it to their faces and see who is weak. I mean saying cohen dug his knees into day, i never saw day go in and get the ball for starters, i saw him over near the hot dog stand, just recieving and being a front runner like rhodes.

goricho12
6th April 2008, 20:10
Wow. that's terrible!
Not really surprised about tallangatta getting up, they have been pumped for quite a while and will shock a few.

goricho12
6th April 2008, 20:14
Yes very true about simon bone turning his back at the flag ceremony. i was at the game my self and was quite disgusted with it. Also just reading what what written on the other thread about cohen and pearce being weak, i think ( i hate pre season ) should say it to their faces and see who is weak. I mean saying cohen dug his knees into day, i never saw day go in and get the ball for starters, i saw him over near the hot dog stand, just recieving and being a front runner like rhodes.
It`s interesting that sometimes we label footballers as weak or frontrunners if they are seen near the hotdog stand. Fact is it takes guts just to run out there. Every team needs outside players so the inside players have someone to get it out to. Too many sheep dogs and you won`t win and if all 18 are scrapping over the ball they won`t win either. You need a balance. Every club has a rhodes and a day.

mountain man
6th April 2008, 20:26
It`s interesting that sometimes we label footballers as weak or frontrunners if they are seen near the hotdog stand. Fact is it takes guts just to run out there. Every team needs outside players so the inside players have someone to get it out to. Too many sheep dogs and you won`t win and if all 18 are scrapping over the ball they won`t win either. You need a balance. Every club has a rhodes and a day.

Dont get me wrong i agree with you every club does need them, it just annoys me how people can say this sort of stuff, cohen has to set an example and saying he drove his knees into players is a flase statement. watching the game i thought it was a great contest.

nirvana
6th April 2008, 22:09
"Also noticed kiewa coach bone is still not over the 07 premiership result, had his back turned as they unveiled the premiership flag, great sportsmanship, no wonder kiewa are a quality club" :thumbsd:[/quote]

What a Bone head!

holy cow
7th April 2008, 07:18
thats really bad if that was the case on Bone's behalf very very ordinary. I went and watched Thurgoona and Tallangatta interesting game i think thurgoona looked very ordinary at times, tallangatta's mid field and half backs played all over the dogs. Tallangatta will be mid table at best i think. They could get temselves into trouble if Hansford goes down.

Kicking Back
7th April 2008, 09:29
Dont get me wrong i agree with you every club does need them, it just annoys me how people can say this sort of stuff, cohen has to set an example and saying he drove his knees into players is a flase statement. watching the game i thought it was a great contest.

Did you also see the Nelson's soft as Sh** attempt to take out Rhodes in which one got sent off for. It's not tough to gang up and punch someone not expecting it.

Run Straight
7th April 2008, 11:17
thats really bad if that was the case on Bone's behalf very very ordinary. I went and watched Thurgoona and Tallangatta interesting game i think thurgoona looked very ordinary at times, tallangatta's mid field and half backs played all over the dogs. Tallangatta will be mid table at best i think. They could get temselves into trouble if Hansford goes down.

Thought Tallangatta would've won by more if that was the case.

BIG"H"
7th April 2008, 12:18
There will be a lot on worrying members an sponsors out at Yack after the performance they put up on the weekend.
They have spent more money this year than they ever have by all reports! I know for a fact they have nothing left to spend. THey have spent a lot of money on unfit an overated players!!!

localjedi
7th April 2008, 12:39
There will be a lot on worrying members an sponsors out at Yack after the performance they put up on the weekend.
They have spent more money this year than they ever have by all reports! I know for a fact they have nothing left to spend. THey have spent a lot of money on unfit an overated players!!!

I don't know if the players Yack picked up are unfit or overrated, but compared to Chiltern on saturday they just looked....old. Even with that said, I think Yack will be able to bounce back well, and the loss could even help them, they will know now that wins "dont just happen" you have to work for every single one.

oldmanemu
7th April 2008, 13:41
Congrats to Darren Mathey and the TFC on a winning start to the season. Here's hoping for many more victories in 2008!! :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

Bundy Bear
7th April 2008, 17:23
Did you also see the Nelson's soft as Sh** attempt to take out Rhodes in which one got sent off for. It's not tough to gang up and punch someone not expecting it.

and reported I heard

Wilfred
7th April 2008, 17:40

Very interesting coming from you Pricey (Joel Price).......

I tend to agree a little, spoke to a few Chiltern boys Saturday night and they said Yack didn't function as a team at all. It'l be interesting to see whether chiltern are the goods or Yack overated.

I hate preseason
7th April 2008, 18:00

Unsure bout Bone but if you saw it fair enough maye he probably shouldnt have but the Day/Cohen did happen on the bench side of the ground in the third quarter, Day fed out a handball was tackled by Cohen then Cohen corked him(looked deliberate from where we sat) then continued to drive the knee in whilst getting up. Just what I saw mate like you with Bone turning his back and I played with Danny at Wodonga and know full well he would do it.
Also MM did play Paton(tom i think) on a permit for the day or is he playing all year.

mountain man
7th April 2008, 18:11

Poor form 'kicking back'. Robbie Barber has been sniping blokes for 20 years. Al Whitsead hit one of the nelson brothers in the semi final last year when they weren't looking. I dont think you see him sooking about it. Get yourself a spoonfull of concrete and harden the f#%k up, you pussy. Al and Barbs are nice blokes too, its football not netball. You spastic!

More Than a Game
7th April 2008, 21:20
Lets make this thread purely about the games, players, games aftermath and general footy without the crap.

See first post for this thread, so unless you are Yacks Treasurer or are on the committee, get your own thread for dribble like that!
Do yourself a favour and check out Yacks clubrooms when the renovations are unveiled this week and you will get a fair idea things are pretty healthy at Roo Park and in regards to the first game, great learning curve for everyone i reckon.

BIG"H"
8th April 2008, 09:46
Very interesting coming from you Pricey (Joel Price).......

I tend to agree a little, spoke to a few Chiltern boys Saturday night and they said Yack didn't function as a team at all. It'l be interesting to see whether chiltern are the goods or Yack overated.

Joel price! ha ha, Na mate not me!
I played with him at yarra,good fella.he is coaching in the wimmera football league this year. I once played at mitta an know a lot of people around the tallangatta valley. Also used to work with a current yack player.

chicken machine
8th April 2008, 11:23
Congrats to Darren Mathey and the TFC on a winning start to the season. Here's hoping for many more victories in 2008!! :thumbsu: :thumbsu:
just wondering how 2 of doggies new recruits in griffiths and McKenzie went on the weekend with their new club?

Run Straight
8th April 2008, 14:25
Dunno about you blokes but i reckon it's much easier if everything is on one thread. Too hard to keep up with 6 different conversations. What about this one ??

Gurnerd Fanning
8th April 2008, 14:48
Joel price! ha ha, Na mate not me!
I played with him at yarra,good fella.he is coaching in the wimmera football league this year. I once played at mitta an know a lot of people around the tallangatta valley. Also used to work with a current yack player.

Nice try Pricey, Wilfred you are on the money.:thumbsu:

If anyone cares to look through Big "H"'s previous posts you will find that he -
Played at Yarra
Has an understanding of the SANFL (he played there)
Bags Yack because there are some ex raiders playing there
Has a soft spot for Dederang and the only recruits for them that he named are former Raiders team mates (Dalkin & Williamson)
Dislikes Shir because Shir thinks he is a "spud" (Shir was correct)
Mentions Ben Margery and Scott Clancey (mates growing up)
Rates himself as his reply below shows (Always rated himself highly)
Is very ordinary with other peoples money, His nickname is pockets.
Originally Posted by zimasquize http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=10187512#post10187512)
how does joel price go i heard he played in this leauge he is coaching in the wimmara league this year

Will be a very good player in that league, seen him play a number of times at yarra little bit up an down but when hes on can hurt sides.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/statusicon/user_offline.gif

Anyone who knows pricey will instantly realise that he is Big"H".
And he got his user name from his idol Hargreaves who he bums.

It will be interesting to see if he keeps posting under this name or Big"H" suddenly disapears.

If it does disapear then obviously Wilfred was right and Pricey should walk around town with his head down real low given that he has clearly bagged a lot of people:thumbsd: (supposed friends included)

Kick it to me
8th April 2008, 14:48
Dunno about you blokes but i reckon it's much easier if everything is on one thread. Too hard to keep up with 6 different conversations. What about this one ??

Good call RS. Havent got time to look in every thread.

Gurnerd Fanning
8th April 2008, 14:52

RS that is the whole point.
If there is only one thread there is only one conversation.

More threads = More conversations = More input = More Interesting

It's really not that hard to keep up.

BIG"H"
8th April 2008, 15:10

If anyone cares to look through Big "H"'s previous posts you will find that he -
Played at Yarra
Has a soft spot for Dederang and the only recruits for them that he named are former Raiders team mates (Dalkin & Williamson)
Originally Posted by zimasquize http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=10187512#post10187512)
how does joel price go i heard he played in this leauge he is coaching in the wimmara league this year

Will be a very good player in that league, seen him play a number of times at yarra little bit up an down but when hes on can hurt sides.

It will be interesting to see if he keeps posting under this name or Big"H" suddenly disapears.

If it does disapear then obviously Wilfred was right and Pricey should walk around town with his head down real low given that he has clearly bagged a lot of people:thumbsd: (supposed friends included)

Very amusing, Mate I have played at yarra your right. but your way off the mark but very good with all your match ups!! keep trying!! Pretty sure young joel would have more to worry about than this at the min!!

BIG"H"
8th April 2008, 15:14
RS that is the whole point.
If there is only one thread there is only one conversation.

More threads = More conversations = More input = More Interesting

It's really not that hard to keep up.

is there any chance we could dicuss this weeks matches??

knackers27
8th April 2008, 15:24

Played at Yarra

Great recap and most of the arrongant stuff would have to be correct, a few changes I would make, yes he grew up with Ben Margery and was good mates with him but was about 5 years older then scotty clancy and they went to different schools.

And from playing against Pricey lots I can quite clearly say that his favourite player was only ever himself, hargreaves wouldn't get a look in!

Gurnerd Fanning
8th April 2008, 15:30
Very amusing, Mate I have played at yarra your right. but your way off the mark but very good with all your match ups!! keep trying!! Pretty sure young joel would have more to worry about than this at the min!!

If you have played for Mitta and Yarra like you say then I'd bet you were Tim Seal, but I'm tipping that Sealy couldn't give a toss about the boys at Yack, but Pricey definately gives a toss.

Sealy is the only person in recent years to play for both those clubs.

BIG"H"
8th April 2008, 16:04
If you have played for Mitta and Yarra like you say then I'd bet you were Tim Seal, but I'm tipping that Sealy couldn't give a toss about the boys at Yack, but Pricey definately gives a toss.

Sealy is the only person in recent years to play for both those clubs.

By the way did I mention Im no longer playing!!
goin to have a look at Yack this week play dederang. Should be a very interesting game, Im sure yack will be under the pump to bounce back this week!!!

mountain man
8th April 2008, 16:15
Unsure bout Bone but if you saw it fair enough maye he probably shouldnt have but the Day/Cohen did happen on the bench side of the ground in the third quarter, Day fed out a handball was tackled by Cohen then Cohen corked him(looked deliberate from where we sat) then continued to drive the knee in whilst getting up. Just what I saw mate like you with Bone turning his back and I played with Danny at Wodonga and know full well he would do it.
Also MM did play Paton(tom i think) on a permit for the day or is he playing all year.

Dave paton IHP. Dont think he will play again this year but you never no.

knackers27
8th April 2008, 17:58
Poor form 'kicking back'. Robbie Barber has been sniping blokes for 20 years. Al Whitsead hit one of the nelson brothers in the semi final last year when they weren't looking. I dont think you see him sooking about it. Get yourself a spoonfull of concrete and harden the f#%k up, you pussy. Al and Barbs are nice blokes too, its football not netball. You spastic!

Totally agree MM, The Nelsons do what they have to on the footy field, anythign for the side to get a win, but they are the first to have a beer with you afterwards.
Having played under Barbs and with him you will not find a guy who would do more for a club or his team mates, sure he is a 'bit' dirty on the field but he has copped a fair few whacks himself over time, find me someone who has been as good a player as him for such a long time, plus he is getting slow whacking people brings them down to his speed, good plan I reckon.

Contact sport remember!!!!

Gurnerd Fanning
8th April 2008, 18:09
By the way did I mention Im no longer playing!!
goin to have a look at Yack this week play dederang. Should be a very interesting game, Im sure yack will be under the pump to bounce back this week!!!

Your grasping at straws now, did you play with Mitta and Yarra? What is your Raiders connection? What is your relationship with the SANFL? Why do you bag Yack?
If you can give credible answers to these questions then maybe I will believe that your not Joel Price.

Untill then I look forward to seeing you there JP but I'm tipping you will be out in the Wimerra chasing coin this weekend.

Best of luck trying to convince us that it's not you pockets.

I hate preseason
8th April 2008, 20:12
Dave paton IHP. Dont think he will play again this year but you never no.

Why did he play on saturday given his commitments in melbourne?

White Sticks
8th April 2008, 22:07

Why do you care so much about Paton? if you knew his background he comes back halfway during the year.. with the exeption of last year he has played in the last 2 premierships previous... the blues will be crossing everything he makes it home this year...

lemontree
9th April 2008, 12:57
Dave was home on uni holidays, He trained four times with Mitta, his side in Melbourne (Uni Blues) was having a practice match and he wanted a hit out. He was going to have a run in the 2nds,but Mollison pulled out on Friday and Dave was the logical choice.:thumbsu:

I hate preseason
9th April 2008, 18:33
Dave was home on uni holidays, He trained four times with Mitta, his side in Melbourne (Uni Blues) was having a practice match and he wanted a hit out. He was going to have a run in the 2nds,but Mollison pulled out on Friday and Dave was the logical choice.:thumbsu:

Thanks lemontree, he is obviously a quality player and would be a handy addition to any lineup.

Gurnerd Fanning
9th April 2008, 19:27
Price has never played at Mitta. Tim Seal has played at Yarra Mitta and Tallangatta Valley

I guarantee that Sealy has nothing to do with Big"H" and would be disapointed that Big"H" is pretending to be him to avoid his his own identity being revealed.:thumbsd:

Tigerspirit#21
9th April 2008, 20:14
Alright guys wanna talk footy lets do it then,

Tips for round 2?:thumbsu:

As the ladder stands at the moment.. How much of it do you think is gonna stay the same?:confused:

Gurnerd Fanning
10th April 2008, 08:36
Alright guys wanna talk footy lets do it then,

Tips for round 2?:thumbsu:

As the ladder stands at the moment.. How much of it do you think is gonna stay the same?:confused:

Try the Round 2 Predictions thread.:thumbsu:

BIG"H"
10th April 2008, 12:05
I guarantee that Sealy has nothing to do with Big"H" and would be disapointed that Big"H" is pretending to be him to avoid his his own identity being revealed.:thumbsd:

Very interesting Mr Fanning. I see you believe you know the name or should I say names behind BIG"H". I'm not here to prove to u where we get our info from but I can tell you one thing half of "H" will be at Yack this weekend the other half will be playing in the O&M. As for Mr j price well you are right he will be running around in the wimmera league this week, you seem to know a lot about him.

Gurnerd Fanning
10th April 2008, 12:40
Very interesting Mr Fanning. I see you believe you know the name or should I say names behind BIG"H". I'm not here to prove to u where we get our info from but I can tell you one thing half of "H" will be at Yack this weekend the other half will be playing in the O&M. As for Mr j price well you are right he will be running around in the wimmera league this week, you seem to know a lot about him.

I know a lot more than you think.;)

My appologies to JP for the false assumption that he was Big"H".:o

Joel Price is not Big"H"

goal attack
11th April 2008, 09:59
Thanks lemontree, he is obviously a quality player and would be a handy addition to any lineup.

Why is he lining up in a back pocket for the seconds this week then??

themagicfrog
11th April 2008, 11:08
Just wanted to know how Griffiths and McKenzie went for the dog's on the weekend

I hate preseason
11th April 2008, 18:07
Why is he lining up in a back pocket for the seconds this week then??

I not a mitta man mate but I reckon it would be a different Paton

Sunny Days
13th April 2008, 15:18
Howdy all. Have been reading these posts on Big Footy for quite a while and finally got around to registering. Looking forward to conversing with you all about the wonderful world of TDFL footy!

SugarRay11
13th April 2008, 17:09
Howdy all. Have been reading these posts on Big Footy for quite a while and finally got around to registering. Looking forward to conversing with you all about the wonderful world of TDFL footy!

Welcome Sunny Days

homebake
14th April 2008, 08:35
Just wanted to know how Griffiths and McKenzie went for the dog's on the weekend

Griffiths played well in the second half and was amongst the teams best (playing in the backline),

Magic I see you boys had a huge win on the weekend, a bit of payback to what they did to you in the last quarter last year

holy cow
14th April 2008, 10:12
another good round of footy in the TDFL last weekend which goes to show just how close it is this year. yack bouncing back, Thurgoona bouncing back, beechworth and tallangatta going along nicely kiewa and mitta showing some form. In for a great year

The fat side
14th April 2008, 11:51
Great to see my old team the hoppers starting the season well. Great for the comp if they can keep going and serve it up to the stronger sides. Might have to venture up the hume hwy for the Mitta clash if both still going well, clash of the old rivals - gotta love it. Also see the bagging of the hoppers which happened last season on big footy has stopped, interesting!!!!!!!!!

kickittome
14th April 2008, 11:58
Great to see my old team the hoppers starting the season well. Great for the comp if they can keep going and serve it up to the stronger sides. Might have to venture up the hume hwy for the Mitta clash if both still going well, clash of the old rivals - gotta love it. Also see the bagging of the hoppers which happened last season on big footy has stopped, interesting!!!!!!!!!

It is great Fat side but only 2 games.
Just to all other visiting teams to barny, the rooms have been given a make over, you wont fall thru thr floor, its concrete. The showers are fixed - no electric shock and plenty of water. Its still a sardine can but it is a fair bit better. Hard to believe i know but saw it for my own eyes lol

Run Straight
14th April 2008, 12:15

Yeah the Hoppers were good against us the previous week, and good to see them back up that form with a win against Barny on the road. Clough is hard & tough down back and the boy Pashley chops off plenty of attacking moves across half back, with the old stager Geeba adding plenty of poise (if not a lot of pace these days). Hansford is of course a class act in the middle, with help from Dosen & a bloke I'd never seen before Gigliotti. Plenty of options up forward too, with McGuire, Bradshaw & Mansell. Only a matter of time before Jones gets under a teams guard and kicks a bag too. Plenty to look forward to for Hopper fans after a couple of years in the doldrums. I'm told they're spending plenty of kanga, but it appears thus far they are getting value for money. Early days yet but 2 from 2 against last year's finalists a great kick off. Time will indeed tell.

Kicking Back
14th April 2008, 14:23
With DMB's reserves only kicking 1 point on the weekend is it fair to write the 1's premiership chances off??

I can't see how a team with no depth can make an impact on the comp in the latter rounds with no one putting pressure on the senior guys to keep their spotor to replace injured players.

BIG"H"
14th April 2008, 15:04
With DMB's reserves only kicking 1 point on the weekend is it fair to write the 1's premiership chances off??

I can't see how a team with no depth can make an impact on the comp in the latter rounds with no one putting pressure on the senior guys to keep their spotor to replace injured players.

Fair call KB but I believe they a had a few players unav on the weekend both sen an res players. But well done to yack on the weekend.
After there(yack) top 5 or 6 players there nxt 15 to 20 players look very even, the biggest problem lillis an co will have is trying to pick the best conbination, I still dont think they will play finals, not enough class.

Any truth in the rumor that another ex o&M player heading to mitta??
As if they need an more quality players!

Sunny Days
14th April 2008, 19:15

I totally hear what ya saying KB but somehow over the years Dederang have managed to be quite a successful club with a struggling 2nds team. I am not sure where their ressie's finished in 1999, 2001 and 2003 when the seniors were premiers (perhaps someone can tell us) but I know that in both 2005,06 the seniors played finals while the 2nds struggled (finishing second last both years). They are just one of those teams that for some reason don't need a strong 2nds team. This could well be another of those years where the seniors finish 4th or 5th while the two's finish in the bottom 2.

6uldv8
14th April 2008, 20:53

Those who write off DMB do so at ur own peril.
Far better side than what turned up 2 play on Saturday and Yack will only get better with John Paola and Daniel Daly to come into the side.

Sunny Days
14th April 2008, 21:15
Those who write off DMB do so at ur own peril.
Far better side than what turned up 2 play on Saturday and Yack will only get better with John Paola and Daniel Daly to come into the side.

Why weren't Paola and Daly playing on the weekend? Are they carrying injuries?

Doobie Renshaw
15th April 2008, 13:13
Read a few interesting posts a while back from a character known as Roughy. Certainly got a few of you boys chirping. Am very interested as to how Roughy has played so far this season? (Roughy - feel free to answer this as well).

Roughy
15th April 2008, 18:56
Read a few interesting posts a while back from a character known as Roughy. Certainly got a few of you boys chirping. Am very interested as to how Roughy has played so far this season? (Roughy - feel free to answer this as well).

To be honest I am yet to play in the seniors. I have a niggling injury at the moment that just doesn't seem to want to come good. Plus our coach is a bit of a tosser and only looks after the "so called" big name players from Wodonga. I'm a bloody good player but he is a twit.

6uldv8
15th April 2008, 19:28
Why weren't Paola and Daly playing on the weekend? Are they carrying injuries?

Paola I beleive was at a wedding and Daly probably wont play til the second half of the season after having a holiday.

nirvana
15th April 2008, 20:03

I think that the bagging last year was more about the quality of the recruits they picked up- I thought it was fair enough. This year the recruits are obviously a lot better. And in turn the hoppers are travelling ok at the moment.

The fat side
16th April 2008, 07:39
I think that the bagging last year was more about the quality of the recruits they picked up- I thought it was fair enough. This year the recruits are obviously a lot better. And in turn the hoppers are travelling ok at the moment.

1 post, 2 at the most on the recuits they picked up last year so i think you are wrong on that account. Bagging on their committee, coach and why they didnt change back to Collingwood colours seemed to occupy most of the threads. Agreed recruits better this season.

nirvana
16th April 2008, 08:36
1 post, 2 at the most on the recuits they picked up last year so i think you are wrong on that account. Bagging on their committee, coach and why they didnt change back to Collingwood colours seemed to occupy most of the threads. Agreed recruits better this season.

From my memory there was quite a few on where they got most of their recruits from- upper murray. I haven't looked back through the threads though. I also presumed that the club copped negative posts due to their performance. If all was going well last year i'm sure it would have been all positive. This year very different; good performance= positive posts-thus far. I do remember the stuff on the coach and the club colours stuff though. Wouldn't the coach be classed as a recruit(that's if he came back to the hoppers in 07)?

allclass
16th April 2008, 15:00
what team are u playin for Roughy?????

jimbob21
16th April 2008, 17:42
what team are u playin for Roughy?????
Dont even bother allclass.

My tip on roughy is that he is a reserves player at best who has been around a long time with too much spare time on his hands. His identity is not far from being revealed.

Roughy
16th April 2008, 19:27
Dont even bother allclass.

My tip on roughy is that he is a reserves player at best who has been around a long time with too much spare time on his hands. His identity is not far from being revealed.

Good one Harris,
If I slept with my coach I'd hope to be playing seniors too.
I'd never lower myself to that standard because he's too short for my liking and he cant coach for shiit. I don't know how he ever did it at O&M level.

Albert Park
17th April 2008, 10:34
Originally Posted by Roughy http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=10339591#post10339591)
No disrespect to the TDFL or you bgk, but i'd be very surprised if there was any player in this league that could carve anybody up. If Dale Andrews is the Leagues best forward then I don't think I will have too much trouble getting leather poisoning. Just remember that this ain't no Metro competition and it can't be taken to seriously.

BGK, I generally try not to get sucked in by trolls like yourself but comments like that just cross the line sometimes.

Can't even contract leather poisoning in the 2's !

Gun Recruit
17th April 2008, 10:44
Originally Posted by Roughy http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/images/buttons/viewpost.gif (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=10339591#post10339591)
No disrespect to the TDFL or you bgk, but i'd be very surprised if there was any player in this league that could carve anybody up. If Dale Andrews is the Leagues best forward then I don't think I will have too much trouble getting leather poisoning. Just remember that this ain't no Metro competition and it can't be taken to seriously.

BGK, I generally try not to get sucked in by trolls like yourself but comments like that just cross the line sometimes.

Can't even contract leather poisoning in the 2's !

The only chance of Roughy gettin leather poisioning is if he takes it from a cow :thumbsu:

Gurnerd Fanning
17th April 2008, 10:52
The only chance of Roughy gettin leather poisioning is if he takes it from a cow :thumbsu:

Read my previous post you twit. I have a niggling injury that doesn't seem to want to come good. Don't question my talent.

Kicking Back
17th April 2008, 11:29
Read my previous post you twit. I have a niggling injury that doesn't seem to want to come good. Don't question my talent.

Maybe you should stick to the one account you twit.

Gurnerd Fanning
17th April 2008, 12:09
Maybe you should stick to the one account you twit.

Busted, I let my guard down. Thanks for the laughs, I hope there are no hard feelings. I was going to take Roughy down a new line of trolling but it's time to quit.

Time to start up under a new name.:)

With Love

Roughy

knackers27
17th April 2008, 12:29
Busted, I let my guard down. Thanks for the laughs, I hope there are no hard feelings. I was going to take Roughy down a new line of trolling but it's time to quit.

Time to start up under a new name.:)

With Love

Roughy

So now that rubbish is over can we get back to the footy.

So from what I've read in these posts and looking through the results it looks as if its shaping up to be another 2 horse race this year with Mitta and The Mighty Hawks miles ahead again and the next 3 spots open to about 6 teams, looks interesting.
Also good to see Tallangatta getting better, too goo of a club to be down for so long and its good for the competition to have them competing for the final, good for sandy creek ticket sales.

Living interstate its hard for me to know exactly whats going on butI'm hoping to get home to watch the Hawks later this year so I can see how good they really are.

number1
17th April 2008, 23:21
my hope - grand final 2008 mitta smashed by anyone!
ahh that feels better :thumbsu::thumbsu:

themagicfrog
18th April 2008, 08:33
Griffiths played well in the second half and was amongst the teams best (playing in the backline),

Magic I see you boys had a huge win on the weekend, a bit of payback to what they did to you in the last quarter last year

Yeah was a good win, Mathoura are short this year so we will know a little more of where we are at this week. Hopefully all the Melb boys will play this week. How did you go? will you play much this year?

holy cow
18th April 2008, 09:28
you thurgoona boys tell me if ryan quin s seeking a clearence to henty

Run Straight
18th April 2008, 14:46

Not to my knowledge, is your info reliable ?

number1
18th April 2008, 15:45

From what i hear henty have been talking to a few players from different teams as they have a bit of kanga to throw at people and want to not be smashed every game.

Hutchy 001
21st April 2008, 16:44
Jade Culph to miss rest of season with a fractured skull

More Than a Game
21st April 2008, 18:16
how? was it similar to the way his manager Sticks cracked his cranium a few years back?

Big Al 11
21st April 2008, 21:08

Just speaking with the big boy, will play on with his injuries and not miss a game. He said it would take more than a serious head injury to stop him, i think he said a lesser man would have given it away. He is a tough, tough man :D

axernator
21st April 2008, 22:15
good 2 see mark 'cyril' jones get in the best again,his made a very solid start 2 to year,i have no doubt he'd b leading doggies b n f at this early stage.keep rockin the show young cyril

framesnapper
22nd April 2008, 20:32
seriously, what a courages effort on his behalf. I was at the game Saturday and it was a sickening collision. Should have been carried off if the amount of blood was any indication. Walked off the ground and into the rooms, got bandaged up and then came back on 5 minutes into the last quarter with mitta up 10 goals.Was in the best and didn't have to come back on considering the situation so wouldn't be suprised if indeed he plays on for the rest of the year.

mitta magic
23rd April 2008, 12:19
Its been very quiet on here fellas, Im a long time reader an follower of this page an have finally decided to join in discussion. Any rumors or player movement around the clubs at the min??

An very interesting in to see Roughy aka Gurnerd Fanning very quiet it was interesting reading his post they must have a media ban out at yack.
Whats goin on with your good mate jimbob21??

Kicking Back
23rd April 2008, 15:44
Anyone got any news on ash Sutherland and Camo?? Heard they are both going to be out for a long time with their knees. Can Kiewa cover them for however ong they're out??

Sunny Days
23rd April 2008, 19:08
Anyone got any news on ash Sutherland and Camo?? Heard they are both going to be out for a long time with their knees. Can Kiewa cover them for however ong they're out??

Not many teams could replace two players of this calibre and I dont believe KSC can. Ash is an amazingly versatile player who can play both tall and small and is clearly KSC's best defender. He also has the ability to play forward which is a huge bonus. In my opinion KSC dont have anyone who can effectively replace him.
Camo is obviously a massive blow up forward as he has freakish ability and immediately takes the best defender that the opposition has to offer (the smaller forwards at the club also feel much better knowing that they have a big fella like Camo nearby to put a block or shepherd on and/or stand up for them if things get physical). The obvious candidate to replace him (if this is possible) is Micko who is back training and played two's a fortnight ago. Micko didn't play on the weekend due to a wedding. Short arse Bone (sorry all you little fellas) would have been hoping to play Micko at CHF and Camo at FF later in the year as they did quite well last year. This may still be possible depending on the severity of the injury.
If Bone still wants two monster key forwards (and Camo misses the rest of the year) then I guess he will have to deal with Micko at CHF and Timmy Dineen at FF. This would be OK but nothing like as potent as the Camo/Micko combination.
From reading previous posts I believe SHIMMER is a KSC player who seems to have posted fairly honest messages to date, perhaps he can update us as to the severity of both Ash and Camo's knee injuries.

Shimmer
23rd April 2008, 21:37
From reading previous posts I believe SHIMMER is a KSC player who seems to have posted fairly honest messages to date, perhaps he can update us as to the severity of both Ash and Camo's knee injuries.[/quote]

Good guess Sunny I'm KSC through and through. Haven't had the chance to catch up with Camo or Ash at training but judging from Saturday, Camo very despondent and Ash looked ok. Camo maybe back late season, and Ash mid season?
Will keep you posted. But still Big Rob Petrovic back doesn't hurt. Tall forward line of Micko, RP and Big Timmy looks good to me with Jas Bartel, Scotty Bartel etc roving them!
Jack Rhodes, Josh Dicker (played 2's was awesome!!!) and Josh Bartel, Al Whitsed to come back in. Plenty of cover at Kiewa!!!

The Wolf
24th April 2008, 11:58
Good guess Sunny I'm KSC through and through. Haven't had the chance to catch up with Camo or Ash at training but judging from Saturday, Camo very despondent and Ash looked ok. Camo maybe back late season, and Ash mid season?
Will keep you posted. But still Big Rob Petrovic back doesn't hurt. Tall forward line of Micko, RP and Big Timmy looks good to me with Jas Bartel, Scotty Bartel etc roving them!
Jack Rhodes, Josh Dicker (played 2's was awesome!!!) and Josh Bartel, Al Whitsed to come back in. Plenty of cover at Kiewa!!![/quote]

If Camo does come back later in the year, how mobile will he be? His knees must be lik jelly. It's only 3 games in to the year and already he's struggling. Him and Richo are both like tampons - In for one, out for three.:D

mitta magic
24th April 2008, 12:12
If Camo does come back later in the year, how mobile will he be? His knees must be lik jelly. It's only 3 games in to the year and already he's struggling. Him and Richo are both like tampons - In for one, out for three.:D[/quote]

Very good call, an they would both be on good coin you would expect, very frustrating for everyone involved at Kiewa.
Makes their job a little harder in trying to hold that cup up come september after dropping it an handing it to mitta last year.

knackers27
24th April 2008, 13:21
If Camo does come back later in the year, how mobile will he be? His knees must be lik jelly. It's only 3 games in to the year and already he's struggling. Him and Richo are both like tampons - In for one, out for three.:D

Camo has always been pretty good at recovering from Injuries, he is a tough bloke and seems to recuperate very quickly.
Anyone remember the Broken neck he had at wodonga, supposed to be gone for up to two years and was back playing after 6-8 weeks (sorry can't remember exactly)

Ash would be a huge loss, but looks like there is some big in's coming back for Kiewa. I think Shimmer should get down to training so he can get the inside word (looked like he needed a run last time I saw him ;-p)

Tim Kindellan
24th April 2008, 18:27
The man they call Tim 'get outta my way' Kindellan here, I can tell ya all Ash needs a reco(obviously from todays paper) and we still unsure bout camo as he has been in Melbourne working and will see his surgeon on Monday.
Just a quick warning to my opponent for Saturday, the form I am in you might as well stay home:p

switch the play
25th April 2008, 11:02
Cameron needs a reco as well.TK you are about 18 months too late for that joke-leave it be tiger.

go crows 08
26th April 2008, 03:16
The man they call Tim 'get outta my way' Kindellan here, I can tell ya all Ash needs a reco(obviously from todays paper) and we still unsure bout camo as he has been in Melbourne working and will see his surgeon on Monday.
Just a quick warning to my opponent for Saturday, the form I am in you might as well stay home:p
your so full of shit your a good player but its called modesty

I hate preseason
26th April 2008, 07:58
My dreaded day is here where I have been forced into retirement through yet another dislocated knee cap that has wrecked my knee again(you should all know who i am by now), which will take me to six ops on the one knee, in 4 years! Quick word to anyone that ever has to have knee surgery, dont get it done here go to Melbourne.

Good luck to all teams in 08

IHP:(

no orange peeler
26th April 2008, 08:19
will be good test for KSC's depth losing camo and ash (who i rate as probably the best player in the comp). with them they've probably lost between 10-12 goals a game with what camo can kick and set up and what ash can save. But KSC reserves are a strong outfit and will be interesting to see if they can make the step up into the seniors.
Also fantastic to see Gunny making a comeback for the dogs today (shortest retirement in history) experience and leadership of the man will be invaluable.:thumbsu:

More Than a Game
26th April 2008, 23:53
My dreaded day is here where I have been forced into retirement through yet another dislocated knee that has wrecked my knee again(you should all know who i am by now), which will take me to six ops on the one knee, in 4 years! Quick word to anyone that ever has to have knee surgery, dont get it done here go to Melbourne.

Good luck to all teams in 08

IHP:(
If it really is you Camo, all the best, most would have given up ages ago!
Thanks for the bump last week, woke up Sunday as if i had been hit by a truck! enjoy the cans of VB on the sidelines for the rest of the year.

have a RHG
28th April 2008, 09:37
got down to the Thurgoona-Mitta game on sat what a fantastic display of genuine country footy. Had everything hard but fair hits, the odd scuffle great physical contests. todays paper summerised it really well, bet there were a few sore boys from both sides yesterday.:thumbsu:

mitta magic
28th April 2008, 12:22
Mitta an Thurgoona was a very physical game but the mitta boys were just to classy!!
Any reports on other results?? most games went as predicted, Tallangatta had a great win agiainst Yack they look finals bound this year.